(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical notes on English Catholic Missions"

I 



m 



m 



HISTOKICAL NOTES 

ON 

ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



NIHIL OBSTAT. 

JOSEPH WILHELM, S.T.D. 

CENSOR DEPUTATUS. 

IMPRIMI POTEST. 

+ GULIELMUS, 

EPISCOPUS ARINDELENSIS, 

VICARIUS GENERALIS 

WESTMONASTERII, 

Die 24 Oct., 1906. 



MAR - 8 W60 



HISTORICAL NOTES 

ON 

ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



BY 

BEENAKD W. KELLY 

AUTHOR OF THE LIFE OF CARDINAL YORK THE CONQUEROR OF CULLODEN 
JAMES III AND VIII THE FATE OF GLENGARRY ETC. 



1907 

KEGAN PAUL, TRENCH, TEUBNER & CO. LTD. 
LONDON 

B. HEEDEE 

17 SOUTH BROADWAY, ST. LOUIS, MO. 



DEDICATED 

TO 

THE MOST BEVEEEND FBANCIS BOUENE 

AECHBISHOP OF WESTMINSTER 



PREFACE 

IN the following pages some details have been given of 
the Catholic Missions in this country from the breach with 
the Apostolic See to our own times. The story of the 
English Catholics, or the Romance of the Recusants as it 
has been happily termed, during that long period of trial 
and proscription forms as interesting a narrative as any to 
be found in the pages of modern history. 

The downfall of the great and ancient Church in these 
realms after the centuries of her flourishing existence is an 
event which Newman, in a passage of the noblest eloquence, 
has termed almost a miracle. 1 Tremendous, however, as was 
the overthrow, the rise of the ancient faith kept alive here 
and there in the ancient halls and lowly cottages of the land 
from generations of political oppression and social ostracism, 
is no less a wondrous proof of the vivifying principle of 
the old religion and God s protecting power. When the 
close of the eighteenth century ushered in such momentous 
changes in the state of European governments and society, 
the wrecked remnant of the ancient Church in England had 
yet within her the unquenched sparks of vitality which seemed 

1 A great change, an awful contrast, between the time-honoured Church of 
St. Augustine and St. Thomas, and the poor remnant of their children in the 
beginning of the nineteenth century ! It was a miracle, I might say, to have 
pulled down that lordly power ; but there was a greater and a truer one in 
store. No one could have prophesied its fall, but still less would anyone have 
ventured to prophesy its rise again. Tlie Second Spring. 

a 



viii ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

to say in encouragement to her scattered and dejected 
children, Eesurgam I shall arise. 

With regard to the historical introduction to the present 
work, no attempt has been made to narrate the events which 
marked the commencement of the Reformation in the reigns 
of Henry VIII. and Edward VI. or the short-lived Catholic 
restoration under Queen Mary. As most writers assign the 
final and definite establishment of Protestantism in England 
to the reign of Elizabeth, it is from the first year of her 
accession that we propose following the rapidly declining 
fortunes of the ancient Church. Moreover, the subject is 
one w T hich deals mainly with English Catholicism in the 
days of its depression, far removed from the historic 
splendours of the mediaeval religious polity. 

The author is aware that many of the remarks in the 
ensuing notices of missions are of a scanty and fragmentary 
nature. Every effort has been made to exclude error, but 
in a work like the present it is well nigh impossible to 
prevent mis-statements from appearing, considering the 
obscurity of much of the subject and the difficulty of 
obtaining reliable information. Most publications of this 
nature are only perfected in course of time, and the writer 
will be grateful for any corrections that may be brought 
to his notice. For the rest, reliance has been placed on 
Catholic magazines, newspapers, county histories, private 
memoirs and letters of the past hundred years. By means 
of these auxiliaries, the author trusts that he has put forward 
a book which will be found useful for casual reference, and 
if this aspiration is realised he will feel that the labours of 
thirteen years have not been in vain. In conclusion, he begs 
to acknowledge his obligations to W. Simpson, Esq., Park 
Place, Mitcham, for the use so kindly afforded of a select 
and valuable library, to the Very Eev. Henry Canon Cafferata 
for several practical suggestions, and the Rev. J. Wilhelm, 
D.D., of Battle, for kindly supervising the proofs. 



ABBKEVIATIONS 



C.J. . 
C.P. . 
C.R.L. 

C.SS.K. 

Fr. . 

I.S.A. 

M.R. . 

M.S.C. 

O.C.D. 

O.F.M. 

O.P. . 

O.S.B. 

O.S.F. 

O.S.F.C. 

O.S.M. 

S.C. . 

S.J. . 

V.A. . 

V.F. . 

V.A.L.D. 
V.A.M.D. 
V.A.N.D. 
V.A.W.D. 
V.G. . 



= Congregation of Josephites. 
Congregation of Passionists. 

- Canons Regular of the Lateran. 

- Congregation of the Most Holy Re 

deemer. 

- Father (used in this book for both 

secular and regular clergy). 
= Institute of St. Andrew. 
= Missionary Rector. 
= Missionaries of the Sacred Heart. 
= Order of Discalced Carmelites. 
= Order of Friars Minor. 
= Order of Preachers (Dominicans). 
= Order of St. Benedict. 
= Order of St. Francis. 
= Order of Franciscan Capuchins. 
= Order of Religious Servants of the Holy 

Virgin, Servites. 
= Salesian Congregation. 
= Society of Jesus. 
= Vicar Apostolic. 
= Vicar Foraneus, Vicar Forane, or 

Rural Dean. 

= Vicar Apostolic of the London District. 
= Vicar Apostolic of the Midland District. 
= Vicar Apostolic of the Northern District 
= Vicar Apostolic of the Western District. 
= Vicar-General. 



BIBLIOGRAPHY 

The following are the chief sources of information consulted in drawing up 
the present work : 

1. Eecords of the English Province of the Society of Jesus, by Brother 

Foley. 

2. Mr. J. Orlebar Payne s Old English Catholic Missions and Kecords of 

the English Catholics of 1715. 

3. The Catholic Church in England and Wales during the last two Centuries, 

edited for the XV. Club (Burns and Gates, 1892). 

4. Catholic England in Modern Times, by Kev. J. Morris, S.J. (Burns and 

Gates, 1892). 

5. Troubles of Our Catholic Forefathers, by the same. 

6. Historical Memoirs of the English, Irish, and Scottish Catholics, by 

C. Butler (London : John Murray, 1819). 

7. The Catholic Magazine, 1832-35. 

8. The Catholic Miscellany, 1823-24. 

9. The Orthodox Journal, 1839-42. 

10. The Tablet, weekly newspaper, 1840-1906. 

11. Lewis s Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales. 

12. Lingard s History of England. 

13. Challoner s Memoirs of Missionary Priests. 

14. Religious Worship Census, 1851 (Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1853). 

15. Bibliographical Dictionary of the English Catholics, by Joseph Gillow, 

(Burns and Oates). 

16. The Laity s Directory, 1793 and 1824-38. 

17. The Catholic Directory, 1838-1906. 

18. The London Catholic Directory and Almanac, 1900-1906. 

19. The Downside Review (various numbers). 

20. Catholic London a Century Ago, by Mgr. Canon Ward. 

21. The Franciscans in England, 1600-1850, by Rev. Father Thaddeus, 

O.F.M. (Art and Book Co., 1898). 

22. The History of Sedgley Park School, by Mgr. F. C. Husenbeth 

(Richardson and Son, 1856). 

23. The Catholic Times, weekly newspaper, from about 1892. 

24. Collections, by George Canon Oliver, D.D. (London : Charles Dolman, 

1857). 






ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



HISTOBICAL INTBODUCTION 



TILL the researches of modern historians proved the contrary, 
a widespread belief existed in this country that the accession 
of Elizabeth was hailed by the majority of the nation as 
the deliverance of an enthralled and coerced people from the 
bondage of Kome. In view, however, of known facts, even 
hostile critics are forced to admit that the final establishment 
of the tenets of the Eeformation in England was the out 
come of a slow process of evolution assisted, it is true, by a 
protestant legislature and several favourable local circum 
stances, but still an evolution which lasted the greater part 
of a century. At the outset, little if anything presaged the 
ultimate and mighty change, The Queen received the con 
gratulations of the episcopate with approbation and caused 
Masses to be duly sung for her sister s soul. In her own 
domestic chapel she continued to be present at the august 
sacrifice of the Catholic Church, frequently availed herself 
of Confession, manifested respect for sacred images and 
pictures, and was indulgent to the affectionate practice of 
praying for the souls of the departed. In a word, she 
showed by her whole demeanour her resolution of abiding by 
her solemn oath to the late Queen * to live and die a true 
Roman Catholic. L 

1 Mackintosh, History of England) vol. iii. ohap. 1. 

B 



2 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

Of the relative religious belief of her subjects it is not 
so easy to speak. It may perhaps be safe to say that about 
two-thirds of the middle and lower classes were professedly 
Catholic. London and the eastern home counties contained 
a large number of protestants. With regard to the nobility 
and superior gentry, they had, writes one of the foreign 
ambassadors about this time, no other religion but their 
own interest, and were ready at the call of the ruling power 
to embrace Judaism or Mahometanism. l This verdict is 
amply endorsed by the conduct of the governing classes of 
the day. In the second parliament of Edward VI. Cranmer s 
Book of Common Prayer had been extolled as the work of 
the Holy Ghost, while the same assembly in the first year 
of the reign of Mary denounced the doctrines of protestantism 
as a new thing imagined and devised by a few of singular 
opinions and acknowledged that they and their countrymen 
had been guilty of a most horrible defection from the true 
Church of Christ. It soon, however, became apparent that 
the predilections of the new Sovereign were in the direction 
of the [Reformers. On Christmas Day 1559, as the Bishop 
of Carlisle was vesting for Mass, he received a royal order 
not to elevate the Host. My life, replied the prelate, is 
the Queen s, but my conscience is my own. The sacred 
rite proceeded, but the Queen retired after the Gospel. 
Shortly after this, a royal proclamation appeared command 
ing certain parts of the liturgy to be read in the vulgar 
tongue, and all parish churches throughout the land were 
ordered to model their services after the rites and ceremonies 
observed in her Majesty s Chapel Royal. 

Alarmed by these and other sinister prognostications, the 
bishops sorrowfully but firmly refused to assist at the 
coronation of a princess so filled with disaffection towards 
the Church. Eventually, Oglethorp of Carlisle was induced 
to pontificate at the ceremony and placed the royal diadem 

1 Jjetter of the Venetian ambassador, MSS. Barberini, 1208. 



HISTOKICAL INTRODUCTION 3 

on his Sovereign who swore to maintain the laws, honour, 
peace and privileges of the Church as they existed in the 
time of King Edward the Confessor. The almost immediate 
violation of this solemn engagement by the Queen is said to 
have hurried the prelate to his grave. 

Foreseeing the coming storm, the Convocations of York 
and Canterbury hastened to declare their unanimous belief in 
all the doctrines of the Ancient Church, including, of course, 
the very keystone of ecclesiastical unity and discipline, the 
supremacy of the Apostolic See. The matter had, however, 
passed from theologians to legislators, and already the 
Cabinet was drafting the bill which was to sever England 
from the Universal Church. 1 

On January 25, 1559, the Queen convoked her first 
Parliament. The session, which was to be so full of detri 
ment to Catholic interests in the country, opened with a 
solemn high Mass at which her majesty and the Court 
attended. The principal business of the legislature, thus 
strangely inaugurated, was the suppression of the spiritual 
jurisdiction of the Holy See, and declaring the Queen the 
* supreme governor of the English Church. A copy of the 
resolution of Convocation referred to above had been pre 
sented to both Houses by the ecclesiastical authorities as being 
the written pledge of England s union with the Universal 
Church. Another document couched in similar terms of 
obedience to the Roman pontiff was at the same time pre 
sented by the universities of Oxford and Cambridge. The 
struggle in Parliament was long and severe, notwithstanding 
the fact that ten out of the twenty-six sees were vacant and 
five new peers, of protestant principles, had just been added 
to the upper chamber. The religious revolution abolishing 

1 Many of the members of this Cabinet, notably Burleigh and Walsingham, 
had distinguished themselves in the previous reign by their pretended zeal for 
Catholicism and active persecution of the protestants. See Milner, Letters to 
a Prebendary. 

B2 



4 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

the papal supremacy and restoring, with some slight modifica 
tions, the second Prayer Book of Edward VI. was accom 
plished by the narrow majority of three ! 

When the oath of acquiescence in the new order of things 
came to be administered, the bishops, with the exception of 
Kitchen of Llandaff, the Calamity of his See 3 as Camden 
calls him, refused to subscribe and were deprived. Their 
example was followed by about two hundred and twenty- 
nine heads of colleges, canons, prebends, and inferior clergy. 
Dodd, in the second volume of his Church History, gives the 
number of parochial rectors who refused the oath as one 
hundred and fifty. With regard to the rest of the clergy, 
their conduct is but another instance of what so frequently 
happens in times of religious revolution when worldly 
advantage is balanced against the dictates of conscience. 
The majority took the oath, some subscribing unwillingly, 
others with reservations. To many it was not administered 
at all. In hundreds of parishes, especially in the north, the 
sacrifice of the Mass and the other liturgical rites of the old 
religion continued to be practised for years. The great 
officers of State do not seem to have been greatly troubled, 
at least at the outset, on the subject of the royal supremacy. 
Sir Anthony Browne, Lord Chief Justice of the Common 
Pleas, in spite of his known attachment to the ancient 
Church, was confirmed by Elizabeth in his high office which 
he held till his death in 1567. 

However many of the clergy may have outwardly con 
formed at the time the Act of Uniformity was passed, it is 
equally certain that numbers of these afterwards repented of 
their conduct, resigned their livings, and left the country. 
From 1560 to 1568 the land was almost destitute of ministers. 
So great was the dearth, that, as Hallam observes, it was 
a common practice to appoint laymen, usually mechanics, to 
read the services in the vacant churches. So many churches 
in country towns and villages were vacant/ says Neal, that 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 5 

in some places there was no preaching nor so much as read 
ing a homily for many months together. In sundry parishes 
it was hard to find persons to bury the dead. Heylin re 
marks that the new clergy was made up of cobblers, weavers, 
tinkers, tanners, card-makers, fiddlers, tailors, bagpipers 
&c. l In the diocese of Ely a hundred parishes were without 
ministers during the year 1560, and in 1562 two-thirds of 
the benefices of the diocese of Norwich were unoccupied. 
The Bishop of Bangor about the same time complained 
that he had but two preachers in his diocese. In 1563 
Thomas Wylliams, Esq., Speaker of the House of Commons, 
drew attention to the fact that many of the great market 
towns were without either school or preacher. 

In no quarter was the change in religion more severely 
felt than at Oxford. For several years after 1559 the 
exodus of the fellows and students was so great that, ac 
cording to the antiquarian Wood, the University seemed 
destroyed. Jewel, Bishop of Salisbury, complained that 
there were not above two men at Oxford of the reformed 
opinions and these so dispirited as to be good for nothing. 
As late as 1578 seventy-six out of the eighty members of 
Exeter College are described by Strype as being secret or 
open Koman affectionaries. 2 

More eloquent than the protests and resignations of 
Church dignitaries and scholars was the far-famed Northern 
Kising of 1569. Led by the Earls of Northumberland and 
Westmoreland, and having for object the restoration of the 
Ancient Faith and the liberation of the Queen of Scots from 
her English prison, it speedily assumed the proportions of a 
crusade. Thousands of the northern gentry and yeomanry 
flocked to The banner of the Five Wounds. At Durham 

1 History of the Reformation. Hallam, Constitutional History. 

Annals of the Reformation. The Inns of Court in London were also 
regarded as a nest of papists. These hostels of the law seem to have had n 
attraction for Catholics. In Bishop Challoner s time, 1745 81, the library of 
the clergy of the London district was in Gray s Inn. 



6 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

the Calvinistic Bibles and Prayer Books were publicly burnt, 
and the Mass sung for the last time in the Cathedral Church. 
The ill-starred movement, as is well known, ended in the 
horrible vengeance of the Court, which afforded Wordsworth 
a theme for some of the most pathetic lines in his White 
Doe of Kylstone. In his report to the Queen relating to 
the state of the country after the suppression of the rising, 
Lord Sussex, the royal commander, assured her majesty that 

* there were not ten gentlemen in Yorkshire that did allow 
(approve) the proceedings in the cause of religion. 

The year of the Northern Rising marks an epoch in 
the history of ecclesiastical affairs in England. The places 
of the clergy and bishops deprived for refusing the oath of 
supremacy had been, to a great extent, filled up by protestant 
divines who had fled abroad to escape the persecution in the 
previous reign. Great numbers of these on returning home 
brought with them the rigid tenets and republican principles 
of puritanism which in the succeeding century were to have 
so large a share in the great Civil War, the subversion of 
the monarchy and the execution of Charles I. Their exces 
sive zeal for a thorough Godly Reformation was for a time 
kept in check by the authority of the Queen and some of the 
more moderate among the protestant bishops. * Up to 1570, 
remarks the eminent author of the Life of Father Campion, 

* Catholic practices had been allowed to linger in the Estab 
lishment ; now after the defeat of the northern rebels the 
Puritans found themselves strong enough to repress by force 
what they had been obliged to connive at. The Convoca 
tion of 1571, presided over by Archbishop Grindal, gave 
expression to the wishes of the extreme party. The Com 
munion was no longer to be put into the communicant s 
mouth but into his hand ; all ceremonies and gestures not 
prescribed in the Prayer Book were to cease ; people were 
to communicate three times a year, not like the Papists 
at Easter or Christmas, but on Ash Wednesday and one of 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 7 

the two Sundays before Easter, Whitsunday, and Christmas. 
All altars were to be pulled down and the altar stones de 
faced and put to common use. All prayers for the dead 
at funerals or commemorations for the dead to cease ; no 
person was to be allowed to wear beads or pray upon them 
in Latin or English or to burn candles on the feast of the 
Purification, or to make the sign of the Cross as he entered 
the church. l 

In places where Catholic customs and traditions were 
strong these and similar orders remained for a considerable 
time a dead letter, but wherever the doctrines of the Ee- 
formation had taken root the devastation that ensued was 
irreparable. Sculptured effigies of the Saviour and His 
blessed Mother, painted windows and carved roods fell in 
countless fragments beneath the axes and hammers of de 
stroying fanatics. The resting places of the dead shared 
the same fate. Sepulchral brasses and funeral monuments 
were torn up and disposed of by hundreds till at length 
Elizabeth herself had to intervene to save the ecclesiastical 
fabrics of the country from being reduced to little more 
than heaps of ruins. 2 

It has commonly been alleged that Elizabeth s chief 
motive for rejecting the spiritual authority of the Pope and 
pursuing a hostile policy towards the Catholics was the 
refusal of the reigning Pontiff, Paul IV., to recognise either 
her legitimacy or title to the crown, in view of the superior 
claim of the Queen of Scots as the nearest legitimate de 
scendant of Henry VII. The State papers of Lord Salisbury 

1 Visitation articles of Archbishop Grindal quoted at large in Richard 
Simpson s Edmund Campion (London, 1867). Out of hatred for the Mass, 
the altar stones were often placed at the threshold of church doors * to be 
trodden under the feet of men. 

2 About 4,000 monumental brasses are known to exist in England at the 
present day. The number destroyed during this period has been estimated 
at 12,000. The Queen s proclamation against this sacrilegious vandalism was 
signed with her own hand (1560). 



8 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

at Hatfield give a totally different version of the current 
legend. Sir Edward Carne, the English ambassador at 
Borne, in his letter to Elizabeth states that although the 
French Court had been urging the Pontiff to publicly recog 
nise the Scottish Queen as true heir to the English crown, yet 
the Pope absolutely refused to do anything against Elizabeth 
or her people unless the occasion be given first thence. The 
Queen herself, if we are to believe Lansac, the French 
envoy extraordinary, owned to him that the spiritual supre 
macy belonged to St. Peter s successors, but that reasons of 
State compelled her to assume it. 1 Neither was the animus 
of Elizabeth s government against the Catholics the result of 
Pope Pius V. s Bull of Deposition (1570). The persecution 
had practically commenced with the Act of Supremacy in 
1559 and was intensified in severity by the statute of 1563, 
which adjudged the dreadful penalties of treason on all who 
twice refused to abjure the spiritual authority of the Pontiff, 
which, needless to say, was equivalent to a renunciation of 
the Catholic faith. 

So various had been the religious changes of the past 
few years in England, that at first the majority of Catholics 
in this country hoped that the schism of the realm from the 
Universal Church would be of but short duration. As time 
wore on and the outlook grew blacker every day, it became 
apparent that vigorous measures would have to be taken to 
keep alive the ancient faith. The number of Queen Mary s 
priests, some of whom resided in every county, grew less 
and less every year, and others had to be supplied to take 
their place. The exigencies of the time were met by 
Cardinal Allen s establishment of Douai College in 1568, 
and to its halls the Oxford professors and students, opposed 
to the recent innovations, flocked by scores. Douai, in fact, 
became Oxford across the sea, and by 1580 upwards of a 
hundred of its alumni had gone forth to brave the hardships 
1 Answer to Sir Edward Coke s Reports, p. 365. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 9 

and dangers of the English Mission. The missionary 
priests * served as chaplains in private families. By stealth, 
at the dead of night in private chambers in the secret lurk 
ing places of an ill-peopled country, with all the mystery 
that subdues the imagination, with all the mutual trust that 
invigorates constancy, these proscribed ecclesiastics cele 
brated their solemn rites, more impressive in such conceal 
ment than if surrounded by all their former splendour. 1 
The remote shires of Lancashire, Yorkshire, and North 
umberland were the chief scenes of their Apostolic labours, 
though there is scarcely an old manor house in the country 
which has not a priest s hiding-place hidden behind the 
wainscot or buried far down beneath the hearth to tell of 
the heroic stand made by lord and squire for the faith of St. 
Augustine and St. Anselm. 2 

The Douai students, while taught to prefer their religion 
to every worldly consideration, were also carefully instructed 
to acknowledge Elizabeth s title to the throne notwith 
standing the papal excommunication against her, and all 
questions on the Pope s deposing power were forbidden to 
be discussed even in private. When Babington s plot to 
depose Elizabeth and liberate the Queen of Scots became 
known (1586), the divines of the college warned the Catholics 
of England against disturbing the government, and bade 
them rely on * prayers and tears as the only means of 
bettering their miserable condition. 

The several plots against the life and regal dignity of 
Elizabeth were, for the most part, the work of foreign 
associations hostile to the Queen on political grounds, or the 
phantom conspiracies of Walsingham and Burleigh for the 
purpose of casting odium on the Catholic cause. These 

1 Hallam, Constitutional History, chap. 3. 

2 Hundreds of these secret refuges were made by an ingenious carpenter 
named Littlejohn. Little is known about him except that he was a hunchback, 
a man of prodigious strength, and a constant sufferer for the Catholic faith. 



10 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

ministers had in their pay a large number of renegade 
Catholics and others of dissolute life, whom they employed 
in the odious business of conspiracy makers. The small 
number of real plots by native Catholics were the acts 
of a few men rendered desperate by violent and increasing 
persecution, and can certainly not fairly be charged to the 
general body of English Catholics, whose loyal conduct 
during the Armada crisis ought to leave their patriotism un- 
impeached. 1 

It must, however, be admitted that the persecution was 
to a large extent fanned by the conduct of an Englishman, 
rightly considered by historians as one of the most remark 
able of his time. The story of Robert Pearsons or Parsons, 
the Jesuit, is that of a life spent in devotion to a cause. 
The son of a blacksmith of Nether Stowey, he was already 
one of the leading lights of Balliol College, Oxford, when a 
quarrel with Dr. Squire, the president, brought about his 
public expulsion. He returned from Rome six years later 
a Jesuit priest, and at once engaged upon the hard and 
perilous labour of a proscribed missioner. Before leaving 
the Eternal City, he had been admonished by the General of 
the Society to avoid all meddling with affairs of State, but 
a residence of some months with Mendoza, the Spanish 
Ambassador in London, would seem to have insinuated a 
passion for political intrigue. From a secret press at East 
Ham he issued those admirably written and argued contro 
versial pamphlets which nearly a century and a half later 
evoked the unqualified admiration of Dean Swift. The 
persecution which had been very severe at the time of his 
landing now increased in fury, and in 1581 Parliament made 

1 The long existence of Douai College in France (1568-1792) only served 
to accentuate the thoroughly English character of its students. Charles 
Butler, the well-known lawyer, who was there in 1763, declared that every 
victory which the English gained over the French was a triumph to the 
English boys, and the signal for patriotic outbursts which the magistrates of 
the town magnanimously tolerated, 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 11 

it a capital offence to be reconciled to the Church. 
Campion, the proto-martyr of the Society of Jesus, suffered 
in December, about which time Pearsons returned to 
France. 

It is outside the scope of the present work to trace even 
in outline the methods adopted by this indefatigable person 
age for the accomplishment of his task. He founded an 
English College at Eu, afterwards transferred to St. Omer, 
and for years was the presiding genius of that little band of 
refugees who looked to the King of Spain for the liberation 
of the Queen of Scots and the restoration by force of arms of 
the ancient Church in these realms. The raid of Euthven, 
Throckmorton s conspiracy, and the overthrow of the 
Armada, mark the graves of these high hopes, though to the 
last Pearsons clung to the belief that the sword of the most 
Catholic King would yet effect the spiritual deliverance of 
his countrymen in the faith. 

The spectacle of an individual plotting the subjugation 
of his country to an alien yoke, however repulsive to our 
modern notions of patriotism, was by no means unique at 
that time. * He [Pearsons] was all for Spanish interference 
in England, writes Mr. Andrew Lang, just as Squire 
Western and the Jacobites at large were all for French in 
terference .... Both Popes and foreign Sovereigns, Philip II. 
for one, disliked the interference of the Jesuits. Like Mr. 
Harry Foker they thought it a pity that the clergy should 
interfere. But granting that Parsons intrigued with a 
foreign power against the Government of England, we 
must remember that the Presbyterian ministers were in 
triguing with a foreign power against the Government of 
Scotland. 1 

But no act of hostility on the part of Pearsons aroused 
more widespread resentment at home than the publication 
of his celebrated Conference about the Succession to the 
Article by Mr, Andrew Lang in The Pilot, October 12, 1901, 



12 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

Crowne of Ingland. It was an historic plea for the claims 
of the Infanta as the successor of Elizabeth, and the right 
of the people to depose their rulers for heresy. A special 
Act of Parliament made it death for anyone to have a copy 
of the book in his possession, and the fury of the Govern 
ment of course fell on the whole body of English Catholics. 
That body indignantly repudiated the obnoxious book, the 
publication of which was declared by the Nuncio at Brussels 
to be highly offensive to the Pope. The loyal services of the 
recusants during the invasion of the Armada, as well as their 
innocence on the present occasion, were ignored, and the 
penal enactments inflicted with a relentless hand. 

The unhappy influence of Pearsons, it is alleged, was no 
less disastrously felt in matters other than high politics. 
The difficulty about a supply of priests having been sur 
mounted by the establishment of seminaries beyond the 
sea, a desire arose among the great majority of English 
Catholics for episcopal government in place of the extinct 
hierarchy. The great want of a bishop in England had 
been acknowledged by Pearsons himself, yet it is asserted that 
no sconer did he become rector of the English College at 
Eome (1597) than he opposed any such appointment as 
inopportune. It is further alleged that it was his advice 
which led the Curia to adopt the archpriest form of govern 
ment. In 1599 the Kev. Geo. Blackwell, M.A., of Trinity 
College, Oxford, came to England with powers to grant or 
withdraw the faculties of the secular clergy, consecrate the 
Chrism, and administer Confirmation. 

Blackwell s position in this country was one requiring 
tact amounting to genius, but tact even of the ordinary kind 
he does not seem to have possessed. He is described as 
unconciliatory ; he was perhaps needlessly severe, and in 
November 1600 thirty-three priests petitioned Propaganda 
for his removal. 

The seculars chose as their delegates to Eome Dr. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 13 

William Bishop, afterwards Vicar Apostolic, and Mr. 
Eobert Charnock, a Lancashire gentleman of ancient lineage. 
These were further charged to petition for bishops in ordinary 
and to request that the clergy abroad might be restrained 
from writing against Elizabeth and her ministers, as such 
publications had no other effect than to increase the penal 
laws. 

The delegates were arrested in Rome as factious persons 
and confined in the English College, whence they were 
only released at the intercession of Cardinal Perron, the 
French Ambassador. The odium of their imprisonment has 
been laid on Father Pearsons, who regarded the opposition 
to the archpriest as springing from a spirit of rebellion. 
Meanwhile the conduct of that dignitary was precipitating 
a crisis. He suspended several of the clergy, and the matter 
was carried on appeal from the Nuncio at Brussels to the 
Sorbonne. On the affair going to Rome, the Pope wrote 
exhorting him to be more prudent, and thus matters stood 
when Elizabeth died and James I. ascended the throne in 
1603. 

Catholics, while appreciating the literary and maritime 
glories which shed so bright a lustre over this period of their 
country s history, have nothing but the darkest memories 
to associate with the reign of Elizabeth. One hundred 
and twenty-eight priests, fifty-eight laymen, and two gentle 
women suffered death for the spiritual felonies and treasons 
which were added to the statute book during this reign. 
Several thousand Catholic recusants died in prison from the 
effects of torture and other hardships, while very many noble 
and ancient families were reduced to ruin by the enormous 
monthly fines for non-attendance at the parish church. 

The accession of the Scottish King, James VI., to the 
English throne was hailed with joyful expectation by the 
Catholics of the Southern Kingdom. As the son of the 
unfortunate Mary, he was generally regarded as looking 



14 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

with favour on his mother s co-religionists, and, in the hope 
of good things to come, the Nuncio at Brussels took the pre 
caution of warning the Catholic body in England to abstain 
from even the appearance of disobedience, and to show the 
most perfect loyalty to the Government. The reigning 
Pontiff, Clement VIII., also forwarded to the King his heart 
felt wishes that his Majesty and Consort might have a long 
and glorious reign. James, on his part, was not indifferent 
to these overtures. He remitted the fines for recusancy, 
liberated several priests from prison, and raised some 
Catholic gentlemen to the peerage. In private, moreover, 
he was wont to speak of the Roman Church as the Mother 
Church, and the Pope as the Patriarch of the West. 
These slight marks of royal favour excited the fiercest anger 
of the Puritans, who from a small dissentient body had 
become one of the most influential parties in the Kingdom. 
A large number of the State clergy held their opinions on 
grace and predestination, as well as their uncompromising 
hatred of all that savoured of the Ancient Church. An 
imperative demand for repressive measures against the 
recusants arose, and James bowed to the storm. The penal 
laws were re-enacted with increased severity, so that the worst 
days of the late reign seemed to be suddenly revived. Four 
hundred and nine families were convicted of Romish 
recusancy in Herefordshire alone, and 20,000 in the West 
Riding of Yorkshire ! 

In view of the intolerable state of things under which 
they lived, it is certainly not remarkable that a few of the 
most desperate among the Catholics should have embarked 
upon the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, as a drastic means of 
putting an end to the wickedness of the time. A similar 
design had been resorted to a few years before by the pro- 
testants of the Netherlands against their Spanish oppressors, 
and horrible as the whole affair appears to us of the present 
day, the circumstances of the case must be strictly borne in 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 15 

mind when passing judgment on the Gunpowder treason 
and plot. It is further to be remarked, that of the con 
spirators, some, like Sir Everard Digby, Kobert Winter, 
Eookwood, and the two Wrights, seem only to have been 
engaged to raise the insurrection in the midlands, while 
several of the band had for some time outwardly conformed 
to protestantism and were, in fact, considered by Catholics 
to have abandoned their faith. On the other hand, of the 
five peers who exerted themselves in exposing the conspiracy, 
the Lords Monteagle, Worcester, and Northampton, were 
known to profess the Catholic religion. 

The plot struck a blow at the Catholic cause in England, 
the effects of which are felt at the present day. In vain did 
King James himself publicly exonerate the great body of the 
recusants from all guilt in the proceedings, and equally in 
vain did the Pope and the Archpriest Blackwell denounce 
the design as a damnable conspiracy. Eighteen priests 
and seven laymen suffered death for the exercise of the faith, 
while a batch of new statutes were added to the already 
grievous penal code. Henceforward, Catholics were de 
barred from following the professions of law and medicine, 
were forbidden to be guardians or executors, or civil, 
military, or naval officers. Their approach within ten miles 
of London was interdicted, and children going abroad to 
receive the education they could not get at home forfeited 
their real property to the next protestant heir. 

The oath which the Government about this time pro 
posed for Catholics as a means of obtaining some mitigation 
of the penal code, served to distract and perplex that body 
more than the combined enactments of the past or present 
reign. It condemned the deposing power of the Pope as 
heretical and damnable, and although such power has 
never been an article of Catholic faith, the condemnatory 
words were held at Rome to be unlawful, and the oath 
itself was condemned by Paul V. as containing many 



16 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

things contrary to faith and salvation. The oath, however, 
was intended to divide the Catholic camp, and only too 
well did it do its work. The Archpriest Blackwell sub 
scribed to it under fear of death, and exhorted several of the 
clergy and laity to do so too. The refusal of the great 
majority was an excuse for the enforcement of the penal 
laws, and several priests suffered at York and Tyburn 
respectively. 

The Archpriest, having lapsed into schism, was formally 
deposed. Two successors, Dr. George Birkhead, a clergy 
man of wise and moderate counsels, and Dr. William 
Harrison, held the difficult post between 1608 and 1621. 
The unsatisfactory office ended two years later when the 
Pope appointed Dr. William Bishop, Bishop of Chalcedon, 
first Vicar Apostolic of England with leave to exercise those 
prerogatives and faculties * such as ordinaries enjoy and 
exercise in their cities and dioceses. 

The Vicar Apostolic a graduate in arts of Oxford and a 
doctor of the Sorbonne had already laboured for several 
years as a priest on the English mission. He landed at 
Dover on the night on July 23, 1623, and proceeded on foot 
to the house of Sir William Roper, kinsman of the Catholic 
Lord Teynham. His administration in England, however, 
was of but short duration. He instituted a dean and 
chapter, and gave Confirmation at various places near 
London. In March 1624 he was seized with his last ill 
ness at Bishop s Court, the seat of Sir Basil Brooke, and 
here he expired on April 16, in the seventy- first year of 
his age. 

The European struggle known as the Thirty Years 
War was not without its influence on political affairs in 
England. The defeat of Frederick Prince-Palatine, son- 
in-law of James, by the Imperialists at Prague, made the 
House of Commons resolve that the Catholics at home 
should suffer for the success of Catholics abroad. A bill 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 17 

was prepared making two-thirds of the property of recusants 
the possession of the Crown, and the existing laws were 
rigidly enforced. The legislature was continually crying 
out for fresh penalties, and at this period proceeded to a 
step worthy of the worst days of the Roman Empire when 
the senate house was profaned by spies and informers. 
Each member of the Commons was required to denounce 
by name every papist in his vicinity, and the odious list 
was sent up to the Lords for increased additions. That 
assembly, which still had a large proportion of Catholic 
peers, declined taking any part in the proceedings, and the 
matter was dropped. 1 

In spite of the almost impossible conditions under which 
the old religion then existed in England, her pastoral zeal 
never, perhaps, shone with greater lustre. Thanks to the 
heroic labours of the missionary priests, the lamp of the 
faith was never extinguished in the land once renowned 
throughout the western world as the Isle of Saints and 
most devoted daughter of the Church. A multitude of 
persons, whom fear of punishment or worldly considera 
tions had induced to abandon their religion, were reconciled 
to Catholicism, and in 1623 the Jesuit Fathers alone 
reckoned their conversions in England at no less than 
26,000 ! In 1629 the Franciscan Province extinct in this 
country since 1559 was revived by Father John Gennings, 
and henceforth the devoted sons of St. Francis took their 
part with the disciples of St. Ignatius and the secular 
clergy of Rome and Douai in labouring for the spiritual 
welfare of their distressed countrymen at home. 2 

1 Mackintosh, History, vol. iv. chap. 8. According to the list thus drawn 
up, there were thirty-six Catholics holding minor public offices in England. 
Even as late as this the Catholic peers numbered nearly one-third of the 
House of Lords. 

- Troubles of our Catholic Forefathers, edited by the Rev. John Morris 
-S.J. (first series 1872, second series 1875), The Franciscans in England, 
1600-1850, by Rev. Father Thaddeus, O.F.M. (Art and Book Co. 1898). 

C 



18 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

So far, therefore, from benefiting by change of rulers, 
the recusants sank during the reign of James into that 
state of utter bondage from which they did not commence 
to emerge till the close of the eighteenth century. The 
personal goodwill of the King towards them was continually 
frustrated by the implacable intolerance of the Puritan party. 
Twenty-seven persons suffered death for the exercise of the 
Catholic religion during this reign, while thousands of 
good estate were brought to indigence by ruinous fines. 
Over and above these hardships the Catholic nobility and 
gentry lost those numberless traditional rights and privileges 
which make the condition of an English gentleman of 
easy fortune one of the most enviable social positions in 
the world. 1 

The year of the accession of Charles I., 1625, witnessed 
also the arrival of Dr. William Smith, Bishop of Chalcedon, 
the second Vicar Apostolic. He settled the old dispute 
between the secular and regular clergy on the vexed 
question of faculties or canonical permission to say -Mass, 
hear confessions, etc. The bishop likewise sent the Rev. 
Joseph Harvey, Archdeacon of the English Chapter, to 
assist in the formation of the college at Lisbon for the 
further supply of the mission with priests (1625-6). The 
college, which still flourishes, has always maintained its 
strongly national feeling a trait that was dramatically 
illustrated by an incident that arose during the Peninsular 
War and which is commemorated in one of the college songs. 2 

1 See charge of the Lord Chief Justice Cockburn to the jury at the 
Tichborne trial, 1874. 

2 The president, Dr. Allen, being asked to a banquet by the French 
Commander would only drink to the toast of Vive 1 Empereur on condition 
that the French officers reciprocally honoured God save King George. The 
verse recalling the incident runs thus : 

Nor forget we when " Vive 1 Empereur " was the toast 
How the Briton undaunted defied the proud boast : 
How gallant the spirit that feared not to fling 
In the teeth of the Frenchman his " God save the King ! " ; 



HISTOKICAL INTRODUCTION 19 

The first year of the ill-fated monarch s reign opened with 
sinister forebodings for Catholics. The House of Commons, 
which had long become the most intolerant legislative body 
in Europe, lashed itself to fury over a book that had recently 
appeared entitled An Appeal to Csesar, written by one of 
the king s chaplains. The object of the book was to promote 
the reunion of the Anglican with the Catholic and Koman 
Church, * The mother and mistress of all Churches. The 
immediate result of the publication was a vote of the House 
of Commons for the enforcement of the penal statutes. 
Lord Scroop, president of the North, was charged with 
favouring popery by putting Catholics in the Commission 
of the Peace and in neglecting to disarm Lord Ewre, a 
notorious recusant in the East Eiding of Yorkshire. 
Happily for Catholics and Anglicans, Charles at this junc 
ture dissolved Parliament. 

The presence of a Catholic queen at Court tended not a 
little to revive the ancient faith. In the royal chapel at 
Somerset House there were several Masses every day, and 
such crowds resorted there for confession on Saturdays and 
the vigils of great festivals that many had to wait their turn 
for hours. The sermons explanatory of the several articles 
of Catholic faith resulted in numerous conversions. On the 
other hand, Henrietta Maria was not always prudent. The 
public parade of the splendid rites of the Church was cal 
culated to excite the Puritans to frenzy, as was her pious 
custom of resorting from time to time to Tyburn to pray 
beneath the gallows consecrated by the sufferings of so many 
martyred priests and laymen. 1 

The state of the Catholics in England had long been a 
cause of solicitude at Kome, and in 1634 Urban VIII. sent 
Father Leander, a Benedictine monk, to this country to 
draw up a report. The envoy was a graduate of Oxford 
and personal friend of Archbishop Laud. His mission was 

1 The Court and Times of Charles I. (London, 1848). 



20 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

one of extreme difficulty. Many of the clergy were dis 
satisfied with the Vicar Apostolic, and looked forward to the 
restoration of the hierarchy. Worldly laymen like Francis 
Lord Cottington and Sir Francis Windebank were opposed 
to the visit of the envoy ; others feared his presence would 
irritate the Government and increase the penal laws. Amid 
these difficult circumstances, Leander behaved with a dis 
cretion that cannot be too highly praised. He advised the 
clergy to abstain from all manner of offensive controversy 
and to rely for the conversion of their countrymen on earnest 
prayer and peaceful expositions of the Catholic religion, which 
would be listened to by all of good will. In his report he 
advised a return to the archpriest system and advocated the 
arranging of a concordat between the Pope and the English 
Government as the best means of securing a modus vivendi 
for the Catholic subjects of the King. 

The number of the clergy on the mission is given by 
Leander at nearly a thousand. He praised their great 
learning in philosophy, ethics> and theology, and declared 
that scarcely any Catholic kingdom can display a more 
splendid priesthood. 

The date of the envoy s visit was marked by a persecu 
tion of great severity against the Catholics, during which the 
Vicar Apostolic, after a short sojourn at Lord Montague s 
residence of Cowdray, in Sussex, was forced to retire to Paris. 
Father Arrowsmith was convicted at Lancaster of being a 
popish priest contrary to the King s laws and executed 
August 28, 1628. The dissolution of Parliament in 1629 
resulted in no other being called for ten years, and in con 
sequence Catholics had a little peace. Nevertheless, even 
during this period of comparative quiet, no fewer than 11,970 
persons were convicted of * Romish recusancy in the 
southern shires alone, from which it may be judged what the 
state of things must have been when the persecution was at 
its height. 



HISTOKICAL INTKODUCTION 21 

The mission of Father Leander not proving satisfactory, 
his place as delegate was taken by Gregorio Panzani, an 
Italian Oratorian of considerable diplomatic skill. Panzani 
proposed that an oath of allegiance should be drawn up at 
Borne to replace the one of James I. condemned by the Holy 
See. He was informed, however, by Cardinal Barberini, the 
papal Secretary of State, that such an oath would be made in 
England the subject of a parliamentary discussion, and con 
sidering the notorious hostility of that body, little good 
could be expected from such an expedient. 

The statistics given by Panzani throw an interesting light 
on the numbers and condition of the recusants. According 
to his computation, the professing adherents of the old 
religion amounted to about 160,000. Most of the nobility 
and gentry kept chaplains in their residences, and these 
priests ministered to the poorer class of Catholics in the 
neighbourhood. There was also another set of persons, 
who, although they conformed to the tenets of protestantism, 
were nevertheless Catholics at heart. While I was in 
London/ writes Panzani, almost all the principal nobility 
who died, although generally reported protestants, died 
Catholics ; whence with great probability some infer that 
the English are generally aware of their bad state and there 
fore to secure their salvation die Catholics. The fact that 
the priest could not always be found at the last moment 
was regarded by our informant as the just judgment of 
God. 

During the period immediately preceding the Civil War 
the recusants again came in for their share of parliamentary 
attention. In 1640, upon the King venturing to reprieve 
John Goodman, a Douai priest, sentenced to death at the 
Old Bailey for exercising his religious functions, the Long 
Parliament raised a furious clamour against Charles and 
insisted on the sentence being carried out. To relieve the 
King from his difficulty, Father Goodman actually peti- 



22 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

tioned to be hanged, with the result that his persecutors 
were abashed and he was allowed to linger out his days in 
prison. 

The chapels of the ambassadors had been privileged by 
special enactment, and until the mitigation of the Penal 
Code in 1778 they were the only places where Catholics 
could worship with any security. The ambassadors were 
often deeply religious men, and their intercession was fre 
quently used on behalf of convicted priests. In 1641, the 
house of the Venetian Ambassador was forced and his 
chaplain, Father Cuthbert Clapton, arrested on the ground 
that he was an English priest. Upon the intervention of 
the King he was released. In 1643 Father Kichard 
Worthington, who resided with the Spanish Ambassador, 
was seized while returning from administering the last 
Sacraments to Lady Tresham. In this case the remonstrances 
of the embassy were attended to and the priest was dis 
charged. 

Before entering upon the subject of the Civil War it may 
be remarked that twenty-four priests underwent the extreme 
penalty during this reign and divers other persons suffered 
the minor punishments of fine and imprisonment. In 1632 
George Calvert, Lord Baltimore, founded the colony of 
Maryland in America as a refuge for Catholics, and one of 
the fundamental laws of the new state was full religious 
toleration for all protestants who might settle in the place. 
Whatever sufferings were heaped upon the Catholics during 
this period must be attributed to the Parliament and not to 
the King, who if he had had his own way would gladly 
have seen his Catholic subjects left in peace. Historians of 
the partisan type have waxed eloquent over the unconsti 
tutional conduct of Charles, but if the King chastised a few 
individuals who resisted his by no means exorbitant taxa 
tion, and ruled so long without a parliament, it must in all 
fairness be conceded that he was really in want of money, 



HISTOKICAL INTRODUCTION 23 

while, as subsequent events proved, the Lower House was 
bent on reducing the Crown to a mere figurehead in the 
State. 1 If the King erred through circumstances, in insist 
ing on prerogatives that had grown obsolete and shutting 
his eyes to the growth of public opinion, the Parliament 
sinned by sheer opportunity, in using its uncontrolled in 
fluence to harass beyond endurance a large section of the 
community for adhering to the faith that had been that of 
the nation for upwards of a thousand years. 

The open rupture between Charles and the Parliament was 
the signal for a magnificent display of Catholic loyalty. * The 
Winchesters and Worcesters, the Dunbars, the Bellamonts, the 
Carnarvons, the Powises, the Arundells, the Fauconbergs, the 
Mollineuxes, the Cottingtons, the Monteagles, the Langdales, 
with an equal proportion of Catholic gentry and yeomanry, 
were seen flocking to the royal standard. The prowess of 
these cavaliers was worthy the descendants of the men who 
drove back the Saracens at Ascalon and closed with the 
mailed chivalry of France at Agincourt. Of the five hundred 
noblemen and gentlemen who gave their lives for the royal 
cause, no fewer than two hundred were of the Catholic 
faith. Their names and glorious deeds are writ large in 
such memorable achievements as the relief of Basing House, 
held by the Marquis of Winchester (1643-45), the defence 
of Wardour Castle by Lady Arundell, and the relief of 
Pontefract by Sir Marmaduke Langdale. 2 

1 The Act of 1641 made Parliament independent of the King. The bill 
of 1642 proposed depriving the Crown of the command of the militia and 
fortresses. With regard to Charles s attitude towards Catholics, a recent 
authority remarks : . . . it was the protection which Charles I., under the 
influence of the Queen, extended to Roman Catholics, that cost him his life, 
and that but for this he might have governed as he pleased. The Historical 
MSS. Commission, Standard, Friday, October 14, 1904. 

2 The names of the Catholic royalists killed are given in Challoner s 
Memoirs of Missionary Priests. See also Lingard s Catholic Loyalty 
Vindicated, &c. Basing House was relieved by the Catholic Sir Henry Gage, 
Governor of Oxford. See notes under Oxford. 



24 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

The support so freely bestowed upon the father was 
given with equal generosity to the son. Charles II. after the 
rout at Worcester entrusted his life to no fewer than fifty 
Catholics, including Francis Whitgrave, Esq., of Moseley, and 
the Penderel family, of Eoyal Oak fame. 

Their services to the royal cause during the war and the 
Declaration of Breda, which set forth that no man shall be 
disquieted . . . for differences of opinion in matters of 
religion, naturally inspired the Catholic party with great 
hopes at the period of the Restoration . Loyal addresses 
were forwarded to the King by the Dean and Chapter of the 
missionary clergy and Lord Arundell on behalf of the laity. 
The only reply to these was a demand that all recusants 
should take the condemned oath of James I. When 
Charles s declaration of Indulgence was defeated by Parlia 
ment in 1662, the immediate outcome of the movement was 
a call for the enforcement of the penal law s and a command 
to all * Seminary priests to quit the Kingdom. 

The year 1669 was rendered remarkable by the accession 
of the Duke of York, afterwards James II., to the Catholic 
faith. One of the intermediate causes of the change was a 
diligent perusal of the * History of the Reformation by Dr. 
Heylin, Prebend of Westminster. The Prince, however, had 
given some thought to the subject long before in Paris. 
The King, who had studied the Catholic claims when in 
hiding at Moseley after Worcester, shortly afterwards 
declared, in a secret council, his attachment to the ancient 
Church and the hardship of having to profess a religion in 
which he did not believe. As the secret treaty of Dover 
was then in process of negotiation, it was deemed advisable 
to take no steps in the matter till that transaction had been 
concluded. 1 

1 James when at Paris in 1649 had been introduced to the Prioress of the 
Carmelite Nuns by his mother, Queen Henrietta Maria, who expressed a wish 
that her son would become a Catholic and asked the Rev. Mother to undertake 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 25 

The conversion of the Duke was speedily followed by 
that of the Duchess Anne Hyde, daughter of the Chancellor 
and historian, Lord Clarendon. The secession of these 
two exalted personages caused the greatest excitement. 
Complaints were made of the growth of popery as evidenced 
by the recent event, that High Mass was said in many 
private houses, especially in those of the nobility, and that 
the chapels of the ambassadors were little better than 
conventicles for papists. The disturbed feeling throughout 
the country foredoomed to almost instant failure the 
1 Declaration of Indulgence, put forward by Charles in 1672 
with a view of secretly assisting the Catholics, whose faith 
he inwardly believed. The third Dutch war, which inter 
vened at this juncture of affairs, banished for a time the 
acrimony of controversy from the minds of parliament 
and people. 

The splendid victory of the British fleet, led by the naval 
genius of the Duke of York at Southwold Bay, hastened the 
conclusion of peace. The royal admiral, who invented the 
flag- signalling system, which wrought a revolution in naval 
tactics, soon found his services repaid by the Test Act 
rendering him and his co-religionists incapable of holding 
any public office. The Test which required, among other 
things, a formal repudiation of Transubstantiation and the 
Papal supremacy was subsequently proposed to be applied to 
the members of both Houses, but the King, who saw in it the 
latent intention of excluding his brother from the throne, 
settled the matter by dissolving Parliament (June 1675). 

The general unrest made matters ripe for Titus Oates s 
fabrication known as the Popish Plot, which from 1678 till 
1681 convulsed the nation and caused the effusion of no 

his conversion. Madam, replied that personage, it belongs to God to change 
hearts. I am not clever enough to enter into controversy, but I shall beg God 
to influence the Prince s heart. James, on his side, promised to pray for 
light to see the true faith, a practice which he continued for twenty years 
French Chronicles of the Discalced Carmelites. 



26 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

little blood. The story of the intended murder of the King 
and the setting up of a popish government by means of French 
aid found widespread credit, in spite of the manifest dis 
crepancies of Gates when examined before the King in 
Council. It is no part of the present narrative to enumerate 
the trials and executions that ensued, or to dilate on the long 
acknowledged innocence of the twenty-four victims from 
Edward Coleman, secretary to the Duke of York, to the 
venerable Viscount Stafford and Dr. Plunket, Archbishop 
of Armagh. 1 The acquittal of Sir Thomas Gascoigne, Bart., 
from the charges connected with the clumsy concoction 
known as the Yorkshire Plot was mainly secured by the 
overwhelming evidence of a long list of Yorkshire gentle 
men who came forward on the old baronet s behalf. 

Great as was the guilt of Gates, Bedloe, Tonge, and the 
other professional perjurers, a place must be reserved in the 
pillory of history for the Earl of Shaftesbury * the false 
Achitophel who lent the full weight of his talents and 
influence for the furtherance of the imposture. Some have 
even charged him with the authorship of the Plot, and 
certainly, judging by his lack of scruple, he had, as Clarendon 
said of Hampden, * a head to contrive, a heart to conceive, 
and a hand to execute any villainy. He died an attainted 
exile in Holland in 1683, leaving behind him a name for 
uncommon talents and uncommon wickedness, and one that 
in the early ages of Christianity would have undoubtedly 
found a place in the * De Mortibus Persecutorum. 

The moral weakness of Charles in consenting to the 
deaths of men whom he knew to be entirely innocent, 
roused in his voluptuous heart the keenest pangs of remorse. 
The victims of the Plot were even in their own day regarded 

1 At the trial of Father Whitebread, April 24, 1678, before Lord Chief 
Justice Scroggs, eight boys of the English Catholic College of St. Omer were 
brought over to prove that at the time the accused was stated to have been 
engaged in conspiracy in England he was actually at the College. See 
Centenary Record of Stonyhurst College, 1894. 



HISTOKICAL INTBODUCTION 27 

as martyrs by the common opinion of the Catholic world, 
and the Queen, Catherine of Braganza, who had a great 
devotion to them, caused their portraits to be hung in her 
room. The King never entered her apartment without 
kissing their features and invoking their intercession. He 
would often on his knees make a most hearty protestation 
of his fault and of their innocence, concluding by saying 
that they were in a place where they knew of a truth that 
he had been forced, and that they would pray to God for 
him to pardon his crime. l 

The immediate civil effect of the Popish Plot was the 
Act excluding the Catholic peers from the House of Lords, 
It met with some opposition in the Upper Chamber, as by 
its nature it seemed to many of the peers to strike at the 
very principle of their order. The measure, however, 
became law, and remained in force for over a hundred and 
fifty years. 

Thus, without a shadow of guilt on their part, and to 
satisfy an implacable faction, were the Catholic nobility 
deprived of their last remaining privilege and their de 
scendants condemned to generations of social oblivion. The 
peers affected by the law were : the Duke of Norfolk, and 
the Earls of Shrewsbury, Berkshire, Portland, Cardigan, 
and Powis ; the Viscounts Montague and Stafford ; the 
Barons Mowbray, Audley, Stourton, Petre, Arundell, Huns- 
den, Bellasyse (Fauconberg), Langdale, Teynham, Carring- 
ton, Widdrington, Gerard of Bromley, Clifford, and Ewre of 
Whitton. 

From the day that Shaftesbury presented the Duke of 
York to the grand jury of Middlesex as a Popish recusant, 
the Whigs had been untiring in their efforts to exclude that 

1 Stonyhurst MSS., vol. ii. p. 101. Excerpta P. Glover. Among the things 
taken from the victims of the Plot was a piece of the true Cross which the 
Queen gave the King, who wore it with great reverence to the day of his death. 
Ibidem. 



28 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

Prince from the throne. The bill introduced into Parlia 
ment to effect this was viewed with abhorrence by three- 
fourths of the nobility and landed gentry as violating the 
established custom of royal right. Its ultimate defeat both 
in London and at the session held amidst the classic retreats 
of Oxford in 1681 was mainly due to the firmness of the 
King, whom fraternal affection had for once aroused from 
his accustomed round of vicious pleasures. During the 
debates in the Commons various alternatives were offered 
by the Tories to the Opposition to turn them from their 
purpose. Among these may be enumerated one for banish 
ing all considerable papists from the realm and preventing 
the * fraudulent conveyance of their estates. The triumph 
of the Court, however, rendered these subterfuges unneces 
sary. 1 

The death-bed repentance and conversion of Charles II. 
has ever been regarded by Catholics as one of those * miracles 
of grace which God sometimes vouchsafes to the most 
inveterate sinners. His reign is remarkable as being the 
last in which blood was shed for the faith, and, with the ex 
ception of the brief reign of his brother, the old religion 
passed into the darkness of social oblivion from which it did 
not emerge for over a hundred years. 

There is little else to remark upon with regard to this 
reign except that during it flourished the Rev. John Gother, 
whose learned and temperate expositions of the Catholic faith 
in the Papist Misrepresented and Represented/ and similar 
works, had a wide circulation and led to innumerable con 
versions. Among these was that of the poet John Dryden, 
much of whose theological argument in the Hind and the 
Panther may be traced to the famous apologia of the pious 
Lisbonian priest. Father Philip Thomas Howard, a 

1 To save their lands from going to the next protestant heir, as the law 
directed, Catholics often made over their real property to some protestant 
friend in trust. This state of things lasted till 1778. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 29 

Dominican monk, and cousin of the Duke of Norfolk, was 
appointed Lord Almoner to Queen Catherine of Braganza 
in 1665, and ten years later was created a cardinal. He 
re-established the Dominican province in England and 
opened a college for the noviciate at Bornhem in Flanders. 
He died in Kome in 1694, leaving behind him a reputation 
for piety and discretion which was acknowledged even by 
those most opposed to the principles he professed. 

The reign of James II. is a woeful example of an 
obstinate personality throwing prudence to the winds and 
turning a deaf ear to the most well-timed advice. The 
King, though he did not stretch his prerogative farther than 
the sovereigns who went before him, yet relied too much on 
his supremacy and the loud professions of passive obedience 
which were rife among the English Protestant clergy. 
Like his father, he forgot that times had changed and 
what was legally permissible might in practice lead to the 
direst results. Moreover, his causing High Mass to be 
publicly celebrated sending an ambassador to Rome call 
ing Catholics to the Privy Council, and appointing Catholic 
officers in spite of the Test Act, were all steps in the wrong 
direction, considering the blind hatred of the old religion 
then existing throughout the country. The forcing of 
Catholics on the colleges of Oxford and Cambridge was 
equally misguided, and only served to set those institutions 
against the throne. 

Since the death of Bishop Smith of Chalcedon at Paris 
in 1655, the Catholics of England had been without 
episcopal government. At the request of James, Pope 
Innocent XI. than whom no one living more strenuously 
condemned the royal policy sent Dr. John Ley burn, Pre 
sident of Douai College, to England with the title of 
Vicar Apostolic and Bishop of Adrumetum. The bishop 
boldly told the King that the fellow r s and students of 
Magdalen College were grievously wronged, and that resti- 



30 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

tution ought to be made to them on religious as well as 
political grounds. Count Ferdinand d Adda, Archbishop of 
Amasia, the Papal Nuncio, brought similar advice from 
Innocent, which was to let existing religious and civil 
institutions alone, to respect the laws, and seek to obtain for 
Catholics a gradual toleration by the exercise of prudence 
and forbearance. 

In 1687 Bishop Leyburn visited Wigan, Preston, 
Durham, Newcastle, and other places in the north, where 
he gave Confirmation to upwards of 20,000 persons. In 
London and some of the provincial towns, schools were 
opened by the Jesuits and Franciscans. As the instruction 
was of a high-class nature, free and open to all without 
reference to creed, the schools attracted crowds of pupils. 
The direction of the Chapel Royal, St. James s, was given to 
Benedictines and that of the Queen s chapel at Somerset 
House to the order of St. Francis. On January 11, 1688, 
Innocent XI., at the request of James, divided the country 
into four vicariates, each governed by a titular bishop. Dr. 
Leyburn was named first Vicar Apostolic of the London 
district, and the other prelates, Bishop Giffard of the Mid 
land district, Bishop Smith of the northern, and Bishop 
Philip Ellis, O.S.B., of the western, were consecrated by 
the Papal Nuncio in April and May of the same year. The 
vicariates increased to eight in 1840 lasted down to 1850, 
and were a benefit to the Church in this country, the 
importance of which can scarcely be estimated. 

When the Revolution of 1688 saw the end of Stuart rule 
in England, the Catholics entered upon their last and most 
trying epoch, which has not unfitly been termed the era of 
bloodless martyrdom. The King had fled, and upon the 
unoffending body of his co-religionists at home now descended 
the full force of Whig retribution. They were with the 
Unitarians excepted from the Toleration Act, and two of 
the Bishops Lejburn and Giffard were sent to the 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 31 

Tower. Of course, the chapels and schools opened during 
the late reign were almost immediately destroyed, and in 
not a few instances the private residences of Catholic gentle 
men as Courtfield, the ancestral home of the Vaughans, and 
Hathersage Hall, that of the Eyres were raided by Orange 
mobs. A few Catholics had recently been admitted to the 
professions of law and medicine, but their practice was again 
forbidden by the Act of 1690. L At the General Sessions 
held at Thirsk in Yorkshire in October of this year, 1,755 
persons were prosecuted for Romish recusancy. But 
nothing told so severely against the Catholics as the Act of 
1700, for further preventing the growth of Popery. This 
statute placed the estates of Papists at the disposal of the 
next protestant heir and offered every common informer a 
reward of 100 for apprehending priests, who on conviction 
were to be imprisoned for life. This Act supplemented the 
celebrated statutes 13 and 27 of Elizabeth, adjudging the 
penalty of death against priests saying Mass or otherwise 
exercising their religious functions, and really brought those 
for whom it was intended more surely under the law. A 
protestant jury might hesitate before sending the accused to 
death merely for saying Mass, but would have less scruple 
where only imprisonment was concerned. No sooner was 
the measure passed than a crop of informers sprang up eager 
to earn the promised reward. These were, for the most 
part, apostate priests and persons of notoriously bad character, 
such as Richard Hitchmough and one Mottram who had 
been expelled from Cambridge for his evil living. The 
trouble these wretched men caused was incalculable. In 
1706 Bishop Giffard was compelled on their account to 
change his lodgings fourteen times to elude pursuit, ani had 

1 In October 1692, Dr. Betts, sometime physician to Charles II. and 
James II., was expelled the College of Physicians in pursuance of this Act, and 
Mr. Serjeant Piggott had to quit a lucrative practice at the Bar for the same 



32 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

been in durance so frequently that he compared his lot to 
that of St. Paul in carceribus abundant ius, in prisons 
more frequently. 

King William s cabinet of papers contained a document 
which set down the Catholic population of English at 13,856 
a figure certainly incorrect. In 1717 the number was 
reckoned at 70,000, and the clergy on the mission at about 
500. When Bishop Smith confirmed at Lower Hall, 
Samlesbury, Lancashire, in July 1709, Catholics are reported 
to have come to his lordship in crowds. At Ribblesdale 
the population remained Catholic throughout the penal 
times owing to the influence of the local gentry. 1 In the 
West Riding of Yorkshire the return of papists comprised 
229 knights and esquires, commencing with Sir Charles 
Ingleby, Serjeant-at-law, temp. James II. 

The attachment of many English Catholics to the cause 
of the exiled Stuarts was perfectly natural, considering the 
efforts injudicious though they were of James II. on their 
behalf, and the ever-increasing hardships which successive 
governments after the Eevolution heaped upon them. 
Moreover, there was the principle of divine right underlying 
the whole current of English politics, and the Jacobite party 
embraced men of every creed. The failure of the rising of 
1715 brought the Catholic Lord Derwentwater and about 
eight gentlemen of note to the scaffold, the estates of all 
Catholics in any way concerned were confiscated, and by the 
Act of 1722 all papist landowners were subjected to a double 
land tax. Lord Stanhope s project for obtaining for the 
recusants some amelioration of their hard lot was frustrated 
by his death, though, as his descendant, Lord Mahon, 
observes : I do not think that he or any other man at that 
period would have been able to effect it. 2 

1 Abram, History of Blackburn. In 1717 the Ribblesdale population 
contained 1,023 avowed Papists out of a total of 1,800 families. Ibid. 

2 History of England, vol. i. chap. ix. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 83 

During the rising of 1745, but one Catholic of note joined 
Prince Charles Edward in Lancashire, while in London 
Bishop Challoner, coadjutor to Bishop Petre, the Vicar 
Apostolic, exerted himself to prevent some persons well 
affected to the Chevalier from espousing his cause. No new 
enactment was made against the recusants during this reign, 
though by Lord Hardwicke s Marriage Act of 1752 to check 
the scandalous Fleet marriages Catholics entering into 
wedlock were compelled to be united in the protestant 
church. By the 2 Geo. III. cap. 20, all persons joining the 
Militia had to take an oath containing the words : * I do 
swear that I am a protestant. 

Throughout this period, the chapels of the nobility and 
gentry continued to be almost the only places of worship for 
Catholics outside those of the ambassadors. A chapel known 
as the Penny Hotel was opened at Moorfields, London, in 
1733, and in a few of the larger provincial towns there was 
a Mass house hidden away behind some mean alley where 
a few persons assembled by stealth on Sundays. Even as late 
as 1733, Bishop Williams, Vicar Apostolic of the northern 
district, had to fly to remote places to escape prison, and in 
1747, the year after the last Jacobite rebellion, Bishop York, 
coadjutor of the western district, wrote to Propaganda, We 
are compelled to fly from house to house, and from city to 
city. In London Bishop Challoner preached on Sunday 
evenings at a public-house off Holborn called The Ship, 
the congregation having pipes and pewter pots by them to 
avoid suspicion. Dr. Challoner s services to the cause of 
Catholicism in England cannot be too highly estimated. 
His numerous learned writings w T ere the comfort and 
instruction of his co-religionists in their afflictions, while 
their depth, piety, and charity made them eminently suited 
for diffusing a sound knowledge of Catholic belief and 
practice among protestants, whose prejudices they did so 
much to dispel. 

D 



34 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

In spite of the contempt and obscurity to which they 
had been consigned by generations of oppression, the little 
remnant of Catholics could boast some members that would 
have done honour to any party. Alexander Pope, the poet, 
has written his name large on the triumphal tablets of 
fame, and the witty epigrammatist, in spite of his world- 
liness, lived and died a member of the Catholic Church. 
Contemporary with him flourished Dr. Hawarden of Douai, 
who received the public thanks of the University of Oxford 
for his brilliant defence of the Trinity against Dr. Samuel 
Clarke. The discussion, it may be observed, was carried on in 
the presence of the controversy-loving consort of George II., 
Queen Caroline of Anspach. Bishop Walmesley, of the 
Western district, and Fellow of the Koyal Society, was 
consulted by the government of the day with reference to 
the reform of the calendar in 1752, while his several 
mathematical and scientific treatises had a European vogue. 1 
The Catholic Dr. Arne has obtained lasting celebrity as the 
composer of the patriotic c Rule Britannia and scores of 
beautiful melodies. In the department of the law, James 
Booth, John Maire, and Matthew Duane rose to the highest 
eminence as conveyancers ; after the Bar was thrown open 
to Catholics in 1791, their pupils and successors, Francis 
Plowden, D.C.L., and Charles Butler, acquired a solid 
reputation in the courts as cogent pleaders. The latter, who 
was a prolific writer on a variety of subjects, is best known 
for his Historical Memoirs of English, Irish, and Scottish 
Catholics/ and, as a barrister, for an able essay on Fearne s 
1 Contingent Remainders which did much to elucidate that 
abstruse work. 

Still, as long as they were excluded from all professions 

1 De Inequalitatibus Motuum Lunariorum ; Analyse des Mesures des 
Rapports et des Angles; Thtorie du Maniement des Apsides, <fec. &c. He is 
said to have relinquished his mathematical studies on account of a distraction 
these once caused him while saying Mass. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 35 

and shut out from the public life of the nation, there was 
little chance of the recusants being able to do anything to 
better their miserable condition. In 1772 Pope Clement 
XIV. who had just entertained Prince William of Gloucester, 
brother of George III., at Rome, sent Monsignor Caprara, 
afterwards Cardinal, to England to make inquiries. His 
report is dismal reading. The Catholics were broken and 
dejected ; neither were they entirely free from the prevail 
ing spirit of philosophic scepticism. Not a few of the 
leading personages among them had either conformed or 
were about to conform to protestantism to enter parliament 
and obtain places under government. A parliamentary 
report of three years before had given the number of 
Catholics in England at about 69,000, and there is reason to 
fear that this number tended to decrease. In 1773 Bishop 
Challoner reported that there were only 700 Catholics and 
seven priests in Sussex. Twenty years later the numbers had 
fallen to 550 laymen and five priests. Between 1765 and 1771 
the notorious informer Paine caused the prosecution of 
numbers of priests, the last of whom was the Hon. and Kt. 
Eev. Bishop Talbot, who was indicted at the Old Bailey in 
February 1771. All of these except one were acquitted, 
through the judges insisting on the informer proving that the 
accused were priests and that they had actually said Mass. 
The exception was the Kev. John Baptist Moloney, who was 
sentenced to perpetual imprisonment, but subsequently 
banished. 

The list of Conforming nobility and gentry during the 
eighteenth century is a long one, and in each case it meant 
not only a family of influence lost to the faith, but also the 
closing of a chapel, the dismissal of the priest, and the final 
extinction of the Catholic religion in an entire district. 
Things, however, reached their climax in 1778. The 
American war was then at its height, and the Government 
was anxious to conciliate all classes at home. A loyal 

D2 



36 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

petition of a fulsome nature, signed by ten Catholic peers 
and 163 landed gentlemen, was presented to the King, was 
well received, and Parliament followed suit by a small 
measure of relief the famous bill of 1778. In return for 
repudiating the Pope s deposing power the mythical 
nature of which we have already referred to and abjuring 
the Pretender * taking upon himself the style and title of 
Charles III. Catholics were allowed to acquire landed 
property by purchase ; heirs educated abroad were to be 
exempt from forfeiture, and the penalty for saying Mass was 
reduced to six months imprisonment. All rewards for in 
forming were taken away, and from that day prosecution of 
Seminary priests and Jesuits ceased in England. 

The fanatical outburst known as the Gordon Riots, which 
greeted this slight concession, is familiar to all. It raged 
for a week (June 2-8, 1780), burning and destroying Mass 
houses, ambassadors mansions, and peers residences with 
perfect impartiality. Then 20,000 soldiers were let loose on 
the mob. Charges with the bayonet and raking volleys of 
musketry quickly asserted the supremacy of law and order, 
and, for the first time in their history, the recusants found 
themselves the object of pity and commiseration. They had 
duly taken the prescribed oath and were entitled to protec 
tion. The damage done to their property was made good 
out of the rates. Sympathy for the long-suffering Catholics 
had indeed been steadily gathering force from about the 
middle of the eighteenth century. Burke advocated their 
cause in Parliament, and when the French Revolution was 
at its height, reminded his countrymen that it was a most 
absurd and contemptible idea to suppose that if Catholicism 
were destroyed, Protestantism could survive the calamity. 
Dr. Johnson on more than one occasion expressed his appre 
ciation of some of the more distinctive doctrines of the 
Church, such as the Real Presence and Purgatory. 1 The 

1 Boswell s Life of Johnson, chap. 17. 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 37 

Bev. George Crabbe, one of the most pathetic of poets, sang 
the fallen condition and sorrowful lot of 

The Church of Rome, who here is poor and old. 

Monsignor Caprara during his visit in 1772 had observed the 
general good feeling on the part of the Court and governing 
classes towards Catholics, and this feeling fostered by the 
events already narrated led up to the second Belief Act of 
1791. It is true that during the interval between 1780 and 
the last named year, Catholics had their own domestic 
troubles to occupy them, troubles arising from the officious 
interference of the Catholic Committee and its schismatical 
tendencies. 1 But in spite of these obstacles the cause of 
emancipation made steady progress. The Act of 1791, 
piloted through Parliament by Mr. Mitford, legalised Catholic 
worship, chapels, and schools, and threw open the professions 
of law and medicine to adherents of the old religion. Bishop 
Douglass, Vicar Apostolic of the London district, voiced the 
gratitude of his co-religionists when he eulogised in his 
Pastoral (June 14, 1791) the humane and generous 
legislature for redressing the grievances of which we com 
plained. 

The French Bevolution, as is well known, contributed 
in large measure to the restoration of the Catholic Church 
in England. The exiled French clergy, who were so 
generously assisted by all classes of society in this country, 
were to bo found in almost every district either as 
missioners to scattered congregations or tutors in schools 
and families. Their general edifying conduct and learned 
explanations of Catholic doctrines and practices did much to 

1 The Catholic Committee was a mixed board of clergy and laity formed 
in 1783 to bring about the repeal of the penal laws and the establishment of 
a regular hierarchy. The mere extreme members claimed the right of 
appointing the Vicars Apostolic and of treating exclusively with the Govern 
ment on Catholic questions. Bishop Milner was a vigorous opponent of the 
committee, which after the Relief Act of 1791 became the Cisalpine Club, but 
the old spirit of opposition happily soon died out. 



38 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

dispel the deep and inveterate prejudices against Papists. 
Many of our most flourishing missions at the present day 
owe their origin to the zeal and energy of the emigre clergy 
who were so long a familiar feature in English social life. 

It was at this time that the several British colleges 
abroad returned, stripped of all material possessions, to 
recommence their careers in their own land, after a pro 
scription of over two centuries. Stonyhurst College in 
Lancashire dates its foundation from 1794, Oscott from 1795, 
and Ampleforth from 1802. The College of Douai sup 
pressed by the Republicans in 1792 wasrefounded at home 
at Crookhall, near Durham, in 1794, and removed to the 
present Ushaw in 1808. Many of the Douai students, how 
ever, recommenced their studies at the Old Hall Green 
Academy, in Hertfordshire, founded by Bishop Talbot, 
coadjutor to Bishop Challoner, in 1769, which in 1795 was 
enlarged and renamed St. Edmund s College. 

Thus free from the drag and restriction of penal laws, 
and with the necessary higher education provided for, 
Catholics were enabled to face the future full of courage and 
full of hope. The years that passed before the crowning 
triumph of Catholic Emancipation in 1829 won by the in 
domitable perseverance of Daniel O Connell and the political 
organisation controlled by his genius were years of quiet 
progress for the Church in England. The Government that 
had so long penalised the profession and practice of the old 
religion now veered round and actually demanded a voice in 
the appointment of its bishops ! This led to the long and 
bitter Veto controversy which reached its height about 1814. 
The proposal was only finally defeated by the combined 
action of Bishop Milner in England and the hierarchy in 
Ireland, who foresaw the dangers to British Catholicism that 
would arise from this species of State control. 1 

1 The enslaved state of the Church in France since the Concordat between 
Pius VII. and Napoleon in 1801 is an eloquent proof of the wisdom that 
directed the opposition to the government veto in England, 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 39 

The shrunk and attenuated number of English Catholics 
towards the close of the eighteenth century has already been 
referred to, but, from the dawn of better times, statistics 
show a marvellous improvement. The chapels, which in 
1780 were reckoned at 200, rose to 346 in 1824, to 417 in 
1834, and 506 in 1844. In 1853 there were eleven colleges 
in England, eighty-eight religious houses, and 616 churches 
and chapels. In 1903 the churches, chapels, and stations 
amounted to 1,563. The clergy, secular and regular, have 
of course kept pace with the general expansion. The 350 
priests, secular and regular, of 1773 rose to more than 
double that number in 1803, owing largely, of course, to the 
presence of many of the exiled clergy of France. In 1903 the 
roll of the clergy included 3,073 names. By 1800 the 69,376 
Catholics of 1780 had risen to 100,000, and in 1850 the 
year of the restoration of the hierarchy by Pius IX. the 
Catholic population was computed to be about a million. 
This large increase was due to three great causes : first, the 
decay of prejudice and spread of a true knowledge of the 
Catholic religion among Englishmen, arising partly from the 
writings of such popular exponents as Bishop Milner ( End 
of Controversy/ 1817), William Cobbett, M.P. ( History of 
the Reformation, 1824), and the sympathetic appreciation of 
the Ancient Church as the historic Church of Christianity, 
aroused among intellectual persons by the Oxford or 
Tractarian Movement (1833-50). This phase of thought 
was indirectly prepared in England by Sir Walter Scott s 
novels, which banished the supremacy of classicalism from 
literature and turned public attention to the aims, ambitions, 
political and social institutions of the Middle Ages. The 
number of adherents which the Tractarian Movement 
brought the Church amounted to thousands of every rank 
and condition of life. Nearer our own time, the general 
tendency of protestant bodies to forsake the fundamental 
truths of Christianity, such as the doctrine of the Trinity, 



40 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

divinity of Christ, etc. etc., no less than the almost 
endless questions turning on the inspiration, interpreta 
tion, and authority of the Bible, have all served, in a 
greater or less degree, to swell the number of Rome s 
Recruits. 

Catholics of course freely acknowledge that, side by side 
with the spiritual and material progress which has marked 
the history of the Church in this country during the past 
century, there has been much falling off from among their 
numbers, or * leakage, as it is sometimes called. This has 
been due to a variety of causes the natural waywardness of 
human nature the inherent inclination to follow sweet 
will and neglect obvious but irksome duties the struggle 
for existence amidst evil surroundings and pauperising 
influences the scarcity of Catholic missions and schools 
and the consequent ignorance of religion that results there 
from. These remarks refer to the rank and file, but with 
regard to those who have joined the Church and then gone 
back the causes of defection are far less numerous. Leav 
ing out the very general one, amour prop-re and spiritual 
pride, as equally subversive of all exterior authority, whether 
religious or otherwise, it must be conceded that the bulk of 
these persons never were real Catholics at all. Pure reason 
led them through the gates of the Church and pure reason 
led them out again, because they had not disposed their hearts 
for the light of faith by prayer. Faith and reason are not, 
as some suppose, antagonistic, far from it, but the latter 
often exists without the other. Faith to the supernatural 
order, intellectual conviction to the natural. The one is 
from God, the other from man. Faith is not brought into 
the soul by intellectual activity and dialectical skill. Non 
in dialectics complacuit Deo salvum facer e populum suum 
(St. Ambrose). Faith canre^h. by hearing; the Catholic 
Church is the oracle o/f&etH$W world. The deposit of 




HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 41 

faith is with her. This must be recognised and the rest 
follows submission to the Divine teacher. l 

The second cause of the prevalence of Catholicity in 
England is the great influx of Irish. During the Peninsular 
War and Waterloo periods Ireland proved a superb recruit 
ing ground for the British Army, and it has been estimated 
that no fewer than 100,000 Irish soldiers fell in Spain 
alone. When the great peace of 1815-54 commenced, and 
railway construction was undertaken, the same stalwart 
arms that had driven the bayonets through the legions of 
Napoleon were again in demand to shape and fashion the 
iron road. The great famine of 1845-7 added its tens of 
thousands to the already considerable Irish population in 
England, and, whatever may be said to the contrary, the 
presence of the more boisterous Celt had a very salutary 
effect in correcting the air and habit of timid reserve so 
long noticeable in the bulk of native English Catholics. 

The third and no less important reason for the present 
satisfactory state of English Catholicism lies in the restora 
tion of the hierarchy in 1850, and the splendid freedom en 
joyed by the Church in her once own fair land. The 
system of Vicars Apostolic, as we have seen, did much to 
consolidate the spiritual government of the persecuted 
recusants, but it was at best a makeshift of penal days 
which was bound in happier times to give place to that 
which is more perfect. The question of bishops in ordinary 
with titles derived from English sees had been warmly 
taken up by the Catholic Committee of 1782, and the idea 
was subsequently adopted and advocated by William Pitt s 
Government when the Veto question was on the tapis. At 
Borne the Curia was long divided as to the expediency of 
the movement, but when Gregoiy XVI. increased the four 
Vicars Apostolic to eight in 1840, it was felt that the 

1 The Study of Butler s Analogy, by Fr. Reginald Buckler, O.P. 
(Pastoralia, January 1905). 



42 ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 

problem was on the verge of solution. The revolution of 
1848 and flight of Pius IX. to Gaeta delayed the settlement, 
but the suspense ended in September 1850 when the Pope 
issued the famous Letters Apostolic, Universalis Ecclesiae, 
restoring the Catholic hierarchy in England. The storm of 
fury throughout the country at this act of insolent aggres 
sion was met by Cardinal Wiseman, Archbishop of West 
minster, with courage and dignity, and his Appeal to the 
reason and good feeling of the English people had a power 
ful effect in allaying the popular excitement. The Cardinal 
pointed out that no territorial aggrandisement was sought 
by himself or the Catholic bishops, and that the recent act 
of the Holy See was only to secure for his countrymen in 
the faith a more convenient and perfect government in 
spiritual matters than could be afforded by the Vicar 
Apostolic system, which was but an expedient of the penal 
times. 

During the archiepiscopal rule of Cardinal Wiseman 
the Church in this country may be said to have entirely 
shaken the dust of the dreary past off her feet and to have 
entered upon a new phase of life. He found the laity old 
fashioned, timid and reserved ; the clergy imbued with 
customs and traditions that had come down from the days 
of persecution, the churches, schools, and religious houses 
few and far between. He taught his co-religionists to take 
their share in the public life of the country and to use their 
political privileges. He multiplied churches and religious 
orders, and infused a new spirit into the whole body of the 
priesthood. In the midst of all these labours, he charmed 
and impressed those outside the household of the faith by 
his acknowledged abilities as a public lecturer on literary 
and artistic topics. Full of the most genuine piety, but 
without the least bit of bigotry, he gradually came to 
inspire general admiration for his worth, and when his 
strenuous life closed in February 1865, his countrymen of 



HISTORICAL INTRODUCTION 43 

all creeds and classes honoured his remains with a funeral 
recalling that of the great Duke of Wellington in 1852. 

With the return of Catholicism in England to a normal 
state of existence, this brief and imperfect sketch of its 
post-Eeformation history closes. The laborious work of 
building up afresh the ruined fabrics, and replanting among 
our countrymen the faith of St. Augustine and St. Gregory, 
is still in progress. The question is sometimes asked of Catho 
lics if they really think that Britain and its colossal empire 
will ever receive the Church as their mother and their queen, 
or, in a word, if the dead and buried past can live again. 
The answer that might be given is that greater marvels 
than this have been accomplished, and that compared to, 
say, Arianism, which threatened the existence of Christianity 
in the early ages, the revolt from Rome in the sixteenth 
century is but a mere incident in the history of Catholicism. 
If the downfall of the Ancient Church in England was some 
thing absolutely wondrous, her rise in recent times is even 
more amazing. In spite of kings and governors, and the 
perils arising from false brethren, she has fought the good 
fight and kept the faith, and can with full hope look forward 
to the abundant harvest that springs from seed sown amidst 
sufferings, self-sacrifice, and tears. What difficulties and 
dangers of the future has she to fear whose journey has 
been through storm and stress, the manifold vicissitudes of 
things ? Per tot discrimina rerum I 



MISSIONS 



N.B. In the lists of the Clergy only the names of the head priests 
or rectors are given. The dates of appointment are approximate. 



ABBEY WOOD, KENT (South- 
war Je). 

The congregation of the Filles de 
Jesus, expelled from France under 
the Law of Associations, established 
a convent here in 1904. The chapel, 
which is open to the public, is for 
the present served from Plum- 
stead. 

N.B. The name of the locality 
is derived from Lesnes Abbey, an 
Augustinian house, founded in 1178 
by Richard de Lucy, and dedicated 
to St. Thomas of Canterbury. It 
was among the number of smaller 
monasteries suppressed by Cardinal 
"Wolsey, 1524. The revenues were 
granted to New College, Oxford, as 
an endowment. 



ABBOTS SALFORD, EVESHAM, 
WARWICKSHIRE (Birmingham). 

The Jesuit Fathers occasionally 
visited Evesham to say Mass and 
administer the sacraments for the 
benefit of the faithful few that clung 
to the old religion in spite of the 
penal laws. Fr. T. Roper, S.J.,was 
priest at Evesham from 1693 to 
about 1700. This excellent priest 
was a near relation of the Lords 
Teynham, the lineal descendants of 
the Blessed Thomas More. After 



the dissolution, Henry VIII. granted 
Abbots Salford and Evesham Abbey 
to^Sir Philip Hoby. The property 
ultimately passed to the Stanfords, 
one of whom, Charles Stanford, 
built the Hall, 1610. Mrs. Stan 
ford, the last of the family, lent the 
Hall to some Benedictine nuns ex 
pelled from France by the Revolu 
tion. The community resided here 
from 1807 to 1838. The property 
is now owned by the Eyston family. 

Priests since 1727. 
Rev. Francis Southcot, 1727. 

Francis Bruning, 1730. 

John Daniel, 1760. 

Thos. Ballyman, 1768. 

Edmund Hadley, 1775. 

Richard Reeve, 1778. 

Edw. Wright, 1781. 

J. Conzi, 1797. 

P. F. Chandon, 1800. 

Chris. Louvel, 1804. 

Ralph Shaw, ) 

James Norman, j- 1808-1818. 

Stephen Barber,) 

Thos. Wassal, O.S.B., 1818. 

Thos. Lawson, 1823. 

L. Barber, ) 

J. Kenyon, [1830-37. 

John Abbot, ) 

Joseph Short, 1837. 

S. Barber, O.S.B., 1838. 

Henry Richmond, 1844. 

Ambrose Courtenay, 1853. 



46 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Edw. Kenny, 1854. 
Pat. Hartigan, 1858. 
A. Crane, 1882. 
Wm. Stoker, 1885. 
Canon McCave, 1889. 
John B. Caldwell, 1892. 
A. Crane (second time), 1893. 
F. Sutherland, 1896. 
Canon O Hanlon, 1901. 
James Giblin, 1901. 
James Bredin, 1904. 



ABERFORD, WEST RIDING, 
YORKS (Leeds). 

This mission, according to the 
statement of the Rev. John Robin 
son, was founded|in 1786. In the 
later part of the eighteenth century 
it would appear to have been served 
by Benedictines. Fr. Steare, O.S.B., 
was priest at Aberford in 1765, but, 
as there was then no chapel, he 
resided at Parlington, a few miles 
distant. The registers date from 
1806, but no priest s signature ap 
pears in them before 1810, when 
the Rev. W. Chew had charge of 
the mission. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Allerton. 

J. Robinson, 1829. 

A. Atkinson, 1843. 

,. F. Williams, O.S.B., 1866. 

G. Fazakerley, O.S.B., 1877. 

Jos. Warden, O.S.B., 1892. 

Jn. Carew, O.S.B., 1893. 

F. Hickey, O.S.B., 1896. 



ABERGAVENNY, MONMOUTH 
SHIRE (Neivport). St. Michael. 

A Franciscan mission was es 
tablished here 1687. The house 
of the Order was in Frogmore 
Street, and was the gift of Peter 
Morgan, Esq., who gave it in trust 
to Mrs. Mary Roberts. Mrs. Gun- 



ter and Mrs. F. Watkins were also 
early benefactresses of the founda 
tion. The Franciscan title of the 
mission was that of the Immaculate 
Conception. The building was en 
larged, 1793, owing to a bequest of 
Mr. Weld, of Lulworth, and other 
benefactions from Mr. Jones and 
Miss Prodger. The place ceased 
to be an official residence of the 
Preses or Guardian in 1809, 
though priests of the Order con 
tinued to live there till 1847. A 
Chapter was held here in 1835. 
In 1850 the Catholic population 
was about 400; in 1856, 600; in 
1864, 800. The old chapel having 
long become inadequate, the present 
church was commenced in 1858 
and finished May 1860. The cost 
of erection was largely defrayed 
by Mrs. Andrus. A fine painted 
window recalls the memory of 
Baker-Gabb, Esq., another bene 
factor, who died September 16, 
1858. One of the lights represents 
Fr. Augustine Baker, O.S.B., a 
native of the town, who suffered 
at Usk for the faith in 1679, during 
the Titus Oates plot. The mission 
was taken over by the Benedictines 
in 1857. 

Guardians of the Mission. 
Rev. Pacificus Williams, 1687. 

Chas. Watkins, 1701. 

Mat. Pritchard, 1713. Bishop 
of the Western District, 
1715-50. 

Chas. Watkins, 1716. 

Lewis Lewis, 1725. 

Chas. Watkins, 1726. 

Leo. Barker, 1738. 

Gregory Powell, 1740. 

Anselm Copley, 1755. 

Gregory Powell, 1764. 

Alexius Whalley, 1767. 

Andrew Weetman, 1770. 

Augustine Hickins, 1773. 

Angelus Ingram, 1774. 

Gregory Watkins, 1776. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



47 



Rev. Geo. Lancaster, 1779. 
Andrew Weetman, 1781. 
Gregory Watkins, 1782. 
Hy. Waring, 1785. 
Bernardine Fleet, 1787. 
Gregory Watkins, 1788. 
Paschal Harrison, 1791. 
Greg. Watkins, 1794. 
Thos. Cottrell, 1800. 
Greg. Watkins, 1803. 
Peter Jones, 1805. 
Stephen Grafton, 1806. 
Greg. Watkins, 1808. 
From 1825 the priests in charge of 

the mission have been : 
Rev. Ignatius Richards, O.S.F. 
Francis Hendren,O.S.F., 1826, 

Bishop of Clifton, 1850. 
Anselm Millward, O.S.F., 1839. 
F. Wilfrid Price, O.S.B., 1857. 
J. B. Caldwell. 
A. P. Wilson, 1863. 
J. B. Caldwell (second time), 

1866. 

Robt. Guy, 1877. 
Henry J. O Hare, 1885. 
Romuald Morgan, 1888. 
C. Wray, to date. 



ABERTILLERY, MONMOUTH 
SHIRE (Newport). St. Mary. 

The town, which is engaged in 
the iron- smelting industry, lies 
deep in the wildest of the wild 
recesses among the hills. When 
the Franciscans established the 
mission here in 1874, the place was 
in the utmost spiritual destitution. 
Occasionally the poor people would 
trudge over the hills to Pontypool 
or Abersychan to have a child 
baptised or get the priest to a sick 
call, but beyond this no signs of 
Catholicity were manifested. The 
first chapel was a club-room in a 
public-house. The foundation-stone 
of the present plain simple chapel 
was laid by Bishop Hedley, then 



coadjutor of Newport, October 5, 
1875. The building, which was 
opened 1877, was for some time 
served from Brynmawr, but now 
from Pontymister. 



ABINGDON, BERKS (Ports 
mouth). SS. Mary and Edmund of 
Canterbury. 

The mission was established 
through the zeal and liberality of 
the late Sir George Bowyer, Q.C., 
M.P. Mass was said on March 6, 
1856, in the library of his house by 
Bishop Grant, of Southwark. The 
aisle and chancel of the present 
church were blessed by Mgr. Virtue, 
afterwards Bishop of Portsmouth, 
September 30, 1857. The style of 
the building is decorated Gothic ; 
architect, W. Wardell. The edifice 
was completed October 1865. A 
bell cot was added to the building 
in August 1884. The cemetery 
was consecrated by Bishop Grant, 
June 1, 1858. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. O. Toole, D.D., 1857. 

Robert Kavanagh, 1876. 

Edward Collins, 1881. 

Francis Canon Kelleher, 1885 
to date. 



ACCRINGTON, LANCS (Salford). 
The Sacred Heart. 

When the Catholic- chapel was 
built in 1852, the Catholics of 
Accrington numbered 500. The 
new church was commenced 1867, 
the congregation then numbering 
3,000, with 1,200 regular com 
municants. Fr. Maguire, who had 
charge of the mission about 1860, 
obtained the site from J. Peel, Esq., 
and started the church building- 
fund. The style of the building 



48 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



which was opened in 1868, is 
thirteenth century Gothic, designed 
by Messrs. Wilson and Nichol. The 
accommodation is for 1,000 per 
sons. The total cost was about 
6,300. 

Priests (Jesuits). 
Eev. Joseph Walmesley, 1853. 

Edw. Whyte, 1855. 

Hy. Shea, 1857. 

James Maguire, 1860. 

Thos. Brindle, 1870. 

Thos. Swift, 1888. 

Edw. Lucas, 1891. 

Arthur Yates, 1895. 

Joseph Martin, 1899 to date. 



ACKWORTH GRANGE, near PON- 
TEFRACT, YORKS (Leeds). The 
Sacred Heart. 

The present church was erected 
in 1846 by Lady Tempest, at a cost 
of 10,000. The church, which is 
described as a beautiful gem, was 
designed by Mr. Myers. A chapel, 
served by the Jesuit Fathers, was 
opened at Pontefract (q.v.) in 1710. 
The mission does not figure as such 
till 1863, when it was served from 
Pontefract. In 1875 the mission is 
marked vacant. 

Hectors from 1883. 
Rev. Joseph Schropp. 

Bernard Speet, 1888. 

James Canon Glover, 1896. 

Charles Walsh, 1901 to date. 



ACOCK S GREEN, WARWICK 
SHIRE. See APPENDIX. 



ACTON, LONDON, W, (West 
minster). Our Lady of Lourdes. 

A Benedictine mission formerly 
existed at Acton, but when com 
menced or given up does not appear. 
The present mission was opened by 
Fr. Joseph Butt, of Hammersmith, 



August 2, 1848. Bishop Moil-is, of 
Troy, officiated, and the Hon. and 
Rev. Fr. Spencer preached. From 
1853 the chapel was served from 
Turnham Green (see CHISWICK). 
The district was described about 
this time as the poorest and most 
needy mission in the diocese, the 
schools being supported by chari 
table contributions. After 1856 
Acton became part of the Chiswick 
parish, but reappeared as an in 
dependent mission 1879, when a 
temporary chapel was opened at 
2 Gloucester Villas, Shakespeare 
Road. By 1883 an iron church 
had been erected in Strafford Road. 
The present Romanesque church, 
designed by E. Goldie, Esq., was 
opened September 28, 1902, by 
Mgr. (now Bishop) Fenton. Seat 
ing capacity for over five hundred. 
Cost of church 5,000. Murillo s 
Good Shepherd hangs in the east 
transept, and the sanctuary has 
recently been decorated with fres 
coes after Perugino and Benozzo 
Gozzoli. The magnificent high 
altar is in memory of Cardinal 
Yanghan. Number of the con 
gregation about two thousand. 

Priests. 
Rev. Joseph Butt, 1848. 

H. Green, 1848. 

Thos. Heptonstall, 1849. 

J. Clark, 1852. 

John Bonus, LL.D., 1853 ; 
till 1879, mission served 
from Turnham Green and 
Chiswick. 

James O Connell, 1879. 

Cornelius Bidle, 1882. 

H. T. Bradbee, 1885. 

C. E. Rivers, M.A., 1893 to date. 



ACTON BURNELL (Salop). 

Mass was said here throughout 
the penal times in the mansion of 
the ancient family of Smythe. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



49 



From 1748 till 1856 the priests 
lived at the Hall. In 1792 the 
Visitation nuns flying from the 
fury of the Revolution settled here 
for a short time before proceed 
ing to Shepton Mallet (q.v.) Two 
years later, the Benedictines of 
Lambspring in Bavaria came to 
England and opened a college at 
Acton Burnell in a house presented 
to them by Sir Edward Smythe, 
Bart. They removed to Downside, 
near Bath, in 1814. In March 
1846, a new Gothic church, dedi 
cated to St. Peter, was opened at 
Acton Burnell, mainly owing to 
the benefactions of Mr. and Mrs. 
Smythe. Mr. C. Hansom was the 
architect ; the rich stained-glass 
window over the high altar is the 
work of Wailes. Other stained-glass 
windows in the beautiful mortuary 
chapel represent various members 
of the Smythe family in attitudes 
of devotion. The high altar, dedi 
cated to St. Edward the Confessor, 
was consecrated at the date of 
opening. The cemetery was laid 
out in 1858. 

Priests at Acton Burnell all 

Benedictines. 
Rev. Francis Rook wood, 1748. 

Ambrose Elliot, 1762. 

,, Bernard Bradshaw, 1762. 

,, Thomas Ballyman, 1774. 

Peter Kendal, 1795. 

Ralph Radcliffc, 1814 (died 
suddenly while going to a 
sick call, 1842). 

Bernard Paillett, 1842. 

,, Augustine Rolling, 1842. 

Cuthbert Smith, 1846. 

F. Stanislaus Giles, 1856. 

John B. Caldwell, 1876. 

John B. Davey, 1878. 

James Riley, 1885. 

James Talbot, 1886. 

John Stutter, 1889 to date. 



ADDINGHAM, WEST RIDING, 
YORKSHIRE (Leeds}. 

The mission was started in 1904, 
the first priest being Father Alfred 
Galli. The chapel at present con 
sists of two rooms at the top of 
a private house. Addingham is 
famous as being the birthplace of the 
Blessed Richard Kirkman, priest, 
who suffered for the faith at York, 
August 22, 1582, and also of the 
Blessed Richard Horner, who suf 
fered at York for the same cause, 
September 4, 1598. 



AINSDALE, SOUTHPORT, LANCS 

(Liverpool}. The Sacred Heart. 

A school chapel was opened here 
August 15, 1878. The building, 
which was presented by T. Weld- 
Blundell, Esq., accommodates about 
150. 

Priests. 
Rev. W. Spencer, 1878. 

Win. Lennon, 1888. 

George Rigby, 1890. 

Wm. Smith, 1892. 

J. McFarlane, 1893. 

F. Soden, 1902. 

Edward O Reilly, 1904 to 
date. 



AISKEW, YORKS (Middlcs- 
brongh). SS. Mary and Joseph. 

The old chapel was erected 1812, 
at which time the registers com 
mence. The present chapel was 
opened July 4, 1878, by Bishop 
Cornthwaite, of Beverley, on a site 
presented by Lord Beaumont. The 
cost was bequeathed by Lady 
Throckmorton. Messrs. Goldie 
and Child were the architects ; 
accommodation for 250 ; cost about 
1,700. The building is described as 
resembling in appearance an old 
village church. 

E 



50 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 
Eev. McQuaide. 

Jos. Sherwood, 1831. 

Geo. Keasley, 1860. 

Laurence McGonnell, 1863. 

Edw. O Leary, 1866. 

L. McGonnell, 1870 (second 

time). 

Lawrence Schoch, 1877. 
James Griffin, 1881. 
Wm. O Connor, 1888. 
Mission served from North- 

allerton, 1891-5. 
James Butler, 1896. 
Richard Lewis, to date. 



ALCESTER, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. Our Lady and St. 
Joseph. 

The mission was established in 
1889, and served from Coughton 
by Fr. Francis Doyle, O.S.B. In 
1896 Fr. Lawrence Larkins, O.S.B., 
was rector. His successors have 
been : Eev. Eobt. Kershaw, 1897 ; 
David Bede Eyan, O.S.B., 1902 
to date. 



ALDEBURGH, SUFFOLK (North- 
ampton}. 

In 1904 a community of Ursuline 
Sisters, long established in France, 
acquired Thellusson Lodge at Aide- 
burgh, where they have commenced 
a boarding school. The chapel is 
open to the public, and for the time 
serves the mission. The Eev. 
Henry Mosiiier, chaplain. 



ALDERSHOT, HANTS (Ports 
mouth}. St. Joseph s. 

In 1869 Bishop Grant, of South- 
wark, sent Father J. Purcill to 
establish a permanent mission in 



the town, exclusive of the existing 
military chapels at North and 
South Camps. A disused tavern 
was acquired, and by some archi 
tectural manipulation transformed 
into a temporary chapel. This 
place of worship was opened July 29 
by Bishop Morris, of Troy. By 
August 14 of the same year the 
congregation amounted to 200 re 
gular attendants. Efforts are at 
present being made to erect * a 
National Memorial Church in 
memory of Catholic soldiers killed 
in South Africa (1899-1902). 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Purcill, 1869. 

, Louis Hall, 1871. 

, E. Davis, 1875. 

, Justin Mooney, 1881. 

, Edw. Eiordan, 1885 to 1902. 

, Francis O Farrell, 1902 to 
date. 



ALFRETON, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Mary. 

The church was opened June 3, 
1883, by Canon McKenna, V.G. 
The style is Gothic, the building 
consisting of nave, chancel, and 
sacristy. The bell turret was pre 
sented by Father D. Meenagh, first 
priest of the mission. The seating 
accommodation is for about 120. 
On Sunday, October 20, 1901, the 
fine east window of painted glass 
was wilfully destroyed. 



ALLERTON PARK, near 

KNARESBOROUGH, YORKS (Leeds}. 
St. Mary. 

The district was one of the many 
served by the Jesuit College or 
residence of St. Michael the Arch 
angel, temp. James I., but no 
records of the history of the mis- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



51 



sion are available. The foundation 
of the chapel is given as 1807. The 
registers commence in 1816. Like 
the neighbouring mission of Knares- 
borough, Allerton Park owes its pre 
servation as a centre of Catholicity 
to the noble family of Stourton. 
The name of the place disappeared 
from the Cathoh c Directory in 
1853, but was again inserted in 
1894. During that time the priest 
resided at the adjoining Stourton. 

Priests. 
Kev. Thos. Boiling, 1824. 

Chas. or Thos. Weston, 1835. 

Jn. Bridge, 1842. 

James Canon Glover, 1894. 

Julius de Baere, 1897. 

Joseph Dewe, 1898. 

Ernest Levick, 1900 to date. 



ALNWICK, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Mary. 

In 1752 Mrs. Mary Butler be 
queathed some property to Fr. H. 
Sheldon, S.J., and from the pro 
ceeds of this the mission was estab 
lished in 1755. The property in 
question was held in trust for the 
society by Ralph Clavering, Esq., 
of Callaly Castle. Joined to the 
bequest was the obligation of a 
monthly Mass for the Ord family. 
The old chapel or Mass-house was 
in Barliffgate Street. Fr. Francis 
Howard introduced the people 
into the new chapel in Alnwick 
August 14, 1796, and Bishop Gibson, 
V.A., confirmed twenty-seven per 
sons on the 2] st of the same month. 
The present chapel was opened Sep 
tember 8, 1836, and in July 1857 
the Jesuits handed over the mission 
to the bishop of the diocese. 

Priests. 
Eev. H. Sheldon, 1755. 

Nicholas Saunderson (died 
1790). 



Rev. Francis Howard, 1790. 

John Beaumont, 1802. 1 This 
priest was a lineal descen 
dant of Francis Beaumont 
the dramatist. 

John Fishwick, 1833. 

J. Woollett, 1853. 

J. Gibson, 1856. 

Edward Robert, 1891. 

M. Forster, 1906 to date. 



ALSTON, LANGS (Liverpool). 
Our Lady and St. Michael. 

Where the Wilsons, the Catons, 
the Edmondsons and the Cowbans, 
sterling good old priests some of 
the last, some of the present cen 
tury laboured for the good of souls 
and the honour of their Heavenly 
Master. (Tablet, September 12, 
1857.) The old chapel or Mass- 
house, dating from 1761, was super 
seded in September 1857 by a 
handsome church in the Early 
English style of architecture, capa 
ble of seating 600 to 700 persons. 
The structure is of stone, from the 
designs of E. Welby Pugin. The 
building cost about 1,500. Bishop 
Goss, of Liverpool, was present at 
the opening. The bulk of the 
money for the erection of the 
church was collected by the Rev 
H. Sharpies, the then priest of the 
mission. 

Priests since 1874. 
Rev. Thos. W T alton. 

Thos. Bridges, 1897 to date. 



ALTON, STAFFORDSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). St. John. 

Till 1833 Catholics in and about 
Alton were ministered to by the 

1 N.B. The Abbe Gautier, an emigre, 
assisted Fr. Beaumont for a short time. 
E2 



52 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



priest at Alton Towers, the resi 
dence of the staunchly Catholic 
Earls of Shrewsbury. In that year 
a fine church in the Gothic style was 
erected by John, sixteenth Earl of 
Shrewsbury, to whose piety and 
munificence so many of the churches 
and chapels in the north and west 
of England are due. The church 
measures 90 feet by 30 feet, and is 
wainscoted in oak. The handsome 
altar of gilt-bronze stands in an 
oriel recess, lighted by a iimllioned 
window adorned with figures of the 
four Evangelists. Copies of the 
Transfiguration by Rafaelle and 
the Communion of St. Jerome 
also adorn this church. In the 
sanctuary are, or were, two pictures 
by Pietro Perugino. In a niche 
outside the church, stands a pre- 
Reformation stone statue of St. 
Peter, the patron of the parish. 
Attached to the church are schools 
for boys and girls, also founded by 
Lord Shrewsbury. In 1834 the 
Catholics of Alton numbered 100. 
At present they exceed 400. 

Priests at Alton. 

Rev. Daniel Rock, D.D., 1827 
author of Hierurgia &c. 
Canon of Southwark 1851 
died 1871. 

Henry Winter, D.D., 1840. 

John O Connor, 1866. 

A. B. Gurdon, 1871. 

W. J. Butler, 1879. 

John Ullathorne, 1882 to date. 



ALTRINCHAM, or ALTEINGHAM 

(Cheshire). St. Vincent of Paul. 

The mission of Altrincham was 
started in 1847 in a small house in 
George Street. The number of 
Catholics there at that time is not 
recorded, but when the stone of the 
new church was laid on Thursday, 
May 27, 1858, the congregation 



amounted to about 400. The exiled 
members of Louis Philippe s family 
are said to have worshipped here. 
The new school at Hale Moss was 
opened February 2, 1872, and en 
larged 1885. 

Priests. 
Rev. M. O Reilly, 1847. 

J. Berry, 1853. 

W. Walton, 1855. 

H. Alcock, 1858. 

J. Canon O Brien, 1876. 

W. Stanley, 1898. 

C. Ryder, 1903 to date. 



AMBLE, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Neivcastle). St. 
Cuthbert. 

The mission was served from 
Felton in 1877, during which year 
the present church was built. The 
Catholic population in 1890 num 
bered about 250, scattered over 
a wild district abounding in old 
families that had never lost the 
faith. One of these was the Scrow- 
ther family, of East Chevington, 
where a station for mission pur 
poses was held during the eight 
days mission preached at Amble 
in April 1890, by the late Fr. 
Jerome Vaughan, O.S.B. 

Priests. 
Rev. Edw. Robert, 1885. 

Jn. Roth, 1888. 

Mat. Culley, 1890. 

M. Forster, 1893. 

Chas. Dunne, 1897 to date. 



AMBLESIDE, WESTMORLAND 

(Hexhain and Newcastle). Our 
Lady of Ambleside. 

Mass was said here for the first 
time on Sunday, July 21, 1878, by 
Fr.J.McAuliffe, O.S.B. The chapel 
was an * upper room in a private 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



53 



house. In 1880 Canon Curry of 
Doddingcon said Mass here on alter 
nate Sundays during the summer. 
A Gothic iron church was opened, 
August 1887. The altar-piece 
(Mater Amabilis) is by Sassofer- 
rato. Fr.A. G.Brady, M.A. (Oxon.), 
was the first resident priest. Catho 
lics of the district numbered eighty- 
five in 1890. In 1893 a Premon- 
stratensian priory was erected, and 
the mission served for several years 
by that Order. The church is now 
attended on Sundays from Kirk- 
stone Brow (1905). 



AMPLEFORTH, OSWALDKIRK, 
YORK (Middlesbrough). St. Law 
rence s Abbey and College. 

The dilapidated and deserted 
church and cloister of St. Lawrence, 
Dieulouard, in the province of Lor 
raine, were offered in 1606 as a gift 
to the English Benedictines. The 
foundation from 1020 to 1602 had 
been an endowed canonry. The 
new occupants quickly raised the 
value of the property by skilful 
agricultural and brewing enter 
prises. In 1779, the house became 
the school of humanities for St. 
Gregory s, Douai, and so remained 
till suppressed by the Revolution, 
1792-3. Prior Marsh, the fathers 
and students, after many vicissi 
tudes, escaped to Treves and thence 
to England. The community re 
mained for some time at Acton 
Burnell, under the patronage of Sir 
E. Smythe, Bart., and after various 
brief sojourns at Birkenhead, 
Scholes, Vernon Hall, etc., finally 
settled at Ampleforth Lodge in 1802. 
This house, with thirty-two acres 
of land, had been given by Lady 
Fairfax as a place of retirement to 
her aged chaplain, Fr. Bolton, 
who made the property over to 
Prior Applcton. In 1803 the com 



munity consisted of two priests, 
five religious and nine boys. Six 
years later the first ordination took 
place at Ampleforth. The Vicar 
Apostolic was Bishop Gibson. The 
west wing served as the college 
chapel for fifty years ; the east 
wing from 1815 till 1854 contained 
the old dormitories and college class 
rooms. The fine Gothic church, 
commenced 1855, was completed in 
1857. The new college block of 
class and lecture rooms was erected 
1859-61. The much-needed monas 
tery was started in 1894 and finished 
1897. In 1900 Ampleforth was 
raised to the dignity of an abbey. 
The centenary of the college was 
celebrated July 21, 22, and 23, 1903. 



ANDERTON, CHORLEY, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Joseph. 

The first stone of the church was 
laid August 31, 1862, by Bishop 
Goss, of Liverpool. The style is 
Early English. The Stonors have 
a family tribune in the church. 
The seating accommodation is for 
about 400 persons. At the west 
end of the building is erected 
an ancient pre- Reformation cross, 
which stood at Anderton some four 
centuries ago. The church was 
opened in December 1863. Charles 
J. Stonor, Esq., of Anderton, gave the 
church site and much of the mate 
rials with which the edifice is built. 
The schools were enlarged 1884 and 
again in 1894. Church and presby 
tery re-roofed 1889. 

Priests. 
Rev. Canon Greenhalgh, 1861. 

Peter Kane, 1862. 

Michael Donnelly, 1881. 

J. Webster, 1883. 

Thos. Smith, 1900 to date. 



54 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ANDOVER, HANTS (Portsmouth). 

The Eev. Dr. Val d Eremao, of 
Basingstoke, opened the mission 
here on January 5, 1886. The 
chapel was at first in a private 
house, but afterwards temporary 
premises were rented. About twenty 
persons assembled for Mass on the 
first day. Fr. d Eremao, after hear 
ing confessions at Basingstoke on 
Saturday, went down to Andover 
by the last train, and on Sunday 
morning said Mass at 8.15, return 
ing to Basingstoke to say his second 
mass at 11. From about 1897 the 
mission has been served from Win 
chester. 

ANERLEY, LONDON, S.E. (South 
ward). The Holy Child and St. 
Anthony of Padua. 

Until 1878 the nearest mission 
was at Norwood. On October 25 
of that year an iron church was 
opened in the Genoa Eoad. Canon 
A. Bethell, who purchased the church 
site, also erected the presbytery. He 
resigned in 1891, and shortly after 
wards the temporary place of wor 
ship had to be given up. The 
present edifice of brick, opened 
May 14, 1898, consists of two 
stories, the upper being used as a 
chapel and the lower one as a 
school. The estimated Catholic 
population in 1 900 was about 450. 

Priests. 
Eev. A. Canon Bethell, 1878. 

Edmund Miller, 1891. 

W. Thompson, 1900. 

Thos. Neville, 1905 to date. 



ANGMERING, SUSSEX (South 
ward). St. Wilfrid. 

The church was opened in 1872 
and was the gift of the present 
Duke of Norfolk. The Catholic 
population of the district is about 
100. Till the appointment of the 



present rector, the Eev. E. Von 
Orsbach, in 1902, the mission was 
served from Arundel. 



ANGRAM, YORKSHIRE (Leeds}. 

An iron chapel costing 250 was 
opened here by Canon Croskell of 
the Cathedral, Leeds, on Sunday, 
May 13, 1906. The chapel, which 
has been mainly erected for the 
use of the navvies employed on the 
construction of a new reservoir for 
the Bradford Corporation, is for the 
present served from the Cathedral. 



ANNITSFORD, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexham and Newcastle). 
St. John the Baptist. 

The mission was established in 
1863 and for several years after 
wards was described as being 
greatly in need of help. A chapel 
was erected in 1866, and the new 
Church opened June 24, 1906. 

Priests. 
Eev. John O Dwyer. 

Henry Walmesley, 1881. 

David Scott, 1899. 

John Chapman, 1904 to date. 



APPULDURCOMBE, ISLE OF 
WIGHT (Portsmouth). St. Peter s 
Abbey. 

The Benedictines of Solesmes, 
near Nantes, expelled from France 
by the anti- Christian policy of M. 
Combes and his government, settled 
here in 1900-1. The splendid 
Gothic abbey and church of the 
Order in France is represented by 
a moderately commodious mansion 
and iron chapel. A school of Gre 
gorian or Plain Chant has been 
opened at the monastery, and 
already its influence is being felt 
in the liturgical world. It may be of 
interest to remark that the Abbey 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



55 



of Solesmes which was confiscated 
for the first time during the Great 
Revolution, was reoccupied by the 
Benedictines in 1830. The choir 
stalls have curious carvings repre 
senting the genealogy of Our Lord. 
The Community also possesses its 
valuable library of ancient MSS. 
and a sacred Thorn, which came 
into their possession at the time of 
the first Crusade. 



APPLETON, LANCS (St. Bede). 
See Widnes. 



ARNO S COURT, CLIFTON (Clif 
ton). 

The church of the Convent of the 
Good Shepherd Order was opened 
March 29, 1859, by the Hon. and 
Bt. Rev. Dr. Clifford, Bishop of 
Clifton. The style is Lombardo- 
Byzantine. The sanctuary is 
lighted by a perforated arcade of 
five arches filled with stained glass. 
Mr. C. Hansom, of Clifton, was the 
architect. 



ARUNDEL, SUSSEX (Southward). 
St. Philip. 

Owing to the adherence of the 
Dukes of Norfolk to the Catholic 
faith, a chapel was maintained here 
throughout a considerable portion 
of the penal times. The domestic 
chapel of St. George, within the 
precincts of Arundel Castle, re 
mained the place of Catholic wor 
ship down to about 1790, when 
Charles, eleventh Duke of Norfolk, 
being then engaged in enlarging 
the Castle, removed the chapel to 
the site of the old College of the 
Blessed Trinity founded by Richard, 
Earl of Arundel, in 1380. The old 
ruins were restored, and the place 
continued to serve the purpose of 



a church till the erection of the 
present magnificent building. The 
most noted priest at Arundel in 
recent times was the late Canon 
Mark A. Tierney, F.R.S., F.S.A., 
the well-known author of the His 
tory of Arundel (2 vols., 1834), and 
continuator of Dodd s Church 
History from 1688 to 1800. Canon 
Tierney was incumbent from 1824 
till his death in February 1862. 
In 1873 the present cathedral 
church of St. Philip Neri, com 
menced in 1868, was opened by 
Bishop Danell of Southwark. The 
munificent donor was Henry, 
present Duke of Norfolk, who, it is 
said, expended over 100,000 on the 
building. The style is fourteenth 
century Gothic. A superb series of 
stations of the Cross by Messrs. 
Bolton have recently been erected 
in memory of the late Bishop Butt. 
Near the entrance of the church are 
two memorial brasses to Privates 
Madden and Glossop, natives of 
Arundel, who were killed in the 
great Boer War of 1899-1902. 
Fifty years ago the number of 
Catholics in Arundel is said to have 
amounted to only 100; at present 
(1904) it is over 1,200 more than 
half the population. By a judg 
ment of the High Court about 
twenty years ago, half of the parish 
church, known as the Arundel 
Chapel, was reserved for Catholic 
uses. Here are buried many gene 
rations of FitzAlan Howards, for 
the repose of whose souls Mass is 
offered up occasionally at the high 
altar. The magnificent east window 
depicting members of the Howard 
family assisting at the Holy Sacri 
fice was put in by the present Duke. 
With regard to the old chapel in 
use from 1791 to 1873, it measured 
42 ft. by 20 ft., and had a fine altar 
adorned with gilt bronze, which, 
among the uninitiated, passed 



56 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



for real gold ! The altar-piece j 
was a painting of the Adoration of j 
the Shepherds. A cottage school 
was established by Fr. Butt in King 
Street in 1858. The present fine 
schools in the Tudor style, were 
opened in 1885, and were the gift 
of the Duke of Norfolk. The sacristy 
of the church is rich in reliqua 
ries and plate, including splendid 
Louis XV. silver candelabra, a 
silver relic case (Flemish, sixteenth 
century) embossed with scenes from 
the life of King David, said to have 
belonged to Philip II. of Spain, &c. 

Priests. 

Rev. Charles Cordell, 1748. 
Joseph Addis, 1772. 
- Fiswick, 1780. 
Philip Wyndham, 1785. 
Mark Canon Tierney, F.R.S., 

F.S.A., 1824. 

John Butt, 1862 (assistant to 
Canon Tierney, 1858 ; Canon 
of South vvark, 1871 ; Bishop 
of Southwark, 1885 ; re 
signed, 1896 ; died, 1899). 
John Burke, 1885. 
A. S. MacCall, M.A., 1898 to 
date. 



ASCOT, BERKS (Portsmouth). 
St. Francis. 

The first stone of the new Fran 
ciscan church adjoining the monas 
tery at South Ascot was laid by 
Bishop Virtue of Portsmouth, 
Tuesday, May 8, 1888. The build 
ing was opened and consecrated 
July 4, 1889. The style is Early 
English, the accommodation being 
for 500 persons. The Monks choir 
is behind the high altar. The cost 
of erection was about 2,500. The 
site was generously given by E. F. 
Devenish Walsh, Esq., of Ascot. 
Prior to the erection of the church, 
Catholics in the neighbourhood of 
Ascot were allowed to attend Mass 



at the residence of C. J. Stonor, 
Esq., and also at the Convent of the 
Institute of the Blessed Virgin. 



ASHBOURNE, DERBYSHIRE 

(Nottingham). All Saints. 

For some time prior to 1888, the 
only place of Catholic worship was 
a contemptible old building. The 
mission was established in 1848. 
As a result of numerous appeals, a 
plain but convenient Gothic church, 
designed by Simpson, was opened, 
August 26, 1888. Between 1850 
and 1854, the mission was served 
from Mary vale and St. Wilfrid s. 

Rev. Wm. Daly, 1848. 
R. Raby, 1855. 
Jn. Cantwell, 1876. 
Wm. O Dwyer, 1879. 
W. Otty, 1885. 
J. O Haire, 1888. 
T. Middleton, 1892. 
Hubert de Burgh, 1899. 
Fredk. Brown, to date. 



ASHFORD. KENT (Souihwarty. 

St. Teresa. 

This was one of the places served 
by the Jesuit College or residence 
of St. Ignatius as far back as 1619. 
No record of the mission, however, 
has been handed down. Calehill, 
near Ashford, was the ancient seat 
of the Catholic family of Darell, and 
their chaplains attended Catholics 
in the neighbourhood till after the 
establishment of the Ashford mis 
sion. In 1857 Fr. Sheridan, of 
Calehill, hired a room in New Street, 
Ashford, for Mass on Sundays. 
The premises are now a public- 
house known as the Three Ones 
(1 1 1). In 1859 a temporary 
chapel was opened in Chart Terrace, 
afterwards removed to 20 Queen 
Street, the residence of Mrs. Wood, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



57 



whose husband was the priest s 
right-hand man. The mission was 
also greatly assisted about this 
time by a Mrs. Piddlesden, who 
1 kept the handful of Catholics to 
gether and arranged for a priest to 
come and give Mass on Sundays. 
The present church on Barrow 
Hill was opened by Bishop Grant, 
August 22, 1865. 800 of the build 
ing expenses were contributed by 
Lady Tufton. Archbishop Manning 
preached (St. Luke i. 46). The 
Dover choir, under the direction of 
Fr. Laws, sang the Mass. A stone 
altar was erected in March 1867, 
and the sanctuary was completed 
1892. The presbytery was erected 
1888. A school in the Victoria 
lload was opened October 1, 1899, 
at a cost of 2,015 13s. Id. A Con 
vent High School, under the direc 
tion of the Sisters de 1 Enfance de 
Jesus, was established in 1903. 
The Darell family is now extinct, 
the last member, Major Darell 
(60th Rifles), dying in 1869. The 
Confirmation records at the old 
family chapel are as follow? : con 
firmations by Bishop Poynter, De 
cember 8, 1812 ; by Bishop Brams- 
ton, July 11, 1830; by Bishop 
Griffiths, November 14, 1844; 
by Bishop Wiseman, September 

23, 1849; by Bishop Grant, May 

24, 1858, October 28, 1860, April 
19, 1863, August 22, 1865. 

Chaplains at Calehill. 
Rev. John Bullock, 1791-1819. 
John Russell, Peter Portier, 
Hy. Riley, James Crosby, 
1819. 

Joseph Addis, 1819 21. 
Thos. Percy, 1821. 
Francis Tiiite, 1825. 
John Tuomy, 1826. 
Wm. Ryan, O.S.B., 1827. 
John Kyne, 1842. 
J. R. Hearn, 1845. 
Hy. S. Philips, 1846. 



Rev. Wm. Harris, 1848. 
Jn. McDonald, 1850. 
Jn. Butfc, 1852 (Bishop of 

Southwark, 1885-96). 
J. P. O Toole, 1854. 
H. C. Logan, 1855. 
Edw. Sheridan, 1857. 

Priests at Asliford. 
\ Rev. Edw. Sheridan, 1857. 
,, A. Oromi, 1859. 
Thos. Moore, 1871. 
Daniel Spillane, 1872. 
Thos. Quinn, 1883. Mission 

served from Ramsgate, 

1884. 

F. Reynaert, 1885. 
C. Turner, 1897. 
P. Mason, 1904. 



ASHFORD, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster). 

In 1899 the Sisters of the Order 
of the Good Shepherd acquired 
1 Ecclesfield, a commodious man 
sion and extensive estate adjoining, 
for use as a female inebriates home. 
The chapel, which is open to the 
i public, is so arranged as to keep 
I the inmates unseen by the external 
worshippers. A site for a mission 
! church was purchased September 
1908 (200) and the building will 
be opened for worship in December. 

Chaplains. 

Rev. R. D. Browne, 1899. 
E. M. Daniell, 1904. 
Cave, 1906 to date. 



ASHINGTON, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexham and Newcastle). 
St. Aidan. 

The mission was started in 1892 
and served from Morpeth till 1895. 
The church was opened 1895. The 
present rector, Fr. John O Hear, 
O.S.B., was appointed the same 
i year. 



58 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ASHLEY, STAFFORDSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). Our Blessed Lady and 
St. John the Baptist. 

The chapel, * a neat and commo 
dious edifice, as the Catholic 
Miscellany of the day described 
it, was opened October 29, 1823. 
The first title of the mission was 
St. Brigit. For some time it was 
served in conjunction with Cobridge. 
Fr. Egan was appointed first resi 
dent priest in 1827. 

Priests. 
Rev. Egan, 1827. 

Holland, 1828. 

Gates, 1835. 

E. Hodson, 1840. 

F. McGrath, 1849. 

Mission served from Swyn- 
nerton Park, 1861, et seq. ; 
at present from Eccleshall. 



ASHTON-IN-MAKERFIELD (Li 
verpool). 

A new chapel and altar of Our 
Lady of the Holy Rosary was 
solemnly dedicated Sunday, No 
vember 6, 1887. These additions 
to the church were erected by the 
Eev. Dean O Reilly and the con 
gregation, in memory of Robert 
Tolver, first Lord Gerard, who died 
March 15, 1887. Lord Gerard was 
a great benefactor to the mission, 
which was commenced in 1822, 
when the old chapel of St. Oswald 
was built. There were no Catholic 
schools in 1830, but fifteen years 
later there were both day and 
Sunday schools, with about 300 
pupils; 145 children and adults 
were confirmed at the chapel on 
Sunday, September 14, 1845, by 
Bishop Sharpies. The church was 
rebenched, refloored, and supplied 
with new altar rails in 1891, 



ASHTON-UNDER-LYNE, LANCS 
(Bedford). 

Mission established 1857. In 
1868 (August) the poor chapel 
of the place was nearly destroyed 
by an anti- Catholic mob incited by 
one Murphy, a notorious Protestant 
lecturer. The large crucifix was 
injured by pistol shots, and win 
dows and pews broken. The priest, 
Fr. J. Beesly, endeavoured to obtain 
compensation, but, after a trial of 
the case before the Salford Hun 
dred Court, was non-suited on the 
ground that the mob did not in 
tend entirely to demolish ! Several 
of the rioters, however, were con 
victed before Mr. Justice Hannen 
at the assizes, and sentenced to 
various terms of imprisonment. 
The chapel at Ashton-under-Lyne 
was built 1858-59 by the zealous 
Fr. W. Crombleholrne, who died 
at Lawrence, Mass., U.S.A., in 
January 1884. 

Priests since 1886. 
Rev. Geo. Richardson. 

Adolphus Coelcubier, 1888. 

Martin Meagher, 1899. 

James Murray, to date. 



ASPULL, near WIGAN (Salford). 
Our Lady of the Immaculate Con 
ception. 

The foundation-stone of the church 
was laid March 19, 1857. The cere 
mony took place in the presence of 
about one thousand persons, mostly 
miners, the ground being cut and 
prepared by a body of Irish 
labourers as a free-will offering to 
the work. The Bishop of Salford 
at the conclusion of the function 
explained to the assembled multi 
tude the doctrine of the Immacu 
late Conception. Fredk. Gerard, 
Esq., brother of Sir R. Gerard, 
Bart., laid the second stone. The 
building was opened April 25, 1858. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



59 



Priests. 

Rev. Hy. Jones, 1857. 
P. O Beilly. 
T. Allen, 1874. 
Jos. Crilly, 1882. 
H. Schiirgers, 1889. 
Jn. Welch, 1896 to date. 



ASTLEY BRIDGE, BOLTON, LAN 
CASHIRE (Salford). The Holy 
Infant and St. Anthony. 

The chapel was opened July 22, 
1877, and served from St. Mary s, 
Bolton, till 1882. The congregation 
is now estimated at 1,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. Maximilian Jiittner, 1882. 

Pius de Witte, 1885. 

P. M. O Beilly, 1888. 

John Darby, 1893. 

A. M. Vantomme, 1894 to 
date. 



ASTON-LE-WALLS, NORTHAMP 
TONSHIRE (Northampton). 

Wm. Plowden, Esq., a staunch 
Jacobite and supporter of James II. 
at the Boyne, settled here shortly 
after the Revolution. He rebuilt 
the mansion at Aston-le-Walls, but 
being a Catholic soon acquired the 
resentment of his Whig neighbours. 
His coach-horses were seized by 
virtue of the Act against Nonjurors, 
and Mr. Plowden in disgust quitted 
the neighbourhood. The hall was 
pulled down with the exception of 
one wing, which was turned into a 
farmhouse. This branch of the 
Plowdens was connected by mar 
riage with the Butlers, the original 
owners of Aston-le-Walls. One of 
them was Chas. Butler, of Lincoln s 
Inn (1750-1832), the eminent Con 
veyancer and Catholic publicist. It 
is probable that a chapel was main 
tained here during the eighteenth 



century and down to the building 
of the present chapel in 1827. No 
mention is made of the mission in 
the Laity s Directory till 1833. 

Rev. J. Fox ; J. Perry, 1835. 

J. B. Marsh, 1850. 

Jn. Duff, 1853. 
Rev. Wm. Canon Hammond here, 
1872, and till 1901. 

Harold Squirrell, to date. 



ASTON, near STONE, STAFFS 

(Birmingham). St. Michael. 

A very old mission. Aston Hall 
was for centuries the seat of the 
ancient Catholic family of Heven- 
ingham. The last male repre 
sentative w r as Sir John Hevening- 
ham, whose daughter married Sir 
James Simeon, Bart., of Brightwell, 
and their only daughter married 
Humphrey Weld, Esq., of Lulworth 
Castle. In 1814 the Franciscans 
opened their noviciate at Aston 
with the full approval of Bishop 
Milner. In 1826 it was decided 
not to take any more novices in 
England. The estate subsequently 
passed into Protestant hands, but 
the house and a few acres were 
made over by the Welds to the 
V.A. of the Midland District for the 
purpose of continuing the mission. 
In 1842 the Passionist Fathers com 
menced a foundation at Aston. The 
chapel was still in the large room 
over the kitchen. The stone of the 
new church was laid May 21, 1847, 
by Bishop Walsh, V.A.M.D., Bishop 
(afterwards Cardinal) Wiseman 
preaching the inaugural sermon. 
The Hon. Fr. Ignatius Spencer sang 
the Mass. The Hon. Miss Lang- 
dale presented 100 to the building 
fund. The church was opened 
1849. The Passionists gave up 
the mission 1854, after which it 



60 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



was served from Stone for some 
years. During the rectorate of 
Mgr. E. Hulme (1840-42) the relics 
of St. Chad were discovered be 
neath the altar of the Aston chapel. 
They had been removed from Lich- 
field Cathedral at the time of the 
Eeformation by Prebendary Arthur 
Dudley, and, after being preserved 
by the Fitzherberts of Swynnerton, 
were sent to Aston for safety. 

Priests since 1858. 
Rev. Edward Canon Huddlestone. 

Stuart Bathurst, 1877. 

(Mission served from Stone, 
1881-98.) 

M. Glancey, 1898. 

Jn. Price, 1900. 



ATHERSTONE, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Scholastica s 
Priory. 

The Benedictine nuns of St. 
Benedict s Priory, near Colwich, 
took over the premises from the 
Dominicans and opened a branch 
house here in May 1859. The 
nuns are strictly enclosed, have no 
schools, and a chief feature of the 
spiritual life of the place is the 
perpetual adoration of the Blessed 
Sacrament. The church was con 
secrated by Bishop Ullathorne, 
September 4, 1861. The house 
and chapel were commenced No 
vember 4, 1837, and opened as a 
Dominican Convent in September 
1889. The chapel, which measures 
58 ft. by 23 ft., from the very first 
proved a great attraction, and was 
described as being crowded every 
Sunday with persons mostly pro- 
testants. 



ATHERTON, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Eichard. 

The mission was established at 
Chowbent, 1890, and for some years 



served from Tyldesley. It became 
a separate mission 1895. 

Priests. 
Eev. Andrew Flynn, 1895. 

Jules Maurus, 1899. 

,, Geo. Walmsley 1904, to date. 



AUGHTON, ORMSKIRK, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Mary. 

The great growth of Catholicity 
in and around Aughton led to the 
old chapel (1784) being fitted up as 
schools (1850-51). The necessary 
alterations and extension to accom 
modate upwards of 1,000 children 
were carried out by Mr. White, 
architect. The chapel was built 
1823, before which time Mass was 
said in the priest s house. Before 
1784 the district was served from 
Moor Hall, the ancient seat of the 
Stanleys. 

Priests. 

Eev. Simeon Bordley, 1784 ; d. 
1798, <zt. 90. 

Jas. Dennett, 1798. 

Dr. Crook, 1845. 

Edmund Power, 1847. 

Peter McGrath, 1869. 

Eobt. Bridges, 1871. 

Alf. Snow, 1878 to date. 



AVON BASSET, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Joseph. 

Mass was said here for the first 
time since the Eeformation on 
May 10, 1852, at Bitham House, 
the residence of Thos. Perry, Esq. ; 
Fr. Wm. Tandy, D.D., was the 
celebrant, about fourteen persons 
being present. The church, opened 
in 1855, was largely due to the 
munificence of the before-men 
tioned Mr. Perry and another con- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



61 



vert gentleman residing in the 
district. 

Priests, 
Eev. W. O Grady, 1855. 

,, Evan Hunter, 1867. 

Walter Norris, 1871 (?). 

Bernard Pannier, 1877. 

Arthur Doyle, 1892. 

Hugh Taylor, 1896. 

Win. Dobell, 1899 to date. 



AXMINSTER, DEVON (Plymouth). 
St. Mary. 

In 1763 Mass was said at Hilary 
House, where a chapel was fitted 
up by John Knight, Esq., member j 
of the ancient Catholic family of j 
Knight, to whom Catholics of this 
place are much indebted. Mr. 
Knight died in 1801 at. 69, and in 
1830 his son Henry built the 
chapel of Our Lady, which was 
opened by Bishop Baines,V.A.W.D., 
August 15, 1831. The same family 
of Knight built the present fine 
church, which superseded the old 
chapel in May 1862. The style is 
fourteenth century Gothic. It con 
tains some handsome Stations of the 
Cross painted in oil by M. Alcan, of 
Paris. The altar and pulpit are of 
Caen stone. A memorial tablet 
commemorates Mr. H. Knight, the 
founder of the second chapel, who 
died in 1858. 

Priests since 1822. 
Bev. Cornelius Magrath, 1822. 

Eobt. Platt, 1824. 

Eobt. Gates, 1827. 

Henry Eiley, 1828. 

Chas. Fisher, 1834. 

Jn. Swabrick, 1834. 

Henry Norrington, 1837. 

Patrick Kelly, 1849. 

H. Keary, 1850. 

Thos. Lynch, 1852. 



Eev. Jn. Canon Toohey, 1856. 
Michael O Reilly, 1898 to date. 



AYLESBURY, BUCKS (North- 
ampton). 

In 1843 Bishop Wareing, V.A., 
secured a room for Mass at Ayles- 
bury. Before that time the nearest 
chapel was twenty miles distant. 
Now and then a priest from Oxford 
shire would go over to Aylesbury 
to administer baptisms and attend 
to sick calls. The district in 1844 
is described by Fr. Duncan, the 
first priest, as furiously anti- 
Catholic. After taking up his 
abode at Ajiesbury, Fr. Duncan 
opened a chapel in his house, 
and on a subsequent occasion went 
to Ireland to collect funds to build 
a church, but without much suc 
cess. In September 1844, how 
ever, he took a larger house and 
fitted up a poor, but more commo 
dious, chapel. The altar was 
nothing more than a common deal 
table. Mass was only said on Sun 
days and holy days, the chapel being 
used during the week as the priest s 
sitting-room ! Fr. Duncan died 
worn out with labours in 1846, and 
was succeeded by Fr. J. Brogan, 
who does not seem to have re 
mained long. Latterly the mission 
of Aylesbury figures very irregu 
larly in the Catholic Directory, 
being some years omitted alto 
gether. In 1880 it was served 
from Weston Underwood every 
alternate Tuesday. In 1885 the 
priest came from Wolverton and 
said Mass 011 the first Wednesday 
of every month in the house of 
Mr. James Eoche, 2 St. Mary s 
Eow, at 9.30 A.M. In 1890 the 
temporary chapel was at 33 Bi- 
cester Eoad ; Fr. J. Collins rector. 
Fr. J. Mayne was his successor. 



62 



B 



BACKWORTH, NEWCASTLE-ON- 
TYNE (Hexham and Newcastle). 
St. Edmund, Martyr. 

The temporary chapel was opened 
1883, the mission till recently being 
served from Annitsford. The pre 
sent church in the Gothic style was 
opened 1903. 

Eector. 
Eev. James O Dowd, 1902. 



BACUP, LANGS (Salford). St. 
Mary, Bankside. 

The mission was commenced 
1852, and the church opened 1857. 

Priests. 
Kev. Henry Mulvany, 1852. 

Thos. Steele, 1881. 

John Lane, 1885. 

Wm. Moran, 1904 to date. 



BADDESLEY CLINTON, KNOWLE, 
WARWICKSHIRE (Birmingham). 

The Franciscan School of Edg- 
baston was removed here by Fr. 
Ingham in 1792. Fr. Collingridge, 
afterwards Bishop of Thespiae in 
partibus and V.A., was President 
from 1794-8. The school was 
closed in 1829, and now the house 
has been since 1850 the convent of 
the Poor Clares. Baddesley Clin 



ton Hall was for generations the 
seat of the Ferrers family, a good 
old Catholic stock, and heirs to the 
barony of de Ferrers. The last of 
the race was Edward Marmion 
Ferrers, who died August 25, 1884, 
aged seventy. The old chapel 
erected by the Franciscans in 1800 
was rebuilt in 1870, but not conse 
crated till 1894. 

Priests since 1830. 
Kev. Hy. Davey, 1851. 

P. O Farrell. 

Barthol. Crosbie, 1853. 

Hugh McCarten, 1870. 

Joseph Verres, 1879. 

Edw. Delaney, 1882. 

Bernard Grafton, to date. 



BAGSHOT, SURREY (Southward). 
Convent of the Poor Clares. 

The community opened their 
convent here in 1904, and their 
chapel for the time being serves the 
mission, which is attended by the 
chaplain. 



BAKEWELL, DERBYSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). The English Martyrs. 

A mission was opened here 
Sunday, December 23, 1888, by 
Fr. McKey, of Hassop, when Mass 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



63 



was said for the first time in 300 
years. The original chapel was a 
stable-loft, replaced by an iron 
church for 200 persons, in the 
Granby Road (February 1890). 
Fr. J. W. Brown was first resident 
priest. The mission is at present 
served from Hassop (1905). 



BAIHAM, LONDON, S.W. (South- 
war Jc). The Holy Ghost. 

The mission was started in 1887, 
when Mass was said at 25 Ravens- 
wood Road, by Fr. J. Simon. The 
present church opened April 17, 
1897. It is a plain Gothic building, 
and is still unfinished. The Con 
vent of the Adoration Nuns adjoins 
the church. Fr. J. V. Warwick, 
B.D., some time professor at Lisbon, 
has been rector since 1896. The 
Catholic population of the district 
is estimated at about 2,500. 



BANBURY, OXON. (Birmingham). 
St. John s. 

In 1629 the manor of Warkworth 
was purchased from the Chetwodes 
by Philip Holman, a London 
scrivener (stockbroker), whose son 
George became a Catholic. This 
latter is described by Anthony 
Wood as a melancholy and 
bigoted convert. The last of the 
family was Wm. Holman, Esq., 
upon whose death in 1740 the 
manor of Warkworth devolved 
upon his nephew, Francis Eyre of 
Hassop. His son, Francis Eyre, 
became Earl of Newburgh in 1814, 
in succession to Anthony James 
Radcliffe, fourth earl. Earl Rad- 
cliffe, in 1806, built a chapel at 
Overthorp, near Banbury, and this 
continued to serve the mission till 



the opening of the present church 
in 1838. The style is Gothic, and 
the interior lofty and spacious. In 
1846 the Sisters of Charity opened 
a convent in the parish on the site of 
part of the premises of the Hospital 
of St. John of Jerusalem, suppressed 
by Henry VIII. 
Priests at Banbury. (Early list 

incomplete.) 

Rev. John Gother, 1689. This 
priest was the eminent 
author of the Papist Mis 
represented and Presented, 
&c. 

Alban Butler, 1749. Author 

ofjthe Lives of the Saints 

etc. Died President of 

Douai, 1774. 

Charles Bedingfeld, O.S.F., 

1756. 

Bernard Stafford, 1761. 
Pierre Hersent 1793. 
Joseph Fox, 1833. 
Wm. Canon Tandy, D.D., 1835. 
J. H. Souter, 1864. 
C. J. Bowen, 1873 to date. 
N.B. Bishop Challoner, V.A.L.D., 
was, as a boy, converted to the 
faith at Warkworth, and received 
his early instruction from the Rev. 
J. Gother prior to proceeding to 
Douai. He was consecrated Bishop 
of Debra in 1741, and died 1781, 
aged ninety years. 



BARKING, ESSEX (Westminster}. 
SS. Mary and Ethelburga. 

The mission of Barking was 
started in 1857, but the chapel was 
only a school room, and the priest 
for several years had to reserve the 
Blessed Sacrament in his house. 
He was also obliged to say a second 
Mass at Grays, fourteen miles dis 
tant, every Sunday. The temporary 
place of worship continued till 1869, 
when the present church was erected 
during the rectorate of Fr. J. 



64 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Gilligan, and on a site granted by 
Lord Petre. The schools, opened 
1857, had an average attendance of 
300 in 1900. At the opening of the 
church in August 1869, Archbishop 
Manning preached. The size of 
the building is 60 ft. by 30 ft. E. W. 
Pugin, architect. The Catholic 
population of the district was 
reckoned at 1800 in 1905. About 
430 children are on the registers of 
the schools, which, although re 
cently enlarged, are said to be 
insufficient to accommodate the 
pupils in attendance. 
Priests. 
Eev. J. Gilligan, 1857 till 1887. 

David Hickey here in 1888. 

A. Clement, 1895 to date. 



BARNARD CASTLE, DURHAM 

(Hcxham and Newcastle}. St. 
Mary. 

The Catholics of Barnard Castle 
numbered 200 in 1847, at which 
time the nearest chapel was at 
Lartington Hall, the ancient seat 
of the Witham family. This latter 
was scarcely able to contain fifty per 
sons. In January 1847 a public 
building probably a room in the 
town hall was hired and used as a 
chapel on Sundays. In March of 
the same year a chapel was opened 
and consecrated by Bishop Eiddell 
(March 31 and April 1). Fr. W. 
Allen, of Ushaw, was appointed to 
the mission. In December 1849 
a fine painting of the Crucifixion, 
copied from the original by Le 
Brim, at Lartington Hall, was 
placed over the altar. The sanctuary 
of the church was adorned and 
new and commodious schools com 
menced, December 1867. The cost 
of the latter was defrayed by 0. 
Longstaff, Esq. 



Priests. 

Eev. W. Allen, 1847. 

Geo. Meynell, 1857. 

John Dunderdale, 1861. 

Eobt. Franklin, 1871. 

Wm. Gillow, 1873. 

E. J. Barnett, 1877. 

James Shea, 1879. 

Bernard Darley, 1904 to date. 



BARNET, HERTS. Mary Im 
maculate and St. Gregory the 
Great, Union Street. 

This locality was described nearly 
fifty years ago as one of the most 
bigoted places near London. The 
mission dates from April 24, 1849, 
when Fr. Ivers, of Kentish Town, 
fitted up a small room as a chapel. 
Mass was said for the first time on 
Sunday, April 29, about forty per 
sons being present. Fr. Faa di 
Bruno was appointed priest, and 
under his auspices the school was 
opened for the benefit of the many 
Catholic children in the district. 
Mass was said in the schoolroom 
on Sundays. Fr. di Bruno being 
summoned to the Continent to 
make collections for Church work 
in England, his place was taken by 
a priest from Tottenham, who, how 
ever, did not remain long. Fr. Bruno, 
being delayed by the Franco- Aus 
trian war of 1859, did not return 
for many months, and meanwhile 
the mission was practically closed. 
In June I860, Fr. G. Bampfield, 
B.A;, served the chapel, and also 
that of Waltham Cross (q.v.}, and 
in December of the same year 
Cardinal Wiseman confirmed about 
thirty candidates from the two mis 
sions. The estimated Catholic popu 
lation in 1864 was 200. A new Lady 
Chapel was added to the church in 
1877, and the interior of the build 
ing entirely redecorated. Fr. Bamp 
field died January 20, 1900, and 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



65 



was succeeded by Fr. Francis Spink, 
the present rector. The mission is 
in charge of the Institute of St. 
Andrew, a community of secular 
priests living under rule, founded 
by Fr. Bampfield. Large schools 
for boys of the middle and poorer 
classes were commenced in June 
1868, and at present have about 
seventy pupils. In addition to the 
Barnet mission, the Fathers also 
serve the neighbouring districts of 
Bushey, New Barnet, &c. 



BARNOLDSWICK, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Joseph. 

At Easter 1897 Fr. H. Marchal, 
chaplain at Broughton Hall, the 
residence of the Tempest family, 
started the mission, and in 1901 lie 
bought an old school for 380, 
which he had altered for a chapel. 
In 1906 a site for a church was 
secured in the Gisburn Road, at a 
cost of 636, and an iron building 
erected. The accommodation is 
for about 200. In 1897 the Catholic 
population of the district was about 
sixty, but it has since increased to 
over 350. The new church was 
opened Sunday, September 9, 1906. 



BARNSLEY, WEST RIDING, YORKS 

(Leeds). Holy Cross. 

The chapel was opened June 7, 
1832, Fr. Tate of Sheffield, preach 
ing at the High Mass to a large 
mixed congregation. The schools 
were erected in 1858, the stone 
being laid by J. Lock, Esq., M.P., 
a noted railway engineer. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Rigby, 1832. 

H. Cook, 1840. 

,, Theophilus Cauwenberghe, 
D.D., 1876. 

, Jn. Hill, 1895 to date. 



BARNSTAPLE, DEVON (Ply. 
mouth). The Immaculate Con 
ception. 

In July 1827 a chapel was fitted 
up in the mansion of Tawstock by 
Sir Bourchier Wrey, Bart., who had 
married a Catholic lady. The same 
generous benefactor also erected a 
poor school. Bishop Baines, V.A., 
confirmed twenty persons in the 
chapel, August 26, 1832. In 1843 
Sir Bourchier purchased from Chas. 
Roberts, Esq., a site for church and 
presbytery. The present handsome 
place of worship was consecrated by 
Archbishop Errington and Bishop 
Vaughan, October 24, 1855. Sir B. 
Wrey was received into the Church 
at Dover, September 15, 1856. The 
registers of the Barnstaple mission 
date from 1836. 

Priests. 
Rev. Peter Hartley, 1827. 

Wm. O Meara, 1829. 

Jn. \Villiams, 1831. 

,, Maurice O Connor, 1833. 

L. Calderbank, 1835. 

M. Crowe, D.D., 1835. 

Thos. Costello, 1837. 

Jos. Dwyer, 1837. 

Jn. Larkan, 1837. 

Wm. Casey, 1839. 

Patrick Kelly, 1840. 

Thos. Fergusson, D.D., 1844 

,, Jn. Lynch, 1846. 

,, Jos. Kerrin, 1849. 

Ralph Canon Brindle, 1850. 

Wm. Musworth, 1890. 

James S. Burns, 1893. 

Wm. Unsworth, 1903 to date. 



BARROW - IN - FURNESS, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Mary. 

In 1865 the Catholic population 
of the district amounted to about one 
thousand. The nearest chapel was at 

F 



66 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Ulvcrstone, ten miles distant. Fr. 
Bilsborrow, afterwards Bishop of 
Salford, used to come over from 
time to time to attend sick calls, 
administer baptisms, &c. A site 
for a church having been generously 
granted by the Duke of Devonshire, 
the present building was erected, 
and opened Aug. 28, 1867. E. W. 
Pugin was the architect, the seating 
capacity being for 700. A tower and 
spire were added 1891, and in 1894 
the church was enlarged and redeco 
rated. The Sacred Heart Convent 
was opened in Furness House, 
October 1897. In 1903 the esti 
mated Catholic population of the 
mission was 3,489. St. Patrick s 
School Chapel, Barrow Island, 
opened 1877 and enlarged 1885, 
is served from St. Mary s. 

Priests. 
Eev. John Bilsborrow, 1866. 

James Parkinson, 1874. 

., Wm. Gordon, 1877. 

Edward Caffrey, 1879. 

John Miller, 1899 to date. 



BARROW-ON-SOAR, LEICESTER 
SHIRE (Nottingham). St. Alban. 

Some time prior to 1839 Fr. 
"Woolfrey gave lectures on Catholic 
doctrine at Barrow in reply to a 
flood of anti-Catholic tracts scat 
tered broadcast by the Rev. Mr. 
Gwatkin, a protestant minister. 
The lectures were well attended, 
and many persons were received 
into the Church. In March 1839 
the present chapel, a neat structure 
in the Grecian style, was opened 
for worship. The cost was defrayed 
by the contractors of the Eastern 
Counties Railway. The mission, 
which was long served from Lough- 
borough, is now served from Sileby. 



BARTESTREE, HEREFORDSHIRE 

(Newport}. 

The Sisters of Our Lady of Charity 
of Refuge, a congregation founded 
by theVen. John Eudes, of Caen, in 
1641, opened their convent here in 
1863. Robt. Biddulph Phillips, 
Esq., was a great benefactor to the 
foundation. The work of the nuns 
is the reformation of young women 
and preservation of girls in danger 
of falling. The chapel is open to 
the public. 



BARTON-ON-HUMBER, LINCOLN 
SHIRE (Nottingham}. St. Augus 
tine Apostle of England. 

The mission was established in 
1841-42, being served alternately 
from Brigg by the priest of that 
place. The mission, which has been 
an independent one since about 
1843, is served by Benedictines. It 
owes its origin to a convert gentle 
man and a Mr. Aistrip of Hull. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Egan (of Brigg), 1841. 

Jn. Taylor, 1844. 

P. Perry, 1845. 

S. Ward, 1848. 

Geo. Burge, 1850. 

J. Bernard Murphy, 1890. 

Ralph Pearson, 1892. 

J. B. Davey, 1893. 

Robt. Fishwick, 1894. 

Joseph Watmore, 1895. 

Thos. Feeny, 1899. 

Joseph Flanagan, 1900 to date. 



BARTON - ON - IRWELL, MAN 
CHESTER (Salford). All Saints. 

The nucleus of this mission was 
the domestic chapel of the Tratford 
family. A school was built here in 
1822 by Fr. Thomas Sadler, who 
in 1827 erected a public chapel at 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



67 



Barton. The mission was served 
in conjunction with the chapel at 
Trafford Park. The chapel of 1827 
quickly became too small for the 
congregation, and many years later 
was described as a wretched gar 
ret. The present fine Gothic church 
the gift of the Trafford family, 
the traditional patrons of the mis 
sion was consecrated by Bishop 
Turner of Salford, June 9, 1868. 
At that time the congregation num 
bered 1,600. The cost of erection 
was 15,000. 

Priests. 
Kev. James Haydock, 1792. 

Thomas Sadler, 1808. 

Henry Newsham, 1830. 

John Ball, 1834. 

Joseph Westhead, 1840. 

John Hill, 1843. 

Mgr. John Canon "Kershaw, 
1844. 

James Canon Hayes, M.R., 
1890. 

Monsignor Charles Canon 
Gadd, V.G., 1901 to date. 



BASINGSTOKE, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). The Holy Ghost. 

Mass was said here once a month 
by a priest from Woolhampton, 
1869. Canon Crookhall, of the 
latter place, and Mr. Riviere are 
regarded as the two chief founders 
of the mission. By dint of great 
exertions, Fr. C. Paul erected 
the present small church (1878). 
Bishop Vertue, of Portsmouth, 
confirmed here for the first 
time, December 12, 1883. Fr. Val 
d Eremao, the distinguished Orien 
tal scholar, author of the Serpent 
of Eden &c., was priest of the 
mission in 1884. The present rec 
tor is the Rev. A. S. Scoles. 1 

1 The Marquis of Winchester, who 
held Basing House for Charles I. against 
the forces of the Parliament (1643-45), 



BATH, SOMERSET (Clifton). 
Benedictines. St. John the Evan 
gelist. 

King James II. visited Bath in 
1687 and while there attended 
Mass in the chapel served by Fr. 
Anselm Williams, O.S.B. This 
oratory was in Beltre House 
rented from the Corporation at 
8 a year. The priests after this 
were : Fr. Bernard Quinn, 1713 ; 
F. W. Banester, 1726; Francis 
Browning or Bruning and Dr. 
Lawrence York, 1730. Dr. York 
was consecrated Bishop of Niba in 
partibus and created V.A. of the 
Western district 1741. During the 
rebellion of 1745, an attempt was 
made to get his Lordship into 
trouble by means of a forged letter 
purporting to have come from 
Prince Charles Edward Stuart. The 
Mayor of Bath, who was his friend, 
called on him privately and advised 
him to withdraw for a time, which 
he did. Fr. Bernard Bradshaw, 
O.S.B. , acted as Vicar-General dur 
ing the Bishop s absence. Bishop 
York ultimately retired, worn out 
with labours, to St. Gregory s Col 
lege, Douai, where he died April 
14, 1770. Fr. Bradshaw had al 
ready given up missionary work in 
1757. His successor, Fr. Placid 
Naylor, died at Paris, 1793, during 
the Revolution. Fr. John Bede 
Brewer, D.D. who came to Bath 
in 1776, built a chapel in St. James 
Parade. Barely had it been 
opened when it was burnt by a 
No Popery mob desirous of 
emulating the Lord Geo. Gordon 
Rioters in London (June 9, 1780). 
Bishop Walmesley s splendid 
library perished in the flames, but 
his Lordship and the Catholics 

was a devout Catholic, and patron of 
several missionary priests. The Basing- 
stoke Canal now crosses the site of the 
historic mansion. 

F2 



68 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



obtained compensation to the value 
of 3,734 19s. Gd. The Bene 
dictine Fathers then built another 
chapel in Corn Street. 1 

Fr. Baines, afterwards Bishop, 
in 1817 opened another chapel in 
Pierrepont Street, which was numer 
ously attended. This second was 
known as Portland Chapel, and 
before its acquisition by Fr. 
Baines had been a dissenting place 
of worship. Catholicity in Bath 
made great strides after 1840. 
Commenting on this the Bath 
and Cheltenham Gazette for Janu 
ary 1849 said : The Mission 
ary Chapel at Brunswick Place, 
under the spiritual charge of the 
V. Rev. Dr. Bewe, has become a 
place of great resort to the Protes 
tants of Bath, notwithstanding the 
strong Puritanical spirit there. A 
great number of conversions have 
been the result of his untiring 
exertions. Among these latter 
were Sir T. Broadhead, Bart., and 
the Hon. John Sanderson, some 
time Chief Justice and President of 
the Privy Council of the Isle of 
Grenada. He died at 2 Nelson 
Place, near Bath, January 10, 1849, 
aged eighty-one years. 

The time having arrived for a 
really fine Catholic church to 
take the place of the conventicle- 
like buildings of less happy times, 
the stone of the present church in 
the South Parade was laid Octo 
ber 2, 1862. The opening and con- 

1 A tradition at Bath relates that on 
the first night of the anti-Catholic riots 
of 1780 a constable went to one of the 
local magistrates and breathlessly ex 
claimed : Pleaze, your worship, the mob 
ha set the Cath lic chappel a vire (sic). 
What shall us do ? Do! was the 
reply, why, if it had happened yesterday 
while we wer a zitten (sic) I d a told ee 
but as tiz, he added, scratching his 
heal, Til caal (sic) a Haal (sic) o 
Mundee ! 



secration by Bishop Clifford, of 
Clifton, took place a year later, on 
October 7, 1863. This fine Gothic 
pile is of Bath stone and of com 
modious proportions. Mr. C. 
Hansom, of Bath, was the architect. 
Beneath the high altar, which is of 
marble supported by six columns of 
the same material, is a handsome 
shrine containing the corpo santo 
or body of St. Justina, presented to 
the Church by Prince Doria of 
Rome, son-in-law of the Earl of 
Shrewsbury. The fine spire of the 
building (222 ft.) was completed in 
September 1867. 



BATH (Clifton). St. Mary s, 
Julian Eoad. 

The first stone was laid by Arch 
bishop Errington, June 24, 1879, 
and the building was opened May 3, 
1881, by Cardinal Manning, who 
preached on Luke xvi. 8, with 
reference to the Bradlaugh agita 
tion against official oaths and de 
clarations. The style is Early 
Decorated from designs by Dunn 
and Hansom, the seating capacity 
being for 400. 

Priests. 

Rev. Francis Canon Loughnan, 
1879. 

Arnold Matthews, M.R. 1888. 

Michael McCarthy, 1889. 

Edward Bates 1891 to 
date. 



BATLEY, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Mary and the Angels. 

A dirty room over a rag ware 
house was the first chapel of this 
mission in 1854. For this horrid 
and disgusting room, as the pastor, 
Fr. T. O Connell, called it, a rent- 
age of 12 per annum was charged. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



The number of Catholics living at 
Batley was then about 600, which 
in five years increased to 1,000. In 
1859 the Earl of Wilton generously 
presented a site for a school chapel, 
valued at about 200. In March 
1859 the first social gathering of 
Catholics and Protestants since the 
Eeforination was held at Batley, 
and a collection made for the 
schools. The chapel, however, 
remained but a horrid garret till 
December 15, 1870, when the 
church was opened. The style is 
thirteenth century. The accom 
modation is for G50. The cost of 
building was 2,374. The Catholic 
population of Batley in 1870 was 
about 3,500. Archbishop Manning 
preached at the opening on Luke i. 
28. A new sanctuary and wing 
were added to the church in October 
1884. New schools for GOO children 
were opened in 1897 at a cost of 
4,000. The mission is much in 
debted to the Colbeck family for 
several generous benefactions. 

Priests. 

Eev. T. O Connell, 1853. 
J. Wells, 1855. 

Patrick Lynch, 1860. 

Thos. Eigby, 1870. 

Wra. Gordon, 1873. 

Chas. Gordon, 1879. 

James Canon Gordon, 1898. 

John Lea, 1902 to date. 



BATTERSEA, EAST, LONDON, S.W. 
(Southward). Our Lady of Mount 
Carmel and St. Joseph. 

The mission was founded in 1868 
by the late Canon Drink water. A 
small church now the Lady 
Chapel was opened November 22, 
1869 ; the rest of the building 
(Gothic) in 1875. The high altar, 
said to be one of the finest in Lon 
don, was presented by the late Sir 



John Stuart Knill, Bart. Schools 

! were erected 1871, and enlarged 

subsequently at a cost of 1,3002. 

i The interior of the church was re- 

I decorated 1904. A notable feature 

i of the church is the handsome 

pulpit, put up some twenty years 

| ago in memory of the founder of 

the mission. 

Priests. 

1 Eev. T. Canon Drinkwater, 1868. 
W. J. Connolly, 1881. 
Albert Whereat, D.D., 1894. 
,, Joseph Newton, 1903 to date. 



BATTERSEA, LONDON, S.W. 

(Southward). The Sacred Heart. 

Just before his death, Don Bosco, 
! founder of the Salesian Congre- 
, gation, arranged for a settlement 
j of his Institute in England. In 
| November 1887, some Fathers and 
Brothers came to London and were 
given charge of the Trott Street 
Mission, Battersea, by Bishop Butt, 
of Southwark. A small iron church 
at first sufficed, but in a short time 
the growth of the congregation 
demanded a larger building. On 
August 3, 1892, Bishop Butt blessed 
the first stone of the present church, 
which was opened on October 14-15, 
! 1893. The High Mass was sung by 
Archbishop Cagliero, of Magida, 
Er. P. Fletcher preaching in the 
morning and Canon G. Akers in 
the evening. In style the church 
is thirteenth century Eomanesque, 
from design of Mr. F. A. Walters, 
and is an imitation of the church 
of St. John at Turin. The splendid 
high altar was presented by the 
late Madame Whiting. The strik 
ing scheme of decoration of the 
interior is the work of Fr. G. 
Fayers, S.C., and other members 
of the Salesian Congregation. The 
schools (primary) attached to the 



70 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



church were erected 1890, and now 
accommodate some five hundred 
children. In 1895 Surrey Lodge, in 
Surrey Lane, by Orbel Street, a large 
roomy mansion, was purchased for 
a boys secondary school, which is 
now in a highly flourishing condi 
tion. New dormitories and class 
rooms were added in 1898 and 
1901-2. One section of the school 
is devoted to the teaching of arts 
and crafts. 

Superiors. 
Rev. Edward McKiernan, 1887. 

C. B. Macey, 1889, Provincial 
C.S., 1903. 

E. Rabagliati, 1908 to date. 



BATTLE, SUSSEX (SouthwwrJc). 
Our Lady Immaculate and St. 
Michael. 

The abbey was erected by Wil 
liam the Conqueror 10G7, on the 
spot where Harold fell, and was 
dedicated to a soldier-saint, St. 
Martin of Tours. At the time of 
the dissolution, the abbey, one of 
the wealthiest in the land, was 
granted by Henry VIII. to his 
favourite, Sir Anthony Browne, first 
Lord Montague. This family re 
mained Catholic down to the time 
of the seventh Viscount (1728-87), 
who, however, was reconciled to the 
Church on his death-bed, when he 
publicly declared that nothing but 
libertinism in theory and practice 
had induced him to abandon the 
faith of his fathers. A local tradi 
tion narrates that after the rise of 
the Reformation, Catholics of Battle 
used occasionally to assemble by a 
well near the ruined abbey to recite 
the rosary and hear instructions 
from disguised priests. Fr. Thomas 
Pilcher, or Pilchard, who was mar 



tyred for the faith at Dorchester, 
March 21, 1587, was a native of 
Battle. Mass was not said in the 
district for the next 300 years. 
In 1882 Bertram, fifth Earl of 
Ashburnham, built the present 
church for the few Catholics of the 
locality, at that time estimated 
at about twenty. The fine presby 
tery was erected by his lordship in 
1902, on a site obtained from the 
Duchess of Cleveland. It may be 
of interest to note that Reginald 
de Hesseburnham, ancestor of the 
present earl, gave lands to the 
Church at Battle in the eleventh 
century. 

Priests. 
Rev. Michael Gorman, 1882. 

Charles Kimpe, 1893. 

Thomas Mahon, 1899. 

Ernest Blackborrow. 

Enea Tozzi. 

J. Wilhelm, D.D., 1900 to date. 



BAYLIS HOUSE, SLOUGH, BUCKS. 

In 1823 Mr. Wm. Henry Butt, 
a convert Catholic gentleman, 
descended from an old family in 
Gloucestershire, opened a classical 
academy at Spring Terrace, Rich 
mond, Surrey. In 1828 he removed 
it to its present site Baylis House, 
Salt Hill, near Windsor. For nearly 
ninety years this excellent private 
school has remained under the 
tuition of various members of the 
Butt family, and it still preserves 
an undiminished reputation. The 
chaplain at this time was the Rev. 
J. Wilkinson, of Clewer. The pre 
sent chaplain, who has also charge 
of the mission which the domestic 
chapel serves, is Fr. Ravmond Colin, 
O.P. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



71 



BAYSWATER, LONDON, W. ( West 
minster). St. Mary of the Angels, 
Westmoreland Road. 

The church was commenced in 
1850, but, for want of funds, not 
completed till 1857, when it was 
opened by Cardinal Wiseman 
(July 2). A south aisle and Lady 
chapel, designed by J. Bentley, 
were added later. The style of the 
building is Gothic. Dr. Manning 
was rector till 1865, when he suc 
ceeded Cardinal Wiseman. The 
Oblates of St. Charles have had 
charge of the mission since the 
commencement. A splendid east 
window was presented to the chapel 
of St. Charles in 1889 by Mr. and 
Mrs. J. O Grady. Among the 
valuable relics preserved by the 
community are a large green 
chasuble, constantly used by St, 
Charles, and a valuable crystal 
sixteenth century reliquary of Italian 
or Spanish workmanship, contain 
ing a relic of their holy patron. 



BEAUMONT COLLEGE, OLD 
WINDSOR (Portsmouth). St. Stan 
islaus. 

Beaumont or Bowmans Lodge, 
near the confines of Windsor Great 
Park, was formerly the residence of 
William Duke of Cumberland, of 
Culloden notoriety, and Warren 
Hastings. In 1854 it became the 
noviciate of the Society of Jesus, 
and in 1860 was opened as a col 
legiate school for the sons of the 
upper and middle classes. The 
course of studies was completely 
reorganised in 1903, and the estab 
lishment has been lately officially 
recognised, in connection with pre 
paratory military and naval studies. 
The junior school was completed 
in 1887. 



Rectors (S.J.). 
Rev. James Eccles. 
Thos. Welsby. 
Francis Cassidy, 1876. 
Fredk. O Hare, 1885. 
Wm. Heathcote, 1892. 
Jn. Lynch, 1895. 
Gerald Tarleton, 1897. 
,, J. Bampton, to date. 



BECCLES, SUFFOLK (Northamp 
ton). St. Benet s Minster. 

The mission was established from 
Bungay, 1888. A portion of the 
church was built 1889. The style 
is transitional Norman, consisting 
of nave, two side aisles, and chapels 
of Our Lady and St. Joseph. A 
tower is in course of construction. 
The interior is very ornate, the 
high altar of stone and marble being 
especially noteworthy. Fredk. 
Smith, Esq., of Bungay, bequeathed 
a sum sufficient for completing the 
church and adding the tower. The 
congregation said to be mostly 
converts numbers about three 
hundred. 

Priests (O.S.B.). 
Rev. Hugh Ford, 1889. 

F. M. Fulton, 1895 to date. 

N.B. The Corpus Christi Guild, 
established in the mission, is a re 
vival of the celebrated guild founded 
here in 1354. Like the other 
English guilds, numbering some 
30,000, it was confiscated under 
Edward, VI. One of the rules of 
the guild enacted, That the body 
of Our Lord Jesus Christ be 
honoured with all possible reve 
rence, that it be placed in a gilt 
cup and be carried on a decorated 
feretory, accompanied by four priests 
in procession on Corpus Christi 
Day, &c. See Downside Review, 
July 1895, p. 228. 



72 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



BECKENHAM, KENT (South- 
wark). The Transfiguration and 
St. Benedict. 

The mission was commenced by 
Fr. W. Kirwan 1891, but does not 
figure in the Catholic Directory 
till 1893. The cruciform church 
was commenced in October 1895 
and opened by Bishop Butt 1896. 
Fr. Thomas Bullivant, D.D., a dis 
tinguished priest and convert, was 
a frequent worshipper here after 
his reception into the Church. He 
died at Eome, August 18, 1901. 

Priests. 
Rev. W. Kirwan, 1891. 

W. Alton, 1902. 

, W. Kilmartin, 1903. 



BEDFORD (Northampton}. Holy 
Child Jesus and St. Joseph. 

The first Mass said at Bedford in 
recent times was on Christmas Day 
1863, when Fr. John, afterwards 
Canon Warmoll, started a mission 
in the town. The chapel on this 
occasion was a crowded room 
eleven feet square. The bigotry 
against Catholics in Bedford was 
then so great, that when, on March 
27, 1865, Fr. Warmoll attended the 
cemetery to bury one of the con 
gregation, a hostile crowd sur 
rounded the grave and behaved in 
the most outrageous manner. A 
great change for the better in 
public opinion with regard to 
Catholics had taken place in 
October 1872, when the founda 
tions of the new church were laid 
by the Bishop of Northampton. Mr. 
Gilbert Blount was the architect, 
the cost of erection being about 
3,000. This beautiful church 
was completed during the course 
of 1873. A handsome carved stone 
and marble altar and reredos were 
added to the Sacred Heart Chapel 



! by Fr. Wrigglesworth in May 1887. 

| Messrs. Purdie and Boulton were 

the architects and sculptors, re- 

j spectively, of this fine addition to 

the church. 

Priests. 

I Rev. J. Canon Warmoll, 1863. 
Geo. Wrigglesworth, 1885. 
Geo. Canon Osman, 1888. 
Eobt. Middleton, 1890, to date. 



BEDFORD LEIGH, LANCS. See 

Leigh, St. Joseph s. 



BEDWORTH, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. St. Francis of 
Assisi. 

By the zeal and exertions of the 
Capuchin Fathers this mission was 
placed on a permanent footing in 
February 1881. On Sunday, March 
5, 1881, Stations of the Cross were 
erected, and two sacred statues 
were unveiled in the chapel by 
the generosity of benefactors. The 
new Catholic Church, which was 
built 1882-83, accommodates some 
150 persons. The schools for 100 
children were erected at the same 
time. For several years the mis 
sion was served from Nuneaton 
and Weston. It is now attended 
by the Premonstratensians. 



SEEDING, near BRAMBER, 
SUSSEX. 

In 1904 the Nuns of the Con 
gregation of the Blessed Sacrament 
acquired the mansion known as 
the Towers, where they have com 
menced a high-class girls school. 
The chapel is open to the public. 
Chaplain, Rev. A. Marcellin. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



73 



BEESTON, NOTTINGHAM. St. 
Peter. 

The mission was commenced 
1885 and for some time was served 
from the Cathedral, Nottingham. 
In February 1887, Fr. G. V. Bull 
was appointed resident rector. On 
the first Sunday of Lent, the same 
year, nine persons were confirmed 
by Bishop Bagshawe. The church 
designed by G. Hart was opened 
by Canon Douglas in May 1898 ; 
accommodation for 150. 



BEGBROOK, near OXFORD (Bir 
mingham). 

A monastery known as St. 
Philip s Priory for the training 
and education of novices for the 
Servite Order was opened here on 
Tuesday, January 5, 1897. High 
Mass was sung by the Rev. Bona- 
venture Ceirano, prior of the founda 
tion, the sermon being preached by 
the Bishop of Birmingham. 



BELLINGHAM, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexliam and Newcastle). 
St. Oswald. 

The foundation of this mission is 
dated 1749. A chapel was built in 
1794, from which j-ear the baptismal 
register commences. That of deaths 
commences 1775. On June 20, 
1839, a neat and convenient 
chapel in the Gothic style of archi 
tecture was opened by Bishop 
Briggs. The Bishop and two 
Catholic gentlemen contributed 
liberally towards its erection. One 
of these was W. Charlton, Esq., 
High Sheriff of the County, 1838. 

Priests since 1800. 
Eev. Geo. Turner. 

Dinmore, 1832. 

A. Macartney, 1834. 



Eev. N. Brown, 1838. 
E. Hothersall, 1852. 
Geo. Flint, 1862; till after 

1900. 
Harold Tate, 1902. 



BELLS CLOSE, SCOTSWOOD-ON- 
TYNE, NORTHUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham, and Neivcastle). St. George. 
The church was opened 1869. 

Priests. 

Eev. Thos. Clavering. 
,, Francis Kuyte, 1885. 
,, James Canon Stark, 1904 to 
date. 



BELMONT, CLEHONGER, HERE 
FORD (Newport). Pro-Cathedral of 
St. Michael. 

This fine church and Benedictine 
Priory adjoining were erected by 
the late F. E. Wegg-Prosser, Esq., 
at a cost of upwards of 17,000. 
The style of the church is cruci 
form, and, like the priory, was de 
signed by E. Welby Pugin. From 
its situation on the Belmont estate, 
the place is often spoken of as the 
Benedictine Priory, Belmont, and 
for more than forty years it has 
been the noviciate of the English 
province of the Order. The opening 
of the Priory took place November 
21, 1859, the anniversary of the day 
on which Abbot John Feckinham 
took possession of the Abbey of 
Westminster, temp. Queen Mary. 
Abbot Sweeney was superior of St. 
Michael at the time of the opening. 
He was born at Bangalore, India, 
1821, his father being a British officer 
and one of the friends of Napoleon 
at St. Helena. Abbot Sweeney is 
the author of the well-known Life 
of Father Augustine Baker, O.S.B., 
the martyr ; Lectures on Faith 



74 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



and Practice &c. He died at St. 
John s Priory, Bath, April 17, 1883. 
The pro-Cathedral was still un 
finished when the Jubilee was 
celebrated in September 1885. 



BENTHAM, YORKS (Leeds ). St. 
Boniface. 

The church was opened in 1866. 

Priests. 
Kev. Joseph Hill, 1866. 

Thos. Croskell, 1888. 

S. Y. Morgan, 1898 to date. 



BERMONDSEY, LONDON, S.E. 
The Most Holy Trinity, Parker s 
Kow. 

This mission is famous as being 
one of the first to be started with 
out the aid or patronage of any of 
the foreign ambassadors. In May 
1773 Fr. Gerard Shaw gave Bishop 
Talbot, coadjutor of Bishop Chal- 
loner, 500 afterwards increased 
to 700 to found a mission at 
Bermondsey. He likewise pre 
sented a silver chalice for use in 
the chapel. In the Latin document 
concerning these bequests is a 
clause requiring one of the chap 
lains at Bermondsey to be able to 
speak both Irish and English. 
The baptismal registers date from 
1776, but no priest s name appears 
in them at that time. A Miss 
Byrne also endowed the mission at 
the outset with the sum of 200. 
The first chapel, or Mass-house, 
was in East Lane. There is a tra 
dition that during the Gordon riots 
in 1780 the No Popery mob came 
to Bermondsey to destroy the 
chapel, but were unable to find it. 
Bishop Chal loner is said to have 
preached and confirmed here. In 
1799 Fr. Broderick established a 



school which was supported by 
Irish merchants and tradesmen in 
London. A few years later the 
Baroness de Montesquieu, daughter- 
in-law of the author of the Ij Esprit 
des Lois, who had emigrated at 
the Revolution, gave a site for a 
new school and 5,000 for a church. 
The double schools (for boys and 
girls) were in Paradise Street, 
Kotherhithe. Baptisms amounted 
to 177 in 1834; 251 in 1862; 
385 in 1881. Fr. Butler, who 
came to Bermondsey in 1832, 
supplied the church with the 
benches that are still in use. On 
Monday, August 3, 1834, the 
first stone of the new church was 
laid by Bishop Bramstone, V.A.L., 
assisted by Bishop Griffiths. The 
sermon by Fr. Harrington was 
heard with great attention by up 
wards of 4,000 spectators. The 
building was opened in June 1835. 
Bishop Bramstone sang the Mass, 
and among the choir was Madame 
Stockhauser, the celebrated canta- 
trice. Bishop Griffiths preached 
and in the course of the sermon he 
asked prayers for the Baroness de 
Montesquieu, then dying. This 
great benefactress to London Catho 
licity died on July 13 following, 
and was interred beneath the 
church she did so much to found. 
The style of the building is perpen 
dicular Gothic with galleries above 
the aisles additions which gave 
great offence to the architect E. 
Welby Pugin. 

New permanent confessionals 
and a large additional sacristy were 
added in 1900. The rich east win 
dow is the gift of the Pauling family 
of Effingham, Surrey. On the side 
walls of the church are mural 
tablets and brasses to past rectors 
of the mission, and near the en 
trance a fine Calvary group, in 
memory of Provost Bamber of 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



75 



Southwark (died 1886). The Eev. E. 
Murnane, M.K., is the present 
rector. It was at this mission that 
the Catholic Boys Brigade now 
so widely spread over London was 
first started by Fr. P. Segesser, 
the present rector of Deptford. 
The Convent of Mercy which ad 
joins the church was opened in 
1838. Among the first sisters to 
be professed here was Lady Barbara 
Eyre, daughter of the Earl of New- 
burgh, a descendant of the Jacobite 
Earl of Derwentwater, beheaded in 
1716. Several of the nuns went to 
the Crimea in 1854 as hospital 
nurses, and their services to the 
sick and wounded soldiers were 
gratefully acknowledged by Miss 
Florence Nightingale, whose por 
trait hangs in the Community room 
of the Convent. 

N.B. The Ven. Henry Heath, 
O.S.F., who suffered for the Faith 
at Tyburn in 1643, was arrested at 
the Star Inn, Bermondsey, a site 
now occupied, we believe, by the 
Star Music Hall in Abbey Street. 



BERMONDSEY, SOUTH, LONDON, 

S.E. (Southward). St. Gertrude. 

The district between South Ber 
mondsey and the Old Kent Koad, 
which up to 1885 was mainly a 
waste, had by 1890 become a 
densely populated area. A site for 
a church was acquired by Bishop 
Butt in 1892, but the building was 
not erected till 1902. The style is 
Komanesque from design by the 
late F. Tasker. A generous bene 
factress defrayed the cost of build 
ing. Above the altar hangs a large 
Flemish crucifix modelled after the 
celebrated picture by Sir Anthony 
Van Dyck. Fr. Martin Gifkins was 
the first and the Kev. H. Evans is 
the present rector. 



BERWICK-ON-TWEED, NORTH 
UMBERLAND (Hexham and New 
castle). Our Lady and St. Cuth- 
bert. 

The town was one of the places 
visited by the Jesuits of the St. 
John the Evangelist residence 
after 1623. No record, however, 
remains of their labours. The 
mission afterwards passed under 
the care of the Benedictines, but no 
registers appear to have been kept 
till 1793. The chapel in Eavens- 
down Street was opened in 1829. 
In 1846 Fr. Withain proposed the 
erection of a more commodious 
chapel, neat, but not gaudy, in 
the Early English style, to take the 
place of the existing building 
which was far too small for the 
accommodation of the people. We 
have not, however, been able to dis 
cover if this suggestion was carried 
out. 

Priests since 1824. 
Mission vacant, 1825. 
Kev. Wm. Birdsall, 1826. 
E. Smith, 1839. 

Thos. Witham, 1844. 

A. Macdermott, 1848. 

Thos. Hanegan, 1856. 

\Vm. Markland, 1858. 

Denis Buckley, 1864. 

John O Connor, here 1871. 

James Farrell, 1874. 

Wm. Gillow, 1880. 

James Stark, 1881. 

Wm. Smythe, 1885 to date. 



BETHNAL GREEN, LONDON, N.E. 
(Westminster). Our Lady of the 
Assumption. 

In 1903 Cardinal Vaughan re 
quested the Augustinian Fathers 
of the Assumption, expelled from 
France, to take charge of this newly 
established mission. A temporary 
j chapel was opened at North Pas- 



76 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



sage, Green Street, near the presby 
tery, 24 Globe Road, afterwards 
removed to 184 Cambridge Road. 
Fr. Gelase Urginet is the Superior. 



BETHNAL GREEN, LONDON, N.E. 
The Polish Chapel. 

The mission was commenced in 
November 1904, Mass being said 
for the first time here on Sunday, 
December 4 following. Count 
Lubienski and Mr. Pace are the 
treasurers of the chapel, which is 
under the care of Fr. Gregory 
Domanski, of the Salesian congre 
gation. 



BEVERLEY, YORKS (Middles - 
brough). St. John. 

Before the establishment of this 
mission, March 1846, the nearest 
Catholic chapel was at Hull, some 
7 1 miles distant. The first chapel 
was a room hired by Fr. Astrop. 
In 1850 Beverley became the terri 
torial See of the Bishop of the old 
Yorkshire district, but the occu 
pants of it were installed at St. 
George s, York, in which city they 
resided. Owing to the growth of 
the diocese, it was divided into two 
Sees, that of Leeds and Middles 
brough, 1878. 

The Lord Bislioi^s of Beverley. 

(1) Rt. Rev. John Briggs, born 

1789 ; educated at Ushaw, 
and ordained July 9, 1814 ; 
president of the College, 1832- 
36 ; Bishop of Tracliis, 1833 ; 
Vicar Apostolic of the York 
district, 1840; translated to 
Beverley, 1850 ; resigned No 
vember 7, 1860; died Janu 
ary 4, 1861. 

(2) Rt. Rev. Cornthwaite, born May 

9, 1818 ; consecrated by Car 



dinal Wiseman, November 10, 
1861 ; translated to Leeds, 
December 20, 1878; died, 
June 16, 1890. 

Priests. 
Rev. Wm. Astrop, 1846. 

Bernard Branigan, 1852. 
Henry Walker, 1856. 
Thos. Smith, 1858. 
M. Bisenius, 1882. 
James Humphreys, 1885. 
Francis John Hall, 1891. 
Prosper Coppin, 1897. 
Thomas R. Murphy, 1905; to 
date. 



BEXHILL - ON - SEA, SUSSEX 

(Southward). St. Mary Magda 
len. 

In the spring of 1893 the 
Fathers of Charity opened a tem 
porary chapel which served the 
mission till the erection of the 
present fine church. 

Priests. 
Rev. Richard Richardson, 1893. 

,, Alfred Knight, to date. 



BICESTER, OXFORDSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). St. Edith s Priory. 

A school chapel was opened in 
1885 and served from Hethe ; later 
on from Souldern. The Olivetan 
Benedictine nuns erected a priory 
here in 1903. 

Chaplains. 
Rev. F. Venance, 1903. 

A. Costedloat, 1905. 



BIDDLESTONE, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexham and Newcastle). 

Biddlestone Castle is the ances 
tral seat of the Selby family, who 
have always been staunch to the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



77 



Faith. The chapel is said to have 
been built in the year 1200. After 
the year 1623 the place was served 
by the Jesuit Fathers. Fr. Robt. 
Widdrington appears to have been 
th e first resident missioner at Biddle- 
stone. This worthy priest was here 
after the Restoration and is note 
worthy for having assisted in the 
Conversion of James Drummond, 
Duke of Perth. The last Jesuit 
chaplain here was probably Fr. 
Newton 1750. The congregation at 
that time was returned at about fifty 
or sixty and the remuneration as 
10 and diet. After this the care 
of the missions seems to have de 
volved on the Benedictines. The 
registers date from 1767. Fr. J. 
Naylor, O.S.B., was here for many 
years and till about the end of 
the eighteenth century. A return 
set forth in 1837 gave the congrega 
tion at eighty-two, exclusive of ten 
converts. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. J. Abbot ; Mission vacant 
1832-36. 

Jn. Fisher, 1837. 

- Howard, 1839. 

Thos. Hogget, 1842. 

Henry Cartmell, 1888. 

Win. Drysdale, 1891. 

Robt. Kerr, 1892 to date. 



BIDEFORD, DEVONSHIRE (Ply. 
mouth). The Sacred Heart. 

The first chapel was a mission 
room at the Public Rooms (1888), 
Fr. J. Burns being the first priest. 
The new church was built in the 
grounds attached to the priest s 
house, the foundation stone being 
laid in August 1892 by the Bishop 
of Plymouth. The sermon at the 
ceremony was preached by Fr. 
Langdon, of Launceston (St. Matt, 
vii. 24-25). The building is cruci 



form, and measures 58 ft. by 22 ft. 
Mr. Lethbridge of Plymouth was 
the architect. The church was 
opened in December 1892. In the 
autumn of 1893 the building was 
enriched by a new pulpit and a 
bell. 



BEDLINGTON, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexliam and Newcastle). 
St. Bede. 

A Benedictine Mission estab 
lished in 1876 for the benefit of the 
many Catholics employed in the 
local colliery and nail-making in 
dustries. 

Priests. 
Rev. Francis Hickey, 1876. 

Jerome Watmough, 1882. 

Charles Wray, 1885. 

Charles Smith, 1890. 

James Furness, 1892. 

Wm. Baines, 1899 to date. 



BIGGLESWADE, BEDFORDSHIRE 
(Northampton). 

A mission-chapel has been esta 
blished here (1906), and Mass is 
said once a month by Fr. E. King 
of Shefford. An evening service is 
given by the same priest every 
Sunday, and it is hoped that a 
priest may soon be appointed to 
take charge of this growing centre 
of Catholicity. 



BILSTON, STAFFORDSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). Holy Trinity. 

During the cholera epidemic of 
1832 Fr. Francis, afterwards Bishop 
Mostyn, and Fr. O Sullivan * were 
indefatigable in their exerti ~>ns to 
afford every spiritual and c )rporal 
assistance to the sufferers. They 



78 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



received many into the Church, and 
so deep was the impression made 
by their apostolic labours, that 
many protestants joined in peti 
tioning Bishop Walsh, V.A.M.D., 
to erect a Catholic chapel in the 
town. Aided by James Wheble, 
Esq., and the Baroness de Montes 
quieu, the Bishop was enabled to 
open the desired chapel to accom 
modate 500 in April 1834. In 
1832 the Catholic population of 
Bilston amounted to about half a 
dozen families, but the number had 
greatly increased at the time a 
regular mission was established. 
For several years the priest had to 
attend Wednesbury, Darlston and 
Willenhall. A fine new chancel 
by Pugin and a window by Wailes 
were added to the church in August 
1846. 

Priests at Bilston. 
Kev. F. Mostyn and O Sullivan, 
1832. 

Thos. Sing, 1836. 

G. Fox, 1838. 

S. Longman, 1844. 

M. Crewe, 1848. 

John Sherlock and Robt. 
Swift, 1851. 

P. Davies and H. Terry, 
1855. 

John O Connor, M.R., and 
John Clarke, 1864. 

James McCave, D.D., 1867. 

M. Power in 1870. 

AV. Stone, 1889. 

W. Waugh, 1890. 

G. Bunce, 1898. 

William Sutherland, 1904 to 
date. 



BINGLEY, YORKS (Leeds}. The 
Sacred Heart. 

A school chapel was erected 
here 1873, at which time there 
were many Catholics engaged in the 



worsted, paper, and iron manufac 
tures of the town. For some short 
time prior to the opening of the 
school chapel, a station had been 
established in the town and served 
from Shipley. 

Priests. 

Eevs. Edmund de Thury, D.D., 
1873. 

Aloysius Puissant, 1880. 

Alfred Watson, 1882. 

Thos. Parkin, 1891. 

Thos. Bradley, 1897. 

Honore Fove, 1903 to date. 



BIRCHLEY, WIGAN, LANGS 

(Liverpool}. St. Mary. 

The oldest mission in Lancashire 
(alleged). The Hall, the residence 
of the Andertons, was built in 1588, 
and in 1618 the chapel. The family 
were great sufferers for the Faith. 
A secret printing press was set up 
in the house from which many 
Popish pamphlets were printed. 
Fr. Robert Anderton was executed 
in the Isle of Wight 1586 for being 
a priest contrary to the laws, and 
two others of the race fell in the 
cause of Charles I. during the Civil 
War. Fr. Jn. Penswick, who served 
the mission for forty-six years and 
died October 30, 1864, was the last 
of the Douai priests. He erected 
the present church, opened June 20, 
1828. The schools were inaugurated 
October 29, 1860. The chancel 
and presbytery were built by Fr. J. 
Wrennall (1872). 

Priests. 
Kev. Eoger Anderton, 1645. 

Thos. Jameson alias Sedden, 
1698. 

Richard Jameson (brother), 
1717. 

Thos. Lancaster, 1719. 

Emerick Grimbaldestone, 
1751. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



79 



Rev. Hy. Dennett, 1786. 
Jn. Penswick, 1804. 
Patrick Fairhurst, 1850. Died 

in India, May 19, 1858. 
Jn. Hardman, 1855. 
Thos. Walton, 1865. 
Jos. Wrennall, 1869. 
Austin Powell, 1872 to date. 



BIEKDALE, SOUTHPORT, LANGS 

(Liverpool). St. Joseph s. 

In 1880 Birkdale was the abode 
of * cormorants, seagulls, and other 
sea fowl. By 1860 the place had 
become a city of stately villas 
and abodes of wealth. On Oc 
tober 14, 1865, Bishop Goss, of 
Liverpool, laid the first stone of 
the church on a site given by T. 
Weld-Blundell, Esq., the Lord of 
the Manor, who also contributed 
1,000 towards the erection. The 
Gothic building designed by E. W. 
Pugin was opened in May 1867. 
The seating accommodation is for 
about five hundred. Fr. J. Abra 
ham, who used to attend the few 
Catholics of the district before the 
establishment of a regular mission, 
presented the Campanile with a fine 
bell. In 1883 the congregation had 
grown so numerous that a school 
room had to be used as a chapel of 
ease. In July 1884 a school chapel 
dedicated to St. Theresa was opened 
for worship by the Bishop of Liver 
pool. The chapel was provided at 
the expense of Mr. and Mrs. Weld- 
Blundell, on whose estate it is 
built. Fr. John Gardner was ap 
pointed priest in charge of the new 
mission. 

Priests. 
Rev. Chas. Canon Teebay. 1867. 

Jas. Canon Taylor, 1883. 

Jn. Canon Wallwork, M.E., 
1885. 



1 Kev. Jn. Kelly, 1891. 

John Canon Walmsley, 1895. 
,, William Canon Gordon, 1897. 



BIRKENHEAD, CHESHIEE 

(Shrewsbury}. Our Lady of the 
Immaculate Conception. 

The establishment of a chapel 
at Birkenhead dates from 1837. 
At that time the Catholic popula 
tion was hardly 200 and the chapel 
was generally regarded as too 
large. By 1845 the Catholics 
numbered 5,000 ! There were then 
300 children in the schools. The 
Catholic life of the place was, 
however, reported to be very back 
ward, great numbers neglecting 
their duties. Fr. Collier, of New 
Mills, opposite Birkenhead, did 
much to revive religion in the mis 
sion. New schools of Stourton 
stone, from the design of E. W 
Pugin, were erected in 1857. In 
1861 the Catholic population was 
estimated at 10,000. Next year 
(May) the church to seat about 
1,000 was opened by the Bishop of 
Shrewsbury. The style is severe 
French Gothic. E. W. Pugin was 
the architect. In 1875 a hand 
some pulpit was presented by Fr. 
Slaughter. The chancel was com 
pleted 1877. Bishop Mostyn, V.A. 
of Wales, was consecrated here in 
July 1895. The high altar of stone 
and marble was erected June 11, 
1899. 

Priests. 
Rev. John Rogerson, 1857. 

Canon Daly, 1863. 
Monsignor Slaughter, 1872. 
Rev. Francis Mostyn, 1891 (Bishop 

of Menevia, 1895). 
,, Jn. Canon Barry, 1895. 



80 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



BIRKENHEAD, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury}. St. Werburgh. 

For some notice of recent Catho 
licity in the town, see account of 
the Church of the Immaculate 
Conception. The mother church of 
the district was opened August 22, 
1837, the mission having been insti 
tuted the previous year by Fr. John 
Platt, assisted by the Earl of 
Shrewsbury. A chapel for emi 
grants, near the docks, was esta 
blished by Canon Browne, 1854. 

Priests. 
Rev. John Platt, 1836. 

W. Henderson, 1810. 

Edw. Canon Browne, 1847. 

Ixobt. Canon Chapman, 1857. 

Eugene Canon Buqiiet, 1882. 

Thomas Canon Marsden, V. G., 
1898 to date. 



BIRKENHEAD. St. Lawrence s 
Church. 

Erected in 1875 at a cost in 
cluding furniture, &c. of 11,000. 
The congregation in 1887 numbered 
5,000. In February of that year 
arbitration was commenced between 
Fr. Michael Craig, rector of the 
church, and the Mersey Railway 
Company, in consequence of the 
subsidence of the church due to the 
company s tunnelling operations. 
On May 16, 1886, the church 
showed signs of being unsafe, and 
the building was shortly afterwards 
closed. With the 7,911 paid as 
compensation by the Railway Com 
pany, a new church was erected 
between March 1889 and 1890. 
The architect was Edmund Kirby. 
In 1897 new Sacristies and Lady 
Chapel were added, and in 1899 
a choir gallery. 

Priests. 
Rev. Robt. Brundrit, 1865. 

,, Edward Lynch, 1876. 

Thos. Geraghty, 1878. 



Rev. Canon Marsden, 1880. 
., Michael Craig, 1885. 
,, Gerald Canon Kcegan, 1895 
to date. 



BIRMINGHAM, WARWICK 

SHIRE. 

On March 23, 1687, the founda 
tion stone of a Catholic chapel at 
Birmingham was laid by Fr. Leo 
Randolph, O.S.F., in ye presence 
of many Protestants as well as 
Catholics. King James II. pre 
sented twenty-five tons of timber 
from Needwood Forest for use in 
the new building, which was opened 
and consecrated September 4, 1688, 
by Bishop Giffard. His lordship 
ordered the anniversary of the 
opening to be kept on the first 
Sunday of September, On Novem 
ber 2, 1688, two days before the 
landing of the Prince of Orange, a 
protestant mob, acting under orders 
from Lord Delamere, razed the 
chapel to the ground. The building 
was dedicated to St. Mary Magdalen. 
It was 95 ft. long by 33 ft., and the 
high altar was adorned by four 
large pillars carved with Corinthian 
capitals. The site of this chapel 
is, or was, called Mass - house 
Lane. After the destruction of the 
chapel, Fr. Randolph retired to 
Edgbaston, near the town, where 
he opened a small chapel and 
started a school. The school was 
greatly helped by Lady Curson of 
Waterperry, who in 1719 bequeathed 
j to the priest in charge some money 
| for four weekly Masses. The 
\ school and chapel always remained 
j separate establishments, and in 
1735 it was provided by the Pro 
vincial of the Franciscans in Eng 
land that the incumbent of the 
chapel should pay the master 16 
per annum for his board &c. A 
new house was rented for the school 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



81 



in 1750. The chief benefactors to 
the establishment after this were 
Mrs. Mary Weld, who left 350 to 
the school in 1782, and Sir James 
Brockholes, of Lancashire, who in 
1787 presented it with "400. In 
1789 the school was removed to 
Baddesley (q.v.). 

St. Peter s 

In 1786 Frs. J. Nutt and J. 
Hawley, the priests of the mission, 
resolved on erecting a larger chapel, 
and shortly afterwards a tine struc 
ture dedicated to St. Peter was 
opened; Fr. Joseph Berington 
preached on the occasion to a 
crowded congregation. In 1802 
the chapel was enlarged, many 
protestants contributing to the 
fund. Fr. Nutt died in 1799. His 
successors were Messrs. Filkington, 
Kimble, Summer, Hawley, and 
Edgeworth. In 1824 the Francis 
cans gave up the mission to the V.A. 
of the Midlands, when the Rev. J. 
McDonnell was appointed to the 
chapel. He built the presbytery, 
added side galleries to the chapel, 
and opened a Catholic burial 
ground. These undertakings loaded 
him with debt, from which he was 

fenerously relieved by the Earl of 
hrewsbury. The enlarged chapel 
held about six hundred persons. In 
1833 the Society of the Sacred 
Heart was established in the church. 
The present handsome Gothic 
church of St. Peter in Broad Street 
was opened by Bishop Ullathorne 
in 1871. 

BIRMINGHAM. Holy Family. 
See APPENDIX. 

BIRMINGHAM, WARWICKSHIRE. 

St. Chad s. 

The old church of St. Chad was 
commenced in 1806 and finished 
1809, during the incumbency of Fr. 
Edward Peach. In 1834 a meeting 



was held at the church when it was 
resolved that it is highly desirable 
that a commodious and splendid 
church be erected in Birmingham. 
This resolution was effectively real 
ised in June 1841, when the present 
magnificent Cathedral was conse 
crated by Bishop Walsh. The style 
is perpendicular Gothic, from the 
design of A. W. Pugin. In 1847 
365 persons were confirmed here by 
Bishop Wiseman. Bishop Walsh, 
who died in 1849, oct. 83, is buried 
in the crypt. On the re-establish 
ment of the hierarchy in 1850, 
Dr. Ullathorne was enthroned as 
Bishop of Birmingham (October 
27), upon which occasion Cardinal 
Wiseman preached (Matt. xiv. 25, 
26). The diamond jubilee of the 
church was celebrated in 1901. 
Additional sacristies were built by 
Canon Greaney, 1883. The St. 
Chad s Grammar School, opened 
on Summer Hill 1858, is now 
represented by St. Philip s Gram 
mar School. The Chapter of the 
Cathedral was erected June 24, 
1852, Monsignor Henry Weedall. 
D.D., being the first Provost. 
Among the benefactions to the 
Church may be noted : a fifteenth 
century brass lectern and carved 
oak pulpit from the Church of 
St. Gertrude, Louvain presented 
by John, sixteenth Earl of Shrews 
bury ; the rich high-altar, given by 
J. Hardman, Esq., &c. There are 
memorial windows to Thomas 
Canon Flanagan, the ecclesiastical 
historian (died July 21, 1865) ; 
George Wareing, Esq. (died 1844), 
&c. 

Priests. 
Rev. E. Peach, 1806-39. 

T. McDonnell, 1839. 

J. Moore, 1842. 

H. Weedall, D.D., 1849. 

In 1850 the City became the 
See of Birmingham with Dr. 

G 



KKlil.fSir CATHOLIC MISSION S 



Ullathorno as first bishop. Since 
llion the chief administrators under 
the bishops have been : 
Key. Geo. Canon Jeffries, V.G., 1851. 

Michael O Sullivan, 1800. 

Thos. Canon Longman, 1877. 

W. Greaney, 1885. 

Fredk. Canon Keating, 1898. 



BIRMINGHAM. St. Francis, 
Hunter l\oad. 

Opened with considerable cere 
mony by Cardinal Vaughan in 
1894, and has since been beautified 
by the addition of much internal 
decorations. The building was 
consecrated by Bishop Ilsley, 
Thursday, June 21, 1900. 



BIRMINGHAM. St. John. See 
APPENDIX. 



BIRMINGHAM. St. Michael s, 
Moor Street. 

In May 1862, a Unitarian meet 
ing house was purchased, and con 
secrated for use as a Catholic church 
by Bishop Morris, who pontificated 
at the High Mass and preached. 
The style of the building is Doric, 
and by a clever architectural mani 
pulation some old vestries adjoin 
ing the church were converted into 
a chancel connected with the rest 
of the building by a By /.an tine 
arch. These and other alterations 
were carried out by the architect, 
Mr. Bates. The * Mass-house, 
destroyed by Lord Delamero in 
1688, stood near the site of this 
church. The celebrated natural 
philosopher, Dr. Priestley, often 
preached at the Unitarian meeting 
house, which is now the Catholic 
church. When the purchase of 
the place was in negotiation, the 
diocesan authorities received very 



generous treatment from the Uni 
tarian body iu Birmingham, a eir 
eumstance quite in keeping with 
the general good feeling existing 
between Catholic s and the membeis 
of this persuasion arising from their 
suffering so long together from the 
operation of the penal laws. 

The congregation of St. Michael 
numbered about 4,000 in ISO, .. 
The first priests were Frs. ,1 . Sherlock 
and J. Power. Frs. J. Hanlon and 
W. O Dowd are in charge of the 
mission at present. 



BIRMINGHAM. St. Patrick s, 
Dudley Boad. 

This church was opened Octo 
ber 29, 1895, by Bishop Ilsley. 
The style is French Gothic. A 
conspicuous feature of the interior 
is the fine red stone columns. 
The accommodation of the building 
is for 500. Prior to the opening of 
the present edifice, an iron ehurch 
did duty as a place of worship. 
The line belfry bell was presented 
by Admiral Tinklar, and the 
alabaster font by Brady, Esq. 



BIRTLEY, DURHAM (Hcxluim 
and Newcastle). St. Joseph. 

A Mass -house is said to have 
existed here in 1690. In 1820 the 
Jesuits had charge of the mission. 
Fr. Higginson, O.S.B., was rector 
in 1832. The Catholic population 
was reckoned at about one hundred, 
1 mostly miners. In July 1842, the 
stone of the new church was laid by 
Fr. W. Biddell, of Newcastle, during 
the rectorate of Fr. Sheridan. The 
building (Gothic) was opened by 
Bishop Mostyn, May 8, 1842. Mr. 
Dobson was the architect. Several 
fine" stained-glass windows were 
presented to the church by J. Todd, 
Esq., of Newcastle. The church 



ENGLISH rvniouc MISSIONS 



was enlarged 1862, during the 
rectorate of Fr. Jn. Swale, O.S.IJ. 
I r. F. Seannell. O.S.Ii., i 



BISHOP AUCKLAND, DURHAM 

{ I Ic.i .hu in Utitl, Nf JDCdnfic). 

St. Wilfrid 8 Church, in the 
old Gothic style, WEB opened 
I . day, October 13, 1846, by 
Bishop Kiddeil, V.A. The Heating 
eapaeit.y of the building wa.s for 
400. Jiefore the opening of this 
church, Mass was said occasionally 
in a mean room, by Fr. William, 
afterwards Bishop Hogarth, who, 
on the Sundays when no Mass 
was said, used to com? over 
from his mission at Darlington, 
read prayers for the congregation, 
and catechise the children. The 
schools were erected in 1861. 
Before that time a large disused 
granary was kindly lent for the 
purpose by J. Peacock, Esq., a 
protestant gentleman. During the 
mission given by the Itedernp- 
torist Fathers in August 1881, 
2,8(K) persons approached the Sacra 
ments, and 798 were confirmed by 
Bishop Chadwick, of Hexharn and 
Newcastle. 



BISHOP EATOX (Liverpool). Our 
Lady of UK; Annunciation. 

The church of the liedemptorist 
Fathers was opened on Thursday, 
July 15, 1858, by Bishop Goss of 
Liverpool. The style is Early 
Perorated. E. Welby Pugin drew 
the plans. A new wing was added 
in 1889 from lesigns by Messrs. 
Sinnott and lowell. The Pre 
paratory College was opened 1894. 
The Itedemptorists first carne to 
Liverpool in 18ol at the request of 
Bishop Browne. 



BISHOP S 8TORTFORD, HERTS. 
(W<-Ht,ini/nnif,r). St. .Jo:-;eph and the 
V.\\ r L\ vA\ Martyrs. 

Tin- temporary church WM 
opened Wednesday, November 7, 
1900. The number of ) 
1 Catholics in the vicinity at this 
time did not exceed eleven. For 
many years prior to the opening of 
the church, Mass was said occa 
sionally over the shop of a Mr. 
Fitzgerald, a sadler, by one of the 
priests from St. Edmund s, Old 
Hall. Then St. Mary s Convent, 
Wind Mill Lodge, was established, 
and the chapel of the institution 
enabled the few Catholics of the 
district to hear Mass on Sundays. 
The church of the mission was 
opened by the Bishop of Clifton, 
on behalf of Cardinal Vaughan. 
Since the commencement of the 
mission, the spiritual care of the 
district has been given to the 
Bedemptorist Fathers. 
N.B. The exact date of the cora- 

mem-r-nient. of the m:--ion WM 
January 1880, and the first priest 
Fr. D. Nicols, of Ongar. 



BISHOP THORNTON, near LEEDS 
(York*). St. Joseph. 

The register of baptisms corri- 
menceH May 7, 180. }. The ohapel 
was built about 1809. Fr. (Canon) 
Matt, rector here 1813 57, was 
popularly known as good old 
Fr. Platt. He died at Bruges, Feb 
ruary 1, 1862. In August 1860, two 
fine coloured windows were erected 
in the church, one of St. Joseph 
and the Holy Child, and the other 
depicting the marriage feast at 
Cana. 

Priestn. 
Rev. Bichard Talbot, 1803. 

Charles Saul, died June 5, 
1813. 

o2 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. James Canon Platt, 1818 till 

1857. 

A. Macartney, 1858. 
Robt. Canon Thompson, 1861. 
W. Arnold, 1863. 
Geo. Brnnner, 1870. 
Herman Gcurts, 1876 to date. 



BISHOPSTOKE, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). The Holy Cross. 

Prior to 1888 the mission was 
served from elsewhere. In May 
1888, Fr. T. J. Doyle was appointed 
first resident priest. The church 
was consecrated August 1902. St. 
Mary s Home for waifs and strays 
is in the parish, and is under the 
direction of the Portsmouth Dio 
cesan Bescue Society. 



BISHOPSTON, near CLIFTON. 
St. Bonaventura. 

The Franciscan mission was esta 
blished here in 1890. Until the 
opening of the church on March 14, 
1901, the adjoining school served as 
a chapel. The friary and church 
in Egerton Road now form a con 
spicuous landmark of the town. The 
style is thirteenth century style of 
Gothic (nave, chancel, side chapels, 
baptistery, and choir at the west 
end). Seats for 360. The cost of 
erection about 4,000. 



BITTERNE, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). 

Convent of the Sacred Heart of 
Mary, established 1904, chapel open 
to the public. Fr. F. Cabaret, 
chaplain. 



BLACKBURN, LANCASHIRE (Sal- 
ford). St. Alban. 

Abram, in his history of Black 
burn, says that owing to Catholic 
landlords and gentry, the population 
of Ribblesdale remained attached 
to the old religion throughout the 
penal times. When Bishop Smith, 
V.A., held a visitation here in July 
1709, crowds of Catholics came to 
be confirmed at Lower Hall, Samles- 
bury, Blackburn, the residence of 
Mr. Walmesley, where his lordship 
resided during his stay in the dis 
trict. According to a letter written 
about this time by the Rev. J. Holm, 
vicar of Blackburn, to the Arch 
bishop of Canterbury, Catholics in 
this part of the country had both 
power and interest. In 1717 Dr. 
Gastrell, Bishop of Chester, de 
clared that out of 1,800 families 
in Blackburn 1,023 were avowed 
Papists. The first chapel in Black 
burn, between King Street and 
Chapel Street, was erected by 
Fr. Wm. Dunn, D.D., about 1783. 
The congregation increased so 
rapidly that, although the build 
ing was shortly afterwards en 
larged, it was found too small. 
Fr. Dunn died suddenly, after 
Mass, October 27, 1805. In 1824 
the old chapel was sold for a work 
shop. The second chapel was 
built by Fr. Albert, 1826, and en 
larged 1883. It served the mission 
till the erection of the present 
church in December 1901, at a 
cost of 20,000. The late Mgr. 
Nugent, so famous for his active 
charities, was curate here in 1846. 

The Catholic population of Black 
burn has increased as follows : 
1820, 1,200; 1857, 12,000; 1882, 
20,000. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



85 



BLACKBURN, LANCASHIRE (Sal- 
ford). St. Ann s. 

A new school chapel in connec 
tion with this mission was opened 
in the St. Silas Eoad, for teaching 
purposes, January 14, 1901, and for 
devotion on February 17 following. 
The school attendance in 1901 was 
about sixty. The school is dedicated 
to the Sacred Heart. 



BLACKBURN, LANCASHIRE. St. 
Joseph s, Audley. 

In June 1874, Bishop Vaughan 
sent for Fr. Maglione, of Fairfield, 
and said to him, If you take the 
train from Manchester to Blackburn 
you will find Audley. There is no 
church, no house, no school ; you 
have to build all ! By August 
1877 Fr. Maglione had erected a 
beautiful Italian church and com 
modious schools. A men s club- 
room was inaugurated 1896. This 
energetic priest and learned canon 
ist was created a monsignor, 1901, 
and died January 13, 1905. Canon 
Muescley is the present rector. 



BLACKHEATH, LONDON, S.E. 
(Southward). Our Lady Help of 
Christians. 

About 1859, St. Mary s Orphanage 
for Boys was founded by Canon 
Todd, D.D., B.A. (d. 1877). The 
chapel, which was open to the 
public, was enlarged to accommo 
date an additional 300 in June 
1879. The orphanage was closed 
1903-4. The present fine mission 
church (Decorated Gothic) was built 
1890-1, at the sole expense of 
Charles Butler, Esq., a gentleman 
of old Catholic family resident in 
the district. The accommodation 
is for about four hundred persons. 



Mr. Purdie was the architect. The 
church was consecrated by Bishop 
Amigo of Southwark, Monday, 
August 13, 1906. 

Priests since 1877. 
Kev. Joseph Wright, 1877. 

T. Ford. 

Francis Sheehan, to date. 



BLACKHILL, DURHAM (Ilcxliam 

and Newcastle). Our Lady Im 
maculate. 

In 1856, Canon Kearney built a 
church here, but before the edifice 
was complete it was blown down 
by a storm. Aided by the Catholics 
of the neighbouring village of Esk, 
the Canon was enabled to make 
good the damage, and the church 
was opened in 1857. Fr. Thos. 
Smith was the next priest. Canon 
Gillow is the present rector. 



BLACKLEY, LANCS (Sal ford]. 
Our Lady of Mount Carmel. 

The mission was started by Fr. 

! Hubbard in 1851. The Ecv. Dr. 
Donovan was priest in 1853. The 
church was opened during the rec 
torship of Dr. Dillon in 1855. The 

: next priests were : Kevs. P. Ver- 
meulen, Mgr. Provost Croskell, E. 
Goetgeluck, Pi. Liptrott, J. Billing- 
ton, P. Vermeulen (second time). 
A new infants school and parochial 
hall were erected during the course 
of 1901. 



BLACKMORE PARK,WORCESTER- 
SHIRE (Birmingham). Our Blessed 
Lady and St. Alphonsus. 

The Hornyold family received 
Blackmore Park and Hanby Castle 
by grants from Edward VI. and 



86 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Elizabeth. The old mansion, pulled 
down in 1861, contained many 
priests hiding-places, and during 
the penal times parties of pur 
suivants and priest-hunters often 
visited the house. The old chapel 
was in the upper part of the build 
ing, and continued to serve the 
mission till 1846, when the splendid 
Gothic church and presbytery were 
erected by J. V. Hornyold, Esq. 
Dr. John Hornyold, Bishop of 
Pliilomelia in partibus and V.A. 
of the Midlands 1752-78, was a 
member of this family. A duke 
dom was conferred on the family 
by late Pope Leo X. about 1895. 



BLACKPOOL, LANGS (Liverpool). 
Sacred Heart of Jesus and Mary. 

Before the opening of the church 
in December 1857, the nearest 
Catholic chapel was at Lytham. 
The church was erected by Miss 
Monica Tempest, sister of Sir 
Charles Tempest, Bart., of Brough- 
ton Hall. The plans were drawn 
by E. Welby Pugin, the design 
being the decorated style of pointed 
architecture. Fr. G. Bampton, S.J., 
was the first resident priest. The 
schools in Talbot Road accommo 
date 370 children, and were opened 
in March 1898. 



BLACKPOOL, LANCS. St. Cuth- 
bert. 

A school chapel was opened 
August 15, 1880. The church (De 
corated Gothic), for 500 persons, 
was opened in June 1890. J. 
O Byrne, Esq., was the architect. 
New sanctuary windows, represent 
ing the Adoration of the Lamb, 
were unveiled June 23, 1895. New 
infant schools were opened 1899. J 



The Catholic population is about 
1,200. 

Priest. 
Rev. Edward Lupton, 1880 to date. 



BLAYDON, DURHAM (Hexliam 

and Newcastle). St. Joseph. 
The mission was commenced 

1897, and served from Stella till 

1898, when the present rector, 
Fr. James Corboy, was appointed. 



BLOXWICH, STAFFORDSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. St. Peter. 

Towards the end of the eighteenth 
century T. Purcell, Esq., proprietor 
of East Fields, in this district, left 
some money for the support of a 
priest here. Mass after this was 
said once a month at the residence 
of the Partridge family. The chapel 
was at the top of the house, the 
number of communicants being at 
this time about twenty. About 
1800 the Eev. James Gordon left a 
sum of money for the endowment 
of a mission, and the Rev. J. Perry 
purchased a small house and shop 
near Bloxwich, which by some 
alterations was turned into a chapel 
for eighty persons. The Abbe J. 
Norman (Normand ?) and the Abbe 
L. Bertrand were the next priests. 
In 1807 the number of communi 
cants was fifty. Fr. Francis Martyn, 
of Oscott the first priest wholly 
educated in England since the 
Reformation who came here the 
same year, enlarged the chapel to 
hold 300. In 1819 this energetic 
priest established a second mission 
at Walsall (q.v.). The old chapel 
having become inadequate was 
superseded by the present struc 
ture, opened 1869, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



87 



Eev 



Priests after Fr. Martyn. 
, Jn. Dunne, 1828. 

E. Bagnall, 1831. 
J. O Farrell, 1842. 

F. Turvile, 1844. 
Thos. Longman, 1851. 
W. Ilsley, 1853. 

H. Davey, 1857. 

Andreas Gauvois, 1860. 

P. Davies, 1863. 

L. Torond, 1888. 

P. O Toole, 1895 to date. 



BLUNDELLSANDS, near LIVER 
POOL, LANCS. St. Joseph. 

The church was the gift of Col. 
Bhmdell, of Crosby, and his sister, 
Miss Blundell. It was opened by 
the Bishop of Liverpool in Novem 
ber 1886. The style is Early Eng 
lish, from the designs of A. E. 
Purdie. The Rosary window in 
the Lady Chapel was the gift of 
Mr. S. Sharman, Col. Blundell s 
agent. Dr. Paterson, Bishop of 
Ernmaus, preached on the evening 
of the day of opening. The east 
window, in honour of St. Joseph, 
was erected by Mrs. Frances 
Taylor. 

Eev. Nugent, 1886. 

Patrick Cahill, 1887. 

W. Lennon, 1890 to date. 



BLYTH, NORTHUMBERLAND I 
(He.rham and Newcastle). Our j 
Lady and St. Wilfrid. 

The mission was commenced in ! 
1860, and till the opening of the | 
church in 1862 was served from ! 
Cowpen Hall, the ancestral seat of 
Henry Sidney, Esq. Mr. Dunn 
\vas the architect, the cost being j 
about 2,200. The accommodation 
is for 600, 



Priests. 
Eev. P. W. Dromgoole, O.S.B., 

1863. 

,, Boniface Jas. MacKinlay, 
1892 to date. 



BODMIN, CORNWALL (Plymouth). 
St. Mary s Priory. 

On July 11, 1845, the Tablet 
announced that a religious com 
munity from Brittany would shortly 
take up missionary work at Bod- 
min. The following year a suitable 
church in Early English Gothic 
style was opened through the exer 
tions of Fr. W. Young, who did 
much to revive Catholicity in Corn 
wall. Bishop Ullathorne, V.A. of 
the Western District, preached both 
on the day of opening (Septem 
ber 24, 1846) and the following 
Sunday to vast crowds, who as 
sembled to witness the cere 
monies. The mission was the 
first in that part of Cornwall for 
upwards of three centuries. In 
June 1881 the Canons Eegular of 
St. Augustine, expelled from France, 
settled at Bodmin, and took charge 
of the mission. They are the 
monastic representatives of the old 
canons driven from Bodmin at the 
Dissolution (1536-39). They trans 
formed the old presbytery into a 
priory under Fr. F. Menchini. On 
September 3, 1882, took place the 
first profession of English novices 
since the settlement of the com 
munity in this country. 



BOGNOR, SUSSEX (Southwark). 
Our Lady of Seven Dolours, 
Clarence Eoad. 

The mission was established in 
1880, when Mass was said in a 
temporary chapel between the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Steyne and the Railway Station 
by Fr. Lawrence. The new church 
of the Servite Order, commenced in 
September 1881, is in the Early 
English style, consisting of nave, 
transepts, and eight chapels. Mr. 
J. Hansom was the architect, the 
cost of erection being 5,143. The 
Catholic population of Bognor in 
1880, including visitors, was about 
sixty. The building was opened 
Wednesday, August 1G, 1882, by 
the Bishop of Portsmouth in place 
of the Bishop of Southwark. Pro 
vost Crookall, D.D., sang the Mass. 
The Duke of Norfolk was present 
as the chief representative of Sussex 
Catholicity. 1 



BOLDON COLLIERY, DURHAM 

(Hcxliam and Newcastle}. 

A chapel of case was erected 
here by the Harton Coal Company 
for their Catholic employes and 
opened 011 Tuesday, May 12, 1896, 
by the Bishop of Hexham and New 
castle. Mass (cor am Episcopo) was 
celebrated by Fr. Taylerson of the 
mission at Tyne Dock. At present 
the mission is served occasionally 
from Tyne Dock. 



BOLLINGTON, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury}. St. Gregory. 

In June 1830, Fr. J. Hall, of 
Macclesfield, fitted up two cottages 
as a chapel. The congregation 
then numbered 200. A protestant 
gentleman, Mr. Turner, of Shrigley 
Hall, generously gave a site, and 

1 Bognor owes its rise to Sir Bichard 
Hotham, who in 1785 by an extensive 
erection of elegant buildings converted 
an obscure fishing village into a place of 
fashionable resort. 



the present church was erected 
1834. The apse was adorned with 
panels setting forth the events of 
Our Lord s Passion, 1857. The 
mission was served from Maccles 
field till 1841. A school was 
opened 1866. 

Priests. 
Rev. K. Glassbrook, 1841. 

Edw. Kenrick, 1842. 

Jn. Rich, 1845. 

Jn. Shanahan, 1846. 

Pat. Power, 1852. 

Wm. Hilton, 1858. 

Pat. Mulligan, 1860. 

Samuel Bolton, 1867. 

Wm. Fennelly, 1871. 

P. Donovan, 1876. 

P. Coleman, 1884. 

B. Thompson, 1887. 

H. Gore, 1894. 

P. Cleary, 1895. 



BOLNEY, SUSSEX (Southivar k). 

The chapel is a private one 
attached to the residence of Lady 
Auckland, and is served by Fr. F. 
Hopper, late of Haywards Heath. 
The chapel, which is open to the 
public, was established about three 
years ago. 



BOLTON, LANGS (Salford). St. 
Peter. 

In 1800 Mass was said in a small 
house in Old Acres. The Catholics 
of the place consisted of seven poor 
families. The Catholic population 
is at present estimated at over 
22,000 (1906). The chapels of the 
city are as follows : 
(1) SS. Peter and Paul, Pilkington 
Street. 

Opened 1800. Catholic popula 
tion of the district, 5,000. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



89 



Priests, 

Rev. James Shepherd. 
Jn. Anderton, 1826. 
Jn. Glover, 1837. 
Jn. Dowdall, 1840. 
E. Canon Carter, 1848. 
Thos. Billington, 1876. 
Henry Canon Browne, 1882. 
John Canon Gornall, 1885. 
Thos. Allen, 1888. 
C. Canon Wood, 1892. 
E. Holmes, M.R., 1901 to date. 

(2) St. Mary. 

The church (Gothic) was opened 
September 13, 1847, by Bishop 
Brown, V.A. The plan comprises 
nave, chancel, and porch. Accom 
modation for about 500. Catholic 
population about 3,800 (1906). 

Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Smith, 1847. 

James Snape, 1857. 

Win. Taylor, 1860. 

Denis O Brien, 1879. 

W. L. Fowler, 1899 to date. 

(3) St. Patrick, Great Moor Street. 
The church, in the Early English 

style, was commenced March 1860, 
and opened March 17, 1861. The 
congregation is estimated at 1,400 
(1906). 

Priests. 
Rev. Denis Byrne, 1861. 

Chas. McDcrmott Roe, 1877. 
Joseph Canon Burke, 1889 to 
date. 

(4) St. Joseph, Horace Street. 
Founded March 30, 1879. 

(5) St. Edmund, St. Edmund Street. 
Opened September 15, 1861. 

Catholic population, 2,500. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Conway, 1862. 

Angelus Dumalie, 1863. 

Henry Browne, here 1871. 

Peter Maringer, 1882. 

H. Averdonk, 1885 to date. 

(6) St. Ethelbert, Chapel of Ease 

to SS. Peter and Paul. 
Opened 1905. 



BOLTON-LE-SANDS, LANCS. 

(Liverpool). St. Mary of the 
Angels. 

Mass was first said here in 1868 
in a barn lent by H. Clarkson, Esq. 
The present church was commenced 
in 1882, and consecrated by Bishop 
Cornthwaitc, of Leeds, May 6, 1884. 
The style is Early Decorated. 
Sittings for 200. Miss Coulston, of 
Hawkeshead, defrayed the cost of 
erection. E. Simpson, Esq., of 
Bradford, was the architect. New 
schools were opened January 7, 
1895. 

Priests. 
Rev. Geo. Braithwaite, 1868. 

H. Gibson, 1888 to date. 



BONHAM, SOMERSETSHIRE 

(Clifton). 

The manor of Bonham came into 
the possession of the Stourton 
family about the end of the fifteenth 
century. The mission was esta 
blished there early in the eighteenth 
century by Lord Mowbray and 
Stourton. The Benedictines served 
the chapel. The Rev. John Pant 
ing was priest in 1783. Two 
years later the property was sold 
by Charles Philip, sixteenth Lord 
Stourton, who, however, reserved 
the chapel and presbytery for 
the use of the mission. In 
September 1801, Fr. Jos. Ha war 
den, O.S.B., was appointed to the 
mission. He opened a school, 
which became highly successful, 
but in 1823 was removed for 
breaking his vows. He was finally 
reconciled to the Church on his 
death-bed, April 21, 1851. 

Priests since 1823. 
Rev. Thos. Wassail, O.S.B., 1823. 

E. O. Davis, O.S.B., 1830. 

Ignatius Stuart, O.S.B., 1832. 

James Funny, O.S.B., 1888. 



90 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kev. Henry Bulbeck, O.S.B., 1892. 
Jn. Richards, O.S.B. 
Thos. Matthews, O.S.B., 1901 
to date. 



BOOTLE, LANGS (Liverpool). St. 
Alexander. 

The mission was commenced in 
1862, when Mass was said in an old 
hay-loft. The church, in the Gothic 
style, was opened December 1867. 
E. W. Pugin was the architect. In 
1878 a chapel of ease had to be 
erected in Brasenose Road, and six 
years later extensive alterations to 
the church were completed at a cost 
of 2,600, the accommodation being 
increased so as to raise the sittings 
from 500 to 800. The building 
was redecorated January 1898. 
A Catholic commercial high school 
was opened August 1887. The 
Catholic population of the district 
was estimated at 7,341 in 1903. 

Priests. 
Rev. S. Walsh, 1862. 

Ed. Powell, 1870. 

Michael Canon Beggan, 1885 
to date. 



BOOTLE, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. James, Marsh Lane. 

The mission was founded in June 
1845 in an old house on the canal 
bank. In March 1846 a new chapel 
was opened in Marsh Lane. New 
schools were opened 1871, and en 
larged at various times up to 1880. 
The church, presbytery, and schools 
were purchased by the Lancashire 
and Yorkshire Railway Company in 
1884. In February 1886 the new 
church was opened by Bishop 
O Reilly. New schools for 1,200 
children were inaugurated the year 
previously. In 1890 a new marble 
altar and Communion rails were 
presented to the church by Mrs. 



Lynch, of Green Lane. A new Lady 
altar and marble pulpit were erected 
in 1892 and 1893 respectively. 

Priests. 
Rev. Hy. Sharpies, 1845. 

Geo. Fisher, 1846. 

J. Anderton, 1848. 

D. Hearne, 1849. 

Thos. Spencer, 1851. 

Thos. Kelly, 1862. 

P. L. Kelly, 1887 to date. 



BOOTLE, LANCS. St. Winefride, 
Derby Road. 

In 1894 Messrs. A. Wood and B. 
Cain secured the present building 
then a Baptist chapel for the mis 
sion. The church was opened by 
Bishop O Reilly, August 11, 1895. 
A Catholic seamen s club is esta 
blished in the mission. The esti 
mated Catholic population is 3,400. 



BOROUGH OF SOUTHWAEK. 

Church of the Precious Blood, Red 
Cross Street, S.E. 

Though the mission is of recent 
foundation, the neighbourhood 
abounds in some interesting Catho 
lic memories of post-Reformation 
times. In Kent Street (now 
Tabard Street) stood in 1767 a 
popish Mass-house, where, on 
February 17 of the same year, the 
Rev. John Baptist Moloney was 
arrested for exercising his ecclesi 
astical functions. (See Croydon.) 
In the early part of the last century, 
schools for boys and girls were 
opened in Glasshouse Yard, Gravel 
Lane, and Price s Street, Southwark 
Street. These schools were after 
wards removed to Great Guildford 
Street, and finally to Brent s Court, 
off the Borough (1872). The founda 
tion-stone of the Church was laid 
by Bishop Butt of Southwark, 
Saturday, September 27, 1891, an4 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



91 



the building was opened in 1892. 
The style is Early Italian, both 
the interior and exterior being very 
plain. The side buttresses are 
pierced to admit of a passage way 
round the church. Dimensions, 
130 ft. by 42 ft. ; accommodation 
for about 700 ; cost of church, site, 
and presbytery, 11,000 ; architect, 
F. A. Walters, Esq. The congre 
gation is estimated at about 3,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. W. Canon Murnane, 1891. 

Geo. Newton, 1898. 

John Moynihan, 1904 to date. 



BOSCOMBE, BOURNEMOUTH, 
HANTS (Portsmouth). Corpus 
Christi. 

The mission was established in 
1887, but the present church was 
not commenced till August 22, 1895. 
The opening took place the follow 
ing year. The building, which is 
the gift of the Baroness Pauline 
Von Hugel, Miss Mary Yateman, 
&c., cost about 9,000. The style 
is Early English, the seating ac 
commodation being for about 500 
persons. This mission is under the 
spiritual charge of Fathers of the 
Society of Jesus. 



BOSTON SPA, YORKS (Leeds). 

The Institution of St. John of 
Beverley for the deaf and dumb 
was opened June 9, 1870, at Hands- 
worth Woodhouse by Mgr. Canon 
de Haerne, D.D. The school is 
under the care of the Sisters of 
Charity, and till recently was the 
only foundation of its kind in Eng 
land. The boys are trained in 
shoemaking, printing, tailoring, &c., 
and the girls in needlework, domes 
tic work, &c. The support of the 
place mainly depends on voluntary 
contributions, but by the Elemen 



Education (Blind and Deaf 
Children) Act of 1893 the school 
authorities have power to defray cost 
of maintenance of children in such 
institutions. The Rev. E. Dawson 
is the chaplain and secretary. 



BOSTON, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Mary. 

The district was visited occa 
sionally during the eighteenth 
century by Jesuit Fathers from 
Lincoln. There was reported to 
be not a single Catholic in the 
town in 1781. The present church 
was erected by the Jesuits in 1827. 
It is a plain oblong building to hold 
about 200. The Fathers of the 
Society served the mission till 
1858, when it was made over to 
the Bishop of Nottingham. Fr. A. 
Chepy was priest for several years 
after this. Canon Croft, now of Lin 
coln, erected the stone high altar 
(by penny subscriptions). Canon P. 
Donoghue,the present rector, has 
done much to improve the mission 
by building a convent and intro 
ducing the Sisters of St. Paul. The 
church has been entirely re 
decorated and the schools greatly 
enlarged. Much of the expense of 
these undertakings has been gene 
rously defrayed by Miss Smith. 



BOURNEMOUTH, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). Oratory of the Sacred 
Heart. 

In 1860, Bournemouth was little 
more than a large fishing village, 
with a population of about 5,000. 
The nearest Catholic mission was 
St. Mary s, Poole, Dorset. The 
only Catholic resident of Bourne 
mouth was Mr. Maurice O Connell, 
staff drill sergeant to the 4th Hants 
Volunteers. Between 1862 and 
1865, Lady Catherine Petre sup- 



92 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ported a Catholic Oratory in the 
Belle Vue Assembly Rooms. Mr. 
Thos. Long was then the only 
resident Catholic, Mr. O Connell 
having left the place. In 1866-7 
Lord Howard of Glossop had a 
private oratory at Brunstath on 
the East Cliff. In 1868, Mr. Har- 
nett, an Irish visitor, defrayed the 
cost of an omnibus to take the few 
local Catholics to Mass on Sundays 
at St. Mary s, Poole. In that year, 
however, the Jesuit Fathers opened 
a chapel at Astney Lodge, St. 
Stephen s Eoad. Aided by Lady 
Herbert of Lea and Mr. O Connell, 
Fr. Maurice Mann, S.J., selected a 
site on Richmond Hill, where a 
wooden chapel was built, and this 
continued to serve as a place of 
Catholic worship till the opening of 
the Oratory of the Sacred Heart 
in 1874, during the rectorate of Fr. 
Augustus Dignam, S.J. In 1887 
Fr. Henry Schomberg Kerr, S.J., 
commenced to collect funds for a 
new building. The foundation 
stone was laid in April 1896, and 
the first part of the structure chan 
cel, side chapels, and transepts was 
opened in March 1900. The style 
is Early English, judiciously tem 
pered and lightened by the delicate 
tloral ornamentation of the massive 
pillars. Alfred J. Pilkington, Esq., 
of Lincoln s Inn, was the architect. 
The Catholic population of Bourne 
mouth was estimated at about 
2,000 in 1900. 



the same year. Fr. F. M. do 
Zulueta, S.J., was the first priest 



in charge. 



BOVEY TKACEY, DEVON (Ply. 
mou tli). 

This ancient town derives the 
latter part of its name from the 
Norman family of Tracey, one of 
whom, Sir William Tracey, assisted 
at the murder of St. Thomas 
a Becket. 1 He built the parish 
church as some sort of reparation 
for the sacrilege. Mass was again 
restored at Bovey Tracey on Sep 
tember 4, 1904, when the Holy 
Sacrifice was offered up for the first 
time since the Reformation by 
Fr. Moulinet,of St. Michael s, New 
ton Abbot. The chapel at pre 
sent is only a hired room, but it 
is hoped that a more convenient 
structure may soon take its place. 



BOW COMMON, LONDON, E. 
(Westminster) . The Holy Name 
and Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. 

In 1891 a temporary chapel was 
established at 187-9 Devons Road, 
under the care of Fr. Gordon 
Thompson. The church in St. 
Paul s Road was consecrated by 
Cardinal Vaughan June 30, 1894. 
Congregation about 1,500. 

Priests. 
Rev. Gordon Thompson, 1891. 

James Carey, 1905 to date. 



BOURNEMOUTH, HANTS. St. 
Mary Immaculate, Middle Road, 
AVestbourne. 

This oratory was first started at 
Lynnecourt, Maryborough Road, 
Bournemouth, on April 9, 1893, 
through the kindness of Mrs. 
Teixeira. It was removed to its 
present address in December of 



BOW, LONDON, E. (Westmin 
ster). Our Lady and St. Catherine 
of Sienna. 

This handsome church, in the 

1 In allusion to the ill-luck tliat per- 
sued the family for the crime of their an 
cestor, an old rhyme says : 
All the Traceys 
Have the wind in their faces ! 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Early English style, designed by 
Geo. Blount, was opened by Arch 
bishop Manning in 1870. The 
congregation is estimated at about 
1,500. 

Priests. 
Rev. Thomas Thacker, D.D., 1370. 

Thomas Doyle, 1899. 

Eobert Kelly, 1903 to date. 



BOXMOOR, HEETS (Westmin 
ster). 

The mission was commenced 
here Sunday, October 26, 1890, 
when Mass was said for the first 
time in a cottage, 37 St. John s Koad. 
The two rooms on the ground floor 
were knocked into one, and the 
place transformed into a chapel, 
with a pretty altar surrounded with 
hangings and stations of the Cross. 
These latter were given by Fr. 
Kyan, of Watford. About twenty- 
seven persons were present at the 
first Mass, which was said by the 
Eev. Francis Spinks, I.S.A. The 
Catholic population of Boxmoor in 
1890 was about sixty. The mission 
was started by an anonymous 
donor, who placed 100 in the 
hands of the Rev. II. J. Hardy for 
the purpose. 



BRACKNELL, BERKS (Ports 
mouth). St. Joseph, Stanley Road. 

In the summer of 1881, Mrs. 
Roche, a Catholic lady, rented Ben- 
field Park, Bracknell, the residence 
of the Dowager Lady Downshire, 
and converted one of the wings of 
the mansion into a chapel for the 
use of Catholics in the district. 
Before the opening of the mission 
Mass was said at Cruchfield House, 
Windsor Forest, the seat of Thos. 
Hercy, Esq., J.P., but the chapel 
was discontinued some time prior 
to 1880. The present roomy iron 



church was erected in 1894, when 
Fr. G. Dolman was appointed first 
resident priest. For several years, 
however, the mission has been 
served from Farnborough and 
Wokingham. On Septuagesima 
Sunday, 1906, the second Mass 
(11 A.M.), which had been discon 
tinued for some time, was restored, 
to the great satisfaction of the con 
gregation. The mission has recently 
been placed in charge of the Fran 
ciscan Fathers of Ascot. 



BRADFORD, YORKS (Leech). St. 
Mary. 

Early in the last century the 
only Catholic in Bradford was a 
publican in Silsbridge Lane, then a 
rustic thoroughfare. About 1821 
some Irish woolcombers settled in 
the place, and on Sundays they 
used to go over to Chapel Lane, 
Leeds, to attend Mass. As the 
Catholics of Bradford increased, a 
priest was obtained from Ireland, 
and Mass said on Sundays at the 
Roebuck Inn, a site occupied in 
1885 by Messrs. Brown & Muff s 
shop. A chapel was afterwards 
fitted up in a house in Well Street, 
but the landlady, a Wesleyan, ob 
jected, and it had to be removed to a 
house in Nelson Street. In 1824, a 
regular chapel was built on Stott 
Hill. Bishop Baines preached the 
opening sermon, on Faith, Hope, 
and Charity. The priest of the 
mission was Fr. Brenan. Fr. Kay 
subsequently enlarged the chapel 
and built the presbytery. In 1826, 
the Catholics of Bradford numbered 
400. Fr. Kay was succeeded by 
Canon Harrison. The Catholics of 
the place were now in a flourishing 
condition, and a new church was 
greatly needed. The result was 
that in 1852 St. Patrick s Church 
was erected, and a separate mission 



94 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



attached to it. Fr. Lynch was 
the first priest. He was succeeded 
next year by Canon Thos, Harrison, 
afterwards of St. George s, York. 
His successors have been : Kev. 
Jacob Illingworth, 1863 ; Canon 
Motler, 1865. For his work in 
Bradford, see ST. JOSEPH S. The 
twenty - first anniversary of the 
opening of St. Mary s was cele 
brated in August 1846. Mass was 
said at five o clock for the benefit 
of the mill-workers, and no fewer 
than 400 were present. At ten a 
High Mass was sung by Bishop 
Murphy, of Adelaide, Australia. 
Bishop Briggs, V.A., assisting in 
cappa. Eighty priests were present. 
The schools had then 160 day and 
160 night scholars. 



BRADFORD, YORKS. St. Joseph s. 

In 1865 Canon Motler came to 
Bradford. In 1881 he established 
another mission St. Joseph s and 
erected a school chapel. The first 
stone of the new church, built at a 
cost of 7,000, was laid July 11, 
1885, by the Bishop of Leeds. The 
building, a handsome Gothic struc 
ture capable of accommodating 800 
people, was opened Wednesday, 
September 14, 1887, by the Bishop 
of Leeds and Northampton. E. 
Simpson, of Manningham, was the 
architect. The altar is a handsome 
structure of stone and alabaster. 
The cost of building the church was 
about 7,000. 



BRADFORD. St. Peter s. 

A school chapel served from St. 
Mary s. The site of the old schools 
was acquired by the Corporation 
for 3,500, and new buildings 
erected. They are plain and 
commodious and will accommo 
date 600 pupils. Mgr. Motler who 



opened the old schools thirty-twa 
years ago, presided at the inaugura 
tion of the new ones, September 10, 
1906. 



BRAILES, WARWICKSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). SS. Peter and Paul. 

The ancient Catholic family of 
Bishop kept the faith alive here 
during the time of persecution. Dr. 
William Bishop, Bishop of Chalce- 
don in partibus, the first of the 
Vicars Apostolic of England, 1623-4, 
was a scion of this house. Fr. 
G. Bishop served the mission of 
Bradford from about 1718 to 1742, 
when he went to Irnham. It was 
during his incumbency that the 
present mission was established 
(1726). The chapel was enlarged 
in 1836. 

Priests since 1824. 
Eev. Jas. Duckett. 

Wm. Hilton, 1863. 

James Oliver, 1871. 

Jn. Nock, 1889. 

J. Thompson, 1891. 

Jn. Donworth, 1893. 

Wm. Stoker, 1897 to date. 



BRANKSOME, DORSET (Phj- 
mouth). St. Joseph and St. Wal- 
burga. 

This mission, though only esta 
blished recently, may claim to be 
the representative of the ancient 
one at Canford, in the same district. 
Sir John Webb purchased the Can- 
ford estate early in James I. s 
reign for 14,000. This gentleman 
fell under suspicion of the Govern 
ment on account of his religion, 
and in consequence endured a long 
imprisonment in London The 
chapel at Canford was long served 
by the Jesuits, among them by Fr. 
Couche, who was chaplain here in 
1773. The Webb family, which 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



95 



later on became allied by marriage 
with the unfortunate Earl of Der- 
wentwater, beheaded in 1716, be 
came extinct on the death of Sir 
Henry Webb in 1874. The church 
at Branksome, opened in 1895, was 
for some years served from Poole. 
Fr. J. Carroll is the first and present 
rector. 



BRAINTREE, ESSEX (West 
minster). 

On October 2, 1897, the late Car 
dinal Vaughan opened the convent 
of the Franciscan nuns at Bridge 
House, Bocking, near here. The 
chapel, erected 1897-8 from designs 
by Mr. John Bentley, is attended 
by the missionaries of the Sacred 
Heart, and serves the mission till 
the opening of a public church. 



BRENTFORD, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster). 

The chapel of St. John was opened 
in 1856. It was formerly a Dis 
senting meeting house, devoid of 
architectural pretensions. The first 
priest was Fr. J. Bonus, D.D. 
Most of the congregation then con 
sisted of the Irish labourers on the 
Great Western Railway. Fr. J. H. 
Dale, who was the priest in 1859, 
acquired a house for a presbytery. 
The number of Catholics in 1864 
was estimated at 1,000. The same 
year a freehold site for church, 
presbytery, and schools was bought 
for 360. The temporary chapel, 
which was inconveniently situated, 
accommodated about 100. The pre 
sent church was opened by Arch 
bishop Manning in 1866. The 
Catholic population then = 600 ; en 
dowment, J 20 a year. 
Priests. 
Rev. J. Bonus, D.D., 1856. 

J. H. Dale, 1859. 



Eev. G. Burder, 1861. 

Maurice Clifford, D.D., 1863. 
G. Burden, 1866. 
Wm. Lloyd, 1871. 
Victor Toenens, 1874. 
Jos. Redman, D.D., 1879. 
Jas. Horan. 
Ar. Ryan, 1892. 
Jn. Arendzen, D.D., 1903 
to date. 

BRENTWOOD, ESSEX (West 
minster). St. Helen. 

Before the establishment of this 
mission, the chapel was at Pilgrims 
Hatch, and was served by Fr. Dias 
Santos. It was vacant from 1833, 
and finally closed 1836. Catholics 
then attended Lord Petre s domestic 
chapel at Thorndon Hall. As the 
inconvenience of this arrangement 
was very great, a Gothic church 
was erected, and consecrated by 
Bishop Griffiths October 26, 1837. 
The present church (64 ft. by 28 ft.) 
was built May 1860 and 1861, 
on a site given by Lord Petre, who 
had also liberally supported the old 
chapel. The building was con 
secrated by Archbishop Manning 
June 15, 1869. A burial ground 
adjoining the church was blessed 
by Bishop Griffiths 1841. 

Priests. 
Rev. Bernard Jarrett, 1838. 

Thos. Molteno, 1842. 

Eugene Reardon, 1847. 

P. Cranshaw, 1853. 

Joseph da Salva Tavares, D.D., 
1855. 

Jn. Kyne, M.R., here in 1870. 

Angelo Lucas, 1881. 

Thos. Norris, M.R., 1889 to 
date. 

BREWOOD, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Mary. 

On the death of Thomas Giffard, 
Esq., of Chillington, in 1718, his 
widow, Mary, daughter of John 



96 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Thimelby, Esq., of Irnham, a 
lady of great piety, retired to 
Longbirch, where she died February 
13, 1753, aged ninety-five. She had 
a chapel in her house, which became 
the centre of a mission. Her first 
chaplain, Fr. John Johnson, a 
true friend of Douay College, died 
in 1739. He was succeeded by Fr. 
J. Hornyold, who in 1752 became 
Bishop of Philomelia and V.A. of the 
Midland district. From this time 
the Vicars Apostolic of the district 
resided at Longbirch till 1804, when 
Bishop Milner removed to Wolver- 
hampton. Fr. Hubbard in 1819 
doubled the size of the chapel, 
which then measured 41 ft. by 20 ft. 
The number of communicants at 
this time was about ninety-six. In 
1842 it was resolved to unite the 
two old missions of Longbirch and 
Black Ladies and build a new* 
chapel at Brewood. The building 
was commenced 3843, and opened 
for worship on the Octave Day of 
Corpus Christi 1844. The then 
rector, Fr. 11. Richmond, died 
within seven days of the opening, 
and was interred near the chancel 
end of the church. He was suc 
ceeded by his nephew, Fr. W. Rich 
mond, who did not long survive 
him. 

Priests (at Longbirch} . 
Rev. J. Johnson, 1718. 

J. Hornyold, 1739. 

Ed. Eyre, 1779. 

- - Wright, 1795. 

J. Kirk, D.D., 1797. 

Thos. Walsh, 1801 (Bishop 
of Cambysopolis 1825 ; died 
1849). 

Abbe Fautrel, 1804. 

J. Bowdon, D.D., 1806. 

,. Robt. Richmond, 1808. 

R. Hubbard, 1811. 

R. Richmond (2nd time), 
1819. 

W. Jones, 1821. 



Rev. R. Hubbard (2nd time), 1831. 
J. North, 1837. 

At Brciuood. 
Robt. Richmond, 1843. 
Win. Richmond, 1843. 
James Canon Jones, 1849. 
Philip Kavanagh, 1856. 
Michael O Sullivan, 1858. 
H. Davey, 1861. 
Edw. Acton, D.D. 
James Nary, 1874. 
Louis Groom, 1877 to date. 



BRIDGFORD, NOTTINGHAM. 

The mission was commenced 
on Sunday, October 10, 1897, when 
Fr. F. C. Hays preached at the 
High Mass to a crowded congrega 
tion. For some months after the 
opening of the mission services 
were conducted on Sundays in the 
Castle Pavilion at Trent Bridge. 



BRIDGNORTH, SALOP (Shrews 
bury) . St. John. 

Mass was said here for the first 
time since the Reformation on 
Sunday, March 11, 1849, in a house 
opposite the Cross Keys Tavern, 
in High Street. The celebrant was 
Fr. P. Grey, O.M.I., who also 
preached at the Vespers in the 
evening. The chapel on this 
occasion is described as being 
crowded to excess. Fr. Grey 
resided at Aldenham Park, as there 
was no presbytery at Bridgnorth. 
The new chapel was completed in 
1857, and was well filled Sunday 
after Sunday. Fr. F. O Neill was 
the priest then. The Bishop of 
Shrewsbury confirmed fifty-four 
persons here in October 1892, and 
spoke of the necessity for building 
a new church. In four years this de 
sirable end was accomplished, the 
Church of St. John being opened 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



97 



in 1896. The schools were also 
enlarged at the same time. 

Priests. 
Eev. F. O Neill, 1855. 

Jn. O Callaghan, 1871. 

Michael Brady, 1872. 

Pat O Eeilly, 1874. 

T. A. Crowther, 1875. 

Jn. O Callaghan, 1877. 

J. G. Walsh, 1883. 

Aug. Tremmery, 1898 to 
date. 



BRIDGEWATER, SOMERSET 

(Clifton). St. Joseph of Ari- 
mathea. 

The old church, in honour of the 
traditional founder of Glastonbury 
Abbey, was opened February 24, 
1846, by Bishop Baggs. For 
several years Mass was said here 
only once a week. In March 1852 
Fr. Thos. Booker was appointed 
resident priest. The old building 
was superseded by the present 
structure, commenced in October 
1881, and opened the following 
year. Fr. C. Kennard, of Canning- 
ton, laid the foundation stone. 

Priests. 
Bev. Thos. Canon Booker, 1852. 

John Bouvier, 1868. 

John Corbishley, 1877. 

John Archdeacon, 1879. 

Alex. Scoles, 1882. 

Thos. O Meara, 1892. 

B. Canon Wadman, 1895 to 
date. 



BRIDLINGTON QUAY, EAST 
RIDING, YORKS (Middlesbrough). 
Our Lady and St. Peter. 

Mass was said here in the 
summer of 1883. The chapel was 
served from Driflield by Fr. O Hal- 
loran. Canon Fisher, Frs. J. 



Murphy and Connery also laboured 
here. The present church, in the 
Early Gothic style, was commenced 
in August 1893, and opened 1894. 
At each end of the north and south 
aisles is a chapel, dedicated to the 
Sacred Heart and Our Lady re 
spectively. The accommodation of 
the building is for 300 persons. 
Mrs. Mousley was the chief bene 
factress to the church. 



BRIDPORT, DORSET (Plymouth). 
St. Mary and St. Catherine. 

The good example given by the 
few local Catholics in attending 
Mass on Sundays at Chidiock, 
greatly prepossessed their fellow 
townsmen in their favour. This 
good opinion was further height 
ened by a discussion held at the 
Town Hall (June 15, 1841), when 
Frs. Wm. Bond, Wm. Vaughan, 
and F. M Donnell explained the 
faith of Catholics to over 600 
influential persons. The stone of 
the church was laid September 8, 
1845, and the building was opened 
by Bishop Ullatborne, V.A.W.D., 
July 1, 1846. The Hon. W. Weld, 
Col. McDonnel, and Messrs. Thos. 
and Wm. Tucker were great 
benefactors to the mission, which 
for some years was served in con 
junction with Chidiock. 

Priests. 
Bev. Jn. Dawson, 1863. 

Bemigius Canon Debbaudt, 
1870. 

Thos. Skuse, 1902 to date. 



BRIERLY HILL, STAFFS (Bir 
mingham). St. Mary. 

The mission was established 
1854, and for several years served 
from Stourbridge. The growth of 

H 



98 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



the congregation made a church 
imperative, and the first stone of 
the present building was laid in 
1872 and opened by Bishop Ulla- 
thorne October 15, 1873. Style, 
Early English ; size, 80 ft. by 30 ft. ; 
seating for 400. A pulpit of Caen 
stone was presented by J. F. Has- 
kew, Esq., and a font by Mr. W. 
Bright. Architect, E. W. Pugin. 

Priests. 
Eev. James Oliver, 1860. 

Thos. Eevill, here in 1871. 

Stephen Johnson, 1874. 

Edward Plaetsir, 1877. 

Thos. Whelahan, 1882. 

P. Eoskell, 1888. 

J. Ellis, 1902 to date. 



BRIERFIELD, LANCS (Salford). 
The Holy Trinity. 

The mission was established from 
Nelson in 1896. 

Priests. 
Eev. Thos. Chronnell, 1 896. 

,, James Youldcn, 1903 to date. 



BRIGG, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not 
tingham). The Immaculate Heart 
of Mary. 

The Webb family had a residence 
at Worlaby, near Brigg. Their 
chapel was served by the Francis 
cans. Fr. Anthony Caley, O.S.F., 
was here 1783, and Fr. Ignatius 
Casemore, O.S.F., about 1788-9. 
The altar picture belonging to the 
chapel was afterwards removed to 
Gainsborough. (See The Francis 
cans in England, 1600-1850, by 
Fr. Thaddeus, O.F.M.) A public 
chapel at Brigg was opened 1815. 
About 1874 Valentine Carey- El wes, 
Esq., on his conversion to the Faith, 



turned the stable of his residence, 
Billing Hall, Brigg, into a chapel 
and opened it to the public. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Mill, 1825. 

McDermott, 1838. 

Eichard Wall, 1841. 

,, James Egan, 1843. 

J. Naghten, 1849. 

H. Swale, 1856 ; served from 
Gainsborough 1862 to after 
1875. 

Julian Le Quintrec, 1877. 

Patrick Conaty, 1882. 

Charles Carrigy, 1885. 

Michael Kirby , 1889. 

,, John Macdonnell, 1901. 

J. Alyn Wenharn, 1904. 



BRIGHOUSE, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Joseph. 

This mission was served from 
Huddersfield from 1867 to about 
1878, when Fr. Alfred Watson was 
appointed as resident priest. In 
1882 (May) the chapel opened 
July 1879 was threatened by an 
i anti-Irish mob enraged at the 
recent murder of Lord F. Caven 
dish and Mr. Burke in the Phoenix 
Park, Dublin, but happily no dam 
age was done. The Catholic popu 
lation of the district was estimated 
at 500 in 1877. Fr. Thos. Bradley 
is the present rector. 



BRIGHTON, SUSSEX (Southward). 
St. John the Baptist. 

The mere fishing village of 
Brighthelm stone, owing to the 
patronage of the Prince of Wales, 
afterwards George IV., became 
London-by-the-Sea between 1784 
And 1820. Before the establish 
ment of the mission in 1799, the 
few Catholics of the place were 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



attended occasionally by the priest 
of the ancient mission of West 
Grinstead, and by the chaplain of 
the Duke of Norfolk when his 
Grace accompanied the Prince to 
Brighton. 1 

In 1799 Fr. W. Barnes was ap 
pointed resident Catholic priest at 
Brighton by Bishop Douglas, V. A.L. 
In 1804 the Abbe, J. Mouchel, an 
emigre, took charge of the humble 
chapel in Middle Street. The Rev. 
Dr. Bew, of Oscott, was rector from 
1811 till 1817, when Fr. E. Cullen 
was appointed. He was priest of 
the mission till his death in 1850. 

In 1822 a chapel was erected in 
the High Street, and continued to 
be the Catholic place of worship till 
1835, when the present church was 
consecrated and opened by Bishop 
Griffiths. The style is Classical ; 
the marble altar and handsome 
altar piece were the gift of the Earl 
of Egremont. Mrs. FitzHerbert, 
the lawful wife of George IV., lies 
buried in this church, to which she 
was a great benefactress. Her 
death took place at Brighton in 
1837. The schools in connection 
with the mission were established 
by Canon Eymer, who died at 
Fontainebleau in 1889. The church 
was lengthened in 1866, and altar 
rails and pulpit erected by Mgr. 
Johnston, the present incumbent, 
in 1892. The Catholic population 
of the mission numbered about 
1,000 in 1902. 



BRIGHTON, SUSSEX. St. Mary 
Magdalen s, Upper North Street. 

1 This was Charles, eleventh Duke of 
Norfolk, born 1746. He conformed to 
the Established Church in 1780 to take 
his seat in the House of Lords, where 
he became leader of the Whig peers. He 
rebuilt a greater part of Arundel Castle. 
At his death in 1815 he was reconciled 
to the Church. 



This, the second Brighton mis 
sion, was started in 1856 by Fr. G. 
Oldharn, in a house called Sillwood 
Lodge, the residence of Mr. and Mrs. 
Munster. Four years later the 
church was built on the present site. 
The style is Transitional Gothic ; 
the tower and spire were added in 
1863. Fr. Oldham supplied most 
of the building fund, and the church 
is provided with three altars, and 
a handsome font the gift of the 
late Captain Roe. Canon Bamber, 
who was priest here in 1885, was 
succeeded by the present rector, 
Provost Moore. 



BRIGHTON, SUSSEX. St. Joseph s, 
Elm Grove. 

The large number of Catholic 
soldiers in the Preston barracks 
made this mission necessary. A 
room in a small house in Elm 
Grove was fitted up as chapel and 
opened April 20, 1866. A rough 
brick building was erected shortly 
afterwards, and used for worship 
till the opening of the present fine 
fourteenth-century Gothic church 
on a site given by Mr. Munster. 
Mrs. Shelliee and Mrs. Haddock 
defrayed the cost of erection. The 
building was opened May 13, 1869. 
Number of congregation about 850 
(1906). 

Priests. 
Eev. Neil Crispin, 1866. 

Nicholas Broder, 1873. 

Einile du Plerny, 1888. 

Joseph Livesey, 1899. 

G. B. Tatum, M.A., 1905 to 
date. 



BRIGHTON, SUSSEX. The Sacred 
Heart, Norton Road, Hove. 

This church was partially fin- 

H2 



100 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ished in 1881, and opened by Car 
dinal Manning on June 14 of the 
same year. The mission owes its 
foundation to a legacy of 6,000 left 
by Fr. Geo. Oldham, of St. Mary 
Magdalen s, who died in 1875. By 
the munificence of the late Charles 
Willock Dawes, Esq., the building 
was completed in October 1887. 
The church furniture and handsome 
organ were presented by the same 
generous benefactor. The style 
of the edifice is thirteenth-century 
Gothic. The high altar is the gift 
of Madame de Laski. Fr. S. A. 
Donnelly, the first priest, was suc 
ceeded by the present rector, Mgr. 
James Connelly. 



BRINDLE, GREGSON LANE, 
PRESTON, LANGS (Liverpool}. St. 
Joseph. 

The Gerard family established 
the mission about 1680, and placed 
it under the Benedictines, by whom 
it has since been conducted. A 
chapel was built 1780, and greatly j 
enlarged 1843. In 1845 much | 
scandal was caused by one of the 
congregation, Mr. Eastwood, J.P., | 
noisily refusing to pay the penny j 
entrance fee charged for the sup- | 
port of the chapel. The matter 
finally came before Mr. Justice 
Wightman at the Lancaster As 
sizes, and his lordship upheld the ; 
legality of the admission charge on 
the ground that a clergyman has j 
the right to make regulations for j 
the conduct of his place of worship. 
In 1896 the Lady chapel was en 
larged and a new altar erected | 
(October). Fr. Michael Brown, j 
O.S.B., is the present rector. 



BRISTOL (Clifton}. 

Sketch of recent post-Reforma 
tion Catholicity, St. Joseph s, 
Trenchard Street. A. Mass-house 
was opened here in 1686, but at the 
Revolution the priest was brought 
to trial at the assizes. Owing to the 
absence of the Lord Chief Justice, Sir 
Edward Herbert, he was remanded 
to the King s Bench prison. In 
1743 Messrs. Evans & Co. allowed 
their Flemish zinc workers the 
exercise of their religion. The 
priest in Bristol at this time was 
Fr. J. Lallart, S.J. He died at Bou 
logne the same year, aged fifty-one. 
His successor, Fr. Scudamore, fitted 
up a chapel in an upper room at 
Hooks Mills on Ashley Down. 
After a time the chapel was re 
moved to St. James s Back. This 
excellent priest died April 8, 1778, 
aged eighty-two. The register was 
started about 1777 by his assistant, 
Fr. Jn. Fontaine. He was succeeded 
by Fr. Thos. Brewer, 1780. A chapel 
was erected by the next priest, 
Fr. liobert Plowden, in Trenchard 
Street June 27, 1790. Schools were 
built about the same time at a cost 
of 1,000. He had a dispute with 
Bishop Collingridge, V.A.W.D., over 
an alleged want of orthodoxy in 
one of his lordship s pastorals, 
1815, and left the district for Wap- 
penbury, where Bishop Milner gave 
him the charge of the mission. 
The priests at Trenchard Street after 
this were : Rev. James Tate, who, 
like Fr. Plowden, had a dispute 
with the bishop, on the subject of 
an appointment to a mission, and 
left the vicariate 1822 ; John 
Williams, 1821 ; John Burke, 
1823; Francis Edgeworth, O.S.F., 
1825 ; William Rowe, S.J., 1828 ; 
Patrick O Ferrall, O.S.F., 1830 
(these last two priests assisted Fr. 
Edgeworth) ; Rev. James Dawson, 
1842; Thomas Rooker, 1843. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



101 



When Bishop Ullathorne became 
V.A.W.D. he wrote to Fr. Lythgoe, 
Provincial S.J., requesting him to 
again take over the Trenchard 
Street mission, which had been 
withdrawn from the care of the 
Jesuits by Bishop Baines, 1829- 
30. Fr. George Bampton, S. J., was 
therefore sent down as rector from 
October 31, 1847, but was removed 
to Farm Street, London, December 
6, 1849. Fr. William Johnston 
was his successor at Trenchard 
Street. He remained down to 
about 1860. The mission was 
attached to St. Mary s on the Quay 
1862. Fr. Peter Sherlock, S.J., 
was rector 1863. The mission of 
Sfc. Joseph s, Trenchard Street, was 
shortly afterwards given up, owing 
to the opening of other churches 
and chapels, which rendered its 
continued existence no longer 
necessary. 



BRISTOL. St. Mary on the Quay. 
About 1842 an Irvingite church 
came into the market, and was pur 
chased by Fr. F. O Ferrall, of St. 
Joseph s, Trenchard Street. The 
building was opened for Catholic 
worship by Bishop Baines, V.A., 
July 5, 1843. A gallery was added 
in July 1845. The mission has 
been served by the Jesuits from 
1860. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. O Ferrall, 1843. 

Mgr. Canon English, 1857. 

Wm. Johnson, 1860. 

Matthew McCann, 18G3. 

Ignatius Grant, 1866. 

Thos. Dykes, 1871. 

Thos. Hill, 1873-93. 

Thos. Greenan, 1893. 

Thos. Brown, 1897. 

Francis Grene, 1901 to date. 



BRISTOL. St. Nicholas, Penny- 
well Eoad. 

Founded by the Augustinians, 
and opened September 21, 1850. 
At this time only the nave was 
complete. A belfry and north and 
south aisles were added 1861. A 
chancel was added in October 1873, 
bringing the accommodation of the 
building up to 700. E. Hansom 
was the architect. During the 
rectorate of Canon Coxon, vestries 
have been added to the church and 
the schools improved. The church, 
having been freed from debt, was 
consecrated by Cardinal Vaughan 
in 1895. Present number of con 
gregation about 700. 
Priests. 
Rev. N. O Donnell, 1849. 

Canon Illingworth, 1853. 

Thos. Hoskins, 1857-73. 

Septimus Canon Coxon, 1873, 
to date. 



BRIXTON, S.W. (Southward). 
Corpus Christi. 

The mission was opened on Sun 
day, June 2, 1881. The chapel was 
in the presbytery a fine roomy 
mansion in the main road near 
j Hayter Road. Brixton was the 
| tenth new mission carved out of 
| the old St. George s district. In 
! July 1886 the first stone of the 
new church was laid by Bishop 
Butt, of Southwark. The style of 
the church is of the Early Second 
| Pointed period. The plan includes 
a nave, aisles, side chapels, bap 
tistery, and sacristy, but only the 
sanctuary and transept are now 
(1904) complete. The stained-glass 
windows, put in by Fr. E. Van 
Doorne, are very rich. The present 
incumbent, Fr. W. Curran, is mak 
ing great efforts to complete the 
building. The opening of a por- 



102 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



tion of the church took place in 
June 1887. The number of Catho- 
lics at Brixton amounted that year 
to 1,000. In 1880 it was only 
about 75. 



BROADBOTTOM, DEEBYSHIRE 
(Nottingham). The Immaculate 
Conception. 

Opened September 1896 by Mgr. 
Sabela. The site of the building, j 
which affords sitting accommoda- | 
tion for about 300 persons, was I 
presented by Lord Howard of 
Glossop. The day of the opening 
was marked by a public procession j 
of Catholic guilds, &c., of Hadfield j 
and vicinity. Great numbers of 
protestants were present in the 
church, where a short and appro- ! 
priatc address was delivered by 
Fr. Murphy. A fine pipe organ 
was presented to the church at i 
the close of the ceremony by Mr. ! 
Wyatt, of Gamesley, a protestant i 
gentleman, who also offered the i 
gratuitous services of an organist. 



BROADSTAIRS, KENT. Our Lady 
Star of the Sea. 

On Thursday, August 2, 1888, an 
iron chapel was opened at Broad- 
stairs to take the place of a small 
chapel attached to a private re 
sidence (Laurel House), started j 
1879. A freehold site having been ! 
given to the Benedictines of Rams- 
gate, who serve the mission, they 
at once erected the above-men 
tioned chapel near the railway 
station. Fr. Swithbert Palmer, : 
O.S.B., sang the first Mass in the 
new structure, the sermon being 
preached by Fr. Elphege Power, 
O.S.B. The mission is served from 
St. Augustine s, Ramsgate. 



BROADWAY, WORCESTERSHIRE 
(Birmingham). St. Saviour s Re 
treat. 

This mission was established in 
1827-8 by Fr. John Augustine 
Birdsall, O.S.B., who founded the 
mission at Cheltenham 1809. A 
burial ground, which was laid out 
at the same time as the church was 
erected, proved a great boon to 
local Catholics as previously the 
deceased faithful had to be buried 
in protestant churchyards with the 
protestant service. In 1850 the 
Passionists took over the mission, 
where they erected a monastery. 

Priests. 

Rev. A. T. Birdsall, 1827. 
C. F. Kershaw, 1839. 
Thos. Bonney, 1841. 
,, Jas. Kendal, 1845. 
F. Vincent, 1851. 
F. Raphael. 1855. 
,, Bernard O Loughlin, 1857. 
F. Salvian Nardocci, 1863. 
F. Alban Cowley, 1867. 
Alph. O Neill, 1874. 
Raymund Disano, 1877. 
Michael Watts Russell, 1879. 
Gregory Callaghan, 1882. 
Reginald Magee, 1885. 
Raymund Disano, 1888. 
Chrysostom Rothwell, 1890. 
Rd. Foy, 1897. 
Malachy Gavin, 1900. 
Michael Watts Russell, 1903 
to date. 



BROCKLEY, LONDON, S.E. (South- 
wark). St. Mary Magdalen. 

Thirty-five years ago Brockley 
was a rural Kentish suburb. Now 
it is a region of villas. About 1864 
the large cemetery was opened, and 
a part of this was reserved for 
Catholics. Sir Stuart Knill, Bart., 
late Lord Mayor of London, built 
the handsome mortuary chapel in 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



103 



the Catholic reserve, but no mission 
was established at Brockley till 
1895, when the fine schools were 
opened by Bishop Butt (September). 
In 1896 the children numbered 250. 
A room in the school fitted up as a 
chapel served for Mass on Sundays. 
By the kindness of Bishop Bourne 
a sum of money was advanced 
sufficient to raise the structure 
which was opened in the Comer - 
ford Boad on March 16, 1899. 
Bishop Bourne preached the in 
augural sermon, the High Mass 
being sung by the Archbishop of 
Pario. The style of the building is 
Roman, the accommodation being 
for about 300. Over the high altar 
is a fine copy of Guido Reni s 
picture of Our Lady of the Seven 
Dolours. The large crucifix near 
the entrance is in memory of Mrs. 
Wilson. Fr. J. Sprankling, the first 
priest of the mission, did much to 
work up local Catholicity to its 
present high pitch of excellence. 
He was called to St. George s 
Cathedral, Southwark, in June 
1904 as administrator. Fr. J. 
Hayes, now of Forest Hill, was his 
successor. 



BROMLEY, KENT (Soutliwar~k}. 
St. Joseph. 

The Sisters of the Holy Trinity 
started a convent at Freelands, 
the Dower House of the Sundridge 
Park property, a spacious red-brick 
Georgian mansion. On Sunday, 
March 17, 1889, the little chapel of 
the convent was formally opened 
for public worship, Mass being said 
by Fr. O Meara. Mgr. Goddard, 
of Chiselhurst, preached in the 
afternoon. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. O Meara, 1889. 

Thos. Ford, 1895 to date. 



BROMPTON, LONDON, S.W. (West 
minster}. The Oratory of St. Philip 
Neri. 

The Fathers of the Oratory of 
St. Philip Neri commenced their 
London labours in a chapel situated 
in King William Street, Strand, 
during the course of 1849. The 
community comprised the Revs. 
F. W. Faber, J. D. Dalgairns, R. M. 
Stanton, W. A. Hutchison, T. F. 
Knox, F. F. Wells. Most if not 
all of these were converts of the 
Oxford Movement, and their dis 
courses on the doctrines of the 
Catholic Church drew enormous 
crowds of listeners, which included 
some of the most distinguished 
personages of the day, as Thackeray, 
Charlotte Bronte, &c. In 1853 the 
Fathers left King William Street 
for Brompton, where, on March 22, 
1854, a temporary but spacious 
church of brick was opened for 
worship. Of the several chapels, 
that of St. Mary Magdalen, con 
taining the relics of St. Eutropius, 
martyr, was perhaps the most note 
worthy. In July 1856, the dis 
trict was canonically erected into a 
mission. The site chosen for the 
present church was a commanding 
one in the Brompton Road, on a 
spot occupied at that time by Blem- 
mel House, a large boarding school 
kept by Mr. Pollard. The plan 
selected was that of Mr. Herbert 
Gribble, the design of the building 
being that of a cruciform Classic 
church, somewhat after the style 
of St. Peter s at Rome. The cere 
mony of consecration took place 
April 16, 1884. The gathering on 
this occasion was a notable one, 
comprising the Cardinals Manning 
and Newman, the Catholic hier 
archy of England, and representa 
tives of the leading laity. Until the 
opening of the Westminster Cathe 
dral the Oratory was the largest 



104 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Catholic church erected in this 
country since the breach with the 
Holy See. The noble facade of the 
building was completed in 1901. 
The interior of the Oratory is one 
of extreme richness, caused by the 
harmonious blending of the varie 
gated marbles used for the several 
columns and side altars. The high 
altar is adorned on either side 
by frescoes, one representing the 
famous saluting of the students of 
the English College, Borne, by St. 
Philip Neri, and the other the death 
of the saint. Among the other 
notable features of the church are 
the life-sized Calvary group, the 
Chapels of Our Lady and the Sacred 
Heart, &c. Adjoining the church 
is the residence of the Fathers of 
the Oratory, famous for its valuable 
and extensive library. 



BROMPTON (NEW), CHATHAM, 
KENT (Southward}. Our Lady. 

The church was opened Tuesday, 
May 12, 1896, by Bishop Bourne, 
of Southwark. The sermon was 
preached by Mgr. J. Vaughan. 
Among those present on this occa 
sion was the late Admiral Andoe, 
who, in responding for the United 
Service at the luncheon after the 
ceremony, spoke of the general fair 
treatment meted out to Catholics 
in the Navy. Fr. T. McMahon is 
the first rector. 



BROMPTON (OLD), CHATHAM, 
KENT (Southward). St. Paulinus. 

The founder of this mission was 
Fr. Plunkett, who in 1793 opened 
a small chapel which is described 
as being a very fair, creditable 
building for Catholics of that day. 
About 1805 it was pulled down to 



make way for the artillery barracks, 
but with the money given by 
Government in compensation a 
chapel was built at the back of two 
small houses that formed the 
presbytery. By subsequent en 
largements the building was made 
to hold about 350 persons. In 
1857 the great increase of Catho 
licity in Chatham and the large 
number of Catholic soldiers always 
in garrison, made it necessary to 
erect in that town a separate mis 
sion (q.v.). 

The Abbe Salmon, an emigre, 
who succeeded Fr. Plunkett at Old 
Brompton about 1802, was rector 
till 1830. He did a great work 
among his fellow-countrymen, the 
French prisoners of war, who were 
confined at Chatham and em 
ployed on fort - building. The 
various Irish regiments stationed 
at Chatham during the long French 
war that ended in 1815, also came 
in for a good share of the worthy 
priest s ministrations, though he 
never could master the spelling of 
Irish surnames, as the baptismal 
and other registers of the church 
prove. On his death in 1830 he 
was succeeded by Fr. John Meany. 
St. Paulinus s Church was served 
from Chatham 1875, and till 1892, 
when Fr. W. Alton was rector. 
Fr. Bolger was rector 1902 and 
subsequently. 



BROMSGROVE, WORCESTER- 
SHIRE (Birmingham). 

The church of St. Peter, in the 
Worcester Road, Bromsgrove, was 
opened in September 18G2. The 
building is oblong, with apsidal east 
end. The furniture, altar, candle 
sticks, and crucifix were brought 
from the Shrewsbury Chapel at 
Alton Towers. The chapel can 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



105 



accommodate about 400 persons. 
Adjoining the chapel is the school, 
and also presbytery. The Kev. J. 
Fanning was the first priest of the 
mission. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Fanning, 1862. 

Geo. Canon Jeffries, here in 
1871. 

Hy. Davy, 1870. 

,, James Canon O Hanlon, D.D. 



BROOMS, LEADGATE, DURHAM 

(Hexliain and Newcastle). SS. 
Mary and Joseph. 

Pontop Hall, the residence of the 
Swinburnes, is regarded as the 
cradle of Catholicity in these parts. 
Fr. Leckonby, S.J., was chaplain 
here in 1748, and for more than 
fifty years afterwards an old- 
fashioned congregation .met for 
Mass and prayer in an upper room 
of the Hall. In 1794 sixteen 
French emigre priests settled in 
the town, where a presbytery was 
generously erected for them by Sir 
John Lawson, Bart., Fr. Eyre, Mr. 
Smith, and the Silvertop family. 
In 1802 the first public chapel was 
erected. Dr. Lingard, the historian, 
ministered here for a time. The 
enormous growth of the congrega 
tion owing to the foundation and 
development of the Consett Iron 
works about 1850, made the enlarge 
ment of the chapel an absolute 
necessity. This addition forms the 
vestry of the present Romanesque 
church, opened by Bishop Chadwick, 
of Hexham, October 25, 1869. The 
districts of Blackhill, Byer Moor, 
and Stanley, formerly served from 
Brooms, are now independent mis 
sions, the Catholic population of 
the four church areas being 9,000 
in 1896. 



Priests, Pontfyp Hall. 
Rev. Leckonby, S.J., 1748. 
Jas. Johnson, 1778. 
Hy. Rutter, 1791. 
,, Thos. Eyre, 1791-1803. 
During this time there were 

also : 

Rev. Jn. Worswick, 1792. 
Thos. Storey, 1794. 
Nicholas Gilbert, 1794-5. 
Thos. Smith, 1795. 
John Lingard, 1796-1803. 

Priests at Brooms. 
Rev. John Bell, 1803-6. 
Jn. Yates, 1824. 
Wm. Fletcher, 1828. 
Thos. Gillet, 1838. 
Jn. Ward, 1845. 
Henry Newsham, 1845. 
Robt. Smith, 1846. 
Francis Canon Kearney, 1849- 

90. 

Eugene McGarrity, 1890. 
,, Augustine Magill, 1892, to 
date. 



BROTTON IN CLEVELAND, 
YORKS, NORTH RIDING (Middles 
brough). St. Anthony. 

Mission opened 1895 in a room 
over a joiner s shop. After this a 
miner s club room was used for 
Mass on Sundays, and then for 
some weeks in June and July 1905 
a disused Salvation Army barracks. 
The stone of the present church 
was laid Wednesday, August 23, 
1905, during rectorate of Fr. Grys- 
peert, by Mgr. Dawson. The 
building was opened on Easter 
Wednesday 1906. Mission still 
served from Loftus. 



BROUGH HALL, near CATTE- 
RICK, YORKS (Middlcslrour/lt}. 
St. Paulinus. 

The preservation of the Faith in 



106 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



this district is mainly owing to the 
baronetal family of Lawson, the 
owners of Brough Hall. The Bene 
dictines are said to have served the 
mission from about the time of the 
Reformation to 1700, since when it 
has been in the charge of the 
Jesuits. The church was built by 
the late Sir Win. Lawson, Bart., 
and opened May 8, 1837. J. 
Bonomi, Esq., was the architect. 
The jubilee was observed with 
much solemnity, May 1887, in the 
presence of the Bishop of Middles 
brough and a great assembly. The 
design of the building is Gothic, 
after that of the ancient archi- 
episcopal chapel at York. 

Priests. 

Rev. Thos. Lawson, 1700. 

,, Jn. Champion, 1714. 

Hy. Corbie, 1735. 

Chas. Hodgkinson, 1745. 

Fr. Blundell, 1752. 

Robt. Knatchbul, 1758. (This 
priest had to leave in 1765, 
in consequence of the threats 
of the vicar of the parish, 
for baptising a Catholic in 
fant.) 

Thos. Aspinall, 1765. 

Ralph Hoskins, 1769. 

Thos. Ferby, 1794. 

Jn. Laurenson, 1807. 

Jn. Dilworth, 1830. 

Robt. Johnson, 1834. 

Jn. Rigby, 1841. 

Felix Pole, 1847. 

Jn. Rigby, 1849. 

W. Clifford, 1852. 

W. Smith, 1863. 

Luke Burke, 1864. 

Alf. Watson, 1869. 

Win. Canon Arnold, 1872. 

Jas. Glancey, D.D., 1892. 

Law. Levett, 1893. 

John Murphy, 1895. 

Francis Nelson, 1897. 

Wm. Strucken, 1899 to date. 



BROUGHTON HALL, YORKS 

(Leeds]. The Sacred Heart. 

The Tempest family have been 
seated here since the reign of 
Henry VI. The domestic chapel 
dates from 1453. 



BROWNEDGE, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Salford). St. Mary. 

Fr. Henry Brewer, O.S.B., was 
sent here from St. Mary s, Liver 
pool, 1822. He built the present 
church, opened 1826, and served 
the mission till 1846. In 1850 the 
schools had an average attendance 
of 400 pupils. The rectors after 
Fr. Brewer have been : 
Rev. T. Walker, 1847. 

,, Austin Pozzi, 1885. 

Thomas Clarkson, 1902 to 
date. 



BROXWOOD, HEREFORDSHIRE 

(Newport). 

The mission was founded from 
Hereford about 1860, the first 
priest being Abbot Gregory, O.S.B. 
In 1881 the church was redecorated 
and restored at the expense of Col. 
Cox, a member of the congregation. 
The Rev. R. Davis is the present 
rector. 

Priests. 
Rev. Abbot Gregory, 1860. 

A. Van den Heuvel, 1877. 

Athanasius Rogers, 1882. 

Thos. Contarin, 1885. 

Achille Ooghe, 1895. 

R. Davis, 1902. 



BUCKFASTLEIGH, DEVON 

(Plymouth). Immaculate Heart of 
Mary. 

St. Mary s Abbey, founded in 
1137 by Ethelwerd, son of William 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



107 



de Pomeroy, and affiliated to the 
Cistercian monastery of Clairvaux 
1138. It is said the abbots had 
power to execute offenders. The | 
abbot at the time of the dissolu 
tion was Gabriel Dunne, and he 
surrendered the abbey to Henry 
VIII. s commissioners, February 25, 
1538. In October 1882, it was pur 
chased, on specially advantageous 
terms, by the Benedictines of Pierre 
qui Vire from the proprietor, Dr. 
Gale, of Plymouth. Various re 
storations and additions were put in 
hand, and on April 27, 1886, the 
south side of the abbey was opened. 
Mass, however, was said at the 
abbey from October 29, 1882. Lord 
Clifford acted as chairman of the 
restoration committee, the plans 
being prepared by Mr. F. A. Walters. 
The old walls and buildings were 
skilfully incorporated with the new 
additions. On the day of the open- , 
ing, High Mass was celebrated by the 
Bishop of Clifton, the sermon being 
preached by Fr. Jerome Vaughan, 
of Fort Augustus. At the dejeuner 
which followed the service in the 
church, the Earl of Devon in his 
speech assured the Abbot of Buck- 
fastleigh of the delight it gave him 
at seeing the successors of the old 
monks again in their old home, 
Dr. Gale, the former proprietor of 
the place, also expressed his pleasure 
at seeing the abbey once more in 
monastic hands. 



BUCKINGHAM (Northampton). 
St. Bernardine of Sienna. 

The English province of the 
Franciscans opened a mission at 
Buckingham in July 1892, when 
Mass was said on Sundays at 
22 West Street, where a temporary 
chapel was fitted up in their 
house of residence. The town 



was anciently under the protec 
tion of St. Rumwald. The Rev. 
Fr. Thaddeus, O.S.F., was the first 
resident priest. The priests after 
him have been : 
Rev. Fr. Anthony, 1895. 

,, Dunstan, 1897. 

,, Anselm, 1899. 

Norbert, 1902 to date. 



BUCKLAND, FARINGDON, 
BERKS (Portsmouth}. St. George. 

The old domestic chapel of the 
Throckmorton family was built in 
1725. The present fine church, 
erected by the pious munificence of 
Sir Robert Throckmorton, Bart., was 
opened on Low Sunday 1846. The 
style is fourteenth-century Gothic, 
from designs by C. Hansom. Canon 
Daniel Rock, D.D., author of 
The Church of Our Fathers, 
Hierurgia, &c., was chaplain at 
Faringdon from 1840 to 1853. 
In 1850 the Catholic population of 
Faringdon numbered over 200. 

Priests since 1793. 
Rev. Joseph Berington (a great 
opponent of Bishop Milner 
on the Catholic Committee 
question, and author of A 
Literary History of the 
Middle Ages ). 

Jn. Hutchinson, 1828. 

Daniel Canon Rock, D.D., 
1840 (author of Hierurgia, 
The Church of Our Fathers, 
&c. ; died at Kensington 
1871. 

Francis Azzopardi, 1854. 

Hy. Clark, 1855. 

E. Sheridan, 1860. 

Jn. Norris, 1863. 

R. Davis, 1881. 

H. Russell, 1885. 

J. Arundel, 1892. 

C. Arthur, 1903. 



108 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



BULLINGHAM (Hereford). 

In October 1862 a few Sisters of 
Charity came to Bullingham at the 
invitation of Mr. and Mrs. Boden- 
ham, and established a boarding 
school. Shortly after this an ele 
mentary school was opened under 
Government inspection. In 1883 
the children in the boarding school 
numbered 200, and those in the ele 
mentary school 100. The chapel 
of the convent served the mission. 
The first mention of Bullingham 
as a mission appears in the Catholic 
Directory for 1883, when Fr. T. 
Bardet was chaplain. A new con 
vent was erected 1885-6 to take 
the place of the old Manor House, 
which had been the home of the 
community since its settlement at 
Bullingham. The Rev. D. Vende 
is the present rector. A new chapel, 
the gift of the Superioress, the 
Hon. Frances Arundell, was opened 
by Bishop Hedley in July 1906. 
The style is Early English ; cost, 
about 4,000. 



BUNGAY, SUFFOLK (Northamp 
ton}. St. Edmund. 

The opening of the church on a 
site given by the Duke of Norfolk, 
June 18, 1823, attracted consider 
able attention in the town, and the 
High Mass was attended by many 
of the protestant local gentry. By 
the kind courtesy of Bobt. Mann, 
Esq., the bells of the parish 
church did not ring their accus 
tomed peal for the anniversary of 
Waterloo till after the service. 
The building was enlarged by a 
new chancel and sacristy in 1889 
the gift of a generous benefactor, 
who in 1900 erected the fine 
schools at a cost of 2,000. He 
presented a baptistery to the church 
1901. 



Rectors. 

Rev. M. Eairclough, 1822. 
Hon. and Rev. E. Clifford, 1827. 
Rev. Jos. Wilson, 1829. 

John Jenkins, 1837. 

A. J. Duck, 1839 or 1840. 

Thos. Rolling, 1846. 

Michael Sinnot, 1850. 

Patrick Leary, 1852. 

Thos. Brindfe, 1854. 

Henry Sutton, 1867. 

Thos. Caldwell, 1874. 

E. Anselm Glassbrook, 1882. 

Eplirern Guy, 1885. 



Archibald 
date. 



Fleming, 1899 to 



BUNHILL ROW, LONDON, E.G. 

St. Joseph s, Lamb s Passage. 

In April and May, 1849, Fr. 
Hodgson, the well-known missioner, 
preached here in a hired room 
during the evenings of several 
weeks, and by his exertions brought 
back many to the Faith. On Sunday, 
May 13, 1849, Bishop Wiseman 
concluded the sermons &c. by 
giving a discourse to upwards of 
1,300 persons. In 1856 a semi- 
Gothic church was built. The ac 
commodation was for about 400 
persons. In 1854 the Catholic 
population of Bunhill Row was 
estimated at between 4,000 and 
5,000 persons. A painted window 
over the high altar has a represen 
tation of the titular patron of the 
church, St. Joseph. The edifice 
was built on land formerly belong 
ing to the Associated Catholic 
Charities a society founded about 
1797 by some humble Catholics 
who met for the discussion of busi 
ness at the Mariner s Arms. 
They subscribed one penny a week 
each to a common fund for the 
education &c. of poor Catholic 
children. When Canon Keens con- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



109 



eluded the mission in December 
1889 upwards of 500 persons 
received Holy Communion. The 
fine school chapel recently erected 
is now regarded as a chapel of ease 
to St. Mary s, Moornelds, from 
which it is served. 



BURGESS HILL, SUSSEX (South- 
warty. St. George s Be treat. 

This institution for persons 
suffering from mental maladies was 
opened in 1869 in spacious build 
ings situated on an estate of 250 
acres in a picturesque and healthy 
neighbourhood. The patients are 
under the care of the Nuns of St. 
Augustine, a congregation founded 
in 1841 by the late Canon Maes, of 
Bruges, for the special treatment of 
the mentally afflicted. A highly 
qualified physician resides in the 
house. The Bev. Albert Dearn 
was the first and the Rev. J. 
O Meara is the present rector. 



BURGHWALLIS, near DONCAS- 
TER, YORKS (Leeds). 

The foundation of this mission 
is ascribed to the time of the 
Reformation. The Tasburghs of 
Flexton, Suffolk, had a hall or 
residence here, and it is to them 
that the maintenance of the Faith 
in the penal times is due. The 
chapel was served by Jesuits in the 
eighteenth century, the earliest 
Father of the Society here being 
Fr. J. Messenger, 1725-52. He 
was succeeded by Frs. James 
Lewis, John Shaw, and Robert 
Saunderson. The latter remained 
till his death in 1781. Later 
on the chaplains were French 
emigres, viz. Abba Betiry, 1798; 
Jn. Poisnel ; Peter Dubuisson, 



1803. The Abbe Louis le Roux, 
formerly vicar of Courbevoye, 
diocese of Paris, was priest here 
from 1828 to 1845. The register 
dates from 1761. From 1846 to 
the present time the mission has 
been served from Doncaster. 



BURNHAM, SOMERSET (Clifton). 
The Sacred Heart. 

A community of French nuns of 
the Sacred Heart settled here in 
1889. The convent chapel served 
the mission till the opening of the 
church. The church was con 
secrated by the Bishop of Clifton in 
June 1890. The building, a hand 
some and well-proportioned struc 
ture, was designed by Canon 
Scoles, of Bridge water. 



BURNLEY, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Mary s, East Gate, Burnley, 
was opened March 25, 1846, and 
! consecrated August 2, 1849. The 
cost of building was 16,000. The 
Catholic population then numbered 
1,300 ; at present it is about 6,000. 

Priests. 

Rev. J. Worthy, 1846. 
J. Boardman, 1849. 
Jn. Canon Rimmer, 1851. 
Thos. Flanagan, 1860 (?). 
M. Dillon, here in 1871. 
Jn. Canon Rimmer, 1874. 
Jas. Canon Morrissey, 1891. 
Thos. Canon Corbishley, 1904. 
Mgr. J. B. Cooke, 1905, to date. 



BURNLEY, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Mary Magdalen. 

A new church and presbytery in 
the Gannow district of the city was 
opened Sunday, December 11, 1904, 



110 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



by the Bishop of Salford. The cost 
of erection was about 5,000. From 
1887 till 1904, a school chapel 
served the mission. The Catholic 
population of the district is about 
2,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. Octave Eaymond, 1887. 

,. Thomas Harrison, B.A., 1902 
to date. 



BURSCOUGH, ORMSKIRK, LANGS 

(Liverpool}. St. John. 

The mission history dates from 
1700. The schools in connection with 
St. John s Catholic Chapel, built 
in 1815, were opened in November 
1850. The style of the edifice is 
Gothic, the accommodation at time 
of opening being for 120 children. 
The chapel was built by Fr. 
Coghlan. The Catholic population 
of Burscough in 1860 was 400 ; in 
1901 580. 

In 1568 the Earl of Derby sum 
moned the chief Catholic gentry of 
the district before him at Lathom 
House, and the most obstinate 
were sent to prison. The Austin 
Canons had a priory in the neigh 
bourhood until the dissolution. 
The Burscoughs of Lathom Hall 
were Catholics, and great sufferers 
for the Faith. The family became 
extinct about the end of the 
eighteenth century. 

The upper room of Burscough 
Hall Farm was used as a chapel 
about 1732. In 1759 the chapel 
was improved at a cost of 80. 
Bishop Gibson confirmed forty-eight 
persons here 1793. In 1819 a new 
chapel and presbytery were erected. 
Fr. B. Hodgson added a gallery 
about 1855. In 1885-6 the chapel 
was redecorated and partly re 
furnished. 



Priests. 

Bev. James Gorsuch, 1712. 
Bd. Walmsley, 1734 (?). 
James Brown, 1741. 
Hy. Kellett, 1790. 
Wm. Coghlan, 1810. 
Jn. Anderton, 1836. 
Bd. Hodgson, 1850. 
Canon Fisher, 1871. 
Jn. Kelly, B.A., 1877. 
Jn. Daly, 1878. 
Pat. Cahill, 1884. 
T. B. Allan, 1885. 
Jas. Eager, 1885 to date. 



BURSLEM, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Joseph s, Hall Street. 

Though many Catholics were 
reported to be living in the district 
in 1850, it was not till 1895 that a 
mission could be established. Mass 
on Sundays was said at 31 Church 
Square by Fr. J. Hymers. The 
congregation was estimated at 
1,200. 



BURTON - ON - TRENT, STAFFS 

(Birmingham). SS. Mary and 
Modwena. 

When the mission was founded 
here, in January 1852, there was 
much protestant opposition, owing 
largely to the recent excitement 
over the re-establishment of the 
hierarchy. The Gothic school 
chapel (48 ft. by 20 ft.), opened 
on Trinity Sunday the same year, 
was described by a contemporary 
journal as the handsomest and 
most correctly ecclesiastical build 
ing in Burton. The present Gothic 
church was opened by Bishop Ulla- 
thorne in 1879. It may be of in 
terest to remark that in 1811 there 
was only one Catholic family in 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



111 



Burton, but by 1852 the congrega 
tion was estimated at some hun 
dreds. 

Priests. 
Eev. W. O Grady, 1852. 

T. Telford, 1856. 

C. McCabe, 1870. 

J. Flynn, 1877 to date. 



BURTON PARK, SUSSEX (South- 
luark}. SS. Anthony and George. 

The ancient Catholic family of 
Biddulph inherited the estate of 
Burton Park by the marriage of 
Richard Biddulph, Esq., with Anne, 
daughter and heiress of Sir Henry 
Goring, of Burton. This Richard 
Biddulph died 1G79. There was a 
domestic chapel at the park. The 
last member of this family was 
Anthony John Wright Biddulph, 
Esq. This gentleman built the 
present church (Gothic) on a site 
in the park. The building was 
consecrated by Archbishop Man 
ning for Bishop Grant, August 18, 
1869. The accommodation of the 
building is for about 100 persons. 
After the death of Mr. Wright 
Biddulph the estate passed out of 
Catholic hands, but the mission is 
administered by lay trustees. For 
some years past the church has 
been served from Crawley. 
Priests from 1825. 
Rev. Peter Duval. 

Thos. Brogan, 1833. 

Simon O Carroll, 1841. 

E. Hood, 1849. 

Peter Coop, 1851. 

,, Joseph McSweeny, 1857. 

Eugene Reardon, 1861. 

Reginald Fowler, here in 
1875. 

Thos. Canon Lalor, 1879. 

Nicholas Broder, here in 1889 
till 1895, since when the 
mission has been served 
from Crawley. 



BURTONWOOD, NEWTON - LE- 
WILLOWS, LANCS (Liverpool). 

A school chapel was opened 
October 1886 on a site generously 
given by John Mercer, Esq., of 
Alston Hall. An additional class 
room for fifty children was added in 
1888, and in 1890 the school was 
again enlarged. For twelve years 
after the opening, the mission was 
served from Sutton. The first 
resident priest was Fr. Peter 
Morgan (1898), who still retains 
the incumbency. 



BURWASH, SUSSEX (Southward). 
St. Joseph s. 

The church and presbytery were 
presented to the diocese of South- 
wark by Madame de los Heros, of 
Southover Hall. The first Mass in 
the building was said by Bishop 
Butt on Tuesday, October 11, 1887. 
The style of the church is cruci 
form. Mr. B. Whelan was the 
architect. The mission was for 
several years served by secular 
priests of the Southwark diocese, 
but for some time past has been 
transferred to the Salesian Fathers, 
who have their novitiate here. The 
Catholic population of Burwash in 
1888 was practically confined to 
the family and servants of South- 
over Hall. In 1890 it was esti 
mated at 100. 



BURY, LANCS (Salford). Our 
Blessed Lady. 

In 1821 there \vere not more 
than five Catholic families in the 
town, when Mass was said once a 
month in the upper room of a wool 



112 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



warehouse. In 1834 the first resi 
dent priest was appointed. The 
church, erected 1841-2, is a Gothic 
structure (90 ft. by 40 ft.), with 
gable and octagonal tower ; east 
window by Wailes. Total cost of 
schools, church, and presbytery, 
about 3,000. 

Priests. 

Rev. Hy. "Walmesley, 1834. 
,, James Peacock, 1835. 

James Canon Boardman, 1851. 

John Canon Rimmer, 1874. 

James Morrissey, 1891. 

Michael Byrne, 1897. 

David Walshe, 1902 to date. 



BUKY ST. EDMUNDS, SUFFOLK 

(Northampton}. St. Edmund. 

In the reign of James II. the 
Benedictine monks of the Rue de 
St. Jacques, Paris, negotiated for 
the purchase of a portion of the 
old Abbey of Bury St. Edmunds, 
but an outcry having been made 
against this, the monks, at the re 
quest of the king, desisted from 
the purchase. 1 About 1732 Fr. 
Alexius Jones, O.S.B., took up his 
abode at Bury St. Edmunds, and 
remained here as missionary priest 
till 1737, when he went as chaplain 
to Hengrave Hall. His place was 
taken by Fr. Howard, O.S.B., who 
remained at Bury St. Edmunds 
till his death, December 12, 1755. 
Fr. J. Dennett, S.J., who died here 
March 1, 1789, aged eighty-seven, 
is said to have been long on the 
mission at Bury St. Edmunds. 

The full list of English missions, 
with names of clergy, hours of ser 
vices, &c., was first given in the 
1 Laity s Directory for 1824. The 

1 Tim persons who raised the outcry 
afterwards purchased the abbey pro 
perty for themselves. 



church, which is in the Classical 
style, was thoroughly renovated 
and redecorated in the autumn of 
1876. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Thos. Angier, 1824. 
Hy. Wright, 1828. 

J. Laurenson, 1832. 

Jos. Tate, 1835. 

Hy. Brigham, 1840. 

Bernard Jarrett, 1846. 

Jas. Brownbill, 1855. 

Jos. Lazenby, 1874. 

Walter Strappini, 1885. 

Thos. Parkinson, 1888. 

Roger Perrin, 1896. 

F. Jones, 1898. 

Jos. Kenny, 1904 to date. 



BUXTON, DERBYSHIRE (Not- 
tingham). St. Anne. 

In August 1845 Fr. O Farrell, 
of Leek, started the mission of 
Buxton by saying Mass there every 
Sunday at 7.30 A.M. Up to that 
time, the nearest Catholic chapel 
was twelve miles distant. That of 
Buxton was a small room, into 
which fifty persons used to crowd. 
In June 1846, when Dr. Gilligan, 
Bishop of Raphoe, was at Buxton, 
he said Mass at Mr. Campbell s 
house in Higher Buxton. The first 
stone of the present church was 
laid in July 1860, and the solemn 
opening took place in July 1861. 
The site was obtained from the 
Duke of Devonshire. The style is 
Gothic, and the building, which is 
of Reeve Edge Ripping stone, cost 
720, exclusive of external fittings. 
The patroness is St. Anne, to whom 
the holy wells of Buxton were 
dedicated in pre-Reformation times. 
Mgr. (afterwards Cardinal) Man 
ning preached on the occasion of 
the opening. The building, which 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



113 



will accommodate 200 persons, is 
a neat edifice of the Early English 
period of architecture. The cost 
of erection was defrayed by P. 
Hewitt, Esq., the plans being drawn 
by Fr. A. J. Scoles. 

Priests. 

Rev. Edw. McGreavy, 1861. 
W. A. Margison, 1863. 
Driscoll, here in 1872. 

(Vacant 1875). 
Rev. John Power, 1876. 

., Theodore Canon Hoeben, 

1888. 
Fredk. Kind, 1902 to date. 



BYER MOOR, BURNOPFIELD, 
DURHAM (Hexliam and Newcastle). 
The Sacred Heart, 

In 1830 the population of this 
district was under 150 inhabitants. 



By 1860 the place had become so 
greatly developed that a Catholic 
chapel was a necessity. A school 
chapel was erected here in 1869. 
The new church at Lintz Green 
was opened 1876. A cemetery was 
laid out at the same time. 

Priests. 

Rev. Patrick Mathews, 1869. 
Jn. Wilson, 1879 to date. 



BYKER, near NEWCASTLE-ON- 
TYNE (Hexliam and Neivcastle). 
St. Lawrence. 

The new church was solemnly 
opened April 24, 1898. The Mass 
was sung by Prior Buckler, of St. 
Dominic s, from which mission the 
chapel is still served. 



114 







CAMBERLEY, SURREY (South- 
ivarlf). St. Tarcisius. 

This place was formerly known 
as Cambridge Town. The mission 
was established in 1872 by Lady 
Southwell, who generously gave a 
site for church and presbytery. The 
chapel is an iron building, capable 
of holding about 100 persons ; it 
was opened by Bishop Coffin, of 
Southwark, April 27, 1884. The 
fine statue of Our Lady of Lourdes 
was presented to the church by 
Miss Ross. Major Stafford and the 
late Col. Henderson, lecturer on 
tactics at the Staff College, were 
also generous benefactors to the 
mission. 

Priests. 
Rev. John McKenna, 1872. 

M. O Neill, 1882. 

John Golden, 1888. 

Thos. Ford, 1891. 

Alexander McAuliffe, 1895. 

W. Fichter, 1896. 

F. S. Bennett, 1898. 

P. Twomey, 1906 to date. 



CAMBERWELL, LONDON, S.E. 
(Southwark). The Sacred Heart. 

The mission was opened on 
Easter Monday 1860, when Mass 
was said at De Crespigny Lodge, 
Denmark Hill, by the late Fr. 
Claude Bernin, of Lyons. The 
district was then largely one of 
strawberry fields and market 
gardens. The next chapel was at 



Chepstow Cottage, which also served 
as the presbytery. This in turn 
was superseded by a chapel formed 
out of two or three cottages in 
Thomas Street, now Becket Street. 
A lay committee ably managed the 
temporalities of the mission, and a 
flourishing school was commenced 
under Mr. William Geoghegan. In 
1862 a temporary church was 
erected at a cost of 600, and opened 
by Bishop Morris. Fr. Bernin left 
in 1864, and for a time the church 
was served on Sundays by Fr. 
Power, afterwards of Canterbury. 
The next rector, Fr. Ed. Cahill, 
enlarged the church, and introduced 
the Sisters of Notre Dame as 
teachers in the girls and infants 
schools. The temporary church 
of 1862 was replaced by the present 
one in the Camberwell New Road, 
opened by Bishop Morris, February 
16, 1870. New schools for boys 
and girls were shortly afterwards 
built in Pitman Street. A second 
aisle and clerestory to the church 
were opened by Bishop Danell, 
August 12, 1872, the sermon being 
preached by Archbishop Manning. 
The presbytery, for three priests, 
was completed in 1875. Fr. 
McGrath, under whom these build 
ing developments were carried out, 
was appointed to the mission in 
1869, and in 1882 became Canon of 
Southwark. He removed to Wey- 
bridge 1898, when he was succeeded 
by Canon W. Murnane, of Red 
Cross Street, the present rector. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



115 



CAMBORNE, WEST CORNWALL 

(Plymouth). St. John the Baptist. 
In the eighteenth century the 
Catholics of Camborne were some 
times able to hear Mass at Tolfrey, 
the residence of the Couche family, 
where there was a chapel and resi 
dent chaplain. Fr. Hayman died 
here April 30, 1756, aged eighty- 
seven. The present mission dates 
from 1851. The number of Catholics 
at Camborne at that time is re 
ported to have been scarcely fifty. 
Mass was said occasionally in a small 
hired room by a priest from Pen- 
zance. In 1853 the congregation 
had increased to 253. Mr. Pike, a 
convert gentleman, fitted up a stable 
loft as a chapel. In 1858 the 
Catholic population had risen to 
one thousand, owing principally to 
Irish immigration. The stone of 
the new Gothic church was blessed 
and laid by the Bishop of Plymouth 
on June 24, 1858. Fr. James 
Carey was priest at this time. The 
building was opened May 26, 1859. 

Priests. 
Rev. Eichard Mansfield, 1853. 

James Carey, 1857. 

William Cassey, 1860. 

Leo Croutelle, here in 1872. 

Arthur McKey, 1882. 

John McCarthy, 1885. 

Edward Barry, 1892. 

Laurence O Loughlin. 



CAMBRIDGE (Northampton). 
Our Lady and the English Martyrs. 

Though it was not until 1854 that 
the B.A. degree of the universi 
ties of Oxford and Cambridge was 
opened to Catholics, several distin 
guished adherents of the old religion, 
as the Duk-3 of Norfolk, LordEdward 
Howard, and Cardinal Acton, made 
their higher studies at Cambridge. 
Kenelrn Digby, the well-known 



author of Mores Catholici, joine 
the Church from the university 
in 1825, and Mr. Ambrose Lisle 
Philipps in 1838. Some time after 
1820, when Sir Thomas Keddington 
was at Cambridge, his mother, who 
resided near his college, opened her 
dining-room as a chapel on Sundays 
to enable the Irish agricultural 
labourers of the district to hear 
Mass. In 1841 the first mission in 
Cambridge was established by Fr. 
Shenley. The chapel was in a cot- 
tage at Barnwell, a suburb of the 
town, the requisites for offering 
Mass being borrowed from the 
chapel at Sawston House, the resi 
dence of Major Huddlestone. Such 
I numbers attended Mass on Sundays 
! that Fr. Shenley resolved on build- 
I ing a church. Great indignation 
was manifested at this in the Uni- 
j versity when the project became 
i known. On November 5 a large 
i body of students assembled to tear 
j up the foundations, but retreated at 
the prospect of an encounter with a 
body of burly Irishmen and a force 
of special constables under the com 
mand of the mayor, Thomas Fisher, 
Esq. 

The church, designed by Pugin, 
was opened on the feast of St. 
George 1843, by Bishop Wareing, 
V.A. of the Eastern district. Bishop 
Wiseman preached to a crowded 
congregation. The church, dedicated 
to St. Andrew, Apostle, was pro 
nounced by the Camden Society to 
be a hidden gem. By the early 
eighties it was totally inadequate 
for the size of the congregation, and 
a new building was resolved on by 
Canon Scott, M.A., the resident 
priest. The cost of this new build 
ing was borne by Mrs. Lyne 
Stephens, a great benefactress to 
the Catholic Church in England. 
The foundation stone of the church 
and presbytery was laid by Bishop 
I 2 



116 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Riddell, of Northampton, June 80, 
1887. Messrs. Dunn, and Hansom 
were the architects. The building 
was opened with much ceremony 
in 1890. The style of the church is 
Gothic. The interior of the struc 
ture is very ornate, and the belfry 
is provided with a fine peal of bells 
playing musical chimes. 



CAMPDEN, GLOUCESTERSHIRE 

(Clifton}. 

The new church, in the Per 
pendicular style (temp. Henry IV. 
and V.), was opened on Septem 
ber 3, 1891. Fr. Lloyd, the rector, 
was mainly instrumental in erecting 
it. He was assisted to a large ex 
tent in the good work by the Earl 
of Gainsborough, who, in addition to 
monetary aid, presented the site. 
The stones of the old chapel at 
Westington were utilised for the 
new building. The Papal arms, 
with those of the Earl and Countess 
of Gainsborough, are displayed in 
the church. A statue of St. 
Catherine, the patroness of the 
church, stands in a niche over the 
main entrance. The altar of the 
Lady Chapel is in memory of Lad} 7 
Constance Bellingham. W. Lunn, 
Esq., of Malvern, was the architect. 
A school chapel was opened here 
in September 1869, and used for 
worship till the opening of the pre 
sent church. 

Priests. 

Rev. Vincent Ferreri, here in 1869 
till after 1886. 

Bernard Lloyd, here in 1888. 

John Wenham, 1898. 

Felix May, 1902 

Ignatius Gurd, 1904. 



CANNINGTON, SOMERSET (Clif. 
tori). The Holy Name. 

The mission was founded when 
the first Lord Clifford of Chudleigh 
received the estate from Charles II. 
in 1672. A chaplain was main 
tained there till about 1768, when 
the mission appears to have been 
closed, the last priest being Fr. 
W. Sullivan. In 1807, Charles sixth 
Lord Clifford gave Cannington 
Court House to a community of 
Benedictine nuns, whose chaplain 
attended to the spiritual welfare of 
the revived mission. It is interest 
ing to note that a Benedictine con 
vent was founded at Cannington 
in the troubled reign of Stephen by 
Robert de Courcy,the establishment 
consisting of an abbess and six or 
seven nuns. 

Fr. Richard O Meara was chap 
lain at Cannington in 1827. In 
1831 the nuns removed to Little 
Hey wood, in Staffordshire, but they 
made over the house and chapel at 
Cannington to the V.A. of the 
Western district for the use of the 
mission. The priests after this 
were : 

Rev. T. Burgess and Abbe Pre- 
mord, 1832. 

Dr. Tuomy, 1833. 

T. Costello, 1835. 

James Platt, 1838. 

A. Byrne, 1841. 

T. Danson, 1845. 

E. Scully, 1845. 

F. English, 1851. 
Jn. Bouvier, 1864. 
Septimus Coxon, 1866. 
C. Kennard, 1875. 

The present rector is the Rev. 
John Archdeacon. 



CANNOCK, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). The Sacred Heart and Our 
Lady. 

In 1876 Bishop Ullathorne, of 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



117 



Birmingham, sent Fr. F. Duckett, 
of Eugeley, Staffordshire, to start a 
mission at Carmock. Aided by Sir 
Charles Clifford, a school and presby 
tery were erected at a cost of 2,000. 
The school children numbered 180 
in 1885. In 1899, a house known 
as Hall Court was transformed into 
a church. It was opened Decem 
ber 8 the same year. In December 
1901, the decorations of the sanc 
tuary were completed and stations 
of the Cross erected. 

Priests. 
Rev. F. Duckett, 1876. 

,, James B. Keating, 1879. 

Thos. Dickenson, 1882. 

James Giblin, 1891. 

,, Rowley O Keefe, 1893 to 
date. 



CANTERBURY, KENT (South 
ward). St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

Prior to I860, the chapel was at 
Hales Place (q.v.). In January of this 
year a temporary chapel was opened 
in a public dancing room at Canter 
bury. Two smaller rooms under 
neath served as schools for the 
scores of Catholic children in and 
around the town, but no Govern 
ment grant was received. A chapel 
was opened in White Horse Lane 
1866, and used up to the opening of 
the present place of worship in Bur- 
gate Street, April 1875. The site of 
the building and 1,000 towards 
the expense of erection were given 
by Mr. and Mrs. Hart. The plan 
comprises a nave of four bays 
approached by a south porch, with 
a sacristy on the south side of the 
chancel. The stone frontal dis 
plays incidents in the life of St. 
Thomas of Canterbury. A new 
Lady altar was presented by Miss 
Billington in December 1905. 



Priests. 

Rev. Thomas Richardson, 1860. 
Richard Power, 1871. 
Edmund Sheppard, 1905, 



CARISBROOKE, ISLE OF WIGHT 

(Portsmouth). 

The Dominicanesses, or Nuns of 
the Second Order of St. Dominic, 
founded 1215 by St. Dominic, had 
an English branch, established at 
Vilvorde, near Brussels, by Fr. 
(afterwards Cardinal) Howard in 
1661. The nuns came to England 
1794, and after several residences at 
Hartpury Court, near Gloucester, 
Hurst Green, Lancashire, &c., settled 
at Carisbrooke in a house presented 
to them by Elizabeth Countess of 
Clare in December 1866. They 
opened their chapel to the public, 
and thus a new mission was esta 
blished, Fr. Peter Sablon being the 
first chaplain. Fr. E. G. Kelly is 
the present incumbent. 



CARLISLE, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). St. Mary 
and St. Joseph. 

The Catholics in the city and 
district were attended during the 
penal times by the chaplains of 
the Howards of Corby Castle. 1 
Through the influence of Henry 
Howard, Esq., of Corby, a mission 
was established in the town in 
1798, though as late as 1824 the 
chapel was an upper room. The 

1 After the rebellion of 1745-6 many 
of the Jacobite prisoners at Carlisle were 
attended by the priest from Corby. 
Among these was Macdonald of Kinloch 
Moidart, a devout Catholic, and the only 
Highland chief executed for his share in 
the melancholy enterprise. His clay 
more and tartan coat are still preserved 
at Corby. 



118 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



main beam gave way at Easter of 
that year, and the apartment had 
to be supported by a strong prop ! 
A site for a chapel wa obtained 
from Lord Lonsdale for 400, and 
a building opened, 1825. The 
presbytery was erected at the same 
time. Mainly owing to a legacy 
left by Miss Lowry, of Durranthill 
(died 1871), the present church 
was commenced in 1891, and opened 
by Bishop Wilkinson, of Hexham 
and Newcastle, June 1893. The 
style is Perpendicular Gothic from 
design by Dunn and Hansom, and 
the structure occupies one of the 
finest sites in the city. A fine 
oak pulpit was presented by the 
Misses Fairbain, of Rugby. The 
seating accommodation of the 
church is for 700. Much of the 
credit of the building of this fine 
church is due to Canon Waterton, 
the present rector. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Joseph Marshall. 

Luke Canon Curry, 1854. 

Geo. Canon Waterton, 1879 
to date. 



CARLTON, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Mary. 

Fr. John Edisford, a Jesuit, 
laboured here for many years, i.e. 
from about 1685 till 1717. In three 
years he reconciled upwards of forty 
persons to the Church, and was 
in consequence singled out at the 
Revolution for special attack. He 
succeeded in hiding the altar plate, 
vestments, &c., but was so near 
capture himself that on one occa 
sion he had to lie close in a narrow 
hole while his pursuerg plundered 
the house. He was still on the 
mission in the district in 1710, en 
during every kind of hardship. The 
last Jesuit missioner at Carlton was 



Fr. William Allan, 1780-1. A Fr. 
Charles Houghton died here 1797, 
but whether a secular or religious 
does not appear. 

Priests since 1825. 
Rev. Jn. Billington. 

Geo. Canon Heptonstall, 1830. 

Mgr. Edward Goldie, 1877. 

James Canon Glover, 1882. 

Julius de Baere, 1890. 

Gustave Thonon, 1893. 

J. Hubert Offermann, 1895. 

Norman Waugh, 1903 to date. 



CARLTON, NOTTINGHAM. The 

Sacred Heart. 

Mass was first said here in 
recent times in 1877. In 1883 the 
church was opened. The style is 
Gothic. In April 1884 a powerful 
bell for the church was consecrated 
by Bishop Bagshawe. It bears the 
legend : Ste. Joannes Baptiste ora 
pro nobis. Fr. T. Hoeben was the 
first priest. 

Priests. 
Rev. T. Hoeben, 1877. 

F. Kind, 1888. 

Jn. Hardican, 1902. 



CARSHALTON, SURREY (South- 
warty. 

In 1793 the Dominicans of 
Bornhem, Flanders, came to Eng 
land after the suppression of their 
monastery by the French Re 
volutionary armies. They opened 
a school for boys at Carshalton, and 
the establishment was known as 
Bornhem House. The mansion is 
now the Convent. In 1812 it 
passed over to Mr. Win. Mylius, a 
well-known Catholic educationist, 
who renamed it the Primary Col 
lege. The Abbe Chabot, who was 
chaplain to the college, also at- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



119 



tended to the spiritual needs of 
the few local Catholics. After the 
removal of Mr. Mylius s establish 
ment to Chelsea in 1830, the 
mission was closed. The place 
again became a centre of Catho 
licity in 1893, when the Daughters 
of the Cross purchased Carshalton 
House, a fine mansion once be 
longing to Dr. Radcliffe, Queen 
Anne s physician, and opened a 
highly successful boarding school. 
They have also a day high school 
and the Catholic elementary 
schools. The fine Gothic church of 
the convent was built 1899-1900, 
from design of C. Ingress-Bell, Esq. 
It was consecrated October 12, 
1904, by Archbishop Bourne. 

Chaplains. 
Rev. James Nolan, 1893. 

Alfred Sharpe, M.A., 1905. 



CASTLEFORD, YORKS, WEST 
RIDING (Leeds). St. Joseph. 

The schools erected in 1877 
served the purpose of a chapel till 
1890, when the present church was 
built. The foundations were com 
menced on February 27. The 
building is in the Gothic style, and 
will accommodate about 500 per 
sons. For some years after the com 
mencement of the mission the place 
was served from Pontefracl. 

Priests. 
Kev. John Heweson, 1882 to date. 



CASTLETON, LANC3 (Salfonl). 
St. Gabriel and the Angels. 

Mission established 1879. A 
very nice school chapel, pre 
sented by a generous benefactor, 
was opened Sunday, January 25, 
1885. A revolving wooden shutter 
divided the sanctuary from the 



class-room. Fr. W. L. Fowler 
had charge of the mission at the 
commencement. 



CATERHAM, SURREY (South- 
war Jc). 

The church of the Sacred Heart 
was built 1880-1 by the late 
Captain Roe, father of the since 
incumbent, Fr. F. Roe. The struc 
ture is cruciform, in the Early 
English style, from designs by Mr. 
E. Ingress-Bell. The sanctuary 
has been recently adorned with 
elegant mosaic pictures illustrative 
of events in the life of Our Lord. 
Prior to the establishment of the 
mission, Fr. J. McKenna, of Croy- 
don, used to go over to Caterham 
occasionally to attend to the 
spiritual wants of Catholic soldiers 
in the Guards depot and local 
Catholics generally. During the 
building of the present church a 
temporary chapel was generously 
erected for the use of the Catholic 
Guardsmen by the officers of the 
several regiments connected with 
the place. The new church was 
solemnly opened by Cardinal 
Manning, Thursday, August 11, 
1881. 



CATFORD, LONDON, S.E. (South- 
war Jc) . 

A plain Romanesque church 
designed by the late F. W. Tasker, 
of Bedford Row, was opened for 
worship in Sangley Road, Catford, 
by Bishop Amigo, of Southwark, on 
Tuesday, September 13, 1904. 
Among the congregation present 
were Alderman and Sheriff Sir 
Stuart Knill and Lady Knill, 
Canon O Halloran, &c. The 
building, which at present accoiu- 



120 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



modates upwards of 150, is capable 
of being considerably enlarged. 
The cost of erection was defrayed 
by an anonymous benefactress. 
Fr. E. Escarguel is the first and 
present rector. 



CATFORTH, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Eobert. 

This church was erected through 
the zeal of Fr. John Bilsborrow 
afterwards Bishop of Salford. The 
building was opened July 29, 1877. 
In 1889 the interior was painted 
and decorated. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Bilsborrow, 1877. 

Martin Mahony, 1878. 

Geo. Dobson, 1880. 

Peter J. Kane, 1885. 

Michael Eyan, 1886. 

James Welsby, 1892. 

John Tomlinson, 1894. 

John Donohoe, 1903. 

Andrew Flynn, 1904. 



CAVERSHAM, OXFORDSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. Our Lady and 
St. Anne. 

Mission started in 1896. There 
were at this time only thirteen prac 
tical Catholics in the village, but by 
the time the schools of Our Lady and 
St. Anne were opened, Thursday 
August 31, 1899, the congregation 
had risen to 120, eighty of these 
being regular church-goers. Before 
the erection of the schools, Mass was 
said in the chapel of the convent 
belonging to the Soeurs de Miseri- 
corde. The schools, which afford 
accommodation for some 114 chil 
dren, w r ere used as a chapel until 
the opening of the present church 
in 1902. 



Priests. 

Fr. Eaymond Haskew, 1896. 
Fr. W. Wells, 1902. 



CAVERSWALL, near CHEADLE, 
STAFFS (Birmingham). St. Filu- 
mena. 

The Benedictines of Ghent came 
to England in 1794, and after set 
tling for a time at Preston, in Lan 
cashire, they purchased Caverswall 
Castle and fitted it up as a monas 
tery, about 1811. By Bishop Mil- 
ner s desire, the chapel was opened 
to the public, and Fr. Richard Eich- 
mond placed in charge of the mis 
sion. In 1812, a larger chapel was 
founded, and opened on St. Poly- 
carp s Day 1813. The Catholic popu 
lation grew so rapidly that a chapel 
had to be erected in Lane End, near 
Caverswall, 1819. Fr. Eichmond 
was succeeded by Fr. Hubbard. In 
1854 the Benedictines removed to 
Oulton, near Stone, and the castle 
came into the possession of a distin 
guished Catholic gentleman, Mr. 
Eadcliffe, by whom the present 
Gothic church was built. The 
stone was laid by Bishop Ulla- 
thorne on the Thursday of Easter 
week 1863, and the opening took 
place on January 28, 1864. Gil 
bert Blount was the architect. 
For some time after its opening 
the church was served from 
Longton. 



CHARLTON, near WOOLWICH, 
KENT (Southward). 

In 1903 the Oblates of the 
Assumption, expelled from France 
under the law against religious 
associations, opened a rchool chapel 
at Charlton. The congregation as 
ascertained at present (1906) num. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



121 



bers about 250. The school, which 
is under the direction of the Sisters 
of the Assumption, gives instruc 
tion to about sixty children. The 
chapel was merely a large room of 
the convent, and was used till the 
opening of the present Komanesquc 
Church, September 8, 1906. The 
internal decoration is very har 
monious, the altar-piece being a 
representation of the Madonna and 
Child. 



CHASETOWN, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Joseph. 

In 1881 the Catholic population 
of Chasetown was estimated at 
350 adults and 60 children. The 
nearest chapel was six miles off. 
In the above-mentioned year an 
eligible site for a church was pro 
cured, and in 1883 the present 
edifice was opened. 

Priests. 
Bev. Geo. Bunce, 1883. 

Francis McCarrick, 1888. 

Fredk. Williams, 1895. 

Charles Brain, 1897 to date. 



CHATHAM, KENT (Southward). 

For the early history of Chatham 
see OLD BROMPTON. In 1859 the 
chapel accommodated 300. The 
Catholic population amounted to 
1,500, including Stroud and Ko- 
chester. Of these, 500 were soldiers 
of the garrison. About ^300 was 
collected to enlarge the building, 
but, on consideration, the rector, 
Fr. J. Morley, deemed it advisable 
to build a new church. The first 
stone was laid by Bishop Grant 
October 10, 1862. The style chosen 
was Lombardo-Gothic, from design 
by H. Glutton, Esq. The cost of 
the shell was about 11,700. On 



June 25, 1863, the building was 
opened by Bishop Grant, upon 
which occasion Mgr. (Cardinal) 
Manning preached (Matt, xxvii. 19). 
The fine painting which forms the 
altar-piece was presented by the 
late Bishop Butt. The organ, pur 
chased from St. John s Protestant 
Church, in the town, was con 
structed in 1829. Some few years 
ago the church was renovated and 
embellished by the late rector, 
Canon H. Cafferata, now of Sutton. 
The registers of the mission go back 
to about 1790, when the chapel was 
at Old Brompton. 



CHEADLE, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Giles. 

This fine church was built at the 
sole cost of John sixteenth Earl of 
Shrewsbury, and was consecrated 
September 1, 1846. The style is 
Decorated Gothic, the plan com 
prising nave, north and south aisles, 
Lady Chapel, and spire (200 ft.). 
The east window has for subject 
the genealogy of Our Lord. A 
handsome rood-screen separates the 
sanctuary from the body of the 
church. The opening ceremony 
was attended by all the Vicars- 
Apostolic, the Earl and Countess 
of Shrewsbury, the Archbishops of 
Sydney and Damascus, the Austrian 
Ambassador, &c. Bishop Gillis, of 
Edinburgh, preached (Ps. cxxii. 
1,2). 

The mission formerly formed 
part of that of Cresswell. Fr. 
Wareing, the priest of that place, 
finding many Catholics at Cheadlc 
in danger of losing their faith, 
opened a chapel there in a private 
house. This place of worship prov 
ing inadequate, a disused Militia 
storehouse (60 ft. by 20 ft.) was pur 
chased and turned into a chapel. 



rMil.lsll (\\THOLir MISSIONS 



In 1884 the number of coinmuni- 

i-ants ut rhoadlo numbered ninety. 
The establishment of the mission. 
iTivtion of t ho schools, e.. is 
entirely due to tho sixteenth Karl 
of Shrewsbur. 




Mission served from Cr 

ISIS j;> by Krs. \Yareini,* 
and Haddoley. 
Rev. Gates. 1824! 

- JetYries i first resident 

priest), 18 27. 
Francis Fairfax, 1834, 
n AVni. Gubbins, 1S4S. 
Jaines Canon Jones, 1S5(>. 
Stuart Eyre Bathurst, I860. 
E. H. Hunter, here 1871. 
Walter Morris, 1876 to date. 



CHEAM. SURREY. St. Anthony s 
Hospital. 

A mission was established here J 
in the reign of Charles I., and 
served from the chapel of Queen 
Henrietta Maria. In 1755 the 
place was attended by the chap 
lains from the Portuguese Embassy. 
The register dates from about this 
tune. During this period, Fr. Win. 
Heatley, O.S.B., was instrumental 
in converting over fifty protestants 
to the Faith, which led to a prose 
cution being instituted against him 
by the Rev. J. King, rector of the 
paxish. The chapel would appear 
to have been in the house of the 
Dowager Lady Petre, who long 
resided here. It was searched in 
1745 the year of the Jacobite 
rising for a secret supply of arms 
which it was alleged existed there. 
In 1780, one Wm. Bryant, a 
Catholic, was hounded to his 
grave in the parish churchyard 
by the hellish rabble of Lower 
Cbeaiu. The mission would appear I 



to have boon closed shortly after 
17SS. 

In 1904 the Daughters of the 
Cross Nuns acquired North Cheani 
House from F. Burdett, Esq., and 
on June 21 of the same year 
opened a hospital for conva 
lescents. The chapel serves the 
mission, which, exclusive of the 
hospital, has a Catholic population 
of about sixty, mostly resident at 
Worcester Park, j.v., some two 
miles distant. 

8owr / /: *t* ofikt Old Mutton, 
Rov. ,losoph Ha nsbie, 174 2. 

--Heathe, 1753. 

Wm. Heatley, O.S.B., 1755. 

B. Bradshaw, 1761. 

B. Harris, 1772. 

J. Brewer, O.S.B., 1776. 

J. Placid Naylor, O.8.B., 1776. 

Benedict Short. O.P., 1785. 
Priests of the Modern Mission of 

Ki v. G. Ciallea, lik i. 
Mannaduke Langdale. 1905. 
Bernard W. Kelly, 1905. 



CHEESEBURN GRANGE. NORTH 
UMBERLAND (Hcxham and New 
castle). St. Francis Xavier. 

Cheescburn Grange is tlie an- 
cestral seat of the Biddells. who 
inherited the estate from the Wid- 
dringtons. The date of the esta 
blishment of the mission is 1768. 
The Dominicans had charge of the 
chapel, Fr. James Sharp, O.P., 
being the first priest. He was 
probably the Fr. J. Sharp who 
* died the enviable death of charity 
on the 28th February, 1801, by at 
tending the infected at Coventry* 
(Oliver). Another priest, Fr. Phil- 
lips, died at the Grange August 7, 
1783. The baptismal Hst com- 
mences 1775. The public chapel 
of Cheesebu.ru Grange was duly 



HJ8H < ATHOJ.ir MI , no] , 






certified a.s a place of public reli 
gious worship in the year of Oar 
Lord \T.K; in parsuanec <>f the 
Catholic Belief Act of the previous 
year. The church underwent ex- 

fcensiV 

tion in 1002, 



. .\>,!.n I .:*. 

J. Fleet. 

John Leadbitter, 1815, 

Tho*. Cock, 1817, 

The*. Gillett, 1850. 

Edward Oxford, 1856. 

Frauds Trappe, 1858, et *eq. 

(Vacant 1875). 
Wm. Baron, here in 1883, till 

1893, 

Hy. Blake, 1892. 
M. P. Horgan, 1893. 
Patrick Matthews, 1896. 
Henry WalracHley, 1899 to 

fate, 



CHELMSFORD, ESSEX < \V <:>.!. - 
f :r). 

The church here was the first in 
England to be dedicated to the 
Immaculate Conception, It was 
opened by Bishop Wiseman Octo- 
ur 21, 1847. Before this time, Mass 
was said in one of the rooms of the 
schools erected in 1845, in which 
year the mision was started. The 
building wasconsecratedOctoU-r 20, 
1866. The architect of the church, 
which accommodates 1, 000, waJ.J. 
Scoles. The CathoUc population of 
the place in 1860 was about 500. 
The new Lady altar, presented by 
Mrs. C. Wells, was blessed Octo 
ber 9, 1904. 

Priests. 
0. P. King, 1845. 

C. Batt, 1867. 

J. I adbury, M.R., 1885. 

C, Shepherd, 1901 to date. 



CHKLXLA. LONDON. S W 

. 
( .:. <:-.!. I , . 



The church WM opened by Car- 
Urn] V;, ,^;.,,:. Ctekiw 28, 1800, 
The style is Italian of the Endish 

1 :.<-.": ... : :.: . , . . ^\ . :t \ 

at til* west end. This church is 

V..t, .:.-:. -:<: \ -. i r, >:. ,:. ].^-:.:. 

M : . .. : .:/ : ... .H.Ullt Pft b. 

. .:. : p." . :. . .- : V,. . 



CHELSEA, LOHDOH, 8.W. 

Bt. Mary s Church owes its 
foundation to the Abbe* Voyaux, 
one of the most distinguished of 
the tmigrt clergy. He was, at the 
time of the Revolution, professor of 
the Sorboime, hon. canon of the 
BoyalChapelof St, Denis, and pre 
sident of the College of Treneeinque* 

If. :.. . r.;.:.j ; r : . ;..- ( ..,-. ,r : : : v, . : , ;, 

poor room over a shop in a back 
street, but his zeal subsequently 

-, ,.-: .- v, < ... 1-1^ *.. - 

recent Church of St. Mary. The 
Abbfc had chiefly in view thf: 
spiritual needs of the hundreds of 
Catholic veterans in the Boyal 
Hospital of Chelsea, many of whom 
had lost some or other of their 
Umtw- in fitting their pastor s 
countrymen in Spain or Flanders, 
The cost of the church was 6,000, 
of which a considerable portion was 
subscribed by Louis XVIIL and 
the exiled nobility of France. Sir 
Robert Peel, the great itttfmnnn, 
gave 800, The building WM very 
plain until 1856, when extensive 
improvements were effected by 
Messrs. Barff &. Co. These con 
sisted of three fresco altar piece* 
in thft Italian style. The pilasters 
of the church were adorned with 
paintings of the Apostles. Cardinal 
Weld, after his ordination to the 
priesthood in 1821, was curate at 



124 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Chelsea for some years till his 
health gave way. He was con 
secrated Bishop of Amycla in 1826, 
and created cardinal at Kome by 
Pius VIII. in March 1830. Not 
withstanding his having been twice 
solicited to return to France by 
Louis XVIII. and Charles X., the 
Abbe Voyaux refused to leave his 
beloved flock at Chelsea, though it 
is certain that an archbishopric and 
a cardinal s hat awaited him in his 
native country. He died in Novem 
ber 1840, aged eighty-one. The old 
church having longoutlived its capa 
bilities, Canon Macmullen, in June 
1876, appealed for funds for a new 
building. The first stone of the pre 
sent structure designed by J. F. 
Bentley was laid in July 1877 by 
Cardinal Manning, who employed 
for the purpose the silver trowel 
used at the founding of Moorfields 
Church in 1817. The building, 
which is a fine specimen of the 
Early English style, was opened in 
May 1879. 



CHELTENHAM, GLOUCESTER 
SHIRE (Clifton). St. Gregory the 
Great. 

In October 1809, Fr. Aug. Bird- 
sail, O.S.B., came to Cheltenham 
from Bath and started the mission. 
He was assisted by Richard Rawe, 
Esq., and on June 3, 1810, he 
opened the old chapel, which was 
several times enlarged. During the 
riot in November 1850, aroused by 
the restoration of the hierarchy, the 
building was much damaged, but 
all the loss was made good by the 
Hundred, arid also from the private 
subscriptions of distinguished in 
dividuals, as Mr. Greiiville Berkeley, 
M.P., Colonel the Hon. Browne, 
&c. The present cruciform church, 
designed by C. Hansom, was opened 



by Bishop Clifford, of Clifton, in the 
presence of Cardinal Wiseman, the 
mayor and corporation, &c., May 
1857. The east window is the gift 
of J. Fitzherbert, Esq., of Swyner- 
ton. The building was consecrated 
November 6, 1877. 

Priests. 

Rev. Aug. Birdsall, O.S.B., 1809. 
Christopher Shann, 1834. 
Hy. Paillet, 1843. 

A. Glassbrook, 1849. 

Ambrose Gotham, 1851. 

Robt. Wilkinson, 1874. 

E. Anselm O Gorman, 1889. 

Robt. Wilkinson, 1890 to date. 



CHEPSTOW, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport}. St. Mary. 

Mr. Gimter, of Chepstow Grange, 
was the chief Catholic in the district 
at the end of the seventeenth century. 
The chapel in the house was served 
by the Jesuits (1685). Fr. W. 
Gunter, who suffered for the Faith 
1588, was probably a member of 
this family. The mission was after 
wards served by the Franciscans. 
Bishop Collingridge, V.A.W.D., 
resided here for some time 
after 1807. Forty years later the 
mission was in a very precarious 
condition, being in want of a school 
and presbytery, and having but an 
income of 80 for all purposes. 
Catholics then numbered 147, and 
in 1864 250. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Jn. Williams, . 

P. Yates, 1831. 
- Kelly, 1833. 

J. Carbery, 1835. 

R, Hartley, 1837. 

W. Woolett, 1841. 

Thos. Cody, 1843. 

P. Millea, 1850. 

John Dawson, 1852. 

Francis Trapper, 1854. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



125 



Rev. Thos. Fenn, 1857. 
David Lambe, 1861. 
John 13. Quaid,hcre 1867, and 

till 1895. 

M. Vandenberghe, 1895. 
H. E. Stuart Mills, 1897. 
J. B. Conway, 1903 to date. 



CHERTSEY, SURREY (South- 

warty . 

On the conversion of Lord and 
Lady Holland to the Catholic 
faith in 1850, a domestic chapel 
was opened at St. Anne s Hill, 
Chertsey, the country seat of the 
Holland family. For many years, 
Fr. Charles Comberbach was chap 
lain. This excellent priest was a 
convert to Catholicity, and for some 
years before going to St. Anne s Hill 
was stationed at the Priory, Prince- 
thorpe. He died in 1890, aged 
ninety-two. Lady Holland died in 
1889, when the estate passed to her 
kinsman, Lord Ilchester, a protes- 
tant, but the chapel was kept up 
till the death of Fr. Comberbach. 
For some years subsequent to this, 
a small basilica- shaped chapel on 
the Woburn Park estate (St. 
George s College) did duty as a 
place of worship for Chertsey 
Catholics, who were under the 
spiritual care of Fr. O. Turner, 
prefect of studies at the college. 
About 1893 the mission of Chertsey 
was served every Sunday from the 
diocesan seminary, Wonersh, by 
Fr. S. Banfi, D.D. Fr. Banfi was 
succeeded by the present Fr. Domi 
nic Brownrigg, of the Salesian con 
gregation. The chapel is an iron 
building in the Eastwood Road, 
and adjoins the Convent of Our 
Lady Help of Christians. The 
congregation is about 100. The 
Marquis of Ruvigny and Eaineval, 
the distinguished historian and 



heraldist, is the most noted member 
of the congregation. 



CHESTER (Shrewsbury), St. 

Werburgh, Grove Park Road. 

The mission appears to have 
been once served by the Jesuits. 
Fr. J. Cuffaud, S.J., died there 
March 19, 1715, a martyr of 
charity in attending the sick 
prisoners. These were probably 
Jacobites who had taken part in 
the rebellion on behalf of James III , 
the Old Pretender. The chapel 
at Chester, dedicated to St. Wer- 
burgh, was founded by Bishop 
Pens wick in Queen s Street in 1799. 
The seating capacity was for 210. 
In Lent 1846, Fr. Gaudentius gave 
a mission here, when the chapel 
was crowded to suffocation at all 
three daily services. In 1850 the 
Catholics of Chester numbered be 
tween 3,000 and 4,000. The school 
room adjoined the chapel, and 
by cutting holes in the dividing 
wall 400 children were enabled to 
hear Mass on Sundays. In addi 
tion to the civilians, large numbers 
of the garrison were Catholics. In 
November 1850, Fr. E. Carbery, 
the priest of the mission, appealed 
to Mr. Wilbraham, formerly M.P. 
for South Cheshire, for help in 
building a school, but that gentle 
man declined on the ground of the 
insolent usurpations of Pius IX. 
and Cardinal Wiseman in the 
matter of the restored hierarchy. 

The old church of St. Werburgh 
in Queen Street was replaced by 
another and larger structure in the 
Gothic style in the Grosvcnor Park 
Road, 1873-5. Between 1883-6 
nearly 700 was expended in im 
proving the interior of this hand 
some church. In April of the last 



126 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



named year the windows of the 
apse were filled in with stained 
glass, the designs being subjects 
taken from Onr Lord s Passion. 
The window at the back of the 
altar given by G. Hostage, Esq. 
has a representation of the Cruci 
fixion, with a lower medallion of St. 
George. A third window repre 
sents the Resurrection, with lower 
and separate views of the old and 
new St. Werburgh s. 
Priests. 
Rev. Jas. Lancaster, 1794. 

Thos. Penswick, 1796. 

Jn. Ashurst, 1815. 

Jn. Briggs (Bishop of Bever- 
ley 1850), 1818. 

Jn. Wilcock, 1833. 

Edw. Canon Carbery, 1838. 

Hy. Hopkins, 1861. 

P. Lahaye, 1865. 

W. Walton, 1867. 

Canon Buquet, 1868. 

Wilfrid Dallow, 1882. 

Canon Lynch, 1883. 



CHESTER. St. Francis, Gros- 
venor Street, Franciscans. 

In 1858, Mass was said at Bishop 
Lloyd s house, Water Gate Bow. 
In 1860 a shed at 25 Watergate Bow 
was fitted up as a chapel. On 
June 16, 1864, a temporary wooden 
chapel for 500 persons was opened 
on the present church site. The 
present Gothic church was opened 
April 29, 1875, by Bishop Hedley, 
of Newport ; Cardinal Manning 
preached. The debt on the build 
ing was paid off by the Tatlock 
family in September 1899, and the 
edifice consecrated by Bishop Allen, 
of Shrewsbury, June 3, 1900. The 
monastery was opened in 1876 and 
the schools in 1882. 



Priests (O.S.F.) 

Fr. Seraphin, 1858. 

Elzear, 1858. 

Venantius, 1859. 

Pacificus, 1873. 

Nicholas, 1879. 

" Pacificus, 1882. 

Modestus, 1885. 

Bernard, 1888. 

Anthony, 1889. 

Fidelis, 1892. 

Bernardine, 1895. 

Ambrose, 1897. 

Seraphin, 1898. 



CHESTER-LE-STREET, DURHAM 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Cuthbert. 

The Recusants of the district 
paid 11,650 about 60,000 of 
modern money in fines for non- 
attendance at the parish church in 
1632. In 1847 Fr. Jos. Sheridan, 
O.S.B., of Birtley, had charge of 
the few Catholics here. The pre 
sent mission dates from 1881, when 
the chapel a small brick building 
in a back lane was opened in 
Lumley Terrace. A site for a large 
church has recently, it is said, been 
given by the Earl of Durham. A 
school chapel (73 ft. by 24 ft.) was 
completed towards the end of 1888. 

Priests. 
Rev. Hy. Blunden, 1881. 

Michael Greene, 1888. 

E. Barnett, 1889. 

Geo. Mendham, 1891. 

Ignatius Beale, 1893. 

Francis Holmes, 1895. 

Patrick Kearney, 1902 to date. 



CHESTERFIELD, DERBYSHIRE 

(Nottingham). Mount St. Mary s. 

Spinkhill, near Chesterfield, was 

the ancient seat of the Pole family, 

and one of the earliest centres 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



127 



of labour of the English Jesuits. 
It is not quite certain when the 
Fathers first made the place their 
abode, but we read of a Fr. John 
Pole, S.J., being sent from here to 
Valladolid in 1600 to teach theo 
logy. The last of the family was 
John Pole, Esq., who died in 1718. 
His widow, Madame Ursula Pole, 
survived till 1751, and after her 
death the estates passed to the 
Jesuits, under her husband s will. 
There is a tradition that Fr. Kobert 
Parsons (1546-1610) lived at the 
hall for some time. In 1721 the 
chapel is described as containing, 
among other items, a green silk 
vestment, two velvet antependiums, 
gilt silver chalice and paten, two 
pyxes, missal, four lacquered candle 
sticks, etc. Forty-seven baptisms 
are recorded at Spinkhill between 
1757 and 1766. Many local 
Catholics were interred in the 
burial ground attached to the 
mission, which was used down to 
about 1835. Till the building of 
the new church in 1845, the chapel 
was a room at the top of the house. 
The residence of the Jesuits was 
known in the registers of the 
Society as the * College of the Im 
maculate Conception, but there is 
still some doubt whether the place 
during the penal times was not also 
a real school where Catholic boys 
were secretly instructed. The 
present College was commenced 
in 1842. Between 1844-6 was 
erected the first portion of the 
fine block of buildings of the 
College of Mount St. Mary s, to 
prepare youths so the first pro 
spectus ran for the higher ecclesi 
astical studies or for commercial 
pursuits. The Church was opened 
by Bishop Walsh, V.A., September 
21, 1846. The building was redecor 
ated and a new Gothic altar erected, 
1896. A sacrist v and south tribune 



were added 1864. The old Spink 
hill chapel is now used for sodality 
meetings. The new college build 
ings were erected 1876-7. Like 
Stonyhurst, St. Edmund s, and other 
Catholic foundations of a similar 
nature, the college has long since 
outgrown its original dimensions, 
and now ranks as one of the most 
complete educational establish 
ments in England. The number 
of students is about 150. 

Rectors of the College (S.J.) 
Eev. Wm. Cobb, 1846. 

Francis Clough, 1847. 

John Baron, 1848. 

Maurice Mann, 1854. 

Geo. Tickell, 1859. 

Thos. Williams, 1862. 

Thos. Dykes, 1873. 

John Clayton, 1879. 

Henry Parker, 1888. 

Geo. Haggins, 1893. 

Francis Payne, 1901 to date. 



CHICHESTEK, SUSSEX (South- 
warty. St. Richard. 

The first priest to reside at 
I Chichester was Fr. John McDonald, 
I in 1854, during which year the 
I church was commenced. The 
opening took place in 1855. The 
style is Early English. The struc- 
ture comprises a nave, chancel, and 
! sacristy from the design by War- 
dell. Fr. J. F. Wilkinson was 
incumbent from 1855 till his death 
in October 1866. While a priest 
at Clewer Green, near Windsor, 
he had the somewhat unusual 
honour of being presented to King 
William IV. by Lord Melbourne. 
He lies interred in the church near 
the vault of the late Lady New- 
burgh, who died in 1860. 

Priests. 

Eev. Jn. McDonald, 1854. 
J. F. Wilkinson, 1855. 
Victor Duke, 1866 



128 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Thos. Lalor, 1874. 
Edward Clcry, 1878. 
W. Bolgcr, 1897. 
Edmund Miller, 1900 to date. 



CHIDEOCK, DORSET (Plymouth). 

Our Lady of Martyrs and St. Ig 
natius. 

Chideock Castle, once the posses 
sion of the noble family of Arundell 
of Wardour, and now belonging to 
the Welds, was noted during the 
penal times as a refuge for priests, 
of whom some three were appre 
hended here. 1 The castle was 
held for Charles I. in the Civil War, 
and appears after that to have fallen 
into decay. The gateway was taken 
down in 1741, and the tower was 
in ruins in 175G. After the dis 
mantling of the castle, the chapel 
was removed to the upper room of 
a cottage in North Chideock. 
Another was opened on Easter 
Sunday 1811. The pious wish for 
a really fine church was finally 
realised in 1884, when the present 
building was opened by Bishop 
Yaughan, of Plymouth. 
Priests at Chideock (early list in 
complete). 
Rev. T. Pilchard, martyr, 1584-7. 

,, J. Cornelius, martyr, prior to 
1594. 

Hugh Green, 1605. Martyred 
1642. 

Higgs, 1680. 

F. Wm. Byfleet, about 1695 
till 1746. 



1 (1) Rev. Thos. Pilchard, M. A. (Balliol 
Coll., Oxon.), suffered at Dorchester for 
the Faith, March 21, 1587; (2) Rev. 
J. Cornelius at the same place, July 4, 
1594 ; (3) Rev. Hugh Green, executed at 
Dorchester, August 19, 1642, for exercis 
ing his functions as a priest. He had 
been at Chideock upwards of thirtj -seven 
years. 



Rev. Charles and Richard Shim 

mell, 1762-3. 

Joseph Clossette, 1779 (?). 
Philip Compton, d. 1788. 
Thos. Lewis, 1788-1809. 
Thos. Tilbury, 1809-40. 
Wm. Bond, 1840. 
Robt. Platt, 1844. 
M. Ryan, 1844-50. 

Mission vacant 1850-3. 
Thos. Basil, O.S B., 1853. 
Jn. Gallagher, 1853-4. 
Charles W. Price, O.S.B., 

1854. 

John Sinnot, O.S.B., 1855. 
J. B. Caldwell, O.S.B., 1857. 
C. W. Price (second time)! 

1861. 

T. Fenn, 1866. 
Henry Blunden, here 1872. 
Joseph Toohey, 1874. 
Francis Rotterman, 1877. 
Joseph Verres, D.D., 1885. 
Richard Canon Mansfield, 

1888. 

Joseph Randal Hurley, 1895. 
Hugh C. Briggs, 1899. 
Charles Gandy, 1903 to date. 

CHILD S HILL, HAMPSTEAD, 
N.W. (Westminster). 

This mission an offshoot from 
that of Hampstead was opened by 
Canon Purcel. The temporary 
chapel of the Convent of Franciscan 
Sisters was blessed, and Mass said 
there for the first time on November 
14, 1883. A house belonging to the 
Sisters was used as a temporary 
chapel and school. The Catholic 
population in 1883 was about 100. 
For some time the mission was 
served by the Passionist Fathers of 
Highgate, Mass being said in the 
house of a Catholic resident. The 
church was solemnly opened May 
22, 1888, by Dr. Weathers, Bishop 
of Amycla. The building can ac 
commodate about 250. Among 
those who assisted the building 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



129 



fund were Miss Mary Anderson 
(Madame Navarro), the celebrated 
actress, Madame Schumann, the 
Baroness Von Hugel, Major Gape, 
&c. 



CHILWORTH, near GUILDFORD, 
SURREY (Southwarty. The Holy 
Ghost. 

The Franciscan priory and 
church, in the Gothic style, were 
opened on Thursday, June 31, 1892, 
by Bishop Patterson. The cost of 
erection (7,000) was defrayed by 
Mgr. Wells, who further made a 
gift of 5,000 to the Fathers to 
free the church, etc., from debt. 
The monastery serves as the novi 
tiate for the English Franciscans. 
The Kev. Fr. Bede, the first guardian 
or superior of the place, did much 
to draw a congregation to the 
church, and would no doubt have 
formed the nucleus of a permanent 
one, when he was recalled to take 
up important mission work in the 
East End of London. The archi 
tect of the friary was F. A. Walters, 
Esq., of Westminster. The interior 
of the church is very striking, the 
chief objects of interest being a 
handsome rood, carved oak choir 
stalls, and mortuary chapel adorned 
with a handsome triptych of the 
Flemish school. 



CHIPPENHAM, WILTS (Clifton). 
St. Mary. 

The mission was started 1854. 
The chapel was erected by Jn. 
Pollen, Esq., of Eadbourne, and 
opened August 22, 1855. For some 
years the place was served from 
Bath, Frome, and Devizes, but be 
came an independent mission about 
1870. 



Priests since 1870. 
Kev. Hy. Hancock. 

Jn. Corbishley, 1882. 
Geo. Bailey, 1888. 
Ignatius Gurd, 1897. 
Francis McElmail, 1904. 



CHIPPING, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Mary, School Lane. 

James Dewhurst, Esq., of Lea- 
gram Hall, was prosecuted in 1586 
for harbouring one Guile, a Popish 
priest. The hall afterwards came 
into the possession of the Welds, 
and at the Lawnd or lodge of 
the estate lived Fr. Richard Pen- 
coth, or Penketh, S.J., who died 
here in August 1721 after many 
years missionary labour. A chapel 
appears to have been built some 
time prior to the accession of 
James II., and another in 1787 by 
Thos. Weld, Esq. This latter edifice 
measured 60 ft. by 25 ft., and wa& 
of very plain style. A third chapel 
was erected in 1827-8, and was 
served by the Jesuits till 1857. 
The site was presented by Mr. 
Weld. 

Priests since 1825. 
Eev. J. Reeve. 

P. Morrin, 1828. 

Edw. Morrin, 1832. 

Peacock, 1834. 

Edw. Morrin, 1836. 

Felix Poole, 1840. 

Jn. Middlehurst, 1842. 

Jas. Bateman, 1846. 

Peter de Blon, 1857. 

Jn. Canon Rimmer, 1860. 

Isidore de Gryse, 1866 to 
date. 



CHIPPING NORTON, OXFORD 
SHIRE (Birmingham). 

The mission was established in 
K 



130 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



1834, mainly through a bequest of 
one Mary Bowden, and the chapel, 
in the Classical style, erected 1837. 
An endowment was settled upon 
the incumbent by Miss Mary Bow- 
den. To commemorate the jubilee 
of the church a new chapel, sacristy, 
and organ loft were built by sub 
scription in 1888. 

Priests. 
Rev. Patrick Heffernan, 1834. 

Canon Mitchell, 1838. 

Joseph Abbott, 1854. 

Samuel Sole, 1879 to date. 



CHIPPING-SODBURY, GLOUCES- 
TERSHIKE (Clifton). St. Laurence. 

A mission was established at Hor- 
ton in 1708, when John Paston, 
Esq., of Norfolk, came to reside 
on his Gloucestershire estates. On 
the death of Wm. Paston, Esq., in 
1763, the estate was sold. Fr. Jas. 
Placid Waters, O.S.B., was chaplain 
1772-7. As late as 1855 there was 
living at Horton a very old man who 
remembered Mass being said at the 
Manor House in Mr. Wm. Pas- 
ton s time. After the selling of the 
estate, F. F. Pembridge and Ains- 
worth attended the mission. In 
1815, during Fr. Birdsall s time, 
the chapel was an upper room of a 
poor thatched cottage. A deal table 
served as an altar, and the congre 
gation consisted of about ten per 
sons. The chapel at the old hall 
remained intact as late as 1833, and 
contained, inter alia, " a well carved 
oak altar, a mahogany tabernacle, 
two old candlesticks, and a little 
bell on the altar steps on the epistle 
side with Ave Maria round the 
rim. The place is now the village 
school. The mission at Chipping- 
Sodbury proper was started in 
1838, the foundress being Mrs. 



Sarah Neve, widow of the Rev. 
Egerton Neve, a clergyman of the 
Established Church. She was the 
sister of the Countess de Front, wife 
of Philip Count de Front, the Sar 
dinian minister to the Court of St. 
James s (d. 1812), and known as a 
great benefactress to the Dover 
mission. Mrs. Neve purchased the 
largest inn at Chipping- Sodbury for 
1,300, and converted it into a 
chapel and presbytery. The priests 
there were Fr.Thos. Boiling, O.S.B. 
(October 26, 1838-40) ; Fr. Jerome 
Jenkins, O.S.B. (1840-1); Fr. 
Bernard Paillet (1841) ; Fr. Igna 
tius Sutton (1841- 5) ; Fr. Ambrose 
Duck (1845-6) ; Fr. Maurus Cooper 
(1846- January 1, 1869). Since his 
death the chief incumbents have 
been Fr. Placid Sinnot ; Fr. Ed 
mund Caldwell, Fr. Ignatius Stuart. 
The Catholic population of the 
place was about sixty in February 
1897. 



CHISLEHURST, KENT (South- 
St. Mary. 

This mission dates from 1852. 
The present cruciform church was 
opened August 8, 1854, mainly 
owing to the munificence of Cap 
tain Bowden, of the Scots Guards. 
Local Catholicity made great strides 
under Canon Todd, the well-known 
founder of the Boys Orphanage, 
Blackheath. Most of the congrega 
tion in his time (1855-60) consisted 
of poor Irish employed in the mills 
at Crayford, St. Mary Cray, and 
adjoining districts. During Canon 
Todd s incumbency, the present fine 
presbytery, in the Gothic style, was 
erected and opened. The mission 
will always be associated with the 
exile of Napoleon III., Emperor of 
the French, who, after the Franco- 
i German war, resided at Camden 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



131 



House, Chislehurst, from 1871 till 
his death in 1873 (January 9). 
Her Imperial Majesty the Empress 
Eugenie, and their son, the ill-fated 
Prince Imperial, were familiar 
figures in the neighbourhood. The 
Prince Imperial, after completing 
his studies at Woolwich, joined the 
Artillery (1875), and in March 1879 
proceeded to Zululand as a volun 
teer on Lord Chelmsford s staff. 
On June 1 he was slain while on 
reconnaissance. His obsequies at 
Chislehurst were attended by the 
Prince of Wales and a crowd of nota 
bles (July 12, 1879) . Bishop Danell, 
of Southwark, sang the Mass, as 
sisted by Canons Wenham Moore, 
Mgr. Goddard, Fr. Sammons, &c. 
In 1888 the bodies of Napoleon III. 
and the prince were removed to the 
Imperial Mausoleum, Farnborough 
(Hants), since 1881 the residence of 
the Empress Eugenie the sole 
remnant of a shipwreck which 
proves how fragile and vain are the 
grandeurs of this world. l Mgr. 
Goddard, rector since 1870, was suc 
ceeded by Fr. A. Boone, the present 
incumbent. A notable feature of the 
church is the beautiful recumbent 
monument to the Prince Imperial, 
erected by Mgr. Goddard shortly 
before he left the mission. A fine 
stained glass window and wrought 
iron screen were added to the 
Sacred Heart Chapel in October 
1906. 



CHISWICK, W. (Westminster). 
Our Lady of Grace and St. Edward. 

Mission established at Turnham 
Green May 3, 1864, by Fr. Ryan. 
Countess Tasker built the school, 
opened February 2, 1865. By 1880 
the district, which hitherto had been 

1 Letter of H.I. Majesty to Mgr. 
Goddard on his jubilee, June 1885. 



one of market gardens, was built 
over. The present church, in the 
basilica style, was opened in Octo 
ber 1886 by Cardinal Manning, 
The accommodation is for about 
600 ; cost of erection, 3,400. 

Priests. 
Eev. M. Kyan, 1864. 

John Doherty, 1869. 

Reginald Canon Tuke, 1881. 

, J. Keating. 



CHORLEY, WELD BANK, LANGS 

(Liverpool). St. Gregory the Great. 
The present mission is the repre 
sentative of an ancient one at Burgh 
Hall, the seat of the Rigby family. 
After the death of the last member, 
Sir Alex. Rigby, about 1700, the 
estate passed to the Chadwicks. In 
1774 Mr. Thomas Weld, fnther of 
Cardinald Weld, presented the mis 
sion with a chapel site at Chorley, 
and the priest, Fr. J. Chadwick, 
V.G. to Bishop Gibson, removed 
thither. From this time the place 
was known as Weld Bank. His 
successor, Fr. R. Thompson, V.G., 
erected the present chapel (1815). 
The high altar was put up by Fr. 
Lennon (1870-96). In 1854 the con 
gregation numbered 1,000. When 
the church was enlarged (1877) 
Catholics of the district were esti 
mated at 5,000. 



CHORLTON, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Augustine. 

St. Peter s Priory (Gregorians) 
was opened here 1892. The insti 
tute appears to have been discon 
tinued after 1896, when the mission 
was continued by seculars. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jerome Vaughan, 1892. 

Paul Klootson, 1896. 

Fredk. Holt, 1897 to date. 
K 2 



132 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



CHRIST CHURCH, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). The Immaculate Concep 
tion and St. Joseph. 

A mission was opened at Burton 
Green, near Christ Church at the 
commencement of the last century 
by the Abbe A. Cochet, an emigre 
priest. As the congregation was 
very poor, the Abbe supplemented 
his income by taking pupils. The 
Abbe would appear to have returned 
to France at the restoration of 
Louis XVIII. (1815). In 1822 the 
priest at Burton Green was Fr. J. 
Stapleton, and in 1835 Fr. K. Kelly. 
In 1864 (November) Bishop Grant, 
of Southwark, authorised by letter 
the Rev. B. Van Reeth, the priest 
of the mission, to collect funds 
towards building a small church in 
the town. The last priest at Bur 
ton Green was Fr. Van Eeeth, who 
transferred the mission to Christ 
Church. The present church was 
opened December 1866. A reredos 
and organ were added October 3878. 
Mr. Sperati, of Highbury, London, 
presented ground for a cemetery, 
which was consecrated, June 1880. 



CHUDLEIGH, UGBROOKE, DEVON 

(Plymouth). St. Cyprian. 

Thomas first Lord Clifford 
erected a domestic chapel at Ug- 
brooke Park 1671. After his con 
version he fitted it up in a splendid 
manner for Catholic worship (1672). 
The altar plate cost upwards of 
227. Next year the Test Act 
ousted Lord Clifford from his posi 
tion as Lord Treasurer (1673), an 
event which his lordship only sur 
vived a few months. He was buried 
in his owne chappell. A cemetery 
for Catholics was afterwards opened 
at the rear of the building. 



Priests. 

Rev. Thos. Risdon, 1701. 

,, Dominic Derbyshire, O.P., 

1735. 

James Price, O.S.B., 1757. 
Jas. Frost, O.S.F., 1758. 
Wm. Strickland, S.J., 1766. 
Jos. Reeve, S.J., 1767 (died 

here 1820, net. 87). 
Felix Vauquelin, 1794. 
Jas. Laurenson, S.J., 1816. 
Jas. Brownbill, S.J., 1830. 
Wm. Gotham, S.J., 1834. 
Chas. Lomax, S.J., 1845. 
Hy. Brigham, S.J., 1856. 
Pat. Walsh, 1867. 
Mgr. Thos. Reekie, 1877. 
Hy. Dowsett, 1901 to date. 



CIRENCESTER, GLOUCESTER 
SHIRE (Clifton). St. Peter. 

Fr. Anselm Glassbrook, O.S.B., 
fitted up a neat little chapel capa 
ble of holding 100 persons, which 
was opened January 23, 1855. This 
was the first time that Mass had 
been said in the town since the 
reign of Elizabeth. A larger chapel 
was opened in 1862. This continued 
till the completion of the present 
fine church in 1896. For some 
years after the mission was com 
menced it was served from Fairford 
and Stroud. In 1875 it was served 
from Woodchester, but only at the 
Eight Indulgences, and this state 
of dependence still continued in 
1883. By 1891 the mission had a 
resident priest, Fr. Jas. O Shaugh- 
nessy. Fr. J. Martin is the present 
rector. 



CLACTON-ON-SEA, ESSEX (West 
minster). Our Lady of Light. 

For some time prior to 1884 Fr. 
King used to come over once a 
month and say Mass in a disused 
Martello tower. The only Catholics 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



133 



at Clacton at that time were some 
coastguards and their families. In 
1884 Fr. Beale hired the Town Hall 
for Mass on Sundays. Owing to the 
generosity of two Catholic ladies, a 
chapel was opened at Montfort 
House, in the Church Eoad, in June 
1895. Mass was said here on 
June 27 by Fr. Beale, the sermon 
being preached by Fr. Lucas. The 
mission is now in charge of the 
Oblatcs of St. Charles. 



CLAPHAM, LONDON, S.W. (South- 
war k). St. Mary. 

On August 1, 1848, the Redemp- 
torist Fathers took possession of 
the old mansion which had for 
merly belonged to Lord Teign- 
mouth, and in which the famous 
Clapham sect had so often met. 
One of the rooms was converted 
into a chapel," and continued to 
serve the mission till the opening 
of the present church, which was 
consecrated by Cardinal Wiseman, 
October 13, 1852. Since that time 
no fewer than eight missions have 
been formed out of the wide area 
formerly served by the Redemptorist 
Fathers. The old house has re 
cently been supplanted by a new 
monastery. The church, which 
was used for the first time on 
May 14, 1851, was designed by 
Wardell. Above the chancel arch j 
is a fine fresco by Settegast. of 
Coblentz, representing the Last I 
Judgment. The accommodation 
is for about 600 persons. The | 
jubilee of the establishment of the 
mission was celebrated in the j 
summer of 1898. The first Fathers j 
to reside in the locality were the j 
Rev. Frs. de Held and Petcherine, 
C.S.S.R. Not far from the monas 
tery stands the mother house of 
the Notre I)amc Order, which also 



dates its commencement in this 
country from 1848. 

CIAPHAM, S.W. St. Vincent of 
Paul. See APPENDIX. 

CLAPHAM PARK, LONDON, S.W. 

St. Bede, Thornton Road. 

In September 1903 a large man 
sion in the Thornton Road was 
opened as a preparatory school to 
St. John s Seminary, Wonersh. 
The number of students in resi 
dence is about sixteen. The church 
adjoining is a plain commodious 
building in the Romanesque style, 
opened early in 1906. The school 
is dedicated to St. John Berchmans. 

Rectors. 
Rev. G. Fitzgibbon, 1903. 

M. P. Hanlon, 1905. 

A. Armstrong, 1906. 



CLAPTON, LONDON, N.E. (West 
minster). St. Scholastica s. 

The mission was founded in 1862 
by the Fathers of Charity from 
Kingsland. Till 1877 the chapel 
was a rented room in the London 
Road. In the November of the 
last-named year, Canon Bamber, of 
Thorndon, Essex, presided at a 
meeting to consider the erection of 
a permanent chapel. Fr. R. Swift 
was the priest in charge of the 
mission. As an outcome of the 
meeting a permanent chapel was 
opened about 1880. Fr. Swift was 
succeeded by Fr. Biale, the present 
rector. 



CLAUGHTON- ON -BROCK, GAR- 
STANG, LANCS (Liverpool). St. 
Thomas. 

Claughton Chapel, near Gar- 
stang, was the subject of a public 
inquiry in 1591. The regular 
succession of priests here dates 



184 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



from the time of Charles I. Fr. 
T. Whittaker, who suffered for the 
Faith August 7, 1646, was priest 
here. His portrait was preserved 
at the English College, Douai, till 
the time of the Revolution, and a 
life-size statue was erected to the 
memory of the martyr at Claughton- 
on-Brock Church in September 
1882. The next priests were: 
Frs. T. Walmsley (1665), E. Black 
burn (1683), T. Taylor (1726), 
R. Birtwistle (1727), Brockholes 
(1740). Under Fr. J. Parkinson 
the chapel was opened over the 
presbytery, 1744. It was enlarged 
in 1794 by Fr. Jn. Barrow, and 
again in 1805 by Fr. H. Gradwell. 
Mgr. Robt. Gradwell, who was 
priest from 1811, was appointed 
rector of the English College, 
Rome, in 1818. His brother Henry 
succeeded at Claughton-on-Brock, 
where he continued till his death in 
1860. The schools, which date 
from 1840, are due to a bequest from 
Mrs. Catherine Gill. A baptistery 
and confessional were added to the 
church in 1883. The cemetery, 
opened in 1873, was given by T. F. 
Brockholes, Esq. The belfry was 
erected in 1897 in memory of the 
late Queen s jubilee. In December 
1899 the late rector, Mgr. Grad 
well, nephew of the bishop, cele 
brated the golden jubilee of his 
priesthood. 



CLAY CROSS, NORTH DERBY 
SHIRE (Nottingham}. SS. Patrick 
and Bridget. 

On the death of the last member 
of the ancient Catholic family of 
Hunloke, the chapel at Birdholme 
was discontinued (1859 ?). In 1862, 
when the estimated CathoUo popu 
lation of Clay Cross was upwards 
of 450, the Bishop of Nottingham 
caused a plain but commodious 



chapel in the Gothic style to be 
erected. It was opened on June 1 
of the same year, but for some time 
Mass was only said there occasion 
ally. Fr. A. McKenna, of Ilkes- 
ton, had charge of the mission in 
1863. He came over once a fort 
night, said Mass at Clay Cross, and 
attended sick calls. The new 
church was opened by the Bishop 
of Nottingham, Thursday, Novem 
ber 9, 1882. The building is Gothic, 
consisting of nave, chancel, and 
Lady Chapel. The accommoda 
tion is for 200. The site and much 
of the cost of the new church were 
provided by W. Arkwright, Esq. 



CLAYTON GREEN, LANCS (Liver 
pool). St. Bede. 

There were many schismatic 
Catholicks reported to be living in 
this district, 1590. No mission, 
however, was founded here till 
1822, when Fr. S. Day commenced 
the chapel opened in 1824. The 
mission is served by the Bene 
dictines. 

Priests. 
Rev. S. Day, 1822. 

Thos. Caldwell, 1836. 
James Dowding, 1840. 
Wilfrid Phillipson, 1876. 
Jn. Placid O Brien, 1879. 
Augustine (Abbot) Bury, 

1885. 
Leonard Davies, 1895 to date. 



CLEATOR, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle}. Sacred Heart 
of Our Lady. 

A chapel was established here 
1853-4, under the title of St. Bega. 
The accommodation was for 500- 
600. Owing to the working of the 
rich hematite iron mines in the 
district, the population greatly 
increased, so that by 1869 the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



135 



Catholic section alone was esti 
mated at 5,000. On October 3 of 
the last-named year, the first stone 
of the present church was laid by 
Bishop Chadwick, of Hexham, and 
the building was opened 1872. 
The style is cruciform and Gothic ; 
architect, E. W. Pugin ; cost, about 
5,000 ; dimensions, 130 ft. by 50ft. 

Priests (O.S.B.). 
Eev. W. Holden, 1853. 

Francis Williams, 1860 et seq. 

Matthew Brierley, here in 
1871. 

Jn. Burchall, 1877. 

Essington Boss, 1888. 

Joseph Warden, 1890. 

Thos. McCabe, 1891. 

Edward Ward, 1893. 

Bobt. Kershaw, 1902 to date. 



CLEEKENWELL, LONDON, E.C. 

(Westminster). SS. Peter and 
Paul, Bosoman Street. 

This mission was established in 
1843 by Fr. J. Hearne, and was for 
some time known as the Saffron 
Hill Mission. The first chapel was 
a room of No. 1 Leicester Place, 
Saffron Hill. In 1847 a spacious 
Baptist chapel in Upper Boso 
man Street was purchased for 
2,300 and fitted up as a Catholic 
church. The style of the building 
is Grecian, and the accommodation 
is for about 1,000 persons. Various 
improvements were effected in 
1856, when the galleries were re 
duced and open seats provided. 
The first priests of the mission 
were Spanish Frs. Herera and 
Farria. The next to succeed were 
the Bevs. P. McClean and C. 
Woolett. Fr. McClean died in 
1850, when Fr. J. Kyne was ap 
pointed. In 1864 the priests were 
the Bevs. Walter McAvila and 
Cyriacus Herdel, Fr. Zsilkay was 



rector 1875, Fr. Biemans in 1885, 
Fr. A. Pownall 1898, Fr. G, Curtis 
1904. 



CLEVEDON, SOMERSET (Clifton). 
The Immaculate Conception. 

The Franciscans, expelled from 
France by the Jules Ferry laws of 
1881-82, settled in Clevedon and 
acquired the premises formerly 
known as the Boyal Hotel. Here 
they established a monastery and 
chapel. On January 17, 1884, the 
structure was seriously injured by 
a fire, but the rest of the building 
was happily saved from destruction, 
though much church furniture was 
destroyed. A new bell, weighing 
over 400 cwt., was hung in the 
belfry of the new church during 
the course of its erection, Sep 
tember 1886. 



CLIFFORD, YORKS (Leeds). 

The town is considered by some 
to give its name to the ancient 
Catholic family of Clifford-Con 
stable. The church was opened 
January 18, 1842. A great mis 
sion was given here in December 
1849 by Fr. Furlong, which was 
attended by vast crowds. 

Priests. 
Rev. Edw. Clifford, 1842. 

,, James Cullimore, 1860. 

Matthew Gosse, 1904. 



CLIFTON, SOMERSET. Pro- 
Cathedral of the Apostles. 

The site of the church was pur 
chased in 1833 by Fr. Edge worth, 
one of the priests at St. Joseph s, 
Trenehard Street. This excellent 
missioner greatly distinguished 
himself by his humanity and 
courage during the terrible Be- 
form riots at Bristol in 1831. A 



136 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



temporary chapel was opened on 
the ground in 1842, but the expenses 
incurred were too much for Fr. 
Edgeworth, and, becoming bank 
rupt, he had to retire to Antwerp 
(1844). The old title of the church 
was St. Augustine Apostle of Eng 
land. Bishop Ullathorne, after his 
consecration as V.A.W.D. in June 
1846, made this his vicarial church. 

Priests. 

Rev. F. Edgeworth, 1842. 
T. M. Macdonnell, 1844. 
Bishop Ullathorne, admini 
strator, 1846. 

., Wm. J. Vaughan, 1849 
(Bishop of Plymouth in suc 
cession to Bishop Erringtoii, 
1855 ; d. October 25, 1902). 
F. K. Canon Neve, 1855. 
John Canon Bonomi, 1863. 
Provost F. Neve (second 

time), 1870. 

Mgr. John Clarke, D.D., V.G. 
,, Arthur Canon Russell, V.G., 

1893. 

David Canon O Brien, 1904 
to date. 



CLIFTON HILL, near GARSTANG, 
LANCS (Liverpool). 

The church of SS. Catharine and 
Barbara was erected between 1878 
and June 1880 by Mrs. Fitzherbert- 
Brockholes. The congregation in 
1880 numbered fifty-two, and the 
seating capacity of the church is for 
double that number. The mission 
was formerly served by the do 
mestic chapel at Clifton Hill, the 
residence of the Gillows. 

Priests. 
Rev. E. Swarbrick, 1878. 

Alf. Walmsley, 1885. 

Jn. Crilly, 1889. 

Rd. Barton, 1891. 

Pat. Delany, 1901 to date. 



CLITHEROE, LANCS (Salford). 
SS. Michael and John. 

In 1797 the congregation con 
sisted of twelve poor Catholics. 
Fr. John Laurenson, of Stonyhurst, 
hired a small outbuilding, and said 
Mass there for the first time in 
November 1797. The congrega 
tion increased and a larger chapel 
was erected. Till 1842 the mission 
was served from Stonyhurst. In 
1843 Fr. J. Holden was resident 
priest at Clitheroe. On Thursday 
the octave of Corpus Christi, 1850, 
the new church was opened by 
Bishop Brown, V.A. The congre 
gation at this time numbered 800. 
The church, which was designed 
by Hansom, cost 2,500. Fr. T. 
Seed, of Stonyhurst, had charge of 
the mission at this time. The new 
Lady Chapel of the building was 
opened in September 1884. It 
contains a beautiful alabaster statue 
of Our Lady and three paintings by 
Mr. Joseph Bonvier. 



CLOWN, near CHESTERFIELD, 
DERBYSHIRE (Nottingham). 

The mission was commenced 
1903, when a chapel was esta 
blished at Southgate House under 
the title of the Sacred Heart and 
Our Lady of Victories. The chapel 
is now (1905) in Mill Street. 

Priests. 
Rev. Charles Froes. 

Alfred L. Barry, 1905. 



COBRIDGE, STAFFS (Birming 
ham}. 

In the eighteenth century, the Bid- 
dulphs and Macclesfields were the 
chief Catholic families in north 
west Staffordshire. Mass was some- 
iines said at Chesterton Hall, the 
residence of theMacclesfield family, 
prior to 1752. Fr. Flynn was the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



187 



first resident priest (1752). In 1780 
or 1781 the Rev. John Corne built a 
chapel and presbytery. Messrs. 
Bucknell and Black well, two 
wealthy Catholic potters, in con 
junction with another Catholic, 
Mr. Dadford, architect and agent 
to the Grand Trunk Canal Com 
pany, contributed largely to the 
cost of building. Fr. Prender- 
gast and Fr. Lewis Gerard sub 
sequently enlarged the building 
by galleries and wings (1817-18). 
They likewise erected schools for 
250 children. In 1832 the Catholic 
population = 300. Fr. Leith re 
stored the chapel about 1853. In 
1858 he became M.R. 

Priests from 1780. 
Rev. J. Corne, 1780. 

F. Hartley, 1784. 

R. Prendergast, 1794. 

Abbe Louis Giraud or Gerard, 
1813. 

Roger J. 0. Higgin, O.S.F., 
1842. 

Jos. Abbot, 1845. 

Thos. Matthias, 1851. 

Phil. Hendren. 1873. 

Alf. Mulligan, 1903. 



COCKEKMOUTH, CUMBERLAND 
(Hcxliam and Newcastle). St. 
Joseph. 

Land for a church was purchased 
in 1847, but as late as 1853 the 
Catholics of the place were com 
pelled to assemble for Divine 
worship in a hayloft open to the 
tiles and immediately over public 
stables. At first, the mission was 
served from Wigton once a month, 
but by 1850 Fr. Joseph Watson had 
come as resident priest. The church 
was commenced early in 1856, and 
opened November 2G the same year. 
Schools were erected and the 
church enlarged during the incum 
bency of Fr. Smits. The Mission 



passed over to the Benedictines in 
1902. The Jubilee of the church 
was celebrated, September 15 and 
16, 1906. 

Priests. 

Rev. Joseph Canon Humble, 1848. 
,, Joseph Watson, 1849. 
Robt. Orrell, 1854. 
R. Canon Smith, 1857. 
, Wm. Farmery, 1858. 
, Hanigan, 1861. 
, Pat. Bourke, 1863. 
, Edw. O Dwyer, 1867. 
, O Connor, 1869. 
, M Cartney, 1870. 
, James Corboy, 1870. 
, James Smits, 1871. 
Thos. Clavering, 1885. 
James Smits (second time), 

1897. 

Robt. Fishwick, O.S.B., 1902 
to date. 



COEDANGRED, MONMOUTH 

SHIRE (Newport). 

The Church of the Immaculate 
Conception was built in 1847, when 
Fr. Thos. Abbot was priest. The 
mission was started in 1845 by Fr. 
Burgess, of Monmouth, for the 
sake of the remnants of three former 
congregations in this part of Mon 
mouthshire. The first mission 
ever given in the church concluded 
on September 12, 1880, when Fr. 
Seraphim, O.S.F.C., of Chester, had 
the happiness of bringing back 
many stray Catholics to their 
religious duties. 

Priests. 
Rev. Burgess, 1845. 

Thos. Abbot, 3847. 

Austin Neary, 1852. 

J. Arquis, 1854. 

Edw. Glassbrooke, here in 
1871. 

F. Marianas, 1877. 

John Higgins, 1882. 

P, Capron, 1885, 



138 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Clement Matthews, 1888. 
F. Tierney, 1891. 
P. Cardinael, 1893. 
Isidore Heneka, 1899. 
J. Murphy, 1902 to date. 



COLCHESTER, ESSEX (Westmin 
ster). St. James. 

Sir George Mannock, Jesuit and 
last baronet, lived at Bromley Hall, 
near Colchester, from about 1775 to 
1782. He used to say Mass in a 
private chapel and attend to the 
few Catholics in the district. The 
present mission was established in 
1837, when the church in Priory 
Street was opened, on November 3 
of that year. Before this time the 
nearest chapel was at Thorndon 
Hall, Lord Petre s residence. About 
1867 a separate camp-chapel for the 
Catholic soldiers at Colchester was 
opened by Fr. J. Vertue, afterwards 
first Bishop of Portsmouth. Car 
dinal Manning confirmed sixty-eight 
persons in the church September 
1886, and administered the pledge 
to many civilians and soldiers. 

Priests. 
Eev. C. King, 1837. 

J. Kaye, 1845. 

Julius Picquot, D.D., 1848. 

E. Canon Shepherd, 1857. 

C. Woolett, 1867. 

E. Meyer, 1885. 

C. P. Collingridge, 1889. 

Cornelius Biale, 1892. 

Mgr. Vincent Coletti, D.I)., 
1896. 

Angelo Lucas, 1899. 

Jn. Bloomfield, 1903 to date. 



COLDHAM, SUFFOLK (Northamp 
ton}. Our Lady and St. Joseph. 

Coldham Hall was the ancestral 
seat of the Eookwood and Gage 
families, Edward Gage, Esq., third 



son of Sir John Gage, of Firle, was 
created a baronet by Charles II. 
1662. The last of this ancient 
Catholic stock was Sir John Gage, 
Major, Scots Guards, who died in 
1879. The mission of Coldham 
was early served by the Jesuit 
Fathers. The martyr, Fr. Thos. 
Garnett, nephew of Fr. Henry 
Garnett, was seized near Coldham 
in 1608. Fr. James Dennett, pro 
vincial of the Society in England, 
was missioner at Coldham for many 
years, and travelling tutor to Sir 
Thos. Eookwood Gage, fifth baronet. 
The last Jesuit chaplain at Coldham 
was Fr. Edward Baptist Newton, 
who died here 1787. After this the 
place was served from Bury St. 
Edmunds, but the congregation 
rapidly declined, so that what had 
once been a body of eighty com 
municants had by 1834 fallen to 
thirteen. The old mission was, 
however, served, like that of Hen- 
grave, the other residence of the 
Gages, at the Eight Indulgences. 
The above-mentioned Fr. Newton 
in his correspondence gives a sad 
picture of the state of Catholicity 
in the neighbourhood at the close 
of the eighteenth century. This 
zealous missioner had often to tra 
verse a district of some fifty miles, 
visiting Sudbury, Chilton, Clare, 
Melford, where nothing is to be 
met with but ignorance, stupidity, 
and sometimes a total neglect of 
religion. In one place the Catholics 
had fallen from 100 to four ! The 
mission was apparently closed from 
1856 to 1860, when it again figures 
in the Catholic Directory. The 
church was opened in 1870. 
Priests of the Mission since 1800. 
Eev. L. Simon (served from Bury, 

1836-40). 

James O Neill, 1840. 
Bernard Shanley, 1843, 
P, Gates, 1844-55, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



139 



Kev. Wm. Poole, 1860. 

Christopher Scott, 1863. 
Patrick Canon Eogers, 1867. 
George Miles, 1885. 
Augustine Wilkinson, 1890 to 
date. 



COLESHILL, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). The Sacred Heart 
and St. John. 

Mission established February 
1880. Fr. C. Wheatley, the first 
priest, said Mass in a rented room 
over a stable. The congregation 
at that time was small and very 
poor. In addition to these, Fr. 
Wheatley had also charge of the 
Catholic children in the Marston 
Green Homes. 

Priests. 
Eev. C. Wheatley, 1880. 

James Giblin, 1885. 

C. Gottwaltz, 1888. 

Geo. Hudson, 1899 to date. 



COLNE LANCS (Salford). 

The Rev. Dean Jones, who came 
to reside at Colne in 1872, was the 
first priest in the district since the 
Reformation. The neighbourhood 
was once a stronghold of Catholicity, 
as the numerous ruins of churches 
&c. show. A new school and chapel 
were commenced in December 
1887, and opened July 15, 1888. 
The number of Catholic children 
then attending the school was about 
sixty. The adult population was 
over 400. Before the opening of 
the school chapel, the place of wor 
ship was a shed over a chemist s 
shop. 



Priests. 
Rev. Jones, 1872. 

Pierce Griffith, 1873. 

D. Reynders, 1879. 

Henry Mom, 1885. 

A. Van der Beek, 1904 to date. 



COLSTON BASSETT, NOTTS (Not 
tingham). 

The beautiful little Gothic 
structure, as the chapel was de 
scribed, was opened in October 
1840. Francis Martin, Esq., of 
Colston Hall, gave the site. 

Priests. 

Rev. J. Bick, 1840. Served from 
EastwelllSeOe^seg-. At pre 
sent served from Carlton. 



COLWICH, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Benedict s Priory. 

In 1652 a filiation of the Bene 
dictine Nuns of Cambray opened a 
convent in Paris for the purpose of 
devoting themselves to the per 
petual adoration of the Blessed 
Sacrament. At the general up 
heaval consequent on the Revolu 
tion, the community came to Eng 
land, and were settled at Marnhull, 
Dorset, under the protection of the 
Hussey family (1795). In 1807 
they removed to Caiinington, near 
Bridgewater, where Lord and Lady 
Clifford afforded them a very com 
fortable and conventual asylum at 
Cannington Court House. On 
leaving this retreat in 1835 for Col- 
wich, their large and beautiful 
chapel, opened July 7, 1831, be 
came the church of the Cannington 
Mission (q.v.). The convent at Col- 
wich is a strictly enclosed com 
munity, and receives neither 
boarders or pupils. The church is 
open to the public, 



140 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



COMMERCIAL KOAD, LONDON, E. 

(Westminster}. SS. Mary and 
Michael. 

The history of the old Virginia 
Street mission the forerunner of 
the church in Commercial Eoad 
is buried in obscurity. In 1768 
Fr. James Webb, the priest of the 
chapel, was tried before the Court 
of King s Bench at Westminster 
for saying Mass. The infamous 
Payne was the informer on this 
occasion, but Lord Chief Justice 
Mansfield at the trial laid down 
the important rule that before a 
priest could be convicted it was 
necessary to prove, first, that he was 
really a priest, and, secondly, that he 
had actually said Mass. The jury 
acquitted the accused. In January 
1770, the Hon. and Et. Eev. Bishop 
Talbot, brother of the Earl of 
Shrewsbury, was committed for 
trial for having exercised his priestly 
functions at Virginia Street. He 
was tried at the Old Bailey (Feb 
ruary), but acquitted on the same 
grounds as Fr. Webb. He was the 
last Catholic clergyman to be in 
dicted for saying Mass. In 1773 
he took a lease of the chapel in 
Virginia Street for eighty-four years. 
The property was acquired from 
the London Dock Company, the 
bishop being mentioned in the 
document as plain Mr. James Tal 
bot. The old chapel or Mass 
House was one of those destroyed 
by Lord George Gordon s mob in 
1780. The priest of the mission, 
Fr. M. Coen, might have defended 
the place with upwards of 3,000 
Irish labourers, but he yielded to 
the wishes of the magistrates, who 
dreaded the results of so terrible a 
conflict. 1 The priest, however, re- 

1 One of the rioters who helped to 
burn the chapel, and who was fearfully 
mangled by the bullets and bayonets of 
the troops in the repression of the riots 



ceived compensation from the 
Government, and a chapel, totally 
devoid of ornament, was subse 
quently erected at a cost of 1,500. 
By 1820 the Catholic population of 
Commercial Eoad had increased to 
! 20,000. About 1815 a collection 
for a new church was set on foot 
by Fr. Horrabin, and after many 
years a site in Commercial Eoad 
was purchased in 1842 at a cost 
of 3,000. Fr. Horrabin died in 
1846, and in 1851 the foundation 
of the new church for which ho 
had so ardently longed was laid. 
The new building was opened by 
Cardinal Wiseman on December 8, 
1856, in the presence of the Bishops 
of Northampton, Nottingham, and 
Troy. The church is Gothic of the 
Decorated period. The total length 
is 185 ft., breadth 75 ft., and in 
appearance the inside of the church 
much resembles St. George s Cathe 
dral. The total cost was about 
30,000. The Catholic schools were 
founded in 1778 by a few Irishmen 
resident in Wapping. In 1810 a 
similar establishment for girls was 
opened by Fr. J. Delaney. The 
Christian Brothers taught the boys 
in 1838, and in December 1849 the 
new Catholic schools were opened 
by Bishop Wiseman, assisted by 
Bishop Morris and the Hon. Charles 
Langdale. The total number of 
children receiving education there 
in 1858 was about 2,000. 

Priests since 1856. 
Eev. W. Kelly. 

,, Pat. Canon Callaghan,M.E., 
1877. 

,, Geo. Canon Akers, 1897. 

Peter E. Amigo, 1899, Bishop 
of Southwark, 1904. 

Andrew Dooley. Dean, ME., 
1902. 

on June 6, 1780, was long supported by 
the congregation of Commercial Road 
after the chapel had been rebuilt. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



141 



Rev. Timothy Bing Dean, 1905 to 
date. 



CONGLETON, CHESm-RE (Shrews 
bury). St. Mary. 

On December 21, 1821, Mass 
\vas said here in a cottage in 
Moody Street by Fr. J. Hall, of 
Macclesfield. The club room of 
the Angel Hotel was afterwards 
hired on Sundays, and this served 
as a place of worship till the open 
ing of a chapel in 1826. The 
underneath portions of the building 
were used as schools. 
Priests. 

Rev. J. Hall, 1821. 
C. Brigham, 1831. 
J. Pratt, 1834. 
J. Fisher, 1840. 
J. Hill, 1850. 
J. Anderton, 1853. 
H. Lynch, 1855. 
J. Daly, 1861. 
G. Clegg, 1863. 
F. O Neil, 1872. 

F. Waterhouse, 1873. 
P. Power, 1880. 

G. Carton, 1884. 
P. Coleman, 1887. 
C. Hooghe, 1888. 
J. Haskett, 1889. 
W. Kelly, 1891. 
H. Donlevy, 1894. 

Wm. Reade, 1903 to date. 



CONISTON, IANCS (Liverpool). 
The Sacred Heart. 

The want of a chapel in this dis 
trict was advertised in the Tablet 
for September 17, 1859. The ex- 
Queen of the French (Amelie), who 
spent the autumn of that year at 
Coniston, threw open her domestic 
chapel to the neighbouring Catho 



lics, and before her departure is 
reported to have forwarded a sub 
stantial sum to the Bishop of Liver 
pool towards the erection of a 
church. This was opened by 
Bishop Goss on September 29, 
1872, the Sunday preceding his 
death. 

Priests. 
Rev. Pat. M Aroy, 1867. 

Hy. Gibson, 1874. 

Peter Lavertv, 1889 to date. 



CORBY, near GRANTHAM, LINCS 
(Nottingham). Our Lady of Mount 
Carmel. 

Irnham Hall, the seat of the 
Thimelby family, is considered by 
some to have preserved the Faith in 
these parts from Catholic times. 
Fr. Richard Thimelby, S.J., one of 
those accused by Oates as privy to 
the concocted Plot, was a member 
of this family. The last of the 
race was John Thimelby, Esq., 
who died 1720, at. 86. His pro 
perty passed to the Lords Clifford, 
with whose descendants it still re 
mains. The chapel was served by 
the Jesuits down to 1845, when the 
mission was handed over to the 
Vicar Apostolic. The same year, 
the old chapel at Irnham was de 
molished and the stones used for 
building a small church at Corby. 
A handsome school - house was 
opened September 1881 on a site 
given by Henry Clifford, Esq. 

Secular Priests since 1845. 
Rev. Canon Gascoyne, 1845. 

,, Joseph Canon Baron, 1880. 

John Brown, 1901. 

., A. Howarth, 1 ( J05 to date. 



CORNFORTH, WEST. See WEST 
CORNFORTH. 



142 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



COSSEY, or COSTESSEY, HALL, 
NORFOLK (Northampton). St. 
Wulstane. 

Cossey Hall, the ancient seat 
of the Jerningham family, remained 
a centre of Catholic faith and en 
durance throughout the penal times. 
About 1805 the number of Catholics 
in the district is said to have only 
amounted to about thirty. In 1832 
it had risen to 400. Two years later, 
the fine church was commenced by 
George Jerningham, Baron Stafford. 
The architect was Mr. Buckler, 
of Oxford. The height is 40 ft.; 
length, 100 ft. ; width, 25 ft. A con 
siderable portion of the building 
fund was collected by Mgr. Husen- 
beth, chaplain to the family, and 
famous as the biographer of Bishop 
Milner. Some of the windows con 
tain specimens of mediaeval glass 
rescued from various French 
churches at the time of the Revolu- 
tion. At the opening, May 26, 1841, 
an ancient pre- Reformation Missal 
was used by Mgr. Husenbeth, who 
sang the Mass. This great scholar 
is the well-known author of the 
Life of Bishop Milner, and was 
chaplain at Cossey till his death, 
October 31, 1872. The Royal Hotel 
Guide to Norwich, 1898, thus 
speaks of Cossey : The Roman 
Catholic body is very strong in 
Cossey, and probably Mgr. Davies, 
the present occupant of the Roman 
Catholic presbytery here, has one 
of the largest flocks professing Papal 
tenets of any village in England. 

Priests. 

Rev. Geo. Chamberlayne, 1784. 
This gentleman, an M.A. of 
King s College, Cambridge, 
was received into the Church 
at the Sardinian Chapel, 
Lincoln s Inn Fields, 1780. 
Dr. Johnson, on hearing of 
the sacrifice involved by this 
step, exclaimed, with refer 



ence to Mr. Chamberlayne, 
God bless him 1 (Boswell). 
Mr. Chamberlayne was or 
dained priest at Douai 1783, 
and served the Cossey Mis 
sion from 1784 till 1798. He 
died February 4, 1815, aged 
seventy-seven. 
Rev. Samuel Jones. 

Mgr. Husenbeth, 1820, till his 
death, October 31, 1872. 

Mgr. Geo. Davies, 1872 to 
date. 



COTTAM, near PRESTON, LANCS 

(Liverpool). 

This mission was for generations 
served by the domestic chapel of 
the Haydock family. Fifteen years 
before the death of the last Squire 
Haydock Fr. John Keiidal rented a 
barn and four acres at Cottam from 
Wil. Bilsborrow, yeoman, and fitted 
up a chapel and presbytery. In 
1745, after the retreat of Prince 
Charles Edward and the High 
landers from Derby, the chapel was 
burnt by a No Popery mob from 
Preston. The priest at Cottam at 
this time was Fr. John Harrison, 
who took the mission oath at Douai 
November 3, 1734. After the burn 
ing of the chapel, Fr. Harrison went 
to Townely, where he served as 
priest till about 1775. He died 
January 16, 1780, at the house of 
his brother Lawrence, in the Friar- 
gate, Preston. The successor of 
Fr. Harrison at Cottam was Fr. J. 
Cowban, who afterwards went to 
Crathorne, where he died October 6, 
1777. Fr, Smith was priest at 
Cottam in 1763, and either he or 
Fr. Cowban restored the chapel. 
During the great election riot at 
Preston in 1768, the chapel was 
again in danger. In 1769 Fr. J. 
Lund was priest. He built the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



143 



present chapel in 1793, and was 
rector till his death in 1812. Fr. 
Thos. Berry, who was priest till 
1845, built the presbytery. Fr. 
Dixon was the next priest till 1852. 
Fr. Geo.Corless, D.D., his successor, 
laid out the cemetery and enlarged 
the sacristy. He died November 1, 
1865. The next priests were : 
The Kevs. Roger Taylor (resigned 
1867), H. J. Throwner (1868), F. 
Gillow. At present (1904) the in 
cumbent of the mission is Fr. Joseph 
Barker. 



COUGHTON, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). SS. Peter, Paul, 
and Elizabeth. 

Coughton Castle is one of the his 
toric residences of the Throckmor- 
tons. It has several priests hiding- 
places, aud in one of these, in an 
angle turret, an altar- stone was 
discovered some years back. Fr. 
Garnett, S.J., who suffered for the 
Gunpowder Plot, 1606, was here in 
November 1604, and it was after 
wards alleged that an exhortation 
he used to be rid of heresy was 
in connection with the impending 
conspiracy. The words, however, 
were those of a prayer in use for 
centuries. Fr. Pope was chaplain 
here in 1824, and Fr. Davis, O.S.B., 
from 1835 to 1889! The present 
Gothic church superseded the old 
chapel, 1857. 



COURTFIELD, near ROSS, HERE 
FORDSHIRE (Newport}. 

The ancestral seat of the Vaughan 
family, whose domestic chapel has 
for generations served the Catholics 
of the district. Fr.Thomas Vaughan, 
who died of ill-usage at the hands 
of the persecutors during the per 



secution in 1646, was a member of 
this family, In 1688 the mansion 
was invaded by an anti-Catholic 
Whig mob and much damage done. 
In more recent times the chapel 
became a centre from which many 
of the surrounding missions were 
either started or supplied. Thus 
in 1836, when Fr. J. Reeve was 
chaplain, the chapel of Hatherop 
was dependent on Courtfield for a 
monthly Mass. The chaplain at 
Courtfield in 1825 was Fr. J. Knight. 
In 1881 the chapel was redecorated 
and reopened by Bishop Hedley, 
of Newport. Archbishop Kenelm 
Vaughan, who died at Ince Blundell 
in 1883, was interred at Courtfield 
pending the removal of his remains 
to his metropolitan cathedral of 
Sydney. 



COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Osburg, Hill 
Street. 

When the mission was started, 
1757-60, there were only four 
Catholics in the city Mrs. Bruck- 
field, Ann Short, Mr. and Mrs. 
Lane. The nearest chapel was at 
Wappenbury. About 1757, Fr. 
Hy. Bishop used to come once a 
month to say prayers (? Mass) at 
Mrs. Bruckfield s,near St. Michael s 
Churchyard. In 1764 Fr. Diconson, 
O.S.F., came to reside permanently 
at Mr. Bruckfield s house, that 
gentleman having been con verted to 
the faith with a Mr. Whittingham. 
In 1775 a permanent chapel was 
established in Miss Latham s house 
in Little Park Street. This chapel 
was finally shut up on account of 
the faithful not subscribing in a 
proper manner. A chapel was 
then opened in Mitford (Smithford) 
Street, 1795 ; but, owing to some 
difference among the congregation, 



144 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



all did not attend, till, by order of 
the Bishop, the Smithford Street 
chapel was declared that of the 
mission, when the irritation ceased, 
January 31, 1796. 1 The labours of 
the missioners were well rewarded. 
In spite of the penal laws the num 
ber of Catholics increased from the 
four of 1757 to nearly one hundred in 
1770. The chapelin Smithford Street 
was transferred to Hill Street 1807. 
An unliquidated debt was still on 
the building in 1825. Bishop Ulla- 
thorne, who resided here from 1841, 
was, on his consecration in 184G, 
presented by the congregation with 
a splendid set of silver Mass cruets 
of ancient design. The present 
church was commenced 1843, on 
the highest part of the city. The 
Gothic building (115 ft. by 50 ft.) 
designed by C. Hansom, was opened 
September 10, 1845, by Bishop 
Wiseman, assisted by Bishops 
Sharpies, Briggs, Griffiths, Morris, 
and Brady (West Australia). A set 
of fine stained-glass windows was 
presented by the Blount family. 

Priests. 
Rev. Henry Bishop, 1757 or 1758. 

,, M. Diconson, or Dickinson, 
O.S.F., 1764. 

Alexius Whalley, O.S.F., 1766. 

Geo. Baynham, O.S.F., 1769. 

Bernardino Fleet, O.S.F., 1776. 

John Bonaventure Pilling, 
O.S.F., 1779. 

Anselm Millward,O.S.F., 1794. 

Angler, O.P., May 22, 1795, 
to August 27, 1795. 

Peter Bernardine Collingridge, 
1795 ; Bishop of Tliespice, 
1807 ; died 1829. 

James Vincent Sharp, O.P., 
1795. 

1 The other chapel at this time, 1795, 
was at Mr. Whittingham s. The origin 
of the dispute is not clear, but it pro 
bably arose from the payment difficulty 
referred to above. 



Rev. Richard Anthony Sunmei , 
1801. (The Abbe Messinge 
supplied till his arrival.) 
- Dawber, . 

C. Ferand, here in 1824. 

Bretherton, 1826. 

Richard Marsh, 1828. 

Thos. Cockshoot, 1831. 

R. Pope, 1840. 

W. B. Ullathorne, 1841 ; 
Bishop of Hetalona and 
V.A.C.D., 1846; of Birm 
ingham, 1850 ; died 1889. 

J. A. Clarkson, 1846. 

Thos. Hepton stall, 1852. 

Ralph Pratt, 1854. 

Cuthbert Smith, here in 1871. 

Henry Moore, here in 1875 
(Abbot 1890) till 1892. 

Antonio Ambrose Pereira, 
1892. 

John Clement Fowler, 1896 
to date. 



COWES, ISLE OF WIGHT (Ports 
mouth). St. Thomas of Canter 
bury. 

About 1795, Mrs. Heneage, a 
wealthy Catholic lady, proposed 
the erection of the chapel, the 
plans of which were drawn by Fr. 
Thos. Gabb, a skilful amateur 
architect. The building was 
opened in 1796 at a cost of 3,000. 
more than half of which might 
have been saved had the chaplain s 
advice been attended to ! Fr. Gabb, 
nevertheless, was most unjustly 
blamed for the waste of money and 
dismissed. He died on the mission 
at Worksop Manor, April 17, 1817, 
aged 75. A Catholic circulating 
library in connection with the 
Cowes mission was formed 1850-51. 

Priests from 1825, 
Rev. W. Pierrepont, . 

Jos. Rathbone, 1832. 

W. Fryer, 1842. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



145 



Kev. C, D Arcy, 1849. 
,, J. Canon Bower, 1853. 
R. Davis, 1885 (?) to date. 



COWPEN, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexliam and Newcastle}. St. 
Cuthbert. 

About 1771 Mr. Maiiow Sidney 
became a Catholic while a student 
at Cambridge. The immediate 
cause of his conversion was the 
strong Gospel argument for the 
Real Presence as compared with 
protestant denial. 1 In 1804 he 
succeeded to the family estate at 
Cowpen, where he opened a chapel 
and encouraged Catholicity in every 
way. The present chapel was 
erected by his son, Marlow John 
Sidney, Esq., 1842. Schools were 
opened 1844. A gallery was added, 
1860, thus increasing the accommo 
dation by sixty sittings. The 
mission is served by Benedictines. 
New schools were opened November 
1898. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. B. Thomas, 1840. 

W. Burchall, 1846. 

J. B. Caldwell, 1852. 

J. Burchall, 1854. 

Percy Anderson, 1867. 

Jos. Murphy, 1873. 

Ralph Pearson, 1879. 

Wm. Farrant, 1885. 

Jn. Oswald Burchall, 1892. 

Joseph Kershaw, to date. 



CRAWCROOK, DURHAM (Hex- 
liam and Newcastle}. St. Agnes. 
A mission established in 1892 

1 An interesting account of his con 
version was written by his grand 
daughter and published under the title 
of A Hundred Years Ago. (Burns 
and Gates, 177.) 



for the benefit of the many 
Catholics of this mining centre. 

Priests. 
Rev. Philip Fitzgerald, 1892. 

Edw. Beech, 1893. 

,, Francis Holmes, to date. 



CRAWLEY, SUSSEX (South 
ward). St. Francis. 

About 1858 the Hon. Mrs. Mont 
gomery went to live near Crawley. 
At that time it is said there was 
not a Catholic in the place. Mrs. 
Montgomery turned her coach 
house and stable into a chapel and 
school-room and so a mission was 
formed. In 1861 there were about 
twenty-five children in the school 
and an adult congregation of over 
thirty. The Capuchin Fathers, who 
had charge of the mission, com 
menced the present church and 
monastery in 1860, on a site pre 
sented by Captain Francis Blunt, 
60th Rifles, a near relation of Mrs. 
Montgomery s, who also most gener 
ously gave 2,000 towards the 
erection of the buildings. The 
solemn opening took place on the 
feast of St. Seraphim, October 12, 
1861. Canon Oakeley preached at 
the Pontifical High Mass (St. Luke 
xix. 9). Of recent years a philo 
sophical society for the discussion 
of religio-scientific subjects was 
established at the monastery and 
the meetings attended by some of 
the first scholars and thinkers of 
the day. 



CRAYFORD, KENT (South war Jf). 
St. Mary of the Grays. 

Many Catholics were reported to 
be living in the neighbourhood in 
1841, at which time Mass was said 
once a month by Fr. Nightingale 



146 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



in the house of Aug. Applegarth, 
Esq. In May 1842, the chapel 
was opened. Fr. Aug. Applegarth, 
son of the above-named gentleman, 
was the first resident priest (1843- 
1855). Bishop Griffiths confirmed 
thirty persons here, December 1, 
1844. The school and presbytery 
were erected in Fr. Donovan s time 
(1856-60?). 

Recent Priests. 
Eev. Jos. Alberry. 

Jn. Boase, 1877. 

Win. Hogan, 1887 to date. 



CRESSWELL, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). 

A chapel was maintained at 
Draycott Hall, Cresswell, by the 
Lords Langdale during a great 
portion of the penal times. On the 
death of the fifth Lord Langdale, 
in 111!, the property went to his 
sister and finally to the Stourtons. 
Shortly after the death of Lord 
Langdale, the chapel was removed 
to Cresswell. A larger chapel was 
built in 1782. Fr. Edward Coyney, 
who was at Draycott during the 
early part of the eighteenth century, 
did much to keep Catholicity alive 
in those parts. He used to visit 
his scattered flock disguised as a 
pedlar. Fr. Alban Butler was 
priest at Cresswell for a time and 
here he completed his Lives of 
the Saints. In 1815 Fr. T. Bad- 
deley built a handsome Gothic 
chapel at Cresswell and opened a 
secondary school. He died in 
1823. The Draycott and Cresswell 
missions may be called the cradle 
of North Staffordshire Catholicity 
in recent times. In 1834 the 
Catholics at Cresswell numbered 
120. 



Priests after Fr. Cresswell. 
Rev. J. Canon Dunne (he was rector 

till 1881), 1824. 

S. E. Canon Bathurst, 1881. 
Thos. Scott, 1883 to date. 



CREWE, CHESHIRE. 

In 1830 Crewe contained less 
than 250 inhabitants and indeed 
was no more, topographically 
speaking, than a village in Che 
shire. By 1846, owing to the 
L. & N. W. Railway having estab 
lished their engine and rolling- 
stock works here, the village had 
become a town with many thou 
sands of inhabitants. The mission 
was established here that year in 
an inconvenient building, which 
later on gave place to a com 
modious school chapel. At a 
meeting of the congregation in 
November 1888 proposals were 
made for the erection of a church. 
After some delay the present 
building was commenced in 1890 
and opened in 1891. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jn. Quealy, 1846. 

Martin Brodrick, 1848. 

Foster, 1851. 

Rd. Doyle, 1852. 

Hy. Alcock, 1853. 

Roger McCarte, 1857. 

Thos. Canon Marsden, 1871. 

Fredk Waterhouse, 1882. 

Jn. Barry, 1884. 

Michael Canon Craig, 1895 
to date. 



CRICKLEWOOD, LONDON, N.W. 
(Westminster). St. Agnes. 

The mission was established in 
1901, at Westcroft Villas, Crickle- 
wood Lane. The Catholic popu 
lation is estimated at 800. New 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



147 



schools have been commenced and 
will be opened shortly ; cost about 
3,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. Osmund Cooke, 1901. 

Owen G. Fitzgerald, 1905 to 
date. 



CKOFT, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Lewis. 

The chapel was built by the 
Jesuits, the first stone being laid 
by the Abbe Louis Le Eichebec, an 
emigre, June 29, 1826. The build 
ing was opened May 29, 1827. 
Before the establishment of the 
mission at Croft the chapel appears 
to have been at Culchetch, the 
ancient seat of the family of that 
name. Several of its members en 
tered the Society of Jesus, and two, 
William and John Culchetch, cap 
tains in the Royal Army, lost their 
lives for Charles I. in the Civil 
War. The family became extinct 
on the death of Thos. Culchetch, 
1747. When the chapel at the 
Hall was closed, a Mass house 
was opened in the district, and so 
continued till the erection of the 
chapel as above. The Jesuits gave 
up the mission to seculars in 1855. 

Priests (S.J.). 
Rev. Jn. Penkith, 1670. 

Edward Scarisbrick, 1690. 

Richard Smith, 1724. 

At Croft. 
Rev. Richard Reeve, 1780. 

Abbe Le Richebec, 1798. 

James Clough, 1845. 

Wm. Waterton, 1848. 

Henry Shea, 1849. 

Fredk. Muller, 1851. 

Seculars. 
Rev. Wm. Gillett, 1855. 

Thos. Gibson, 1857. 

Wm. Wells, 1860. 

,, James Parkinson, 1875. 

Jn. Dorran, 1882. 



Rev. Francis Blake, 1885. 
,, Patrick Monaghan, 1888. 
,, Charles Reynolds, 1899. 
,, Francis Blake, to date. 



CROMEK, NORFOLK (Northamp 
ton). Our Lady of Refuge, Over- 
strand Road. 

In 1893 Mass was said at the 
Assembly Rooms adjoining the 
Red Lion Inn. In September of 
that year the site was acquired 
for a new church. Canon Duckett 
had charge of the mission. The 
neighbourhood abounds in ruined 
churches and other vestiges of by 
gone Catholicity. Fr. T. Carter was 
appointed to the mission in Octo 
ber 1902. The church was opened 
August 25, 1895 : accommodation 
for about one hundred. 



CROOK, DURHAM. Our Lady 
Immaculate and St. Cuthbert. 

For historical notice of Crook 
Hall, see Ushaw. The mission of 
Crook was started in 1853, when 
the present Bishop of Hexham and 
Newcastle, then Fr. Thos. Wilkin 
son, took a house in the town and 
laboured for the spiritual good of 
the rapidly increasing mining popu 
lation. Fr. J. Rook was the first 
resident priest of the place, which 
also had the benefit of the zeal 
of Fr. Richard Ward, formerly an 
Anglican clergyman and superior 
of St. Saviour s, Leeds. The church 
was commenced in 1853, and opened 
1854. In July 1860, Fr. Wilkinson 
took up his abode at Crook, and in 
a few years he had added to the 
church a presbytery, school-house 
and convent. In 1865 he was 
elected a canon of Hexham. On 
July 25, 1888, he was consecrated 
L 2 



148 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



bishop at Ushaw College by Bishop 
Clifford of Clifton, and next year 
(September 1889) succeeded Bishop 
O Callaghan in the see of Hexham 
and Newcastle. His successor at 
Crook was Fr. Austin Pippet, who 
still retains the mission. 



CROWLE, LINCS (Nottingham}. 
The Blessed Sacrament and St. 
Norbert. 

Mission opened August 10, 1863, 
by Fr. W. Harris, of Gainsborough, 
who said Mass on Sundays in the 
Assembly Booms. The congrega 
tion is described as being large 
and attentive (Betford and Gains 
borough News, August 1863). In 
1872 thePremonstratensian Fathers 
took over the mission, and the new 
church was opened October 15, 
the same year, by the Abbot of St. 
Bernard s Abbey, Leicester. The 
donor of the church and presbytery 
was T. A. Young, Esq., K.S.G. By 
1882 the congregation had greatly 
increased, no fewer than fifty-five 
persons being confirmed at Crowle 
in the November of that year. 



CROXDALE HALL, DURHAM 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Herbert. 

The mission is described as 
founded from time immemorial. 
The register dates from 1801. Thos. 
Salvin, Esq., lord of the manor, 
erected the chapel (Gothic). For 
many years, the priest at Croxdale 
had also to serve the mission at 
Bishop Auckland. The estimated 
number of Catholics in 1834 was 
about two hundred. 



Priests. 

Eev. Kendal, 1730. 
Hankin, . 
Waram, . 

Dunn, . 
Taylor, . 
Talbot, 
Storey, 1771. 
Thos. Smith, 1808. 
John Smith, 1854. 
Robt. Laing, 1897. 
Geo. Fehrenbach, 1904 to 
date. 



CROYDON, SURREY (South- 
iv arty. St. Mary. 

Mass was said occasionally here 
during the eighteenth century by 
priests from the several ambassa 
dors chapels in London. On 
August 23, 1767, Fr. John Baptist 
Maloney was convicted at the Surrey 
Summer Assizes, held at Croydon, of 
saying Mass and exercising his 
priestly functions. He was con 
demned to perpetual imprisonment, 
but shortly afterwards banished. 
The present mission dates from 1837. 
Next year, Fr. Patrick Moore, a 
Spanish priest of Irish descent, 
who had left Spain in consequence 
of the Carlist troubles, opened a 
chapel first at Duppas Hill and 
afterwards at Broad Green, London 
Road (1841). As he could not 
speak English, catechetical instruc 
tion was given by Dr. Lashmar, a 
Catholic physician of the town. 
From 1850 to 1857 the mission 
was served from Norwood. In the 
latter year, Fr. Alphonse, after 
wards Canon David, came to reside 
as permanent rector. The Catholic 
population, estimated at about 
1,400 in 1861, is now about four 
times that number. Lady Vans- 
truser afterwards a Dominican 
nun at Stone, Staffordshire de- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



149 



frayed the cost of erection of the 
present Gothic church, opened by 
Bishop Grant, 1864. Adjoining 
the church and presbytery in the 
Wellesley Road are fine schools, 
under the direction of the Sisters 
of Mercy. The Josephitc establish 
ment, St. George s College, founded 
in the Wellesley Eoad, 1869, was 
removed to Woburn Park, Wey- 
bridge, 1884. The premises are 
now the St. Mary s Industrial 
School (Sisters of Mercy). 

Priests. 
Revs. Abbe Chabot, 1837. 

Patrick O Moore or More, 

1838. 

J. Bradshaw, 1849. 
Michael Vesque, 1850 (Bishop 
of Roseau, West Indies, 
1857). 
,, Alphonse Canon David, 1851 ; 

resident 1857. 

,, John McKenna, M.R. ; curate 
1874, rector 1894 to date. 



CROYDON, SOUTH. St. Gertrude, 
Puiiey Road. 

The church, a plain building in 
the Romanesque style, was opened 
1903, and for some time served 
from St. Mary s. In May 1904 
Fr. C. Turner, the present rector, 
was appointed to the mission from 
Ashford (Kent). 



CUSTOM HOUSE, E. (West 
minster). Our Lady and St. 
Edward. 

A few years ago, the Custom 
House district was a marsh, but 



now it contains a dense population 
of hundreds of thousands of work 
ing people. Until the opening of 
the church in December 1899 by 
Cardinal Vaughan, Catholics had 
to go to Mass at Silvertown or Strat 
ford, while hundreds of children 
were swept into Board Schools. 
The sacred edifice, as well as the 
fine Catholic schools for some 500 
children, are almost entirely due to 
the energetic rector, Fr. Timothy 
Ring. The church is Pointed 
Gothic in style, designed by Mr. 
Curtiss, who also presented the 
handsome high altar. Seats for 
about three hundred. 



CWMBRAN, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport). Our Lady of the 
Angels. 

When the Franciscans under 
took to establish the mission here 
in 1864 Catholics of the place 
numbered about 380, sunk into 
a state of utter indifference to 
religion, or indeed to anything 
be} 7 ond their daily or nightly toil. 
The first chapel was the club -room 
of a public-house, the altar and 
furniture being of the poorest de 
scription. The congregation sub 
scribed 30 from their hard-earned 
wages and with about 200 from 
other sources the present chapel 
was built, the opening taking place 
January 1, 1867. Prior, afterwards 
Archbishop Vaughan of Sydney, 
preached ; schools, under govern 
ment inspection, were inaugurated 
1868. A chancel was added to the 
church about 1870. The mission 
has for many years been served 
from Pontypool. 



150 



D 



DALTON-IN-FTTRNESS, LANCS 

(Liverpool). Our Lady of the 
Rosary. 

A school chapel was opened here 
by Bishop O Reilly, December 16, 
1879. It was served from Barrow 
till 1893. 

Priests. 
Rev. Edward Kelly, 1893 to date. 



DANBY, YORKSHIRE. See 
LEYBURN. 



DARLINGTON, DURHAM (Hex- 
liain and Neivcastle). St. Augus 
tine s. 

The baptismal register of this 
mission dates from 1783. The 
priests in charge of the chapel from 
that year to 1848 were Revs. J. 
Daniel, "Wm. Coghlan, Lewis le 
Crornier (emigre), Thos. Story, 
Jos. Curr, and Wm. Hogarth, after 
wards first Bishop of Hexham 
(1850-66). The old chapel was 
pulled down when the new one was 
built, in 1826, from designs by 
J. Bonomi, Esq. The mission was 
formerly served from Cliffe, the 
seat of the Witham family, whose 
arms appear over the chapel door. 
On the sale of the Cliffe estates 
Fr. Hogarth at great sacrifice 
and expense built the Darlington 



chapel. The number of regular 
communicants in 1832 was 200. 
In December 1865, the chapel 
underwent considerable improve 
ments and alterations. The side 
windows were enlarged and a 
Gothic tower added. The interior 
was adorned with several fine 
stained-glass windows. For several 
years after the establishment of the 
hierarchy, St. Augustine s presby 
tery was the residence of the 
bishop of the diocese. 

Priests since 1850. 
Rev. Thos. Crowe, 1849-50. 

Robt. Tate, D.D., 1850. 

Bishop Hogarth of Hexham 
and Newcastle, 1852. 

Hy. Coll, 1867. 

Jas. Canon Rooney, here in 
1877 and to date. 



DARTFORD, KENT (Southward). 
St. Anselin, Spital Street. 

The mission was opened March 8, 
1866, but in November 1884 when 
Fr. E. Buckley was priest of the 
place, the chapel was still a 
damp inconvenient room, barely 
accommodating sixty people. It 
possessed neither tabernacle, vest 
ments, nor sacred vessels. Mass was 
only said on Sundays. The cottage 
which did duty as the Catholic 
school was so ill-adapted for the 
purpose that the Government grant 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



151 



Wis withdrawn. The first stone of 
the new church was laid March 3, 
1900. The style is Early English. 
Accommodation for 300. F. A. 
Walters, Esq., architect. St. Vin 
cent s Industrial School, under the 
direction of Brothers of the Pre 
sentation, was removed here from 
Deptford in August 1878. Fr. W. 
Thompson, rector of the mission, 
was succeeded by Fr. James 
Mahoney, August 1906. 



DARTMOOR, DEVON (Plymouth). 
Convict Prison, Prince Town. 

The prison was built 1806-9, and 
was used at first for the incarcera 
tion of French and American 
prisoners of war. After the down 
fall of Napoleon in 1815, the build 
ing was converted into a naphtha 
and ammonia factory, but in 1850 
again became a prison for the 
reception of persons sentenced to 
penal servitude. The Catholic 
chapel is said to be one of the 
finest in the county, the altar, &c., 
being the work of the convicts. 
Mass on Sundays at 10 A.M. for 
prisoners, warders, and other Catho 
lics of the place. 

Catholic Chaplains. 
Eev. Geo. Green, 1863. 

David A. Coleman, 1891. 

Michael Laurenson, 1900 to 
date. 



DARTMOUTH, DEVON (Ply. 
mouth,). St. John the Baptist. 

The mission was started 1860, 
and for some years was served from 
Torquay. The Gothic church was 
opened 1869. A fine altar of 
Malplaquet stone was erected in 
March 1887. 



Priests. 
Eev. J. Jolly, 1863. 

J. B. Laborie Key, 1867. 

Wm. Downing, 1885. 

Jn. McCarthy, 1893 to date. 



DARWEN, LANCS (Salford). 
Church of the Sacred Heart, Black 
burn Eoad. 

From 1878, when the mission 
was started, to 1882, Fr. J. Lathou- 
wers had to conduct the Divine ser 
vices in a damp and leaky building 
quite unsuited for use as a chapel. 
The first stone of the present church 
was laid on August 19, 1882, by the 
Bishop of Salford, afterwards Cardi 
nal Vaughan. Several of the town 
councillors and magistrates con 
tributed to the building fund. The 
style of the building is Early Eng 
lish Gothic, and the seating capacity 
for 400 persons. The cost of erec 
tion was about 2,000. 



DAVENTRY, NORTHAMPTON 
SHIRE (Northampton). St. Mark s. 

This church was opened on Low 
Sunday, 1882, by Bishop Eiddell, 
of Northampton. The building was 
originally a stable, but by the 
ingenuity of Fr. Walstan Smith, 
the incumbent, was converted into 
* a small, neat, and tasteful church. 
Lord Braye, of Stanford Park, and 
Sir Charles Tempest, of Ashby 
Lodge, generously defrayed the ex 
pense of alteration. 

Priests. 

Eev. Walstan Smith, 1882 till after 
1898. 

,, Jas. Purcell, to date. 



152 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



DAWLISH, DEVONSHIRE (Ply- } 
mouth). 

A room was hired for a chapel, | 
and Mass said for the first time of 
late years by Fr. W. Dawson, Sun 
day, February 11, 1906. The tern- I 
porary chapel is close to the sta 
tion, and can accommodate about 
fifty persons. Major-General Laye 
and Mr. Eccles, of Teignmouth 
from which town the chapel is at 
present served have greatly 
assisted in the establishment of the 
mission. 



DEAL, KENT (Southward}. St. 
Thomas of Canterbury. 

The first resident priest of this 
mission was Fr. Cuthbert Downe} 7 , 
O.S.B., of St. Augustine s, Kams- 
gate. The first chapel was in the 
schoolroom, and had little in its 
four whitewashed walls to inspire 
devotion in the faithful. Mass was 
said there for the first time in March 
1865. Fr. J. Scratton, who laboured 
here from 1869 to January 1884, 
was, on leaving the mission, pre 
sented by his grateful congrega 
tion with a handsome chalice and 
paten. He was succeeded by Mgr. 
Daniewski. Fr. A. Limpens is the 
present rector. 



DEEPCAR, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Anne. 

A chapel was opened here 1860 
for the benefit of the many Catholics 
engaged in the local terracotta works 
and collieries. It was served from 
St. Vincent of Paul s, Sheffield, till 
about 1876. 



Priests. 
Rev. Patrick Keating, 1876. 

,, Patrick Kiernan, 1882; served 

from Mortomly, 1898. 
John Carr, 1899 to date. 



DENABY MAIN, ROTHERHAM, 
YORKS (Leeds). St. Alban. 

The mission was commenced 
1894, the chapel being in the priest s 
house, No. 1 Wood View. Fr. T. B. 
Kavanagh is the first and present 
rector. 



DENTON, LANCS (Salford). St. 
Mary. 

A school chapel was opened 
1870 (?) and served from St. Anne s, 
Ashton-under-Lyrie, till 1889, when 
the mission became separate. Catho 
lic population about 800. 

Priests. 
Eev. Thos. Twomey, 1889. 

Jn. Welch, 1895. 

H. Schurgers, 1897. 

Patrick Joyner, 1898. 

J. M. Willemse, 1904 to date. 



DEPTFORD, LONDON, S.E. (South 
ward). The Assumption. 

Fr. Green, of St. George s, South- 
wark, laboured here 1795-1815, and 
Fr. Stewart 1815-23, Fr. McCabe 
1823-27. A temporary chapel was 
opened in King Street in 1842. The 
schools accommodated about 200 
children. The present church in 
the High Street was opened 1846, 
and enlarged by a chancel (Decem 
ber 15, 1859). The fine reredos 
(1884) was exhibited at the Paris 
Exhibition 1878. The church was 
redecorated 1904. The style is 
geometrical Gothic. In May 1906, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



153 



a fine hall adjoining the church, 
formerly used for concerts c., was 
acquired by the present rector 
Fr. Segesser, for the use of the 
mission. 

Priests since 1843. 
Rev. W. Marshall, 1843. 

E. North, M.R., 1850. 

J. Norris, 1860. 

J. Canon Glenie, M.A., 1862. 

Michael Canon Fannan (curate 
since May 1865), 1871. 

Felix Segesser, 1905. 

The Catholic population of the 
district is estimated at about 7,000. 



DERBY (Nottingham). St. Mary s. 

The church was designed by E. 
Welby Pugin, and the first stone 
laid by the Hon. and Rev. Fr. 
Ignatius Spencer. The dedication 
took place October 9, 1839, when 
the sermon was preached by Bishop 
Wiseman. The decorations, stained- 
glass windows, &c., were added in 
1853. The church was beautifully 
redecorated in November 1892. 
The reredos at the back of the high 
altar is sculptured with reliefs of 
the Adoration of the Magi, the 
Annunciation, &c. The Lady Chapel, 
built in 1853 from a design by 
Hansom, has an altar piece dating 
from 1462. In 1829 the number of 
Catholic families in Derby was 
twenty. On the Third Sunday of 
Advent, 1849, Bishop Ullathorne 
confirmed 180 persons at St. Mary s. 
The Catholic population of Derby 
and vicinity was then reckoned at 
3,000. Fr. Sing built the Convent 
of Mercy, and the nuns took over 
the teaching of the Catholic schools. 
In June 1849 a great Corpus 
Christ! procession took place round 
the enclosure of the church, which 
was attended by many protestants, 
whose attitude was most reveren 
tial. 



DERBY. St. Joseph s, Mill Hill. 

The growth of Catholicity in 
Derby necessitated the opening of 
a temporary chapel (Gothic) in 
Moore Street, November 1878. The 
accommodation was for seventy, 
the cost of the building being about 
400. In 1897 the present fine 
church superseded the old chapel, 
and there are now two priests in 
charge of the mission. 



DEVIZES, WILTS (Clifton). 
Immaculate Conception. St. 
Joseph s Place. 

Mission opened 1861, the first 
chapel being a disused warehouse. 
Captain Jewel built the church 
and endowed it. He also estab 
lished the mission at Malmesbury. 
Devizes was long a centre of in 
tense protestantism, and great 
animus was shown against 
Catholics when the chapel was 
first opened. The Congregation of 
St. Francis of Sales have had 
charge of the mission from the 
commencement. 

N.B. When some of Lord George 
Gordon s emissaries were hurrying 
to Bath in 1780 to stir up a No 
Popery riot there, they asked if 
there were any Papists at Devizes. 
On being informed that the only 
one was a cobbler, they said he 
was beneath their notice and rode 
on ! (Tradition.) 



DEVONPORT (Plymouth). SS. 

Michael and Joseph. 

In 1860 there were neither 
chapel nor schools at Devonport. 
The nearest Catholic place of wor 
ship was the Cathedral, Plymouth, 
separated from Devonport by an 
inlet of the sea crossed bv a toll 



154 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



bridge. The congregation, mostly 
composed of soldiers, sailors, and 
others in her Majesty s service, 
amounted to 1,500. About 1859 
Government granted a commodious 
site for a church on condition that 
one was built within two years. 
On December 19, 1861, the church 
was opened by Bishop Vaughan, of 
Plymouth though only the nave 
and south aisle were complete at 
that time. The style is Early 
English, from the plans of C. 
Hansom. The civilian Catholic 
population of Devonport in 1861 
was about 500. 

Priests. 
Kev. Geo. Hobson, 1861. 

Bernard Verdon, here in 
1871. 

Jn. Canon Lapotre, here in 
1883. 

Thos. Kent, 1891 to date. 



DEWSBURY, YORKS (Leeds), 
Our Lady and St. Paulinus. 

Mass was first said at Dews- 
bury in a cloth hall in the spring 
of 1841 by Fr. E. O Leary. This 
chapel proving very inconvenient, 
Fr. O Leary went to Ireland to 
coUect funds to build, but returned 
without much success. The pre 
sent church was opened Tuesday, 
May 30, 1871. The cost of erection 
was 9,000, the architect being E. 
AV. Pugin. In 1881 another mis 
sion, dedicated to St. Joseph, was 
started at Batley Carr, a suburb of 
Dewsbury, and by October of the 
same year the school chapel had 
proved wholly inadequate to the 
congregation. Fr. Thos. Parkin 
was the first priest of the new 
foundation. 



DITTON HALL, LANCS (Liver- 
pool}. St. Michael. 

The Jesuit fathers expelled from 
Prussia by the May Laws 
opened a mission here about 1875. 
A fine church presented by the 
Marchioness Stapleton-Bretherton 
was erected in 1879, and a large con 
gregation gradually formed round 
it. A pulpit of Caen stone was 
set up in September 1882. The 
schools were built in 1886 by the 
noble foundress of the church. 
Fr. Anthony de Haza Kadlitz, S.J., 
was the first priest in charge of 
the mission. The German Jesuits 
quitted charge of the place in 
August 1895, when Fr. Dupuy, S.J., 
of the English Province, was ap 
pointed. Fr. T. Dawson is the 
present rector. 



DODDING, or DODDIN GREEN, 
KENDAL, WESTMORLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). SS. Robert 
and Alice. 

This mission was founded by 
Robert and Alice Stevenson in 
1724. The first priest of the 
mission, Fr. Thomas Roy don, had 
prior to this been chaplain to John 
Leyburne, Esq., of Nateby. This 
gentleman joined the forces of the 
Chevalier de St. George (James 
Francis Stuart the Old Pretender ) 
during the rising of 1715, and lost 
several fine estates in consequence. 
Fr. Roydon was what was known 
as a riding priest, i.e. one whose 
duty it was to ride round the 
country and visit the Catholics on 
the various estates of his patron in 
this case, Mr. Leyburne. After 
the disaster of 1715, Fr. Roydon 
went to live with Mr. Stevenson 
who at his death left him his 
estate. Fr. Roydon died in 1741 
and was succeeded in the estate by 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



1,55 



his nephew, Mr. Thomas Roydon, 
who died October 17, 1764. Doddin 
Green was said to be the best 
mission in the northern vicariate 
in 1803. Owing to an unhappy 
dispute there was no incumbent 
from 1812 till 1834. Two other 
vacancies have since occurred, viz. 
1844-60 and 1874-79. The chapel 
is still a room in the priest s house, 
and the congregation is regarded as 
the second smallest in England. 

Priests. 

Rev. Thos. Roydon, 1724. 
Robt. Johnson, 1764. 
John Lonsdale, 1799. 
R. Bannister, 1802-12. 

(Mission vacant till 1834.) 
Henry Bannister or Rutter, 
1834. This priest was a 
nephew of the preceding 
and held the mission till his 
death in 1838. He was an 
uncle of Bishop Goss of 
Liverpool. 
Rev. C. Brigham, 1838. 

(Mission vacant 1844-60.) 
Robt. Canon Hogarth. 
Ralph Canon Platt, 1868 a 
classical scholar, an anti 
quarian, a philosopher, and 
a theologian. 

(Mission vacant 1874-79.) 
Canon Curry, 1879. 
Henry Brettargh, 1892 to 
date. 



DONCASTER, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Peter s Chains. 

In 1833 the Catholic population 
of Doncaster is said not to have 
exceeded twelve. The chapel in 
Princes Street was opened 1835. 
and three years later Confirmation 
was given here for the first time 
since the Reformation by Bishop 
Briggs, V.A. On November 12, 
1843, sixty-eight persons were con 



firmed at Doncaster, and in 1864 
the Catholic population of the place 
was estimated at about 900. By 
this time the chapel, which only 
accommodated 200, had become old 
and dilapidated, and the priest, Fr. 
E. Pearson, appealed for funds to 
build. The present church was 
built between October 1866 and 
August 1867. The style is thir 
teenth century Gothic. The cost 
was 1,500, of which 1,000 was 
contributed by Charles Cholmonde- 
ley, Esq., of Doncaster. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Furniss, 1835. 

J. Ball, 1840. 

Robt. Gibson, 1848. 

Win. Scruton, 1857. 

Jos. Hill, here 1862. 

Edward Pearson, 1863. 

Chas. Burke, here 1871 till 

1892. 

Andrew Leonard, 1892 to 
date. 



DORCHESTER, DORSET (Ply. 
mouth). Our Lady of the Martyrs. 

A Gothic school-chapel was 
erected in the High Street, Dor 
chester, in November 1867. Bishop 
Vaughan, of Plymouth, remarked in 
his sermon, on the occasion of the 
solemn opening, that the holy sacri 
fice of the Mass had not been 
offered in Dorchester since the 
martyrdom of Fr. Hugh Green, of 
Chideock there in 1642. At first 
the chapel was served by Fr. John 
Charles, of Weymouth. 

N.B. The Ven. Hugh Green, of 
Douai, served the mission at Chide 
ock in Dorsetshire, as chaplain to 
Lord and Lady Arimdell of War- 
dour. He was arrested at Lyme 
while proceeding to France, and 
sentenced to death at the Dorchester 
assizes for being a priest contrary 



156 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



to the laws. 1 He suffered at Dor 
chester August 19, 1G42. Fr. 
Thomas Pritchard suffered for the 
Faith here March 21, 1587. 



DORCHESTER, OXFORDSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Birinus. 

The mission was re-established 
from Oxford by Fr. Robt. Newshani, 
1823. He served the place till 
1834, when apparently he was 
forced to relinquish it for some 
years. The church was opened by 
Bishop Ullathorne, V.A., August 
21, 1849. John Davey, Esq., de 
frayed the cost of erection of the 
building, which was designed by 
W. Wardell. Fr. Newsham took 
up permanent residence in the mis 
sion this year and added a fine rood- 
screen to the church. He was in 
cumbent till his death in October 
1859, aged 76. The interior of the 
church is adorned with some fine 
coloured windows illustrating events 
in the life of St. Birinus. 
Recent Priests. 
Rev. Henry James Green, 1860. 

Henry Davey, 1863. 

,, James Narey, 1876. 

Win. Barry, D.D., 1885. The 
distinguished litterateur. 



DORKING, SURREY (Southward). 
St. Joseph s. 

In the eighteenth century the few 
Catholics of the district were at 
tended by the chaplains of the 
Dukes of Norfolk, who possess much 
property in the neighbourhood. In 
the record of a baptism at Reigate 
on June 4, 1779, one Edward 
Menzies, in service of the Duke of 
Norfolk at Dorking, is mentioned 
as sponsor. Fr. M. Pembridge, 
O.S.B., was here 1786-91. The 



present mission dates from 1871, 
when an unpretentious chapel was 
opened in Coldharbour Lane. 
Schools were inaugurated March 
1877, about which time the chapel 
was redecorated. The present 
church in the thirteenth century 
style of Gothic was opened June 26, 
1895, and is in memory of Miiia 
Duchess of Norfolk. The accommo 
dation is for 500. Mr. F. A. Walters, 
architect. 

Priests. 
Eev. Geo. Ballard, 1871. 

J. F. Volckeryck, 1878. 

W. B. Alexander, 1903. 



DOVER, KENT (Southwarty. St. 

Paul. 

The mission registers date from 
1822. Early in the nineteenth cen 
tury Mass was said at various private 
houses in the town, e.g. at 45 Siiar- 
gate Street. The visiting priest 
about this time was the zealous 
Fr. Costigan, of Margate. In 1824 
Fr. Patrick Portal became resident 
priest. He left in 1826, when the 
mission was again periodically 
served by Fr. Costigan. In 1834 
Fr. F. Jarrett, chaplain to the 
Robinson family, who lived in 
Dover, used to say Mass over a 
carpenter s shop. After a time a 
Methodist chapel in Queen Eliza 
beth Square was purchased by 
Mr. H. Robinson and fitted up as 
a chapel (1835). Tradition says 
that Wesley preached here. A 
house close by was also purchased 
for 315 for use as a presbytery. 
Fr. Jarrett was succeeded by Frs. 
J. B. Hearn and J. L. Savage. In 
1861 a site for a new church was 
purchased through Major Molyneux 
Seel. At this time the Catholic 
population of Dover, exclusive of 
the military, numbered 190. The 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



157 



site in the Ashentree Lane was 
found to be unsuitable, and another 
was purchased in the Maison Dieu 
Eoad. The new church designed 
by E. Welby Pugin was com 
menced June 1, 1867, and opened 
May 15, 1868. Archbishop Manning 
preached at the Mass of inaugu 
ration. The style of the building is 
thirteenth century Gothic. Its erec 
tion was largely due to the untiring 
exertions of Fr. James Laws, priest 
at Dover from 1863 till his retire 
ment in 1891. Much of the money 
expended on the fabric came from 
the bequest of the Countess de 
Front, wife of the Sardinian Minis 
ter to the Court of St. James. This 
lady died in London, January 7, 
1830; and on the death of her 
brother, Sir Thomas Fleet\vood,the 
money came into the hands of 
Bishop Grant, of Southwark. The 
church at Dover was enlarged by 
thirty feet and re-opened in 1873. 
The building was consecrated by 
Bishop Bourne in 1897. 



DOWNALL GKEEN, WIGAN, 
LANGS (Liverpool). 

Mission established 1896. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Smith, 1896. 

John Smith, to date. 



DOWNSIDE, near BATH, SOMER 
SET (Clifton). St. Gregory s 
Abbey. 

In 1605 an English Benedictine 
monk, named Dom Augustine 
Bradshaw, opened a school, for the 
sons of his fellow-countrymen, at 
Douai. The foundation was greatly 
fostered by the Archduke Albert 
and Dom Philip Cavarel, Abbot of 
the Benedictine monastery of St. 



Vedast at Arras. The school grew 
into the monastery of St. Gregory 
the Great, opened at Douai, Octo 
ber 11, 1611. Swept away with the 
other Catholic institutions of France 
during the fury of the Revolution 
in 1793, the Fathers and students 
escaped to England, where Sir 
John Smythe, Bart., of Acton Bur- 
nell (Shropshire), an old pupil of 
the Benedictines, gave the fugitives 
hospitality. The college re-estab 
lished at Acton Burnell continued 
till 1814, when the purchase of the 
manor house and estate of Down 
side enabled the community to 
settle there. In 1823 the old manor 
house still standing was supple 
mented by a new chapel and college, 
in the Gothic style, designed by 
Goodridge of Bath. The chapel 
was opened by Bishop Baines, 
V.A.W.D., July 10, 1823. The 
new college block, by C. Hansom, 
was erected 1853-56, during the 
presidency of Prior Sweeney. The 
monastery and college extension 
the plans of which were drawn up by 
Messrs. Dunn and Hansom were 
commenced on October 1, 1873, 
and opened in September 1876, the 
foundation stone being laid by 
Cardinal Manning. The splendid 
Decorated Gothic church, begun at 
the same time, is only now ap 
proaching completion. The tran 
septs were opened in 1882, and the 
series of chapels, forming a corona 
round sanctuary and choir, between 
1885 and 1901. Beneath the high 
altar reposes the body of the Ven. 
Archbishop Oliver Plunket, of 

| Armagh, one of the victims of the 
Titus Gates Plot (1681), formerly 

! preserved at the Benedictine monas 
tery of Lambspring in Bavaria. 

! The priory of Downside was created 

j an abbey in 1900, the Right Rev. 
Hugh Ford, O.S.B., being the first 

; abbot. It is impossible in a brief 



158 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



notice like this to refer to the 
college further. Since its founda 
tion, it has held a distinguished 
place in the educational field of 
English Catholicity. It was affili 
ated to the London University by 
Eoyal Charter in 1841. Quite re 
cently a foundation, known as St. 
Benet s, for Benedictine University 
candidates, has been opened at 
Cambridge. From the point of 
view of the present work, Downside 
is one of the most important cen 
tres of Catholicity in England, and 
during its existence of almost a 
century on 1 English soil has be 
come the mother of not a few of 
the chief neighbouring missions, 
as St. Benedict s, Stratton-on-the- 
Fosse, erected in 1857. 



DRIFFIELD, YORKS (Middles- 
brougli). Our Lady and St. 
Edward. 

The mission was opened about 
the end of January 1883. Mass 
was at first said in a large private 
house and afterwards in the Corn 
Exchange. The number of Catho 
lics in the town was then about 100. 
When the Bishop of Middlesbrough 
visited the chapel in February 
1883, some 600 protestants were 
drawn to the extemporised place of 
worship to hear a Catholic Bishop 
preach and witness the ceremony. 
The feeling of the town at the out 
set of the mission is described as 
having been exceedingly favour 
able. 

Recent Priests. 
Kev. Francis Gerrard, 1889. 

Win. Storey, 1893 to date. 



DUDLEY, WORCESTERSHIRE 

(Birmingham). Our Blessed Lady 
and St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

The mission was established 
1835 from West Bromwich. The 
site of the church was acquired 
1837. The church was consecrated 
by Bishop Wiseman on Easter 
Monday 1842. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. O Neill, 1837. 

Henry Elwes, 1840. 

M. Horgan, 1842. 

Geo. Fox, 1848. 

Thos. Moore, 1857. 

Jas. Bond, here in 1862. 

Thos. Keates, here in 1888 
and to date. 



DUKINFIELD, CHESHIRE 

(Shreivsbury). St. Mary. 

A hired room in Cricket s Lane 
served as a chapel in 1822. A 
regular mission was established 
three years later, when a church 
was erected in Astley Street. 
Owing to signs of collapse, in con 
sequence of the church being built 
over a coal-mine, the services were 
transferred to a room of the Old 
General Inn hard by in 1847. 
The present church was commenced 
1854 and finished in March 1856. 
Schools were erected in 1872. 

Priests. 

Rev. J. Fisher, 1825. 
T. Gillett, 1835. 
R. Brown, 1837. 
W. Henderson, 1839. 
G. Fisher, 1840. 

(Served from Aston-under- 

Lyne, 1848-56.) 
W. Fennelly, 1856. 
H. England, 1857. 
P. Power, 1858. 
J. Jones, 1859. 
E. Hilton, 1863. 
P. Lyons, 1869. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



159 



Rev. M. Craig, 1876. 
A. Tremmery, 1883. 
T. Ratcliffe, 1886. 
C. Collenbier, 1888. 
P. Cleary, 1900. 



DULWICH (EAST), LONDON, S.E. 

(Southward). St. Anthony of 
Padua. 

Mass was said here in the tem 
porary chapel, Lordship Lane, for 
the first time on Whit Sunday, 
June 1, 1879. In 1882 the average 
attendance at Mass on Sundays 
was about 200. The number of 
Catholic children was about 180. 
Schools for boys and girls were 
opened in November 1883. The 
new schools were opened in April 
1885, and in May of the same year 
the new church. The High Mass 
was sung by the Bishop of Melos. 
The mission was subsequently 
taken over by the English Bene 
dictines, who took formal posses 
sion of the chapel on Sunday, 
July 10, 1892. Fr. Wulstan 
Richards, O.S.B., preached on the 
history of the Benedictines in Eng 
land in recent times. 



DUNMOW, ESSEX (Westminster). 
Our Lady. 

The little church was opened in 
1853, and served for years from 
Ongar. Owing, we believe, to 
financial difficulties, it had to be 
closed about 1878, when Mass was 
only said at irregular intervals on 
week-days. In June 1898 the 
church was again opened for regular 
services at the initiative of the late 
Cardinal Vaughan. At present 
(1904) the mission is served from 
Brajntree. 



DUNSTON, DURHAM (Hexham 
and Newcastle). St. Philip Neri. 

Mass has been said here regu 
larly since February 1880, when 
Fr. Arnold Matthews fitted up a 
chapel at 4 Brompton Place. The 
new and elegant school chapel 
was opened for service on Advent 
Sunday 1882. On Christmas Day 
the same year a magnificent altar 
of inlaid wood and reredos con 
taining an elegant portrait of St. 
Philip were exposed for the first 
time. The chapel accommodation 
is for 500 persons. A large iron 
church, to accommodate 700, was 
opened Sunday, June 4, 1905, on 
a site granted by the late Lady 
Ravensworth, who also presented 
a tine Madonna picture as altar- 
piece. 



DURHAM, ST. CUTHBERT S, OLD 
EL VET (Hexham and Newcastle). 

The Durham mission is stated 
to have been founded from time 
immemorial. During the penal 
times it was long known among 
missioners as Mrs. Durham. 
Bishop Leyburn confirmed 1,024 
persons here in 1687. Fr. Thos. 
Pearson, S.J., was the priest at 
this time. In 1688 the Mass-house 
and presbytery were burnt by the 
mob, but Fr. Pearson continued 
his labours and died at Durham, 
1732, aged 87. The register dates 
from about 1708 with an entry of 
the death of Margaret Carnaby, 
I 0b. 11 Jan., 1708-9. After the 
baptism of Sarah Watson, Janu 
ary 20, 1746, the following words 
occur : Not continued for y l year, 
probably on ace 1 of ye difficulty of 
ye Times. The Jacobite rebellion 
of 1745-46 was then at its height, 
and the laws against Papists were 
were being strictly enforced. Frs. 



160 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Edward Walsh and John Scott 
were priests here in 1768 and 
Fr. Nicholas Clavering in 1778. In 
1826 the Jesuits, who had hitherto 
served the mission, made over the 
chapel to Bishop Smith, V.A..N.D. 
The old chapel would appear to 
have become dilapidated or insuffi 
cient at this time, for in 1827 an 
elegant Gothic chapel, from a design 
by Ignatius Bonomi, Esq., was 
announced as being erected. It 
was opened the same year. 
Priests since 1825. 
Rev. W. Croskell, V.G. (and John 
Scott). 

Win. Fletcher, D.D., 1840. 

Provost Platt, V.G., 1857. 

Provost Edward Consitt, M.B., 
1868. 

,, Wm. Canon Brown, rector 
here in 1889 to date. 



DURHAM (Hex ham and New 
castle). St. Godric. 

This church was not completed 
till 1864. In 1859 (June) a tem 



porary chapel was opened in Fram- 
wellgato in a house formerly be 
longing to a Miss Williams. The 
drawing-room was fitted up as a 
chapel capable of holding 500 per 
sons. The room is described as 
being a very elegant one, adorned 
with some splendid wood-carving 
by Catisi. The first Mass was said 
by Provost Platt. The Catholics 
of Durham numbered about 3,000 
in 1868, when the present church 
of St. Godric was commenced. 
The style is Decorated Gothic. 
The stone was laid by Bishop 
Hogarth, of Hexham. Most of the 
money (3,000) for the erection of 
the church was collected by Canon 
Smith ( Durham Chronicle ). The 
solemn opening of the building took 
place on November 15, 1864. The 
seating capacity is for about 500 
persons. 

Priests. 
Eev. Bobt. Pattison. 

,, John Nolan, 1871. 

Wm. Perrin. 1874. 

G. Jones, 1885. 

Bobt. Thornton, 1895 to date. 



161 



B 



BALING, LONDON, W. (West 
minster). SS. Joseph and Peter. 

The mission was established in 
1893. At first Mass was said in a 
small room of a private house in 
Windsor Eoad. Afterwards a chapel 
was opened in the drawing-room of 
Mattock Lodge, Mattock Lane. A 
large temporary chapel was sub 
sequently erected by the first 
priest of the mission. In March 
1899, the Benedictine Fathers 
took over the mission, and by this 
time a handsome church (St. 
Benedict s) had been erected in the 
Blakesley Avenue. Early in 1901, 
the nuns of the Holy Child esta 
blished a convent school at Castle- 
hill House, a fine old mansion 
formerly occupied by the Visitation 
Nuns, now of Harrow. The style 
of the church, opened November 26, 
1899, is fifteenth century Gothic, the 
design comprising, when complete, 
wide nave, two aisles, choir, sanctu 
ary, seven side chapels, and crypt. 
F. A. Walters, F.S.A., architect. 

At the commencement of the 
eighteenth century, the Catholic 
Earl Rivers had a mansion at 
Baling. Fr. John Savage, his 
nephew, was there as chaplain, 1712. 
He succeeded the earl as fifth and 
last of the title 1715. He conformed 
to the Established Church, and en 
tered the House of Lords, but soon 
repented, and retiring abroad, died 
Canon of Seclin, near Douai. 17^7. 



EARLSFIELD, near TOOTING, 
SURREY (Southwwk). St. Gregory 
the Great. 

A plain church, in the Roman 
esque style, was opened in Novem 
ber 1904, and Mass said for the 
first time on Sunday, the 20th 
of the same month. The church is 
the gift of an anonymous bene 
factress. The Catholics of the dis 
trict, to the number of about 800, 
had formerly to go for Mass to 
Wandsworth and Tooting. The Rev. 
F. Laurence, now of Horsham, was 
the first rector of the mission, which 
is at present served by the Salesian 
Fathers of Battersea. 



EASINGTON, DURHAM (HexJiam 
and Newcastle). Our Lady of Vic 
tories. 

The mission was established from 
Hutton House (q.v.) in 1863. Two 
years later the present church was 
opened on Ferry Hill. 
Priests. 
Rev. William Markland. 

Lawrence Boland, 1878. 

Geo. Gregson, 1895 to date. 



EASINGWOLD, YORKS (Middles 
brough). 

The mission was originally served 
from the domestic chapel at Gilling 

M 



162 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Castle, the seat of the Catholic 
Lords Fairfax. The last of this 
ancient family was Lady Anne Fair 
fax, who died unmarried in 1793. 
A house which she built for her 
chaplain, Dom Anselm Bolton, 
O.S.B., became the nucleus of 
Ampleforth College in 1802. After 
her death, the mission of Gilling was 
removed to Craike, and thence to 
Easingwold in 1830. The register 
only dates from 1819. In 1898 the 
old chapel was superseded by the 
present church. The mission has 
always been under the care of the 
Benedictines. 

Priests from 1824. 
Eev. T. Croupe. 

J. Tyrer, 1827. 

J. Dowding, 1835. 

Michael Brown, 1877. 

Sir John Swale, Bart., 1879. 

Kalph Pearson, 1885 to date. 



EAST BERGHOLT, SUFFOLK 

(Northampton). St. Mary s Abbey. 
After the destruction of English 
religious houses under Henry VIII., 
a convent was founded in Brussels 
under the title of the Glorious 
Assumption (1598). The foundress 
of this abbey was Lady Mary Percy, 
kinswoman of the Duke of North 
umberland, assisted by the Ladies 
Dorothy and Gertrude Arundell, of 
the noble house of Wardour. Dame 
Joanna Berkeley, daughter of Sir 
John Berkeley, of Beveston Castle, 
Gloucestershire, was the first ab 
bess, and Lady Mary Percy, a niece 
of the foundress, the second. When 
the French Eevolutionists invaded 
Belgium in 1794, the nuns were 
forced to seek refuge in England, 
after witnessing the loss of the bulk 
of their property. With the assist 
ance of Bishop Milner they opened 
a house at Winchester, where the 



community remained till 1857, when 
they removed to East Bergholt. A 
high-class ladies school was main 
tained here till 1877, when it was 
discontinued, both on account of 
the many schools of the kind in 
England and for the more perfect 
accomplishment of a chief duty of 
the rule, i.e. the singing of divine 
office in choir. 



EASTBOURNE, SUSSEX (South- 
war Jc). Our Lady of Eansorn. 

The mission was established 1869, 
when Fr. Charles King opened a 
temporary chapel in Terminus 
Place. Another brick building was 
afterwards erected in the Junction 
Eoad, under the title of Stella Maris. 
Fr. Charles Stapley commenced the 
existing handsome Gothic church 
in 1890, and it was completed 1903, 
during the rectorate of the present 
incumbent, Fr. Paul Lynch, B.A. 
St. Joseph s School Chapel, Whitley 
Eoad .was opened as a chapel-of- 
ease to the mother church in Sep 
tember 1895 by Canon E. St. John. 
A church, dedicated to St. Agnes, 
is in course of erection. It is the 
gift of a lady, and will cost about 
1,500. 



EAST GRINSTEAD, SUSSEX 

(Southward). Our Lady and St. 
Peter. 

The mission was served by the 
Jesuits during the troubled times. 
The chapel appears to have been at 
Edge Court till about 1774, when 
the place was sold. Among the 
items of Church stuff at this time 
were included five silver candle 
sticks, silver thurible, two cruets of 
silver, four sets of vestments, Mass- 
book, and large crucifix. Fr. Hy. 
Molyneux, S.J., priest here from 
1721 to 1733, was paid 30 a year 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



163 



from Mrs. Hants. The existing 
mission was commenced in 1879, 
under the title of SS. Edward 
and Louis, and was served from 
Crawley. The present church was 
consecrated August 1, 1899. 

Priests. 
Kev. Fredk. Edwards, 1885 ; served 

from Crawley 1889-99 
John Burke, 1899. 



EAST HAM, PLAISTOW, LONDON, 

E. (Westminster). 

This mission was formerly known 
as Upton Park and Plaistow. In 
1878 it was served by a temporary 
chapel dedicated to St. Anthony 
and attended from Stratford (q.v.). 
When St. Edward s Orphanage for 
Boys was established here in 1878, 
under the care of the Brothers of 
Mercy, a chapel was attached for 
the use of the community, and this 
temporarily served the mission from 
1891 to 1903. The premises occu 
pied by the Orphanage were for 
merly known as Greenstead House, 
in the garden of which Henry VIII. 
erected a tower 50 feet high for 
Anne Boleyn ; hence the place is 
often called Boleyn Castle. Fr. 
Joseph Zsilkay, who was chaplain 
here 1879-99, did much to extend 
Catholicity in the neighbourhood. 
He was succeeded by Fr. E. Walsh 
and A. Maes. The mission has now 
its own church, situated in Castle 
Street. 



EASTLEIGH, HANTS (Ports 
mouth}. The Holy Cross. 

The mission was established 
1885 and served from Winchester 
till 1888, when the Rev. T. Ryan 
was appointed resident priest. The 
church, in the Gothic style, was 
consecrated by Bishop Cahill in 
August 1902. 



Priests. 

Rev. T. Ryan, 1888. 
Jn. Molloy, 1891. 
Joseph Hayes, 1893. 
J. E. McCarthy, 1896. 
Albert Clarke, 1899. 
Thos. Hickey, D.D., 1903 to 
date. 



EAST HARPTREE, SOMERSET 

(Clifton). 

The Faith lived on in this dis 
trict after the Reformation owing 
to the protection of the Waldegrave 
family of East Harptree Court. In 
1722 James, second Earl Walde 
grave, conformed to the Esta 
blished Church, after which Mass 
was only said occasionally in the 
neighbourhood. In 1794 the Rev. 
Joseph Hunt, assisted by his family, 
commenced a regular mission at 
Shortwood, in this district. The old 
chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, 
was opened May 15, 1806. Fr. 
Hunt s father took the name of 
Beaumont on succeeding to some 
property, but his son always retained 
the older patronymic. Among the 
benefactors to the Shortwood 
mission was the Rev. Jn. Brookes, 
rector of Hinton Bluett, who em 
braced the Catholic faith about 
1804. In or about 1883, the old 
territorial title of Shortwood was 
altered to that of East Harptree. 

Priests. 

Rev. Joseph Hunt, 1794. 
Jn. Swarbrick, 1838. 

Jn. Larkan, 1838. 

James Dawson, 1841. 

Moses Furlong, 1842. 

Thos. Dawson, 1842. 

Thos. Fergusson, D.D., 1844. 

Patrick Kelly, 1844. 

Thos. Rooker, 1845. 

Thos. M Donnell, 1852. 

Jn. B. Morris, 1861. 

M2 



164 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Eev. Eobt. Platt, here 1871. 



opened in 1798. The place was at 



Hon. Everard Arundell, 1878. various times in subsequent years 
woioi, icon i served from Nottingham and Mel- 

ton Mowbray. In June 1904 the 
mission became independent. Fr. 
Hendricks is the incumbent. 



Wm. Walsh, 1880. 
Eobt. Dunham, 1883. 
Geo. Johnson, 1886. 
Cornelius Carrol], to date. 



EAST HENDRED, BERKS (Ports 
mouth). % St. Mary. 

This parish is inseparably asso 
ciated with the ancient Catholic 
family of Eyston, the patrons of 
the mission. In 1688 the domestic 
chaplain of the Eystons was plun 
dered by a party of Orange soldiers 
on their way to Oxford, and among 
the list of recusants for the county 
of Berks assessed at the double land 
tax, pursuant to the Act of 1722, 
appear the names of Charles and 
Eobert Eyston, Esquires. The old 
chapel of St. Amand served the 
mission prior to the present one, 
opened in 1865. In July 1849 
Bishop Wiseman confirmed thirty- 
six persons in the chapel, and on 
Sunday, August 30, 1862, Bishop 
Grant, of Southwark, consecrated a 
new altar. The whole of the ancient 
fabric was thoroughly restored the 
same year by Mr. C. Buckler, of 
Oxford. The church of East Hen- 
dred was made over to the diocese 
of Southwark in 1865 by Charles 
Eyston, Esq., and consecrated by 
Bishop Grant on August 17 of the 
same year. The mission is now in 
the Portsmouth diocese. 



EASTWELL, LEICESTERSHIRE 

(Nottingham}. The Holy Family. 
Described as a very old mission, 
The secret chapel in Eastwell 
Hall served the district in penal 
times. The public chapel was 



EASTWOOD, NOTTINGHAMSHIRE 

(Nottingham). Our Lady of Good 
Counsel. 

In 1889 the mission was started 
by the Eev. Isaac Hanks, the tem 
porary chapel being in the Langley 
Mill Eoad. The present Gothic 
church in the Eastwood Eoad was 
erected shortly afterwards. From 
1892 to 1894 the mission was served 
from the Seminary, since when the 
rectors have been Eev. Ar. Howarth, 
1895 ; Michael Kirby, 1903 to date. 



EBBW VALE, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport). All Saints . 

This mission may be considered 
as one of the results of the revival 
of Catholicism in the country owing 
to the zeal of the Franciscan 
missionaries in the district half a 
century ago. The present school 
chapel was opened October 8, 1865. 

Priests. 
Eev. E. J. Sheehy, 1865 (?). 

P. J. Capron, 1875. 

E. O Dwyer, 1880. 

,, Augustine Fritz, 1883. 

D. Hallahan, 1903 to date. 



ECCLES, LANCS (Salford). St. 
Mary. 

In 1875 the mission was served 
from Barton. The church was 
opened July 30, 1879. Catholic 
population about 1,900 (1906). 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



165 



Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Sharrock, 1879. 

Francis Newton, 1894 to date. 



ECCLESHALL, STAFFORDSHIRE 

(Birmingham). SS. Peter and 
Paul. 

A chapel was commenced here in 
1882, and served from Swynnerton 
every other Sunday. In 1889 the 
Rev. Alfred Hall was resident priest. 
Fr. Michael Glancey was here 1894. 
In 1898 the Fathers of the Insti 
tute of the Sacred Heart took over 
the mission, which they have since 
served. 



VDQ&AttV*(Birming7un*). The 

Oratory. The Immaculate Con 
ception, Hagley Uoad, Edgbaston. 

When the Fathers of the Oratory 
settled here in 1849-50, it was the 
great wish of Dr. Newman to erect 
a church after the style of that of 
San Martino at Rome. Owing to 
lack of funds the idea was not 
carried out and a smaller church was 
built from designs of M. Viollet-le- 
Duc. When the jubilee of the 
Oratory was celebrated in 1898, the 
memory of the great Cardinal s life 
and labours inspired Catholics to 
erect such a church as he had de 
sired to see built. The foundation 
stone of the building was laid by 
Bishop Ilsley in 1903. Owing to 
the fact that the new edifice has been 
built over the old one, which was used 
as long as possible during the work 
of construction, the operations have 
been considerably retarded thereby. 
The style of the new building is 
that of the Church of San Martino 
at Rome, and the plan comprises 
sanctuary, nave, transepts, and 
several chapels, including a line 



one to St. Philip Neri. A barrel 
dome roof is a notable feature of 
the interior. Mr. Doran Webb is 
the architect of the church, which 
will probably cost over 30,000. 
During the removal of the old 
church from the interior, the 
congregation worshipped at the 
chapel of Ladywood Hall. The 
solemn opening by Bishop Ilsley 
took place October 9, 1906, Arch 
bishop Bourne preaching (Eccles. 
xlix. 13) to a large and distinguished 
congregation. 



EDMONTON, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster). 

In the July of 1903, the Re- 
demptorists started the mission by 
purchasing a site sufficient for 
church, monastery, and schools. An 
iron building capable of accommo 
dating about 200 persons will soon 
be superseded by the new church, 
the foundation stone of which was 
laid by Archbishop Bourne on 
Easter Monday, April 24, 1905. 
The architect ^is Mr. E. Doran 
Webb, F.S.A. 



EGREMONT, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). St. Mary. 

The mission was founded as a 
chapel of ease to the church at 
Cleator (q.v.) in 1878. 
Priests. 
Rev. John Fr. Kerin, 1879. 

Francis Sumner, 1882. 

Joseph Worden, 1885. 

Leonard Davies, 1891. 

Simon Finch, 1893 to date. 



EGTON BRIDGE, GROSMONT, 
YORKS (Middlesbrough). St. 
Hedda. 

Missionary priests were here 



166 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



some time before 1679. Fr. Nicho 
las Postgate, one of them, was 
hanged at York. August 7, 1679, 
for the Faith. His head is pre 
served at Ushaw. 1 After this, Mass 
was said in various neighbouring 
farmhouses. Also at Ugthorpe 
Old Hall, where, in one of the 
hiding-places, images of SS. Michael 
and John the Baptist were recently 
found. The chapel at Egton 
Bridge, built in 1790 by Fr. Hy. 
Greenhalgh, is now used as a 
school. The church, opened 
August 21, 1867, at a cost of 4,000, 
was consecrated July 14, 1885. It 
may be worthy of remark that 
Thomas Ward, author of England s 
Reformation, w r as a native of the 
parish. Lord Herries and Major 
Scrope-Danby were great benefac 
tors of the mission. The church 
was redecorated at a cost of 700 
in 1877, the walls of the interior 
being beautifully adorned with 
paintings of saints. A new oak 
pulpit was set up in July 1880. 

Priests since 1824. 
Eev. J. Woodcock, 1824. 

N. Eigby, 1827. 

H. Greenhalgh, 1835. 

Wm. Parsons, 1842. 

A. Macartney, 1844. 

Thos. Middlehurst, 1857. 

F. Callebert, 1860 to date. 



ELLINGHAM, NORTHUMBER- 
LAND (Hejcham and Newcastle). 

The preservation of the faith 
here is mainly due to the Hagger- 
ston family, whose ancestral resi 
dence is in the district. Sir Thos. 
Haggerston, a distinguished royalist 
officer, was created a baronet by 
Charles I. in 1643. Fr. Francis 

1 One of the chief witnesses against 
Fr. Postgate was a person who deposed 
to having seen him baptise a child. 



Mannock, S.J., son of Sir F. Man- 
nock, Bart., was chaplain here in 
1710. The mission registers date 
from 1775, when Fr. Mathew Joy, 
S.J., was priest. He died much 
respected, February 21, 1798, <zt. 
56. Bishop Gibson referred to as 
Mr. Gibson in the registers con 
firmed twenty-two persons here 
July 17, 1783." The Easter com 
munions at Ellingham in 1796 were 
eighty-three ; twenty-five persons 
were confirmed there on August 25 
of the same year, and thirty -two 
in August 1809. Fr. John For- 
shaw, probably a Benedictine, was 
priest at Ellingham from 1805 to 
1810. Between 1810 and 1840 the 
priests were : Wm. Birdsall, John 
Beaumont, S.J., Thos. Lawson, 
O.S.B., Eic. Albott, John Parsons, 
Edw. Crane, Thos. Parker. From 
this date (1840) the priests are as 
follows : Be vs. E. Smith, 1844 ; 
Geo. Meynell, 1849-57 ; mission 
vacant, 1858 ; A. Macartney, 1862 ; 
Aloysius Hosten, 1875 ; Gregory 
Jones, 1879 ; Joseph Fawell, 1881 ; 
Edmund Barnett, 1884 ; Bernard 
Parley, 1889; Wm. Baron, 1891; 
Wm. Toner, 1900 ; Henry Cartmell, 
1903. 



ELTHAM, NEAR LONDON, KENT 
(Southward). St Mary. 

Well Hall, near Eltham, formerly 
belonged to John Eoper, Esq., 
attorney-general temp. Henry VIII., 
and son-in-law of the Blessed Thos. 
More. In 1616 Christopher Eoper 
was raised to the peerage as Baron 
Teynham of Linstead and Well 
Hall, Kent. The old Well Hall, a 
moated grange, was burnt down 
about 1706. The present edifice, 
built shortly after the fire, is in the 
Georgian style of architecture. It 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



167 



is still surrounded on three sides by 
a moat. The property is at present 
leased by Herbert Bland, Esq. 
The Teynhara family, who possessed 
Well Hall for upwards of two cen 
turies, were Catholics till February 
1716, when Henry Roper, eighth 
Baron Teynham, conformed to 
the Established Church. The old 
Hall possessed a chapel where 
Mass was occasionally said, pro 
bably down to the time of the 
aforesaid lamentable apostasy. 
The present mission of Eltham 
dates from 1871, when the tempo 
rary chapel was served from Wool 
wich. In November 1890 a new 
church in the classical style was 
opened by Bishop Butt of South- 
wark. High Mass, coram episcopo, 
was sung by Fr. Sheehan of Black- 
heath, the sermon being preached 
by Canon Murnane, V.G. St. 
Mary s Poor Law school for little 
boys and girls adjoins the church 
and is under the care of the Sisters 
of Mercy. 



ELY, CAMBRIDGESHIRE (North 
ampton). St. Etheldreda. 

In 1859 Fr. Thomas McDonald, 
who had charge of this mission 
and also that of Newmarket, fitted 
up a disused stable as a chapel. 
The first resident priest was sent 
to Ely in July 1890. Even as late 
as this the chapel was but a hired 
room. A temporary chapel was 
opened in July 1891, when Mass 
was sung by Fr. Freeland, the 
priest of the mission. Fr. King of 
St. Thomas s Seminary preached 
on the fall and rise of the Church 
in England. The patron of the 
mission, St. Etheldreda, lived, died, 
and was buried at Ely. Her shrine 
covered with gems was reported 
to be hidden at the time of the 



Dissolution and is at present (Sep 
tember 1906) being diligently 
sought for by the authorities of 
Ely Cathedral. 



ENFIELD, HERTFORDSHIRE 

(Westminster). Our Lady and St. 
George. 

Mission founded by the late Fr. 
G. Bampfield, B.A., in 1862. The 
j old chapel erected shortly after 
| held sixty persons and was situated 
i in Cecil Road. The next priests 
\ were Frs. Bronsgeest and Murphy. 
In 1900 Fr. A. O Gorman, D.D., 
j commenced the present church, 
which was opened in April 1901 
by Cardinal Vaughan. The old 
chapel is now the school. In Sep 
tember 1905 Fr. Geo. Cox became 
rector. 



EPSOM, SURREY (Southward). 
St. Joseph, South Parade. 

In April 1859 Fr. J. B. Hearn 

opened the mission at a cottage 

in Woodcote Road, hired at 14 

per annum. The church stuff 

1 consisted of an altar, chalice, 

cross, candlesticks, altar linen, 

I and three chasubles. In 1860 

| (February) Fr. (Canon) David, of 

I Croydon, said Mass at Epsom every 

I other Friday, and catechised the 

i children, besides attending sick 

j calls. The first resident priest 

\ was Fr. Patrick Kelly, 1861. The 

! church, a neat Gothic structure, 

was erected 1865-66. Lord Russell 

of Killowen, Lord Chief Justice of 

England, was for many years the 

j chief Catholic resident at Epsom, 

! and a generous patron of the mis- 

! sion. Fr. T. Morrissey is the present 

| incumbent of the church. 

N.B. The few Catholics about 



168 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Epsom were attended during the 
middle part of the eighteenth 
century by the Benedictine iiiis- 
sioners attached to Lady Petre s 
Chapel at Cheam (q.v.). At the 
time of the French Revolution the 
priest at the Dominican College 
at Bornhem House, Carshalton, 
undertook this duty. When Mr. 
Mylius established his school in 
the same house after the departure 
of the Dominicans (1812) the Abbe 
Chabot, his chaplain, continued to 
attend to the Catholics at Epsom 
for some years. 



ERDINGTON, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St.Thomas s Priory. 
A chapel was erected by the 
zealous exertions of several gentle 
men, and opened Sunday, April 9, 
1842. The new church was con 
secrated June 11, 1850, by Bishop 
Ullathorne, V.A. Fr. D. Haigh, 
M.A., the incumbent, defrayed the 
cost of erection. The church is 
well described as a perfect revival 
of an old English parish church. 
In 1876 some of the Benedictine 
monks, expelled from Beuron, Ger 
many, by the Kulturkampf of 
Prince Bismarck, were invited to 
take charge of the mission at 
Erdington, vacated by Fr. Haigh 
on account of old age. For some 
years the monks lived in a small 
and incommodious cottage, but in 
July 1880 the present monastery 
of St. Thomas was commenced by 
the assistance and generosity of 
friends abroad. 



ERITH, KENT (Southward). Our 
Lady of the Angels. 

The Capuchin Fathers of Peck- 
ham opened a church and mon 



astery here in 1870. The place was 
served from Northfleet 1875. In 
1903 the new church and monastery 
was opened in the Carlton Road, 
the old church of St. Fidelis now 
serving as a chapel of ease. 
Father Guardians. 
Rev. F. Louis, 1870. 

F. Cherubino, 1878. 

F. Lewis, 1880. 

F. Pelicetti, 1882. 

Nicholas Mazzarini, 1889. 

Clement David, 1892. 

F. Bernardine, 1900 to date. 
N.B. Fr. H. Garnet, S.J., who 
was executed 1606 for alleged com 
plicity in the Gunpowder Plot, had 
a house at Erith, but it does not 
appear that there was any mission 
in the town. 



ERRWOOD HALL, BUXTON, 
CHESHIRE (Shrewsbury). 

The domestic chapel of the Grim- 
shawe family, opened in October 
1851, serves the mission. In the 
sacristy are preserved many antique 
vestments of great beauty, while 
the reliquary contains a portion of 
the Crown of Thorns. 
Priests. 
Rev. H. Alcock, 1851. 

E. W. Nightingale, 1851. 

R. Maurice, 1852. 

D. Organ, 1852. 

B. O Donnell and E. Mag- 

greevy, 1852-59. 
J. Quinn, 1859. 

(Served from Gorton, 1863-69). 
C. Bell, 1869. 
H. Wood, 1877. 
W. McAuliffe, 1877. 
M. Gerin, 1889. 
J. Berard, 1896. 
H. Welch, 1890. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



169 



ESH LAUDE, DURHAM (HexJiam 

and Newcastle). Sfc. Michael. 

According to the registers pre 
served at the presbytery, this mis 
sion was founded in 1790. It was 
served from 1795 (June) till May 
1827 by Fr. John Yates, V.G. to 
Bishop Smith, V.A. Fr. Yates 
died June 1, 1827, and was buried 
at Ushaw, his place at Esh being 
taken by Fr. W. Fletcher of the 
same college. Fr. Boger Glass- 
brook succeeded in 1839. The pre 
sent chapel of massive stone and 
slate was erected in 1832, on a 
site presented by Sir Edward 
Smythe, Bart., of Acton Burnell. 
This ancient Catholic family has 
an ancestral residence at Esh 
Laude. The old chapel was built 
about 1799. It was served for some 
time by Fr. Ashmell, who lived to 
be 105. This excellent priest, during 
his missionary labours in the north 
of England about the middle of the 
eighteenth century, used to go about 
disguised as a farmer in leather 
gaiters, grey coat, check cloak, and 
slouched hat. In recent times the 
priests at Esh have been Bevs. 
Wm. Canon Thompson, 1841-80; 
Samuel Harris, 1880; Matthew 
Culley, 1902. 



ETJXTON, near CHORLEY, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Mary. 

Euxton is one of the many places 
in Lancashire where the Faith has 
survived the long ordeal of the 
penal times, thanks in great mea 
sure to the fostering care of the 
Andertons of Euxton and the Moly- 
neuxes of Sefton. In 1524 James 
Anderton, of Euxton, built a chan- 
trey in the parish and established 
a priest there to pray for himself 
and his wife. The chapel wherein 
the chantrcy was placed was built 



eleven years earlier by Sir W. Moly- 
neux, and his descendant Lord 
Molyneux retained possession of it 
as late as 1687. In 1718 his son 
gave up the chapel, and then one 
was constructed at Euxton Hall 
in a room open to the public. In 
the preceding century Sir Hugh 
Anderton, of Euxton, a devoted 
Boyalist, had afforded hospitality 
to Charles II. on his march to Wor 
cester. In the Mercurius Politicus 
for August 16 of that year, Sir Hugh 
is described as a bloody Papist. 
In 1715 another branch of the 
Andertons, theAndertons of Lostock, 
lost a good estate for being with 
the rebels but one day. The 
rebels, of course, being Lord 
Derwentwater, Mr. Foster, Lord 
Carnwath, &c., in arms for 
James III. The old Catholic 
chapel at Euxton was enlarged at 
different times till 1817, when a 
new one was built. The domestic 
oratory at the Hall was bought 
back by Colonel Anderton, the 
money being left to accumulate in 
the hands of the trustees till such 
time as a new chapel should be 
required. This came about in 1864, 
when the first stone of the present 
church was solemnly laid on a site 
given by Geo. Garstang, Esq. Cap 
tain Anderton of Euxton Hall con 
tributed 1,000. The building was 
opened October 29, 1865, by Bishop 
Goss, assisted by Bishop Grant of 
Southwark. The accommodation is 
for about 4,000. The total cost was 
3,000. The style of the building 
is Early Decorated Gothic. 

Priests. 
Bev. Thos. Townley, 1718 (?). 

Hon. W. Molyneux, 1734. 

Thos. Anderton, 1735. 

Cuthbert Haydock, 1741. 

Jn. White, 1750 (?). 

Bobt. Swarbrick, 1778. 

Jn. Bell, 1815. 



170 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Higginson, 1817. 
R. Gillow, 1846. 
John Canon Worthy, 1851, 
Francis Soden, 1893. 
Thos. Keely, 1896 to date. 



EVERINGHAM, YORKSHIRE 

(Middlesbrough}. St. Mary. 

The chapel is described as founded 
in the reign of Edward VI. The 
Constable family of Everingham 
long kept the Faith alive in these 
parts, and it is satisfactory to note 
that the estate has always been in 
Catholic hands. The property 
passed to the family of the pre 
sent Lord Herries by the marriage 
about 1780 of Winifrid Maxwell 
granddaughter of the Jacobite Lord 
Nithsdale with Wm. Haggerston 
Constable, Esq., of Everingham. 
The register of baptisms dates from 
1771, with the baptism of John 
Dolman. The present fine church 
was erected by W. Constable Max 
well, Esq., who in 1858 succeeded 
to the Herries peerage. The style 
of the building opened July 10, 
1889 is cruciform, after the plan 
of the Maison Dieu at Nismes. 
Size 70 ft. by 30 ft. ; interior deco 
rated by fluted Corinthian columns, 
and altar of rich Italian marbles. 

Priests at Everingham. 
Rev. John Bennet, here 1771. 

The next priests were Frs. T. 
Gurnall, Edward Clarkson, 
and S. Hodgson (1814). 
Rev. Matthew Newsham, 1824. 
J. Brown, 1844. 
Richard Browne, 1845. 

Matthew Newsham, 1848. 

Robt. Cook, 1849. 

Joseph Arnoux, 1852. 

Henry Walker, 1858. 

Edward Riddell, 1862. 

Wm. Gordon, 1864. 

Thos. Knight, S.J., 1874. , 



Rev. Joseph Dodds, 1882. 
Chas. Donovan, 1885. 
Wm. McNaughton, 1888. 
Jn. Murphy, 1892. 
Jn. Willemse, 1895. 
Cornelius English, 1900 to 
date. 



EVERTON, LIVERPOOL. St. 

Edward s College. 

This well-known seat of learning 
was established in 1842 under the 
auspices of Bishop Brown, V.A. 
It was opened for students, Janu 
ary 16, 1843. Though mainly 
intended for those desirous of pur 
suing commerce or any of the 
learned secular professions, it had 
also a course of studies for the 
ecclesiastical state. Alexander 
Goss, D.D., afterwards second 
Bishop of Liverpool, was vice- 
president, and it was while spend 
ing the vacation with some of the 
students at Ardrishaig, Argyllshire, 
that he received news of his appoint 
ment as cqadjutor to Bishop Brown 
(July 1856). The college was, 
perhaps, the first Catholic one in 
England which allowed pupils to 
go home at Christmas. It was 
early affiliated to the London Uni 
versity, and many of its students 
have since taken high places in 
the arts and science examinations. 
From about 1885 to 1896 the 
college was an episcopal one, pre 
sumably for the sole education of 
Church students. 

Presidents. 
Rev. Mgr. John Canon Fisher, 

D.D., 1843. 

Mgr. Canon Carr, V.G., 1885. 
Evan Canon Banks, B.A., 
1895 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



171 



EVESHAM, WORCESTERSHIRE 

(Birmingham). 

This place was among the number 
served by the Jesuit Fathers of 
St. George, Worcester, 1633 et seq. 
Fr. Oldcorne is said to have had a 
conference with Fr. Garnet, at 
Evesham, a short time before the 
Gunpowder Plot. Fr. Thomas 
Roper, S.J., son of the fourth Lord 
Teynham, was here 1693-1700. 
-After this, Evesham disappears as 
a mission till 1887-88, when the 
Passionists started a foundation 
here under Fr. Alban Cowley. The 
chapel, an iron one, was served 
from Broadway, 1896, and by Fr. 
Robert Patten, 1897 to date. Schools 
erected 1900. The iron church 
was removed from Magpie Lane 
to the High Street the same year. 
Presbytery built 1900. 

N.B. In 1865 the late Duke 
d Aumale opened his private 
oratory at Wood Norton to the 
public, and this chapel was the 
only Catholic one in the dis 
trict until the re-establishment of 
the Evesham mission by the 
Passionists. 



EXETER, DEVON (Plymouth). 
The Sacred Heart. 

The Exeter mission dates from 
1745, when Mass was said in Mr. 
Flashman s house, known as King 
John s Tavern, in South Street. 
In the reign of James II. a chapel 
had been opened in the city, but it 
was destroyed by an Orange mob 
at the Revolution. Fr. Richard 
N orris was priest at the time, and 
he continued to act as such down 
to 1717. After this the mission 
was served by different priests, 
as follows : Revs. J. Beaumont, 
O.S.F. (1733 ?), E. Williams (1776), 



E. Hussey, O.S.B. (d. September 25, 
1785), - Parry, and - - Rigby 
(1790?), W. Sutton (d. 1800). Most 
of these priests seem to have only 
occasionally ministered at Exeter, 
for about 1762 the Jesuits offered 
to serve the mission, and their ser 
vices were accepted by Bishop 
Walmesley, V.A., of the Western 
District. Fr. W. Gilibrand was 
here from 1762-67. He lived with 
the Truscot family. Fr. J. Edis- 
ford, who came in 1772, died of 
gaol fever caught while attending 
the prisoners in the old county 
gaol (November 20, 1789). The 
old chapel, erected in 1790, in the 
Mint, was dedicated to St. Nicholas. 
It was built by the Jesuits on the 
site of the Old Priory of St. Nicholas, 
and was opened in 1792 and en 
larged in the summer of 1859 by 
Fr. A. Eccles, S.J. This zealous 
missioner also built the Catholic 
schools. Under him the chapel 
was enriched with a fine pulpit, an 
altar of Caen stone, and a Norman 
altar screen. The Rev. Geo. Oliver, 
D.D., the distinguished antiquary, 
was appointed to the Exeter mission 
in 1807. Most of his learned works 
and Collectanea were composed 
here. He died March 23, 1862, 
and was succeeded by Fr. James 
Eccles, S.J. In December 1871, 
the mission was taken over by the 
Bishop of Plymouth, who appointed 
Fr. G. Hobson to Exeter. The first 
stone of the present church of the 
Sacred Heart was laid, Wednesday, 
March 20, 1883. The church is in 
the thirteenth century Gothic style, 
from designs by C. Ware, Esq., of 
Exeter, and L. Stokes, Esq., of 
London. The total cost was about 
10,000. The accommodation is 
for 600. An old fifteenth century 
window lights the staircase to the 
choir. The reredos contains statues 
of the Apostles, and is otherwise 



172 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



richly carved. The stately church 
was opened Tuesday, November 18, 
1884, with all the ceremonial and 
ritual which form the glory of 
the Church. Bishops Vaughan, 
Errington, and Clifford took part 
in the imposing function. 



EXMOUTH, DEVON (Plymouth). 
Mission established 1888, about 
which time the church a Gothic 
iron structure for 200 persons was 
erected. The congregation is about 
130. The church was enlarged in 
April 1905. 

Priests. 
Very Rev. Mgr. John Grainger, 

1888. 

Rev. Bernard Palmer, 1900 to 
date. 



EXTON, RUTLAND (Nottingham). 
St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

The thirteenth century Gothic 
church (60 ft. x 20 ft.) was com 
menced December 29, 1867, and 
opened 1868, by the Bishop of Not 
tingham. C. A. Buckler was the 
architect. In 1870, a school was in 
existence and reported to be fairly 
attended. The church at Exton was 
the first Catholic place of worship 
opened in Rutland since the Refor 
mation. 

Priests. 
Rev. Philip Munro. 

Charles Gey, 1877. 

John Burns, 1879. 

E. Van Dale, 1882. 

J. Thompson, 1885. 

Francis Busch, 1890 to date. 



173 



P 



FAILSWORTH, LANCS (Salford). 
The Immaculate Conception. 

A portion of the present church 
was opened October 1865. A new 
sanctuary was opened 1892, at a 
cost of 1,240. The style of the 
building is decorated Gothic. The 
mission started by the erection of 
a temporary chapel 1851. 

Priests. 
Rev. W. Daly, 1851. 

John Hennessey, 1890. 

John Canon Boulaye, 1902. 

John Morris, 1904. 



FAIRFORD, GLOUCESTERSHIRE 

(Clifton}. St. Thomas of Canter 
bury. 

In 1823 Fr. Glassbrook used to 
say Mass here, and it is said that 
he had a pension of 40 per 
annum from Lord de Mauley. The 
church was opened in October 1845. 
The ceremony was performed by 
Fr. J. Mitchell, of Chipping Norton, 
on behalf of the Y.A. Fr. P. 
O Farrell preached at the High 
Mass, and Dr. Rock in the evening. 

Priests since 1845. 
Rev. J. Mitchell. 

W. Goodwin, 1851. 

E. A. Glassbrook, 1853. 

Peter Seddon, here in 1864. 

John Dickenson, 1867. 

Jas. Dawson, here in 1872. 



Rev. Francis Coopman, 1877. 

James Lonergan, here in 1891. 

,, George Canon Crook, 1892. 
Very Rev. Mgr. E. English, D.D., 
1896 to date. 



FAKENHAM, NORFOLK (North- 
amptori). St. Anthony of Padua. 

Mission founded 1905. The pre 
sent place of worship is a garret in 
the Hempton Road. 
Priest. 
Fr. Gray. 



FALMOUTH, CORNWALL (Ply- 
mouth}. St. Mary. 

This mission owes its origin to 
Rowland Conyers, Esq., who died 
April 28, 1803. A room was fitted 
up and opened as a chapel in Janu 
ary 1805. A larger chapel was 
opened October 24, 1821, through 
the exertions of the Abbe Grezille, 
who collected 500 towards the 
purpose from the Royal Family of 
France. The Redemptorists were 
in charge of the mission from 1843 
to 1845, when they left for Clap- 
ham. Mr. Andrews, a resident in 
the town at this time, was a great 
benefactor to the mission. The 
old chapel was superseded by the 
present Gothic structure opened 
1869. 



174 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 
Rev. Ignatius Casemore, O.S.F., 

1803. 

Abbe Grezille, 1805. 
Thaddeus O Meally, 1822. 
Peter Hartley, 1828. 
Kobt. Gates, 1827. 
Eobt. Platt, 1832. 
M. O Connor, 1831. 
Robt. Platt, 1832. 
Fredk. Held, C.SS.R., 1843. 
Michael Carroll, 1845. 
Jn. Ryan, 1846. 
Tiberius Soderini, 1852. 
James Carey, 1854. 
Win. Laffan, 1857. 
Denys Byrne, 1863. 
Wm. Cassey, 1866. 
James Burns, 1903 to date. 



FAREHAM, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). 

The mission dates from 1873, 
when a temporary chapel was 
erected and placed under the 
charge of Fr. T. Foran, Acting 
Chaplain to the Forces. The pre 
sent church, in the Decorated 
style, was opened by Bishop 
Danell, of Southwark in which 
diocese Fareham then lay Sep 
tember 1878. Mr. J. Crawley was 
the architect, the accommodation 
of the church being for about 300. 

Recent Hectors. 
Rev. T. Doyle, 1885. 

E. Canon Collins, 1888 to 
date. 



FARM STREET, BERKELEY 
SQUARE, LONDON, W. (West 
minster). The Immaculate Con 
ception. 

The foundation-stone was laid on 
the Feast of St. Ignatius Loyola, 
July 31, 1844, by Fr. Randall 



Lythgoe, S.J., in the place of 
I Bishop Griffiths, V.A.L.D., and the 
building was opened in 1845, For 
some years (1845-49) the clergy 
residence was at 25 Bolton Street, 
Piccadilly. Mention is first made 
of Farm Street Church in the 
Catholic Directory in 1850. The 
style of the building is Gothic of 
the Third Period, from the design 
of Scholes. Since the opening of 
the church two handsome aisles 
have been added, one of them as re 
cently as 1904-5. The east window 
is by Wailes and the high altar by 
A. W. Pugin. The several side 
altars are dedicated to SS. Ignatius, 
Francis Xavier,and other canonised 
members of the Society of Jesus, 
the fathers of which have charge 
of the church. 



FARNBOROUGH, HANTS (Ports- 

I mouth). St. Michael s Priory. 

On her return from Zululand in 
May 1881, where she had been to 
visit the scene of the death of 

I her son, the Prince Imperial, the 

I Empress Eugenie took up her resi 
dence at Farnborough Hill. Here 
Her Majesty built the monastery 
and church. On Monday, Janu 
ary 8, 1888, the bodies of Napo- 

i leon III. and the Prince Imperial 
were removed from Chislehurst^.v.) 
and deposited in the crypt of the 
newly erected church. The style of 
this building is Flamboyant Gothic. 
The altar and sanctuary are of 
richly inlaid marbles, many of the 
varieties used being from Corsica, 
the cradle of the Napoleonic race. 
In the sacristy are kept some 
splendid copes and chasubles made 
from the Coronation robes of the 
Empress, who has richly endowed 
the church and adjoining mon 
astery. A staircase leads from the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



175 



Gospel side of the sanctuary to the 
crypt a fine underground chapel, 
with a handsome marble altar and 
richly embossed bronze fittings. 
The Imperial remains repose in 
handsome red granite sarcophagi, 
the gift of Queen Victoria. That 
of the Emperor bears the inscrip 
tion : Napoleon III. E.I.P. On 
the one containing the remains of 
the Prince Imperial appear the 
words : Napoleon Eugene Louis 
Jean Joseph, Prince Imperial, ne a 
Paris 16 Mars 1856; mort en soldat 
a Itrotrotiozy (Afrique Australe) 
1 Juin 1879. E.I.P. Mural 
tablets, wreaths, and funereal ban 
ners adorn the chapel. The church 
and monastery of St. Michael were 
first placed under the care of the 
Premonstratensian Canons from 
St. Michael s, Frigolet (France). 
These were supplanted a few years 
ago by the Benedictines of Solesmes, 
who divide their time between the 
zealous discharge of their religious 
and liturgical duties and the com 
position of learned works, thus ably 
maintaining in their English home 
the best traditions of the renowned 
Order of St. Benedict. 



FARNHAM, SURREY (South 
ward}. St. Polycarp s, Park Lane, 
Farnham. 

The mission was opened on the 
Feast of St. Polycarp (January 26), 
1890. Among the congregation 
were Lady Wood and Capt. Wood, 
wife and son of Field-Marshal Sir 
Evelyn Wood. Bishop Butt, of 
Southwark, made his first visita 
tion of Farnham in September 
1890. Fine schools have been since 
erected by Fr. Gerin, the first priest 
of the mission, who is making great 
efforts to provide his increasing 
congregation with a church. 



FARNWORTH, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Gregory s. 

A mission was started here in 
June 1852, by Fr. W. Taylor, who 
remained till January 1861. The 
Sisters of the Most Holy Cross 
took over the teaching of the 
schools in 1871. The present 
church was commenced August 16, 
1873, the foundation-stone being 
laid by Bishop (afterwards Car 
dinal) Vaughan. The Eev. F. 
Schneider, a German priest of 
Treves, who had been expelled by 
the May Laws, was priest here in 
1876. A new organ by Benson 
was installed 1901-2. 



FAVERSHAM, KENT (South- 
war Tt). Our Lady of Compassion 
and St. Theodore. 

The district was formerly served 

by the chapel at Linsted Lodge, 

the residence of the Lords Teyn- 

ham. The family (Eoper) was 

\ descended from Thos. Eoper, son- 

! in-law of the Blessed Thomas 

More, and remained Catholic till 

about the end of the eighteenth 

j century. The last Catholic holder 

of the title appears to have been 

Henry, 10th Baron, who died in 

i 1781, though in 1831 the People s 

> Book erroneously asserted that 

i the Lord Teynham of the day 

(Henry, 15th Baron) was a Catho- 

j lie. Fr. Chas. Forrester, S.J., was 

chaplain here 1767-75. His calm 

expostulation with the local pro- 

testant clergyman, the Eev. Mr. 

! Fox, not only disarmed the hostile 

opposition of that gentleman, but 

even led to him sending his two 

sons to Douai College ! (See 

Oliver s Collections, p. 306.) The 

present mission of Faversham was 

founded in 1899, and is served by 

the Oblates of St. Francis of Sales. 



176 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



The temporary chapel is at Plan 
tation House. The Kev. F. Ma- 
honey was the first rector. Confir 
mation was administered here for 
the first time since the Reformation 
by a Catholic bishop, August 26, 
1906. Great efforts are being made 
to erect a permanent church. 

Priests. 
Rev. F. Mahoney. 

L. Dubruyer, 1904 to date. 

Note. Linsted Lodge was 
served by the Jesuits at an early 
date. In 1688 an Orange mob 
threatened the mansion and fear 
fully ill-used the priest, Fr. Thos. 
Kingslcy, alias de Bois, who nar 
rowly escaped death. Concerning 
the first apostasy of the family, 
that of Henry, 8th Lord Teynham, 
Fr. Jn. Clare, S.J., thus wrote, 
March 3, 1715 : Our chief families 
fall off; Lord Teynham, Sir Joseph 
Shelley, Mr. Cotton, and two or 
three more are talked of, &c. 



FELIXSTOWE, SUFFOLK (North 
ampton}. St. Felix. 

The locality having grown from 
a fishing village to a smart water 
ing-place, it was found necessary 
to establish a mission in the town 
in July 1899. The chapel is in the 
Gainsborough Road. In pre-Refor- 
mation times the church pertained 
to the Benedictines of Rochester. 

Rev. Fr. W. Cooper, 1899. 



FELLING, DURHAM (Hexliam 

and Newcastle). St. Patrick. 

A chapel was opened at Felling, 
January 25, 1841. At that time 



there were many Catholics in the 
district, mostly employed in the 
chemical works of Messrs. Lee, 
Patterson & Co. This firm gener 
ously made a handsome annual 
allowance to the priest of St. 
Patrick s Chapel. In 1850 the 
Catholic children who attended 
the mixed school at Friars Goose 
in the vicinity were taught their 
catechism by the mistress who was 
a Catholic. Separate Catholic 
schools were not erected till later. 
At the retreat given by the Re- 
demptorists in September-October 
1859, 1,400 persons received Holy 
Communion. In March 1860 Fr. 
Kelly, priest of the Felling mission, 
was committed to prison by Mr. 
Justice Hill for contempt of court 
in refusing at the Durham assizes 
to answer certain questions as to a 
fact known under the seal of con 
fession. He was, however, soon 
liberated, the conduct of the learned 
judge being made the subject for 
some severe comments in the gene 
ral press. The old presbytery was 
burnt January 1877, but afterwards 
rebuilt on an enlarged scale. The 
present fine Gothic church was 
erected 1893-94, during the rectorate 
of Fr. J. Murphy, D.D. 

N.B. The Brandlings an ancient 
Catholic family of great possessions 
acquired Felling from the Places, 
temp. Henry VIII. In 1729 Ralph 
Brandling, Esq., married Eleanor 
Ogle, a protestant, and after his 
death in 1749 she brought up their 
only son, Charles, in her own re 
ligion. The family was thus lost 
to the Faith, and the chapel which 
had hitherto served the mission 
was closed. 

Priests of the present Mission. 
Rev. Fr. J. Kelly, 1847. 

Fr. T. Carroll, 1882. 

Fr. J. Murphy, D.D., 1892 to 
date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



177 



FELTON, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexliam and Newcastle}. St. 
Mary. 

Felton Castle has been the seat 
of the Riddell family since about 
1720, and Mass was said here 
throughout the penal times. The 
registers date from 1792. The do 
mestic chapel was served occasion 
ally by the Jesuits, but no particu 
lars of their ministrations are 
forthcoming. The present church 
for 220 persons, opened June 16, 
1857, is situated on the west side 
of the mansion, and is well described 
as a beautiful specimen of the 
revival of ancient ecclesiastical 
architecture. Mr. Gilbert Blount 
was the architect. 

Priests since 1820. 
Rev. J. Robinson ; J. Orrell, 1828. 

J. B. Swale, 1846. 

W. A. Brindle, 1847. 

S. Day, 1850. 

Charles Smith, O.S.B., 
1870 (?). 

Peter Dorn, 1884. 

Adam Wilkinson, 1888. 

M. P. Horgan, 1895. 

Edmund J. Barnet, 1897 to 
date. 



FERNYHALGH, LANCASHIRE 

(Liverpool). St. Mary. 

Called also Ladywell and in old 
documents Sanctue Mariae ad Fon- 
tem. The Lady Chapel close by 
the holy well dates from 1348, 
being erected by a merchant in 
thanksgiving for deliverance from 
shipwreck. The place has always 
been a stronghold of Catholicity 
even during the worst period of 
the penal laws. A school was 
kept here early in the eighteenth 
century by one Dame Alice. She 
was originally a protestant, but by 
reading books of controversy and 



apologetics was led to embrace the 
Catholic faith, On being turned 
adrift by her father, she opened a 
Catholic school. Her pupils boarded 
at the various cottages in the dis 
trict. She took the children to 
chapel every day, and on the way 
the party always recited a Pater, 
Ave, and Gloria at the * Lady well. 
Her school became very famous 
locally, so that even many protes- 
tants entrusted their children to 
her for their education. Dame 
Alice Harrison retired to end her 
days with the Gerards of Garswood, 
where she died about 1760. In 
1684-85 a new chapel or house 
of prayer was built by Mr. Cuth- 
bert Hesketh, of ^Vhite Hill, Goos- 
nargh. His cousin, Fr. Charles 
Tootell, was priest at Fernyhalgh 
and Vicar- General of Lancashire 
and Cumberland in 1719. During 
the Jacobite troubles of 1715, Fr. 
Tootell was sought for by the priest- 
hunters and for days lay concealed 
in a bam. He was much troubled 
down to 1719, when the persecution 
ceased. Later, he records thus : 
We began to pray at Our Lady s 
well privately, August 5, 1723, 
and publicly, August 15 in the 
same year. He died at Ferny 
halgh, November 13, 1727, leav 
ing behind him a curious didactic 
work entitled The Layman s 
Ritual for the Instruction of his 
Flock. Fr. Melling, who suc 
ceeded, died April 17, 1733. His 
successor was Fr. Oliver Tootell, 
nephew of Fr. C. Tootell. When 
Prince Charles Edward Stuart and 
the Highlanders retreated from 
Derby in December 1745, a protes 
tant mob burned the chapel at 
Fernyhalgh to the ground. An 
account of this act of destruction 
has been left by Fr. Oliver Tootell. 
The chapel was subsequently re 
built. In 1793 a larger chapel was 

N 



178 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



erected by Fr. Anthony Lund, one 
of the Douai professors. The con 
secration took place August 12 of 
the same year. Another restora 
tion and re-opening took place in 
August 1847. Mr. Anderton, of 
Haighton, gave a handsome lamp 
in honour of the event. 

Priests. 
Rev. Eobt. Bannister, 1770. 

A. Lund, 1773. 

E. Blacoe, 1811. 

R. Gillow, 1823. 

Mgr. Cookson, 1864. 

(Administered, 1878-80.) 

W. Gordon, 1880. 

Daniel O Hare, 1888. 
John O Reilly, 1893 to date. 



FILEY, NORTH RIDING, YORKS 

(Middlesbrough). 

The Sisters of Charity of Notre 
Dame acquired Clarence House as 
a convent in 1905, and till the open 
ing of the present handsome church 
on May 10, 1906, by the Bishop 
of Middlesbrough, the temporary 
chapel of the community was open 
to the public. The style of the 
church is Roman of the first cen 
tury, the plan comprising nave and 
sanctuary ; accommodation for 
about 250 persons. The altar is 
supported by a single thick pillar. 
A fine bell has been presented by 
Mr. Wake, of Sheffield. A. Pretia, 
Esq., was the architect. Fr. E. 
Roulin, O.S.B., is the first and 
present rector of the mission. 



FINCHLEY EAST, MIDDLESEX 

(Westminster). St. Mary. 

Towards the end of the eighteenth 
century Mr. William Mawhood, a 
wealthy Catholic gentleman and 
army contractor, had his residence 



at Finchley, and in his house Bishop 
j Challoner stayed during the Gordon 
riots, June 1-6, 1780. Two of Mr. 
Mawhood s sons were at the Old 
Hall Green Academy (St. Edmund s 
College) in 1769. It is probable 
that this family had a chapel in 
their house. From 1796, the 
nearest mission was St. Mary s, 
Holly Place, Hampstead, founded 
by the Abbe J. Morel (see Hamp 
stead). After the establishment of 
St. Joseph s Retreat, Highgate, by 
the Passionist Fathers, in June 
1858, the few Catholics in and 
around Finchley went there to 
Mass. In 1864, the nuns of the 
Good Shepherd Order at Hammer 
smith opened a branch convent at 
East End, Finchley, in a large 
mansion formerly belonging to a 
protestant gentleman. Here they 
have continued to carry on their 
work of active charity. Till the 
recent establishment of the mission 
of St. Mary s (1898), High Road, 
East Finchley, the convent church 
was open to the public. A small 
day school was opened November 6, 
1899. The average daily attend 
ance that year was fifteen. 

Priest. 
Rev. A. C. Day. 



FINCHLEY NORTH, MIDDLESEX 

(Westminster). 

Until 1903 North Finchley and 
its adjunct, Whetstone, were ad 
ministered to from Barnet. A new 
mission was established in the 
former place in June 1903, Fr. M. 
St. John Sellon being placed in 
charge. Mass was said in a small 
hired loft over a stable-yard, the 
Blessed Sacrament being reserved 
in the priest s house, Nether Street, 
where Mass was said on weekdays. 
In 1903 the chapel was at 4 Percy 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



179 



Boad, near Tally-ho Corner, the 
mission being served from Barnet. 



FLEETWOOD, LANCS (Liver 
pool). St. Mary. 

On Thursday, September 29, 1841, 
a grand concert was given at the 
"Whitworth Institute, Fleetwood, to 
augment the building-fund of the 
church. Many of the officers at 
tached to the School of Musketry 
attended, and subscribed liberally. 
The edifice was opened in Novem 
ber of the same year. The sermon 
was preached by Dr. Butler, of 
St. Anthony s, Liverpool. The new 
church was erected 1867, from a 
design by Pugin, jun. The site 
was given by Sir P. Fleetwood. In 
1877 the presbytery was built, and 
in 1896 new schools. In 1903 the 
Catholic population was 1727. 

Priests. 
Rev. B. Carroll, 1841. 

E. Carter, 1847. 

Thos. Gibson, 1849. 

Hy. Cook, 1857. 

Thomas Canon Newsham, 
1860 (?). 

Thos. Bridges, 1867. 

Wm. Bockliff, 1897. 



FOLKESTONE, KENT (SoutJi- 
wark}. Our Lady Help of Chris 
tians and St. Aloysius. 

As late as 1863 Folkestone was 
described as k a destitute mission, 
with no better chapel than a bare 
room. About seventy Catholic 
children of the place were said 
to be attending protestant schools. 
Fr. E. Sheridan, of Hythe, served ! 
the chapel on Sundays. The present 
church in Guildhall Street was ! 
opened July 19. 1889, by Bishop 
Butt, during the rectorate of Fr. F. 



Dennan. The old Towns End 
cottages formerly stood on the site. 
The church is a substantial build 
ing in the Early Gothic style ; the 
architect was Mr. Leonard Stokes. 
The seating capacity is for about 
750 people. The cost of erection 
was between 5,000 and 6,000. 
The sermon at the opening was 
preached by Mgr. Harrington Moore 
(Jeremias vi. 16). Mr. C. Santley, 
the celebrated vocalist, sang the 
Veni, Sancte Spiritus at the offer 
tory. The present incumbent of 
Folkestone is Mgr. C. Coote, suc 
cessor to Fr. T. Scannell, now of 
Weybridge. 



FORD, LIVERPOOL, LANCS. The 
Holy Sepulchre. 

The Earl of Sefton in October 
1846 gave an acre of land at Ford 
as a site for the Catholic schools. 
In 1858 a piece of ground was pur 
chased from the same noble land 
lord and consecrated as a cemetery. 
The church in the centre of this 
burial-ground was opened by the 
Bishop of Liverpool in September 
1861. The style is Modern Gothic, 
and the building will accommodate 
about 200 persons. Fr. T. Kelly 
was the first resident priest. The 
Church of the Good Shepherd 
Convent dedicated to the Sacred 
Heart was commenced in May 
1886. The style is Gothic. The 
building is divided into three sec 
tions for nuns, penitents, and 
people. 

Priests. 
R ev . _ Kelby, 1861. 

Moses Doon, 1863. 

Bichard O Neill, 1871. 

M. Aylward, 1874. 

Thos. Browne, 1885. 

E. O Beilly, 1893. 

C. Beynolds, 1895. 

P. Monaghan, 1899. 



180 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



FORDINGBRIDGE, HANTS (Ports- j 
mouth). Our Lady of Seven Do 
lours. 

A mission established by the | 
Servite Fathers in 1872. 

Priests. 

None mentioned 1875. 
Bev. Mgr. Carter, 1878. 
Edw. Sheridan, 1880. 
Edw. Collins, 1885. 

Servites. 

Priors. Eev. P. M. Simoni, 1889. 
A. Brugnoli, 1890. 
John Angelo Price, 

1891. 

A. Brugnoli, 1892. 
P. Mullarky, 1895. 
S. Barry, 1897. 
Leo Graty, 1900. 
Ambrose McGrath, 
1903 to date. 



FOREST GATE, LONDON, E. 

(Westminster). St. Anthony of 
Padua. 

A school chapel was opened by 
the Franciscans, Wednesday, Octo 
ber 8, 1884. High Mass was sung 
by Dr. Weathers, Bishop of Amycla. 
In the afternoon of the same day 
the foundation of the Friary was 
laid by the Bishop of Emmaus. It 
forms the house of studies of the 
Order in England. The church 
was opened in 1887. Catholic 
population of the district, about 
4,000. 



FOREST HILL, LONDON, S.E. 
(Southward). St. William. 

The church, in the Komanesque 
style of architecture, was opened 
by Bishop Amigo, May 3, 190G. 
The building, which is the gift of 
an anonymous benefactress, will 
accommodate about 200 persons. 



Fr. James Hayes, late of the neigh 
bouring mission of Brockley, is the 
first rector. 



FORMBY, LANGS (Liverpool). 
Our Lady of Compassion. 

The ancient Catholic family of 
Formby lost the faith shortly after 
1720. Up to this time the chapel 
served the mission. Fr. E. Forster, 
S.J., was priest 1701-7, and after 
him Fr. Beaumont. Fr. C. Burton, 
1709-19, Fr. W. Clifton, 1719-49, 
Fr. F. Blundell, 1749-79, were the 
next priests. A public chapel was 
commenced about 1G86. At the 
Bevolution it was seized and used 
as a tithe-barn. About 1794 it re 
turned to its original purpose, and 
was enlarged for 150. By 1860, the 
Catholic population had risen to 
1,100. The church was opened in 
August 1864 on a site given by Mr. 
Weld-Blundell, who also contri 
buted 1,000. The design is Ko 
manesque, from design by Glutton. 
Seats are arranged for 600. The 
schools were enlarged in 1898. 

Priests since 1779. 
Eev. Hy. Blundell, S.J., 1779. 

F. Blundell, 1784. 

Thos. Caton, 1787. 

Parkinson, 1791. 
- Wheldon, 1791. 

F. Craythorne, 1795. 

Hy. Carter, 1796. 

Jos. Maini, 1805. 

Jn. Smith, 1834. 

Thos. Crowe, 1853. 

Mgr. Canon Carr, 1862 to 
date (1905). 



FOXCOTE, WARWICKSHIRE, 

(Birmingham). The Immaculate 
Conception. 

The ancient Catholic family of 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



181 



Canning descended from Thos. 
Canynges, Lord Mayor of London 
1456 were seated here till their 
extinction in January 1857. The 
estate now belongs to the Howards 
of Corby. Mass was said in the 
chapel at the Hall down to 1813, 
when the present edifice was 
erected. 

Priests. 

Eev. W. Mannock,O.S.B., 1709-59. 
Louvel, 1794 (?) ; served by 
Fr. J. Ducket of Brailes, 
1833-36. 

Geo. Burge, 1837. 

A. Lempfried, 1849. 

D. F. Mascot, 1867. 

Jn. Smith, here 1871. 

W. Timothy, 1876. 

W. Stoker, 1882. 

Patrick Keynolds, 1885. 

Michael Hourigan, 1888. 

J. Kennedy, 1903. 



FRESHFIELD, near LIVERPOOL 

(Liverpool). 

St. Peter s school for foreign 
missions was started here June 29, 
1884, in a house formerly used as 
a boys school under the direction 
of a protestant clergyman. The 
church adjoining is in a mixed 
style of architecture, and will ac 
commodate about 100. The interior 
has recently been adorned under 
the direction of the present rector. 
The students, who number about 
fifty, go through their course of 
Humanities at this college prior to 
their philosophical studies at Rozen- 
daal (Holland), after which they 
proceed to Mill Hill, London, for 
theology, Canon law, &c. A fine 
quadrangle was added to the 
school in 1903. 

Presidents. 

Eev. Francis Henry, 1884. 
Joseph Eettori, 1892. 



Rev. John Sala, 1893. 

Edmund Farmer, 1901 to 
date. 



FRESHWATER, ISLE of WIGHT 

(Portsmouth). 

The domestic chapel of Weston 
Manor, the seat of the Ward family, 
was opened for public worship 
September 14, 1871. In December 
1892 Fr. Bernard Vaughan 
preached a mission here, during 
which time about forty persons 
were received into the Church. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. Haythornthwaite, 1871. 

Patrick Curtiss, 1899. 

L. Doran, 1902 to date. 



FRIMLEY, SURREY (Southward). 

A wooden chapel, for the use of 
the Catholic soldiers, was com 
menced here, Oct. 1906. The 
building, which will probably be 
finished by Christmas, is for about 
300. Architect, B. Williamson, Esq. 
The mission, which was commenced 
in June 1906, is under the care of 
the Rev. Geo. Boniface. 



FRIZINGTON, CUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Joseph. 

The mission was founded in 
1875. The present church, to ac 
commodate 400, was opened Janu 
ary 27, 1897. The reredos has 
finely carved figures of SS. Bene 
dict, Edmund, and other English 
Saints. The Lady Altar is in 
memory of Fr. Brieiiey. 

Priests. 
Rev. Matthew Brierley, O.S.B. 

Hy. Perkins, 1879. 

Ralph Pearson, 1889. 



182 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Win. Hurley, 1891. 
Thos. Bamf ord, 1899. 
,. Win. Hurley, 1904. 
A. Prior, 1906. 



FROME, SOMERSETSHIRE (Clif 
ton). St. Catherine. 

In 1850 the Benedictine "Fathers 
of Downside visited Frome and 
laboured assiduously among the 
poor Catholics of the district. 
Mass was said on Sundays in the 
house of a Mr. Downing, a grocer. 
In June 1854, Fr. Eichard Ward, 
formerly a protestant clergyman, 
fitted up an old building, known as 
St. Catherine s Tower, as a church 
and presbytery, after which time 
Catholicism in the district greatly 
increased. 

Priests. 
Rev. R. Canon Ward, 1854. 

, Maurice Power, 1860. 

, Robt. Wadman, 1863. 

, Alex. Ryan, 1871. 

, F. Bartley, 1874. 

, J. Fanning, 1879. 

, J. Archdeacon, 1885. 

, Albert Williams, 1892 to 
date. 



FULHAM, LONDON, S.W. ( West 
minster}. 

When Pugin s beautiful church 
of St. Thomas of Canterbury was 
c rected in 1847 through the 
munificence of a convert lady the 
congregation mainly consisted of 
poor market gardeners who 



laboured in the Fulham Fields. 1 
In 1884 thousands of houses 
covered the once rural expanse. 
In January of that year, a large 
school chapel was erected by Fr. 
C. J. Keens, formerly of Maiden 
Lane church, for the benefit of the 
many Catholic poor * crowded out 
to Fulham from the West End. 
The number of children of school 
age was estimated at about 700. 
The high altar of the church is 
adorned by a richly carved reredos, 
and the windows are filled with 
stained glass. The first incumbent 
was Fr. T. T. Ferguson, D.D. He 
was succeeded in 1856 by Canon 
John Morris, who in 1861 entered 
the Society of Jesus. The Catholic 
population of the mission is about 
4,000. 

Priests since 1862. 
Rev. Geo. Canon Rolfe, 1861. 

Wm. Bond, 1866. 

Alexius Mills, 1874. 

Mgr. Fenton, Bishop of 
Amycla 1904, Bishop 
Auxiliary of Westminster. 

John Crowley, 1899 to date. 



FULHAM PALACE RD., LONDON, 
S.W. (Westminster}. 

The mission, which is under the 
care of the Augustinians, was com 
menced, 1903, in a little house- 
chapel in Comeragh Rd., West 
Kensington. The present iron 
church of the mission was opened 
Sunday, September 16, 1906; accom 
modation for about 250 ; Very Rev, 
Patrick Raleigh, prior. 



183 



GAINFORD, DURHAM (Hexham 
and Newcastle). St. Osmund. 

The mission was founded as a 
chapel of ease to St. Augustine s, 
Darlington, in 1852. 

Priests. 
Kev. Thos. Witharn, 1855. 

James Rodgers, 1860. 

Michael Birgen, 1891. 

Henry Dix, 1895. 

Thos. H. Knuckey, to date. 



GAINSBOROUGH, LINCOLNSHIRE, 

(Nottingham). St. Thomas of 
Canterbury. 

The mission was set on foot in 
1866, and on Wednesday, June 3, 
1868, the new church was opened 
by Bishop Roskell, of Nottingham. 
The edifice, which was built at the 
cost of T. A. Young, Esq., of King- 
erby, is in the twelfth century style 
of Gothic. Mr. Hadfield was the 
architect. The accommodation is 
for about 150. Cost of erection 
about 1,250. The convent and 
schools were built later. 

Priests. 
Rev. Michael Scully, 1866. 

Michael Gorman, 1877. 

,, John Wenham, 1888. 

Herbert Beale, 1889. 
Thos. Bolton, 1890. 
Michael O Reilly, 189a, 



Rev. Geo. Hawkins, 1897. 
Redmond Walsh, 1898. 
Alf. Bowen, 1899. 
Owen J. Scully, 1901 (?). 



GARSTANG, JLANCS (Liverpool). 
SS. Mary and Michael. 

Prior to 1788, Catholics at Gar- 
stang had to attend Mass at 
Claughton or Scorton. In the 
spring of that year, a chapel was 
opened, Fr. Shuttleworth being the 
first priest. In 1790 he went to 
Aston-le-Willows and was suc 
ceeded by Fr. J. Barrow. Fr. 
Barrow died in 1812. Fr. A. 
Story, who had kept a young 
gentlemen s academy at Tudhoe, 
was the next incumbent. He 
retired about 1823 and died in York 
shire aged eighty-seven. In 1820 
the Catholic population of Garstang 
numbered 530. In 1857 it was 
1,000, by which time the old chapel 
had become almost unfit for use. 
A fine site at Barnacre was pur 
chased from Mr. Bashall, of Far- 
rington Lodge, and the foundation 
stone of the new church laid by 
Bishop Goss, of Liverpool, in June 
1857. Fr. M. Hickey, resident priest 
at Garstang from 1827 to 1871, col 
lected most of the 3,030 required 
fjr ths contract. The style of tha 



184 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



church, which was solemnly opened 
in August 1858 by Bishop Goss, is 
geometrical, and the building will 
hold over 600 persons. New 
marble altar and rails before the 
High and Lady Altars were erected 
by the pastor and people in June 
1898. 

Priests. 
Rev. Wm. Foster, 1741. 

Edw. Daniel, 1745. 

Shuttleworth, 1788. 

J. Barrow, 1789. 

Wm. Barnes, 1796. 

J. Worswick, 1796. 

Jn. Eickaby, 1798. 

Kd. Sumner, 1800. 

J. Barrow, 1800. 

J. Burnard, 1807. 

Ar. Story, 1813. 

Dan. Hearne, 1824. 

M. Hickey, 1825. 
(T. Wells, assistant.) 

Canon Seed, 1871. 

Jn. Nixon, 1872. 

Jas. Hennessy, 1874 to date. 



GAESTON, LIVEEPOOL. St. I 
Francis of Assisi. 

In 1874 the trustees of the Liver- j 
pool Mission Fund granted 100 j 
towards a school chapel in this | 
district. The mission, however, was | 
not started till 1883, when a Con 
gregational chapel was purchased 
and opened for worship (July). 
New schools were inaugurated 
October 1884. 

Priest. 
Bev. Fredk. Smith, 1883 to date. 



GATESHEAD, DURHAM (Hexham 
and Neivcasfle). St. Joseph. 

The town was formerly known 
as Gateside. During the reign of 
James II., Fr. Philip Leigh, S.J., 
had a large * classical academy j 



and spacious chapel in the town. 
Bishop Leyburn confirmed 360 
persons here August 10 and 11, 
1687. Fr. Leigh was still here in 
1704. There is no mention of a 
mission after this, but when the 
Duke of Cumberland was hurrying 
north to suppress the Scotch 
rebellion in 1746, the old Catholic 
Church of St. Edmund at Gates- 
head was burnt by the mob. 
Whether this was an old pre- 
Beformation church or a Mass- 
house does not appear. The 
foundation of the present mission 
is due to Fr. Kobert Suffield, who 
in 1851 hired a loft at Hillgate and 
fitted up a chapel. The Long 
Room of the Queen s Hotel was 
afterwards hired for the same pur 
pose. A site for a new church 
was secured in 1850 at Jackson s 
Chare near the centre of the town. 
The first stone of the building was 
laid by Bishop Hogarth, of Hex- 
ham, June 1, 1858, and the church 
was opened July 5, 1859. A liberal 
portion of the building fund was 
subscribed by the congregation, 
including many of the employes 
of Messrs. Allhusen & Co. In 
November 1883, the church was 
reopened after a thorough course 
of renovation. Several fine stained- 
glass windows were added to the 
clerestory about this time. 
Catholic population, 1854, 2,008. 

Priests. 

Rev. R. Suffield, occasionally, 1851. 
F. Betham, 1852. 

(Mission served from Hexham 
1855--56.) 

Edward Consitt, 1857. 

Hy. Wrennall, 1860. 

Hy. Riley, 1867. 

John Wilson, 1874. 

Patrick Thomas Mathews, 
1879 till 1895. 

Canon Michael Greene, 1895 
to date, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



185 



GATESHEAD, DURHAM (Hexliam 
and Newcastle}. Our Lady and 
St. Wilfrid. 

This mission was initiated 
temporarily about fifty years ago 
by Fr. Beetham, of Newcastle, but 
the project was shortly afterwards 
given up. In 1886 the effort was 
again renewed, when Mass was 
said every Sunday in the district 
by a priest from St. Joseph s, 
Gateshead (q-v.}. A new iron 
church to accommodate about 500 
persons was opened on Sunday 
September 18, 1904. High Mass 
was sung on this occasion by Fr. 
G. Wheatley, D.D., of Ushaw. 
The Catholic population of the 
neighbourhood is estimated at 
2,000. 

Priests. 
(Mission served from St. Joseph s 

1886-1901.) 
Rev. James Kay, to date. 



GILLINGHAM, NORFOLK (North 
ampton). Our Lady of Perpetual 
Succour. 

The church in the Roman style 
was opened in August 1898, the 
stone having been laid in February 
of that year by Fr. M. Fulton, 
O.S.B. Size, 77 ft. by 22 ft. ; 
campanile 60 ft. high. The nave 
and aisles are separated by hand 
some Doric columns. J. G. Ken- 
yon, Esq., of Gillingham Hall, 
defrayed the cost of erection. The 
mission is at present served from 
Beccles. 



GILLMOSS, WEST DERBY, 

(Liverpool}. St. Swithiu. 

This mission originated about 
1700 at Croxteth Hall, the residence 
of the Lords Molyneux, When the 



1st Earl of Sefton (Charles 9th 
Viscount Molyneux) conformed to 
the Established Church in 1768, he 
had some rooms in a farmhouse 
near Croxteth Hall turned into a 
Catholic chapel and also erected a 
residence for the priest. The in 
cumbent at this time was Fr. B. 
Bolas, O.S.B., who died in 1773. 
His predecessor had been the Rt. 
Hon. and Rev. Charles 6th Lord 
Dormer, of the Society of Jesus. 
Fr. Joseph Emmott, S.J., came 
in 1773 at the special request, it is 
said, of the conforming Lord Sefton, 
who had been one of his pupils at 
St. Omer s. This story, however, 
is denied, as the Earl s guardians 
being protestants would not let 
him have a Catholic education. 
The present church was opened 
July 21, 1824, and the presbytery 
in 1836. In 1887 the Jesuit 
Fathers severed their connection 
with the mission, which has since 
been served by seculars. Fr. John 
Kelly was the first of these. He 
renovated the church in 1891. Fr. 
Taylor succeeded him in November 
1891. The church contains some 
valuable sacred pictures and is 
justly considered a very beautiful 
country church. A fine school and 
parish hall add greatly to the 
efficiency of the mission. 

Priests. 
Rev. Albert Babthorpe, S.J., 1701. 

Richard Hitchmough, 1709. 
He apostatised, 1714, and 
became a priest-hunter. He 
received from the Govern 
ment the small living of 
Whenby, Yorkshire, where 
he died in 1724. 

Thos.Worthington,O.P.,1713. 

Richard Jameson, 1725. 

Robt. Kendal, 1733. 

,, Win. Molyneux, 1746, became 
7th Viscount Molyneux, 
1756. 



186 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kev. Chas. Dormer (6th Baron 

Dormer), 1747. 
Jn. Bodenham, 1750. 
Bernard Bolas, O.S.B., 1756. 
Jos. Emmott, S.J., 1773. 
Nicholas Sewell, S.J., 1816. 
Jos. Cope, S.J., 1818. 
Thos. Clarke, S. J., 1834. 
Jos. Johnson, 1841. 
Edw. Morron, 1844. 
John Milner, 1862. 
Bernard Jarrett, 1863. 
James Walker, 1880. 
Geo. Noble, 1881. 
John Young, 1882 (last Jesuit 

rector). 

John Kelly, 1887. 
Thos. Taylor, 1891. 



GLASTONBURY, SOMERSET. Our 
Lady of the Sacred Heart. 

This town, so famous in the 
ecclesiastical annals of England for 
its renowned abbey, dissolved in 
1539, was without a mission till 
the autumn of 1886, when the 
Fathers of the Sacred Heart from 
Issoudun (France) opened a small 
chapel. They also served the 
mission of Highbridge, which till 
then had only the privilege of 
Mass on the first and third Sun 
days of each month. 



GLEN-TROTHY, near ABERGA- 
VENNY (Monmouth). The Sacred 
Heart. 

The chapel was opened in Octo 
ber 1885. The building, which was 
erected at the sole cost of Reginald 
Vaughan, Esq., of Glen-Trothy, 
consists of nave, chancel, porch, ! 
and sacristy. The high altar is j 
adorned by a carved group of the 
Crucifixion, the whole being lighted 
by a rich east window. High j 
Mas on the occasion of opening ! 



was sung by Bishop Hedley, of 
Newport. Mr. E. Kirby, of Liver 
pool, was the architect of the 
chapel. 

Priests. 
Eev. Henry Clark, 1885. 

Sidney Nicholls, 1888. 

Hyacinth Skerrett, 1890. 

James Phelan, 1892. 

P. Larkin, 1893. 

Edrnond Mottay, 1895 to 
date. 

GLOSSOP, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Mary 
1. All Saints. 

Fr. Nicholas Garlick, priest, who 
suffered for the Faith at Derby, 
1588, was a native of Glossop. 
The place was one of the seats of 
the ducal family of Norfolk, who 
maintained a chapel here which 
served the mission till the opening 
of a small church in 1837. The 
stone was laid by Mr. Ellison on 
behalf of the Duke of Norfolk, 
February 13, 1835. Schools for 
300 children were erected about 
the same time. Edward Fitzalan 
Howard, first Baron Howard of 
Glossop (December 9, 1869), was 
a generous benefactor to the mis 
sion. 

Priests. 

Eev. M. Barbe, 1824. 
T. Lakin, 1828. 
T. Canon Fauvel, 1835. 
C. Tasker, 1866. 
Henry Koerfer, 1882. 
W. Baigent, 1892. 
Francis Ffrench, 1897. 
J. A. Wenham, 1901. 
Owen Scully, 1903 to date. 
2. St. Mary. 

The present mission was formed 
1882, by the Eev. Charles Tasker 
of AH Saints, who left that church 
to be first incumbent of St. Mary s. 
The site of the new church begun 
in July 1884 was given by 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



187 



Howard of Glossop, the building 
expenses (12,000) being defrayed 
by the late Francis Sumner, Esq. 
A handsome presbytery was erected 
by the same generous benefactor. 
The church was opened by Bishop 
Bagshawe, August 16, 1887. Canon 
Tasker, who was created a domestic 
prelate (Monsignor) in 1893, died 
August 1906. 



GLOUCESTER (Clifton). St. 
Peter. 

The mission owes its rise to the ! 
munificence of Miss Mary Webb, i 
daughter of Sir Jn. Webb, Bart. ! 
The first priest was Fr. Geo. 
Gildart, but he did not remain 
long. His successor, Fr. Jn. i 
Greenaway, erected the chapel in 
1789. This excellent priest also 
carried on a highly successful 
academy for young gentlemen 
and gained the respect of all 
classes. He died November 29, 
1800, aged fifty, and is buried in 
the chapel. His successor appears 
to have been the Abbe Giraud. 
During the incumbency of the 
Abbe Josse (1833) some valuable 
church plate was stolen from the 
sacristy (October 21). The chapel 
was rebuilt and reopened March 22, 
1860 ; much internal decoration I 
was carried out October acd 
November 1886 under the direction 
of Senor Dastis, of the Academy of 
Madrid. The carved oak stalls of 
the sanctuary were erected at the 
same time. 

Priests. 

Bev. George Gildart, 1788. 
John Greenaway, 1789, 
Abbe Giraud, 1800. 
John Burke, 1825. 
Abbe L. Josse, 



Kev. P. Hartley, 1841. Died of 

contagion, caught while 
visiting the sick, 1847. 

Henry Godwin, 1847. 

T. Macdonnell, 1848. 

Leonard Canon Calderbank, 
1850. 

,, George Canon Case, D.D. 
1866. 

M. Bouvier, 1877. 

Eustace Canon Barren, 1879. 

Joseph Chard, 1896 to date.,, 



GOD AIMING, SURREY (South 
ward}. 

This mission was started in 
1899 and for some time was served 
on Sundays from the Franciscan 
Priory of Chilworth (q.v.). The 
Rushbrooks and Flemings are the 
most considerable Catholics of the 
place. The new church in the 
Early English style (98 ft. x 26 1 ft.) 
designed by Mr. F. Walters was 
opened by Bishop Amigo, June 2,7, 
1906. Cost of the building together 
with the commodious presbytery 
4,700. Fr. St. George Hyland 
has charge of the mission. 



GOLBORNE, NEWTON-LE-WIL- 
LOWS (Liverpool). All Saints. 

The mission was established 
1863. 

Priests. 
Eev. Francis A. Dunham. 

Thos. Carroll, here 1871. 
Francis A. Soden, 1876. 
Thos. Carroll, 1879. 
Rd. Baynes, 1882. 
Wm. Hy. Byrne, 1885. 
Thos. O Donnell, 1895. 
Michael Quirkc, 1902 to date, 



183 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



GOLDENHILL, STAFFORDSHIRE 
(Birmingham). St. Joseph. 

A school chapel was erected in 
1873, and served from Tunstall till 
the opening of the church (Gothic) 
in 1883. 

Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Kenny, 1885. 

Bernard Grafton, 1893. 

Win. Hopkins, 1894. 

Thos. Hanley, 1904. 

Willibrord Buscot 1905 to 
date. 



GOOLE, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Thomas of Canterbury. 

The mission was established in 
1864. A school chapel was opened 
in July 1870, and the present church 
September 22, 1877, by Cardinal 
Manning. Style, Early English ; 
accommodation for about 350 ; cost 
about 1,200. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Atkins, 1864. 

Gco. Pearson, 1887 to date. 



GOOSNARGH, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Erancis. 

Fr. Thaddeus, O.S.M., in his 
( Franciscans in England gives 
the date of the foundation of this 
mission as 1687. The ground and a 
small endowment (10 per annum) 
were given by Cuthbert Hesketh, 
Esq. The chapel was dismantled 
at the Revolution next year, but 
soon rose out of its ruins. The 
estate on which the chapel stood 
was sold in 1757 to Thos. Starkie, 
Esq., but a portion of the property 
was secured for the mission. The 
baptismal registers date from about 
1770. Fr. Dinmore, O.S.B., who 
succeeded the last Franciscan in 
cumbent, Fr. Bonaventure, 1833, 



enlarged the chapel (1834). New 
schools were opened in August 
1880. 

Priests. 

Rev. Michael Jackson, 1687. 
Hy. Appleton, 1710. 
Chas. Tootell, 1738. 
Jn. Tootell, 1752. 
Robt. Painter, 1753. 
Chas. Tootell, 1755. 
Leo. Francis, 1767. 
Bernardine Fleet, 1770. 
Lawrence Eccles, 1773. 
Bernard Yates, 1776. 

Alex. Whalley, 1778. 

Peter Wilcock, 1779. 

Anthony Caley, 1782. 

P. Wilcock, 1784. 

Ig. Casemore, 1785. 

Jas. Howse, 1787: 

Nich. Knight, 1788. 

Ig. Casemore, 1790. 

P. Wilcock, 1791. 

Hy. Waring, 1794. 

Pacif. Kington, 1800. 

Jos. Tate, 1803. 

Bonaventure Martin, 1805. 

Jos. Tate, 1808. 

Anselm Millward, 1809. 

B. Martin, left 1833. 

Edw. Dinmore, O.S.B., 1834. 

Mat. Brierley, O.S.B., 1879. 

Joseph Worden, 1895 to date. 



GORING-ON-THAMES, OXFORD- 
SHIRE (Birmingham). Our Lady 
and St. John. 

Mass was said here in the sum 
mer of 1895 by various priests for 
the benefit of Catholic visitors to 
i the place. Goring was established 
| as a permanent; mission with resi- 
| dent priest in April 1896. The site 
I for church and presbytery was se 
cured about this time, but for some 
months Mass was said on Sundays 
: in the house-boat of W, B. Hallet, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



189 



Esq. The foundation stone of the 
present church was laid by the 
Bishop of Birmingham on Novem 
ber 3, 1897, and the building was 
opened in 1898. The edifice, which 
stands in Ferry Lane, consists of a 
sanctuary and half the intended 
nave. The style is Perpendicular 
Gothic, designed by W. Ravens- 
croft, F.S.A., of Reading. The site 
was presented by Mr. W. Hallet. 



GORLESTON-ON-SEA, SUFFOLK 

(Northampton) . 

The temporary chapel was opened 
June 1889. The building, which 
was formerly a malthouse, will ac 
commodate about 150. Estimated 
number of congregation, about 70. 
Gorleston-on-Sea is a growing sea 
side resort well known for its beau 
tiful cliffs and bracing air. A site 
for a future church has been secured 
by the present rector. 
Priests. 
Rev. Edward Scott, 1889. 

Henry Stanley, 1905. 



GORTON, MANCHESTER, LANDS 

(Salford). St. Francis of Assisi. 

The Franciscans purchased a 
house and piece of land here in 
February 1863. It was occupied 
by the Fathers after Easter of the 
same year. The cruciform Gothic 
church designed by E. W. Pugin 
was commenced in May 1863, and 
consecrated 1872. Till its opening, 
the schools served as a temporary 
chapel. The church and the ad 
joining monastery cost upwards of 
10,000. A splendid marble high 
altar was erected in July 1885. 
"When Cardinal Manning visited 
the church in September 1885, he 
could congratulate the Fathers on 



their work, for there were 700 chil 
dren in the schools and a multi 
tude of people who received the 
sacraments. 



GOSPORT, HANTS (Portsmouth). 
Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. 

The foundation of this mission is 
set down at 1750, but we have been 
unable to discover anything of its 
early history. As late as 1851 the 
chapel in Middle Street was a 
mean wooden structure at the back 
of the presbytery, affording most 
inadequate accommodation for 
the congregation. Fr. Baldacconi, 
D.D., erected the present church, 
opened about 1855. Donna Maria 
Francisca, wife of the Spanish royal 
claimant Don Carlos, was buried 
here in 1835. 

Priests. 
Rev. Abbe Delarue, 1800 (?). 

Silveira, 1827. 

O Meara, 1829. 

Jn. Clarke, 1830. 

A. M. Baldacconi, 1850. 

Thcs. Canon Doyle, here in 
1871 and till 1896. 

Mgr. Cahill, administrator, 
1896 ct seq. 

Jn. Canon Watson, to date. 



GOUDHURST, KETXT (Southward). 
The Sacred Heart. 

A home for cripples was founded 
here, at Oakleigh House, in 1880 (?) 
by Miss Dashwood, of Slindon, the 
chapel being open to the public. 
The home was subsequently closed, 
but the mission still continues, the 
Catholic population of the place 
being about thirty (1905). 

Priests. 

Rev. Ar. Cumberlege. 
, E. Palmer. 



190 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kev. John Brady. 

Geo. Mendham, 1895 to date. 



GOSFORTH, NEWCASTLE-ON - 
TYNE (Hexham and Newcastle). 
The Sacred Heart and St. Charles. 

The mission was commenced in 
1868, Mass being said at Cox 
Lodge. The chapel was dedicated 
to St. Charles and served from the 
cathedral till about 1876, when a 
resident priest was appointed. The 
Bishop Chad wick Memorial Schools 
(Industrial) were inaugurated Octo 
ber 1882 and the cemetery of the 
Holy Sepulchre opened 1891. The 
church was erected 1896. 

Priests. 
Rev. Michael Birgen, 1876. 

Peter Perrin, 1882. 

Win. Stevenson, 1892. 

Adam Wilkinson, 1895. 

Thomas Keilly, 1897 to date. 



January 22, 1884. Car tmel Priory 
belonging to the Canons Kegular of 
St. Augustine before the dissolu 
tion, is situated in the neighbour 
hood. 



GRANGETOWN, NORTH RIDING, 
YORKS (Middlesbrough). Our 
Lady of Perpetual Succour. 

What was formerly a small vil 
lage had by 1883 become a town 
with 4,000 inhabitants. The school 
chapel at the entrance of the town 
was opened in the summer of 1885, 
mainly owing to the efforts of 
Canon Holland, of Southbank. For 
some years after 1885 the mission 
was served from Southbank. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Nolan, 1888. 

Patrick Cronin, 1899. 

Bernard Kelly, 1902 to date. 



GRANGE-OVER-SANDS, LANCS 

(Liverpool). 

Mass was offered for the first 
time here on Sunday, August 26, 
1882, at Kent Ford House, the 
residence of J. Sutcliffe Witham, 
Esq., by Fr. J. Bilsborow, after 
wards Bishop of Salford. Till that 
time there was no Catholic chapel 
nearer than Carnforth, about ten j 
miles distant. The foundations of 
the present church were laid May 
29, 1883. The style of the building, 
designed by E. Simpson of Brad 
ford, is Early English, the structure 
comprising nave, chancel, and side 
chapels. The accommodation is for 
150 persons. The site was pur 
chased by Fr. W. Massey, of Ulvers- 
ton. The opening took place 



GRANTHAM, LINGS (Notting 
ham). St. Mary s. 

The Thimelbys of Irnham Hall 
were the support of this mission 
during the greater part of the 
eighteenth century. Bishop Horn- 
yold was chaplain here about 1740. 
On one occasion when the pur 
suivants came to arrest him for 
saying Mass, he escaped detection 
by disguising himself in a long 
cloak. Fr. R. Thimelby, S.J., 
laboured in the district during the 
preceding century from about 1649 
to 1665. Owing to the influx of 
Irish labourers the congregation 
greatly increased about 1820, and 
thirteen years later a chapel was 
opened (May 1833) by Fr. Tempest. 
A mural tablet was erected to his 
memory after his death (Novem 
ber 19, 1861). The chapel was 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



191 



enlarged and decorated in 1884. 
Fr. P. Sabela has been rector since 
1882. 



GEASSENDALE, LIVERPOOL. 

St. Austin. 

In 1835 Charles Challoner, Esq., 
offered 50 a year to support a 
priest, and all the timber requisite 
for building, if a church were 
erected in the neighbourhood. The 
building was opened in July 1837, 
the cost of the structure having 
been 2,800. The rectors of the 
mission Benedictines since that 
time have been : 
Eev. R. A. Prest, 1837-41. 

C. A. Shann, 1843. 

James Carr, 1845. 

S. B. Day, 1849. 

W. A. Brindle, 1850. 

C. Shann, 1853. 

E. A. Prest, 1857. 

J. H. Dowding, 1864. 

W. A. Bulbeck, 1872. 

J. P. Hall, 1882. 

J. C. Murphy, 1883. 

J. J. Brown, 1891. 

J. P. O Brien and T. A. Burge, 
1898. 



GEAVESEND, 

St. John the Evangelist. 

The mission was started about 
1840 by Fr. Gregory Stasiewiecz, a 
refugee Polish priest who opened a 
humble chapel in Windmill Street. 
By dint of great exertions he erected 
a larger chapel in the Chatham 
Road, under the patronage of St. 
Gregory the Great. He was suc 
ceeded by Fr. A. Ritort. In 1850 
the priest was Fr. Hearne, of Moor- 
fields. He repaired the walls of the 
chapel. In July 1851 a fine proprie 
tary (Gothic) chapel belonging to the 
Rev. Mr. Blew, a convert Anglican 
clergyman, was purchased, and con- 



! secrated by Bishop Grant on Octo 
ber 30 following. Mr. L. Raphael 
generously advanced the purchase 
money (2,000). This church 
was erected in 1838. It accommo 
dates 1,200 persons. The aisles are 
adorned with a series of well- exe 
cuted statues of the principal Eng 
lish saints. In July 1861 Bishop 
Grant consecrated a Catholic ceme 
tery at Gravesend, hundreds falling 
on their knees in response to his 
entreaty that they would say a De 
Profundis and a Hail Mary for the 
Souls in Purgatory. 

Priests since 1853. 
Rev. Amadeus Guidez. 

Michael Driscoll, 1855. 

M. O Sullivan, 1860. 

,, Joseph Wyatt, here in 1871, 
and till 1906. 

Fr. M. Gifkins, 1906. 



GEAYS, ESSEX (Westminster). 
St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

This mission was commenced in 
March or April 1862, by Fr. J. 
Gilligan. The chapel was a 
closed-up shop and the altar a deal 
table. The vestments are described 
as unfit for use. Fr. Gilligan 
had also charge of the mission of 
Barking, fourteen miles distant. 
The chapel of Grays only accom 
modated some forty persons and the 
1 congregation numbered nearly 200. 
Fr. Geo. Sparks appealed for funds 
I to build (December 1880). As late 
as 1885, when Canon Keens had 
charge of the mission, the chapel 
was a disused butcher s shop. A 
school chapel was commenced in 
April 1886, the stone being laid by 
, Cardinal Manning. The new build - 
: ing, which was opened in October 
j the same year, is capable of ac- 
i commodating 400 children. The 
chapel is in the upper storey with 



192 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



seating capacity for 500. The style 
is Early Gothic. F. Pownall was 
the architect. 



GREAT BILLING, NORTHAMP 
TONSHIRE (Northampton). The 

Immaculate Heart of Mary. 

In 1874 V. Carey-Elwes, Esq., 
fitted up a chapel in his house and 
opened it to the public. It was 
served by a priest from Northamp 
ton, but at that time the only 
Catholics in the place were the 
members of the Elwes family, num 
bering about five. By 1878, there 
w r as a resident priest and upwards 
of fifty Catholics, mostly converts. 
A large temporary church the gift 
of Mr. Elwes was opened the 
same year (September 8). 

Priests. 
Eev. W. Blackman, 1878. 

Chas. Mull, 1882. 

Patrick Murphy, 1885. 

Fredk. Maples, 1888. 

W. Canon Blackman (second 
time), 1893 to date. 



GREAT CROSBY, LANCS (Liver 
pool). SS. Peter and Paul. 

The mission was started in 1826 
in a temporary chapel which was 
superseded by a neat commodious 
structure, opened in 1832. The 
congregation then numbered 400. 
Schools were erected by Canon 
Fisher, and the present fine Gothic 
church opened 1894. 

Priests. 
Rev. Wm. Brown, 1826. 

,, James Canon Fisher, 1850. 

Jn. Canon Wallwork, 1871. 

Jn. Nixon, 1885 to date. 



GREAT ECCLESTON, LANCS, 
St. Mary. 

The first chapel, founded in 
1760, was situated at the Eaikes, 
about quarter of a mile from Great 
Eccleston. The baptismal registers 
date from 1771. The school built 
in 1780 served as a chapel on Sun 
days till the completion of the pre 
sent church, opened in July 1835. 
In 1869 an altar and reredos were 
erected in the church in memory 
of the last of the Leckonbys a fine 
old Catholic family of the Fylde. 

Priests since 1824. 
Eev. Hy. Parkinson. 

Ealph Platt, 1833. 

Thos. Pinnington, 1837. 

Eandolph Frith, 1840. 

Edw. Brown, 1844. 

Walter Maddocks, 1846. 

E. Swarbrick, 1860 till 1878. 

Thos. Wells, 1879. 

Thos. Smith, 1889. 

Hy. Eoberts, 1896 to date. 



GREAT GRIMSBY, LINCS (Not- 
tingham). St. Mary. 

When Mass was first said at 
Great Grimsby in 1857 by Fr. 
G. Bent, there was neither chapel, 
mission house, nor school in the 
place. In 1871 a site for church 
and schools was given by a noble 
benefactor. The church was 
opened Sunday, August 19, 1883, by 
Bishop Bagshawe, of Nottingham. 
The noble benefactor referred to 
above was T. A. Young, Esq., K.S.G., 
who also built the Gothic church. 
In July 1883 a splendid altar, 
designed in the Early Decorated 
style, like the Angel Choir at 
Lincoln Cathedral, was consecrated 
by the Bishop of Nottingham. The 
schools adjoining the church were 
built at the cost of Sir John Sutton 
and the Hon. Mrs. Fraser. This 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



193 



latter benefactress gave a hand 
somely carved reredos and altar 
to the Sacred Heart chapel of the 
church in January 1884. In No 
vember 1887 a beautiful altar was 
erected in the Young Chantry by the 
Hon. Mrs. Fraser, in memory of her 
deceased husband, Col. the Hon. 
Alexander Fraser. In March and 
April 1888 T. A. Young, Esq., K.S.G., 
presented the church with carved 
oak stalls for the sanctuary and a 
handsome scdile for the officiating 
priest. 

Priests. 
Eev. G. Bent, 1857. 

George Canon Johnson, 1861. 

,, Joseph Hawkins, 1885 to 
date. 



GREAT HAKWOOD, LANCS (Sal- 
ford). St. Hubert. 

This mission was established in 
June 1857 by James Lomax, Esq., 
of Clayton Hall. Mass was said 
there for the first time on June 29. 
The church, erected by the munifi 
cence of James Lomax, Esq., was 
opened for worship by Bishop 
Turner, of Salford, November 1859. 
The style of the church, which 
cost about t 6,000, is of the Decorated 
period, and will accommodate 
some 700 persons. The high altar, 
which rests on marble columns, 
is adorned with figures emblematic 
of the Synagogue and the Church. 
The several windows of the church 
in stained glass are very fine. The 
whole edifice was redecorated in 
September 1864 at the expense of 
the Loinax family. 

Priests. 

Eev. W. Canon Dundcrdale, 1857 
till after 1883. 

Arnold Nohlmanns, 1885. 

Hy. Hill, M.A. ,1888 to date. 



GREAT HAYWOOD, STAFFS. 

(Birmingham}. St. John the 
13aptist. 

The church was dedicated 
October 21, 1846. Bishop Wiseman 
officiated, assisted by the Hon. and 
Eev. G. Spencer, F. Searle, J. Keon 
Dunn, &c. G. Clifford, Esq., of 
Wycliffe, Yorks, gave , 20 towards 
the expenses of opening. The 
neighbourhood teems with associa 
tions connected with such old 
Catholic families as Tixall, Aston, 
Clifford, &c. In May 1847 a solemn 
requiem Mass was sung in the 
church for the repose of the soul of 
Col. Sir Charles Chichester, 61st 
Eegiment, who died at Toronto, 
Canada, while in command there. 
His family was among the early 
patrons of the mission of Great 
Haywood. 

Priests. 
Eev. Jn. Levy, 1845. 

B. J. Butland, 1851 to date. 



GREAT MARIO W, BUCKS (North 
amptonshire). St. Peter s. 

When the foundation stone of the 
church was laid July 2, 1845, the 
Catholics of Great Marlow totalled 
six out of a population of 6,000. 
Bishop Wareing laid the stone in 
the presence of 1,500 spectators. 
Mr. Scott-Murray acted as cross- 
bearer in the procession to the site. 
Mr. E. Wheble was M.C. The 
religious ceremony concluded with 
a banquet at the town hall, while 
shillings and loaves were distributed 
to a number of the deserving poor. 
Among the distinguished company 
present were Lord and Lady 
Camoys, Lady Bedingfeld, Lady 
Eussell, P. Howard, Esq., M.P., The 
O Conor Don, &c. The church 
was designed by Pugin and built 
at the sole expense of Mr. Scott- 

O 



194 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Murray. The spire is seventy feet 
high. In August 1846 a collection 
plate and set of altar cruets were 
stolen from the sacristy. Fr. Peter 
Coop was the first priest in charge 
of the mission. In 1851, when 
Fr. J. Morris was chaplain to 
Mr. Scott-Murray, High Sheriff of 
Bucks, Lord Campbell, the Assize- 
judge, objected to riding in the 
same carriage with a Popish chap 
lain. The incident was much com 
mented upon at the time, and in 
the sequel the learned judge wrote 
apologising for his want of cour 
tesy. 

Priests. 
Bev. P. Coop, 1845. 

Jn. B. Ludwig, 1849. 

J. Morris, 1851. 

Bernard Canon Smith, 1854 to 
1903. 

H. Squirrell, 1903 to date. 



GREENGATE, LANGS (Salford). 
St. Peter. 

A chapel was opened Sunday, 
January 4, 1863, and in 1874 the 
church was erected. In July 1883 
a new stone altar and reredos were 
added. The general design consists 
of a series of ornamental arcadings 
supported by columns of Irish 
marbles, and flanked on either side 
by statues of SS. Peter and Paul. 

Priests. 
Rev. Henry Beswick. 

Aemilius Goetgeluck, 1882. 

Martin Meagher, 1893. 

David Power, 1895. 

John Moore, 1902. 

Henry Hunt, 1904 to date. 



GREENHITHE, KENT (South- 

. Our Lady of Mt. Carmel. 
This mission was started at 



Galley Hill in the spring of 1859 by 
Fr. F. W. Faber of the Oratory. 
The chapel at first was a small 
room opening out into an uncovered 
yard. The number of Catholics 
was set down at about 300. The 
first resident priest of Greenhithe 
was Fr. F. Maurice, O.C., who was 
succeeded by Fr. M. Sullivan, 
O.C., in 1861. The chapel was so 
crowded on Sundays that the 
children who were placed near the 
altar actually touched the priest 
while saying Mass. The church 
was opened 1875, and for some 
I time was served from Northfleet. 
In 1904 it was attended on Sundays 
by a priest from Walworth. 



GREENWICH, LONDON, S.E. 

! (Southward). Our Lady Star of the 

I Sea. 

The old Catholic chapel situated 

; in East Street dates from shortly 
after the commencement of the 
last century. About 1830, the con 
gregation numbered 1,500 1,000 
civilians and 500 naval pensioners. 
The bulk of the former were very 
poor. Fr. R. North, who was ap 
pointed to Greenwich in 1828, 
started collecting funds for a new 
church. It is said that when in 
danger of death by shipwreck as a 
lad, he made a vow to become a 
priest and build a church in honour 
of Our Lady, both of which promises 

i he fulfilled. His congregation re 
sponded cheerfully to his appeal, 
one old Trafalgar veteran giving 
all his life s savings (25) to the 
fund. The Lords of the Admiralty, 
in consideration of the great work 
done by Fr. North among the old 
sailors, contributed 200. In 
October 1846, the present Gothic 
church was commenced on Groom s 
Hill, and opened .December 8, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



195 



1851. Bishop Grant sang the 
Mass, and Cardinal Wiseman 
preached. At the golden jubilee | 
of the church, December 8, 1901, j 
Bishop Bourne preached, and Fr. j 
Oswald Turner, C.J., of St. George s j 
College, Weybridge, sang the Mass. 
About 600 was collected for the 
decoration of the church in memory 
of the event. Canon R. North 
died in February 1860. Over 1,100 
persons attended his funeral, which I 
was strictly Gothic. He was j 
buried in the chancel, where a j 
monument has been erected to his 
memory. His brother, Canon 
Joseph North, died in 1886. He 
was the beau-ideal of the old type 
of English Catholic priest. Since 
then the rector has been Canon 
O Halloran, who came to the church 
as a curate in 1859. We may add 
that the mission is indebted for 
much of its present nourishing 
condition to such generous bene 
factors as the late Sir Stuart Knill, 
sometime Lord Mayor of London, 
and his son, the present Alderman 
Sir John Knill. The estimated 
number of the congregation 
owing to the establishment of local 
missions is now about 700. 



GREENWICH (EAST) (South- j 
wark). St. Joseph s Church, Pelton I 
Eoad. 

Opened Wednesday, May 25, 
1881. Style, Early Decorated, j 
Cost about 4,350. Seating 
capacity of church, 500. Archi 
tect, A. J. Hansom. Fr. A. M. 
Boone was priest at the time of 
opening, when Mass was sung by 
Bishop Patterson, of Ernmaus. 
Cardinal Manning preached (St. 
Matt, xxviii. 20). Present rector, i 
Fr. Thomas Nolan* 



GREYSHOTT, HANTS (Ports 
mouth}. 

The mission was commenced in 
1893 when the temporary chapel 
was served during the summer 
months by one of the Premon- 
stratensian Canons from Farn- 
borough. Fr. Jerome O Callaghan 
was appointed 1896 ; J. D. Breen, 
1899 ; Henry L. P. Kelly is the 
present rector. 



GROSMONT, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport). 

An iron chapel was opened here 
August 8, 1906. The mission was 
established conjointly by Godfrey 
Radcliffe, Esq., of Dan-y-Craig, 
and Count Keyes O Clery, in 
memory of Major Joseph Radsliffe, 
a gallant soldier and a staunch 
Catholic. The beautiful oak altar 
of the chapel was carved by Mr. 
Radcliffe. 



GROVE FERRY, KENT (South 
ward). 

In 1903 the Marist Brothers 
acquired a large mansion known as 
* Shrublands, formerly used as a 
boarding establishment, and by the 
addition of some adjoining houses 
transformed the entire block into a 
college. At present, the number of 
pupils is about 100. An iron chapel 
to accommodate about 130 has 
been erected, and for the time being 
serves as the mission church of the 
district. 



GUILDFORD (Surrey}. St. Joseph, 
Chertsey Street. 

From 1792 to 1801 a certain 
emigre, Abbe Geudemetz, resided 



196 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



at Guildforcl and said Mass in a 
temporary chapel, probably in 
Friary Street, where some 120 fellow 
emigres were accustomed to worship. 
The present mission of Guildford 
was, however, started from Sutton. 
Place (q.v.), about 1857, by Fr. 
Joseph Sidden, who opened a tempo 
rary chapel in a room in Spital Street. 
Already, in November 1846, a site 
for a church had been secured in 
Chertsey Street by Bishops "Wise 
man and Griffiths. The purchase 
was effected by a Mr. Edward 
Collen, of Postford Mill, Albury. 
In 1860 a wooden military hut was 
erected on the site and fitted up as 
a chapel. The cost of this struc 
ture was largely met by the Catholic 
Scotch and Irish bargemen who 
worked on the river Wcy. The 
military hut did duty till the open 
ing of the present church by Cai:on 



Crookall, V.G., October 19, 1881. 
The style of the building is Geo 
metric Gothic, the structure being 
designed for 200 persons. The 
church was completed in August 
1884, and on the 19th of that 
month the event was celebrated by 
a solemn High Mass, at which 
Cardinal Manning pontificated and 
preached. The pulpit was pre 
sented by Mrs. Byrne, the altar by 
Mrs. Littledale,and the five stations 
by Albert Sibcth, Esq. Col. and 
Mrs. Tredcroft were also generous 
benefactors to the church. A fine 
presbytery was built in 1890. The 
priests at Guildford, since the 
establishment of the mission, have 
been: Rev. E. Clery, 1860-64; 
Rev. T. Richardson, 1864-65; E. 
Sheridan, 1865 78 ; R. Fowler, 
1878, the present incumbent. 



197 



H 



HACKNEY, LONDON, N.E. (West 
minster). 

In 1840, Hackney, though a 
fairly populous district, lay open 
to the fields and intersected by 
country lanes. The Catholics 
of the locality had to go as far 
as Moorfields for Mass, but in 
1843 they were accustomed to meet 
in an obscure room on Sunday 
evenings to recite the rosary, read 
one of Challoner s meditations, and 
sometimes hear a sermon from one 
of the Moorfields priests. In 1844 
a temporary chapel behind The 
Black Boys brewery in Elsdale | 
Street, was occupied, and in June 
1845 a site for a chapel and 
nunnery was purchased in the 
Triangle for 700. The church, 
consisting of a nave, north aisle, 
chancel, sacristy, and bell-cot, was 
built in 1848, from a design by 
Wardell. The accommodation was 
for 500 persons, the cost of the 
building being about 2,000. A 
baptistery was subsequently added 
by Miss Harrison. Father Kaye 
gave the beautiful Lady Altar of 
marble and alabaster to the church, 
the funds being supplied by the j 
Confraternity of the Living Eosary. 
The church, after being thoroughly 
cleaned and renovated for the occa 
sion, was solemnly consecrated by 
Bishop Brindle, D.S.O.,on Tuesday, 



November 21, 1899. The congre 
gation at that time was estimated 
at 800 effective members, the 
average school attendance being 
about 230. 

Priests. 

Fr. J. Lecuona, 1844. 
John Vertue (Bishop of Ports 
mouth 1882-1900). 
J. P. Kaye, M.K. 
Padbury. 
, W. Fleming. 
, T. Denny, M.R. 
Geo. Cox, to date. 



HAD FIELD, near GLOSSOP 
(Nottingham). 

St. Charles Church was built in 
1858-60. During the mission given 
there by the Franciscan Fathers of 
Gorton Brook, near Manchester, in 
September 1865, no less than 1,000 
members of the congregation re 
ceived Holy Communion. The 
mission is largely indebted to 
the munificence of Lord Edward 
Howard of Glossop, the donor of 
the church. The church and con 
gregation were solemnly con 
secrated to the Sacred Heart 
September 6, 1873. 

Priests. 

Rev. Bryan O Donnell, here in 
1862. 



198 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Eev. C. L. Monahan, 1863. 
Charles Hickey, 1877. 
Wm. Yates, 1882. 
Herman Canon Sabela, 1888 
to date. 



HADHAM, HERTS (Westminster). 

The school for epileptic children, I 
under the care of the Daughters of 
the Cross, was opened September j 
22, 1903. The Gothic church and \ 
convent were designed by Mr. J. F. 
Bentley, architect of the West 
minster Cathedral. The church is 
so arranged that the inmates of the 
place, who number about fifty, 
cannot be seen by those who 
attend the services from outside. 
The Catholics of the district are 
estimated at about a dozen. 

Priests. 
Rev. O Doherty, 1903. 

E. Schmitt, 1904. 

\V. J. Smullen, 1905. 



HADZOR, WORCESTERSHIRE 
(Birmingham). SS. Richard and 
Hubert. 

This mission was started from 
Broadway early in 1878. On 
July 16 of that year, the present 
little church, in the Flemish style, 
was opened by Bishop Ullathorne 
(C. Buckler, architect). The altar 
and furniture were the gift of 
Joseph Whitehouse, Esq. An 
elegant and spacious gallery was 
added to the church in the autumn 
of 1884. 

Priests. 
Eev. James Rigby, 1878. 

Edward Dorr, 1882. 

Terence Fitzpatrick, 1885. 

Wm. Stoker, 1889. 

Joseph Lillis, 1891. 

John Kelly, 1892. 



Rev. Henry Gregson, 1895. 

Clement Gottwaltz, 1899 to 
date. 



HAINTON, or HANTON, LIN 
COLNSHIRE (Nottingham). St. 
Francis of Sales. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jn. Abbot, 1836. 

,, James Canon Simkiss, 1837. 
Francis Canon Cheadle, 1857. 
M. P. Horgan, 1885. 

(Mission served from Market 

Rasen, 1892-3.) 
W. Yates, 1894. 
Joseph Feakens, 1899 to date. 



HALES PLACE, CANTERBURY 

(Southward). 

Sir Edward Hales, Bart., became 
a Catholic about the time of the 
accession of James II., and he it 
was against whom the collusive 
action was brought to asceitain if 
the courts would allow a Catholic 
to hold a commission in the army 
by royal license. The judges after 
trial in 1686, gave their opinion in 
favour of the dispensing power 
by which the king could suspend 
the operation of the penal laws. 
The family of Hales clung to their 
newly adopted faith, and till the 
opening of the Canterbury mission 
their chapel was the only Catholic 
one for miles round. Sir Edward 
Hales, last baronet, died in 1829, 
leaving his daughter, Mary Barbara, 
a ward in Chancery. This lady 
subsequently entered the Carmelite 
Order, but obtained, after a few 
years, a Papal dispensation from 
her vows. She then commenced 
building a monastery on her estate 
at Hales Place, but her intentions 
were never fully realised. In 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



199 



1881-2 the French Jesuits, expelled 
from France, acquired the estate, 
and built on it a college for their 
novices. Miss Hales died Saturday, 
April 18, 1885, and was buried 
among her ancestors in the chapel 
at Hales. 



HALIFAX, YORKS, WEST 
BIDING (Leeds). St. Mary. 

The date of the foundation of 
this mission is given as 1827, but 
no mention of it occurs in the 
Laity s Directory till 1830, when 
the priest in charge of the place 
was Fr. F. Keily. The congrega 
tion is described as made up of a 
number of poor Catholics, who 
have only a temporary room in 
which they hear Mass on Sundays, 
which on weekdays is used for 
every profane purpose. By 1837, 
this depressing state of things had 
not changed, but next year a new 
Catholic church was erected in 
the town. This structure made 
way for the present Church of 
St. Mary, opened in 1865. 

Priests. 
Kev. Thos. Keily, 1827 (?). 

,. Joseph Fairclough, 1837. 

John Rigby, 1840. 

James Hostage, 1849. 

Matthew Kavanagh, 1856. 

,, Jacob Illingworth, as second 
priest, 1858. 

J. Kelly and J. Atkinson, 1864. 

J. Geary, 1871. 

B. Wake, 1882. 

,, Canon Gordon, 1891. 

P. Mulcahy, 1898. 



HALLIWELL, BOLTON, LANGS 

(Salford). St. Joseph. 

On Sunday, August 21, 1881, 
the school chapel of the mission 



was opened by the Bishop of Sal- 
ford. It accommodates 400 people 
on Sundays and 300 children on 
weekdays. The cost of the build 
ing was 980. The present fine 
church was opened by the Bishop 
of Salford in 1900. Canon Boulaye, 
V.G., is the present rector. 



HALSTEAD, ESSEX (West- 
ruins tcr) . 

A regular mission was started 
here in March 1898, when a wooden 
building in Rosemary Lane for 
merly used by a firm of printers 
was fitted up as a chapel. Mass 
was said here for the first time on 
Sunday, March 27, by Mgr. Canon 
Moyes, D.D., who in the course of 
his sermon gave a lucid explana 
tion of the Catholic doctrine of the 
Holy Eucharist. The mission is at 
present (1906) served from Brain- 
tree. On Tuesday, October 26, 
1897, Cardinal Yaughan lectured 
on the Catholic Church in the 
Town Hall of Halstead, which was 
densely crowded. The next even 
ing his Eminence lectured on devo 
tion to Our Lady, and on the con 
clusion of the address a vote of 
thanks was unanimously passed at 
the suggestion of the Rev. R. H. 
Fuller, a Unitarian minister, who 
described the lecture as an intel 
lectual treat. The bulk of the 
large audience present were the 
most dissident of dissenters. 



HAMMERSMITH, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). The Most Holy 
Trinity. 

From its retired situation, Ham 
mersmith was during the penal 
times chosen by many Catholics 
as a suitable place of residence. 



200 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



In 1685, Mrs. Frances Bedingfeld, 
sister of Sir Henry Paston Beding 
feld, Bart., established a commu 
nity of Benedictine nuns, from 
Munich, at Hammersmith in a 
spacious house surrounded by a 
large garden. The nuns wore 
the ordinary dress of the period, 
and devoted themselves to teach 
ing the daughters of the Catholic 
nobility and gentry. For the sake 
of protection, the property was 
nominally held by the Portuguese 
ambassadors, who had their coun 
try house at Hammersmith. The 
Vicars Apostolic of the London 
District also had a residence in 
the neighbourhood. Their house 
afforded the blessings of Mass and 
the Sacraments to the proscribed 
Catholics in the district. Bishop 
Gifford died here in 1734, and 
Bishop Talbot (brother of the Earl 
of Shrewsbury) in 1790. In 1795, 
the English Benedictine nuns of 
Dunkirk came to England after 
suffering much ill-usage at the 
hands of the Revolutionists, and 
were settled by the V.A. of London, 
Bishop Douglass, at the Hammer 
smith convent, which at this time 
contained only three nuns of the 
old community. The spacious 
chapel of the house, built in 1812 by 
Joseph Gillow, Esq., served the mis 
sion down to 1853, when the church 
at Brook Green was built. The 
present church was commenced 
May 8, 1851, and opened July 26, 
1853. The style is Decorated 
Gothic, from design by War- 
dell. Fr. Joseph Butt, who died 
September 27, 1854, was the 
founder. The spire was added 
1867, and a peal of bells in 1871. 
The Chapel of the Blessed Sacra 
ment was built by the late Countess 
Tasker in 1854. Fr. D. O Keefe 
succeeded as rector in 1854, and 
in 1881 Canon Alfred White, for 



merly curate to Fr. Butt. Canon 
White was elected an alderman of 
the borough of Hammersmith in 
1900, and died at an advanced age 
in 1904. The church was cleaned 
and redecorated both in 1880 and 
1898 through the generosity of Mr. 
and Mrs. H. Kearsley, who also 
defrayed the cost of lighting the 
building by electricity. Near the 
church are the St. Joseph s Alms- 
houses, the foundation stone of 
which was laid by the Duchess of 
Norfolk, May 28, 1851. 

Priests. 
Rev. Wm. Maire, 1697-1739. 



-Joseph Bolton, 1770 (?) 
James Barnard, V.G., 1783- 

1803. 
(The Rev. Joseph Lee, 1790- 

1800, appears to have been 

his assistant.) 
Abba F. Bellissent, 1803. 

His assistant was the Abbe 

Nicholas Jacquin. 
Wm. Kelly, 1840. 
Joseph Butt, 1847. 
D. O Keefe, 1854. 
Alfred Canon White, 1851. 
Alfred Canon Clements, 1904 

to date. 



HAMPSTEAD, LONDON, N. (West- 

minster}. 

The founder of this mission was 
the Abbe Morel, an emigre of the 
Great Revolution. After teaching 
French for a few months in Sussex 
(1792-3) he went to Reading, and 
in 1796 came to Hampstead as 
chaplain to a number of French 
refugees resident in the then beau 
tiful village. He fitted up a chapel 
in Oriel House, Church Row, re 
cently pulled down, and there 
administered the Sacraments and 
said Mass till the opening of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



201 



present tasteful and artistic little 
church in Holly Place in 1816. 
The good Abbe died in 1852, and 
his remains repose under the porch 
of the church where he laboured 
so long. An altar tomb was erected 
to his memory in March 1857. | 
The centenary of the mission was 
celebrated July 2, 1896, the Feast 
of the Visitation, in the presence 
of Cardinal Vaughan, the Bishop 
of Emmaus, and a large congrega 
tion. The entire church was re 
decorated at a cost of 400 in 
November and December 1892. 

Priests. 
Eev. Abbe J. Morel, 1796. 

Jn. Walsh, M.E., 1852. 

Mgr. V. Eyre, here 1862. 

Ar. Dillon Canon Purcell, here 
in 1871 till 1901. 

Michael FitzGerald, M.R., 
1901 to date. 



HAMPTON-ON-THE-HILL, WAR 
WICKSHIRE (Birmingham). St. 

Charles. 

Until 1819, Catholics in the 
vicinity of Hampton-on-the-Hill 
worshipped at Grove Park, the 
ancestral seat of the Lords Dormer. 
In the above-named year, Charles 
Lord Dormer built the present 
chapel at Hampton-on-the-Hill, 
and handed it over to the V.A. of 
the Midland District. In spite 
of the difficulties of the time, 
Catholics increased very consider 
ably at Hampton-on-the-Hill during 
the first few decades of the nine 
teenth century, but they are said 
to have lately declined owing to 
Grove Park having been let to | 
protestant tenants. In 1860 the j 
present Catholic chapel was founded 
at Warwick by Mgr. Longman, 



priest of Leamington, then incum 
bent of Hampton-on-the-Hill. 1 

Priests since 1820. 
Kev. Francis Turvile, 1820. During 
his rectorate of over twenty 
years the old chapel was 
[enlarged, 1830. 
W. Foley, 1841. 
D. Bagnall, 1843. 
T. Revill, 1847. 
W. Ilsley, 1851. 
Mgr. Thos. Longman, 1853. 
Jn. Gibbons, here in 1862. 
Charles Hipwood, 1867. 
Charles Kyder, 1872. 
J. Robinson, here in 1874. 
A. Delerue, 1879. 
Jos. Daly, 1888 to date. 



HAMPTON WICK, MIDDLESEX 

(Westminster). The Sacred Heart 
of Jesus. 

The temporary chapel was 
opened in November 1882. Canon 
George Akers, M.A. (Oxon.) was 
the first priest. About the same 
time he hired a room at South 
Teddington for Mass on Sundays. 
The extemporised chapel accom 
modated about 150 persons. In 
1893 a large oblong church was 
opened in the Teddington Road. 
The present incumbent is Fr. J. 
Hazell. 

N.B. The Hon. Mrs. Porter 
(Petre ?), who lived at Hampton 
Wick in 1734, had a chapel in her 
house. Her chaplain was Fr. 
Peter Brailsford, a Lisbonian. 

1 In 1742 it was decided that the 
incumbent of Grove Park must say 
Mass weekly for the repose of the soul 
of Lady Anne Curson, so long as he 
received the alms. In 1758 Fr. Arnold, 
O.S.F., resided here. See Thaddeus, 
Franciscans in England. 



202 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



HANDS WORTH, near SHEF 
FIELD, YORKS (Leeds). St. Joseph. 

Mass was first said at Hands- 
worth in 1867, and in 1870 a Catho 
lic deaf and dumb institution was 
opened in the parish. After its 
subsequent removal to Boston Spa, 
the wooden chapel of the place was 
used by Catholics of the district. 
It quickly became too small, and 
on August 27, 1879, the first stone 
of the new church was laid by the 
Bishop of Leeds. The Duke of 
Norfolk generously defrayed the 
cost of erection between 8,000 
and i 9,000. The opening took 
place on June 7, 1881. The style 
is that of the late rectilinear 
period, like that of the old parish 
churches of Eobherham and Laugh- 
ton. There is also a crypt with 
mortuary chapel. The seating 
capacity is for 800 persons. M. E. 
Hadfield & Son were the architects. 



HANLEY, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). Our Blessed Lady and St. 
Patrick. 

In 1836 the only Catholic chapels 
in the Potteries were at Cobridge 
(built 1717) and Longton. The 
priests of these missions served 
Hanley alternately. In 1860 the 
Catholic population was 2,000, and 
in June the same year the first 
stone of the new church was laid 
by Fr. F. Sullivan, of Kevel Grange, 
and the building was opened No 
vember 22. 1860. The style is 
simple Gothic, and the total cost 
was about 1,000. The accommo 
dation is for 800. 

N.B. Hanley Castle, Hill End, 
was the seat of the ancient Catho 
lic family of Bartlett. In 1765 Fr. 
Felix Bartlett, brother of the 



squire, was chaplain. He died at 
Worcester in 1777. 1 

Priests. 
Kev. W. Molloy, 1861 till 1890. 

Jas. B. Keating, 1891. 

M. O Rourke, M.R., 1899. 



HANLEY, STAFFS. The Sacred 
Heart. 

This church was commenced 
August 1889, and opened Septem 
ber 21, 1891. It has been since 
1893-4 the chief church of the dis 
trict, and the older foundation of 
Our Lady and St. Patrick (q.v.) are 
served from it. 
Rev. M. O Rourke, present rector. 



HANWELL, LONDON, W. (West 
minster). Our Lady and St. 
Joseph. 

A chapel was opened at Clifton 
Lodge, the residence of Miss Rab- 
nett, May 1853. The present 
Gothic church was opened June 
1864 by Cardinal Wiseman, on a 
site presented by Miss Rabnett. 
E. Pugin was the architect. A 
new Lady Chapel the gift of an 
anonymous benefactor was opened 
December 11, 1904. The Catholic 
population of the district is about 
800. 

Priests. 
Rev. F. Lang, 1853. 

John Bonus, D.D., 1855. 

J. Staples, 1860. 

Aemilian Kirner, 1863. 

Francis Laing, D.D., 1867. 

Henry Karslake, 1890. 

C. Clarke, 1893. 

Donald Skrimshire, 1895. 

M. Brannigan, 1905 to date. 
Foley Eecords, Society of Jesus, xii. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



203 



HARBERTON, DEVON (Ply. 
mouth), St. Rose of Lima. 

The chapel at Dundridge House, 
the residence of Robt. Harvey, 
Esq., was blessed by Bishop 
Graham on Wednesday, Septem 
ber 6, 1893. Dom Adam Hamil 
ton, O.S.B., preached on the 
triumph of the Mass against all its 
enemies in England since the Re 
formation. He referred to the 
massacre of the Devon peasantry 
by Lord Russell s German troops 
for defending the old religion in 
1549, and also to Dorothy Risdon 
of Harberton, whose estates were 
confiscated about 1640 for her ad 
herence to the ancient faith. 



HARBORNE, near BIRMINGHAM. 
St. Mary. 

Mission established by the Pas- 
sionist Fathers 1870. In 1876 the 
church attached to the monastery 
or Retreat was opened. 



HARPENDEN, HERTS ( Westmin 
ster). Our Lady of the Sacred 
Heart, Rothamsted Avenue. 

A church of wood and iron was 
blessed and opened by Canon Car 
ter, Sunday, June 4, 1905. Fr. 
Marten, M.S.C., is the incumbent. 



HARRINGTON, CUMBERLAND 

(Hexliam and Newcastle}. St. 
Mary. 

A school chapel was opened 1874, 
and the present Gothic church 
May 14, 1893. C. Walker was the 
architect. Seating accommodation 
for 300. In September 1881 a 
stone Calvary was erected in the 
adjacent cemetery to the memory 



of Fr. Francis Wall, an Apostolic 
Franciscan missioner in this dis 
trict, who suffered for the Faith 
August 15, 1679, during the Titus 
Gates plot. The mission was long 
served from Workington. 
Priests (O.S.B.). 
Rev. Francis Hutchinson, 1885. 

Francis Hickey, 1892. 

Austin Firth, 1896 to date. 



HARROGATE, YORKS (Leeds). 
Our Lady and St. Robert. 

Though the mineral springs of 
Harrogate had long made the place 
one of the fashionable spas of Eng- 
j land, no Catholic chapel was esta 
blished in the town till May 1861, 
j when Mass was said for the first 
i time in a room of the Crescent 
Hotel, by Fr. F. Goldie. Before 
this, the nearest mission was Stour- 
ton Park, the seat of Lord Mow- 
bray and Stourton. In September 
1864 a school chapel and presby 
tery, were opened. The present 
church dates from 1873. A site 
for schools was acquired 1863, and 
buildings erected shortly after 
wards. 

Priests. 
Rev. F. Goldie, 1861 et seq. 

Jas. Glover, here in 1871. 

Michael O Donnell, 1877. 

,, James Downes, 1888. 

Wm. Canon Pope, 1889 to 
date. 



HARROW -ON -THE -HILL, MID 
DLESEX ( Westminster}. Our Lady 
and St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

A temporary chapel was opened 
in the Roxborough Road 1873, and 
served on Sundays by the late Fr. 
Joseph Redman, D.D., professor at 
St. Thomas s Seminary, Hammer- 



204 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



smith. The new church was opened 
1894. The stained-glass window in 
the sanctuary was erected by Mr. 
and Mrs. Philip Thornton, of 
Douglas Lodge, to the memory of 
their five children. A new Gothic j 
reredos was added to the Lady i 
Chapel 1900. 

N.B. About 1793, a Catholic 
boys school was opened in the 
district by Fr. Collins, D.D., and 
removed to Southall Park 1806. 
The school existed till about 1830, 
and was held in high estimation. 
Fr. Jn. Chetwode Eustace, author 
of the celebrated Classical Tour 
through Italy, was sometime a 
master here. 



HARROW ROAD, LONDON, N.W. 

(Westminster}. Our Lady of 
Lourdes and St. Vincent of Paul. 

The church was opened in Janu 
ary 1883. The cost of erection was 
defrayed by the Eev. Lord Archi 
bald Douglas, so well known in the 
cause of rescue work. The style is 
of the Transition period, between 
Early English and Decorated. J. 
Hall, Esq., was the architect. The 
stained - glass windows are by 
Lavers, Westlake, and Barraud. 
The solemn opening of the church 
did not take place till Tuesday, 
December 12, 1893, when the debt 
on the building had been paid off. 
Cardinal Vaughan preached on this 
occasion. Fr. E. Banns is the 
rector. 



HARTLEPOOL, DURHAM (Hex- 
ham and Neivcastle}. The Im 
maculate Conception. 

In 1820 Mass was said in a private 
house, the congregation amounting, 
it is said, to only six persons. In 



1832 Fr. W. Knight was appointed 
to Hartlepool, where he built a 
small chapel. After eighteen years 
of labour in the district, he was able 
to purchase the site of a new church, 
and in June 1850 the stone was laid 
by Bishop Hogarth. The style is 
Early English Gothic, the seating 
capacity being for 900 persons. The 
building was opened in 1851 by 
Cardinal Wiseman. Fr. Knight 
became Canon of Hexham the next 
year, and served the mission till 
his death in March 1874. 

Priests since 1874. 
Kev. Francis Moverley. 

Gerard Van-Hoof, 1879 and 
to date. 



HARVINGTON, WORCESTER 
SHIRE (Birmingham}. St. Mary. 

Harvington Hall, near Kidder 
minster, was in the possession 
of the Packington family, temp. 
James I. The estate came to the 
Throckmortons through the Yates, 
and the old mansion is described 
as possessing a curious priests 
hiding-place under the staircase. 
Fr. Sylvester Jenks was chaplain 
to the Yates family here from 1686 
to about 1688, when James II. made 
him one of his preachers and 
brought him to London. In 1713 
he was chosen by Propaganda to 
be Vicar Apostolic of the Northern 
District, with the title of Bishop of 
Callipolis, in partibus, but died 
before consecration. On June 19, 
1832, Fr. Brownlow, priest, of the 
mission, was unanimously chosen to 
preside at a Reform Gala by the 
local Whig association, in place of 
the Anglican rector, who declined. 
The church was handsomely 
decorated with medallions of the 
prophets, and a wrought-iron screen 
erected November 1888. The Ven. 
John Wall, O.S.F., who suffered 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



205 



for the Faith at Red Hill, near 
Worcester, August _ 22, 1679, 
laboured in this district. A stone 
Calvary group in the church was 
blessed by Bishop Ullathorne 
September 1881. The Rev. Hugh 
Tootel, alias Chas. Dodd, wrote his 
Church History while a priest 
here from 1726 till his death in 
1743. 

Priests since 1794. 
Rev. Rd. Cornthwaite, died 1803. 

J. Brownlow, 1824. 

W. H. Wilson, 1877. 

Clement Harris, 1885. 

Philip Roskell, 1902 to date. 



HARWICH, ESSEX (Westmin 
ster}. Our Lady of Mount Carmel. 

A chapel was opened in an upper 
room of 10 King Street in July 
1864. The dingy and worn 
chasubles in use were described as 
1 unfit for elsewhere. The present 
G othic church, designed by E . Pugin , 
was opened by Archbishop Manning 
November 3, 1869. Confirmation 
was first administered in the mis 
sion by Bishop Weathers March 23, 
1881. 

Piicsts. 
Rev. Thos. Parkinson, 1864. 

C. Moncrieff Smyth, 1879. 

John Davis, 1882. 

Alf. Roche, 1885. 

Joseph Sullivan, 1888. 

Robt. Kelly, 1889. 

Thos. Walsh, 1901. 

T. Sullivan, 1905 to date. 



HASLINGDEN, LANCS (Salford). 

Fr. Thos. Marten was the first 
resident priest at Haslingtlen since 
the Reformation. Mass was said 
there in a wretched garret in the 



September of 1854. Catholics then 
numbered about 200. The beautiful 
silver chalice and paten used in the 
chapel were the gift of an anony 
mous benefactress. After several 
3 T ears Fr. T. Martin and his parish 
ioners contrived to erect the present 
church, in the Gothic style. The 
first stone was laid Wednesday, 
June 22, 1859, by Bishop Turner. 
The same year the edifice was com 
plete (November 13). The number 
of Catholics at the time of opening 
was about 1,400, but in 1864, owing 
to the cotton famine, it had fallen 
to 1,050. 

Priests. 
Rev. T. Martin, 1854. 

M. E. Dillon, 1882. 

Michael Buckley, 1895 to date. 



HASSOP, DERBYSHIRE (Notting 
ham). All Saints. 

This village was formerly the 
principal seat of the ancient Catholic 
family the Eyres of Hassop. Fr. 
Godfrey Cuffaud, S.J., was chaplain 
here in 1672. Two of the Eyre 
family entered the Society of Jesus 
(a) Thomas, who died November 9, 
1715, at. 45 ; and (b) William, \dio 
served as priest in the Eastern 
Counties. He died in 1724. The 
last of the Eyres of Hassop died 
in 1853. They also possessed 
Warkworth Hall, in Northampton 
shire, which was pulled down in 
1804, and the estate sold. The 
family is now represented by the 
Leslies of Slindon. The present 
mission of Hassop dates from 1818. 
Fr. J. Jones was then resident 
priest. He served the mission till 
1852, when Canon Nickolds suc 
ceeded. He celebrated the golden 
jubilee of his priesthood April 1885. 
In September 1887, through the 
exertions of Fr. McKey, a school 



200 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



was opened at Hassop. The old 
schools were closed about 1872. 
Fr. McKey did much to beautify 
the church, adding new altar rails, 
stations of the Cross, &c. It may 
be interesting to note that the 
marble altar of the church was pre 
sented by the Earl of Newburgh, 
who died in 1814. 

Priests since 1889. 
Eev. J. Browne, 1889. 

W. Baigent, 1896. 

J. Young, 1903. 



HASTINGS, SUSSEX (Southward). 
Our Lady Star of the Sea. 

The Fathers of the Pious Society 
of Missions opened a temporary 
chapel in the High Street in March 
1881. The poet, Coventry Patmore, 
most muniticently gave 5,000 to 
wards the building of the present 
church, on condition that a similar 
sum was subscribed by the Catholic 
public. Mr. Basil Champneys was 
the architect. The total cost was 
about 1,500. The handsome oak 
rood screen was given to the church 
in June 1883 by Mr. C. Patmore, in 
memory of his only son, Henry, 
who died the preceding February. 
In July of the same year the church 
was opened by Bishop Coffin, of 
Southwark. A lofty and well-lighted 
crypt runs beneath the building. 



HATHEKSAGE, DERBYSHIRE 

Nottingham). St. Michael. 

A remote populous village near 
the Peak. The Furniss family, 
resident here for generations, kept 
the Faith alive throughout the penal 



times. The author was informed 
by the late Fr. H. Furniss, of 
the Josephite Congregation, that 
during the times of persecution a 
priest disguised as a prosperous 
yeoman used to visit his family at 
stated intervals. Mass was said in 
the best room of the farmhouse, 
and here the proscribed missioner 
would spiritually counsel and in 
struct the few Catholics of the dis 
trict. The present chapel, a square- 
shaped Classical building for about 
100 persons, was opened in 1806. 
The Eyre family also had a mansion 
and chapel in this district (at 
North Sees), both of which were 
plundered by Orange mobs at the 
Ee volution. 

Priests since 1825. 
Rev. Edward Eyre. 

John Ross, 1837. 

B. Hulme, 1849. 

Edward Whitehouse, 1853. 

M. Le Dreau, 1855. 

Joseph Canon Daniel, 1867. 

Hugh O Neill, 1879. 

Thos. McNamee, 1883. 

Henry Geo. Canon Dobson, 

here in 1889 to date. 
N.B. At Padley Hall, Hather- 
sage, the then residence of John 
Fitzherbert, Esq., Fr. Nicholas 
Garlick, priest, was arrested, Janu 
ary 1587. He was concealed in a 
buttress-like chimney near the 
chapel, but was betrayed by John, 
son of his patron, Thomas Fitz 
herbert. Thomas was imprisoned, 
and only saved by his son-in-law, 
Thos. Eyre, Esq., paying the Queen 
(Elizabeth) 20,000 as ransom. 
Fr. Garlick was executed at Derby 
together with Frs. Ludlam and 
Simpson, July 24, 1588, for being 
ordained by authority of the Holy 
See and coming into the country. 
Nicholas Garlick, martyr, by 
the Rev. Edward King, S.J. (Burns 
& Gates, 1904).: 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



207 



HATTON GARDEN, LONDON, 
W.C. (Westminster). St. Peter. 

The Italian Church. This fine 
structure is mainly due to the late 
Eevs. Joseph Faa di Bruno and 
Raphael Melia, who collected up 
wards of 15,000 for its erection. 
The edifice is in the Roman Basilica 
style. The altar is adorned with 
columns of black and white marble 
and figures of the four Evangelists. 
The church, which was opened 
April 16, 1863, can accommodate 
about 3,400 persons. The interior of 
the church was beautifully decorated 
in April 1886 by Signers Arnaud and 
Gauthier. The sanctuary was em 
bellished with paintings of the 
Holy Trinity, Our Lady, and the 
four Doctors of the Latin Church. 
The roof of the nave is painted with 
a picture of St. Peter bearing the 
Keys and Cross. The solemn re 
opening of the church was celebrated 
on Sunday, May 16, 1886 ; Bishop 
Patterson, of Ernmaus, preached. 



HAUNTON, TAMWORTH, STAFFS 

(Birmingha7n). SS. Michael and 
James. 

Till this mission became an in 
dependent one, in 1862, it was served 
by the Dominicans of Hinckley. 
The first chapel was built at the 
expense of C. E. Mousley, Esq., 
and opened July 28, 1863. The 
present church was built between 
1901-2 by Mr. Pye, of Clifton 
Hall. The style is Early English, 
the materials used being Hollington 
stone. A quaint porch adorns the 
north end, and an oak bell-turret the 
west gable. 



HAVANT, HANTS (Portsmouth). 
St. Joseph. 

Tho mission was started at Breek- 



hampton,near here, in 1730. Fr. Jn. 
Frankland, a Lisbonian, was priest 
here 1734-42. He was the author 
of A Memorial of a Clerical and 
Missionary Life (MS.), and died 
in London July 16, 1752. The 
chapel was erected 1790. The Sone 
family were the chief supporters of 
the mission, and one of them, Mr. 
John Sone, a wealthy miller, gave 
Bishop Douglass, V.A.L.D., 10,000 
to wards the building of St. Edmund s 
College (1795). Catholics numbered 
150 in 1810. The old chapel was 
replaced by a Norman church for 
240 persons 1839. A third structure 
was erected 1875. Adjoining the 
church is a Catholic cemetery. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Jos. Kimbell. 

Jn. Kearns, 1826. 

D. Donovan, 1853. 
A. Retort, 1855. 

E. Reardon, 1867. 
W. Stone, 1884. 

Jn. Horegan, here in 1871. 
Joseph Hayes, M.R., 1895. 
Albert Clarke, M.R., 1903 to 
date. 



HAWKESYARD, near RUGELEY, 
STAFFS (Birmingham). St. Tho 
mas s Priory. 

A Dominican priory and church 
were erected here in 1894, but the 
latter was not consecrated till July 
1899. A fine modern example of the 
fifteenth-century Perpendicular re- 
redos was inaugurated Sunday, 
December 23, 1900. This orna 
mental addition to the church was 
the gift of Miss Gulson. 



HAYDOCK, ST. HELENS, LANCS 

(Liverpool). 

The school chapel, in honour of 



208 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



the English martyrs, was opened 
August 10, 1879, and till 1887 was 
served from Blackburn. In that 
year, a presbytery was erected 
through the energy and self- sacri 
fice of Fr. E. O Sullivan. As far 
back as November 1892 a fund for 
building a new church was started 
by Fr. W. Moore, and when erected 
the edifice will stand in a district 
where once laboured Fr. Edmund 
Arrowsmith, S.J., who died for the 
Faith at Lancaster August 28, 
1628. Fr. T. Walmsley is the pre 
sent incumbent. 



HAYDON BRIDGE, NORTH 
UMBERLAND (Hexliam and New 
castle). St. John of Beverley. 

In 1860 a large number of Catho 
lics were attracted to the district 
owing to the increasing importance 
of the brass and iron foundries 
established in the town. In 1861 
a temporary chapel was opened 
here by Fr. Francis Kirsopp, of 
Haltwhistle, from which mission 
Haydon Bridge was served once a 
month. A school chapel was erected 
in 1873. 

Priests. 
Rev. Nicholas Darnell, 1873. 

Henry Brettargh, 1885. 

Peter Perrin, 1892. 

Geo. Silvertop, 1903 to date. 



HAYWARDS HEATH, SUSSEX 
(Southward). Priory of Our Lady 
of Good Counsel. 

On Monday, May 5, 1890, Bishop 
Butt, of Southwark, solemnly 
blessed the first stone of the con 
vent church. The convent is an 
affiliation of the English Convent 
of Nazareth at Bruges, connected 
with the old convent at Louvain 



for English ladies, founded in 1609. 
The first superioress of this latter 
foundation was Mother Margaret 
Clement, daughter of Margaret 
Giggs, the adopted daughter of the 
Blessed Thomas More. The nuns of 
Bruges fled to England in 1794 
during the invasion of the Low 
Countries by the French, and were 
hospitably received by Sir Rook- 
wood Gage, Bart., at Hengrove 
Hall. In 1802, they returned to 
Bruges. The convent at Haywards 
Heath was established in 1886. 
The first chapel of the community 
was a room in the house, where 
Mass was said by their chaplain, 
Fr. L. Laevens. The handsome 
Gothic church which has taken its 
place is open to the public. The 
nuns recite the Divine office daily 
in choir, and also attend to the 
education of a limited number of 
young ladies. 



HAZELWOOD, YORKS (Leeds}. 
St. Leonard. 

Sir Thos. Vavasour, of Hazel- 
wood Hall, so distinguished himself 
in raising troops against the Span 
ish Armada that Queen Elizabeth 
would never suffer the chapel at 
Hazelwood to be molested where 
the Roman Catholic rites still con 
tinue to be celebrated. In spite 
of this temporary protection, the 
family were great sufferers during 
the penal times for the Faith, Wm. 
Vavasour, Esq., being imprisoned 
and fined for having a priest in his 
house. Several members of the 
house were priests or nuns, and 
one of the family, Major Thomas 
Vavasour, fell at MarstonMoor 1644, 
ex parte rcgis. 1 A baronetcy was 

1 Among the priests of the family 
were: Fr. Francis Vavasour, Franciscan, 
1672 ; Henry Vavasour, died at Antwerp 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



209 



conferred on the family 1628. Dur 
ing the Gates plot, 1679-80, one of 
the family, Jn. Vavasour, Esq., was 
prosecuted for publicly denying the 
fabrication. We have conie upon 
but few facts relating to the mis 
sion. The chapel is a pre-Reforma- 
tion one, and dates from 1290 ; the 
registers only from 1772. 

Priests. 
Rev. Win. Daniel, 1772. 

James Melling, 1780. 

Wm. Chew, 1806. 

Robt. Tate, 1832. 

J. C. Fisher, 1840. 

Robt. Canon Tate, 1853. 

Michael Fryer, 1863. 

Philip Vavasour, 1866. 

Xavier de Vacht, 1874. 

Augustin Collingwood, 1877. 

Gustave Thonon, 1885. 

John Bradley, 1892. 
Mission served from Tadcaster 
since 1898. 



HEATON NORRIS, LANGS (Sal- 
ford). 

The district, like the other 
Heatons of Lancashire, is said 
to have given its name to the 
ancient Catholic family of Heaton, 
the owners of Lastock Hall (q.v .). 
This mansion was taken from them 
by a ruse of the Andertons, who in 
turn lost the property for their 
share in the rising of 1715. The 
mission, however, is purely modem. 
The first chapel, opened August 18, 
1867, did duty till the erection of 
the existing church, in the Gothic 
style, opened by Bishop Bilsborrow 
in 1897. 

1660; Fr. Wm. Vavasour, S.J., alias 
Thwinge, died 1683. Among the nuns 
were : Theresa Vavasour, Abbess of St. 
Clare at Rouen, died 1779 ; Mary, Abbess 
at Brussels, 1660, &c., &c. 



Priests. 

Rev. Jn. Tracy, 1867. 
Wm. Malone, 1874. 
Michael Morris, 1877. 
Francis Reichart, 1885 to date. 



HEBBURN, DURHAM. St. Aloy- 

sius. 

Founded 1871. This mission is 
due to Fr. Geo. Meynell (1817-97). 
The present church was opened in 
1888. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Corboy, 1871. 

Peter Ward, 1879. 

Matthew Toner, D.D., 1882 to 
date. 



HEBDEN BRIDGE, YORK3 

(Leeds). St. Thomas of Canter 
bury. 

Mission commenced from Hali 
fax in 1885, and served by the 
priests there till 1889, when the pre 
sent rector, Fr. Max.j,Tillmann, was 
appointed. The small but sufficient 
church was opened in 1897. 



HECKMONDWIKE, YORKS 

(Leeds). 

In 1859 Fr. O Leary, of Dews- 
bury, finding a large number of 
poor Catholics engaged in the wool 
len and carpet manufactures in the 
town, hired a room for a chapel. 
It continued to be served from the 
parent mission till about 1870, 
when Fr. Stephen Dolan was ap 
pointed. A school chapel was 
erected 1873. Subsequent rectors : 
Rev. Thos. Parkin, 1885. 

D. O Sullivan, 1890. 

Patrick Hickey, 1898. 

Joseph Russell, 1903 to date. 
P 



210 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



HEDON, near HULL, YORKS 
(Middlesbrough). SS. Mary and 
Joseph. 

The chapel was built in 1803 by 
Fr. Joseph Swinburne, who . re 
ceived a sum of money for the 
purpose from Francis Constable, 
Esq. Fr. Swinburne was at Douai 
at the time of the Revolution, and 
was among the number of English 
students imprisoned at Dourlens. 
Ordained at Crook Hall in 1800, 
he resided as pastor at Hedon till 
1838, when he retired to a small 
house near the chapel. His suc 
cessor was Fr. W. Parsons. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Swinburne, 1800. 

W. Parsons, 1838. 

Hy. Newsham, 1840. 

Wm. Parsons, 1844. 

Robt. Canon Tate, D.D., 1852. 

J. C. Fisher, 1854. 

John Leadbitter, 1885. 

David Smith, 1889 to date. 



HEMSWORTH, YORKS (Leeds). 

Mission served from Ackworth 
1893-5. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Speet, 1896. 

L. Leteux, 1898 to date. 



HENDON, LONDON, N.W. (West 
minster). Our Lady of Dolours. 

The first stone was laid in July 
1861 by Dr. Morris, Bishop of 
Troy. Mgr. Manning preached on 
the occasion. It was opened for 
worship in 1862. The high altar 
was erected and the walls of the 
nave decorated with paintings from 
the designs of Mr. Redmond Doran 
September 1865. 



Priests. 

Rev. Mgr. Edward Clifford, 1861. 
Geo. Carter, here in 1871 and 
to date. 



HENLEY-ON-THAMES, OXFORD 
SHIRE (Birmingham). 

For some remarks on the early 
history of Catholicity in this dis 
trict, see STONOR. In 1888 a mis 
sion-house, No. 6 Caxton Terrace, 
was acquired as chapel and pres 
bytery, and placed under the care of 
Fr. J. Bacchus, the present rector. 



HEREFORD, HEREFORDSHIRE 

(Newport). St. Francis Xavier. 

In the reign of James I. Fawn 
Hope, an old mansion a few miles 
south-east of Hereford, was the 
occasional resting-place of a few 
missionary priests. During the 
course of 1626, the then Bishop of 
Hereford was instructed to effect 
the arrest of George Berrington, 
O.S.B., and Geo. Hanmer, S.J., 
two Romish priests who do lurk 
near Hereford. Both priests, 
however, escaped the pursuivants, 
the former, Fr. Berrington, sur 
viving till May 1664. Fr. Walter 
Kemble, O.S.B. a relative of the 
martyr Fr. John Kemble died at 
Fawn Hope in 1633. The first 
Catholic chapel at Hereford since 
the Reformation was built by Fr. 
Wm. Home, 1790, and licensed by 
order of Quarter Sessions Octo 
ber 17, 1791. This structure was 
in Broad Street, and continued as 
a public chapel or place of worship 
for the exercise of the Popish re 
ligion till 1838, when the Jesuits 
built the present handsome church, 
in the Classical style, at a cost of 
over 16,000. The architect was 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



211 



Mr. C. Bay, but the splendid high 
altar is the work of Fr. Geo. Jen 
kins, S.J. The congregation num 
bered 400 in 1856. 

Priests of the Mission. 
Fr. Wm. Clarke, S.J. (died at Here 
ford February 6, 1734, fet. 
65). 

T. Butler, S.J. (died at Here 
ford 1774). 

Hon. and Kev. John Butler, S.J. 
(Lord Cahir) (died 1786, 
at. 59). 

Fr. Wm. Home, S.J. (died Novem 
ber 13, 1799). 

Wm. Anderton (died Septem 
ber 28, 1823). 
W. Gotham, 1823. 
Lovet, 1828. 
Hy. Brigham, 1830. 
Kichard Boyle, 1836. 
Wm. Waterworth, 1843. 
Francis Jarrett, 1855. 
W. Scarisbrick, O.S.B., 1858. 
Bev. F. V. Canon Spears, 1862. 
Chas. Dolman, O.S.B., here in 
1875 to date. 



HERNE BAY, KENT. Our Lady 
of the Sacred Heart. 

The foundation stone of the 
Passionist Church was laid in June 
1889, and the building was solemnly 
dedicated by Bishop Butt, of South- 
wark, Thursday, June 26, 1890. 
The style is Early Gothic, the seat 
ing capacity of the church being 
for 400 persons. The sermon on 
the occasion of the opening was 
preached by Canon Murnane, who 
took for his subject Christ Cruci 
fied. The church was consecrated 
August 10, 1897. 



HERNE HILL, LONDON, S.E. 

SS. Philip and James. 
A plain Romanesque church, in 



Poplar Walk, was opened the end 
of May 1906. Fr. James Loner - 
gan, late of Eltham, is the rector. 



HERONS GHYLL, SUSSEX. St. 

John s. 

A chapel, with elementary school 
attached, was solemnly opened on 
Sunday, October 3, 1880. The 
buildings were the munificent gift 
of the Duke of Norfolk. The 
present church, in the Early Eng 
lish style, was erected in 1897, and 
consecrated September 7, 1904, by 
Bishop Amigo, of Southwark. The 
building stands on the estate of 
Jas. Hope-Scott, Esq., M.P., who 
defrayed the cost of erection. 



HERTFORD (Westminster}. The 
Immaculate Conception and St. 
Joseph. 

The site of this church, which 
stands on that of the old Benedic 
tine Priory of St. Mary s, was 
acquired in August 1858. The 
mission, which was started in the 
autumn of the same year by Fr. Her 
bert, afterwards Cardinal Vaughan, 
was at the time of its foundation 
the only one in the county after St. 
Edmund s, Old Hall. At first, Mass 
was said in a stable loft, the num 
ber of Catholics being about 3t 0. 
The stone of the present church 
was laid October 18, 1858, by 
Cardinal Wiseman. The conse 
cration of the building by Arch 
bishop Manning took place on 
Friday, October 16, 1866, amidst a 
distinguished Catholic gathering. 
The mission of Hertford is greatly 
indebted to Fr. Francis Stanfield, 
who collected funds for the build 
ing of the church and otherwise 
consolidated the good work ini 
tiated by Fr. Vaughan. 



212 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



HETHE, OXON. (Birmingham). 
Holy Trinity. 

The Fermors of Hethc House, 
Tusmore, in this parish were long 
the mainstay of Catholicity in this 
district. Like the rest of the 
Catholic nobility and gentry, they 
endured constant persecution for 
the old religion. The old mansion 
contained an ingenious hiding-place 
for the priest, the entrance to 
which was a trapdoor concealed by 
a dummy window-sill. The last 
of the family, Wm. Fermor, Esq., 
died November 28, 1828, aged fifty- 
seven. The estate passed to protes- 
tants, and the chapel was closed. 
The last chaplain there was Fr. 
Corbishley. A new mission was 
then started by Fr. A. Maguire, 
who appealed to the public for 
funds, and so successfully that the 
present chapel was opened, May 22, 
1832, by Bishop Walsh. A large 
congregation attended, upwards of 
J 62 being subscribed towards the 
building fund. 

Priests. 
Kev. Alfred Maguire, 1831. 

,, Joseph Robson, 1847. 

P. Sweeny, here in 1872. 

J. Bonner, 1888 to date. 



HEXHAM, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Newcastle}. St. 
Mary. 

A mission has long been in 
existence here. In 1687 a Francis 
can residence was established under 
the title of St. Anthony of Padua. 
Mr. Ben Carr, a gentleman residing 
in the town, gave the site. The 
presides or superiors in succession 
were : 

Fr. Geo. Golding, 1687-95. 
Geo. Goodyer, 1695. 

Bernardine Metcalfe, 1698. 



Fr. Constantino Jackson, 1701. 

B. Metcalfe, 1717. 

,, Gregory Jones, 1719. 

Bonaventure Hutchinson, 1725. 

, Peter Gordon, 1729. 

, B. Metcalfe, 1731. 

, Pacificus Baker, 1734. 

, Lawrence Robinson, 1737. 

, Bernard Yates, 1743. 

, P. Gordon, 1746. 

, B. Hutchinson, 1749. 

, Leo Francis, 1752. 

, Paul Dixon, 1758. 

, Eobt. Painter, 1761. 

, Bernard Yates, 1764. 

, Henry Bishop, 1767. 

, Joachim Arnold, 1770. 

, Alexius Whalley, 1771. 

, Chas. Juliaeus, 1773. 

, Thos. Cottrell, 1776. 

, Hy. Bishop, 1779. 

, Bruno Babe, 1781. 

, Lawrence Hall, 1782. 

, Angelas Eavenhill, 1791. 

, Bernardine Fleet, 1793. 

, Andrew "Weetman, 1794. 

, Paschal Harrison, 1800. 

, Alex. Whalley, 1805. 

, Thos. Cottrell, 1806. 

, Alex. Whalley, 1808. 

, B. Fleet, 1809-12. 
No further appointments. 
Concerning the early history of 
the secular mission of Hexharn we 
have not been able to obtain any in 
formation. Fr. Geo. Gibson was 
here about 1751. He also assisted 
many of the Catholics about Naffer- 
ton, and in order to give employment 
to a number of poor boys and girls 
of the district established a woollen 
spinning manufactory at Hexham. 
This excellent priest died at Hex- 
ham December 3, 1778, univer 
sally regretted. In 1762 he was 
assisted for a short time by Fr. N. 
Leadbitter, O.P., and afterwards by 
Fr. Francis Houghton, of the same 
Order. Long before this the priest 
at Hexham was Mr. Thompson, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



213 



who resided at the house of Mr. 
Ilymer, a merchant of the town, 
about 1716. Fr. Aug. Noel died 
1812. 



HEYWOOD, LANCS (Salford). St. 
Joseph. 

Mission inaugurated 1854 ; church 
opened by Bishop Turner 185 G. 
Catholic population, 2,200. 

Priests. 
Eev. E. Hubbersty, 1854. 

,, Arthur MacCann, 1855. 

Wm. Bradley, 1892. 

C. W. Poole," 1898 to date. 



HIGHGATE, LONDON, N. (West 
minster). St. Joseph s Eetreat. 

On January 29, 1849, Fr. Ivers, of 
St. Alexis Church, Kentish Town, 
gave a lecture on Catholic doctrine 
at 17 High Street, Highgate, but 
the meeting was broken up by a 
vile rabble. In June 1858, the 
Passionist Fathers acquired a house 
and site for a church in Highgate, 
which was commenced in 1860. In 
January 1859 the temporary chapel 
was already too small for the wants 
of the congregation. The church 
was completed in 1863, and hand 
somely decorated August- Septem 
ber 1880, under the direction of Mr. 
A. Vicars. On Sunday, August 28, 
1887, a meeting of gentlemen of the 
congregation, presided over by Fr. 
Gerrard, C.P., was held to consider 
the subject of a new church. It was 
unanimously resolved that a new 
church be built, and that an iron 
building be used for worship till it 
should be completed. In 1863 the 
Catholics of Highgate comprised 
forty-three families ; and in 1886 
the Catholic population amounted 
to 1,500, notwithstanding that 



missions had been opened at Hen- 
don, Finchley, and other places 
formerly served by St. Joseph s. 
When the present church was com 
menced, Pope Leo XIII. signed 
with his own hand a special Bene 
diction for all who helped in the 
good work. The building was 
opened in September 1889. It pro 
vides seating accommodation for 
1,000 persons. On each side of the 
nave are processional aisles 6 ft. 
wide. There are six side chapels. 
The dome, walls, and ceiling are 
richly painted with scenes from the 
Sacred Passion, death of St. Joseph, 
&c., the latter by M. Laby. The high 
altar was exhibited at the Paris 
Exhibition of 1889. 



HIGH WYCOMBE, BUCKS (North- 
am2)ton). St. Augustine Arch 
bishop of England. 

Fr. Herbert Beale, of Dawsfield, 
commenced this mission in Sep 
tember 1889. On Sunday evening, 
September 21, of that year, he gave 
a lecture on Eoman Catholics in 
the South Bucks Auction Mart to a 
large audience, almost entirely pro- 
testant. The lecture was much 
appreciated. Mass was said for 
the first time in a room fitted up 
as a chapel on Sunday, Novem 
ber 10, 1889. The chalice used by 
Fr. Beale was a jubilee offering to 
Pope Leo XIII., who gave it to the 
Bishop of Northampton for mission 
ary purposes. The church, in the 
Perpendicular Gothic style, was 
opened recently. Fr. J. Flint is 
the present rector. 



HINCKLEY, LEICESTERSHIRE 

(Nottingham). St. Peter s Priory. 
The domestic chapel of the Tur- 



214 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



villcs at Aston Flamvillc Hall, near 
Hinckley, served the mission during 
the penal times. Fr. J. Clarkson, 
O.P., was priest here from 1734 to 
1747, and again from 1757-8. Fr. 
Mat. Norton, also a Dominican, who 
was here in 1759, removed the 
mission to Hinckley in 1765. When 
the Revolution drove the English 
Dominicans from Bornhem (Bel 
gium) to England Hinckley became a 
priory. Fr. C. Caestrick, O.P., built 
a chapel on a scale then considered 
preposterously large. The pre 
sent church and priory were erected 
1824-5. Till 1852 the house was a 
school for Catholic boys. In 1885 
it was reconstituted as the Domini 
can novitiate. A tower, chancel, 
and sacristies were added to the 
church the same year. 



HINDLEY, WIGAN, LANCS (Liver 
pool). St. Benedict. 

The mission commenced in 1727 
in a chapel at Lowe Hall. It was 
removed to Strangeways 1773. In 
1789 Peter and Nicholas Marsh, 
father and son, subscribed a hand 
some sum for the establishment of 
a new mission at Hindley. In con 
sideration of the gift, the Marsh 
family was assigned seats near the 
altar rails. The family is now 
represented by the Marsh- Carrs. 
The chapel, with various additions 
and improvements, served down to 
]To9, when the present church was 
opened. 

Priests. 
Kev. Eowland Lacon, 1789. 

Thos. Appleton, . 

Wm. Corlett, 1837. 

Richard Cyprian Tyrer, 1863. 

John Brown, here in 1871. 

John Cuthbert Murphy, 1874. 

Francis Hickey, 1882. 

James Sanders, 1888, 



Rev. John Cody, 1890. 
Arthur O Hare, 1892. 
Hubert Murphy, 1893. 
Geo. Clarke, 1895 to date. 



HITCHIN, HERTS (Westmin 
ster). 

This mission was commenced by 
the Fathers of the Institute of St. 
Andrew at Barnet, who opened a 
temporary chapel here at 46 Old Park 
Road in 1893. The present church, 
in the Nightingale Road, was opened 
in 1902. The same year Cardinal 
Vaughan gave the charge of the 
district to the congregation of St. 
Edmund of Pontigny, Fr. T. M. 
Aubin being the first and present 
superior. 



HODDESDON, HERTS (Westmin 
ster). St. Monica s Priory. 

For some notice of the English 
Augustiniaii Canonesses Regular of 
St. John Lateran, see NEWTON AB 
BOT. In 1886 a house of the Order was 
established at South Mimms, near 
Barnet. In 1898 Rawdon House, 
Hoddesdon, was acquired, and the 
community removed to here from 
South Mimms the same year. The 
Rev. E. Tunstall is the chaplain. 



HOLBORN, LONDON, W.C. (West 
minster). St. Etheldreda s, Ely 
Place. 

John de Kirkeby, Bishop of Ely 
1286-90, left by will to his suc 
cessors a messuage in the parish 
of St. Andrew s, Holborn. During 
the episcopate of William de Luda, 
who came after him, the chapel of 
Ely Place was built, between 1290 
and 1299. The London palace of 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



215 



the Bishops of Ely, which adjoined, 
was frequently the scene of sump 
tuous feasts, given during term time 
to such personages as the serjeants- 
at-law, benchers of Gray s Inn, 
&c. In the cloisters of Ely Place, 
Henry VIII. is said to have first 
met Cranmer. After the Reforma 
tion, the palace was little used by the 
protestant occupants of the See of 
Ely, and, with the chapel, was leased 
about 1608 to Gondomar, the famous 
Spanish ambassador. Mass was 
once more restored, to the great 
delight of the persecuted Catholics 
of London. Here died the saintly 
Louisa de Caravajal, who left her 
country, Spain, to assist the long- 
suffering faithful in England ; and 
here, too, was celebrated before 
James I., Gondomar, and their 
suites, the last passion play ever 
given in England. Bishop Wren, 
of Ely, uncle of the famous archi 
tect, suffered a long confinement 
from 1640 to 1660 at Ely Place for 
introducing Catholic practices into 
his diocese. In 1772, the then 
Bishop of Ely was empowered to 
sell the estate, which passed to Mr. 
C. Cole, an architect, who built the 
houses in Ely Place, the chapel 
being preserved as a place of wor 
ship for the residents. In 1844 the 
chapel passed into the hands of the 
Welsh Episcopalians. About thirty 
years later, in consequence of a law 
suit, the whole of the property was 
sold, when the church was bought 
by Fr. Lockheart, of the Order of < 
Charity, for 5,400. Thus was the \ 
place again restored to Catholic i 
hands. After considerable restora 
tion, the building was reopened for ; 
worship by Cardinal Manning on | 
June 23, 1879. The church, which, j 
as we have remarked, was founded 
at the close of the thirteenth century, ! 
is one of the most beautiful in 
England. It is lighted by mag- < 



nificent east and west windows, the 
former presented by the Duke of 
Norfolk, the latter by E. Bellasis, 
Esq., Lancaster Herald, E. de Lisle, 
and other benefactors. The east 
window displays Our Lord robed as 
High Priest and King, attended by 
Our Lady, St. Joseph, St. Ethel- 
dreda, and St. Bridget. That to the 
west depicts Cardinal John Fisher, 
Thomas More, and the monks 
of the Charterhouse, who suffered 
under Henry VIII. Beneath the 
high altar is a jewelled reliquary con 
taining a portion of the hand of St. 
Etheldreda, Abbess of Ely, who died 
679. It was discovered in a priests 
hiding-place in a Sussex farmhouse 
on the estate of the Duke of Norfolk. 
The choir at the end of the church 
is supported by a beautiful Gothic 
screen, the work of the late Mr. 
Bentley. In the sanctuary, near the 
south entrance, is a brass tablet in 
memory of Fr. W. Lockhart, B.A. 
(Oxon.), rector of St. Etheldreda s 
from 1879 till his death in August 
1892. Beneath the church is a dark 
and spacious crypt, which serves as 
a chapel for daily Mass, confessions, 
&c. The congregation of the church, 
which before the pulling down of 
neighbouring courts and alleys to 
make way for business houses, &c., 
was very numerous, is now only 
about 1,000. 



HOLLINWOOD, LANGS (Sal- 
ford). 

The church was opened Decem 
ber 21, 1878. Before the opening 
of the church, the temporary chapel 
was in Maple Street. Catholic 
population about 1,336. 

Priests. 
Rev. Christian Miiller. 

Thomas Walsh, 1880. 

Bartholomew Flynn, 1888. 

Francis Oakes, 1904 to date. 



216 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



HOLLOW AY, LONDON, N. (West 
minster). The Sacred Heart of 
Jesus. 

A mission was established at 
5 Albany Place in 1854 by Canon 
Oakeley, of Islington. After a few 
months, a larger chapel was estab 
lished at 19 Cornwall Place, and 
opened June 11, 1855, by Canon 
Maguire, V.G. A fine bell was 
presented by J. Hears, Esq., and 
much material assistance rendered 
to the mission by the Countess 
of Shrewsbury. The chapel, how 
ever, was merely a front and back 
parlour thrown into one, and was 
described in 1868 as the most 
wretched place of Catholic worship 
in the Westminster diocese. The 
late Canon Keens, who came as 
rector that year, managed to 
secure a site for church and 
schools by March 1869, at a cost of 
1,500. The present church, in 
the Geometrical Gothic style, was 
opened by Cardinal Manning on 
August 18, 1870. Nave and chan 
cel measure about 90 fr. Schools 
for 200 children were opened about 
the same time. F. H. Pownall 
was the architect. The Catholic 
population in 1868 was esti 
mated at 3,000. New schools were 
built in 1905 at a total cost of 
5,500. Electric light installed in 
church and schools 1900. 

Priests. 
Eev. Dale, 1855 (first resident 

priest). 

Erneric Podolski, 1856 (chap 
lain to the British Polish 
Legion during the Crimean 
war, 1854-6; again at Hol- 
loway 1856). 

Cornelius Canon Keens, 1868. 
Wm. Dolan, 1871. 
Thos. Carey, M.E., 1901. 



HOLME- ON -SPALDING MO OH, 
YOKES (Middlesbrough). St. John 
the Baptist. 

The date of the foundation of 
this mission is set down as 1743, 
though chaplains were here as 
early as 1670. The place is one 
of the residences of the noble 
family of Stourton. Lewis in his 
Topographical Dictionary says 
that the Vavasours in Catholic 
times established cells on the moor 
for two monks to act as guides to 
travellers. Fr. J. Le Grand, O.S.B., 
established a permanent chapel and 
commenced the register 1743. A new 
chapel was opened May 1766. The 
Canonesses of the Holy Sepulchre 
had a convent here from 1794 to 
1796, when they removed to Dean 
House, Salisbury. 

Priests. 
Eev. Edw. Booth, 1670. 

Lawrence Ireland, S.J., 1673. 

Gervase Littleton, 1698. 

Price, 1723. 

Ar. Baker, O.S.F., left 1743., 

Jos. Le Grand, O.S.B., 1743. 

Jn. Fisher, O.S.B., 1743. 

Andrew Eyding, O.S.B., 1788. 

Jn. Storey, O.S.B., 1792. 

Thos. Marsh, O.S.B., 1795. 

,, Edw. Clarkson, O.S.B., 1798. 

Jn. Turner, O.S.B., 1815. 

Edw. Glassbrook,O.S.B., 1843. 

Thos. Cockshoot, O.S.B., 1846. 

Nicholas Hodgson, O.S.B., 
1858. 

Thos. Shepherd, O.S.B., 
1860 (?). 

Chas. Holohan, O.S.B., 1862. 
Seculars. 

Gerald Shanahan, 1864. 

Jas. Dolan, 1876. 

Jn. Doud, 1881. 

S. O Hare, 1884. 

Aloysius Maes, 1897. 

Geo. de Stoop, 1901 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



217 



HOMERTON, LONDON, N.E. 
(Westminster). Immaculate Heart 
and St. Dominic. 

A chapel was opened in Sidney 
Terrace by Fr. (Canon) G. Akcrs, 
M.A., 1873. The present church, in 
the Italian style, was opened by 
Cardinal Manning October 29, 1877. 
Captain Salvin, of Sutton Place, 
Guildford, presented the marble 
altar. In April 1878, a new stone 
altar was erected in the side chapel 
dedicated to St. George. The build 
ing was consecrated by Bishop 
Weathers, of Amycla, July 2, 1884. 
It may be interesting to state that 
the edifice is modelled after that 
of SS. Nereus and Achilles at 
Rome. The church was conse 
crated 1884. 

Priests. 
Rev. G. Akers, 1873. 

G. Langton Vere, 1877. 

Thos. Hogan, 1885. 

E. Meyer, 1891. 

Clement Dunn, 1892 to date. 



HONITON, DEVONSHIRE (Ply 
mouth). The Holy Family. 

Through the generosity of the 
Ladies Mary and Margaret Howard, 
an iron church, formerly at Heron s 
Ghyll, Uckfield, was removed to 
Honiton and erected on a site 
acquired from W. H. Fowler, Esq., 
February 1898. Before the open 
ing of the iron chapel, Catholics 
worshipped at the domestic oratory 
in Deer Park, the residence of 
Lady Lindsay. Mass on the day 
of opening was celebrated by Fr. 
Allaria, C.R.L., rector of the mis 
sion, the plain chant of the service 
being sung by the choir from Spet- 
tisbury Priory. It may not be un 
interesting to remark that a certain 
Dr. Marwood, who died at Honiton 
in 1617, was a good and faithful 



Catholic, and one who did much 
to preserve the remnants of the old 
religion in the district during a 
particularly severe epoch of the 
penal laws. 

N.B. The mission at Deer Park 
was founded by the Hon. Colin 
Lindsay 1877. He was the author 
of the well-known Evidences for 
the Papacy (Longmans 1870). Mr. 
Lindsay died 1892, at. 73. 



HOOTON, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). St. Mary of the Angels. 

This mission, under the patronage 
of the Stanley family, was served 
by the Jesuits from about the reign 
of James I. till 1854. Fr. Stanislaus 
Green was priest at Hooton in 1701 ; 
Fr. M. Tichborne about 1735 ; Fr. 
J. Porter in 1750 ; Fr. J. Shaw in 
1773. The new church, erected by 
Sir John Stanley Errington, Bart., 
was opened August 21, 1879. The 
Stanley Chantry, dedicated to the 
Sacred Heart, is lighted by eight 
handsome stained - glass windows 
by Meyer, of Munich. The church, 
which will accommodate about 250 
persons, was consecrated July 1883. 
The design was planned by Mr. 
E. G. Tarvor, of London. 

Priests since 1805. 
Rev. Thos. Collingridge, 1803. 

Thos. Crowe, 1849. 

P. F. Baron, 1851. 

Wm. Canon Hilton, V.G., 
1866. 

Geo. Canon Clegg, 1876. 

Chas. Langdon, 1888. 

G. B. Provost Clegg, 1903 to 
date. 



HORNBY, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Mary. 
From about the reign of James I. 



218 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



to 1762, the chapel at Eobcrt Hall, 
the seat of the Cansfields, served 
the districts of Hornby, Claughton, 
and Caton. The Cansfields were 
staunch supporters of Charles I., 
and suffered much in the cause of 
that monarch. The priest at Eobert 
Hall from 1699 to 1740 was Fr. 
Edward Gilpin. His successor was 
Fr. Jas. Gandy. Fr. E. Bennett, 
who was chaplain in 1745, showed 
such partiality for the cause of 
Prince Charles Edward Stuart 
during the rebellion of that year, 
that he had to retire abroad for 
some time. He afterwards returned 
to his pastoral duties at Hornby, 
dying at Scarborough in 1765. In 
1762 Mrs. Ann Fenwick, relict of 
John Fenwick, Esq., got leave of 
Bishop Petre, V.A., to fit up a 
chapel at her residence, Hornby 
Hall. Fr. Thos. Butler was ap 
pointed priest of the mission, which 
then numbered 115 persons. After 
Mrs. Fenwick s death in 1777, the 
Hall passed into other hands ; but 
Fr. Butler, with the funds she had 
placed at his disposal, purchased a 
house as chapel and presbytery, 
and continued his ministrations till 
his decease in 1795. The mission 
of Hornby is indissolubly connected 
with the Kev. John Lingard, D.D., 
the Catholic historian of England, 
who was priest of the place from 
1811 till his death in July 1851, 
aged eighty-one. Much of his 
well-known history was written at 
Hornby, and here he was wont to 
entertain Brougham, Scarlett, Pol 
lock, and the other leaders of the 
Bar whom the Northern Assizes 
brought into his district (Tierney s 
Memoir, Lingard s History, 
vol. i.). Fr. Geo. Gibson was the next 
priest after Dr. Lingard. The chapel 
was rebuilt in 1819. Fr. Gibson 
was succeeded in 1875 by Fr. Geo. 
Fisher, who was followed in 1897 



by Mgr. Wm. Wrennall. In conclu 
sion, it may be added that from 
the death of Fr. Butler in 1795 till 
the appointment of Dr. Lingard in 
1811 the priests were : Abbe A. J. 
Legaigneur, an emigre, 1795-8 ; 
Kev. J. Worswick, 1798-1809 ; Rev. 
Ar. Story, 1809-11. 



HORNSEY. Sec STROUD GREEN, 



HORSEFORTH, YORKS (Leeds). 
Our Lady of Good Counsel. 

Mission commenced 1892, and 
served from the Church of the 
Sacred Heart, Leeds, by Fr. Chas. 
Croskell. In 1893 it was supplied 
by a priest from the cathedral, and 
in 1895-6 from the seminary. In 
the last year Fr. E. Walsh was 
appointed rector. His successors 
have been : Eev. John Kalb ; Eev. 
Thos. Shine, to date. 



HORSHAM, SUSSEX (South- 
war &). St. John, Springfield Eoad. 

The old chapel in West Street was 
founded by Charles, eleventh Duke 
of Norfolk, about the commence 
ment of the last century. This 
nobleman, although he conformed 
to the Established Church in 
1780, was always secretly attached 
to the religion of his forefathers, 
and at his death in 1815 abjured 
the tenets of protestantism. The 
bodies of the Dukes of Norfolk 
always rested at the Hovsham 
Chapel for one night when being 
brought from London to Arundel 
for interment. The last time that 
the old custom of bringing the 
du.ca.1 remains by road w&g observed 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



219 



took place at the funeral of Bernard, 
seventh Duke, in April 1842. For 
many years after the foundation of 
the Horsham mission it was served 
in conjunction with West Grinstead. 
The priest in charge of the place 
in 1827 was the Abbe Adrien 
Gremare. He left in 1835. The 
next priest was Fr. Edward Fowler. 
The mission was marked vacant 
in 1850, but in 1853 the incumbent 
was Fr. Joseph Sidden. The ser 
vices even at this time continued 
to be only occasional, Mass being 
said at Horsham on the first 
Sunday of each month. In 1864 
it was served by the Franciscan 
Fathers from Crawley. The follow 
ing year saw the opening of the 
present Gothic church (December 
27), by Bishop Grant. The edifice 
is due to the pious munificence of 
the late Mina Duchess of Norfolk. 
Fr. H. Lawrence is the present 
rector. 



HORWICH, LANCS (Salford). 
Our Lady of the Rosary. 

The Gothic school chapel was 
opened by the Bishop of Salford 
on Sunday, July 11, 1886. The 
chapel is of brick, with stone 
dressings, and has a neat presbytery 
adjoining. Bishop Vaughan, at the 
opening, preached an effective ser 
mon on the Rosary, which his 
lordship described as a summary 
of the whole Gospel. 
Priests. 
Rev. Joseph Crilly, 1886. 

Henry Hunt, 1899. 

Michael McGrath, 1903. 



HOUGHTON HALL, SANCTON, 
YORKS (Middlesbrough). The Holy 
Family. 

There was a chapel at this, the 



ancient seat of the Langdale family, 
about the time of the accession 
of Elizabeth. Anthony Langdale, 
Esq., who died at Rome, April 10, 
1577, is regarded as an exile on 
account of his faith. Fr. John 
May, an alumnus of St. Omer and 
Valladolid, served the mission from 
about 1052 till his death, some 
time after 1690. The old chapel 
was built 1780, and the registers 
date from 1787. The Benedictines 
ceased to serve the mission 1805. 
The new chapel, near the Hall, was 
erected by the Hon. Charles Lang- 
dale, and opened February 25, 
1829 the year of Catholic emanci 
pation. 

Rev. John May, 1652 till after 1690 

(immediate successors not 

known). 

Edw. Hatton, 1730 
John Holme, 1739. 
Archibald Macdonald, 1766. 
Edward Howard, S.J., 1770. 
Thos. Slater, 1787. 
Jn. Rigby, 1803. 
Jas. Wrennall, 1805 (?) till 

1827. 

Jn. Ball, 1827. 
Jn. Glover, 1830. 
Henry Newsham, 1836. 
Geo. Keasley, 1838. 
Jn. Glover, 1842 (second 

time). 

Robt. Canon Thompson, 1860. 
Laurence McGonnell, 1861. 
James Canon Wells, 1862. 
Herbert Davies, 1897. 



HOUGHTON - LE - SPRING, DUR 
HAM (Hexliam and Newcastle). 
St. Michael. 

The mission was started 1831, 
Fr. Macevoy, of Maynooth, being 
the first resident priest. Mass was 



220 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



first said in a hired room, the 
number of Catholics in the town 
being estimated at between eighty 
and a hundred. The church was 
opened November 9, 1837, and in 
1844 the chancel end was decorated. 
The site of the building was rented 
from Lord Durham. When Catho 
licity first reared its head at 
Hough ton-le- Spring, the place was 
described as a locality of all-per 
vading bigotry. The stipend of 
the priest was at the outset only 
40 a year, and he had to struggle 
against a heavy mission debt. A 
cemetery was laid out and schools 
built in 1842. 

Priests. 
Ecv. J. Macevoy, 1831. 

(Served from Sunderland 
1845.) 

A. Watson, 1846. 

,, Joseph Canon Browne, 1857. 

,, John O Brien, 1889 and to 
date. 



HOUNSLOW, MIDDLESEX. SS. 
Michael and Marten, Burdett 
Lodge. 

An important meeting, presided 
over by Mgr. Weld, was held at 
Hounslow early in June 1883 to 
consider the ways and means for 
building a church. The collection 
amounted to over 20. The new 
school chapel was opened by Car 
dinal Manning, Tuesday, August 24 
1886. As far back as 1862, Mass 
was said for the Catholic soldiers 
every Sunday at the barracks. 
The first chaplain was Fr. C. 
Herdel, who resided at G Belgrave 
Terrace. The military chapel was 
open to civilians. 



HOVE, BRIGHTON (Soutluvarlt). 
St. Peter s. 
This church was opened as a 



chapel of ease to the mission of the 
Sacred Heart, Brighton, 1902. The 
style is Gothic. Sittings for about 
200 persons. Fr. Joseph Ward has 
charge of the district served by the 
chapel. 



HOWDEN, YORKS, EAST RIDING 

(Middlesbrough). The Sacred 
Heart. 

There were about 150 Catholics 
at Howden in 1850, when the 
mission was started by Fr. E. 
Cook. For several years it was 
served from Everingham. The 
beautiful little Gothic church 
was built in 1852. At the con 
clusion of the mission given in 
March 1885 by Fr. G. Seadon, 
C.B.P., over sixty persons enrolled 
themselves as associates of the 
Perpetual Adoration Sodality. 
[When Fr. Cook first went to 
Howden he applied for the use of 
the Town Hall for Mass on Sundays, 
but was refused. He then preached 
to the people from the town cross, 
and with such success that he 
was enabled to erect a temporary 
chapel.] 

Priests. 
Kev. K. Cook, 1850. 

Thos. Danson, 1855. 

James Butler, 1882. 

C. Donovan, 1888. 

Patrick O Brien, 1890. 

Win. McNaughten, 1892. 

Patrick Cronin, 1896. 

Chas. Van Pouckc, 1897 to 
date. 



HOXTON, LONDON, N. (West 
minster). St. Monica s Priory. 

In 1863 the Augustinians re 
turned to London at the invitation 
of Cardinal Wiseman. The old 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



221 



pro -Reformation house of the Order 
in London was Austin Friars, City, 
founded 1423. The present priory 
was opened by Mgr. (afterwards 
Cardinal) Manning, August 15, 
18G4, and the Decorated Gothic 
church two years later. Schools 
were erected 1870. The average 
attendance in 1905 was 344. 



HOYLAND, NETHER BARNSLEY. 
YORKS (Leeds). St. Helen s Chapel. 

The mission was commenced in 
1864, and on Easter Monday 1865 
the first stone of the school chapel 
was laid. The opening took place 
Sunday, April 22, 1865, by the 
Bishop of Beverley. The style is 
twelfth-century Gothic. The build 
ing is of stone after designs by Had- 
field. Fr. C. J. Locke was priest of 
the mission in 1865. At the mission 
given at St. Helens in June 1866, 
by Fr. Bertrand, O.S.F., over 600 
persons renewed the baptismal 
vows, and about eighty-three were 
confirmed. In 1891 the mission 
was served from Mortomley. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. Win. Smith, here in 1883. 

W. J. Smith, 1892. 



HUCKNALL TORKARD, NOTTING 
HAMSHIRE (Nottingham). Holy 
Cross. 

From 1879, when the mission 
was started, a building of a tem 
porary character served as a chapel. 
In September 1886, owing to the 
liberality of Mr. O Hanlon, who 
gave 1,000, and Major Worswick, 
who gave 500, the new church was 
founded, and completed in April 
1887. The style is Early Decorated 
Gothic. The schools adjoining, 
built by Major Worswick, accom 



modate about 100 pupils. The con 
gregation was estimated at about 
200 at the time of opening. The 
seating capacity of the building is 
for about 250 persons. R. C. Clarke 
was the architect. Fr. Rupert 
Macaulay, present rector. 



HUDDERSFIELD, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Patrick. 

The mission atHuddersfield dates 
from 1828, when Mass was said on 
Sundays in a hired room over a 
workshop. The baptismal registers 
were irregularly kept for the first 
two or three years, owing probably 
to the fact that the priest baptised 
in private houses and entered the 
names later. In 1835, the chapel 
was commenced in the Halifax 
Road, Huddersfield, by Fr. James 
Keily, but the debt on the building 
was not paid off till 1861. Between 
October 1859 and September 1861, 
about 400 was collected by Fr. 
S. L. Wells towards new schools. 
These w r ere commenced in Septem 
ber 1862, and opened during the 
course of 1863. The cost was about 
800, the accommodation being for 
108 boys, 128 girls, and 60 infants. 

Recent Priests. 

Rev. Stephen Canon Dolan, here 
1891 and to date. 



HULL, YORKSHIRE (Middles- 
brougli). St. Charles Borromeo, 
Jarratt Street. 

In 1780, the Catholic chapel was 
at Posterngate. Fierce No Popery 
riots in imitation of the Gordon 
riots broke out in June the same 
year, and the chapel was destroyed. 
The Jews afterwards obtained a 
lease of the site for a synagogue. 
The Catholics of the town, who 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



then numbered about forty, next i 
set up a chapel in a private house. 
In 1798, the Abbe Peter Francis 
Foucher, formerly vicar general of } 
Aix, came to Hull from Pocklington, 
and built the house and chapel, | 
opened July 26, 1799. Monseig- 
neur de Boisgelin, Archbishop of 
Aix, sang High Mass in the chapel , 
on September 22 following. The 
Abbe Foucher spent about 2,000 
of his own money on the mission, 
and on returning to France in 
1820 bequeathed a silver chalice, 
ciborium, and some fine vestments 
to the chapel. Miss Anne Heat- 
ley, who died 1803, was also a 
great benefactress to the mission. 
Seventy-two persons were con 
firmed here by Bishop Gibson, V.A., 
in 1808, and eighty-three by the 
same prelate, in October 1815. 
The old chapel having become in 
adequate was supplanted by the 
present handsome structure opened 
by Bishop Penswick in 1835. The 
handsome screen by Scholes is a 
copy of the one in the church of 
the Gesu at Korne. The title of 
the church was changed from that 
of St. Augustine to St. Charles 
Borromeo, 1850-1. The congre 
gation was then estimated at 6,500. 
The children attending school 240 ; 
Baptisms, 247 ; Marriages, 47 ; 
Converts, 41. 

Priests. 
Rev. Robert Johnson, 1780. 

Abbe P. F. Foucher, 1798. 
Became Canon and V.G. of 
Aix on returning to France, 
1820. 

John Smith, 1820. 

Joseph Render, 1830. 

Michael Trappes, 1848. 

Benjamin Canon Randerson, 
1874. 

William Canon Sullivan, 1887. 

Francis Canon Hall, V.G., 
1901 to date. 



HULL. St. Mary, Wilton Street. 

The growth of Catholicity in 
Hull made a second mission 
necessary shortly after 1850. In 
January 1857, schools were opened 
in Dansorn Lane and placed under 
the care of the Sisters of Mercy. 
A school chapel was inaugurated, 
March 7, 1858. The number of 
children attending school in 1859 
was about 600. The present 
church superseded the chapel 1890. 
In Aiigust of the following year, a 
chapel of St. Francis was opened 
over the vault of Sir Francis 
Turville, K.C.M.G., by his widow, 
Baroness Lisgar. 

Priests. 
Rev. Luke Burke, 1858. 

Joseph Geary, 1866. 

George Browne, 1871. 

Charles H. Wood, 1885. 

,, James Canon Griftin, 1889 to 
date. 



HULL, YORKS, EAST RIDING 

(Middlesbrough). 

St. Patrick s Church was built 
in Mill Street 1871. The present 
church in Spring Street was opened 
on Thursday, September 8, 1904. 
The style is Romanesque. The 
accommodation is for 500 persons. 
The Bishop of Middlesbrough pre 
sided at the throne on the occasion 
of the opening, the sermon being 
preached by the Very Rev. Placid 
Conway, O.P. (1 Kings ix. 3). 



HUNSLET, LEEDS. St. Joseph. 

Erected 1859-60. The num 
ber of Catholics then at Hunslet 
was over 1,000. The St. Joseph s 
Building Society was formed that 
year to further the erection of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



2 28 



church. The first stone was laid 
by the bishop of the diocese Novem 
ber 16, 1859. The style of the 
church is mixed Gothic ; to accom- j 
modate about 600 persons. The | 
site formed part of the Brandling 
estate, and the cost of the building 
was about 1,600. In 1884 the \ 
Catholic population of the district j 
was about 2,500. At the mission | 
given by the Jesuit Fathers in April 
1884 upwards of 1,000 confessions 
were heard, 221 persons brought 
back to the practice of their reli 
gious duties, and 500 Holy Com 
munions administered. 



HUNSTANTON, WEST NORFOLK 

(Northampton). SS. Mary and 
Edmund, K.M. 

The chapel of St. Edmund House, 
the convent of the Dominican nuns, 
who settled here in 1903, served as 
a place of worship for local Catholics 
for some time. In January 1904, 
Fr. E. Garnett, the chaplain, ob 
tained a site for the badly-needed 
church from Alderman Harnon Le 
Strange, the lord of the manor, 
who generously gave the land free 
of cost. In August 1904, a tempo 
rary building the sacristies of the 
future church was opened for wor 
ship by Bishop Eiddell, of North 
ampton. Mass was celebrated by 
Mgr. Scott, D.D., V.G. of Cam 
bridge, the sermon being preached 
by Fr. J. Freeland (Isaiah iv. 5). At 
the conclusion of the Mass, the 
Bishop confirmed the Hon. Otway 
Plunket, son of Lord Louth, and 
two little girls the Misses Harriet 
and Mary Cole. 



HUNTINGDON (Northampton). 
St. Hubert. 

The establishment of this mission 
in 1869 is due to some Irish horse- 



dealers, who, finding no Catholic 
church at Huntingdon, which town 
they were obliged to attend every 
year at fair time, clubbed together 
and built a temporary iron chapel. 
Soon after its erection, the chapel 
was almost destroyed by a violent 
gale, and as early as 1882 was in 
a deplorably leaky state. In 1901 
the present handsome church was 
erected by George Temple Layton, 
Esq., late of The Croft, Mitc ham, 
Surrey, at a cost of about J 5,000. 
Fr. Patrick Duffy has been rector 
of the mission since its establish 
ment. 



HUSBANDS BOSWORTH, LEI 
CESTERSHIRE (Nottingham). St. 
Mary. 

In 1763, the ancient Catholic 
family of Turville of Aston Flam- 
ville came into the property of 
Husbands Bosworth, on the decease 
of their cousin, Maria Fortescue. 
The chapel at Bosworth Hall served 
the mission for upwards of a cen 
tury. The present church was built 
in 1874 at the cost of Sir Francis 
Turville, K.C.M.G. The style is 
Gothic. In the chapel of St. Joseph, 
opening out of the north wall, re 
pose the remains of the founder, 
and also the relics of his ancestor, 
the blessed Sir Adrian Fortescue, a 
Knight of St. John of Jerusalem, 
who suffered for the Papal supre 
macy, July 10, 1539. The church 
was redecorated August and Sep 
tember 1900 in a style resembling 
that of St. Stephen s Chapel, West 
minster. 
Priests of the Mission since 1825. 

(1825, vacant.) 
R ev . _ Wilford, 1826. 

J. Koss, 1827. 

B. Bagnall, 1829. 

J. Jones, 1831. 



224 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. E. Whitehouse, 1849. 
Richard Raby, 1853. 
E. Whitehouse, 1854. 

In 1874 the mission was served 
from Market Harborough by 
the Rev. Richard Vandepitte. 
Fr. A. Ryan, 1879. 
Frcdk. Wehn, 1880. 
Win. Farmery, 1885. 
Jn. Salins, 1887. 
W. Otty, 1891. 
Jos. Fagan, 1893. 



HUTTON HOUSE, CASTLE EDEN, 
DURHAM (Hexham and New 
castle). SS. Peter and Paul. 

Fr. J. A. Slater, of Uskaw Col 
lege, started the mission here in 
1825. Before this time, the few 
local Catholics heard Mass at Hard- 
wick House, long the seat of the 
ancient family the Maires of Hut- 
ton. The property was sold in 1824. 1 
Fr. Slater built a Gothic chapel in 
1832, at which time the number of 
communicants amounted to eighty. 
The old chapel did duty till 1895, 
when it was supplemented by a 
handsome church. Schools were 
advertised as greatly needed in 
October 1901, and Fr. Jackson, 
C.SS.R., appealed for funds to build 
them Sunday, October 26, the 
same year. 



HUYTON, LANGS (Liverpool). St. 
Agnes. 

A small chapel was opened here 
in 1856. In 1860 upwards of 200 

1 Mr. Maire was a distinguished 
Catholic conveyancer about 1770, when 
all other branches of the legal profession 
were closed against Catholics. The 
famous Charles Butler of Lincoln s Inn 
studied under him. Near Hardwick 
House was a retired cave where Mass 
was often said during the penal times. 



was raised towards the expense of 
a new church. Major Molyneux- 
Secl gave the site in 1861. The 
church, which was commenced in 
May the same year, is in the French 
Gothic style, and cosi 2,50J. It 
was opened 1861. 

Priests. 
Rev. Canon Walmsley, 185G. 

P. Holmes, 1859. 

Hy. Lamoii, 1882. 

Jn. Smith, 1884. 

,, Canon Holden, 1885 to date. 



HYDE, CHESHIRE (Slirewsbury). 
St. Paul. 

The chapel was founded 1848, in 
a room over a blacksmith s forge. 
Six years afterwards the church was 
opened on a site presented by Robt. 
Ashton, Esq., a Unitarian (July 
1854). In April 1802, the church 
was completed, a belfry and peal 
of bells being added to the struc 
ture. The late M. Harnett, Esq., 
gave 1,000 towards the schools. 

Priests. 
Rev. Canon Jn. Reah, 1848. 

Jn. Hill, 1853. 

Hy. Hopkins, 1869. 

Patrick Tracy, 1879. 

Chas. Langdon, 1882. 

Thos. Ratcliffe, 1888. 

Jn. Thompson, 1889. 

Jas. Hcnnelly, 1896. 



HYTHE, KENT (SouthwarJf). 

As far back as 1860 Fr. Sheridan 
opened a mission here, assisted by 
the brothers Edmund and Arthur 
Robinson, to whom Catholicity at 
Dover is so much indebted. In 
March 1865 Fr. (now Mgr.) God- 
dard took up his residence at Hythe, 
where he laboured with much suc 
cess till 1867, when the first Army 
chaplain was appointed to the 
place. From this date till 1891 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



225 



the various chaplains made them 
selves responsible for the Catholic 
soldiers at the School of Musketry, 
the civilians being regarded as 
under the clergy of the neighbour 
ing mission of Folkestone. In 1891 
the Austin Friars settled in Hythe. 



Their church was solemnly opened 
and dedicated by Bishop Butt, 
August 6, 1894. The building, 
which was designed by A. E. Purdie, 
is large and not ungraceful, and 
is capable of accommodating at 
least 300 people. 



Q 



226 



ILFORD, ESSEX (Westminster). 
SS. Peter and Paul. 

The foundation stone of the 
church was laid by Cardinal 
Vaughan, May 14, 1898, and the 
building was opened in June 1899. 
Style, Perpendicular Gothic; ar 
chitect, Mr. Curtis Prior; seating 
capacity, about 560. Prior to the 
opening of the church, a temporary 
iron building was used. In 1895 
Fr. A. S. Barnes estimated the 
number of Catholics in the district 
at about six or eight. The same 
year, Fr. Bede, O.S.F., was sent to 
establish the mission, and he opened 
a chapel in a humble tenement 
in Ilford Lane. Fr. Palmer is the 
present rector. The church was 
completed, and opened by Arch 
bishop Bourne, May 81, 1906. A 
notable feature of the interior is 
the fine oak pulpit, presented by the 
congregation. The average school 
attendance is 278. 



ILFRACOMBE, DEVONSHIRE 

(Plymouth). Our Lady Star of 
the Sea. 

Fr. Walter Keily was the first 
to open the mission, 1874. There 
was no resident priest till 1876. 
The present church was com 
menced October 12, 1892, and 
opened January 18, 1893. A new 



chapel, added to the main building, 
was completed May 1895. 

Priests. 

Rev. Francis Higgins, 1876. 
Thos. Spencer, 1879. 
Walter Baggaley, 1888. 
H. Bromley, 1890. 
, G. Graham. 



ILKESTON, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). Our Lady and St. 
Thomas of Hereford. 

Mass was said occasionally here 
from 1857 till 1861, when the mis 
sion became a permanent one. The 
priest at this time was Fr. C. Tasker 
of Glossop. The chapel, however, 
was merely a room in an empty 
lace factory. Ilkeston is spoken of 
at the time the mission was started 
as a long-neglected place. The 
Catholics in 1861 numbered about 
600. Three years later the chapel 
was served from Derby by Fr. Ar. 
McKenna. 

Priests. 
Rev. Hugh O Neill, here in 1872. 

Thos. Revill, 1879. 

Patrick Conaty, 1885. 

Philip Canon McCarthy, 1888 
and to date. 



ILKLEY, YORKS, WEST RIDING 

(Leeds). The Sacred Heart of 
Jesus. 

For some time prior to August 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



227 



1878, Mass was said on Sundays at 
Myddelton Lodge, the seat of W. 
Middleton, Esq. In the above- 
named month and year a church 
and school were commenced on a 
site near the Wharfe, presented 
by Mr. Middleton. The style is 
purely Old English, with open 
roof. Adjoining is a cemetery. 
The accommodation of the church 
is for 220 ; of the school 120. 
Priests since 1892. 
Eev. Alf. Watson. 

Alf. Galli, 1896 to date. 



INGE BLUNDELL, LANGS (Liver 
pool). The Holy Family. 

The Faith was supported here 
throughout the dreary time of per 
secution by the protection of the 
Ince Blundell family, many of 
whose members figure in the re 
cusant rolls between 1683 and 
1679. In addition to being a focus 
of Catholicity, Ince Blundell Hall 
acquired, about the middle of the 
eighteenth century, a deserved repu 
tation for its fine collection of sculp 
tures and paintings, brought to 
gether by Henry Blundell, Esq. 
The estates passed to the Weld 
family in 1837. The present Gothic 
church was erected in 1858. 
Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Thos. Berry. 

P. Greenough, 1827. 

,. Jules Maurus, 1867 (?). 

Thos. Murphy, 1899. 

James Hughes, 1903 to date. 



INCE WIGAN, LANGS (Liverpool). 
St. William. 

A chapel attached to Ince New 
Hall was built 1760. The chaplain 
from 1786 to 1818 was Fr. Joseph 
Higginson. The present mission j 



was established in 1873. A tem 
porary iron church was opened by 
Bishop O Reilly, of Liverpool, in 
April 1881. Seating accommoda 
tion for about 620 ; cost of erection, 
1,500. The opening of the chapel 
was deferred from February to 
April on account of the colliers 
strike. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. Clarke, 1873. 

Michael Naughten, 1877. 

Jeremiah Dowling, 1879. 

John Hanly, 1885. 

Geo. Swarbrick, 1904 to date. 



INGATESTONE HALL, ESSEX 

(Westminster}. SS. Erconwald 
and Aedilburga. 

Ingatestone Hall came into the 
possession of the Petre family at 
the time of the suppression of the 
religious houses (1536-9). The 
domestic chapel was described in 
1857 as being a small building 
with a gallery over the entrance. 
It was redecorated in 1852. In 
1855 a priests hiding-place was 
discovered. Fr. A. Paige was 
chaplain at Ingatestone Hall prior 
to his execution for the Faith at 
Chelmsford in 1590. Fr. R. Man 
ning, D.D., wrote his famous Dis 
courses at Ingatestone when chap 
lain there early in the eighteenth 
century. Before the opening of 
missions at Southend, Shoebury, 
&c., these places were served by 
the priest at Ingatestone. The 
church of Ingatestone Hall, after 
being closed some months for the 
purpose of enlargement, was so 
lemnly reopened on Sunday, Octo 
ber 18, 1863. The alterations were 
all skilfully carried out by D. C. 
Nicholls, Esq., of London. 

N.B. The body of the unfor 
tunate Earl of Derwentwater rested 



228 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



for one night at Ingatestonc Hall 
after his execution on February 24, 
1716, for participation in the Jaco 
bite rebellion of the preceding year. 
The Earl s remains were interred 
at his ancestral home, Dilston, in 
Northumberland, but in 1874 were 
removed to Thorndon Hall (q.v.). 



IPSWICH (Northampton). St. 
Pancras. 

In 1793 the Abbe Louis Pierre 
Simon, an emigre, came to Ipswich, 
where he hired a house and turned 
one of the rooms into a chapel. 
For a time this small place of wor 
ship sufficed for the few Catholics 
of the town. By 1820, the congre 
gation had so increased that he 
found it necessary to build a chapel 
for 150 persons. This structure 
formed the transepts of a still 
larger church consecrated by Bishop 
Walsh, V.A.M.D., October 10, 1838. 
The style was Perpendicular Gothic ; 
accommodation for about 600. The 
building stood on the site of the 
Black Friars monastery, plundered 
in the reign of Edward VI. A 
school for children was opened 
about the same time. In conse 
quence of the growth of Catholicity 
in and around Ipswich, a still larger 
church became necessary, and the 
present building w T as opened by 
Bishop Amherst, of Northampton, 
June 12, 1861. The building, which 
was designed by Hadfield & 
Goldie, after the Geometric style, 
will accommodate about 1,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. Louis Simon, 1793. 

Ignatius Collingridge, 1840. 

James O Neill, 1842. 

M. Lane, 1849. 

W. Marshall, 1851. 

J. C. Kemp, 1855. 



Rev. Joseph Faa di Bruno, here 
1871. 

,, Aemilianus Kirner, 1874. 
,, Joseph Bannin, 1879. 
Wm. Canon Blackman, 1882. 
Patrick Canon Rogers, 1885 
to date. 



IRLAM, MANCHESTER, LANCS 

(Salford). St. Theresa, Liverpool 
Road. 

This became a separate mission 
in 1900. The new schools, which 
were built 1901-2, will accommo 
date about 100 children. The old 
school chapel has been fitted up as 
a church, and is under the spiritual 
direction of Fr. A. Van der Beck. 



ISLEWORTH, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster). The Immaculate Con 
ception and St. Bridget. 

The noble family of Shrewsburj 7 , 
premier Earls of England, long 
owned a residence here on the site 
of the present mission in Shrewsbury 
Place. Being staunch Catholics, 
they had a chapel in the mansion, 
which was attended by the few 
local adherents of the ancient Faith. 
The baptismal register dates from 
1675. The house was a residence 
of the family as late as 1761, but 
was probably sold soon after. A 
portion of the premises was reserved 
for a chapel and priest s house. 
This old chapel (40 ft. by 16 ft.) 
was badly constructed and scantily 
supplied. The present building was 
erected at the expense of the late 
Mgr. Weld. It consists of a nave 
and galleries, the style being Roman 
esque and the accommodation for 
about 200. The old chapel forms 
the sacristy. Schools were built 
about the same time by the same 
reverend benefactor. The Catholic 
population of the district is about 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



229 



500. In March 1841, the nuns of 
the Faithful Companions of Jesus 
Congregation opened a high-class 
convent school at Gumley House, 
Isle worth, a fine old mansion, for 
merly the residence of General 
Gumley. The convent has since 
been in great repute as an educa 
tional establishment. 

N.B. Mgr. \Veld, who did so 
much for the mission, was a near 
kinsman and former secretary of 
Cardinal Weld (died 1837). The 
Monsignor was a man of saintly 
life, and the well-known author of 
the treatise on The Love of God. 

Priests since 1790. 
Bev. Geo. Bruning, 1790 (?), d. 
1902. 

Anthony Wareing, 1810 (died 
1855). 

S. Faenza, 1855. 

Mgr. Francis Weld, 1855. 

Thos. Francis Gorman, 1897 
to date. 



ISLINGTON, LONDON, N. (West 
minster). St. John the Evan 
gelist. 

The church, a Norman structure, 
designed by Scoles, was opened i 



June 26, 1843, by Bishop Wise 
man. Upwards of 2,000 persons 
were present, including the Earl of 
Arundel and the Hon. E. Petre, 
Hon. E. Jerningham, the Ladies 
Camoys, Lovat, &c., &c. Bishop 
Wiseman preached a powerful 
sermon on the progress of Catho 
licity in England since the penal 
times. Canon Oakeley, M.A., was 
appointed priest of the mission in 
1850. The church was consecrated 
in June 1873. The apse was 
adorned by Mr. Armitage, R.A., 
with frescoes representing Our 
Lord and the Apostles a design 
characterised by the Atheruteum 
as a work of great merit. The 
church, which had become some 
what dilapidated, was thoroughly 
restored and beautified in the 
autumn of 1884. New stations of 
the Cross were erected, and a hand 
some screen under the choir gallery 
set up. In August 1887, Mr. 
Armitage s great picture, The In 
stitution of the Franciscan Order, 
replaced a fresco of the same sub 
ject set up in 1859. Canon Oake 
ley died January 29, 1880, and was 
succeeded by Canon Leopold Pycke, 
the present incumbent. 



230 



JARROW-ON-TYNE, DTJKHAM 

(Hexham and Neivcastle). St. 
Bede s. 

The stone was laid, November 
1860, by the Bishop of Hexham. 
The building of this fine church 
was largely due to Fr. Kelly, who 
collected much of the money 
required. The church was opened 
early in 1862. In 1883 the Catho 
lics of Jarrow had increased to 
6,000. To meet the growth of the 



congregation the church was en 
larged to double its original size. 
A new high altar and exquisitely 
carved reredos were erected in the 
church in April 1885. The reredos 
is said to contain no fewer than 
2,000 pieces of stone, each symboli 
cally carved. 

Priests. 
Eev. Geo. Meynell, 1862. 

,, Martin Hayes, 1885 and to 
date. 



231 



K 



KEIGHLEY, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Anne. 

The mission was established 
1835, and the church described 
at the time as by far the hand 
somest building in Yorkshire 
was opened by Bishop Briggs, V.A., 
November 21, 1840. Some stained- 
glass windows were presented to 
the church in 1841. 

Priests. 

Rev. Win. Hampson, 1835. 
Robt. Gibson, 1836. 
T. Walsh, 1844. 
James Cullimore, 1854. 
Timothy O Connell, 1860. 
Patrick Kiernan, here 1871. 
Herbert Duke, 1881. 
Edw. Canon Watson, 1888 to 
date. 



KELVEDON, ESSEX (Westmin 
ster). St. Mary Immaculate and 
the Holy Angels. 

The present mission was esta 
blished in 1875, mainly owing to the 
munificence of the late R. Rann, 
Esq., J.P. formerly an Anglican 
clergyman who built the church. 
The building was consecrated 
October 24, 1891. A series of fine 
stained-glass windows which light 
the church commemorate the 
deceased relatives of the donor. 
Prior to the opening of the mission, 
the domestic chapel of the Wright 



family of Kelvedon Hall was 
attended by local Catholics. Fr. 
John Mannock, O.S.B., the well- 
known author of The Poor Man s 
Catechism, was chaplain here from 
1759 till his death, November 30, 
1764, aged eighty-three. One of 
his predecessors was Fr. Sebastian 
Redford, S.J. (1756-8), author of 
An Important Enquiry. 



XEMERTON, GLOUCESTERSHIRE 

(Clifton). St. Bennet. 

This mission can claim descent 
from the ancient one at Beckford, 
where the Lee family maintained 
a chapel. Fr. Isaac Gibson, S.J., 
died here in November 1738. The 
Hon. and Rev. R. Dormer was 
also here for a time. Other priests 
were Fr. Placid Bennett, O.S.B. 
(1783), Abbe Louvelle (1795?), 
Thos. Kenyon, J. Harrison ( ), 
and Win. Jolly (1825). After the 
opening of the church at Kemerton, 
July 19, 1843, the Catholics of 
Beckford became absorbed in the 
new congregation. The erection is 
due to the pious munificence of the 
Eystons, Tidmarshes, and Throck- 
mortons. Fr. Samuel Day was 
the first rector, being followed in 
1848 by Fr. Peter Ridgeway, who 
was here till 1896, when Fr. Alph. 
Thomas, O.S.B., the present rector, 
was appointed, 



232 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



KENDAL, WESTMORLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). Holy 
Trinity and St. George. 

The mission was established 
about 1724 through the efforts of 
the Eoydon family (see DODDING 
GREEN). The register dates from 
1762. In 1800 Fr. Thos. Wilkin 
son founded schools in Stramon- 
gate. These were rebuilt by Dean 
Gibson to accommodate 500 
scholars, and are said to be among 
the finest of their kind in the North 
of England. 

Priests since 1800. 
Rev. T. Wilkinson (assisted by 
various curates after 1840 ; 
died 1857). 

James Gibson, 1857. 

,, Wm. Stevenson, 1895 to date. 



KENILWORTH, WARWICKSHIRE 
(Birmingham}. St. Augustine. 

This church, which is one of 
Pugin s earliest attempts at Gothic 
revival, was commenced in 1841, 
but not completed till the summer 
of 1852. It was built at the 
expense of the Amherst family, 
then resident at Fieldgate House. 
The last member of this family 
was Fr. W. J. Amherst, S.J., 
author of the History of Catholic 
Emancipation, who died in April 
1904. He was brother of Bishop 
Amherst, of Northampton (1858- 
79). The building was restored 
during the summer of 1904, and 
consecrated by Bishop Ilsley, of 
Birmingham, on September 1 of 
the same year. The handsome 
brass sconces for the candles used 
in the consecration were presented 
by Major Berkeley and family, of 
Fieldgate House. 



KENSAL GREEN, LONDON, N.W. 

(Westminster). 

Thirty acres of land, adjoining 
the celebrated protestant burial 
ground, were consecrated as a 
Catholic cemetery in June 1858 
by Bishop Morris, of Troy, assisted 
by the Hon. and Kev. E. Stonor, 
now Archbishop of Trebizond, 
Canon O Neal, &c. The mission 
appears to have been started in 
the district about 1860, the first 
priest being the Kev. John Moore. 
His successor in 1863 was the Rev. 
Richard Bennett. When the Church 
of Our Lady of the Holy Souls was 
opened in 1872, the mission had 
for some time been under the care 
of the Oblates of St. Charles. Owing 
to the construction of the Great 
Central Railway, 1893-6, large 
numbers of poor people were com 
pelled to leave Marylebone and 
contiguous districts and settle in 
Kensal Green, where it soon became 
necessary to build new Catholic 
schools, at a cost of nearly 4,000. 
The buildings were opened Tues 
day, November 28, 1899, by Cardi 
nal Vaughan, who paid a warm 
tribute to the Rev. Frs. Wyndham 
and Green for their great courage 
in surmounting the local educa 
tional difficulty. The schools ac 
commodate about 900 children. 
At the time of the opening of the 
schools, the Catholic population was 
estimated at 5,000. 



KENSAL NEW TOWN, LONDON, 

N.W. (Westminster). Our Lady of 
the Holy Souls. 

The church was opened April 13, 
1882, amidst a poor and thickly 
populated district. A new reredos 
was added to the sanctuary March 
1889. The altar-piece is a copy of 
the famous triptych by Stephen 
Loethener in Cologne Cathedral. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



233 



New schools were opened 1892. 
The mission was commenced by 
the opening of a school chapel in 
November 1872. 

Priests. 
Bev. Henry Karslake, 1872. 

Francis Kirk, 1877. 

Septimus Andrews, 1879. 

Joseph Greene, 1882 to date. 



KENSINGTON, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). Our Lady of Vic 
tories. 

Mr. More, a Catholic gentleman 
who resided in Kensington Gore, 
by London, about 1730, presumably 
had a chapel in his house, as a Mr. 
Burgis is given as resident chap 
lain at this time. This priest was 
probably a Jesuit. About 1794 
some exiled French Jesuits opened 
a school at Kensington House, and 
the few Catholics of the district 
were enabled to hear Mass in the 
adjoining chapel. Richard Lalor 
Sheil, the great barrister and Parlia 
mentary orator, was one of their 
pupils before proceeding to Stony- 
hurst. The school was closed about 
1806, but the chapel was continued 
owing to the liberality of Eichard 
Gillow, Esq., and Mr. Kendall, the 
latter giving 100 towards the mis 
sion and many requisites for the 
altar. Mr. Gillow and some friends 
contributed 500, with which sum 
a site was purchased and a chapel 
erected in Holland Street. Ele 
mentary schools were established 
about 1830, and the chapel enlarged 
by a sanctuary a little later. The 
structure, with a few subsequent 
improvements, served till the 
opening of the present handsome I 
Decorated Gothic church by Arch 
bishop Manning, 1869. The build 
ing consists of a nave, sanctuary, 



and two aisles, the interior being 
lighted by a clerestory and east 
windows. For over thirty years 
the church played the honourable 
role of pro-cathedral. The build 
ing was consecrated by Cardinal 
Vaughan, May 1, 1901. A new 
boys school, to accommodate 
ninety pupils, was opened in 
Warwick Road by Archbishop 
Bourne, April 21, 1906. Mr. Goldie 
was the architect ; cost about 
4,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. Gilles Vielle, 1806. 

Dominic Le Houx, 1828. 

Wm. Bugden, 1840. 

Charles Woolett, 1851. 

James Foley, 1860. 

Mgr. J. Rouse, D.D., 1879. 

Mgr. C. Harrington Moore, 

1885. 

Michael Canon Fanning, 1889 
to date. 



KENSINGTON, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). Oar Lady of Mount 
Carmel and St. Simon Stock. 

The Order of Mount Carmel 
(White Friars) was introduced into 
England by St. Simon Stock (1240). 
After the Reformation many of the 
fathers laboured on the English 
mission. In 1861, Fr. Herman 
Cohen, who had been converted 
from Judaism at Rome, opened a 
house of the Order in Kensington 
Square. It was afterwards removed 
to Vicarage Place. Here an old 
schoolroom was turned into an 
oratory, and opened October 15, 
1861. Mgr. Manning preached on 
the glories of the Carmelite Order. 
The relics of St. Simon Stock were 
solemnly deposited in a shrine 
beneath the high altar by Cardinal 
Wiseman May 16, 1864, The pre- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



sent church, by E. Pugin, was huilt 
1866. 



KENTISH TOWN, LONDON, N. 

(Westminster). Our Lady Help of 
Christians. 

A chapel was opened in Kentish 
Town by Fr. Harding Ivors in 
November 1846. The Count de 
Montemolin subscribed 20 towards 
the expenses of the new mission. 
In July 1847, a learned Jewish 
gentleman lectured in the chapel 
on the corruptions and interpola 
tions of the authorised version of 
the Scriptures, and advised the 
many protestants present to use 
the Douai Bible. Great sensation 
was caused by this incident, and 
the report was, of course, circulated 
that the Rabbi was a Jesuit in 
disguise ! About this time Fr. 
Ignatius Grant, of the Passionist 
Order, gave 100 towards the fund 
that had been started for a new 
church. Soon the little chapel in 
Fitzroy Terrace, which only accom 
modated 150 persons, had to be ex 
changed for a larger building in 
Gospel Terrace, where Fr. Ivers 
had the assistance of Fr. Faa di 
Bruno, author of Catholic Belief. 
In 1856 Fr. Robt. Swift was the 
priest at Kentish Town. Two years 
later (August 1858), the stone of the 
church was blessed and laid by 
Cardinal Wiseman. The opening 
took place in August 1859. In the 
autumn of 1876 the church was 
quite transformed by several im 
provements, amongst which may 
be noted the high altar of stone and 
alabaster and a carved reredos. 

N.B.-Fr. William Prichard, a 
Lisbonian, died at Kentish Town 
October 22, 1734, whence it may be 
inferred that even at this date there 
were some Catholics in the district, 



KESWICK, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). 

In the summer of 1861 a room 
was fitted up as a chapel and Mass 
said by any priest who happened 
to be staying there. At that time 
there were fifty very poor Catho 
lics in Keswick, and no mission 
nearer than Cockerrnouth, about 
thirteen miles off. No further men 
tion is made of the place in the 
* Catholic Directory after this till 
about 1903, when the mission is 
described as served from Cocker- 
mouth. 



KETTERING, NORTHAMPTON 

(Northampton}. St. Edward. 

A new mission was started here 
i in October 1891, when the tem 
porary chapel was served by Fr. 
, H. Stanley, of the Bishops House, 
j Northampton. A site for church 
and presbytery was secured about 
this time. The chapel was at first in 
a shoe factory in Church Walk, 
near the parish church. In Novem 
ber 1891 Fr. Stanley went to live 
permanently at Kettering, his resi 
dence being 13 The Grove, Ketter 
ing. The new church was opened 
in January 1893. It is a large and 
commanding structure, fitted up 
in most excellent fashion. The cost 
of erection was about 1,300. In 
the parish of Kettering stands 
Rushton Hall, an old Elizabethan 
mansion, formerly the residence of 
the Treshams. It contains many 
priests hiding-places, and in one 
of these some interesting family 
documents and rare controversial 
tracts among them The Spiritual 
Conflict, by Hierome Count of 
Portia were accidentally dis 
covered in 1828. The house is now 
leased by Mr. James Van Allen, an 
American gentleman. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



235 



KEW, SURREY (Southward). 

The Rev. M. Cummins, of the 
Marist Congregation, was appointed 
to this newly formed mission in 
1898. The chapel is a temporary 
one at the clergy house, 14 Kew 
Gardens Road. The congregation at 
the time the mission was started 
was described as a small and 
scattered flock, and the character 
of the neighbourhood as indif 
ferent. 



KIDDERMINSTER, WORCESTER 
SHIRE (Birmingham). St. Am 
brose. 

In 1831, Bishop Walsh, V.A., sent 
Fr. C. J. O Connor to found the 
mission. Fr. O Connor brought 
the congregation up to 100. Mass 
was said in a hired Methodist 
chapel, the first being offered up 
on Trinity Sunday 1831. John 
Jeffreys, Esq., a Unitarian gentle 
man, was a great benefactor to the 
mission, as were also James Mack- 
rell, Esq., of Harvington, and Sir 
Edward Blount, Bart. A chapel 
was built, and opened November 15, 
1834, when the Mass was sung by 
the Hon. and Rev. G. Spencer. 
Fr. O Sullivan, of Wolverhampton, 
preached on the authority of the 
Church. Seating capacity of the 
building for 300. Much interest 
was evoked in the neighbourhood, 
and several protestant clergymen 
attended the inaugural Mass. The 
chapel of 1834 was replaced in 1858 
by a church in the Geometrical 
style. Messrs. Meredith and Prit- 
chard designed the spire, which 
was finished December 11, 1901. 
The opening ceremony was attended 
by the mayor and corporation of 
Kidderminster, 



KIDSGROVE, STAFFS (Birm 
ingham). St. John the Evangelist. 

The mission was established 
1892. 

Priests. 
Rev. Thomas Kenny, 1892. 

,, Raymond Haskew, 1901. 

,, Francis J. Swift, 1903 to date. 



KILBURN, LONDON, N.W. (West 
minster). The Sacred Heart of 
Jesus. 

In 1800 Kilburn was in the 
country, and famous for its hot 
springs. Half a century later, it 
was part of London. In 1864, 
Cardinal Wiseman asked the Ob- 
lates of Mary Immaculate to take 
spiritual charge of the district. 
From that date till 1868 Mass was 
said on Sundays and festivals in a 
house in Greville Place. In the last- 
named year the priory was opened 
in Quex Road, and the library 
served for a chapel. The fine 
church, in the Early Decorated style, 
was opened by Cardinal Manning, 
May 8, 1879. The accommodation 
is for about 500. Messrs. Pugin 
were the architects. 



KILVINGTON, THIRSK, YORKS 

(Middlesbrough). St. Anne. 

Kilvington Hall has been for 
generations the seat of the Meynell 
family, great sufferers in times past 
for the Faith. This mission has 
existed from about the end of the 
sixteenth century. Colonel Thos. 
Meynell commanded a regiment of 
horse for Charles I., and was slain 
in an encounter with the Parlia 
mentarians near Pontefract Castle, 
1644. Several other members of 
the family have been priests of the 



236 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Society of Jesus. The registers 
date from 1775. 

Priests of the Mission. 
Kev. Geo. Grange, or Carnaby, 

O.S.B., about 1633-73. 
Thos. Helme, O.S.B., 1704. 
Wm. Davis, O.S.B., 1728. 
Robt. Stanfield, S.J., 1731. 
Joseph Wright, S.J., 1741. 
Francis Digges, S.J., 1743. 
Jn. Rigmayden, alias Roth- 

well, S.J., 1749. 
Jn. Jones, 1782. 
Robt. Tindall, 1788. 

(Seculars served mission 

1811-18.) 
Thos. Austin Lawson,O.S.B., 

1818. 

Edw. Metcalfe, 1822. 
Joseph Orrell, 1824. 
James Blundell, 1827. 
Richard Brown, 1834. 
Chas. Brigham, 1834. 
Edw. Canon Crane, 1835. 
,, Jas. Canon Sherwood, 1859. 
Henry Walker, 1862. 

Thos. Rigby, 1863. 
Michael Fryer, 1864. 
Luke Burke, 1869. 
Gerald Shanahan, 1876. 
Alfred Galli, 1877. 
Jas. Atkinson, 1878. 

Maurice Trant, 1879. 
Edmund Kennedy, 1882. 

Richard Howley, D.D., 1883. 
Charles Donovan, 1884. 
Thos. Canon Holland, 1885. 
Lawrence McGonnell, 1888. 

Chas. Donovan, 1890. 
,, J. Dewe, 1898. 



KINGSBRIDGE, DEVON (Ply 
mouth). 

Woods Farm House, three 
miles from Kingsbridge, was taken 
by the Trappist Fathers expelled j 



from France, December 1901. They 
came from Mount Melleraye, and 
are the same Order that occupied 
the monastery of St. Susanna, Lul- 
worth, 1800-15. 



KINGSHEATH, BIRMINGHAM 

(Birmingham). St. Dunstan. 

The church was opened 1896. 
Fr. Michael Dolan, first and present 
rector. 



KINGSLAND, LONDON, N. (West 
minster). Our Lady and St. 
Joseph. 

4 The mission was begun in 
October 1854 by the Fathers of 
Charity. Mass was first said in 
the house of Thomas Kelly, Esq., 
resident in the Tottenham Road. 
The church, a spacious brick 
edifice, was originally intended for 
a factory, but was altered into a 
place of worship by the skill of 
Wardell, the eminent architect. 
The building was opened Septem 
ber 29, 1856, by Cardinal Wiseman. 
The chancel is conspicuous by a 
splendid reredos displaying pic 
tures, by Barff, of Our Lord, St. 
Augustine of Hippo, and St. 
Thomas Aquinas. The golden 
jubilee of the mission was cele 
brated Sunday, October 16, 1904, 
when an impressive sermon was 
preached by Archbishop Bourne, 
of Westminster. At the first Mass 
offered up in the parish, about 
fifteen persons are recorded to 
have been present. During the 
fifty years of the church s exis 
tence, upwards of 3,750 persons had 
received holy baptism from its 
several pastors. The well- 

known Father Lockheart, of the 
Institute of Charity, was for up 
wards of twenty years rector of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



237 



mission. Daring the ten years 
that Mgr. Hewlett, D.D., held the 
incumbency (1895-1905) the mis 
sion debt was reduced from 3,800 
to 1,800, apart from an expendi 
ture of 2,000 on various repairs 
and improvements. Fr. Thos. 
Walsh in the present rector. 



KING S LYNN, NORFOLK (North- 
Hampton). 

The church was erected in 1845 
by Fr. John Dalton. The nave, 
built at a cost of 650, was the 
first part of the church opened. 
Fr. George Rigby, afterwards 
Canon of Northampton, succeeded 
Fr. Dalton in 1847. Strangely 
enough, when Canon Rigby died, 
Fr. Dalton, now a canon, took his 
place. Fr. G. Wrigglesworth about 
1887 thoroughly restored the altar. 
Some candelabra and sanctuary 
lamps were presented to the church 
at this time by Mr. Blake. The 
old building being declared unsafe, 
a new church was commenced in 
October 1896, and opened in 1897. 
The style is Decorated Gothic. 
Some of the candlesticks used in 
the church are old pre- Reformation 
ones from the priory of Walsing- 
ham, in the neighbourhood. 



KINGSTON-ON-THAMES, SURREY 

(S out hivarli). St. Agatha. 

The church was opened Thurs 
day, December 21, 1899, by Bishop 
Bourne, of Southwark. The build 
ing, which was erected at the cost 
of Mrs. Currie, of Kingston Hill, is 
in the Roman style of about the 
fifth century. The edifice com 
prises a sanctuary, terminating in a 
semicircular apse, nave, two aisles, 



and two side chapels. The interior 
is lighted during the day by twelve 
clerestory windows and at night by 
electricity. In addition to defray 
ing the building expenses (6,000) 
Mrs. Currie generously presented 
the church with an organ. Fr. 
Caspar Lutz, who has been at 
Kingston since 1894, has erected 
the presbytery and schools adjoin 
ing. 



KINGSWOOD, BRISTOL (Clifton). 
St. Joseph. 

The Redemptorist monastery 
was founded 1901, Fr. George 
Nicholson, C.SS.R., being first 
superior. The late Fr. P. Lasseter 
succeeded him in 1904. 



KIRKDALE, LIVERPOOL. St. 

John. 

In 1870, a Nonconformist chapel 
in Claremont Grove (now Foun 
tains Road) was purchased, and 
early in 1871 opened for Catholic 
worship. In 1883 the old chapel 
was far too small for the congrega 
tion. By multiplying Masses, 
1,200 persons could attend to their 
duties on Sundays. The new 
Gothic church was opened Sunday, 
November 21, 1885. The seating 
accommodation is for 800; total 
cost about 6,700. In 1875 the 
congregation numbered 2,700. In 
1882 it had increased to 7,500. In 
1885, when another mission had 
taken away 2,000, the congregation 
numbered 6,700. Fr. P. Power 
was priest at the time of opening, 
New and handsome stations of the 
Cross by Ball, of Dublin, were 
erected in the church in January 
1887. Messrs. J. and B. Sinnolt 
were the architects of the church. 



238 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



KIRTLING TOWER, CAMBRIDGE 
SHIRE (Northampton). Mary 
Immaculate and St. Philip. 

The mission was started in 1871, 
Mass being said in an iron chapel 
on the estate of the Hon. W. 
North. The present church was 
opened April 17, 1877, on nearly 
the same site. C. Buckler was the 
architect. For many years the 
mission was served from New 
market, but in 1896 Fr. F. Donovan 
was appointed resident priest. He 
commenced his pastorate by a 
series of lectures on Catholic faith 
and practice, which were very well 
attended. 



KNARESBORO , YORKS (Let 
St. Mary. 

The mission is a continuation of 
that at Follifoot, where the Plump- 
ton family possessed considerable 
property. They became extinct in 
the male line 1755. The district 
was then, as it is now, served by 
Benedictines. The mission register 
dates from 1765, but no priest s sig 
nature appears till January 4, 1797. 
Knaresboro Chapel, in Briggate, 
was built in 1790 by Mr. Thornton, 
a cotton manufacturer, who became 
bankrupt owing to losses during the 
French war. About sixty persons 
were confirmed here by Bishop 
Gibson, V.A., November 9, 1808. 
Fr. Denis Allerton, O.S.B., was 
priest at this time. He probably 
succeeded Fr. T. Appleton. 



Priests from 1824. 
Eev. J. Barber, 1824. 
J. Prest, 1826. 
Eobt. Bretherton, 1828. 
Ealph Pratt, 1830. 
Wm. Hampson, 1839 or 1840. 
Geo. Gillett, 1857. 
Edw. Lynass, O.S.B., 1874. 
Charles G. Smith, O.S.B., 

1885. 

Essington Koss, O.S.B., 1890. 
Charles Smith, O.S.B., 1892 

Alf. Wilson, O.S.B., 1896 and 
to date. 

KNUTSFORD, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). St. Vincent of 
Paul, Queen Street. 

Until the starting of this mis 
sion, in October 1862, the nearest 
Catholic chapel was at Altrincham. 
In 1862 the Catholic population of 
Knutsford amounted to about 400. 
The church was opened by Fr. 
Alcock, of Altrincham, on Sunday, 
September 16, 1866. The build 
ing was used as a school on week 
days. In 1860-1 Mass was said at 
various places, first at Caldwell s 
Farm, Over Tabley, then in a 
room of a public-house in the 
Manchester Road, Knutsford, and 
lastly in the hired room in King 
Street. 

Priests. 
Rev. Hugh Lynch, 1861. 

(1865-7 served from Altrin 
cham.) 

Daniel Casey, 1867. 

Patrick O Reilly, 1876. 

Robert Maurice, 1879. 

John St. Roche, 1903. 



239 



LANCASTER (Liverpool). St. 
Peter. 

In the reign of Elizabeth the 
country round Lancaster is de 
scribed as being full of Seminary 
priests and gentlemen recusants 
who harbour them. The Ven. 
Thos. Woodcock, O.S.F., suffered 
for the Faith at Liverpool August 7, 
1646. His head was kept at St. 
Bonaventure s, Douai, prior to the 
Revolution, and an arm-bone of the 
martyr is now preserved by the 
Franciscan nuns at Taunton. In 
1710 the V.G. of the Lancashire 
clergy resided in the town. About 
1753, Fr. Nicholas Skelton, who 
had assisted the Catholics of the 
place for over forty years, erected a 
retired chapel at the back of his 
house. This worthy priest died 
1775, full of years. He was for 
a long time befriended and pro 
tected by the Duchess of Hamilton. 
When Bishop Gibson came to con 
firm in 1790, it was not thought 
prudent to have the rite adminis 
tered in the town, and the candi 
dates had to go to the chapel of 
the Daltons, two miles away ! In 
1799 a large chapel was erected by 
subscription in Dalton Square. 
Richard Gillow, Esq., founder of 
the Margate mission, was a 
generous contributor to the fund. 
The present Gothic church was 
commenced 1857, and consecrated 
by Bishop GQSS, of Liverpool, 



October 4, 1859. A splendid high 
altar was presented by Mrs. Gabriel 
Coulston, and a Lady Chapel by Miss 
Elizabeth Dalton, the last of that 
ancient family. The north tran 
sept is lighted by a beautiful stained- 
glass window representing the 
English martyrs. New sacristies 
were erected 1887, the church 
redecorated 1895, and the presby 
tery enlarged 1896. 

Priests. 

Rev. Thos. Hays, 1678 (?). 
Peter Gooden, 1692. 
Edw. Hawarden, 1694. ( A 
glorious preacher. He re 
futed the Unitarian Dr. 
Clarke in the presence of 
Queen Caroline, consort of 
George II., and received the 
public thanks of the Uni 
versity of Oxford for the 
same. ) 

Nicholas Skelton, 1714. 
,, James Tyrer, 1766. 
,, Jn. Rigby, D.D. (Sorbonne), 

1784. 
Geo. Brown, 1818 (Bishop of 

Liverpool 1850). 
Richard Brown, 1840. 
Wm. Canon Walker, 1869. 
Richard Billington, 1893. 



LANCASTER. 
SKERTON. 



St. Joseph s, see 



240 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



LANCHESTER, DURHAM (Hex- 
liarn and Newcastle). All Saints. 

The mission was founded 1748 
at Pontop Hall. The register of 
deaths was in existence November 
1778. Some names entered are as 
follows : Margarita Punshon, obiit 
18 January, 1780 ; Joa. Winship, 
obiit die 19 January, 1781 ; Ric. 
Carrick, obiit 20 April, 1781. Fr. 
John Lingard, the historian, was 
here for a time, 1796; Fr. John Jones 
about 1797 ; Fr. Thomas Eyre about 
1803. Fr. John Bell came April 1, 
1803. No mention is made of the 
mission from 1824 till 1901. In 
the autumn of 1899 Fr. Samuel 
Harris commenced appealing for a 
church in this district, which con 
tained many Catholics. The church 
was commenced in the spring of 
1900, and opened 1901. Cost of 
erection about 1,500. 



LANGLEY MOOR, DURHAM. 

(HexJiam and Newcastle). St. 
Patrick. 

Mission established 187G, and 
chapel erected the same year. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Hanley, 1876. 

Richard Hannan, 1882. 

, James Thorman, 1899 to date. 



LANGPORT, SOMERSETSHIRE 

(Clifton). 

In 1904 the Soeurs de St. Gildas 
acquired Hill House for a convent. 
The chapel is open to the public, 
Fr. E. Trebeden, chaplain. 



LANHERNE, CORNWALL (Ply. 
mouth). SS. Joseph and Anne. 

The manor of Lanherne came 
into the possession of the Lords 
Arundell of Wardour about 1690, 
but the family did not often reside 
in this remote place. In August 
1794, Henry eighth Lord Arundell 
gave the manor house to the 
Carmelite nuns fleeing from the 
French Revolution. In gratitude 
for the hospitality afforded them by 
England the nuns have since 
daily recited the prayer for the 
Sovereign, Domine salvumfac, &c., 
in their office. Though strictly 
enclosed by their rule, the nuns 
threw open their chapel to the few 
neighbouring Catholics, mostly ten 
ants of Lord Arundell, and so nume 
rous did the congregation become, 
that in 1797 the drawing-room of 
the mansion had to be fitted up as 
an oratory. A church has long since 
taken the place of the domestic 
chapel. In virtue of the gift of 
Lord Arundell, the nuns obtained 
certain rights over a chapel in the 
parish church, and here several of 
the community were interred among 
the deceased members of their noble 
patron s family, until a private 
cemetery was opened in the convent 
grounds. A splendid high altar, 
designed by Canon Scoles, was 
consecrated in the convent church 
August 1893. 

Priests at Lanherne (list in- 

complete). 

Rev. Boniface Hall, 1756. 
Thos. Lodge, 1758. 
Lorymer, 1762. 

Wilfrid Strutt, 1770. 

Placid Bennet, 1780. 

Abbe Riout, 1794. 

John de la Fosse, 1802 till 
1817. 

Charles Lengronne, 1806. 

Maurice Connor, 1823. 

Louis Dourlens, 1827. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



211 



Ecv. Wrn. Cooke, 1839. 
Mgr. Weld, 1844. 
Joseph Prost, 1849. 
M. Oleron, 1850. 
Patrick Walsh, 1852. 
Joseph Bunn, 1860. 
E. W. Meager, here 1872. 
David Coleman, 1877. 
John Kennedy, 1879. 
Wm. Dawson, 1882. 
John Corbishley, 1891 to date. 



LARTINGTON, near BARNARD 
CASTLE, YORKS (Middlesbrough). 

Lartington Hall is the seat of 
the ancient Catholic family of 
Maire. A mission has existed 
here since 1700. After the opening 
of the Barnard Castle chapel, in 
the vicinity, by Bishop Eiddell, 
V.A., in March 1847, Lartington 
ceased to serve the Durham dis 
trict. The Catholic cemetery of 
Lartingfcon was provided by Fr. T. 
Wifcham, and in January 1882 a 
mortuary chapel was erected 
contiguous to it by the same family. 
There are memorial tablets on the 
walls to Bishop George Witham, 
V.A. (f April 16, 1725), Bishop 
\Villiarn Maire (t July 25, 1725), 
Sir H. Lawson, Bart., of Brough 
(1750-1834), &c. 



LATCHFORD, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). Our Lady of the Assump 
tion. 

Until 1866 the nearest chapel 
was at Warrington. On Sunday, 
October 2, 1869, Mass was said for 
the first time in a building known 
as the Old Factory. In Septem 
ber 1871, a school chapel was 
opened. In 1901 a new church 



was commenced, and opened in 
1902. The presbytery was built in 
1898. 

Eev. H. Alcock, 1866. 

T. Mulvanny, 1870. 
W. Dallow, 1831. 
J. Thompson, 1832. 
E. Hanlon, 1889. 
J. Hennelly, 1891. 
W. Stanley, 1896. 
J. McGrath, 1898. 



LAUNCESTON, CORNWALL (Ply. 

mouth). 

This town will ever be famous 
as the scene of the martyrdom of 
the blessed Cuthbert Maine, the 
protomartyr of Douai College. He 
was arrested in the house of Mr. 
Tregian, owner of Tremolla and 
other large estates in Cornwall, and 
on November 29, 1577, hanged and 
quartered at Launceston for deny 
ing the spiritual supremacy of 
Queen Elizabeth and for having 
said Mass. A mission was started 
here in September 1886 the year 
of the beatification of the English 
martyrs and placed in charge of 
Fr. Chas. B. Langdon, M.A. (Oxon.), 
sometime a clergyman in the 
Church of England. The first 
chapel was in a house called Kensey 
View, on St. Stephen s Hill, for 
merly occupied by Fr. Langdon s 
family. As the congregation in 
creased, he built a small wooden 
church, opened November 28, 
1887. The design of the building 
was drawn up by his brother Arthur. 
The accommodation is for 120. 
The altar was decorated by Mr. 
Bolger, of Devonport. 



LAWKLAND, YORKS. St. Oswald. 

The mission was anciently served 

from Lawkland Hall, till 1790 



242 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



when the chapel was removed to 
its present locality. The registers 
commence June 29, 1745, with the 
baptism of Ann Taylor by Fr. 
James Legrand, O.S.B., who resided 
with John Stephen Ingleby, Esq. 
This gentleman was either a son 
or nephew of Sir Charles Ingleby, 
serjeant-at-law, who died 1720. 
The last of this branch of the 
family died 1844. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Jn. Clarkson. 

Jn. Barber, 1826. 

R. Marsh, 1833. 

H. Button, 1840. 

C. F. Kershaw, 1842. 

J. Dewhurst, 1846. 

C. Kershaw, 1848. 

Geo. Gillet, 1852. 

Wm. Hampson, 1857. 

Robt. Garstang, 1863. 

Wm. Smith, here 1871 till 

1881. 

Mission served from Bentham 
1883-90; now from Settle. 



LEA, PRESTON, LANGS (Liver 
pool). St. Mary. 

The old chapel was at Salwick 
Hall, the baptismal registers dating 
from 1775. The Cliftons of Lytham 
were the ancient patrons of the 
mission, and did much to keep 
alive the Faith in the district during 
the dismal times of persecution. 
(letter of Bishop Goss to Rev. W. 
S. Haddocks, 1866). When the 
chapel at Salwick Hall was shut up 
the congregation built the present 
chapel and presbytery (1799-1800). 
The schools were erected in 1860. 
Bishop Gradwell of Lydda and 
Bishop Brown of Liverpool were 
natives of Lea. In 1888 the church 
and presbytery were re-roofed and 
a stone belfry erected. 



Priests since 1808. 
Rev. J. Haydock. 
Jn. Anderton. 
Richard Albot, 1826. 
Chas. Walker, 1837. 
Richard Doyle, 1871. 
Henry Clements, 1874. 
James Eager, 1882. 
John O Reilly, 1885. 
Fredk. D Heuter, 1895. 
James Gardner, 1897 to date. 



LEAMINGTON, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Peter. 

Before the establishment of the 
mission the place was visited by 
the priest at Wappenbury. In 1822, 
an Irish prelate who had visited 
the spa induced Bishop Milner to 
establish a mission in the town. 
In October 1828 an elegant and 
commodious chapel was opened 
and a resident and exclusive 
pastor provided. Major Patrick 
Bisshop (40th Regiment) was the 
chief Catholic resident at this time. 
A large church in the Lombardic 
style was consecrated by Bishop 
Ullathorne August 17, 1864. The 
interior was very ornate, the taber 
nacle being enriched with gems and 
the dome of the sanctuary painted. 
On the night of Wednesday, Decem 
ber 19, 1883, the main building was 
accidentally destroyed by fire, but 
much valuable furniture was saved. 
Until the opening of the new church 
by Bishop Ilsley, November 11, 
1884, Mass was said in the schools. 
Mrs. Bennet, widow of Major Ben- 
net, was a great benefactress to the 
building fund. 

Rev. B. Crosbie, 1824 (?). 

James McDonnell, 1831. 
Wm. Cunningham, 1840. 
Hy. AVeedall, D.D., 1844. 
Francis Fairfax, 1850. 
James Canon Jeffries, 1852. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



243 



Rev. Verney Cave Brown, 1882. 
Thos. Canon Longman, 1885. 
James Nary, 1892. 
Mgr. Canon Souter, 1895. 
,, Wm. Canon Greaney, 1901 to 
date. 



LEDBURY, HEREFORDSHIRE 

(Newport}. St. Thomas of Here 
ford. 

The Benedictines, assisted by 
Edw. Hanford, Esq., opened a boys 
school near here about 1733. Ow 
ing to the penal laws it had to be 
closed about 1740. The present 
mission dates from about 1900. Fr. 
C. Begley, rector. 



LEE HOUSE, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Salford). St. William. 

The chapel was founded 1738 
by Thos. Eccles, Esq., who endowed ! 
the mission with three farms at j 
Thornley. The mission was made 
over to the Franciscans, the foun- | 
der s church stuff for priests and 
altar and books of religion being 
part of the gift. In return for these 
the chaplain was to serve the 
mission for the Catholics in Thorn- 
ley, Chipping, and all other Catholic 
people thereabouts. During the 
rebellion of 1745, Fr. Germanus 
Holmes was arrested and thrown 
into Lancaster Castle, where he 
died the following year. Some 
other priests here were Fr. Leo. 
Francis, 1758 ; Fr. Jos. Tate, 1808 ; 
Fr. Bernardine Davison, 1820-5. 
Next year the Franciscans handed 
the mission over to Bishop Smith, 
V.A., who appointed Fr. P. Orrell 
rector. His successor, Fr. F. 
Trappes, had a dispute with the 
authorities, and the mission was 
in consequence closed 1840. In 



October 1859, the chapel a new 
structure, erected by Fr. Trappes 
was reopened for worship by 
the Bishop of Salford, to the 
great satisfaction of the Catholics 
in that locality. The Benedictines 
have had charge of the mission since 
this time. 

Priests since 1860. 
Eev. G. Caldwell. 

Joseph Murphy, 1871. 

T. Atkinson, 1874. 

Wm. Watmough, 1877. 

J. Procter, 1882. 

J. Dewhurst, 1885. 

F. Roche, 1888. 

J. Carew, 1892. 

J. Morgan, 1895 to date 



LEEDS (Leeds). Our Lady of 
the Rosary, Barrack Street. 

This church, a plain substantial 
structure in the Gothic style of 
architecture, was opened Sunday, 
October 3, 1886. The accommoda 
tion is for 400 people. The cost of 
erection was 3,000. Messrs. Kelly 
and Birchall were the architects. 
The Bishops of Liverpool and Leeds 
were present at the opening. The 
mission is still j- served from the 
Cathedral. 



LEEDS. St. Mary. 

The Order of Mary Immaculate 
opened a foundation at] Leeds in 
1851, but it was not till May 1853 
that the first stone of their new 
church was laid by the Bishop of 
Beverley. The building was opened 
on Wednesday, July 29, 1857, by 
Cardinal Wiseman. Thousands of 
persons filled the streets, and in 
Mill Street, near the church, three 
immense triumphal arches were 
erected. The Bishop of Marseilles 
R 2 



244 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



celebrated the Mass, and there was 
a large attendance of clergy, and 
an immense congregation. The 
powerful sermon of the Cardinal 
on Ps. Ixxxix. 17, made a great im 
pression. Only the nave and aisles 
were completed at the time of the 
opening, the north and south tran 
septs and the other portions of the 
church not being finished till 1686. 

Priests. 
Rev. Robt. Cooke, 1851. 

Thos. Pinet, 1863. 

Lawrence Roche, 1892 to 
date. 



LEEK, STAFFS (Birmingham}. 

About the time of the Peace of 
Amiens (1803) the Abbe Gerard 
said Mass for the French prisoners 
confined at Leek and the few Irish 
labourers of the district, in the 
house of Mr. Ward, a solicitor in 
King Street. The Abbe Gerard at 
the same time served Cobridge. 
Fr. Jeffries, of Cheadle, about 1825, 
hired a room here and said Mass 
for the benefit of the few Catholics 
in and around Leek. In 1828 he 
commenced building a chapel, with 
the assistance of the Earl of Shrews 
bury. The opening took place May 
1829 the year of Catholic Emanci 
pation. In 1830 a presbytery was 
added. Fr. "Whitaker was priest 
here in 1832 ; Fr. B. Ivers in 1838. 
Fr. J. F. Anderson, who came to 
the chapel in 1860, founded the 
convent and in 1864 a new chapel, 
on a site generously given by the 
Messrs. Bermingham. He died 
suddenly Thursday, May 15, 1884. 
Bishop Ullathorne summed up his 
work and life in one sentence : No 
debts and living on 17s. a week. 
The foundation stone of the new 
church was laid on Thursday, 
October 15, 1885, by Bishop Ilsley. 



His Lordship gave a public dis 
course on the meaning of the 
ritual, which was listened to with 
great attention. About 760 was 
deposited on the stone, including 
700 from Mrs. James Berming 
ham. The plan consists of a nave 
and two aisles, chancel for choir, 
side chapels and baptistery. The 
opening by the Bishop of Birming 
ham (Dr. Ullathorne) took place in 
May 1887. The accommodation is 
for 600. Three of the bells in the 
belfry were presented by Fr. W. 
Waugh and Mr. J. H. Sperling. The 
sanctuary window by Hayes & Co. 
is the gift of Mrs. J. Bermingham. 
The building was erected at the 
cost of Messrs. John and Alfred 
Sperling. 



LEES, LANCASHIRE (Salford). 
St. Edward. 

This district is a suburb of Old- 
ham, in the prosperity of which it 
shares. The church was opened 
1874 and served from St. Mary s, 
Oldham, till about 1877, when 
Fr. M. O Callaghan was appointed. 
The successive rectors have been : 
Rev. Pierce Griffith, 1880. 

Timothy Burke, 1882. 

James Brady, 1885. 

J. Lathouwers, 1888. 

M. A. Holohan, 1893. 

James Hanrahan, 1894. 

P. Ryan, 1899 to date. 



LEICESTER, HOLY CROSS (Not 
tingham). 

The Dominican Priory was built 
by Fr. Chas. Caestryck, O.P., 1817, 
and some years later he added the 
house. He died at Hinckley, June 2, 
1844, aged eighty-three and is buried 
in the church at Leicester. A pleas- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



245 



ing etched portrait of this excellent 
priest is preserved at Woodchester. 
It may be remarked that the pre- 
Reformation Dominican Priory at 
Leicester, dedicated to St. Clement, 
P.M., was founded in 1247. 

Priors. 
Rev. Chas. Caestryck, 1817. 

B. Holme, 1881. 

H. Oxley, 1833. 

W. Nickolds, 1842. 

Pius Cavanagh, 1876. 

Ceslas Fletcher, 1882. 

John Procter, 1885. 

Lewis Thompson, 1888. 

Ceslas Fletcher, 1890. 

Thos. Laws, 1894. 

Joseph Mandy, 1897 to date. 



LEICESTER (Nottingham). St. 
Patrick s. 

The mission was established 
from Holy Cross Church, Leicester, 
1854, by Provost Nickolds, but no 
mention is made of it till after 
1856. The temporary chapel made 
way for the present church in 1867. 
A scone altar was erected January 
1879. 

Priests. 
Rev. Provost Nickolds, 1854. 

(Served from Holy Cross for 

many years.) 

Cyril Bunce, O.P., 1874. 
P. Stapleton, 1885. 
,, T. Ambrose Smith, D.D., 

1888. 
Wm. Hawkins, 1895 to date. 



LEICESTER. St. Peter, Noble 
Street. 

Mission established in the town in 
February 1896, when a portion of the 
parish, hitherto served by the Do 
minican Fathers, was entrusted to 
the spiritual charge of Fr. J. Rear- 



don Kane. For some months Mass 
was said on Sundays in one of the 
class rooms of the local Board 
School. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Reardon Kane, 1896. 

Fr. Ellison, 1896 (May). 

H. Fitzgerald, 1897. 

Felix May, 1899. 

M. Griffin, 1902. 



LEICESTER SQUARE, LONDON, 
W.C. (Westminster). Notre Dame 
de France. 

A temporary chapel was opened 
December 8, i866, and the present 
church June 11, 1868. The style is 
Gothic, the accommodation being 
for about 400. Since the foundation 
the mission has been under the care 
of the Marist Fathers. The French 
Hospital under the Nuns of the 
Sacred Heart is close by. 



LEIGH, LANGS (Liverpool). St. 
Joseph. 

Prior to 1670, the domestic chapel 
at Culcheth House served the mis 
sion. Fr. John Penketh, S.J., who 
was here in 1678, was condemned 
to death during the Gates plot, 
but reprieved and released from 
prison 1685. Prior to the erection 
of the chapel in 1778, Mass was 
said at Hopcar, in the house of the 
Sale family, one of whom, Fr. John 
Sale, served the mission. Mass 
was also said at Parsonage, the 
seat of the Urmstons, and at Hall 
House. Fr. Shaw built the chapel 
1778, and presbytery 1789. Bishop 
Gibson, V.A., confirmed 135 per 
sons at Leigh in 1784. The school 
was erected 1829. The present 
church (Gothic) was erected 1855 
from designs by Mr. Hampden. 



246 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Being injured by a furious gale, it 
was repaired 1865. The church 
tower was added subsequently. A 
new infant school was opened, and 
the girls school enlarged 1902. 
The Catholic population is about 
4,628. 

Priests. 
Kev. J. Penketh, 1678 (died August 1, 

1701, at. 71). 

,, Sebastian Needham, 1699. 
Robt. Petre, 1728. 
Jn. Sale, 1733. 
Jn. Shaw, 1776 (died at Stony- 
hurst 1808). 
Wm. Poole, 1807. 
Edw. Morron, 1828. 
Jn. Reeve, 1828. 
Jas. Brownbill, 1840. 
Felix Poole, 1841. 
Hy. Beeston, 1843. 
Francis West, 1843. 
J. McClune, 1844. 
Jn. Middlehurst, 1846. 
Anthony Butler, 1877 (V.A. 

of Demerara 1878). 
Jas. Fanning, 1878. 
Hy. Cowell, 1886. 
Edward Porter, 1898. 
Henry Martin, 1899 to date. 



LEIGHTON BUZZARD, BEDFORD 
SHIRE (Northampton}. The Sacred 
Heart. 

Mainly owing to assistance from 
the late Mrs. White, a room was 
fitted up as a chapel over a general 
shop in North Street, 1894. Two 
years later the present iron chapel 
was erected on a freehold site in 
Beaudesert ; the building was blessed 
December 15, 1897, by Canon 
Duckett. Catholics of the district 
number about forty. At first pro- 
testant feeling ran very high, and 
when the presbytery was built by 



Fr. C. E. Reilly the windows were 
broken by an angry No Popery 
crowd. 

Priests. 
Rev.H. Parker (occasionally), 1894. 

Chas. Ed. Reilly, 1895. 

Canon Stokes, to date. 



LEOMINSTER, HEREFORD (New 
port). St. Ethelbert. 

The Blessed Roger Cadwallador, 
who laboured here as a missionary 
priest for some sixteen years, 
suffered for the faith at Leominster, 
August 27, 1610. There is a 
memorial tablet to the martyred 
priest in the church, which was 
erected here between September 
1887 and May 1888. Prior to the 
opening of the church, Catholics of 
the place had to worship in an old 
brick building, originally a Dis 
senters chapel. The site for the 
new church \vas obtained by Fr. A. 
Rogers. The building is in the 
Perpendicular style ; architects, 
Messrs. Pugin. The cost of erec 
tion was about 1,300. 

Priest. 

Rev. Athanasius Rogers, 1887 to 
date. 



LEVENSHULME, LANCS (Sal- 
ford). St. Mary of the Angels and 
St. Clare. 

The mission was started 1853, 
the chapel being opened August 21 
of that year. A very plain but 
lofty Gothic church, designed 
by Tijou, took the place of this 
structure March 3, 1882. The 
accommodation is for about 200. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



247 



Priests. 

Rev. T. Unsworth, 1853. 
H. Marshall, 1855. 
H. Browne, 1857. 
T. Fox, 1861. 
AVm. Corry, 1863. 
Provost Croskell, 1871. 
C. McDermott Roe, 1904 to 
date. 



LEWES, SUSSEX (Southwark). 
The Sacred Heart and St. Pancras. 

The revival of Catholicity in 
Lewes is due to the late Canon 
Thos. Drinkwater, who, at the 
suggestion of Bishop Grant of 
Southwark, started the mission 
in 1865. Aided by Major and Mrs. 
Fletcher-Gordon, of the Manor 
House, St. George s Eetreat, he 
opened a chapel on the second 
floor of his house at Priory Cres 
cent, Lewes. Before this time, the 
nearest mission was at Brighton. 
In 1868 Fr. Hubert Wood, one of 
Canon Wenham s curates at Mort- 
lake, was appointed to Lewes in 
succession to Canon Drinkwater, 
who went to Battersea. Eev. H. 
Wood s father a protestant 
erected the present chapel and 
clergy house in 1870. The style is 
pure Victorian carpenter s Gothic, 
but the building was never inten 
ded to be a church, only a school 
chapel. The transfer of the 
mission from Priory Crescent to the 
present building took place on 
January 25, 1870. Since the 
establishment of the Reformation, 
Lewes has been notorious for its 
anti-Catholic feeling. We have 
been informed by Canon W. 
McAuliffe, the priest of the place, 
to whom we are indebted for the 
above details of the mission, that 
an effigy of the Pope continues to 
be religiously burned on each 



succeeding Guy Fawkes day. 
The number of Catholics at Lewes 
is about 150, but the mission 
could not be supported were it not 
for the endowment left for the 
purpose by Fr. Wood. Bishop 
Challoner, Vicar Apostolic of the 

I London district (1758-81), was 
born here in 1691. He was pro 
bably converted tolthe Faith in the 
family of Sir Thomas Gage of Firle, 
a village about rive miles from 
Lewes. The Gages long kept the 
lamp of Catholicity burning in the 
district, but after the defection of 
Sir William Gage, about 1720, the 
chapel at Firle, which had for 
generations been served by the 
Jesuits, was closed. Sir Henry 
Gage, governor of Oxford for 

j Charles I. in 1644, and Fr. John 

I Gage, S.J. (1720-90), who intro 
duced the greengage into England, 
were members of this family. 
The Jesuit Fathers served the 
mission of Firle till as late as 
1766. 

Priests at Lewes. 

i Rev. Canon Drinkwater, 1865-68. 
Hubert James Wood, 1868 

(died December 14, 1882). 
,, William Canon McAulitfe, 
1882 to date. 



LEWISHAM, LONDON, S.E. 

(Southward). St. Saviour and SS. 
John the Baptist and Evangelist. 

A committee, presided over by 
Captain Everard, was held on 
Sunday, October 27, 1893, to con 
sider the possibility of establishing 
a chapel in the district. Up to 
this time the nearest mission was 
at Sydenham. Shortly afterwards 
a chapel was fitted up at No. 157 
Lewisham High Street, and Mass 
said here on Sundays by Fr. 
McCalmont. In 1895, Fr. G. B. 



248 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Tatnm, M.A., formerly an Anglican 
clergyman, was appointed priest of 
the mission. In 1897, the present 
school chapel for 200 persons was 
built on part of the site secured 
for a church, and it may be of 
interest to remark that the ground 
was once occupied by the country 
house of John Wesley, the founder 
of Methodism. A convent con 
ducted by Ursuline nuns was 
opened near the church in 1901. 
Fr. Connell is the present rector of 
the mission. 



LEYBURN, YORKS (Middles 
brough). 

Danby Hall, in the North Riding, 
has been the residence of the 
Scrope family since the commence 
ment of the seventeenth century. 
The domestic chapel was served 
by the Jesuit Fathers from about 
1730 to 1785. The register dates 
from 1742. Fr. Edward Boone, 
S.J., the last priest of the Society 
at Danby, was particularly zealous 
in his missionary labours, and in 
1771 he established a centre of 
Catholicity at Lcyburn. Before 
this time, the few faithful depended 
for spiritual assistance on the 
chaplain, at Danby Hall. 1 The 
chapel, which was long a mere 
room, was superseded in 183G by 
the present building erected mainly 
at the expense of Simon Scrope, 
Esq. (1790-1872), who claimed for 
his family the earldom of Wilts. 

1 Died at Leyburn, Christopher 
Barker. I administered to him the 
extreme unction. He died of an apo 
plexy (May 29, 1759). Note by Fr. 
Wappeler, S.J., chaplain at Danby, 
1758-04. 



Priests. 
Rev. Oakley, S.J., 1742. 

Wm. Wappeler, S.J., 1758. 
Edward Boone, S.J., 1764-85. 
Abbe C. Devienne, 1793. 
Richard Billington. 
T. Middlehurst, 1831. 
Rd. Bolton, 1845. 
Lawrence McGonnell, 1867. 
Thos. Loughran, 1870. 
Edward Canon Pearson, 1877. 
Wm. Maher, 1894. 
Joseph Canon Dodds, 1896 
to date. 



LEYLAND, LANCS (Liverpool}. 
St. Mary. 

In 1845 a school house belonging 
to Mrs. Buchanan was purchased 
by Catholics for a chapel. The 
first priest of the mission was Fr. 
Shepherd. Fr. J. Kirshaw, who was 
missionary rector in 1855, built a 
chapel in the Gothic style. Fr. 
E. G. Lynass, O.S.B., added the 
sanctuary, which in February 1857 
was adorned by a handsome 
reredos. Schools for 256 children 
were opened November 6, 1897. 
The Catholic population of Ley- 
land in 1903 was 570. In the 
sacristy of the church is preserved 
a curious pre-Reformatioii silver 
chalice inscribed with the words, 
Restore me to Leyland in Lan 
cashire. 



LEYTON, ESSEX (Westminster). 
St. Joseph. 

The mission was established in 
1897, the chapel being that of St. 
Agnes Oiphanage, Church Road, 
Leyton. In 1900 St. Joseph s 
school chapel, Vicarage Road, was 
erected and continued to serve as 
a place of worship till the opening 
of the present church, Sunday 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



249 



November 27, 1904. The structure 
is a simple one of wood and iron. 
The opening ceremony "was 
attended by Archbishop Bourne, of 
Westminster, the sermon being 
preached by Mgr. Croke Robinson, 
M.A. (Matt, xxviii. 19). St. 
Joseph s mission was founded by 
Fr. Francis C. Brown, late of the 
Catholic Church, Tottenham, who 
is still the rector. 



LICHFIELD, STAFFS (Birming 
ham}. Holy Cross. 

Pipe Hall, near Lichfield, was the 
ancient seat of the Heveningham 
family, and on the death of Sir Walter 
Heveningham, Knt., it passed to 
the Simeons. At the death of Sir 
Edw. Simeon in 1768 the property 
went to the Welds of Lulworth. 
Mass, which had only been said 
occasionally at Pipe Hall, now be 
came regular. Fr. Eobt. Tindall 
was the priest about 1786. In 
1788 he went to Kilvington, in 
Yorkshire. Fr. John Kirk suc 
ceeded. He added a new sanctuary 
to the old chapel. During the 
regime of the next priests, Fr. 
Charles Clements and Fr. Isaac 
Milward, O.S.F., the estate was 
sold to protestants and the chapel 
closed. The altar plate, vestments, 
&c., were made over to Thos. 
Clifford, Esq., afterwards Sir Thos. 
Clifford-Constable, Bart., who pur 
chased an old house in Lichfield 
and reopened a chapel there. At 
the request of Bishop Stapleton, 
Fr. Kirk took charge of the mis 
sion, his Lordship allowing him 
60 a year from the bequest of a 
Mr. Munford, formerly of St. Omer s 
College. Fr. Kirk built a chapel 
on the London Koad, Lichfield, 
and opened it November 11, 1803. 



The Catholics of the town num 
bered about fifty at this tim?. Mr. 
Thos. Weld, of Lulworth, father of 
Cardinal Weld, presented the chapel 
with a handsome altar-piece re 
presenting the Crucifixion by De 
Bruyn. By 1810 the Catholics of 
Lichfield and Hopewas, a neigh 
bouring village, had increased to 
seventy-five and in 1833 to 145. 
The next year (1834) Fr. Kirk, 
then in the seventy-fifth year of 
his age, erected a simple Gothic 
church at Lichfield, which was 
opened by Bishop Walsh, V.A. ; Dr. 
Weedal, of Oscott, sang the Mass 
(September 23). l Fr. J. Parke 
succeeded Dr. Kirke at Lichfield in 
1851. The mission was greatly 
hampered for resources in 1865 by 
the death of a generous benefac 
tress who had hitherto subsidised 
the schools, and the priest of the 
time, Fr. F. Magrath, was com 
pelled to solicit support. The pre 
sent church was opened 1895, during 
the rectorate of Fr. McCarten. 



LIMEHOUSE, LONDON, E. (West 
minster). Our Lady Immaculate. 

The mission was started here in 
February 1881 for the benefit of 
the large Irish population. Mass 
was first said in a room over a 
chandler s shop and then in a large 
room in the priest s house, No. 9 
Turner s Eoad. Fr. F. G. Maples 
was the first priest. The extem 
porised chapel was so crowded on 
Sundays that numbers had to kneel 
on the stairs. The number of chil 
dren attending the school in August 



1 The Rev. John Kirk, 1760-1851, was 

a distinguished scholar. His notes 

| formed the basis of Canon Tierney s 

I continuation of Dod s Church History. 



250 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



1881 was sixty. Fr. F. H. Higley, 
the present rector, succeeded to the 
mission about 1890. 



LINCOLN (Nottingham). St. 

Hugh. 

The Jesuit Fathers opened a 
school at Lincoln for a short time 
in the reign of James II. In 1781 
Fr. Kichard Knight, S.J., served 
the mission. The Catholic chapel, 
a plain Eomanesque building ter 
minating in an apse, was opened 
in - - and redecorated in August 
1863. The present fine Gothic 
church was opened by his Eminence 
Cardinal Vaughan on Tuesday, 
December 18, 1898. Most of the 
money necessary for the purpose 
was collected by the incumbent, 
Canon Croft The Carthusian 
monks of Parkminster, Sussex, 
contributed verj largely to the 
fund. The o d title of the church, 
SS. John the Baptist and John the 
Evangelist, was retained till after 
1898, when that of the present 
patron was adopted. 



LINCOLN S INN FIELDS, LON 
DON, W.C. (Westminster}. SS. 
Anselm and Cecilia. 

This mission has been rightly 
termed the Mother Church of the 
Catholic Faith in the Archdiocese 
of Westminster. There is evidence 
that Mass was said in the house 
of a widow on the left-hand side of 
Duke Street, 1648. In 1687 Fr. ! 
Jn. Cross, Provincial O.S.F., leased j 
the house near the arches in ! 
Lincoln s Tnn Fields and opened 
a chapel there. Bishop Ellis, j 



V.A.W.D., and afterwards of Segni, 
Italy, often preached here. At the 
Revolution the Franciscans were 
compelled to retire at a loss of 
3,000. After this the Sardinian 
Ambassador acquired the chapel, 
and it remained attached to the 
Embassy for nearly a century. 
Nollekens, the sculptor, was bap- 
; tised here in 1737. On October 30, 
: 1759, serious damage was caused 
by a fire, but the loss was repaired 
by the Count de Virey, the then 
Ambassador. The whole chapel, 
with the exception of the sanctuary 
end, was destroyed by the Gordon 
rioters in June 1780, but the loss 
was made good by Government, 
who also presented the new chapel 
with a fine altar-piece. The old 
sanctuary end is said to be the 
work of Inigo Jones, and is shown 
in the familiar prints of Bishop 
Challoner preaching. The building 
was enlarged 1811. The schools 
were established by a Catholic 
Society about 1764. In 1838 about 
one thousand children were en 
rolled on the books. Mr. Chas. 
Butler, the eminent barrister 
(1750-1832), was long a noted 
member of the congregation. In 
1857 the roof of the church was 
raised and the interior painted. A 
new gallery was added 1851. King 
Victor Emmanuel, of Sardinia, 
attended Mass in state here Sun 
day, December 3, 1855. Prayers 
for the House of Sardinia ceased 
about 1861, when His Majesty in 
vaded the States of the [ Church. 
Owing to the Strand to Holborn 
improvements recently under 
taken by the London County 
Council, the old Church of SS. An 
selm and Cecilia will soon be num 
bered with the past, but another 
church not far from its site will, it 
is reported, arise to perpetuate its 
history and work. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



251 



Priests. 

Rev. Wni. Barrow, S J., 1677. 
Jn. Cross, 1687. 
Wm. Pouce, 1729. 
Patrick Bradley, O.P., 1741- 
1760, subsequently Bishop 
of Londonderry. 
Hy. Peach, 1761. 
Eobt. Smelt, 1771. 
Jas. Archer, D.D., 1781-89. 
Thos. Rigby, D.D., 1783. 
Francis Tuite, 1810. 
Thos. Percy, 1816. 
Angelo Baldacconi, D.D., 

M.R., 1824. 
Jn. Hearne, 1843. 
W. O Connor, 1845. 
Patrick O Connor, rector in 

1875. 

P. Cavanagh, rector in 1883. 
Michael FitzGerald, rector 

1891. 

,, Jn. Dunford, 1901 to date. 
A large number of priests have 
been attached to the mission as 
chaplains at various times, but 
we have only named those first in 
seniority or superiority. 



LISCARD, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). St. Alban. 

In 1842 the Catholics of Liscard 
and vicinity numbered 300. The 
same year a room at Egremont 
was secured by Fr. Dawber, where 
he celebrated the Divine mysteries 
and ministered to the spiritual 
wants of the Catholics of the neigh 
bourhood. The school, chapel, 
and house were erected in 1842, 
and the church opened in the pre 
sence of Cardinal Wiseman, Sep 
tember 8, 1853. A large bell, cost 
ing 220, was consecrated Octo 
ber 10, 1858. Bishop Knight 
opened the Catholic club-room 
February 13, 1888. 



Priests. 
Rev. Jn. Dawber, 1841. 

Ambrose Canon Lennon, V.G., 

1843. 

Wm. Walton, 1868. 
Joseph Canon Daly, 1872. 
T. Geraghty, 1876. 
Wm. Stanton, 1878. 
Thomas Canon Marsden,V.G 

1887. 

C. Ryder, 1898. 
J. G. Walsh, 1898. 



IISKEARD, CORNWALL (Ply- 

mouth}. St. Neot. 

The chapel was erected 1862 63 
by Fr. T. Francis. Sir Paul Moles- 
worth was one of the most notable 
contributors to the building fund. 
The cost of the building, which in 
style is plain underrated Gothic, 
was about 400 ; the seating capa 
city is for 400 persons. Bishop 
Vaughan, of Plymouth, pontificated 
at the opening ceremony in May 
1863. A fine granite octagonal 
font was erected in the church in 
June 1882 from the legacy of Mr. 
James Carroll, many years resident 
at Bodmin. The new organ was 
inaugurated the following Christ 
inas. For several years after the 
opening the mission was served 
from Sclerder. 

Priest*. 
Rev. T. Francis, 1862. 

H. Dobbelaire, 1866. 

F. Gallini, here in 1871. 

W. Keily, 1877. 

Geo. Graham, 1879. 

R. W. Meager, 1898. 

Norbert Woolfrey, here in 
1897. 

Joseph Hurley, to date. 



252 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



LITHERLAND, LANCS (Liver- 

2JOol). St. Elizabeth. 

A church was opened here by 
the Bishop of Liverpool on Sun 
day, October 9, 1904. The sermon 
both at the morning and evening 
service was preached by Canon 
Gordon. 



LITTLEBOROUGH, LANCS (Sal- 
ford). The Annunciation. 

A temporary chapel was opened 
in 1879, and on Saturday, June 4, 
1881, the foundation stone of the 
present church was laid by Canon 
Sheehan, V.G., assisted by Fr. L. 
Schreiber, priest of the mission. 
The school and presbytery were 
built at the same time. The church 
was opened January 1, 1882, by 
Bishop Vaughan, of Salford. The 
style is Byzantine. 

Priests. 
Revs. Conrad Kaelin, 1879. 

,, Laurence Schreiber, 1882. 

W. Fowler, 1885 ; served from 
Buckley Hall, Todmorden, 
&c., 1890-93. 

,, James Manning, 1893. 

Michael Cahill, 1897. 

Pius de Witte, 1899. 

Henry Egbers, 1902. 

Octave Raymond, 1904 to 
date. 



LITTLE CROSBY, LANCS (Liver 
pool). St. Mary s. 

The stone of the church was laid 
March 25, 1845, by Nicholas 
Blundell, Esq., who defrayed the 
cost of erection. The style is 
Decorated Gothic. Messrs. Weight- 
man and Hadfield were the archi 
tects. The building was conse 
crated by Bishop Brown, V.A., 
September 7, 1847. The domestic 



chaplains of the Blundells of Crosby 
served the mission during the times 
of persecution. Jn 1896 the Catho 
lic cemetery was enlarged, and a 
new window and south side of 
chancel added to the church. 



LITTLEHAMPTON, SUSSEX 

(SouthivarJf). St. Catherine. 

In the summer of 1859, Mass 
was said here on Sundays at eleven 
for the benefit of the Catholic 
visitors. The temporary chapel 
was a room in the Beach Hotel 
and was served by Fr. John Butt of 
Arundel. The handsome Gothic 
church, situated on the common, is 
one of the five churches built in 
honour of the Five Precious Wounds 
of Our Lord, by Mina Duchess of 
Norfolk, mother of the present 
duke. It was opened May 26, 
1863. The handsome Lady Altar 
of variegated marbles was erected 
in 1883. The church was again 
considerably enlarged in the sum 
mer of 1904 by the lengthening of 
the nave and aisles. Fr. R. L. 
Irvine Neave has been priest of the 
mission since 1875. His predecessor 
was Fr. Thos. Dixon, O.P. 



LITTLE HULTON, LANCS (Sal- 
ford). St. Edmund. 

The church was opened 1876, 
and was served from Farnworth 
till 1890, when Fr. Wilfrid Hampson 
was appointed. 

Subsequent Priests. 
Rev. Peter Grobel, 1895. 

Godric Kean, 1901. 

Henry Joseph Hunt, 1905. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



253 



LITTLE MALVERN, WORCESTER 
SHIRE (Birmingham}. 

This beautiful estate came to the 
Beringtons from the Eussells. 
The Beringtons have always been 
staunch to the Faith, and in the 
days of persecution their mansion 
was a city of refuge for priests. 
One or two hiding-places in 
the roof were probably the work 
of the martyr, Brother Nicholas 
Owen, S.J. In 1641 the house 
was searched by order of the House 
of Commons for Jesuites and 
Eomish priestes ; also Massing 
stuffe, Popish relics, Popish books 
and warlike ammunition, but did 
jnot find any such. The Eev. 
Joseph Berington (1743-1827), 
author of The Literary History of 
the Middle Ages, and a supporter 
of the Catholic Committee on the 
subject of the famous oath, was a 
member of this family, as was also 
his brother, Bishop Berington, V.A. 
The ancient domestic chapel of the 
house is still kept open for the 
purpose of serving the mission. 



LIVERPOOL. All Saints, Oak- 
field. 

Till 1885 this district was partly 
in the mission of St. Michael s, 
and partly in that of Our Lady 
Immaculate. In October 1888, a 
school chapel, capable of accommo 
dating 480 children on the ground 
floor, and 500 adults on the chapel 
storey above, was commenced, and 
opened September 2, 1889. A 
stone belfry surmounts the west 
gable of the nave. The cost of 
erection was about 4,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. Wm. Smith, 1889. 

E. Etherington, 1891. 

E. Baynes, 1894. 

,, James Cross, 1899. 

W. Gregson, 1900. 



LIVERPOOL. St. Alphonsus, 
In 1877 a disused Masonic Hall 
was acquired for use as a chapel. 
New schools were erected 1888 at 
a cost of 3,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. Edward Birchall, 1878. 

Wm. Pennington, 1888 to 
date. 



LIVERPOOL. St. Augustine s, 
Great Howard Street. 

The mission of St. Augustine 
was founded in poverty and want 
in September 1849, when it was 
served from St. Mary s. The 
church was erected a little later. 
It had little architectural merit till 
decorated in 1885 by Mr. Hopkins, 
of Abergavenny. The church was 
enriched with two new altars, a 
screen of carved stone, and marble 
altar rails. The high altar was 
further adorned by a Calvary group 
with angels. On the day of 
opening, Sunday, August 9, 1885, 
Fr. W, O Brien, a former priest of 
the mission, preached an eloquent 
sermon describing the work of the 
Catholic Church throughout the 
world, and incidently sketching the 
history of St. Augustine s from its 
foundation. New schools were 
opened February 21, 1897. 

Priests. 
Eev. F. Cook, 1849. 

. W. Bulbeck, 1858. 

Ealph Cooper, 1864. 

E. Eoss, 1875. 

J. Potter, 1881. 

C. O Neill, 1882. 

W. Eigby, 1882. 

T. V. Murphy, 1889. 

A. D. Firth, 1890. 

T. Murphy, 1889. 

,, Sanders, 1892. 

Hugh Larkin, 1892. 

T. Eathe, 1895. 



254 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



LIVERPOOL. St. Alban, Athol 
Street. 

In 1848, Fr. Thos. Newsham 
purchased a site for a church for 
the spiritual benefit of the large 
number of Irish labourers employed 
on the Liverpool docks extension. 
The building was designed by 
C. Hadfield,and opened for worship, 
Sunday, August 19, 1849, by Bishop 
Brown, V.A. Fr. Thos. Kelly 
(1849-62) completed the church, 
gave a fine bell to the belfry and 
erected the organ. He likewise 
built the sacristy and presbytery. 
His successor, Fr. R Seed (1862- 
71), built magnificent schools to 
accommodate 1,000 children. These 
were enlarged by Fr. Patrick Kelly, 
rector from 1871 to 1887. Fr. 
Kelly enriched the church with a 
handsome altar of the Sacred Heart 
and fine pulpit. In 1890 the 
Albany Club for young men was 
opened, and the year following the 
sacristies were improved and fitted 
with new presses, &c. The church 
was redecorated 1893. To com 
memorate the jubilee of the mission, 
new marble and alabaster altar 
rails, by Hardman, were added to 
the sanctuary in 1899. Fr. J. 
Buckley, appointed in 1898, is the 
present rector. 



LIVERPOOL (Liverpool). St. 
Clare, Sefton Park. 

This church was started in April 
1889, and consecrated June 3, 1890. 
The design is Decorated Gothic. 
The accommodation is for 600. 
The cost, including the schools for 
400 children, was 10,779. The 
church was erected at the sole cost 
of two benefactors, Messrs. Francis 
William and James F. Keynolds. 
The Catholic population of the 
parish is about 1,500. 



LIVERPOOL (Liverpool). Edge 
Hill, St. Ann s. 

Mass was said in the presbytery 
in 1843 byFr. Maurus Margison,the 
founder of the mission. The church 
(Late Gothic) was opened August 5, 
1846, by Bishop Brown, V.A.N.D., 
assisted by Archbishop Polding and 
Bishops Sharpies and Morris. The 
chancel was added in 1887. A new 
priory was erected 1893. Two fine 
windows in the church com 
memorate Fr. Basil Feeny (1893-97), 
and the oak choir stalls serve as a 
memorial to Fr. Egbert Turner 
(September 1897). The Catholic 
population of the district is esti 
mated at about 5,500. The church 
is largely due to the zeal and exer 
tions of Fr. H. Brewer, Pro 
vincial of the English Benedictines, 
Northern Province, from 1837 to 
1846. Fr. Jn. Darby is the present 
superior (1904). 



LIVERPOOL (Liverpool). St. 
Joseph, Grosvenor Street, N. 

In 1846 a former protestant place 
of worship was purchased for use 
as a Catholic church. Schools in 
connection with the mission were 
founded in Edgar Street in 1852 by 
Thomas Gillow, Esq., of Mexico. 
On January 23, 1870, a false alarm 
of fire led to a fatal panic in the 
church. Six years later the building 
became unsafe, and was replaced 
by the present church, opened 
March 19, 1878. The Bishop Goss 
Memorial Schools were opened 
about the same time. A handsome 
marble altar was erected in the 
church and consecrated December 
1881. The Lady Altar, by Messrs. 
Pugin, was put up in 1890 in 
memory of- Fr. Robert Bridges, 
who died in 1888. New altar-rails 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



255 



were added to the sanctuary to 
commemorate the jubilee of the 
mission, April 1896. 

Priests. 

Eev. John Murphy, 1846 ; died 
Archdeacon of Cork, 1885. 
W. Carter, 1847-53. 
Maurice Duggan, 1853 -Octo 
ber 1879. 

Iiobt. Bridges, 1878 ; Professor 
of Moral Philosophy at St. 
Joseph s College, 1885; died 
1888. 

T. B. Allen, 1885. 
H. Roberts, 1885; appointed 

M.E. 1891. 
Joseph Rigby, 1896. 



LIVEKPOOL (Liverpool). Holy 
Cross, Great Crosshall Street. 

This mission was founded in 1842 
by Fr. F. McDonnell, whose first 
chapel was a room over a cow 
house in Standish Street, The 
Oblate Fathers took over the mis 
sion in 1850, and shortly after this 
the schools were erected by Fr. 
Noble. Bishop Jolivet, of Natal, 
was one of the priests here till 
about 1867. Dr. Jolivet built the 
church, which was opened Octo 
ber 30, 1860, by Bishop Goss, the 
sermon being preached by Cardinal 
Wiseman. The new chancel was 
opened August 31, 1875. A new 
altar was erected in 1882. The 
schools underwent extensive altera 
tions in 1895. 

Priests since 1875. 
Rev. F. M. Gaughren, now bishop. 
T. G. Roche, 1876. 
D. Madden, 1883. 

B. O Dwyer, 1883. 
L. G. Roche, 1887. 
A. Coyle, 1890. 

J. McSherry, 1895. 

C. Byrne, 1904. 



LIVEEPOOL (Liverpool). St. An 
thony, Scotland Road, N. 

Fr. Jean Baptist Girardot, an 
emigre, erected a chapel in the 
Scotland Road about 1804. The 
chapel was afterwards sold, and a 
new church erected by Fr. P. Wil- 
cock, and opened September 29, 
1833. The Abbe Girardot was 
greatly esteemed in Liverpool for 
his amiable qualities and for his 
skill in curing the dropsy. He died 
at Liverpool in October 1825, aged 
seventy- five years. Since then the 
rectors of the mission have been : 
Fr. P. Wilcock, 1825. His assist 
ants in 1837 were Frs. A. 
Lennon and J. Peduzzi. 
J. Dawber, for public institu 
tions, 1840. 

T. Newsham (rector), 1844. 
P. Power, 1860 (?). 
P. Murphy, 1875. 
J. Dowling, 1884. 
Wm. Newsham, 1894 to date. 



LIVERPOOL (Liverpool). St. 
Peter s, Seel Street. 

This church was founded from 
St. Mary s, then the only Catholic 
place of worship in Liverpool, in 
1788 by Fr. Archibald Macdonald, 
O.S.B. The building was opened 
on September 7 of the above- 
named year. The baptismal regis 
ter dates from 1789, during which 
year fifty children were baptised. 
A school in connection with the 
church was not started till 1817. 
In 1843 the old presbytery was 
added to the church to form the 
sanctuary and sacristy. New 
schools for girls and infants were 
erected about 1870 ; they were en 
larged in 1889. The interior of 
the church was renovated and re 
decorated in 1902 at a cost of 300. 



256 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests of the Mission. 
Rev. A. Macdonald, 1788-1814. 

Dunstan Tarlfcon, 1814-16. 

,, Gregory Kobinson, 1816-35. 

Vincent Glover, 1835-38. 

Ephraim Platt, 1838-41. 

J. F. Appleton, D.D., 1842; 
died of typhus caught during 
his sacred ministrations, 
1847. 

Thomas Bonney, 1847-64. 

Davey, 1864-67. 

W. B. Scarisbrick, 1867, con 
secrated Archbishop of 
Mauritius, 1871. 

J. Brown, 1872-74. 

P. M. Anderson, 1874-1903. 

Robert Corlett, 1901. 

The church has always been 
under the care of Benedictines. 



LIVERPOOL (Liverpool). St. 
Sylvester, Scotland Eoad. 

On March 11, 1888, the founda 
tion of the present Gothic church 
was laid by the Bishop of Liverpool, 
and the building was opened Sep 
tember 2, 1889. The seating capa 
city is for about seven hundred. 
The old chapel was opened in a 
* converted wooden shed in 1875. 
The schools were built, 1872-73. 
In May 1896 a new Lady Altar, by 
Pugin, was erected, and two years 
later the church was cleaned and 
decorated. The congregation is 
estimated at about 7,200. 



LIVEEPOOL. Our Lady of 
Lourdes and St. Bernard, Kingsley 
Road. 

Cardinal Manning preached on 
behalf of this, then recently founded, 
mission, Sunday, September 9, 
1882. A chapel was erected 1884. [ 
The new church was opened by J 



the Bishop of Liverpool on Whit 
Sunday, 1901. The building cost 
about 8,000. Messrs. Pugin, of 
London, were the architects. The 
first rector of the church was Fr. 
Billington, afterwards Dean of Lan 
caster. His curate, Fr. James 
Hayes, succeeded in 1885. The 
rector in 1901 was Fr. Harris. 
Catholic population about 1,800. 



LIVERPOOL. St. Vincent of Paul. 

On February 5, 1843, Mass was 
celebrated in an upper room in 
Blundell Street ; and on the 7th of the 
same month a boys school, taught 
by a Christian Brother, was opened 
in the same room. This arrange 
ment continued till January 1848. 
Fr. Edward Walmesley was the first 
priest. St. Vincent s was served 
from St. Patrick s till it became an 
independent mission, August 1852. 
On January 23, 1849, a large wooden 
shed was hired for a chapel, and in 
April 1856 the first stone of the 
new church was laid by the Bishop 
of Liverpool. E. AVelby-Pugin de 
signed the building, which is in 
the purest style of Geometrical 
Gothic. The opening by Bishop 
Goss took place in August 1857. 
The sciools, presented by E. Chal- 
loner, Esq., were opened 1862, 
and greatly enlarged 1893. Bishop 
O Reilly, of Liverpool, was rector 
of the mission 1852-73. He was 
consecrated in St. Vincent s Church 
March 19 of the last-named year. 



LIVERPOOL. The Sacred Heart, 
Mount Vernon. 

Till 1885, a small convent chapel 
did duty for missionary purposes, 
but by that year the vast increase 
of the congregation made a new 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



257 



church absolutely necessary. A 
church in the Early Decorated 
style was commenced that year, 
and opened in December 1886. 
The accommodation is for 800. 
The imposing character of the front 
is enhanced by an octagonal turret. 
The handsome stone pulpit of the 
church was presented by Mr. T. 
Poulton, the large bell by Mr. 
Michael Byrne, and the carved oak 
tabernacle with silver embossed 
door by Mr. J. Collier. The silver- 
plated lamps in the sanctuary were 
the gift of W. Yates, Esq. The 
marble high altar, by Messrs. Pugin, 
was unveiled by the Bishop of 
Liverpool, Sunday, October 11, 1891. 
New schools for 400 children were 
erected 1898. 



LIVERPOOL. Our Lady of Recon 
ciliation, Eldon Street. 

Foundation stone laid by Bishop 
Goss, Wednesday, February 2, 1859. 
The old chapel in Blackstock Street 
was opened in 1854 by Fr. R. Vande- 
pitte, a missionary from Flanders. 
The building was merely a wooden 
shed. The Catholics of the district 
then numbered about eleven thou 
sand. The new church, opened in 
1860, is in the French style of 
Gothic. The presbytery and schools, 
erected about 1886, cost upwards of 
10,000. There are many Poles in 
the neighbourhood, and a Polish 
service is given on the first and 
third Sunday of each month. A 
new altar to Our Lady of Wilna 
was opened September 17, 1893, 
and the organ February 4, 1894. 



LIVERPOOL. St. Mary s, Hadficld 
Street. 

The old chapel was founded in 



1736. In 1701, Fr. W. Gillibrand, 
S.J., served the Liverpool mis 
sion, which had then no regular 
chapel. In 1736, Fr. John Har- 
vesty, S.J., built St. Mary s. 
In December 1745, when Prince 
Charles Edward Stuart and the 
Highlanders retreated from Derby, 
the mob burnt the chapel to the 
ground. They behaved with the 
greatest respect to the priests 
Fr. Hermengild Carpenter, S.J., 
and Fr. Thos. Stanley, allowing 
them to remove the ciborium and 
other consecrated vessels. Henry 
Pippard, Esq., a Catholic, and one 
of the chief merchants of the town, 
rebuilt the chapel 1758, in a secluded 
part of the city. The new building 
looked exactly like a warehouse. 
In spite of this safeguard, the Catho 
lics could only enter the chapel 
with the greatest caution. In 1783 
the mission was transferred to the 
Benedictines. In 1844 a fine new 
church, designed by A. W. Pugin, 
was commenced to take the place 
of the old ugly chapel. The opening 
took place July 1, 1845. The ser 
mon was preached by Bishop Morris. 
The church, a new and spacious 
building, occupied the site of the 
old chapel, and accommodated 
3,000. In 1883-84 the site of 
the building was bought by the 
Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway 
Company, and a new church 
a reproduction of the old one 
was built in Hadfield Street. P. P. 
Pugin was the architect. The 
solemn opening took place July 7, 
1885. In 1895 the sanctuary was 
beautifully decorated by Mr. Pippet. 
The schools were enlarged 1898. 

Priests. 

Rev. Williams and Harris, 
S.J., 1773. 

A. Macdonald, 1773. 

E. Pennington, 1788. 

Jos. Collins, 1794. 



258 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Alexis Pope. 1797. 

Wilfrid Fisher, 1802. 

James Wilkinson, 1847. 

S. Giles, 1850. 

Jos. Sheridan, 1850. 

Bede Almond, 18GO. 

P. O Brien, 1873. 

Benedict Snow, 1878. 

George Bede Cox, 1894. 



LOFTUS , SALTBURN - BY - THE - 
SEA, YOEKS (Middlesbrough}. SS. 
Joseph and Cuthbert. 

The Catholics of Loftus, after 
having worshipped for some years 
in a small room over a shop, 
acquired a site for a school- chapel 
near the market-place. The build 
ing, to hold some three hundred 
persons, was erected from designs 
by Mr. Martin Carr. Fr. W. Sul 
livan was the priest at the time the 
chapel was built. The opening took 
place on March 8, 1883. The build 
ing will hold over three hundred. 
The altar, of Corinthian design, was 
decorated by Dominic Mazzotti, of 
Saltburn. The stone baptismal font 
was carved by Mr. Robt. Moody, 
of Loftus. Before the opening of 
this mission the nearest chapel 
was at Ugthorpe, eight miles dis 
tant. 



LONG EATON, DERBYSHIRE 

(Nottingham). St. Francis of 
Assisi. 

Mission established 1884. 

Rev. J. McCarthy, 1884. 

(Mission served from Cathe 
dral &c., 1889 et seq.) 
Frederick Begue, 1896. 
Emile Van Dale, 1897. 

(Served from West Bridgford. 

1900.) 

T. B. Birmingham, 1901 to 
date. 



LONG HORSELEY, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexham and Newcastle}. 
St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

This mission was served by the 
Jesuit Fathers for many years. 
Gorton in his Topographical Dic 
tionary says : Here is a strong 
ancient tower, which formerly 
belonged to the Horseleys, but is 
now (1833) converted into a Catholic 
chapel, with a house for the priest. 
It is a plain square building with a 
deer park adjoining it. In 1733 
the Hon. Mrs. Widdrington endowed 
the mission with .400, which sum 
was many years ago handed over 
by the Jesuits to the bishop of the 
district. In 1750 the following note 
was made by one of the Fathers of 
the Society which well expresses 
the concealment required during the 
existence of the penal laws : 

Horseley (Mr. Howe) no salary 
from the place, but 30 from the 
factory, and 5 to pay house rent. 
Customers to shop about one hun 
dred and twenty-five. Of my own 
gaining about ten. The shop 
and customers are of course the 
chapel and congregation, and the 
gaining the number of persons 
reconciled to the Church. 

A new Gothic church took the 
place of the tower-chapel in 1843. 
Confirmation was given here on 
Novernber8, 1891, for the first time 
in thirty-one years, when, strange 
to say, exactly thirty-one persons 
received that Sacrament, from the 
Bishop of Hexham and Newcastle. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. John Sharrock, 1824. 

N. Brown, 1835. 

W. Fletcher, 1837. 

James Hubbersty, 1848. 

J. Rogerson, 1854. 

Thos. Clavering, 1860. 

Robert Orrell, 1871. 

James Smits, 1885. 

W. Farmery, 1888. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



259 



Rev. Matthew C alley, 1892. 
George Dover, 1897. 
George Silvertop, 1899. 
Francis Kuyte, 1904 to date. 



LONGRIDGE, near PRESTON, 
LANGS (Salford). St. Wilfrid, 
Pitt Street. 

The mission was established, 
1869. By 1884 the congregation 
had become too large for the chapel. 
The main portion of the present 
church was opened Sunday, July 4, 
1886, by Bishop Vaughan, of Sal- 
ford. The cost of the completed 
portion was about 3,000 ; style, 
Early English ; seating capacity 
about 500. 

Priests. 

Eev. Charles Boardman, D.D., here 
in 1871. 

J. Wissink, 1895 to date. 



LONGTON, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Gregory. 

The mission was formerly known 
as Lane End. In 1819, through 
the exertions of Bishop Milner, a 
site was obtained and a good chapel 
erected for the benefit of the many 
Catholics of these parts. Before 
this time, the nearest chapel was at 
Caverswall Castle (q.v.). For some 
months after the opening, Longton 
was attended by Frs. Thomas 
Baddeley and William Wareing, but 
in 1820 Fr. Edw. Daniel was ap 
pointed resident priest. This zeal 
ous pastor built a school and pro 
vided the chapel with an organ. 
The chapel itself he enlarged in 
1834. In 1850 the building was 
enlarged by transepts added at the 
expense of Messrs. Hamilton and 
Moore, two members of the congre 
gation. The old chapel having long 



become inadequate for the largely 
increasing congregation, the pre 
sent church (140 ft. x 50 ft.) was 
erected, and opened by Bishop 
Ullathorne, July 20, 1869. His 
Lordship referred to the new struc 
ture as likely to prove a great 
boon to the poor Catholics in this 
dreary town of sin and mud. 

Eev. E. Daniel, 1820. 

James Massam, M.K., 1857. 
John Stringfellow, 1877 to 
date. 



LOSTOCK HALL, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Paulinus. 

The Hall, the ancient seat of the 
Anderton family, was built 1591, 
and enlarged 1702. James Ander 
ton (1557-1613) appears to have 
conformed to protestantism for a 
time, but later is said to have 
assisted his brother Koger in setting 
up a secret press at the Hall. 
Dingley, the apostate priest and 
informer, deposed to saying Mass 
at the Hall during 1592. Fr. Law 
rence Anderton, S.J., nephew of 
James, and author of the Liturgy 
of the Mass, Life of Luther, &c., 
laboured in the district for several 
years after 1610. The Hall was 
lost to the Andertons in 1716, 
owing to Francis Anderton, Esq., 
having espoused the cause of 
James III. (Prince James Francis 
Stuart). The mansion is now a ruin 
and has passed to the Blundells 
of Ince. The place, which was 
originally served by the Jesuits, 
was till quite recently included in 
the Brownedge Mission. In 1892 
a chapel was opened at Lostock 
and served from St. Mary s till it 
became an independent mission 
under Dom Francis Turner, O.S.B., 
in 1902. Fr. Turner, by dint of 
s2 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



much labour, raised 450 and so 
reduced the heavy debt on the 
mission. He died at Ampleforth, 
December 2, 1905. 

Priests at LostocTt. 
Rev. Henry Holland, S.J., 1610- 
1643. Was tried and con 
demned for his priesthood 
1648, but ultimately 
banished. Died at Liege, 
1656. 

John Turberville, 1700. The 
district in modern times 
included in the St. Mary s, 
Brownedge mission. A 
chapel opened at Lostock 
1901 and served from the 
former place 1891-1902. 
,, Dom Francis Ambrose Turner, 
O.S.B., appointed priest 
1902. Died 1905. 



LOUGHBOROUGH, LEICESTER 
SHIRE (Nottingham). St. Mary. 

The opening of the Catholic 
chapel at Loughborough through 
the exertions of the Rev. B. Hulme 
in December 1835, was made the 
subject of a furious anti-Catholic 
Address in the Times which, 
however, was ably answered by a 
* Counter Address in the then : 
widely circulated Andrews Weekly 
Orthodox Journal (March 8, 1836). ; 
The Brothers of Charity opened j 
their college in the town on the : 
feast of the Presentation 1844, 
when the ceremony was marked by 
a grand Catholic procession. The 
famous Fr. Gentili preached at the I 
High Mass. In May 1881, Bishop j 
Riddell, of Northampton, confirmed I 
eighty-three "persons in the church. 

Priests. 
Rev. B. Hulme, 1835. 

Norbert Woolfrey, 1840, 

Dr. Pagani, 1842. 

Dr, Gentili, 1844. 



Rev. A. Rinolfi, 1846. 

,, Bartholomew Crosbie, 1848. 

Andrew Egan, 1851. 

Andrew McGuire, here in 1888 



and to date. 



LOUTH, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Mary. 

This mission is one of consider 
able antiquity. Fr. R. Stuthard suc 
ceeded Fr. Fromont here 1795, and 
remained till January 1806, when 
Fr. F. Martyn was appointed. The 
Abbe L. Bertrand was incumbent 
in 1824 and till 1831. The mission 
was marked vacant 1832, but by 
1833 Fr. H. Hall had been ap 
pointed. This worthy priest was 
rector of the mission till after 1875. 
The church in Upgate was altered 
and redecorated in August and Sep 
tember 1882, the chancel roof being 
adorned with emblems of the 
Passion, and the north wall deco 
rated by a full-length picture of St. 
Hugh of Lincoln. Fr. A. Rowley 
was rector in 1883, and to date 
(1904). 



LOWER EDMONTON, HERTS 

(Westminster). Church of the 
Most Precious Blood. 

The mission was opened in the 
summer of 1903, Fr. Mac Mullen 
being the first priest. 



LOWESTOFT, SUFFOLK (North 
ampton). Our Lady Star of the 
Sea. 

In August 1881, Mass was said 
in a house in Upper Raglan Street 
by a priest from Yarmouth. Fr. 
Geoffrey Brennan was the first 
resident missioner, 1882-84. His 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



261 



successor, Fr. Alex. Scott, pur 
chased a site in the Gordon Eoad, 
and the first stone of the new build 
ing was laid by Bishop Eiddell, 
August 23, 1900. The structure, 
which accommodates about six hun 
dred, was opened in the course of 
1902. The cost of erection or a 
considerable portion of it was 
defrayed by an anonymous bene 
factor. 



LOWICK, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Edward. 

The mission was established here, 
1862, in a temporary chapel, served 
every alternate Sunday from St. 
Ninian s, Wooler. 

Priests. 
Eev. C. Dunn, 1863. 

Jeremiah Connolly, 1873. 

James Stark, 1877. 

Joseph Wilhelm, 1882. 

C. Hergenroether, 1885. 

Edward Eigby, 1888. 

Alex. Gerry, 1901 to date. 



LULWORTH CASTLE, DORSET 

(Plymouth). St. Mary. 

The ancestral seat of the Weld 
family. A chaplain has been main 
tained here since 1641, when Hum 
phrey Weld, Esq., of Holdwell, 
bought the estate. St. Mary s 
Chapel was erected in 1786. The 
style is Classical. King George III. 
and his consort, Queen Charlotte, 
visited the Castle in 1789, when his 
Majesty began that warm friendship 
for the Weld family which has be 
come one of the matters of history. 
In 1790 Fr. James Carroll was con 
secrated first Bishop of Baltimore, 
U.S.A., in the chapel of Lulworth 
Castle (August 15, 1790). Thomas 



(afterwards Cardinal) Weld (1773- 
1837) was one of the acolytes on 
this occasion. The consecrating pre 
late was Bishop Walmesley, V.A. 
of the Western District. The Trap- 
pist monks of Mount Melleraye 
occupied a house at Lulworth from 
about 1794 till 1815, when they re 
turned to France. Owing to the 
recent expulsion of the French 
religious orders, the Fathers have 
again settled in England, at Kings- 
bridge, Devon (q.v.). 



LUTON, BEDFORDSHIRE (North 
ampton). Our Lady Help of 
Christians. 

For several years Luton was 
served on Sundays from Bedford. 
In December 1883, the Bishop of 
Northampton secured a house in 
Eothsay Eoad as temporary presby 
tery and chapel. In January 1884, 
Fr. Joseph O Connor was appointed 
to the mission as resident priest. In 
1892 Fr. John Hy. Ashmole became 
rector. Fr. Hy. O Connor is the 
present incumbent. 



LUTTERWORTH, LEICESTER. 
SHIRE (Nottingham). Our Lady 
of Victories and St. Alphonsus. 

The mission is described as being 
started by Fr. Martin, chaplain to 
Lord Denbigh, 1874, and for some 
time was served from Monks Kirby. 
After this Fr. Hazeland, chaplain to 
Lord Braye, and the present incum 
bent, fitted up a temporary chapel 
near the Denbigh Arms Hotel. Tho 
site of the present church was pre 
sented by Lord Denbigh, who also 
gave 200 towards the cost of build 
ing (1,200). The opening, by the 
Bishop of Nottingham, took place in 
August 1881. 



262 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



LYDD, KENT (Southwark). 

An ancient town near Romney. 
It is famous of late years for its 
artillery range and also for the 
fearful explosive lyddite which was 
first experimented upon here. The 
chapel of wood and iron, dedicated 
to St. Martin of Tours, was erected 
in 1890 for the accommodation of 
the many Catholic soldiers of the 
garrison. It was long served by 
the Rev. E. St. John of St. George s 
Cathedral, but since 1898 the 
Canons Regular of St. Augustine 
have been in charge of the mission. 



LYDIATE, near LIVERPOOL, 
LANCS (Liverpool). Our Lady. 

The foundation of the new church 
of Our Lady was laid on the Thurs 
day of Easter week 1854 by Francis 
Weld Blundell, Esq., of Ince Blun- 
dell Hall, who generously presented 
the site. The endowment of the 
church was left in the form of be 
quest by Charles Robt. Blundell, 
Esq. The church designed by 
J. Scoles is provided with a tower 
and steeple. The building was 
opened in 1854. The schools were 
erected 1862, and enlarged 1887. The 
church was consecrated October 11, 
1892. Lydiate Hall, in the parish 
of Halsall, is situated about ten 
miles from Liverpool, on the South- 
port Road. It was built between 
1451 and 1485, and subsequently 
came into the possession of the 
Andertons, and after them the 
Blundells. The old chapel was 
disused after the opening of the 
church in 1854. During some altera 
tions made in the place in 1841 a 
secret hiding-place behind a sliding 
panel was discovered by a work 
man. An old pewter chalice and 
paten are still preserved at the Hall. 
This species of altar plate was per 



mitted during the penal times as 
less likely to attract the cupidity of 
pursuivants. The priests at Lydiate 
for nearly two centuries were Jesuits. 
Some of them were as follows : 
F. Waldegrave, cousin or brother 
of Lord Waldegrave (flTOl) ; J. 
Draper (fl703); Rev. J. Mostyn 
(tl721); J. Blackbourne (t!728). 
The mission of Lydiate was made 
over to the Bishop of Liverpool by 
the Society of Jesus in 1860. Fr. 
Thos. S. Gibson was the first priest 
appointed after the transference. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Gibson, 1860. 

Wm. Johnson, 1879. 

Edward Powell, 1885. 

5 , John Hanly, here in 1904. 



LYME REGIS, DORSET (Ply- 
mouth}. St. George. 

The church was built 1835-37 
during the rectorate of Fr. C. 
Fisher. E.Goodridge was the archi 
tect. Fr. William Vaughan, after 
wards Bishop of Plymouth (1855- 
1902), completed the church and 
built the presbytery. The Lady 
chapel, described as a bijou, was 
finished 1851. The style of the 
church is Gothic. In 1882 the 
whole interior of the edifice was 
completely transformed by Messrs. 
Westlake & Co. The high altar 
was lighted by a handsome stained- 
glass window, the gift of a vener 
able member of the congregation. 
Some idea of the growth of Catho 
licity in Lyme Regis over sixty 
years ago may be gathered from 
the early confirmation returns. In 
1836 it was ten, and in 1849 twenty- 
three. Fr. J. Hurst, founder of 
Sedgley Park School, is said to 
have been here in 1771, but pro 
bably only as a visitor, as prior to 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



263 



1830 the few Catholics of the dis 
trict were in the habit of attending 
Axminster for prayers. 

Priests. 
Kev. Chas. Fisher, 1835. 

W. Swarbrick, 1837. 

Wm. Vaughan, 1840. 

W. Agar, 1845. 

J. Conolly, 1854. 

Joseph Bunn, 1855. 

Joseph O Dwyer, 1857. 

James Canon Dawson, 1860. 

Eichard Meagar, 1863. 

Wm. Walsh, 1867. 

W. Downing, here 1871. 

L. Croutelle, 1882 to date. 



LYMINGTON, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). Our Lady of Mercy and 
St. Joseph. 

The mission was established in 
1800, mainly, it appears, for the 
benefit of the many French emi 
grants who settled in and around 
this old seaport town at the time 
of the Revolution. The chapel was 
at Pylewell House, the residence 
of a branch of the Weld family of 
Lulworth Castle. The old chapel 
was superseded by the present 
church, opened May 18, 1859. The 
Pylewell property afterwards passed 
to Wm. Ingham Whitaker, Esq., the 
millionaire. The baptismal registers 
date from about 1803. 

Priests since 1800. 
Eev. J. Blot, 1800. 
John Alleway, . 

Thos. Tilbury, 1807. 

Abbe Le Tcllier, 1809. 

John Brown, . 

John Leadbetter, . 

Wm. Waterton, S.J., 1823. 

Richard Norris, S.J., 1824. 

J. Leadbetter, 1827. 

W. Waterton, 1833. 

J. Clough, 1841. 

Wm. O Brien, 1846, 



Rev. Ralph Cooper, 1853. 
Joseph Holden, 1856. 
Jn. Milner, 1858. 
Patrick O Connell, 1866. 
Cuthbert Winder, 1904 to 
date. 



LYNDHUEST, HANTS (Ports 
mouth) . Our Lady of the Assump 
tion. 

In November 1886, Fr. P. O Con 
nell, of Lyrnington, established a 
chapel at Wellands Hall where 
Mass might be said on Sundays. 
In this work he was ably seconded 
by Mr. J. Maxwell, the well-known 
publisher. According to one account 
there have long been a number of 
Catholics in the vicinity. The new 
church, capable of accommodating 
about one hundred persons, was 
| built at the expense of M. Edward 
: de Souberbielle in memory of his 
i wife Marie Louise. The style is 
1 of the eleventh and twelfth cen- 
| turies ; the architect was Sir 
Arthur Blomfield. The building, 
| a gem of its kind, was consecrated 
I by the Bishop of Portsmouth 
July 28, 1896. 



LYNFOED, NOBFOLK (North 
ampton). Our Lady of Consolation 
and St. Stephen. 

This church, erected by the 
pious munificence of Mrs. Lyne- 
Stephens, was commenced in 1878 
and consecrated Tuesday, October 7, 
1884, by the Bishop of Northampton, 
Dr. Biddell. 

Priests. 

Rev. Michael Canon Dwane, 188J 
and to date. 



264 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



LYNMOUTH, DEVON. 

Prospect House was opened as 
a convent of the Poor Clare nuns 
August 1904. Rev. Anatole Durand, 
O.F.M., is the chaplain. 



LYNN, NORFOLK (Northampton). 
St. Mary s. 

The mission was founded in 1810 
by the Abbe P. Dacheux, an emigre. 
At his death, May 12, 1843, aged 
eighty-three, he left his property to 
the poor of the district. Two years 
later (May 8, 1845) the present 
church was opened by Bishop 
Waremg. Only the chancel and 
nave (costing 650) were complete 
at this time ; the rest was added 
later. The fine east window was 
designed by Wailes. In 1847 the 
congregation presented the rector, 
Fr. Dallas, with a silver chalice of 
antique pattern for the use of the 
mission. 

Priests. 
Eev. Abbe P. Dacheux, 1810. 

John Dalton, 1843. 

Geo. Canon Rigby, 1847. 

T. McDonald, 1860. 

Wm. Poole, 1863. 

Andrew Walshe, 1866. 

Stodart Macdonald, 1877. 

Geo. Wrigglesworth, 1888. 

Chas. Eeles, 1901 to date. 



LYNTON, NORTH DEVON (Ply. 
mouth). 

A recently established mission 
served from Lynmouth, 



LYTHAM, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Peter. 

The handsome church was re 
opened after redecoration, Sunday, 
September 9, 1888. The Lady and 
St. Joseph chapels were adorned 
after the Gothic style, and the entire 
church wainscoted in oak. New 
stations of the Cross and an oak 
pulpit were given by the congrega 
tion. Mass was formerly said at 
Clifton Hall, where a regular chapel 
was built 1764 and used till 1800. 
A tithe -barn was then fitted up for 
worship, and used till the opening 
of the church in 1839. The tower 
was added in 1878 by the late Jn. 
Talbot Clifton, Esq., who also pre 
sented the present rectory. The 
church was newly benched in 1893, 
and a peal of bells hung 1894. The 
congregation is about 1,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. W. Westby, 1712. 

C. Burton, S.J., 1740. 

Mansell, S.J., 1750. 

Blacow, O.S.B., 1790. 
- Pope, O.S.B., 1802. 

Thos. Dawson, 1804. 
Jos. Walmesley, 1829. 
Roger Taylor, 1873. 
James Canon Taylor, 1885. 



M 



MACCLESFIELD, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). St. Alban s. 

From 1716 till the apostasy of 
Viscount Fauconberg in 1732, Mass 
was said at his residence of Sutton 
Hall. After this time a chapel 
was opened at Lane Ends. In 
1792, a larger chapel was erected 
at Blackwall Gate. Another and 
still larger chapel, dedicated to 
St. Michael, was built in Chester 
Road 1810, a room partitioned off 
serving as the priest s residence ! 
Fr. J. Hall, D.D., came here in 
1821, at which time the congrega 
tion numbered about 300. He did 
much for the Catholicity of the 
place, and also attended one or two 
other missions besides. In 1839 
he commenced the present fine ex 
ample of an old English parochial 
church, designed by Pugin, and 
opened in May 1841. The splendid 
east window was the gift of the 
Earl of Shrewsbury. A Catholic 
cemetery was blessed in 1866. 

Priests. 
Eev. Edw. Kenyon, 1792. 

Abbe Louis Robin, 1796 (?). 
J. Provost Hall, D.D., 1821. 

Hy. Alcock, 1857. 

Wm. Walton, 1858. 

Geo. Clegg, 1862. 

M. Rogerson, 1863. 

Hy. Canon Walker, 1872. 

Ja s. Robinson, 1889. 



MAGHALL, LIVEEPOOL (Liver 
pool). St. George. 

The mission was founded in 
1887, and was served from the 
Bishops House till 1892, when 
Canon Charles Green was ap 
pointed rector. He was succeeded 
by the present incumbent, Fr. Wni. 
Dennet, in 1902. 



MAIDENHEAD, BERKS (Ports 
mouth). St. Joseph, Marketplace. 

The mission was started in 1867 
by Fr. J. C. Robertson, who opened 
a temporary chapel in St. Ives 
Place. In March 1879, a fine site 
was procured for 1,116, and in 
August 1884 the first stone was 
laid. The church is cruciform, of 
flint and brick. The style is of the 
Transition period. The cost of the 
building was 1,500. Fr. J. Scan- 
nell was the priest at the time the 
new church was built. The build 
ing was opened in December 1884. 

Eecent Priests. 
Rev. Jn. Watson, here in 1891. 

Louis Canon Hall, 1893. 

Jn. Watson, here (second time) 
1897. 

P. Curtin, 1903 to date. 



266 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



MAIDEN LANE, STRAND, LON 
DON, W.C. (Westminster). 

The Church of Corpus Christi 
was commenced August 1874 by 
the late Canon Keens. The site of 
the building is on that of the Cyder 
Cellars music-hall, made famous 
by Thackeray and Sam Hall s grue 
some song. The building, which 
is of red brick and Gothic in style, 
was opened by Cardinal Manning 
in 1875. Present rector, Fr. Jn. 
Subra. 

MAIDSTONE, KENT (Southward}. 
St. Francis of Assisi. 

At the initiation of Bishop Grant 
a mission was opened here in 1859, 
Mass being said in a poor dwelling- 
house in an obscure street. A large 
mansion, known as Grove House, 
was purchased in 1860, where a 
temporary chapel was fitted up. 
The schools, designed by E. W. 
Pugin, were opened by Bishop 
Grant in March 1863. On Octo 
ber 4, 1880, the present church, 
designed by C. Wray, was opened 
by Bishop Danell. The style is Geo 
metric Gothic ; dimensions, 60 ft. 
by 40 ft. 

Priests. 
Eev. E. Emanuele, 1859. 

James Purdon, 1866. 

A. Cumberlege, 1869. 

M. Duggan, 1877. 

J. Warner, 1885. 

James Duggan. 1893. 

Geo. Le Bosquet, 1899 to date. 



MALDON, ESSEX (Westminster). 
Our Lady. 

The mission was commenced in 
1890, and served on Sundays from 
Witham till 1901. The first chapel 
(temporary) was in Silver Street, 
and was replaced by the present 
one in the Victoria Eoad 1898. 
Catholic population about seventy. 



Priests. 

Rev. M. Fitzpatrick. 
A. Fortescue, D.D. 

MALMESBURY, WILTS (Clifton). 
St. Aldhelm, Cross Hays. 

The mission was started in 1867, 
with just means sufficient to sup 
port the missionary priest-in-charge 
and a lay brother. In 1868, a 
school was opened; the attendance 
in 1880 was about fifty. The church, 
a Gothic stone -faced brick struc 
ture, was built in 1875. Fr. F. 
Larive, of the Congregation of St. 
Francis of Sales, who was priest 
here in 1881, did much to spread 
the Faith in and around Malmes- 
bury. The wealthy silk manufac 
turer, Mr. Davenport, a good 
Catholic proprietor, was a great 
benefactor to the mission. Fr. F. 
Decompoix, here since 1891, is the 
present rector. 

MALTON, YORKS (Middles 
brough). St. Mary. 

Fr. John Taylor, S.J., who la 
boured in the Yorkshire district, 
was arrested here June 7, 1642, 
and in March following was in 
dicted at the York assizes for his 
priesthood. He was sentenced to 
death, but subsequently released. 
After a long life spent on the mis 
sion he died in Hampshire 1675. 
The present mission dates from 
1837, in which year the chapel was 
built. 

Priests. 
Eev. Eobert Garstang, 1837. 

Thos. Middlehurst, 1851. 

Stephen AVells, 1857. 

,, Thos. Middlehurst (second 
time), 1860. 

,, James Eedding, 1881. 

Patrick Clarke, 1885. 

Wm. Murray, 1888. 

James Coghlan, 1890, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



267 



Eev. Edmund Hickey, 1893. 

Augustine D Hooghe, 1902 to 
date. 

MALVEKN, GREAT (Birming 
ham). St. Joseph s. 

The church, in the Early English 
style, was opened October 26, 1876. 
The site was given by Mr. Hornyold, 
of Blackmore Park ; T. E. Donelly, 
architect. Although so compara 
tively long established, the church 
is still served from the Benedictine 
monastery at Great Malvern. 



MALVERN, GREAT, WORCESTER 
SHIRE. Our Lady and St. Edmund. 

The Benedictine monastery was 
established here in 1891, but by 
1904 the chapel had become so 
dilapidated that it was resolved to 
erect a new church. The founda 
tion stone of the building was laid 
Tuesday, September 6, 1904, by the 
Bishop of Birmingham. A statue 
of St. Edmund, king and martyr, 
the secondary patron, stands on a 
niche to the left of the porch. The 
seating accommodation is for about 
300. This church was one of the 
last designed by the late Peter 
Paul Pugin, K.S.G. The opening 
took place in the summer of 1905. 

The mission of Great Malvern 
was established in 1871 by Fr. 
Henry Bernard Bulbeck at Aldwyri 
Tower. He died in 1901. 



MANCHESTER, LANCASHIRE 

(Salford). St. Alban s, Fawcett 
Street, Ancoats. 

The first chapel was opened 
November 15, 1863, the present 
church in 1878. Before the erec 
tion of a separate mission the dis 
trict was served from St. Anne s. 

Priests. 
llev, John Gornall, 1863, 



Eev. P. Hennebery, 1884. 
F. Timony, 1888 to date. 



MANCHESTER. St. Aloysius. 

As the congregation, between 
four and five hundred in number, 
was leaving the church after the 
last Mass on Sunday, October 2, 
1880, the floor gave way, with 
the result that one person was 
killed and six injured. The acci 
dent was caused by a subsidence of 
the foundations. The new church, 
in Park Place, Ardwick Green, was 
opened March 15, 1884, by Bishop 
Vaughan, of Salford. The building 
is Gothic and cruciform. The ac 
commodation is for 800, the cost 
of the building, of which Mr. 
Healy, of Manchester, was the archi 
tect, being about 3,200. Fr. J. 
M. O Callaghan was priest at the 
time the church was built. The 
mission was established 1852, and 
for some years was served from St. 
Augustine s. 



MANCHESTER. St. Anne s. 

The church was opened August 
31, 1847, and completed June 7, 
1848. The first priest of the mis 
sion was Fr. Geo. Green, afterwards 
Catholic chaplain at Dartmoor 
Prison for many years. The 
church debt was greatly reduced 
(5,000 to 2,000) by Canon Lip- 
trott, who also made several valu 
able additions to the schools and 
presbytery. Congregation about 
6,000 (1906). 

Priests. 
Eev. Geo. Green, 1847. 

Thos. Allen, 1855. 

Peter Canon Liptrott, 1865. 

,, M. Buckley (administrator), 
1894. 

,, Lionel Canon O Kelly, 1895 to 
date. 



268 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



MANCHESTER. St. Augustine s. 

The old church was built 1818- 
1820 at the suggestion of Fr. 
Broomhead. The site was in 
Granby Kow. The ground was 
recently acquired by the Corpora 
tion for 39,000. The present 
church in York Street was opened 
by the Bishop of Salford, Septem 
ber 8, 1896. See under St. Chad s. 



MANCHESTER. St. Bridget, Mill 
Street, Bradford. 

When, in 1877, it became neces 
sary to establish a mission for the 
largely increasing Catholic popula 
tion here, a site was obtained by 
the late Canon Liptrott, of St. 
Anne s, Manchester, from Townley- 
Parker, Esq., upon which a school 
chapel was erected at a cost of 
2,000. The building was opened 
in 1879, and by 1880 the district 
served by it had become an inde 
pendent mission. The estimated 
congregation is over 4,000 (1906). 
An iron church took the place of 
the chapel in the school May 18, 
1884. 

Priests. 
Rev. Wm. Sassen, 1880 to date. 



MANCHESTER. St. Chad s. 

Catholics are said to have been 
very numerous in Manchester dur 
ing the seventeenth and eighteenth 
centuries, but on account of the 
laws numbers were compelled to 
disguise their religion. Chapels 
near the town existed at Crumpsall 
Hall, Trafford, &c., and Catholics 
were frequently visited in their 
own homes by peripatetic priests. 
No records of baptisms were kept 
till about 1772, when they num 
bered seventy. In 1781, the Catholic 
population was reckoned at 1,100. 
Fr, Rowland Broomhead, an 



alumnus of Sedgley Park and the 
English College, Rome, who came 
to Manchester in 1778, made the 
old religion a power. The priests 
immediately before him were Fr. 
Edw. Helme (died 1773) and Fr. 
Orrell, who in 1776 built the old 
St. Chad s Chapel in Rook Street. 
This place of worship supplanted an 
older chapel down a passage known 
as Roman Entry. After sixteen 
years labour Fr. Broomhead found 
it necessary to erect another chapel 
(St. Mary s) in Mulberry Street. 
A third, St. Augustine s, was con 
secrated a few days before his 
death in 1820, at which time the 
Catholic population had risen from 
1,000 in 1778 to over 40,000! 
The old St. Chad s, in Rook 
Street, was sold in February 1846, 
and the foundations of the new 
church commenced in York Street, 
Cheetham, the following April. 
The building was opened by Bishop 
Browne, August 4, 1847, upon which 
occasion a relic cf St. Chad was 
presented to the church by Bishop 
(afterwards Cardinal) Wiseman. 



MANCHESTER. St. Edward, 
Rusholme. 

The church was opened in 
December 1861. Style, Early Eng 
lish, from design by A. W. Pugin ; 
size, 90 ft. by 44ft. ; cost of erection, 
about 3,000. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Fox, 1861. 

Peter Vermeulen, 1874. 

Cornelius Vcrvoort, 1877. 

Tlios. Croskell, 1879 and to 
date. 



MANCHESTER. St. Francis of 
Assisi, Gorton. 

The Franciscan Recollect Fathers 
established a mission here in 1862, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



269 



the first church being opened Octo 
ber 4, 1863, and the present struc 
ture September 26, 1872. Fr. F. 
Verhaegen was the first Guardian. 



MANCHESTER. The Holy Name. 
The mission was founded 1867 
by Fr. Thos. Porter, SJ. The 
church \vas built out of a legacy 
loft by Miss Harriet Walton, of 
Worcester. A splendid Chapel 
of the Sacred Heart was added to 
the church May 1888. The altar- 
piece represents the vision of Our 
Saviour to the Blessed Margaret 
Mary. 

Priests. 
Kev. Thos. Porter, 1867. 

Henry Birch, 1871. 

Wm. Lawson, 1877. 

Joseph Jackson, 1885. 

Bernard Vaughan, 1888. 

Thos. Brown, 1902 to date. 



MANCHESTER. St. Mary s, Mul 
berry Street. 

The old chapel, as has been 
already mentioned, was erected by 
Fr. R. Broomhead, and was opened 
November 30, 1794. The fabric 
was built by subscriptions from 
Catholics and Protestants, the 
annual ground rent, payable to Jn. 
Leaf, Esq., being 49 10s. Fr. H. 
Gillow, rector 1821-37 is said to 
have been the last priest in Man 
chester to wear hair powder, knee 
breeches, and silver buckles. The 
old chapel, having long become in 
adequate, was replaced by the pre 
sent Gothic church, opened by 
Bishop Brown October 19, 1848. 

Priests. 
Rev. E. Kenyon, 1794-1816. 

Henry Gillow, 1821-37. 

J. Billington, 1837. 

Jas. Boardman, 1844. 

Mathias Canon Formby, 1846. 



Rev Jn. Newton, 1863. 

John Burke, M.R., 1884. 
Edward O Dwyer, 1888. 
Thos. Buckley, 1897. 
Thos. Walsh, 1898 to date. 



MANCHESTER. St. Michael s. 

The church (style Early English), 
for 1,000, was opened August 1, 
1869. Wm. Nicholson, Esq., was 
the architect. The sanctuary is 
lighted by a fine east window re 
presenting the Crucifixion. Until 
the opening of the church the 
mission was served by a temporary 
chapel, opened July 1859. 

Priests. 
Mission served from St. Patrick s 

from 1859 till after 1875. 
Rev. Henry Hill, 1877. 

John Bramer, 1882. 

Thos. Canon Byrne, 1888 and 
to date. 

MANCHESTER. St. Patrick s, 
Livesey Street. 

The church was opened Feb 
ruary 29, 1832, by Bishop Pens- 
wick, V.A. The style is Grecian 
and cruciform. In 1846, much 
scandal was caused by the affair of 
Fr. Daniel Hearne, the rector. 
This priest did not get on well 
with his curates, and to prevent 
further difficulty Bishop Brown 
replaced him by Fr. (afterwards 
Bishop) Roskell. The largely Irish 
congregation made a great disturb 
ance at this, denouncing the 
Bishop and English clergy, and 
even brawling in the church during 
service time ! Thanks to the inter 
vention of Frs . Gentili and Fur 
long, the deplorable state of things 
ended November 12, 1846. Fr. 
Hearne died on the mission in the 
United States some time after 1851. 
In 1854, the mission had two 
flourishing elementary schools, with 



270 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



an average attendance of 900 
pupils. The Sunday -school attend 
ance was upwards of 1,000. 

Priests after Fr. Roskell. 
Rev. Edmund Cantwell, 1851 to 

after 1875. 

,, Bishop Vaughan (administra 
tor), 1877. 
,, D. Forbes (administrator, 

1891). 

J. Canon Mussely (rector), 
1894 and to date. 



MANCHESTER. St. William. 

This chapel is in Simpson Street, 
close to Rochdale Road. The style 
is plain Gothic, and the building 
will accommodate about 750. The 
cost, 1,200, was almost entirely 
contributed by the congregation of 
St. Chad s. The architect of the 
chapel opened in December 1865 
was Mr. E. Tijou. The mission 
was served from St. Chad s till 
1895, and again from 1903-5. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Thomson, 1895. 

M. Holohan, 1899. 



MAPLEDURHAM, OXON. (Bir 
mingham). St. Michael. 

The place is associated with the 
ancestral seat of the ancient Catho 
lic family of Blount, who have 
been resident here since 1489. Fr. 
Richard Blount, first Provincial of 
the Jesuits in England, 1623, was a 
member of this family, which has 
given several members to the 
Society. Mapledurham was one of 
the places served by the Jesuit 
Fathers of the Oxford Circuit of 
St. Mary, but the records, if exist 
ing, are now lost to memory. 
The house, like all those of the re 
cusants, has a good specimen of 
a priests hiding-place. In the 
eighteenth century Mapledurham 



would appear to have been served 
for some time by Franciscans. It 
is mentioned in the correspondence 
! of Fr. Felix Englefield, O.S.F. 
(died 1767), and in 1758 Fr. Ed 
ward Madew was resident here. 
In 1766 Mrs. Mary Blount, of 
Mapledurham, gave a donation of 
i 30 to the Order for anniversary 
| and other Masses. The mission is 
I at present served from Reading. 



MARGATE (Southward}. SS. 
Austin and Gregory, Victoria Road. 

From the time of James II. to 
the close of the eighteenth century, 
the few Catholics in Margate and 
Ramsgate had to resort to the. 
ancient mansion of the Hales 
family, near Canterbury, for the 
ordinances and sacraments of the 
Church. About 1793, the wealthy 
Lancashire Catholic family of 
Gillow had Mass said privately 
for them by their chaplain in a 
small building in Prospect Place. 
In 1800, Bishop Douglass, aided by 
Mr. Kebbel- White, bought the site 
of a chapel, which was erected in 
Prospect Place 1801-4. The ex 
ternal appearance was very much 
like a Methodist meeting-house. 
The chapel was 70 ft. long by 20 ft. 
wide, with a gallery at one end, 
and was capable of seating 250 
persons. The first baptism is re 
corded March 9, 1823. The Abbe 
Francois Bellisant, an emigre, was 
the first resident priest (1804-8). 
He afterwards became chaplain to 
the Benedictine nuns at Hammer 
smith. Fr. Joseph Anson suc 
ceeded him. He was followed by 
Fr. J. Costigan, from Webb Street, 
Bermondsey. From 1803-21 the 
baptisms at Margate numbered 
129 ; from 1822-37, 130. The old 
chapel in later times was adorned 
with a stone font presented by 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



271 



Pugin and a copy of Guido s pic 
ture of the Crucifixion. 1 This pic 
ture was rescued from the old 
chapel of Moorfields when it was 
burnt by the Gordon rioters in 
1780. Fr. Costigan opened a small 
school shortly after his arrival, but 
owing to lack of funds it had to be 
soon closed. Upon his arrival, Fr. 
Costigan found himself the only 
priest upon the coast of Kent. He 
had in consequence to visit from 
time to time such remote districts 
as St. Leonards and Hastings. He 
sometimes celebrated Mass at Eye, 
Eomney, Deal, Hythe, and Dover, 
for such scattered congregations as 
he could collect. Once when going j 
on a sick call a great distance off, ; 
Dr. Phillpotts, protestant Bishop of \ 
Exeter, kindly drove him to his ! 
destination in his coach, and, the I 
evening being very stormy, the i 
great Duke of Wellington put him j 
up for the night at Walmer Castle. 
In 1860, Fr. H. Whiteside, O.S.B., i 
of Kamsgate, who had succeeded j 
Fr. Costigan after his retirement 
in 1856, started a day school for 
children in his own house. In 
three years the number increased 
to forty, and in 1863 a school-house 
was erected on a piece of ground 
adjoining the church. In June 
1866, the church was reopened by 
Bishop Grant, after having under 
gone much-needed repair. In 1878 
what was practically a new church 
was opened at Eamsgate by exten 
sive additions to the old building. 
A new pulpit of Caen stone was 

1 During the French Revolution, a ship 
freighted with sacred pictures and 
church stuff was wrecked off the coast 
of Kent, and such portions of the cargo 
as got ashore were sold by auction. 
Hence, half a century ago, good copies 
of religious pictures were common in 
the neighbourhood of Ramsgate, Deal, 
Sandwich, &c. 



presented in October 1882, and in 
November 1884 a fine new altar 
was erected in the church by Cap 
tain Chambers, British consul at 
Guayaquil. Finally in August 
1891 a new side chapel was built 
in honour of St. Joseph. Fr. T. 
Elphege Power, O.S.B., is the pre 
sent rector. 



MARK CROSS, near TUNBRIDGE 
WELLS, SUSSEX (Southwarlc). 

The Holy Trinity. 

The convent boarding school of 
the Holy Child Jesus nuns, a fine 
Gothic structure designed by A. W. 
Pugin, was erected and partially 
endowed by the late Dowager 
Duchess of Leeds, 1866. The en 
dowment is mainly for the main 
tenance of a certain number of 
orphans of a superior class who 
hold the same status as the foun 
dation scholars at the public 
schools. The church a handsome 
Decorated Gothic structure was 
completed 1875, and is open to the 
public. Accommodation for about 
250. 

Priests. 

Eev. J. Baron, S.J., 1866. 
T. Maher, 1874. 
John Warner, 1877. 

Michael Cotter, 1885. 

Charles Stapley, 1888. 

C. Ellison, 1891. 

Vincent Placid Wray, O.S.B., 
1893. 

James Duggan, 1900. 

A. Wright, 1906 to date. 



MARKET DRAYTON, SALOP 

(Shrewsbury). SS. Thomas and 
Stephen. 

The mission was founded from 
Whitchurch in 1857. The new 
church was opened by Bishop 



272 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Knight, of Shrewsbury, in November 
1886, the cost of the building being 
defrayed by Egerton Harding, 
Esq., of Old Springs. Mr. Edmund 
Kir by, of Liverpool, was the archi 
tect. The style is Early English. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jas. Kenny, 1857. 

H. Walker, 1858. 

J. Robinson, 18(54. 

L. Levett, 1884 (first resident 
priest). 

D. Williams, 1890. 

H. Lynch, 1894. 



MARKET HARBOROUGH, LEI 
CESTERSHIRE (Nottingham). Our 
Lady of Victories. 

The mission was started in 1859, 
being served from Leicester once a 
fortnight. By 1874, a temporary 
chapel had been erected and placed 
under the care of Fr. Richard 
Vandepitte, during whose rectorate 
the present church was built. As 
late as 1893, the presbytery was 
miserably furnished, the schools 
were not recognised by Govern 
ment, and had only eighteen 
children. By 1897, things had 
greatly altered for the better. The 
schools had an average attendance 
of fifty-two and were under inspec 
tion, while the attendance at Mass 
on Sundays had risen from thirty or 
forty to nearly a hundred. The total 
number of the congregation was 
then about 300. 

Priests. 
Rev. Fr. R. Vandepitte, 1873. 

Fr. H. Kavanagh, 1893. 

N.B. A considerable portion of 
the church and school building 
fund ( D 700) was bequeathed by the 
Abbe Malvoisin, who died 1847. 
He was chaplain to the Nevilles of 
Holt. 



MARKET RASEN, LINGS 

(Nottingham). Holy Rood. 

The place was occasionally 
visited by Fr. Johnson, S.J., prior 
to the year 1782. In that year, 
Fr. Richard Knight, chaplain at 
Kingerby, built a commodious 
edifice at Market Rasen which 
served both for chapel and 
presbytery. Fr. James Lesley was 
here till 1793, and the Abbe 
Allaine from this latter 3^ear till 
1798. Fr. W. Brewster, the last 
of the Carmelite Order in England, 
served the mission from this last 
date till 1848. This worthy priest, 
aided by some of the congregation, 
erected the present chapel, opened 
September 14, 1824. On retiring 
from the mission, Fr. Brewster re 
sided at an adjacent cottage till his 
death in 1849, aged seventy-nine. 
When Bishop Roskell visited the 
place in 1849, the mission was in 
a very flourishing condition, with 
schools, efficient choir, &c. New 
north and south aisles were opened 
in September 1868, the church being 
remodelled after the style of 
twelfth-century Gothic by Messrs. 
Hadfield. The Young family of 
Kingerby, an ancient Catholic 
stock, have been great benefactors 
to the mission. The 122nd anni 
versary of the establishment of the 
mission was celebrated Sunday, 
September 18, 1904. 

Priests since 1848. 
Rev. James Walker, 1848. 
Thos. Clarke, 1851. 
Thos. Canon Sing, 1860. 
Algernon Moore, here 1871. 
James Canon Dwyer, 1876. 
Francis Hays, 1901 to date. 



MARNHULL, DORSET (Ply. 
moutli). 

The Hussey family purchased 
the manor of Marnhull and 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



273 



established the mission 1651. The 
priest of the place resided either 
there or at Stour Provost. A 
chapel was erected 1772, and con 
tinued in use till the opening of the 
present one, July 3, 1832. The 
English Benedictine nuns of Paris 
took refuge here at the time of the 
great Revolution, but retired to 
Cannington 1807. 

Priests. 
Rev. Smith, 1720. 

T. Cornforth (died 1748; he 
founded a fund for the 
support of his successors). 
Ed. Molyneux, 1749. 
Jn. Englefield, 1761 (?). 
Geo. Bishop, 1768. 
,, E. Molyneux, junr., 1769. 
Jn. Smith, 1770. 
C. Fryer, 1774. 

Edw. Hussey, O.S.B., 1785. 
Abbe Chas. Primord, 1802. 
Win. Casey, 1824. 
Thos. Spencer, 1866 (?). 
Walter Keily, 1879. 
John McCarthy, 1882. 
Augustine White, C.E.L., 1885. 
B. Grillet, 1892. 
Urban Rouviere, 1897. 
Alex. C. Dodard, 1898 to date. 



MARPLE BRIDGE, near STOCK- 
PORT, DERBYSHIRE (Nottingham}. 

Mass was said here for the first 
time in recent years on December 
21, 1859. The church, which is a 
neat structure, was mainly founded 
by Lord Howard of Glossop and 
Edward Eoss, Esq., of this locality. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Luke, 1859. 

,, Michael Canon Scully, 1876. 

C. McSweeny, 1890. 

In August 1900 Fr. McSweeny 
was raised to the dignity of 
missionary rector. 



MARTON, YORKS (Middles- 
b rough). Most Holy Sacrament. 

The mission was started in 1774 
by Fr. Chas. Howard, D.D., who 
ministered here till July 1815. 
Fr. Hogarth, in forwarding the 
registers to the Commissioners of 
Records at Somerset House in 
1840, implies that the mission 
has a much older date of founda 
tion than the one given above 
(1774), but no details are forth 
coming. The priest in 1816 was 
Fr. Thos. Hodgson. After 1824 
Canon Robert Hogarth, V.G., was 
appointed. He was succeeded in 
1863 by Fr. Gco. Keasley. The 
mission was vacant in 1875, 1883, 
and 1889. After this it was served 
from Hedon till 1896. In 1897 
Fr. Patrick Ryan was rector, and 
till after 1900. Fr. Christopher 
Flanagan is the present rector. 



MARYLEBONE ROAD, LONDON, 

N.W. (Westminster}. Our Lady 
of the Rosary. 

In 1848, the Count de Torre 
Diaz, a Spanish nobleman resident 
in London, hired a hall in Cato 
Street, where Fr. Hodgson, the 
devoted priest-missioner, said Mass 
and preached Sunday after Sun 
day to a numerous congregation 
drawn from the slums and alleys of 
the neighbourhood. The chapel 
having become unsafe, Fr. Hodg 
son continued his ministry by 
preaching vigorous open-air ser 
mons in the courts behind Portland 
Street. In .1849 the Count de 
Torre Diaz and some other 
Catholic gentlemen bought land 
for church and schools in Homer 
Row, Marylebone Road. After six 
years, the church was opened in 
Winchester Row, New Road, after 
wards called the Marylebone Road. 



274 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



The building was blessed by 
Cardinal Wiseman August 9, 1855. 
The Catholic population of the 
district at this time was reckoned 
at 2,500. For several years a 
portion of the edifice was used as a 
school. The church, designed by 
Blount, was enlarged in 1870. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Bamber, 1855. 

W. J. Fielding, 1856. 

Alfred White, I860 (?). 
In 1884 Fr. White was made 
rector of the church at Brook 
Green, Hammersmith, and subse 
quently was created a canon of 
Westminster and alderman of the 
borough. He died in 1904. His 
successor at Marylebone, the Very 
Rev. John Canon Brennan, still 
holds the incumbency. 



MARY VALE, near BIRMINGHAM. 

St. Mary s. 

The mission was founded about 
1675 by Fr. Andrew Bromwich, 
+he last priest sentenced to death 
for the Faith in England. In 1794, 
St. Mary s College, Oscott, was 
founded in the old house at Mary- 
vale built by Bishop Hornyold as a 
residence for the Vicars Apostolic 
of the Midlands. After the 
transference of the college to the 
new building in 1838 the house 
was occupied by Fr. John Henry 
(Cardinal) Newman and Fr. Faber, 
who called the place Maryvale 
to distinguish it from New Oscott. 
In 1850, the Sisters of Mercy opened 
their orphanage within its walls. 
The chapel was built in 1816 by 
Bishop Milner, who placed in it a 
painted window of the Sacred 
Heart. In 1873, the Sisters es 
tablished the Association of the 
Perpetual Lamp in honour of the 



Sacred Heart, and the jubilee of 
the devotion was celebrated in 
February 1898. 



MAR YPORT, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). Our Lady 
and St. Patrick. 

The mission was commenced in 
1838, and the church built 1844-45 
at a cost of 1,400. The number 
of Catholics then was about 300. 
The dedication of the church was 
celebrated with great solemnity in 
May 1846, when Bishop Br iggs 
preached at the High Mass. On 
Sunday, February 4, 1882, the 
church was reopened after having 
undergone an enlargement of some 
15 ft. in order to accommodate 
the increased congregation that 
had arisen owing to the commence 
ment of the new docks. Fr. J. J. 
Cummins, O.S.B., the incumbent, 
acted as architect. Fr. Murphy 
during his rectorate greatly adorned 
the church, and introduced several 
improvements. In 1889, the 
Catholic population of Maryport 
was 1,700. In January of 1889, 
the jubilee of the mission was 
celebrated by Fr. J. Cummins, 
O.S.B., the then incumbent. A 
new Lady Altar was erected in 
memory of the event. 



MATLOCK, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). Our Lady and St. 
Joseph. 

On May 2, 1880, Mass was said 
in a house in Holt Lane and the 
same year a church site was ac 
quired by Canon McKenria, V.G. 
The church, in the Gothic style, 
was opened in July 1883 ; seating 
capacity for about 200. In the 
church there is a chapel dedicated 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



275 



to St. Dismas, the good thief, 
whose cultus was popular in early 
Christian times. For some years 
after the opening, the church was 
served from St. Mary s, Derby. 
The first resident priest was ap 
pointed in 1890. 

Priests. 

Kev. Kobert Browne, 1890. 
Thomas Parkinson, 1892. 

(Served from Tideswell 1894.) 
George Le Eoy, here in 1897 
and to date. 



MAWDESLEY, ORMSKIRK, 
LANGS (Liverpool). SS. Peter and 
Paul. 

The Finch family of Mawdesley 
were great sufferers for the 
Catholic Faith, one of them, John 
Finch, being executed at Lancaster, 
April 20, 1584, for affirming that 
the Pope hath power or jurisdic 
tion in the Kingdom of England. 
Another of the family, the Eev. 
James Finch, was prior of a Car 
thusian monastery in Austria. 
After its suppression by Joseph II., 
he came to England, and died at 
Fernyhalgh, March 3, 1821, aged 
seventy-two. The old mansion at 
Mawdesley contains many hiding- 
places, and, among other relics of the 
past, the skull of William Haydock, 
of Whalley Abbey, martyred 1537. 
The actual mission was established 
1831, when the church was built 
and opened by Bishop Penswick, 
V .A. 

Eectors. 
Eev. J. Lawson, 1831. 

J. Dawber, 1843 till after 
1864. 

Jn. Hardman, 1871. 

Jn. Nixon, 1874. 

John Irish, 1885. 

Jules Maurus, 1902 to date. 



MAWLEY, SHROPSHIRE (Shreivs- 
bury}. St. Mary. 

An entry in the missal used at 
Mawley states that the chapel was 
blessed by Bishop Thomas Talbot 
October 31, 1776. Before this 
time, Mass was said secretly at 
the top of Mawley Hall, the resi 
dence of the Blounts. The chapel, 
opened in 1776, was for some time 
called the servants hall to hide 
its real purpose. It was enlarged 
in 1825 and 1850. The centenary 
of the chapel was celebrated 
November 7, 1876. The priests at 
Mawley from 1763 were : 
Eev. James Chester. 
Jn. Manning. 
E. Gibson, 1784. 
Menard, Dodomb, Broderick, 

1800. 

J. Appleton, 1801. 
Pierre Chardon, 1805. 
Jos. Bowden, 1806. 
Denis Fortin, 1807. 
Ch. Blake, 1813. 
W. Jones, 1815. 
T. Percy, 1824. 

E. Gates, 1825. 
P. Vergy, 1826. 
J. Egan, 1829. 
B. Crosbie, 1830. 
Mgr. Hulme, 1843. 
J. Spencer, 1847. 
L. Acquaoni, 1848. 
T. Green, 1849. 
W. Molloy, 1859. 
Pat. Power, 1860. 
J. Quin, 1864. 

H. Lynch, 1865. 
T. Crowther, 1870. 
T. Donovan, 1875. 
J. Millward, 1876. 
T. Eatcliffe, 1877. 
D. Williams, 1881. 
J. Hackett, 1883. 
D. Fitzgerald, 1885. 
H. Gregson, 1887. 

F. de Vos, 1895. 
J. McGrath, 1898. 

T 2 



276 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Bev. G. de Stoop, 1900. 
A, Devine, 1900. 



MEASHAM, DERBYSHIRE (St. 

Charles Borromeo). 

The chapel, erected by the 
Countess of Loudoun, was opened 
in December 1881. The interior 
is adorned by an altar of Caen 
stone and several painted windows. 
Mr. C. Wray was the architect. 

Bev. Hubert de Burgh, 1885. 
Joseph Fagan, 1888. 
W. J. Otty, 1893 and to date. 



MELBOURNE, DERBYSHIRE 

(Nottingham). 

On Sunday, May 6, 1906, Mass 
was said here for the first time 
since the Reformation. A disused 
laundry serves for a chapel at 
present, and, on the occasion of the 
opening, a large congregation at 
tended. Lord Walter Kerr is the 
patron of the mission, which is 
under the care of Fr. Francis 
Bichmond. 



MELIOR STREET, BOROUGH, 
LONDON, S.E. (Southward). Our 
Lady of La Salette and St. Joseph. 

This mission originated in 1847, 
when Fr. Bobert Hodgson hired 
an old coach-house and said Mass 
there for the benefit of the poor 
Catholics of the place. Such 
crowds flocked there on Sundays, 
that Fr. Hodgson had to rent from 
Guy s Hospital an old dissecting 
room in AVebb Street, Borough. 
After clearing away nearly two 
cartloads of human bones and dis 



lodging legions of rats, Fr. Hodg 
son turned the upper portion of the 
building into a chapel and the 
lower part into a school. Bishop 
Wiseman attended the opening of 
this poor place of worship in 1848. 
Within three months, 4,000 persons 
went to Holy Communion. The 
mission being firmly established, 
Fr. Wenham and Fr. McMullen 
were appointed to carry on the 
work. The first mention of the 
mission in the Catholic Directory 
appears in 1858, when the resident 
clergy were the Bev. F. Lawrence 
and the Bev. S. McDaniel. 
The humble chapel, which could 
barely accommodate one-fifth of the 
congregation, was replaced by the 
present Gothic church, opened 
May 2, 1861. A large portion of 
the once very considerable Ca 
tholic resident population has left 
the district, owing to the pulling 
down of whole streets and courts 
to make way for huge warehouses 
and railway offices. The present 
rector of the mission is Fr, S. 
Buckley. 



MELTON MOWBRAY, LEICESTER 
SHIRE (Nottingham). St. John 
the Baptist. 

The foundation of this mission 
is chiefly due to two generous 
benefactors, Fr. Thos. P. Tempest 
and John Exton, Esq. The chapel 
was commenced 1840, and opened 
1842 by Bishop Walsh, V.A. For 
some time after the opening, the 
priest had to live at two miles 
distance, but by 1844 a presbytery 
was provided. At the outset a 
considerable amount of protestant 
opposition was aroused by the 
notorious no Popery lecturer 
Dr. Gumming, but the ill-will soon 
subsided. A small school was 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



277 



started in 1843. The mission was 
served from Eastwell some time 
prior to 1875, and in 1898 from 
the Nottingham seminary. 

Priests. 
Kev. A. McDermott, 1843. 

E. Belisy, 1845. 

,, Andrew Eagan, 1849. 

Geo. Bent, 1850. 

Jeremiah Donovan, D.D., 
1857. 

J. Birmingham, 1860 (?). 

Geo. Newton, 1871. 

Kev. H. Swale, 1874. 

A. Pol, 1877. 

E. Van Dale, 1879. 

J. Neligan, 1882. 

T. O Reilly, 1885. 

C. Holland, 1898. 

G. W. Hendriks, 1903. 



MIDDLESBROUGH, YORKS. St. 
Mary. 

In 1825 there was but one farm 
house on the spot now covered 
by a large city. In 1857, the 
Catholic population in and around 
Middlesbrough was 1,500. The 
old church of St. Mary was opened 
by Bishop Briggs, V.A., October 
1847, and the church was enlarged 
(February-March 1866) to meet 
the wants of the rapidly increasing 
mission. The present fine cathe 
dral was opened in August 1878 on 
the site of the old building. In 
December following, it became the 
cathedral of the newly erected dio 
cese of Middlesbrough. A fine 
altar-piece of the Madonna and 
Child, by Cottignola (died 1528), 
was presented to the church by 
H. W. Bolckow, Esq. Mr. Goldie 
was the architect. 

Priests. 
Rev. Bernard Branigan, 1847. 

Jos. McPhillips, 1849. 

,, Andrew Burns, 1854. 



Rev. Richard Lacy, 1874. 

In 1878 Middlesbrough became 
the see of the new diocese which, 
with Leeds, was formed out of 
Beverley, and from that time the 
bishops have been the ex-officio 
rectors of St. Mary s. 



MIDDLETON, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Peter, Taylor Street. 

The school chapel was opened in 
1867, at which time the Catholic 
population numbered 400. Fr. E. 
Goetgeluck was the first priest 
placed in charge of the mission. 
He was rector here till after 1875. 
Fr. J. Wigman, appointed prior to 
1883, is still the incumbent (1904). 



MIDDLEWICH, CHESHIRE 

(Shreivsbiiry). St. Mary. 

About 1847, Mass was said at 
Winsford Hall, the residence of the 
Waltington family, by Canon Carter, 
of Bolton. The Waltingtons subse 
quently left the Hall, and then 
Mass was said in a cottage belong 
ing to a family named McDonald 
by Frs. Pope, Foster, Waltington, 
Doyle, Alcock, Gibbons, Power, and 
Fennelly. In August 1865, a dis 
senting chapel was purchased by 
Fr. Fennelly and fitted up for 
Catholic worship. The building 
was enlarged 1869. The present 
church, designed by E. Kirby, was 
opened May 31, 1891. The Catholic 
population in 1903 was 300. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jn. Moore, 1866. 

Chas. Coelenbier, 1872. 

Aug. Tremmery, 1876. 

Denis Cregan, 1883. 

Jas. O Grady, 1891. 

Jn. Ryan, 1898. 



278 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



MIDHUKST, SUSSEX (Soutli- 
^va^Jf). St. Francis. 

Cowdray House, near Midliurst, 
was formerly the seat of the Catho 
lic Lords Montague. During the 
reign of Elizabeth upwards of 
sixty priests are said to have been 
sheltered here. In 1625, the Lord 
Montague of the day gave St. 
Cuthbert s ring to Bishop Smith, 
V.A., who bequeathed it to the 
English nuns at Paris, from whom 
Cardinal Wiseman obtained it 
for Ushaw College (1858). The 
seventh Lord Montague con 
formed to the Established Church 
1778, but was reconciled on his 
death-bed, declaring that libertin 
ism in theory and practice had 
alone seduced him away. George, 
the next and last Viscount, was 
drowned at Schaffhausen, Swit 
zerland, 1793, on the very day that 
Cowdray House was destroyed by 
fire. After this a chapel was 
opened in the adjoining village of 
Midhurst, and used by the few 
local Catholics till 1861. Unfor 
tunately, for some reason, the lease 
was not renewed, and the building 
ultimately became a club. We 
have been informed that the pis 
cina, in what was the sanctuary, 
is now used as a receptacle for bil 
liard balls. The present church 
was opened, November 7, 1869, by 
Bishop Brown, of Newport, on be 
half of Bishop Grant. The style 
is Early English; C. A. Buckler, 
architect. For several years after 
the opening, the church was served 
from Burton Park. Confirmation 
was given here in December 1888 
for the first time in fifty years. 
Some Priests of the Cowdroy 

Mission. 
Eev. Dom Edward Ash, O.S.B., 

1630. 
,, J. Sheppard, 1745. 



Kev. J. Barnard (V.G. to Bishop 
Talbot, V.A.L.D.), 1762. 

J. Blevin, 1767. 

Richard Antrobus, 1779. 
(This priest recommenced 
the registers.) 

Priests at Midliurst since 1824. 
Rev. Geo. Halsey. 

Thos. Molteno, 1834. 

,, Francis Bowland, 1840. 

Peter Coop, 1857. 

(Mission closed 1860-69. Mis 
sion served from Burton Park 
1869-79.) 

Mgr. James Carter, 1879 to 
date. 



MILE END, LONDON, E. (West 
minster}. The Guardian Angels. 

A dissenting meeting - house 
known as Salem Chapel was 
purchased and converted into a 
Catholic church about 1870. The 
bare and comfortless interior was 
decorated and adorned with sta 
tions of the Cross in the autumn 
of 1876. In May 1901, the old 
church was pulled down to make 
way for the present structure, the 
gift of the Lady Mary Howard. 
The style is Perpendicular Gothic. 
During the rebuilding of the 
church a temporary structure, 
No. 381 Mile End Road, served as 
a chapel. The cost of the church 
was 11,000. 



MILLFIELD, DURHAM (Hexham 
and Newcastle). St. Joseph s. 

A recently established mission. 
The first stone of the new church 
was laid July 23, 1906, by Bishop 
Collins. The design is Romanesque, 
the materials used being blocks 
of concrete. Accommodation for 
about 700. Cost 3,000. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



279 



MILL HILL, LONDON, N.W. 
( Westminster). 

St. Mary s Franciscan Abbey 
was opened by Cardinal Manning 
about 1887, and the church in Octo 
ber 1889. The style is simple 
Gothic. On either side of the high 
altar are chapels of St. Joseph and 
Our Lady. The seating capacity is 
for 200. 



MILLOM, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). Our Lady 
and St. James. 

The chapel was opened in 1867, 
and enlarged in October 1881. The 
same year the Catholic schools 
were sanctioned by the Education 
Department after much local op 
position. The church was built 
between May 1886 and the early 
part of 1887. A great procession 
of clergy and people, headed by Fr. 
Perrin, priest of the mission, in 
augurated the ceremony of laying 
the foundation stone. The church 
is a very handsome one, in old 
French Gothic, from the design of 
H. V. Krolow, of Liverpool. Mil- 
lom was once the seat of the Neville 
family, and, by an heiress, passed 
to the Huddlestones, also staunch 
Catholics. Fr. Huddlestone, of this 
family, reconciled Charles II. to the 
Church on his death -bed in Feb 
ruary 1685. 



MILLWALL, ISLE OF DOGS, 
LONDON, E. (Westminster}. St. 
Edmund. 

The church in the West Ferry 
Road was opened in 1846. It is 
described as a neat Gothic building, 
consisting of a nave and chancel. 
It is lighted by six lancet windows, 
deeply splayed. Mr. Wardell was 



the architect. For many years 
after its erection, the mission was 
served from the church of Our Lady 
and St. Joseph, Poplar. Schools 
were opened 1870. Average daily 
attendance 1899, 270. 
Priests. 
Rev. Joseph Biemans, here in 1871. 

Geo. Smith, 1877. 

Wm. Lloyd, 1879. 

Nicholas Drew, 1882. 

Emile Van Dale, 1892. 

A. J. Egglemeers, here in 1897. 

Thos. Dunphy, 1897. 

Bartholomew Doherty, 1904. 



MINEHEAD, SOMERSETSHIRE 

I (Clifton). The Sacred Heart. 

The temporary chapel in Sal- 
borne Place was opened in Decem 
ber 1890, by Bishop Brownlow, of 
Clifton. Fr. Wilberforce preached 
1 (Cor. iv. 1-6) on the unity of the 
Church. The present church, in the 
Gothic style, was opened August 
1898. 

Priests. 
I Rev. J. Davis, 1890. 

Richard Chichester, here in 
1897 and to date. 



MINISTERACRES, NORTHUM 
BERLAND (Hexham and New 
castle). St. Elizabeth. 

A chapel was opened here in 1766 
by John Silvertop, Esq., the lord 
of the manor. A more public one 
seems to have been established in 
1790. This latter continued in use 
down to 1834, when a new Catholic 
chapel was built by Geo. Silvertop, 
Esq., and opened by a solemn 
Mass June 22 of the same year. 
On the death of this gentleman, 
February 20, 1849, without issue, 
j he was succeeded by his nephew, 



280 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



the Hon. Charles Engle field, who 
took the name of Silvertop. The 
new Lord of Ministeracres proved 
himself a munificent patron of the 
mission, the present fine Gothic 
church, designed by J. Hansom 
and opened August 24, 1854, being 
erected at his expense. The regis 
ters of the mission date from 1795. 

Priests since 1820. 
Kev. T. Douthwaite, . 

T. Danson, 1838. 

Edw. Browne, 1839. 

J. S. Bogerson, 1843. 

E. Orrell, 1854. 

Joseph Watson, 1856. 

Lawrence Boland, 1866. 

Peter Perrin, 1876. 

Michael Birgen, 1882. 

Edmund Barnett, 1891. 

M. P. Horgan, 1897 to date. 



MINSTER, ISLE OF THANET, 
KENT (Soutkwark). St. Mildred. 

The Catholic faith was strong 
here down to the time of Charles I. 
During the Civil War, Cromwell 
sent down a religious enthusiast, 
who, after making most of the 
population drunk with new wine, 
persuaded them to pull down the 
ancient cross that stood in the 
market-place. The poor people 
were so ashamed of this act that 
when they came to their senses 
they emigrated en masse to Bel 
gium as the only means of pre 
serving their holy religion. In 
the vicarage of Minster were long 
preserved a number of Catholic 
books, the property, no doubt, of 
some priests who officiated there 
before the Civil War. Among these 
was a complete copy of Cornelius 
a Lapide s Commentary on the 
Scriptures (Lewis s History of 
Thanct ). In August 1878, a com 
munity of Benedictine nuns was 



established at Minster by Prior 
Bergh,of St. Augustine s, Ilamsgatc. 
They continued to occupy the 
convent till about 1891, when they 
were supplanted by the Sisters of 
Mercy, who have a laundry for the 
maintenance of a number of poor 
girls whom they supervise. The 
chapel, a plain cruciform Gothic 
structure, was consecrated by 
Bishop Bourne, of Southwark, in 
July 1901. The patron saint of 
the convent is St. Mildred, Abbess 
of Minster, who died A.D. 725. 



MITCH AM, SURREY (SoutliwarJt). 
SS. Peter and Paul. 

Mass is said to have been occa 
sionally offered up during the penal 
times in a house in Church 
Lane (Eoad). The Hon. C. Lang- 
dale, whose distillery on Hoi born 
Hill was burnt by the Gordon 
rioters, June 1780, owned EJm- 
wood House, Mitcham. His 
domestic chapel here was long 
served by the Abbe L. Le Grip, an 
emigre, who died November 6, 
1819. After this the place was 
served from Croydon. About 1839, 
Fr. O Moore, of Croydon, used to 
say Mass occasionally in a house 
of a Mr. Kiernan, a pawnbroker. 
In 1853 a disused stable belonging 
to W. Simpson, Esq., was fitted up 
as a chapel. It was served by Frs. 
David Morel and other priests 
from Croydon and Norwood. The 
school chapel was opened in 1862 
on a site presented by W. Simpson, 
Esq. Fr. Kobt. Simpson, M.A., 
formerly Anglican rector of the 
parish church, was priest-in-charge 
for a few months. Fr. F. Whyte 
served the mission from 1865 till 
1879. The present church, erected 
in 1889 on a site given by W. 
Simpson, Esq., is a neat structure 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



281 



in the Romanesque style. A 
stained-glass window and pulpit 
were presented by G. Teniple- 
Layton, Esq. The seating capacity 
of the church is for about 250. 
The congregation numbers about 
600. Fr. J. Pooley is the present 
rector. 



MOLESEY, SURREY (South- 
war k). 

This mission was founded 
through the efforts of Fr. E. du 
Plerney, of Surbiton. A house 
bearing the somewhat appropriate 
name of Stonyhurst, in the Vine 
Road, was acquired for the pur 
pose of a mission centre, and Mass 
said here for the first time in 
September 1905. The chapel was 
at first served every Sunday from 
Surbiton. Catholics of the district 
are estimated at about 250. Rev. 
H. Willacrt, rector Sept. 1906. 



MONMOUTH (Newport). St. 
Mary s. 

Fr. William Dormer was at the 
Priory, Monmouth, about 1730-32 
as priest of the mission. He died 
at Staplehill in June 1758. In 
1737 Fr. Robt. Garbott was 
chaplain. The present chapel was 
built in 1795, at which time the 
Catholics of the place numbered 
about 120. In 1845, the congre 
gation numbered about 200. Four 
years later, Catholics were esti 
mated at 300. A new chapel was 
opened 1837. In 1864, the Catholic 
population was 350. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. J. Jones. 

T. Burgess, 1836. 

T. Abbot, 1852. 

James Moore, 1895. 

Sidney Nicholls, 1897 to date. 



MONKWEARMOUTH, DURHAM 

(Hcxhani and Newcastle}. St. 
Benet. 

The mission was established in 
1864. The present church was 
consecrated in July 1889 by 
Bishop Wilkinson, upon which 
occasion the Blessed Sacrament 
was carried in procession amidst 
a vast concourse of Catholics and 
protestants. The style of the 
church is Early Decorated ; accom 
modation for about 800. New 
schools, of Gothic design, were 
opened September 1870. 

Priests. 
Rev. D. Macartney, 1867. 

Jules Du Floer, here in 1871 
and till 1897. 

Henry Canon Gillow, 1897. 



MOORFIELDS, LONDON, E.G. 

(Westminster }. St. Mary s. 

In 1736 some say 1733 there 
existed a Mass-house in this neigh 
bourhood, which for security s sake 
was known as the Penny Hotel. 
This place of worship was in Rope- 
makers Alley. During the re 
newed persecution of London 
Catholics in 1765, two Romish 
priests were taken out of a private 
Mass-house near Moorfields to be 
dealt with according to law 
( Universal Museum, October 21, 
1765). During the Gordon riots 
of 1780, the chapel or Mass-house 
was among the number destroyed 
by the mob. Fr. Richard Dillon, 
who had been priest of the place 
since 1749, was so severely mal 
treated by the rioters that he 
shortly afterwards died. With the 
money obtained from Government 
in compensation, another and 
larger chapel was erected in White 
Street 1781. This continued in 
use till the building of the large 



282 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



and imposing church, opened with 
great pomp April 20, 1820, in the 
presence of a large gathering of 
ambassadors, nobility, and gentry. 
By this time the congregation was 
reckoned at over 6,000. The style 
of the building was Classical, with 
a Greek fa<;ade, the interior being 
remarkable for a large picture of 
the Crucifixion, painted on stucco 
by Signor Aglio, and arranged as a 
background to the high altar. The 
architect of the church was Mr. 
John Newman ; total cost of erection, 
26,000. Pope Pius VII. presented 
a splendid gold chalice, paten, and 
cruets to the church on the occasion 
of the opening, the gift being 
valued at 10,000 Roman crowns. 
The vaults beneath the church 
were a favourite burial-place with 
London Catholics till 1853, when 
they were closed. On the demoli 
tion of the church, upwards of 
5,000 coffins were reinterred at 
Wembley, but the remains of 
Bishops Poynter, Bramston, and 
Gradwell were removed to St. 
Edmund s Old Hall. It was at 
St. Mary s that Dr. (afterwards 
Cardinal) Wiseman delivered his 
famous lectures on The Truths 
of the Catholic Faith to crowds 
of persons during the course of 
1836. Owing to a variety of cir 
cumstances, it was found necessary 
to close the old church, which was 
demolished during November and 
December 1899. A smaller edifice 
was opened in the adjoining Eldon 
Street March 25, 1903, in which 
most of the features of the former 
imposing building have been re 
produced. 

Priests. 

Rev. R. Dillon, 1749-81. 
Fuller, 1781. 
Bernard, . 
,, Dunn, . 



Rev. Joseph Hunt, here 1816 et 

seq. 

R. Horrabin, 1839-41. 
Jn. Rolfe, 1841. 
Provost Robt. Whitty, 1851. 
Mgr. Daniel Gilbert, 1858. 
Win. Canon Fleming, 1895 to 
date. 



MORECAMBE, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Mary. 

Mission started from Lancaster 
1895. 

Priests. 
Rev. John Smith, 1897. 

Chas. Reynolds, 1901 to date. 



MORLEY, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Francis of Assisi, Westfield Road. 

The Oddfellows Hall was hired 
as a Catholic place of worship, and 
Masses said here for the first time 
Sunday, May 15, 1898, by Fr. John 
Brennan, chaplain to the Marquis 
of Ripon, and Fr. Dobson, of 
Batley. Fr. Augustus, O.S.F.C., 
preached* in the evening to a 
crowded congregation. Fr. Francis 
Mitchell is the present rector. 



MORPETH, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Robert. 

In 1768 a room in a tenement 
building in Bowlers Green was 
fitted up as a chapel. Mr. Hy. 
Clark, a convert, used to keep 
watch while Mass was being said 
to give warning to the congregation 
if strangers approached. Shortly 
after this, the chapel of St. Bede 
was erected in Oldgate (1778). Fr. 
How was the first priest. His suc 
cessor, Fr. Turner, was a practical 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



chemist, and added to his income 
by supplying the local gentry with 
soda-water! He died 1802. The 
next priests were Fr. Lawson (1802- 
29) ; Fr. Shann and Fr. H. Flinn 
(1830 and 1834); Fr. Geo. Lowe, 
O.S.B. (1837). By this time the 
old chapel had become quite inade 
quate, and in 1849 a neat and 
commodious church in the Early 
English style was erected. The 
opening ceremony was regarded 
with much friendly sympathy in 
the town. Mr. T. Gibson was the 
architect. In 1850, the presbytery 
and church were renamed St. 
Robert s Abbey in consideration of j 
the Benedictines, by whom the i 
mission has since been attended. 



MORTLAKE, LONDON, S.W. 

(Southward). St. Mary Magdalen, j 
For some time prior to the erec- j 
tion of the present church, a disused 
hayloft at the residence of Lady i 
Mostyn served as a chapel for Mass. > 
About 1849, Fr. Eobt. Hodgson, of 
Richmond, came to Mortlake, sought 
out numbers of lapsed Catholics, 
and opened a school, where he said 
Mass, preached, and heard con 
fessions. He was nobly aided in 
his labours by Lady Mostyn, to 
whom is largely due the fine church 
of St. Mary Magdalen, opened 
May 12, 1852. The style is Deco 
rated Gothic, from designs by Gil 
bert Blount, Esq. The priests 
residence was at first a mere cot 
tage, but a good presbytery was 
built not long after the opening of 
the church. Adjoining the mission 
is a cemetery. A tablet on one of 
the walls of the nave records the 
reception into the Church of Lieut, i 
Augustus H. Law, R.N., afterwards I 
the well-known Jesuit missioner. i 
The church was consecrated 1869. 



Canon Wenham, Provost of South- 
wark, was priest of Mortlake from 
1851 till his death in March 1895. 
He was succeeded by Fr. C. Hogan, 
the present incumbent. 



MORTOMLEY, near SHEFFIELD, 
YORKS (Leeds). 

The mission was opened 1888, 
there being at this time a consider 
able Catholic population in the 
neighbourhood. Fr. W. J. Smith 
was the first priest. After his de 
parture, 1892, the chapel was served 
from Elsecar till 1897, when Fr. 
A. McDonagh was appointed. Fr. 
Julius de Baere has been incumbent 
since 1899. 



MOSSLEY, LANGS (Sal ford). St. 
Joseph s. 

In 1863 the Ca.tholics of this dis 
trict are described as numerous 
and poor. Thanks to the efforts 
of Frs. Conway and Grymonprez, 
schools were erected in the last- 
named year. For several years 
after the opening, the building was 
used also as a chapel. In 1864 the 
congregation was reckoned at 700. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. P. Cardinael, here in 1871. 

Jn. Kass, 1879. 

Jas. Brady, 1888 and to date. 



MOTTINGHAM, near ELTHAM, 
KENT (Southward). 

An old mansion, known as Mot- 
tingham House, was opened as a pre 
paratory college for military educa 
tion (Woolwich and Sandhurst) in 
1883 by the Rev. E. Von Orsbach, 
late tutor to the Princes of Thurn 
and Taxis. After a successful 



284 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



career, the school was acquired by 
the diocese of Southwark as an 
orphanage for little boys under the 
care of the Sisters of Charity (1903). 
A large stable-house adjoining the 
establishment has been altered and 
fitted up as a chapel for the use of 
the inmates and the Catholics of 
the district. For some time after 
the opening the place was attended 
by a priest from Sidcup. The Rev. 
G. Leidig is the present rector 
(January 1906). 



MOUNT ST. BERNARD S ABBEY, 
COALVILLE, near LEICESTER (Not 
tingham). 

This abbey is a filiation from 
Mount Melleray, Waterford, and 
was founded 1837 by the assistance 
of Ambrose Phillipps-De-Lisle, Esq., 



of Grace Dieu Manor, Leicester 
shire, and John sixteenth Earl of 
Shrewsbury. The fine pile of 
buildings was designed by A. W. 
Pugin, and much of the labour of 
stone-cutting, building, &c., was 
done by the monks after the manner 
of their predecessors during the 
Middle Ages. Adjoining the abbey 
is a spacious guest-house, with re 
ception room, bedrooms, &c., also a 
house for the entertainment of the 
casual poor, regardless of creed. 
The monks are engaged in prayer, 
study, and manual labour, and 
much of the waste land round the 
monastery has been reclaimed by 
them and brought under cultiva 
tion. An interesting account of 
the place has been published by 
Llewellynn Jewitt, F.S.A., in his 
* Guide to the Abbey of Mount St. 
Bernard. 



582 



N 



NANTWICH, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). 

In 1832 Mass was said once a 
month by Fr. J. Briggs at Beam 
Heath, an old farmhouse two miles 
from Nantwich. The Catholics of 
the place then numbered five fami 
lies and fourteen other persons. In 
1843 a Methodist chapel was rented 
by Fr. E. Carberry, but given up 
four years later. In 1852 Fr. H. 
Alcock, of Crewe, hired an old salt- 
shed on the north bank of the river 
Weaver at Crewe, and fitted it up 
as a chapel. The No Popery 
feeling generated by the recent 
restoration of the hierarchy was 
then very strong in the town, and 
Sunday after Sunday hostile crowds 
assembled before the chapel yelling 
and hooting. The present church 
was built 1855-56, and was partly 
paid for by W. Houlgrave, Esq., of 
Liverpool. The presbytery was 
built 1875-80. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Eobinson, 1868. 

D. Williams, 1871. 

E. Byrne, 1875. 

P. Deery, 1880 to date. 



NELSON, LANGS (Salford). St. 
Joseph. 

The foundation stone of the 
school chapel was laid Saturday, 
August 4, 1883, and the building 



was opened early the following 
year. 

Priests. 
Kev. Jn, Bramer, 1891. 

Eobt. Smith, 1895 to date. 



NESTON, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). St. Winifride. 

The chapel was opened Novem 
ber 29, 1843. A. Pugin was the 
architect. A cemetery was laid 
out 1851, and next year an exten 
sion and gallery were added to 
the church. Schools were opened 
1857. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Kershaw, 1843. 

Jas. Canon Pemberton, 1845. 

Joseph Canon Daly, 1876. 

Geo. Provost Clegg, 1890. 

N.B. For many years the 
chapels of Hooton and Puddington, 
belonging to the Stanley family, 
were the only Catholic places of 
worship in the district. Fr. Ealph 
Platt, who died February 13, 1837, 
bequeathed his savings for the 
establishment of a mission at 
Neston. 



NETHERTON, near LIVERPOOL, 
LANCS. St. Benet. 

This mission is an offshoot of 
that at Sefton. In 1792, Fr. 



286 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kichard Vincent Gregson, O.S.B., 
the chaplain at the last place, got 
the ex-Catholic Viscount Molyneux 
to grant a site for a chapel at 
Netherton. Next year a commo 
dious house and chapel were 
erected, towards the expense of 
which the Hon. Mrs. Mary Moly 
neux liberally contributed. The 
school was not started till 1871. 
Another and larger building was 
opened in August 1888. 

Priests at Sefton Hall. 
Kev. Thurston Anderton, O.S.B., 
1672 (?). 

Eichard Helme, or Holme, 
O.S.B., 1697. 

Cuerden, 1716. 

James Kaye, 1742. 

Richard Gregson, 1754. 

Priests at Netherton. 

Eev. Richard Gregson, 1792. 

Stephen Hodgson, 1800. 

Richard Pope, 1804. 

Edw. Clifford, 1828. 

Abraham Abram, 1830. 

Geo. Caldwell, 1867. 

Thos. Shepherd, 1870. 

John Burchall, 1887. 



NEWAEK, NOTTINGHAMSHIRE 

(Nottingham). The Holy Trinity. 
The church was erected about 
1840 by the late James Provost 
Waterworth, of Nottingham. The 
style is Tudor ; sittings for 200. 
An endowment of about 80 per 
annum was settled on the mission 
by the founder. The two fine 
altars of the Sacred Heart and Our 
Lady are the gift of Redmond 
Cafferata, Esq., present occupier of 
Staunton Hall, and nephew of the 
Provost. The mission of Newark 
was apparently founded about 1820 
by Fr. J. Yvers. The old chapel in 
Parliament Street was a humble 
unecclesiastical building, like the 



other Catholic chapels of the time, 
and for some years Mass was only 
said there on the first and fifth 
Sunday of each month. 

Rectors. 
Rev. J. Yvers. 

James Provost Waterworth, 
D.D., 1836. (This learned 
ecclesiastic was the author 
of a History of the Refor 
mation, mainly derived 
from non- Catholic sources, 
and several other well- 
known works. Died 1876.) 
Edmund Smith, M.R., 1876 
to date. 



NEW BRIGHTON, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). SS. Peter and Paul. 

In 1879 a room was hired for a 
chapel in Egerton Street, and in 
January 1880 the Bishop of Shrews 
bury appointed Canon Frith to take 
charge of the mission. There was 
at that time neither church nor 
school, but a site for a church had 
been generously given when the 
mission was started. The Catholic 
population in 1880 numbered about 
250. In June 1881 the present 
church was opened for worship. 
The late Mrs. Santa Maria gave 
500 towards the building expenses. 
E. Kirby was the architect. 

Priests. 
Rev. Randolph Canon Frith, 1879. 

William Canon Stanton, 1887 
to date. 



NEWBURY, BERKS (Ports 
mouth). St. Joseph s. 

This mission owes its establish 
ment to the apostolic zeal of 
Fr. Robert Hodgson. In 1852, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



287 



when spiritual director at the 
adjacent College of St. Mary, 
Wolverhampton, he was struck by 
the religious destitution of the few 
Catholics at Newbury, and resolved 
to start a mission there. He 
accordingly went over to Newbury 
on Sundays, said Mass for the 
congregation, and catechised the 
children. After a time he was 
enabled to build church and schools. 
He had a most enthusiastic helper 
in the young Earl of Arundel and 
Surrey, then residing at Dorrington 
Lodge, near the town. This young 
nobleman, among other things, 
used to act as doorkeeper of the 
chapel on Sundays ! Fr. Hodgson 
laboured for about twelve years at 
Newbury, when he retired to 
Holloway. He died there Decem 
ber 27, aged seventy-one. The 
present rector of the mission is 
Fr. H. L. Kelly, M.R. 



NEWCASTLE-ON-TYNE, NORTH 
UMBERLAND (Hexham and New 
castle). St. Andrew s. 

In the reign of James II. a Mass- 
house was opened in the Flesh 
Market, but closed at the Revolu 
tion (1688). A chapel was then 
fitted up in a room in Nuns Lane. 
This was broken up by a No Popery 
and anti-Jacobite mob January 28, 
1746, shortly after the victory of 
Prince Charles Edward Stuart at 
Falkirk. A third chapel was then 
established in Bell Court, Newgate 
Street, by the pastor, Fr. Thos. 
Gibson, uncle of Bishop Gibson, 
V.A. About 1792 a second chapel 
was opened in the Close, and served 
by regulars. Fr. Worswick in 
1797 collected funds for the erec 



tion of a large church in Pilgrim 
Street. Thos. Riddell, Esq., gave 
100, Sir Jn. Lawson 80, and 
Bishop Gibson 80 towards the 
building fund. The opening took 
place February 11, 1798, when 
High Mass was sung for the first 
time since the Reformation. Schools 
were erected near the church in 
1830, at a cost of 2,000. The 
Dominicans had charge of the 
mission for a few years after 1860. 
A new church was erected in 
Worswick Street, and opened by 
Bishop Chadwick September 26, 
1875. 

Priests. 

Rev. Aug. Janneson, . 
Thos. Maire, 1731. 
Thos. Gibson, . 
C. Garden, 1765. 
J. Jones, 1791. (N.B. Fr. J. 
Cotes died at Newcastle-on- 
Tyne July 8, 1794, aged 
ninety-four.) 
H. Potts, 1792 (?) (he died 

1800). 

Jas. Worswick, 1797. 
,, W. Riddell, curate to pre 
ceding 1830 ; rector 1843 ; 
o.shop and Vicar Apostolic 
N.D. 1844; died 1847 of 
typhus, contracted while 
attending the sick. 
Robt. Smith, 1845. 
Jas. Standen, 1846. 
Jos. Cullen, 1848. 
Jos. Browne, 1852. 
Jos. Canon Humble, 1857. 
Very Rev. J. Bernard More- 

wood, O.P. 
Very Rev. Dominic Aylward, O.P., 

1863. 

Rev. Geo. King, O.P., here 1871. 
Edw. Rigby, 1874. 
Hy. Berry, 1879. 
Richard Collins, 1882. 
Jos. Newsham, 1896. 
Rd. Vaughan, 1897 to date. 



288 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



NEWCASTLE-ON-TYNE, NORTH 
UMBERLAND. St. Mary, Clayton 
Street West. 

The opening of this church on 
August 21, 1844, was the occasion 
for a great Catholic demonstration. 
The bishops present were : Dr. 
BiddeH, Dr. Griffiths, Briggs, Morris 
(of Mauritius), Baggs, Brown, 
Sharpies, and Collier. Bishop Rid- 
dell pontificated at the High Mass, 
the sermon being preached by 
Bishop Gilles, of Edinburgh. A 
great mission was given here in 
January 1846 by the Passionist 
Fathers Gentili and Furlong, during 
the course of which 1,800 persons 
received Holy Communion and 
forty-nine were reconciled to the 
Church. During the typhus pesti 
lence of 1847 Bishop Riddell, who 
resided at St. Mary s, exerted him 
self to have a suitable temporary 
hospital erected for the sufferers. 
Before the end of the year this excel 
lent prelate departed this life, and 
his mortal remains were interred j 
beneath the church. His friend \ 
Bishop Gilles, of Edinburgh, pro 
nounced the funeral oration (No- j 
vember 1847). In the autumn of ! 
1881 the church was completely 
redecorated by Messrs. Westlake & 
Co., new stations being erected, 
the roof adorned with flcurs de 
lys, stars, &c. The high altar was 
adorned by a fine painting of the 
Annunciation, the patronal title of 
the church. 



most of the Catholic population 
had shifted to the opposite end of 
the district, and in January of that 
year Bishop Bewick opened the 
new school chapel in Felton Street, 
Byker. The cost of the building 
was 1,000. The style is Early 
English. The Bishop, in his open 
ing discourse, referred to Dame 
Dorothy Lawson, of Heaton, who 
in the dark times of the penal 
days did so much to keep the 
Faith alive about the Tyneside. 
The mission is served from St. 
Dominic s. 



NEWCASTLE-ON-TYNE. St. j 

Lawrence, Byker. 

In 1877 Bishop Chadwick, of 
Hexham and Newcastle, opened ! 
the old school chapel. By 1884 



NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME, 
STAFFS (Birmingham}. Holy 
Trinity. 

The church was opened May 13, 
1834, by the Vicar- Apostolic (Bishop 
Walsh). The priest of the mission, 
Fr. Egan, erected the church ; his 
congregation at this time amounted 
to about three hundred. The mis 
sion, which formerly formed part 
of that of Cobridge (q-v>), made 
great advances after the opening of 
the church, so that when Bishop 
Walsh visited it on November 16 
there were 132 for confirmation, 
while 250 received Holy Com 
munion. A splendid organ was 
presented to the church by the 
congregation in November 1846. 
Fr. Gaudentius, the Passionist, 
preached on this occasion. 
Priests since 1846. 
Rev. James O Donnell. 

James O Farrell, 1848. 

James Massam, 1849. 

Jn. O Connor, 1857. 

Jas, Terry, 1863. 

Martin Maguire, here in 1882 
and to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



289 



NEW FERRY, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). St. John Evan 
gelist. 

The mission was established 
1903. A room was hired in the 
Assembly Hall, and Mass said 
there on Sundays at 8.30 and 10, 
and on weekdays at the pres 
bytery, 12 Stanley Eoad. Fr. Win. 
Baines, rector. 



NEWHALL, DERBYSHIRE (Not- 
tinghani). St. Edward. 

The large Gothic chapel, erected 
in this village at the expense of the 
Countess of Loudoun, was opened 
on the Feast of Corpus Christi 
1886. Pontifical High Mass was 
sung by Bishop Bagshawe. The 
front gable contains a statue of 
St. Edward the Confessor. The 
seating accommodation of the build 
ing, which cost about 1,500, is for 
300 persons. 

Priests. 
Kev. Hubert do Burgh, 1886. 

Thos. Middleton, 1899. 

D. Hengel, 1902. 

,, Maurice Parincntier, 1903 to 
date. 



NEW HALL, ESSEX (West 
minster}. Holy Sepulchre of Our 
Lord. 

The English branch of the 
Canonesses of the Holy Sepulchre 
was founded at Liege in 1642 by 
Miss Susanna Hawley, daughter 
of Thomas Hawley, Esq., of New 
Brentford, Essex, and cousin of 
Francis H. Lord Donamore. 
The rule, which was approved by 
Pope Urban VIII., unites active 
work with the contemplative. The 



pious foundress died 1706, aged 
eighty-three. In 1794 the com 
munity, being threatened by the 
French Eevolutionists, retired under 
the escort of some French gentlemen 
emigres to Maestricht, and from 
thence proceeded to London. They 
were kindly assisted by Lord Clif 
ford and Sir Wm. Gerard, Bart., 
and about October of the same 
year took possession of Holme 
Hall, Yorkshire, at the invitation 
of Lord Stourton. In 1796 the 
nuns removed to Dean House, 
Wilts, and finally in January 1799 
to their present abode at New Hall. 
The mansion on the estate had 
formerly been the favourite resi 
dence of Henry VIII., who called 
the place Beaulieu. It afterwards 
became the residence of the 
Duke of Buckingham James I. s 
Steenie and later on of Geo. 
Monk, Duke of Albemarle. The 
property was purchased for the nuns 
by a Mr. Michael McEvoy from 
the son of Baron Waltham. Since 
the establishment of the Order in 
England, the convent under their 
direction has achieved a wide and 
well- deserved reputation as an ex 
cellent place of education for young 
ladies. The chapel of the convent 
is a handsome piece of architecture 
which in former days served as 
the great hall of the historic 
mansion. 



NEW HARTLEY, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexham and Newcastle}. 

A recent Benedictine mission, 
founded from Blyth in 1895. Fr. 
Augustus Gregory Green, O.S.B., 
was appointed rector in 1902. 



290 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



NEWHAVEN, SUSSEX (South 
ward). The Sacred Heart. 

The church was opened by Bishop 
Bourne, January 2, 1898. The style 
is Komanesque, from a design by 
Mr. W. Romaine. The first Mass 
was sung by Mgr. C. Coote. Mr. 
Justice Day was among the con 
gregation present on this occasion. 
The building accommodates 120 
sons, but provision has been made 
for future extension. Fr. R. Col- 
linson, the first resident priest, was 
transferred to Putney in 1902, since 
which time the Newhaven mission 
has been under the Assumptionist 
Fathers. From about 1895 till the 
establishment of a regular mission 
Canon W. McAuliffe, of Lewes, used 
to come over to the town once a 
month to say Mass at Albion Villa 
and visit the few Catholics. 



NEW HOUSE, WATERHOUSES, 
DURHAM (Hexliam and Newcastle). 
Queen of Martyrs. 

The Ven. John Bost, or Boast, 
who suffered for the Faith at Dur 
ham, July 24, 1594, laboured in 
this district prior to his seizure at 
Waterhouses, September 10, 1593. 
He was chiefly charged with having 
said Masse att ye Waterhouse, 
and it was probably to this ancient 
chapel that the Bishop of Hexhani 
and Newcastle referred when open 
ing the present church, October 26, 
1871. The structure was recon 
stituted 1882, and opened March 
1883. In August 1885, 186 persons 
were confirmed here. The building 
was freed from debt and consecrated 
1894. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. Fortin, 1871. 

Edward Beech, 1902 to date. 



NEWINGTON (WEST), LONDON, 
S.E. (Southward). St. Wilfrid. 

On Rosary Sunday 1904 a chapel 
was opened in the Lorrimore Road 
by Bishop Amigo, of Southwark. 
For some time the mission was 
served from St. George s Cathedral, 
Southwark, but since 1905 the Rev. 
Geo. Palmer has been the rector. 



NEWMARKET, CAMBRIDGE 
SHIRE (Northampton). Our Lady 
and St. Etheldreda. 

As late as 1859, the only Catholic 
chapel at Newmarket was a room 
kindly lent by a protestant gentle 
man. Fr. Thomas McDonald, who 
served the mission, had also to do 
duty at Ely, but a site for a church 
was purchased for 300 in July 
1859. The same month, the Catho 
lics of Newmarket and Ely per- 
sented Fr. McDonald with a hand 
some gold watch, as a tribute of 
their affectionate regard. The 
church was commenced October 
1861, and opened April 5, 1863. 
Fr. McDonald was rector here till 
1877, when he was succeeded by 
Fr. Joseph Van den Dries. In 
1891 it was Fr. Henry Stanley. 
His successor, Rev. Patrick Grogan, 
1892, is the present rector. 



NEWMILLS, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Mary. 

The church was erected 1840. 
Style, Gothic ; accommodation for 
about 250. The congregation num 
bers 235. The district served by 
the church is described as one of 
the poorest missions in England, 
scattered over ten miles. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



291 



Priests. 
Rev. J. Collins, 1840. 

Bryan O Donnell, 1855. 
F. Pauline, 1858. 
C. L. Monahan, 1861. 
Albert Op Broek, 1864. 
H. T. Sabela, 1877. 
J. Prendergast, 1880. 
Michael Kirby, 1885. 
Charles Carrigy, 1888. 
Win. C. McKenna, 1893 to 
date. 



NEWNHAM PADDOX, WARWICK 
SHIRE (Birmingham). The Sacred 
Heart. 

The church of the Sacred Heart 
the gift of the Earl of Denbigh 
was opened Wednesday, May 26, 
1880, by Bishop Hedley. The 
structure was designed by Wyatt. 
On either side of the reredos are 
statues of St. Augustine and St. 
Clare. At the solemn procession 
of the Blessed Sacrament on the 
occasion of the opening the richly 
adorned canopy was borne by the 
Earls of Denbigh and Gainsborough 
and the Lords Herries and Camp- 
den. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jos. Sweeney, here in 1883. 

Bernard Murphy, 1892. 

Archibald Fleming, 1896. 

Marmaduke Langdale, 1904. 



NEWPORT, ISLE OF WIGHT, 

(Portsmouth). St. Thomas of 
Canterbury. 

This mission, like that of Cowes, 
owes its origin to Mrs. Heneage, 
relict of James Heneage, Esq., of 
Cadeby, Lincoln, and Gatcombe, 
Isle of Wight. The chapel at New 
port was built at the suggestion of 
her chaplain, Fr. Simon Lucas, 



1791. Fr. Gandolphy was priest 
here in 1804. The Abb (3 de Grenthe, 
an emigre, was also missioner at 
Newport, either after the departure 
of Fr. Lucas or Fr. Gandolphy. 
He died March 31, 1842, and is 
buried beneath the sanctuary of the 
church. His name does not appear 
in the clergy list of the Catholic 
Directory, 1838-43, but it does 
among those of the French clergy 
annually published as having signed 
the Form of Declaration of Catho 
lic Communion against Blanchard- 
ism. 

Priests. 
Rev. John Russell. 

Joseph Robson, 1838. 

Thos. Canon Fryer, 1840 (re 
tired 1889). 

J. D. Mooney, 1889. 

James Murtough, 1892. 

James Canon Conway, 1899 
to date. 



NEWPORT, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport). St. Mary. 

In 1790 there were four Catholics 
in Newport, who used to attend 
Mass at Caerleon, where there was 
a small room fitted up as a chapel. 
A chapel was erected at Newport 
in 1812, but the priest, who had 
several missions to attend to, could 
only officiate there occasionally. 
By 1840, the Catholic population 
had increased to about 1,600. 
The accommodation of the old 
chapel was for 200. Assisted by the 
distinguished Catholic families of 
Llanarth and Clytha, Fr. E. Met- 
calfe, the priest of Newport, under 
took the erection of the present thir 
teenth-century Gothic church (106 
ft. by 42 ft.), designed by J. Scoles 
and opened in November 1840. A 
mission preached here in Lent 
u 2 



292 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



1846 by Frs. Gentili and Furlong 
caused a great revival of Catholic 
fervour in the town, which had 
been much edified by the excel 
lent conduct of the large number of 
Irish soldiers of the 37th Regiment, 
which left for India the same year. 
Schools were erected in 1849-50, 
and in the latter year 300 children 
were being educated. In 1858 
Catholics in and about Newport 
were reckoned at 4.500. 

Eectors since 1843. 
Rev. A. Baldacconi, LL.D. 

P. Hutton. 

Dominic Cavalli, 1849. 

,, Richard Richardson, here in 
1862. 

Dominic Cavalli, 1863. 

Michael Bailey, 1892 to date. 



NEWPORT, MONMOUTHSHIRE. 

St. Michael, High Street, Pill- 
gwenlly. 

This mission was established in 
1872 from St. Mary s. The fine 
Gothic church was opened Septem 
ber 29, 1887, by Bishop Hedley. 
Among the congregation present 
were the mayor and corporation, 
General Sir A. Herbert, K.C.B., &c. 
Exclusive of the gallery, the build 
ing will accommodate about 600 ; 
cost of erection, about 3,377 ; archi 
tect, W. Gardner, Esq. 
Priests. 
Rev. Michael Bailey, 1888 to date. 



NEWPORT, SALOP (Shrewsbury}. 
SS. Peter and Paul. 

An obscure mission was esta 
blished at Longford, a village one 
mile from Newport, temp. James II. 
The Mass-house was an old man 
sion of the Talbots, and stood far 



from the observation of passengers 
along the road. In 1785 the pro 
perty of Longford Hall was sold 
by Charles Earl of Shrewsbury 
to a protestant gentleman named 
Leekc. The priest then was Fr. 
Houghton, and when the old 
chapel was closed he opened an 
oratory in Newport, where he went 
to live. This humble place of wor 
ship was afterwards exchanged for 
Salters Hall, in the High Street, 
which was given by the Earl of 
Shrewsbury. The baptismal regis 
ters of Newport commence with 
four names in 1785. Fr. J. Wilkes 
(January 1796-May 1798) kept a 
mission school for the sons of the 
Catholic gentry. Among his pupils 
were Sir H. Tichborne, Bart., Mr. 
Swinburne, of Capheator,&3. When 
Fr. Trovell came in 1838 he found 
the congregation less than 100 ; 
the Easter communions were about 
forty or fifty. By 1856 the Catholics 
had risen to over 600, and the Easter 
communicants to between 300 and 
350. The schools were formerly in 
the stables of the Hall, but in 1840 
a convenient school-house for about 
ICO children was erected. About the 
year 1828, most of the old chapel was 
pulled down to make way for the 
new Gothic church, the gift of the 
Earl of Shrewsbury. It was opened 
for worship Tuesday, July 3, 1832, 
by Bishop Walsh, V.A. of the Mid 
land District. Mr. Potter, of Lich- 
field, was the architect. It was 
beautified internally about the 
year 1842, and again in 1851 from 
the designs of Mr. C. Hansom. In 
the chancel are two stained-glass 
windows by Wailes, representing 
SS. Peter and Paul, the patrons of 
the church. In the library of the 
presbytery are preserved an old 
tabernacle used at Longford Hall 
in the days of persecution, por 
traits of some members of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



298 



Talbot family, and also of Fr. John 
Duckett, who suffered for the Faith 
at Tyburn 1644, aged thirty-one. 
There is also an old Ordo Bap- 
tizandi containing some interesting 
Catholic memoranda, as : His Grace 
the Duke of Norfolk died 1777, 
September 20, aged ninety-two. 

Priests. 
Eev. Jn. Wright, 1785. 

Jn. Wilkes, 1795. 

Wm. Goff, or Le Goff, 1800. 

Jn. Reeve, 1801. 

Geo. Howe, 1806. 

Michael Canon Trovell, V.G., 
1837. 

Eugene Canon Buquet, 1867. 

Gerard Lamb, O.S.F.C., 1868. 

Ambrose Canon Lennon, 1868. 

Jn. Canon Rogerson, 1872. 

David Williams, 1894. 



NEWQUAY, CORNWALL (Ply 
mouth). 

St. Augustine s opened on Trinity 
Sunday 1903. The site close to 
the headland was given by Lady 
Molesworth. The style is Early 
English, from the design of Canon 
Scoles. Like several of the other 
Cornish missions, the church is 
served by the Canons Regular of 
St. Augustine. 



NEWSHAM, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Mary. 

The mission was founded at The 
Hough about 1700. Fr. F. Kirk 
was priest there in 1716. The estate 
known as The Hough belonged to 
the Hesketh family. Fr. Roger 
Brockholes succeeded Fr. Kirk. 
During the march of Prince Charles 
Edward Stuart into England, 1745. 



! the priest of Newsham, Fr. J. 
I Carter, received an assurance of 
1 protection from the Prince. It was 
probably this priest who built the 
i small, ill-made chapel, on a piece 
| of ground given him by E. Fish- 
wick, Esq. During the election 
i riots of 1768 the Newsham mission 
i was nearly destroyed. Fr. Carter 
died October 18, 1789, but his 
j nephew, Fr. R. Carter, succeeded 
him in the mission, and erected the 
| chapel near the site of the old one, 
i 1806. He served the mission till 
his retirement, 1818. Fr. Jos. Marsh, 
the next priest, was here from 1818 
to 1854. Canon R. Gillow, who 
came in 1856, erected the schools. 
He was a very accomplished scholar, 
and served the mission till his 
death on November 3, 1867. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. W. Bradshaw, 1867. 
Austin Powell, 1871. 
J. Bilsborrow, 1874. 
Thos. Carroll, 1882. 
,, Edmund Kearney, 1895 and to 
date. 



NEW SPRINGS, WIGAN (Salford). 
The Holy Family. 

Mission established and chapel 
opened 1898 by Fr. Owen McNulty, 
the present rector. Catholic popu 
lation of the district, 550. 



NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON (Ply- 
mouth). St. Joseph s. 

The mission was established 1871. 
Fr. Thos. Reekie was priest in 1875 ; 
Fr. J. Higgins, 1883 ; Jos. Atkins, 
1891 and to date. 



294 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON. St. 

Augustine s Priory. 

The church was consecrated by 
Bishop Clifford September 9, 1863. 
The building is Gothic, from design 
by J. Hansom ; accommodation for 
about sixty. The English Augus- 
tinian Canonesses of the Lateran 
formed a convent at Louvain, Bel 
gium, in 1609. At the time of the 
Revolution, 1794, they returned to 
England, settling first at Hammer 
smith, and next at Amesbury, Wilts, 
and Spetisbury House, Dorset. On 
October 2, 1861, they commenced 
residence at Newton Abbot. Until 
1860 the Canonesses carried on a 
school for young ladies, but since 
that time the principal object of the 
rule has been the Perpetual Adora 
tion of the Blessed Sacrament. 



NEWTON-LE- WILLOWS, LANGS 

(Liverpool). SS. Mary and John. 

Mission opened November 1861. 
By August 1862, many lapsed 
Catholics had returned to their 
duties. Fr. J. Lennon was the first 
priest, the chapel at the outset 
being a hired room in the glass 
works. Assisted by Sir Robt. 
Gerrard, Bart., Fr. Lennon in 
1863 64 built the church, to ac 
commodate about 600 persons. 
The style is Gothic. In 1903 the 
Catholic population was about 
2,360. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. Lennon, 1861. 

Wm. O Reilly, 1898 to date 
(1904). 



NEW WHITTINGTON, DERBY 
BEIKE> (Nottingham). St. Patrick. 

The church was opened March 17, 
1906. The style is Gothic, com 



prising nave, chance], and sacristy; 
accommodation for 300. The 
opening ceremony was marked 
by a great procession, over 1,000 
strong, through the streets of the 
town. During the afternoon, the 
architect was presented by the clergy 
and congregation with a handsome 
silver crucifix in appreciation of 
his work. Fr. J. McKearney, of 
Staveley, is at present in charge 
of the mission. 



NORDEN, LANCS (Salford). St. 
Mary. 

The mission was established by 
the Eedemptorists, and the church 
opened 1904. The Catholic popu 
lation is about fifty. Rev. Chas. 
McNeiry, superior. 



NORTHALLEBTON, YORKS (Mid 
dlesbrough). The Sacred Heart. 

Until the school chapel was 
opened, May 23, 1870, the nearest 
mission was at Thirsk. The style 
is Gothic ; architect, G. Goldie. 
Till 1890 the chapel was served 
from Aiskew. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Butler, 1890. 

(From 1895 to 1904 served 

from Aiskew.) 
L. Tills rector 1904, to date. 



NORTHAMPTON. Cathedral of 
St. Mary and St. Thomas. 

In 1820, there was no Catholic 
chapel in the whole of Northamp 
tonshire. Bishop Milncr, who was 
anxious to establish one, sent Fr. 
W. Foley from Oscott to North 
ampton on October 22, 182 3. The 
number of Catholics in the town 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



29,5 



was then about eighty, visited occa 
sionally by the chaplain from 
Weston Underwood. Bishop Milner 
and Fr. Foley gave 600 for the 
erection of presbytery and chapel, 
opened October 25, 1825. A small 
boys school was started shortly 
afterwards. Bishop Wareing, at his 
own expense, added a gallery to 
the church in 1849. Next year 
Northampton became the cathedral 
town of the newly erected see. The 
present cathedral was commenced 
on October 1, 1862. Mgr. Husen- 
beth preached at the inaugural 
ceremony, which was attended by 
a large concourse, including a num 
ber of the 5th Lancers. In 1881 
the high altar was enlarged, and 
a fine pulpit of Caen stone erected 
in memory of Mgr. Oleron, V.G. 
(1807-80). 



NORTHAMPTON. St. John. 

The old building on the east side 
of Bridge Street, Northampton, 
known as St. John s Hospital, was 
opened as a Catholic chapel on 
Saturday, August 18, 1882. The 
Hospital was built in the twelfth 
century, and at the Reformation 
was among the few charitable in 
stitutions allowed to retain its en 
dowments. It ultimately came into 
the possession of the Midland 
Railway Company, who let it to a 
Mr. Mold for use as a timber store. 
In 1882 it was purchased by Catho 
lics, on the sale of the property, 
pursuant to an order in Chan 
cery. The church was restored 
at a cost of 600, and opened for 
worship by Canon Scott, V.G. 
Bishop Riddell, of Northampton, 
sang the Mass, and Cardinal Man 
ning preached on St. Thomas of 
Canterbury and the ancient fidelity 
of England to the Holy See. The 



mayor and corporation attended 
the inauural service in state. 



NORTHFLEET, KENT (South- 
ivark). Our Lady and St. Joseph. 

The establishment of this mis 
sion dates from August 15, 1867, 
when Fr. M. O Sullivan, of Graves- 
end, said Mass in a house which 
served as presbytery and chapel. 
The number of Catholics in North- 
fleet was about 143. In 1875 it 
was served by Capuchins, Fr. An 
thony being superior. The mission 
was served from Greenhithe from 
1885 till after 1898. Fr. John 
Fletcher then became incumbent. 
In 1906 he went to Tulse Hill as 
priest. Fr. S. Wray is the pre 
sent rector of Northfleet. 



NORTH SHIELDS, NORTHUM 
BERLAND (Hexliain and New 
castle). St. Cuthbert s. 

On July 15, 1784, Fr. Jas. John 
son, of Pontop, Durham, opened a 
chapel in a room in Milburn Place. 
Mass was said here once a month 
for the Catholics, who numbered 
at the most thirty. The next priest 
was Fr. P. Willcox. About 1793, 
the Abbe Duboison hired a room 
in Norfolk Street, and officiated as 
priest of the place till his return to 
France about 1803. Before leaving 
he publicly thanked the inhabitants 
of the town for their kindness to 
him during his stay among them. 
In 1796 an Irish regiment was 
quartered in the town, and Fr. J. 
Worswick, of Newcastle, opened a 
chapel, mainly for the accommoda 
tion of the men, in Union Street. 
Crowds of protestants used to at 
tend the soldiers to Mass, and nurses 
would promise to take their charges 
to the Catholic chapel for a treat ! 



296 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



After the military left, the chapel 
was moved, first to Camden Street, 
and then to Perry Street. In 1817, 
mainly owing to the energy of Fr. 
Thos. Gillow, the present fine 
church was commenced, and opened 
June 14, 1821, by Bishop Smith, 
V.A. Among the notable bene 
factors to the church were Lady 
Clifford (500), Geo. Silvertop, Esq. 
(200), Geo. Dunn, Esq. (200). 
Great numbers of persons attended 
the inaugural ceremony, and the 
whole day after the service was 
spent by them in inspecting the 
building. Commodious schools were 
opened in 1842, and six years later 
the church was decorated by Bul- 
mer. Next year (1847) 147 persons 
were confirmed here by Bishop 
Riddell, V.A. 

Priests since 1817. 

Rev. T. Gillow (died March 1857, 

aged eighty -eight). 

,, J. Bewick. Bishop of Hex- 
ham, 1882. 

Wm. Gillow, 1871 (?). 

Eobt. Franklin, 1874. 

Jn. Nolan, 1879. 

,, Jas. Canon Stark, 1885. 

Michael Haggarty, 1903. 



NORTHWICH, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury}. St. Wilfrid. 

About 1856, a Methodist chapel, 
capable of holding some 500 per 
sons, was rented as a Catholic place 
of worship, and so continued till 
March 1865, when it was turned 
into a co-operative store. Alter 
much difficulty, the priest of the 
place., Fr. Joseph Fennelly, secured 
a site for a church and presbytery, 
the services being meanwhile per 
formed in a hired building in Wit- 
ton Street. The estimated Catholic 
population in 1862 was about 900. 
The present church was built be 



tween September 1864 and August 8, 
1866. The style is Early English 
Gothic. The sitting accommoda 
tion is for 400. E. Kirby was the 
architect. The mission dates from 
1840, when Mass was occasionally 
said in a cottage near Pump Stile. 

Priests. 
Eev. Jos. Fennelly, 1854. 

Michael Power, 1855. 

John Gibbon, 1857. 

Jos. Fennelly, 1859. 

W T m. Stanton, 1868. 

Jn. Barry, 1878. 

Gerard Boen, 1885. 

Denis Cregan, 1891. 



NORWICH, NORFOLK (North 
ampton). St. John. 

The palace of the Duke of Nor 
folk, built in 1602, was abandoned 
by Thomas Earl of Arundel and 
Surrey about the time of Charles I., 
because the mayor, T. Havers, Esq., 
would not allow him to have a pri 
vate theatre. The palace fell into 
decay, and part of it was ultimately 
let as a workhouse. A priests resi 
dence and chapel were attached to 
the building, and when the place 
was sold in 1801 these portions 
were cxcepted from the sale. The 
chapel attached to the Duke s resi 
dence was served by several eminent 
priests, notably Fr. Alban Butler, 
author of the Lives of the Saints, 
and Fr. Edward Beaumont, a de 
scendant of Beaumont the poet and 
colleague of Fletcher. He was at 
Norwich in 1758. In 1791 the old 
chapel mentioned above was closed, 
and another erected in the Madder- 
market. Among the contributors 
to the building fund were Sir W. 
Jerningham, Bart., of Cossy Hall, 
Norris Suftield, and Pitchf ord Boken- 
ham, Esqrs. The altar plate, vest 
ments, furniture, &c., were removed 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



297 



from the old chapel. Fr. Beaumont 
died August 1, 1820, aged eighty- 
eight. He was buried beneath the 
chapel of St. John, where a marble 
tablet recalls his memory. The 
fine church which took the place 
of the old chapel, founded in 1791, 
was commenced in July 1884, and 
consecrated ten years later. It is 
one of the largest erected in England 
since the Reformation. The central 
tower can be seen from the Yar 
mouth Roads, over twenty miles 
off. The Duke of Norfolk, E.M., 
was the munificent founder. A 
new guild-room was opened in 
November 1896. 



NORWICH, NORFOLK. St. 
George s, Fishergate. 

The Jesuit Fathers had a mission 
at Norwich very early. Fr. F. 
Sankey, S.J., was priest here in 
1647, and Fr. J. Mumford, S.J., in 
1650. In the reign of James II. 
Fr. C. Gage, S.J., effected wonder 
ful conversions by his sermons. 
The chapel was attacked by an 
insolent rabble at the Revolution 
(1688), but, thanks to the courage 
of the sheriffs, very little damage 
appears to have been done. The 
old Mass-house, which stood ori 
ginally in Chapelfield, was removed 
to St. Swithin s Lane about 1775 
by Fr. Galloway, S. J. The Catholic 
school was also carried on there, 
and was attended by the sons of 
the first Catholic families in the 
vicinity, as the Gages of Hcngrave, 
Mannocks, &c. Fr. T. Angier, S.J., 
succeeded Fr. Galloway in 1775, 
and served the mission till his 
death in 1788. The chapel of the 
Holy Apostles was opened in August 
1829. The bells of the protestant 
church of St. Giles were rung in 
honour of the event, most likely at 



the instigation of the liberal-minded 
Bishop Bathurst, of Norwich, whose 
descendants are now Catholics. The 
mission was served by the Jesuit 
Fathers down to January 1881, 
when it was handed over to the 
Bishop of Northampton. The re 
tiring priests, Fr. Williams, S.J., 
and Fr. Perrin, S.J., were presented 
with a gold chalice and silver pyx 
by the congregation as a mark of 
gratitude for their zealous minis 
trations. 

Secular Priests since 1881. 
Rev. Thos. Fitzgerald. 
Henry Long, 1899. 



NORWOOD, LONDON, S.E. (South- 
war Jf). 

A dissenting chapel was hired and 
opened for Catholic worship July 10, 
1842. On the first day that Mass 
was said there, a number of persons 
walked over from St. George s 
Chapel, Southwark, and, on ap 
proaching the temporary mission- 
house, formed a sort of procession, 
with banners &c. At first, Mass 
was only said once a month, but a 
Mass was promised every Sunday 
if many Catholic families settled 
in the neighbourhood. The Nor 
wood chapel first appears as an in 
dependent mission in 1849, when 
Fr. Quiblier was incumbent. The 
convent of the Daughters of the 
Faithful Virgin was founded here 
in 1848. The Sisters conduct a 
high-class boarding school for girls, 
and also a large and flourishing 
orphanage, which is certified for 
the reception of Poor Law children. 
In 1851 no mention is made in the 
Catholic Directory of the Nor 
wood mission as such, but the 
Abbe Vesque is given as chaplain 
to the convent. In 1852 Fr. (after 
wards Canon) David came as as- 



298 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



sistant priest, and for some five 
years had to serve the neighbouring 
mission of Croydon. In 1857 Fr. 
David went to Croydon perma 
nently. The priests at Norwood 
that year were Frs. J. B. Morel, F. 
Maillard, and P. Rouelle. Finally 
the present fine church, in the 
Middle Gothic style, was opened 
June 1, 1871, as a memorial of 
Bishop Grant, of South wark, who 
had always shown a keen interest 
in the welfare of the Norwood con 
vent, within the precincts of which 
he is buried. The rectors of the 
mission in late years have been the 
before-mentioned Fr. J. B. Morel 
(died 1881), Francis O Callaghan 
(1881-96), John Warner (1896), F. 
Wilderspin (1900), Joseph Haynes 
(1903 to date). 



NORWOOD (WEST), LONDON, S.E. 
(Southward). St. Matthew. 

This plain church, in the Roman 
esque style, was opened March 30, 
1905. The accommodation is for 
about 200. Fr. W. Fichter is the 
first and present rector. 



NOTTINGHAM (Nottingham). 

Cathedral of St. Barnabas. 

The first public place of Catholic 
worship in Nottingham was a plain, 
unecclesiastical building, in King s 
Place, Stoney Street, In 1831 
another chapel, in George Street, 
dedicated to St. John, was opened. 
It was at the time thought pre 
posterously large, but a few years 
proved it to be quite insufficient, 
and on May 10, 1842, the first stone 
of the present cathedral was laid 
by Bishop Wiseman. The building, 
which was consecrated August 27, 



1844, is a Gothic cruciform struc 
ture some 200 ft. in length. A 
large sum towards the build 
ing expenses was contributed by 
John sixteenth Earl of Shrews 
bury, who also greatly assisted in 
the foundation of the Catholic 
schools, opened 1832. A. W. Pugin 
was the architect both of the cathe 
dral and the adjoining house, the 
residence of the Bishops of Notting 
ham since the restoration of the 
hierarchy in 1850. Fr. Eobt. Wil 
son, for many years priest of the 
Nottingham mission, was mainly 
instrumental in the erection of what 
a contemporary journal described 
as this stately Gothic fane. 
The Lord Bishops of Nottingham. 

(1) Rt. Rev. Joseph Hendren,O.S.F. 

Born at Birmingham October 19, 
1791; educated at the Fran 
ciscan academy of Baddesley 
Clinton ; a zealous missioner 
at Courtfield, Aston, Swynner- 
ton, &c., 1816 39; Vicar-Apo 
stolic, Western District, 1848 ; 
translated to Clifton 1850; to 
Nottingham 1851 ; resigned 
1852 ; died 1866. 

(2) Richard Roskell. Born 1817; 

D.D. Rome 1842 ; rector of St. 
Patrick s, Manchester, 1842; 
V.G. of Salford 1851 ; Bishop 
of Nottingham September 21, 
1853 ; resigned 1874 ; died at 
Whitewell, near Clitheroe, 
January 27, 1883. 

(3) Edward Bagshawe. Born Janu 

ary 12, 1829 ; Bishop of Notting 
ham November 12, 1874 ; re 
signed 1901 ; Archbishop of 
Seleucia, 1904. 

(4) Robt. Brindle, D.S.O. Born in 

Liverpool, November 4, 1837 ; 
educated at the English Col 
lege, Lisbon; for many years 
an Army chaplain of great dis 
tinction, and as such took part 
in the Egyptian and Soudan 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



299 



campaigns ; consecrated by 
Cardinal Satolli March 12, 
1899, as Bishop Auxiliary for 
Westminster ; translated to 
Nottingham December 6, 1901 ; 
received Princess Ena Queen 
Victoria Eugenie of Spain 
into the Catholic Church 1906. 



NOTTINGHAM, Our Lady and 
St. Patrick. 

This handsome church, in the 
London Road, was opened Monday, 
September 24, 1883, by Bishop 
Bagshawe. It took the place of 
the old chapel, opened in 1867. The 
building is in the Early English 
style of Gothic of the Lancet period. 
The accommodation is for 600 
people. The reredos, which is of 
oak, handsomely carved, contains 
figures of Our Lady, St. Joseph, 
and St. Patrick. Mgr. Provost Har- 
nett, the incumbent of the church 
at the time of opening, is still the 
rector (1905). 



NOTTINGHAM. St. Edward s, 
Blue Bell Hill. 

When the mission was erected in 
1886, the once rural district had 
become a region of streets and 
houses. Two years earlier St. 
Joseph s Convent was opened, and, 
as the chapel was semi-public, a 
congregation was quickly formed. 
The present church was opened in 
July 1886 by Cardinal Manning ; 
cost of erection, about 1,200. A 
portion of the building serves, or 
served, the mission for a school, 
the sanctuary being ingeniously 
screened off. The erection of St. 
Edward s is largely due to Canon 



Monahan, the first rector. Fr. Ig. 
Beale has been incumbent since 
about 1896. 



NUNEATON, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. Our Lady of the 
Angels. 

The chapel was opened July 25, 
1838, and completed 1840. Fr. W. 
Nickolds was the first resident 
priest. Before this, the mission was 
served on Sundays from Hinckley. 
Fr. Alwyrd was priest in 1847, Fr. 
P. Sablon in 1855, and Fr. W. 
Hilton in 1872. Fr. William, 
O.S.F.C., celebrated his silver 
jubilee here in June 1886. He 
improved the interior of the church, 
making it perfect of its kind, and 
also founded the neighbouring mis 
sion of Bedworth. The schools 
and presbytery were built by Fr. 
Sablon, who subsequently acted as 
chaplain to the Dominican nuns at 
Hurst Green and Carisbrooke. 



NUNHEAD, LONDON, S.E. (South 
ward). St. Thomas the Apostle, 
Hollydale Road. 

The present church was opened 
for Mass, November 5, 1905. Fr. 
P. Ryan, D.D., rector. The sanc 
tuary has recently been fully deco 
rated, and altars of brass and bronze 
erected. During Passion W T eek 1906 
the first mission was conducted 
by Fr. Athanasius Ryan, C.P., both 
morning and evening services being 
well attended. 



NUN MONKTON, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Joseph. 

The mission was anciently esta 
blished at Linton-on-Ousc 1700, but 



800 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



its history is said to have been un 
eventful. The register dates from 
1771. In 1856 the lease of the old 
chapel expired, and efforts to get 
another site in the district were 
frustrated by anti-Catholic preju 
dice. The mission was consequently 
removed to Nun Monkton in 1862. 
During the interval, 1856-62, Mass 
was said at Linton in a private 
house by a priest who came from 
York on Sundays. The present 
church at Nun Monkton was opened 
in October 1870. The style is 
Gothic ; with seating for about 160. 



Priests since 1810. 
Eev. Peter Thebault (emigre), 1810. 
,, P. Chatelais (emigre), 1813. 
,, Louis de Henne, 1816. 

(No mention of mission till 

1829.) 

James Wrennall, 1829. 
Arthur Wilson, 1852. 
Henry Walker, 1854. 
At Nun Monkton. 
Rev. Robt. Canon Thompson, 1862 

and till after 1875. 
Wm. Wilson, 1877. 
Charles Burke, 1891. 
Joseph Locke, 1899. 



301 



o 



OAKAMOOR, STAFFS (Birming 
ham}. St. Wilfrid s College. 

This is the lineal descendant of 
Sedgeley Park School, founded in 
1763 in an old mansion rented from 
Viscount Dudley and Ward. This 
nobleman was a firm friend of the 
long-persecuted Catholics, and more 
than once defended in Parliament 
his conduct in letting his mansion 
for a Popish school. The school 
flourished, and by 1770 there were 
about one hundred pupils, most of 
them destined for mercantile and 
commercial pursuits and living 
under a regime of Spartan sim 
plicity. Various additions were 
made to the building from time to 
time, notably in 1793 and 1794. 
A new chapel, of Classical design, 
was erected (1800-1) from plans 
by Dadford. The altar-piece was 
a copy of West s Last Supper, 
and the altar an oblong square, 
with an antependium of painted 
and gilt leather. High Mass up to 
this time seems to have been con 
spicuous by its absence, and Bene 
diction only given on the greater 
festivals. Even then the priest 
wore no cope a vestment at that 
period rarely seen in England 
outside the embassy chapels in 
London. After Bishop Milner be 
came Vicar Apostolic (1803) great 
improvements took place in the 
services not only at Sedgeley, but 
throughout the vicariate, Gregorian 
chant being introduced and more 
elaborate ritual adopted. The 



Bishop took great interest in the 
school, presiding at the annual 
exhibitions and giving the stu 
dents correct notions of English 
history a subject then and long 
after a mere farrago of doubtful 
assertions and anti-Catholic pre 
judice as far as the vast majo 
rity of text-books was concerned. 
Owing to the establishment of other 
Catholic schools, the number of 
students at The Park gradually 
declined, though it rarely fell be 
low 100 and sometimes rose above 
120. Among its students are num 
bered Bishops Milner, Wareing, 
Smith, and Brown, a large number 
of priests, John and Charles 
Kemble, the famous actors, &c. 
Mgr. Husenbeth, the eminent bio 
grapher of Bishop Milner, who 
was a student here from 1803 to 
1810, published a detailed history 
of the school in 1856. The cen 
tenary of the college was cele 
brated with much rejoicing in 
1863. Ten years later, however, 
partly owing to the decayed state 
of the fabric and partly on account 
of the falling in of the lease, the 
school was transferred to St. Wil 
frid s, Coton Hall, in the same 
county. This latter place had been 
a residence of the Oratorians from 
1847 to 1849. The church was 
opened April 25, 1848. In its new 
home, historic Sedgeley has worthily 
upheld its great reputation as the 
loved alma mater of zealous clergy 
| and worthy laymen, and main- 



302 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



tained to the full those happy tra- | 
ditions which are the guide of pre- ] 
sent conduct and the subject of ! 
pleasing recollections. 

Presidents of Sedgeley Park 

and St. Wilfrid s. 
Rev. Hugh Kendal, 1763. 

Thos. Southworth, 1781. 

John Kirk, 1793 (d. 1851, 
at. 91). 

Thos. Southworth (second 
time), 1797. 

Joseph Birch, 1816. 

Walter Blount, 1821. 

Jos. Bowdon, D.D., 1836. 

Henry Smith, 1845. 

James Brown, 1848 (Bishop 
of Shrewsbury July 1851). 

Thos. Canon Flanagan, 1851. 

Geo. Canon Eolfe, 1853. 

James Canon Moore, 1860. 

,, Joseph Canon Souter, 1873. 

John Canon Hawksford, D.D., 
1885. 

E. Hymers, 1904 to date. 



OAKHAM, RUTLAND (Notting 
ham). SS. Joseph and Edith. 

The foundation stone of the first 
Catholic church in Oakham since 
the Reformation, was laid by the 
Earl of Gainsborough, Lord Lieu 
tenant of the county, July 7, 1883. 
The church was erected in memory 
of Charles George second Earl of 
Gainsborough. Lady Edith Noel, 
of the same family, and at that 
time a Sister of Charity at Leyton, 
Essex, endowed the mission with 
40 a year for ever. The first 
priest at Oakham was Fr. Van 
Dale. The town is said at that 
time (1883) to have been the 
centre of a very protestant district 
in the Midlands teeming with 
dissenters and Low Churchmen. 
The dedication of the church by 
the Bishop of Nottingham took 



place on Tuesday, October 16, 1883. 
The structure is a neat building in 
the Gothic style, capable of holding 
about 120 persons. The Bishop of 
Emmaus, Mgr. Patterson, preached 
at the opening from the text, The 
just man lives by faith. 



OAKHAMPTON, orOKEHAMPTON, 
DEVONSHIRE (Plymouth). 

The mission has only recently 
been established, and is under 
the care of Fr. Burns (1906). A 
site for a church has been acquired 
in the Slater Road, and 100 con 
tributed towards the new building 
by two anonymous benefactors. 



OGLE STREET, LANGHAM 
PLACE, LONDON, W. (West 
minster). 

The church of St. Charles Bor- 
romeo was opened in Lent 1863 by 
Cardinal Wiseman, but the usual 
solemnities were postponed till 
Wednesday, May 20, of the same 
year. The style of the church, 
designed by Messrs. Willson & 
Nichol, is Gothic. The side altar 
of the Sacred Heart was presented 
by Mrs. Grace and T. H. Galton, 
Esq. The handsome sanctuary 
lamp suspended before the side 
altar was given by Lord Edward 
Howard. 

Priests. 
Rev. Cornelius Keens, 1863. 

Daniel Canty, here in 1871. 

Reginald Tuke, 1877. 

Thos. Regan, 1879. 

Edmund Egan, 1895 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



303 



OLDCOTES, WORKSOP, NOTTS 
(Nottingham)- St. Helen. 
Before the commencement of the 

mission, the district was served by 
the priest at Worksop (q.v.). The 
foundation stone of the church was 
laid September 15, 1868, and the 
building (Gothic) was opened 1869. 
The fabric is of cedar-wood, and 
was the gift of a wealthy timber 
merchant of Liverpool. Accom 
modation for about 120. 

Priests. 
Kev. Jn. Power, 1867. 

B. Douglass, 1874. 

C. L. Monahan, 1877. 
Patrick Conaty, 1879. 
Michael Fryer, 1882. 
Win. O Dwyer, 1885. 
Joseph Stourton, 1888 to date. 



OLD HALL GREEN, WARE, 
HERTS (Westminster). St. Ed 
mund s College. 

In 1769 a school, called the Old 
Hall Green Academy, was opened 
through the efforts of Bishop Chal- 
loner, V.A.L., and his coadjutor, 
the Hon. and Eight Rev. Bishop 
Talbot. In spite of the then exist 
ing penal laws, the obscure academy 
nourished under the presidency of 
Fr. James Willacy. Like Sedgeley 
Park, the institution was long re 
garded as a place of preparation 
for Douai. On the breaking up of 
this latter college at the time of 
the French Revolution (1792-93), 
the professors and students escaped 
to England. A number of these 
were established at Old Hall Green 
by Bishop Douglass, V.A.L.D., and 
the place renamed St. Edmund s 
College (November 16, 1793). New 
college buildings were erected 1795, 
mainly at the expense of Mr. Sone, 
of Bedhampton, Hants. The his 



tory of the college is practically 
that of Catholicity in the South of 
England, large numbers of the 
nobility and gentry and clergy 
having been educated here. In 
1869 the Church students were 
removed to St. Thomas s Seminary, 
Hammersmith, for their theological 
studies, but in 1903 St. Edmund s 
again became the divinity alma 
mater for the archdiocese. The 
number of students, clerical and 
lay, is about two hundred. The 
college church a splendid ex 
ample of Gothic architecture was 
consecrated by Cardinal Wiseman 
May 16, 1853. Within the pre 
cincts of the college repose the 
remains of several bishops, notably 
Bishop Talbot, V.A.L.D. (d. 1790), 
Bishop Poynter (d. 1827), &c. 

Presidents of St. Edmund s. 
Rev. James Willacy, 1769. 
John Potier, 1792. 
Gregory Stapleton, 1795. 
Bishop of Hieroc&sarea, 
1801. Died 1802. 
Bishop Poynter, D.D., 1801. 
,, Joseph Kimbell, 1813. 
John Bew, D.D., 1817. 
Thomas Griffiths, D.D., 1818. 
Bishop of Olena, 1833. 
Died 1847. 

Richard Newell, D.D., 1834. 
John Rolfe, 1838. 
Edward Cox, D.D., 1840. 
Mgr. Weathers, D.D., 1851. 
Bishop of Amycla, 1872. 
Died 1895. 
Mgr. Fredk. Rymer, D.D., 

1868. 

Mgr. James Patterson, M.A. ; 
1870. Bishop of Emmaus, 
1880. Died 1902. 
Geo. Akers, M.A., 1880. 
Mgr. Patrick Fenton, 1882. 

Bishop of Ami/da, 1904. 
Mgr. J. Crook, 1887. 
Mgr. Bernard Ward, D.D., 
1893 to date. 



304 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



OLDHAM, LANCS (S a? ford). Our 
Lady of Mount Carinel and St. 
Patrick. 

In 1862 Fr. J. Conway, of St. 
Mary s, Oldham, opened a school 
chapel in John Street. Fr. P. 
Cardinael was first priest-in-charge. 
In 1868 Fr. E. Brindle received a 
site for a new church from the 
Ainsworth family, then recent con 
verts. The building was opened in 
1870. Fr. T. Byrne was the next 
priest after Fr. Brindle. 

Recent Priests. 
Eev. Jn. White, 1883. 

,, Eichard Canon Brindle, 1891 
to after 1894. 

Thos. O Callaghan, 1897 and 
to date. 



OLDHAM, LANCS. St. Ann s, 
Greenacrcs. 

The old school chapel was opened 
November 1880, to accommodate 
some 400 persons on Sundays and 
250 pupils on weekdays. A new 
school chapel, costing 6,000, was 
opened here in the summer of 1903. 



OLDHAM, LANCS. St. Mary. 

A chapel was opened in Lord 
Street by Fr. E. Hogan in 1838. 
In June 1861, an anti- Catholic mob 
attacked the chapel, and did con 
siderable damage. Mr. Abraham 
Leach, the mayor, behaved with 
great courage, and the riot was 
soon quelled. Several of the rioters 
were tried at the quarter sessions, but 
released on their own recognisances 
at the request of Fr. Conway, the 
priest of bt. Mary s. The building 
subsequently underwent extensive 
alterations, and was reopened in 



September 1867. Mr. Buller gave 
100 of the 500 required for 
builders charges. 

Recent Priests. 
Kev. Thos. Wrennall, 1862. 

,, Chas. Grymonprez, here in 
1871. 

Jn. White, 1879. 

Jn. Cooke, 1897. 

Jn. Lane, 1903. 

M. Buckley, 1904. 



OLD SWAN, LIVERPOOL (Liver 
pool}. St. Oswald s. 

When the first stone of the 
church was laid, in 1840, Old Swan 
was a country place far away 
from Liverpool. The building 
was opened August 7, 1842 ; cost 
of erection, 5,000. The presbytery 
was completed May 7, 1858. 

Priests. 
Eev. Canon Haddocks, 1842. 

Thomas Bennett, 1864. 

Eichard Canon Holden, 1867. 

Peter Canon Van Hee, 1882. 

M. Gallagher, 1894. 

J. E. Clarkson, 1898. 



OLNEY, BUCKS (Northampton}. 
Our Lady Help of Christians and 
St. Lawrence. 

The mission was served till 
recent times by the chapel at 
Weston Underwood, the seat of 
the Throckmorton family. When 
the old hall was removed in 1826 
several hiding-places were dis 
covered. The chapel of St. Law 
rence at Newport Pagncll was 
superseded by the present church 
in 1901. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



305 



Priests (until 1837 these were 

Benedictines}. 
Eev. A. W. Blakey, 1715. 

J. Bernard Wythie, 1727. 

Jn. Placid Eigby, 1736. 

J. B. Daniel, or Simpson, 1747. 

Win. P. Metcalfe, 1769. 

Wm. Gregson, 1770. 

Michael Lorymer, 1800. 

Jos. Anson, 1803. 

Jas. Calderbank, 1805. 

J. B. Eigby, 1806. 

Scth Canon Eccles, 182G. 

Geo. Stokes, 1884. 

Fr. M. Carton de Wiart, 1899 
to date. 



OLTON, WARWICKSHIRE (Bir 
mingham}. Immaculate Concep 
tion. 

This house of studies of the 
Franciscan Capuchins was esta 
blished 1883, Fr. Bernard Devlin, 
being the first superior. 



ORPINGTON, KENT (Southward). 
St. Joseph s and St. Anne s Or 
phanage. 

This institution, which is a Poor 
Law school for Catholic children, 
under the management of the 
South wark Eescue Society, was 
opened by the late Bishop Butt in 
1894. The building, of two stories, 
which was designed by Mr. Walters, 
F.S.A., is spacious and well adapted 
to the purpose for which it was 
intended. About three hundred 
orphan boys are educated here 
under the care of the Presentation 
Brothers. About half of each day 
is devoted to the three E s, whilst 
the remainder is set aside for 
technical instruction in a trade. 
Much attention also is devoted to 
physical exercises, and the school 



band is considered by experienced 
judges to be one of the best of 
its kind in England. Farming, 
stabling, and gardening are also 
well attended to, with a view to the 
emigration of many of the lads to 
Canada. The chapel, which is still 
only a temporary one, is open to 
the public, and, though simple in 
character, has been adorned with 
considerable taste and skill by 
Brother Stephens. The Eev. W. 
Linnett is the priest of the mission. 

N.B. The Eoper family (Barons 
Teynham) had a residence at 
Orpington, temp. James I., but we 
can find no trace of it or the secret 
chapel which existed there. It was 
probably served by the Jesuits. 

St. Anne s Orphanage. Ad 
jacent to St. Joseph s is St. Anne s 
Orphanage, for girls, under the 
care of the Sisters of Mercy. 
Originally what is now St. Joseph s 
did duty for both boys and girls, 
the wing, &c., occupied by the 
former, being separated from the 
latter by internal and external walls. 
Since the opening of the separate 
convent school (1901) the work 
has greatly expanded, upwards of 
four hundred orphan and destitute 
girls being now provided for. The 
elementary school is apart from 
the rest of the building, so as to 
keep the home and scholastic life 
of the place quite separate. 



ORRELL, WIGAN, LANGS (Liver - 

2Jool). St. James. 

The Leigh family appear to have 
been the founders of this mission. 
John Leigh, Esq., was fined and 
imprisoned 1584 for recusancy. 
Another of the line, Alexander 
Leigh, was on the list of recusants 
16G2. The Eev. Jn. Thulis, hanged 
! and quartered at Lancaster for the 

X 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Faith 1616, was a native of the 
parish. The chapel was started at 
Crossbank 1699, and removed to 
Moor Ditch 1805. Mrs. Ann Sand- 
ford endowed it with 100 in 1740. 
The building was enlarged 1841, 
and a bell tower added 1882. 
Schools were erected at Boby Mill 
1875. The Benedictine nuns of 
Heath (Yorks) settled here for a 
time (1821) before removing to their 
present convent at Princethorpe 
(1833). 

Priests since 1824. 
Bev. Hawley, . 

J. Gotham, 1826. 

Thos. Pennington, 1831. 

Bobt. Hubbersty, 1841. 

., Thos. Adamson, 1849. 

Hy. O Bryen, D.D., here 
1871 

,, Moses Doon, 1874. 

Wm. Parkinson, 1899 to date. 



OSBALDESTON, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Mary. 

The church, in the Henry VII. 
style of Tudor, was opened by 
Bishop Briggs in October 1837, 
having been built by W. Heatley, 
Esq., of Brindle Lodge. 

Priests. 
Bev. Thos. Canon Irving, 1837. 

T. Smith, 1857. 

E. Tunstall, 1879. 

,, Laurence Johnson, 1894. 

John Canon Boulaye, 1897. 

Michael Cahill, 1902. 

James Manning, 1904 to date. 



OSCOTT, near BIRMINGHAM. 

St. Mary s. 

Fr. Andrew Bromwicb, a Lis- 
bonian, was priest here in 1678. 
During the Titus Gates plot he was 
tried before Justice Scroggs, and 



sentenced to death for being a 
Popish priest contrary to the law, 
but reprieved by King Charles II. 
He returned to Oscott, and con 
tinued his ministry till his death in 
1706. Curiously enough, he was 
succeeded here as priest by his 
aged uncle, also a Lisbonian, who 
served the mission till his death in 
1711, aged eighty-nine. In 1752 Fr. 
Pierce Parry built a new presbytery. 
The chapel occupied the front floor 
of the upper story. In 1778 a new 
chapel was erected near the clergy- 
house, which was let as a school to 
a Mrs. Johnson, of Harvington, in 
Worcestershire. Fr. Joseph Bering- 
ton, author of the Literary History 
of the Middle Ages, was priest at 
Oscott for a short time, but left 
1793. Next year the Bev. Dr. 
Bew, who had been president of 
St. Gregory s Seminary in Paris, 
commenced Oscott College at 
the request of the English Vicars- 
Apostolic. Dr. Bew did not long 
retain the presidency of Oscott, but 
went to Brighton as priest of St. 
John the Baptist s Chapel. He 
was president of St. Edmund s 
College, Old Hall, from 1817 to 
1818, and died at Brockhampton 
October 25, 1819. The college, 
after the usual initial difficulties, 
flourished exceedingly, and soon 
became a perfect stronghold of 
Catholicity in the Midlands. The 
old building was abandoned in 
1838 for the splendid Gothic pile 
that, in a sermon now historic, 
inspired one of Newman s most 
eloquent passages. The college 
became exclusively an ecclesiastical 
seminary in 1889. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



307 



OSGODBY, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not 
tingham}. St. Joseph. 

This mission, like that of King- 
erby (q.v.) owes its establishment 
and preservation to the Young 
family of the latter place. The 
priests house, and chapel over it, 
were erected 1793, the building 
forming a good specimen of a 
Catholic mission-house at the close 
of the penal times. The registers 
date from 1799. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. M. Gilbert. 

J. Abbot, 1837. 

James Egan, 1839. 

James Canon King, 1841. 

Thos. Jackson, 1863. 

AmadeusGavois, 1866, and till 
1892. 

Eobt. Brown, 1892. 

(Mission served from Market 
Rasen 1894.) 

A. Lepere, 1895. 

Jn. Wenham, 1897. 

Redmond Walsh, 1899. 

Gilbert Bull, 1901 to date. 



OSMOTHERLEY, YORKS (Middles 
brough). 

A school kept by Franciscans was 
set up here about 1672, but was 
closed for a time, probably during 
the Gates plot (1679-81). In 1702, 
the Provincial appointed a Mrs. 
Jennison as matron or manageress. 
At the time of the Jacobite rising, 
1714-15, Fr. Ambrose Ogle, the 
chaplain, was much persecuted 
by the justices for recusancy. 
Shortly after 1723 the school was 
removed to Edgbaston, but Os- 
motherley was continued as a resi 
dence of the Order. In 1799 it 
was decided to make the place the 
novitiate, but the venture did not 
succeed, and in 1823 it was resolved 
to admit no more aspirants. The 



1 register dates from about 1771. 
For nearly forty years the mission 
has been served from Stokesley. 

Priests since 1812. 
Rev. P. Kington, 1812. 1 
John Davison, 1828. 

(Mission vacant 1834-36.) 
A. Macartney, 1837. 

(Mission served occasionally 
1841. No mention of mis 
sion for nearly thirty years. 
From 1875 till the present 
time the place has been 
served from Stokesley.) 



OSWESTRY, SALOP (Shrewsbury). 
Our Lady Help of Christians and 
St. Oswald. 

In 1839 Mass was said occa 
sionally in an upper room of the 
White Hart Inn by Fr. Jn. Collins, 
of Wrexham. In 1864 a chapel 
was opened in Cripplegate Street 
by Fr. W. Barry, of Welshpool. 
Fr. P. Tracy, who came in 1865, 
was the first resident priest. In 
1879 an iron church was presented 
to the mission by T. Longueville, 
Esq., of Llanforda Hall. Eleven 
years later, the same generous 
patron built the present church in 
Brook Street. The sanctuary was 
beautifully decorated in 1897 from 
designs of Mr. J. Pippett, and a 
porch added 1899. 



OTLEY, YORKS, WEST RIDING 

(Leeds). 

The mission was commenced 
about 1850, the church, in the 
Gothic style, being opened in 1851. 

1 Fr. Pacificus Kington, O.S.F., was 
Confessor to the Poor Clares at Aire in 
Artois, 1786-91. He would have been 
| guillotined, July 28, 1794, had not Robes 
pierre been executed the day before. 



308 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



The architect was the late Mr. T. 
Constable. During the rectorate of 
Fr. Martin Kelly, the present priest 
of the church, the St. Joseph schools, 
which existed as a mere shell 
when he first came (1871), have 
been properly equipped and brought 
into a full state of efficiency. Fr. 
Win. Macdonnell was the first priest 
at Otley. 



OULTON, STAFFS (Birmingham}. 
St. Mary s Abbey. 

In 1853 the Benedictine nuns 
from Caverswall Castle, which they 
had occupied from 1811, came to 
Oulton, where the Lady Abbess 
(Juliana Forster) found means 
to erect the church of St. Mary. 
The architect was Mr. Edward 
Pugin, then only nineteen years of 
age. The building- was consecrated 
November 24, 1854, by Bishop 
Ullathorne. The style of the edi 
fice is Gothic. The chapter-house, 
sacristy, and presbytery were built 
during the reign of the second Lady 
Abbess (Catherine Beech), 1869- 
1900. The handsome oak stalls in 
the sanctuary were given by Mrs. 
Watertoii. The jubilee of the foun 
dation at Oulton was celebrated on 
Thursday November 24, 1904. The 
Bishop of Birmingham, Dr. Ilsley, 
pontificated at the High Mass, the 
sermon being preached by Mgr. 
Ward of St. Edmund s College, 
Ware. Among the many persons 
present were eight ladies who had 
been pupils at the convent when 
the church was consecrated in 1854. 



OXBURGH, STOKE FERRY, NOR 
FOLK (Northampton). Our Lady 
and St. Margaret. 

The church was erected at the 
expense of Sir Henry Paston Bed- 



ingfeld, Bart., and opened July 10, 
1836. Style, fourteenth-century ; 
size, 72 ft. by 20 ft. ; open roof. The 
sanctuary is lighted by coloured 
windows dating from 1521. The 
communion rails are splendidly 
carved with representations of 
Isaac, Melchisedech, &c. Before 
the opening of the church, the 
mission was served by the chapel 
at the Hall, which has been a focus 
of Catholicity throughout the penal 
times. In the turret of the east 
tower is a curious priests hiding- 
place, built in the solid wall. The 
mansion contains some fine speci 
mens of ancient armour, old por 
traits, &c. In the library is a MS. 
history of the Passion of Our 
Saviour, written by Sir Henry 
Bedingfeld when a prisoner in the 
Tower for loyalty to Charles I. The 
Jesuit Fathers formerly served the 
mission. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. J. Gascoyne, . 

Win. Gubbins, 1845. 

Stephen Longman, 1847. 

Win. Bodley, 1873. 

Henry Parkes, 1902. 

Joseph Prince, 1904 to date. 



OXFORD (Birmingham}. St. 
Aloysius, St. Giles. 

In 1577 a bookseller was tried 
at the Oxford Assizes for printing 
and distributing Catholic books. 
Fr. Wm. Lacy, S.J., according to 
Anthony Wood, is said to have 
ministered to the Catholics of Ox 
ford during nearly half of the seven 
teenth century. He was a B.A. of 
the university, and had been con 
verted to the Catholic faith by 
Fr. Doulton, a secular priest. Sir 
Henry Gage, governor of Oxford for 
Charles I. during the Civil War, 
used to attend Fr. Lacy s Mass 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



309 



nearly every day. 1 After Fr. Lacy s 
death, in or about 1680, Catholics of 
Oxford were dependent on the priests 
at Dorchester (Oxon.), Bright- 
well, &c. In 1793 Fr. Leslie built 
a chapel for Catholics of the city 
and vicinity, who then numbered 
about sixty. In 1842 a meeting 
was held at the house of the resi- 



1 Sir Henry Gage was killed in a 
skirmish with the Roundheads at Cul- 
ham Bridge, January 11, 1644. He had 
some time prior to this relieved Basing 
House, then held for the King by the 
Catholic Marquis of Winchester. Sir 
Henry was a very devout Catholic, and, 
where possible, heard Mass every day. 
He was much esteemed by King Charles 
I., who attended his funeral in state. 



dent priest, Fr. Newsham, to con 
sider the erection of a church worthy 
the antiquity and splendour of Catho 
lic worship. Nothing, apparently, 
was done, and in 1862 Bishop Ulla- 
thorne sent Fr. A. Comberbach to 
Oxford for the purpose of erecting 
a new church, as the old chapel 
was only fit for a school. The first 
stone of the present building was 
laid May 20, 1873, by Bishop Ulla- 
thorne in the presence of a large 
and distinguished gathering. Fr. 
John Morris, S.J., preached. The 
style of the building opened 1875 
is Perpendicular Gothic, from design 
by J. Hansom. Seating accommo 
dation for 800. The Jesuit Fathers 
have charge of the mission. 



310 



PADIHAM, BURNLEY, LANCS 

(Salford). St. John the Baptist. 

The school chapel, for 300 persons, 
was erected in the autumn of 1863, 
the first stone being laid by Canon 
Eimmer. Mr. Welby Pugin was the 
architect. The mission was served 
from Burnley for some years, until 
it became capable of supporting a 
priest. The new church was opened 
the end of March 1881. It is erected 
on a site on the borders of the 
Townley estate. Seating accom 
modation for 600 persons. The 
cost, without the chancel (erected 
subsequently), was 2,100. 

Priests. 

Rev. Hy. Jones, here in 1875 and 
till 1892. 

E. Goetgeluck, 1892. 

Francis Hart, 1901 to date. 



PAIGNTON, DEVON (Plymouth). 
St. Mary. 

The Marist Congregation started 
their novitiate house here in Sep 
tember 1882. The church, com 
menced about the same time, was 
opened in the course of 1883. Till 
the completion of the building the 
little oratory of the Fathers was 
literally crowded week by week 
with Catholics, and also many pro- 
testants anxious to witness the 
Sacrifice of the Mass, then offered 



at Paignton for the first time since 
the Reformation. The new church 
was opened Thursday, June 14, 
1883. It is a small but lofty Gothic 
structure in the thirteenth-century 
style. The building was designed 
by Fr. Rosier, and built by Mr. F. 
Vanstone, at a cost of about D 2,000. 
Bishop Vaughan, of Plymouth, 
preached at the opening, which 
was attended by a very large con 
gregation. The church was beauti 
fully decorated at the cost of one 
of the congregation in August and 
September 1886. The number of 
Catholics in Paignton, which in 
1880 was but a dozen, had increased 
to 100 in 1886. 



PAKBOLD, LANCS (Liverpool}. 
Our Lady and All Saints. 

The church, the gift of Mr. H. 
Ainscough, was opened May 29, 
1884. The building, which cost 
15,000, is in the Gothic style, sur 
mounted by a lofty steeple. The 
altar and reredos of alabaster are 
beautifully carved. The seating 
capacity of the church is for 500. 
Fr. J. O Brien was the first rector. 
A new Lady Altar was erected 
1893. Fr. J. Brown, O.S.B., is the 
present incumbent, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



311 



PARKMINSTER, SUSSEX (South- 
wark). St. Hugh s Monastery. 

In 1873 the Carthusian Order 
acquired Parknowle estate, near 
Horsham, and upon it the splendid 
church and monastery covering 
640 acres were erected, 1876-82. 
The imposing entrance is crowned 
by statues of Our Lady, St. John the 
Baptist, and St. Bruno. The style 
of the buildings is Romanesque. 
In the chapter-house are life-sized 
wall-paintings of the martyrdom of 
the Carthusian Fathers of the Lon 
don Charterhouse for refusing to 
abjure the Papal supremacy, 1535. 
The chapel of relics contains, among 
others, the stole of St. Hugh of 
Lincoln, and portions of the bones 
of St. Thomas of Canterbury and 
St. Bruno. The original mansion 
of the estate is now the guest 
house. St. Hugh s was built with 
the view of becoming a refuge for 
the Order in the event of revolution 
and spoliation in France. The 
wisdom of this determination has 
recently become apparent, since, 
owing to the expulsion of the reli 
gious orders under the Associations 
law of M. Combes and his party 
the whole of the Carthusian Order 
in France were compelled to take 
refuge abroad. 



PARSONS GREEN, LONDON, S.W. 

(Westminster). Holy Cross. 

A mission was started here in 
1843, and continued till 1848. Mass 
was said on Sundays and holy days 
at 9 A.M. A second mission was 
established in 1884, when a school 
chapel was opened in the Cassingley 
Road. The present chapel, still 
only a temporary one, is in the 
Arlington Road, but great efforts 
tiro being made to erect a church, 



Priests. 

Eev. W. Kelly, 1843. 
Joseph Butt, 1847. 
C. Moncrieff Smyth, 1884. 
Rd. Conway, 1888. 
Rd. Galvan, 1903 to date. 



PEASLEY CROSS. See- ST. 
HELENS, St. Joseph s. 



PECKHAM, LONDON, S.E. (South- 

wark). 

The Catholic population was es 
timated at 1,000 in 1849. On 
August 9 of that year Mr. J. Gilbert 
called a meeting to consider the 
erection of a public chapel. Some 
reference was made to an old be 
quest of 1492 for perpetual lights 
before the statues of Our Lady and 
St. Nicholas the ancient patrons of 
the locality in the parish church. 
A mission would appear to have 
been commenced about 1850 by 
Fr. J. Furniss, member of an old 
Catholic family at Hathersage^.v.) 
He joined the Redemptorists at 
Clapham in 1851. The same year 
the Capuchin Fathers came to 
Peckham, Fr. Louis being placed 
in charge of the mission. He 
apparently resided at the convent of 
the Christian Retreat, Kennington, 
during this time. Upwards of 300 
was collected by him for the Peck- 
ham mission before his removal to 
Toronto, Canada, where he died 
March 17, 1857. By this time the 
Catholic congregation had nearly 
doubled. Fr. Anthony, the pupil 
and successor of Fr. Louis, opened 
a chapel in a stable in Stafford 
Street, known to the inhabitants as 
The Hole in the Wall ! On July 6, 
1859, the first stone of the present 
fine church and monastery was laid 



312 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



by Bishop Grant, of Southwark. E. 
Welby Pugin was the architect. 
The clergy - house was then at 
4 Carltoii Place, New Peckham, 
S.E. The solemn opening by Arch 
bishop Manning and Bishop Grant 
took place on Thursday, October 4, 
18G6. The building consists of a 
nave and two aisles, which termi 
nate at the eastern end in a chancel 
and two lateral chapels. The altar 
of the Lady Chapel is of Irish 
marbles, curiously carved. A fine 
Calvary towers above the high 
altar, the gift of the late Miss 
Hales, of Canterbury. The cost of 
erecting the church was 6,000. 
Fr. Emidius, O.S.F., was guardian 
of the Peckham monastery at the 
time the church was opened. 



PEMBERTON, near WIGAN, 
LANCS (Liverpool). St. Cuthbert. 

In 1870-71 schools were erected, 
one of the larger class-rooms serving 
as a chapel. Fr. W. Brady was 
the first priest. A church to accom 
modate 500 was announced as likely 
to be built (1878), but nothing, 
apparently, was done till 1887, when 
an iron church was opened by 
Bishop O Eeilly (February 13). The 
Catholic population of the district 
is about 2,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. Bernard Brady, 1871. 

J. Manning, 1885. 

Francis Blake, 1888. 

Edward Smith, 1902 to date. 



PENRITH, CUMBERLAND (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). St. Catherine. 

In 1681 five Catholics and thirteen 
Quakers were cited before the chan 
cellor of the diocese of Carlisle at 
Penrith for not attending the parish 



church. In 1833 a room was hired 
in the town by J. Smith, Esq., and 
fitted up as a Catholic chapel. The 
mission was described as wretchedly 
poor, the priest, Fr. H. Newsham, 
having to lodge as best he could 
with protestants. In November 
1839 the Eev. G. Haydock, the 
Biblical commentator, was ap 
pointed to Penrith. Though he 
did not live to see the opening of 
the present thirteenth - century- 
Gothic church opened on June 11, 
1850 it was mainly owing to his 
exertions that the building was 
erected. Lady Throckmorton, Mr. 
Howard, of Corby, and others were 
notable benefactors. In October 
1860, the structure was nearly 
doubled by the addition of apse and 
transepts. 

Priests at Penrith. 
Eev. H. Newsham, 1833. 

James Seddon, 1838. 

Geo. Haydock, 1841. 

Eobt. Smith, 1850 (after the 
restoration of the hierarchy 
in that year he was made 
Canon of Hexham). 

Gco. Flint, 1857. 

Eobt. Canon Smith (second 
time), 1862. 

Wm. Smith, 1867. 

E. O Dwyer, here 1871. 

Geo. Meynell, 1884. 

John Chapman, 1897. 

Jeremiah Foran, 1901. 



PENZANCE, CORNWALL (Ply 
mouth). The Immaculate Concep 
tion. 

In 1837, Fr. W. Ivers attempted 
to found a mission here, but failed. 
In July 1840, Fr. W. Young came 
to the town and built the church. 
The schools were situated under 
neath. The opening took place 
October 26, 1843. The care of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



313 



place was made over to the French 
Conceptionist Order. The mission 
having fallen into financial diffi 
culties, bankruptcy was averted by 
Bishop Errington, of Plymouth, 
who advanced the sura of 950 to 
the rector. Most of the funds for 
building the new church were col 
lected by Fr. Young in London. 
The Bishop of Marseilles, Superior- 
General of the Conceptionists, also 
liberally subscribed. A Catholic 
lending library was established in 
connection with the church in 1847, 
and proved very useful. Among the 
many converts who were received 
into the Church at Penzance was 
Miss Elizabeth Peel, cousin of the 
great statesman Sir Robert Peel. 
Sir Paul Molesworth, Bart., of 
Keneggie, was the chief Catholic in 
the neighbourhood of Penzance at 
this time. In October 1884 a 
splendid new organ, by G. Tucker, 
of Plymouth, was installed in the 
church. The cost of the instru 
ment was 350, of which 100 was 
given by John McAlister, Esq., a 
member of the congregation. Canon 
Shortland was priest at Penzance 
from 1859 till his terribly sudden 
death in July 1889. 1 In 1892 new 
schools were erected at a cost of 
1,300 on a site given by James 
Runnalls, Esq. The jubilee of the 
Penzance mission was celebrated 
with much ceremony in November 
1893. 



PETERBOROUGH, NORTH 
AMPTONSHIRE (Northampton). 
All Souls. 

The mission was established in 
1848, Canon Thomas Seed being 
the first priest. The number of 

1 Canon Shortland was formerly pro- 
testant rector of Pcrizance 



Catholics was then less than twenty. 
In 1858 they numbered 150. In 
the districts of "Whittlesea, Thorney, 
Crowland, and Huntingdon, which 
were then served from Peterborough, 
the number of the faithful was about 
350, almost all poor agricultural 
labourers. From 1848-50, Mass 
was celebrated in a private house, 
barely accommodating thirty per 
sons. A house was next purchased 
for 450, and here a temporary 
chapel was fitted up, This was 
sold in 1856, and a school chapel 
erected for 200 persons. This build 
ing, together with the adjoining 
presbytery, was opened on Rosary 
Sunday 1856. It may be of interest 
to note that the Ven. Henry Heath, 
O.S.F., who suffered at Tyburn for 
the Faith, April 17, 1643, was a 
native of Peterborough. In 1890 
(January) a splendid gold and 
jewelled monstrance was presented 
to the church by an anonymous 
benefactor. At Norman Cross, near 
Peterborough, are buried many of 
the French prisoners of war who 
died here during the early part of 
the last century. A chapel to their 
memory has been added to the 
church of All Souls, opened in the 
summer of 1896, from the design of 
Mr. L. Stokes. Mr. L. Dold gave 
200 towards the high altar, and 
Mr. H. Walters a handsome statue 
of St. Peter. 



PETERSFIELD, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). St. Lawrence. 

The church, in the Roman style, 
was built by Mr. Cave, of Ditcham 
Park, and opened 1890. Prior to 
this, the mission was served by 
Mr. Cave s domestic chapel. The 
Salesian Fathers had charge of 
the place till August 1893, when 



314 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



they were supplanted by the Bene 
dictines from Ampleforth. Fr. 
Ildephonsus Cummins, O.S.B., was 
the first resident priest of this 
latter Order. There were no Catho 
lics in the district in 1885, but ten 
years later in addition to the church 
there was a school attended by 
seventy children. 



PETWORTH, SUSSEX (South- 
warty. The Sacred Heart. 

Until the establishment of the 
present mission, the nearest chapel 
was at Burton Park (q.v.). The 
handsome Decorated Gothic church, 
to accommodate about three hun 
dred persons, was built at the ex 
pense of the late Willock Dawes, 
Esq., of Brighton, and was con 
secrated by Bishop Bourne June 19, 
1901. Mr. F. A. Walters, F.S.A., 
was the architect. 

Priests. 
Eev. Thomas Canon Lalor. 

Edward Martin, 1901. 



PICKERING, YORKS, NORTH 
RIDING (Middlesbrough}. 

In 1901, the few Catholics of the 
place met in a hired room in a 
narrow lane for devotions. Fr. E. 
Bryan was sent down to attend the 
incipient mission, and in answer to 
appeals for funds sufficient money 
was collected to purchase a house 
and site for a church (1902). Three 
rooms of the house serve as a chapel, 
and another as a schoolroom. 



PILLING, GARSTANG, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. William of York. 
Mission founded from Garstang 
1891. 



Priests. 
Kev. Edw. Smith, 1891. 

Kev. Jn. Smith, 1901 to date. 



PLAISTOW. See EAST HAM, E. 



PLATT BRIDGE, WIGAN, LANCS 

(Liverpool). The Holy Family. 

The school chapel was opened 
for worship on the fourth Sunday 
of Advent 1893, when Mass was 
said by Dean Kelly, of Bootle. The 
average attendance at the school 
in 1894 was about 125. In 1898 
the schools were increased. An 
iron church was put up in 1900 by 
Fr. Louis Verbrugghe. The hand 
some Gothic stations of the Cross 
were erected November 1901. 



PLEASINGTON, LANCS (Salford). 
SS. Mary and John the Baptist. 

The mission was commenced 
1816 by John F. Butler, Esq., who 
erected the church, at a cost of 
20,000, as a thank-offering for re 
covery from dropsy. It was opened 
August 24, 1819. The first priest 
was Fr. Edw. Kenyon, who had 
been a fellow-student of Mr. Butler s 
at Douai. He left the mission for 
that of St. Alban s, Blackburn, 1828. 
The present congregation numbers 
about 280. 

Priests since 1828. 
Eev. P. Orrell, 1828. 

Thos. Holding, 1835. 

Hy. Sharpies, 1840. 

Jn. Lawson, 1845. 

Jn. Peduzzi, 1847. 

Thos. Quick, 1879. 

H. Mulvany, 1881. 

Jas. Lawless, 1892 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



315 



PLOWDEN, SHROPSHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). St. Walburga. 

Plowden Hall, the seat of the 
ancient Catholic family of Plowden, 
was for generations the mainstay of 
the Faith in this part of the district. 
Sir Edmund Plowden, who lost the 
Chancellorship under Elizabeth for 
being a Catholic, was the author of 
the celebrated dictum, No priest, no 
Mass, which subsequently proved 
fatal to many a prosecution for 
recusancy. From about 1729, the 
chaplains at Plowden were mostly 
Jesuits From 1784 to 1787, the 
Benedictines of Acton Burnell 
served the mission. During the in 
cumbency of Fr. Kichard Colgan, 
1827-67, the present chapel and 
presbytery were built by Wm. Plow 
den, Esq. (1862). The school was 
added in 1874, and enlarged 1896, 
by Wm. Francis Plowden, Esq. 
There is still a domestic chapel at 
the Hall, which contains several 
priests hiding-places. Some an 
cient vestments, &c., are carefully 
preserved there, including a chalice- 
veil said to have belonged to the 
Blessed Thomas More. 

Priests since 1868. 
Eev. Canon Tobin, 1868. 

F. O Neil, 1873. 
W. Kelly, 1887. 
Mgr. Slaughter, 1891. 
A. Tremmery, 1895. 
C. Eyder, 1898. 

E. Byrne, 1899. 

G. Gastaldi, D.D., 1900. 



PLUMSTEAD, near WOOLWICH 
(Southward). St. Patrick. 

A site for a school chapel was 
purchased in 1890, and plans for the 
intended building prepared by Mr. 
F. A. Walters. Until the chapel 
was opened Mass was said in a hired 
hall by Fr. T.Whelahan. The chapel 



was opened in August 1893 by the 
Bishop of Southwark. Canon Mur- 
nane preached. Fr. A. Staunton 
is the present rector. 



PLYMOUTH, TOTHILL LANE 

(Plymouth}. Holy Cross. 

This church was solemnly opened, 
December 20, 1881, by Bishop 
Vaughan, of Plymouth, who also 
preached (Heb. xiii. 10). The 
church, which is a neat Gothic 
structure, capable of holding about 
two hundred persons, was built 
from designs of Messrs. Hansom. 
It was originally erected at Ply 
mouth, but, owing to operations of 
the Great Western Railway Com 
pany, had to be removed. Mr. 
Dillon, of Plymouth, was a noted 
benefactor of the new church. Fr. 
W. F. Traies. M.A., on leaving the 
mission, after a pastorate of four 
years, in April 1885, was presented 
by his sorrowing congregation 
with a massive chalice and paten, 
burnished with gold and set with 
gems. Fr. Traies spent the last 
five years of his all too short life as 
a priest at St. George s Cathedral, 
Southwark, London, S.E. He died 
at Exeter in November 1890. The 
Rev. Canon John Keily, rector here 
in 1891, is the present incumbent. 



PLYMOUTH, DEVONSHIRE. SS. 
Mary and Boniface. 

In 1803, Rowland Conyers, Esq., 
a Catholic, gave a sum of money 
sufficient to open a chapel in the 
town. Mass was said at first over 
the stable of the George Inn, 
Devonport. In 1806 the Abbe L. 
Guilbert, an emigre priest, built a 
chapel at Stonehouse, some little 



816 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



distance from Plymouth. Fr. Alex 
ander Lun, the next priest, died 
suddenly in 1821. He was suc 
ceeded by Fr. T. Costello, who 
settled at Plymouth at the earnest 
request of Bishop Collingridge, 
Vicar Apostolic of the Western Dis 
trict. There were many Irish sol 
diers in the garrison at Plymouth 
at this time, and Fr. Costello did 
much for their spiritual welfare. 
On quitting the town in 1834 to 
take up his duties as chaplain to 
Lady Wrey at Tawstock Court Fr. 
Costello was publicly presented with 
a piece of plate by all sections of 
the inhabitants, as a token of 
respect and esteem. Plymouth be 
came a see at the restoration of 
the hierarchy in 1850, and the first 
stone of the new cathedral was laid 
in June 1856. The building was 
nearing completion when, in August 

1857, the roof fell in with a tre 
mendous crash. Happily no lives 
were lost, but the fabric of the 
church was damaged to the extent 
of about t 640. Upon examination, 
Mr. Hansom, the architect, dis 
covered that the roof had proved 
too heavy for the Bath stone sup<- 
ports. In spite of the delay caused 
by the accident, the cathedral was 
ready for opening on March 25, 

1858. The tower and spire, 205 ft. 
high, were completed from designs 
by Hansom June 5, 1866. 

Administrators. 

Rev. Mark Canon Oleron, V.G., 
1850. 

Hon. W. Clifford, D.D., 1854. 
W. Buckle, 1856. 
H. Canon Woollett, 1862. 
W. E. Canon Brownlow, 1888. 
Thos. Canon Courtenay, 1897 
and to date. 



POCKLINGTON, YORKS (Middles- 
brougJi). St. Mary and St. Joseph. 

The Abbe Pierre Foucher, for 
merly Vicar-General of Aix, was 
sent here by Bishop Gibson in 
March 1790. His successor, Fr. J. 
Hodgson, erected the old chapel. 
The mission is not given in the 
* Laity s Directory for 1825 and 
some succeeding years, and, indeed, 
is said to have been in an almost 
moribund state. It was revived by 
Fr. E. Cook, and in 1852 was served 
from Everingham. The present 
church was opened by Bishop 
Cornthwaite, of Beverley, July 29, 
1863. A new school, for fifty chil 
dren, was inaugurated by Lord 
Herries, 1877. 

liecent Priests. 
Eev. Edward Eiddell, 1863. 

Edward Pearson, here in 1871. 

Geo. Brunner, here in 1877. 

James Murphy, 1885. 

P. O Brien, 1888. 

Win. Desmond, 1890. 

Eichard Lewis, 1892. 

Eichard Shennick, 1893. 

Jn. Carr, here in 1897. 

Matthew O Donohoe, 1898. 

Gabriel Eyan, 1904. 



PONTEFRACT, YOKKS (Leeds}. 
St. Joseph. 

Fr. Hy. Hamerton, S.J., esta 
blished here a boys school, for 
fifty to sixty scholars, in 1685. By 
1688 the congregation attracted by 
the chapel had reached 300, of 
whom some 280 were confirmed 
by Bishop Leyburn. At the 
Eevolution (1688), the school was 
closed, and Fr. Hamerton impri 
soned for some time in York 
Castle. The present mission is 
reported to have been founded 
about the year 1800, but there 
was an older chapel in the parish 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



817 



from which the congregation re 
moved. The register dates from 
1787. The Abbe Jean Beurcy 
served the mission from about 
1794 till his death. February 11, 
1800, aged forty. Fr. J. B. Foun- 
taine, S.J., was here 1812, and Fr. 
Keeve, S.J., about 1817. Mr. B. 
Boothroyd, in his History of Pon- 
tefract (1807), gives the following 
facts about Catholics in the town : 
Their number in this place has 
never exceeded thirty or forty per 
sons. Their place of worship till 
lately was a room in the house 
occupied by their teacher. They 
have now erected a place of wor 
ship on a more enlarged scale. . . . 
The building is a neat structure, 
and its interior well finished. This 
chapel was built 1800, and is still 
in use. 

Priests (S.J.) since 1825. 
Eev. W. Waterton, . 

Wm. Ibbotson, 1827. 

E. O. Pugh, 1828. 

J. Bird, 1837. 

Jas. Etheridge, 1838. 

Jos. Holden, 1841. 

John Bird, 1843. 

J. Brigham, 1848. 

Wm. Lomax, 1851. 

J. S. Woollett, 1858. 

Jn. Eigby, 1862. 

Geo. Pearson, 1867. 

Walter Clifford, here in 1871. 

James Maguire, 1888. 

Martin Brey, 1891. 

Cyril dc Cuyper, 1895 to date. 



PONTYPOOL, MONMOUTHSHIKE 
(Newport). St. Alban. 

When the mission was started 
here in 1844, the Catholics of the 
place were reckoned at 492. Mass 
was said in a room, and as late as 
the commencement of 1845 there 
was still no chapel, school, or pres 
bytery. The average weekly in 



come of the mission at this time 
was 11s. 4td. A neat church 
was erected and opened July 23, 
1846, and a presbytery in 1849. 
The congregation by this time 
had increased to 870, almost with 
out exception the lowest class of 
labourers. The place was in a 
state of terrible spiritual desti 
tution. In 1864, the Catholic 
population had increased to over 
two thousand. The Franciscan 
Capuchin Fathers took over the 
mission in May 1860, and here they 
continued till 1891, when the 
spiritual care of the district again 
returned to the seculars. When a 
school was started by the Fran 
ciscans about September 1860, 
* scarcely half-a-dozen children had 
seen a book, and, worse still, not 
more than three or four could make 
the sign of the cross, repeat the 
simplest prayer, or tell who made 
them ! l 

Priests. 
Eev. Wm. Woollett, 1845. 

A. Clarkson, 1855. 

F. Elzear Torrigiani, 1859. 

F. Joachim, 1877. 

Evangelist de Milia, 1882. 

Seraphin Bolger, 1885. 

Rudolph McCarthy, 1888. 

P. Degcn, 1892 to date. 



POOLE, DORSET (Plymouth). 

St. Mary s. 

The mission was founded by the 
Abbe Pierre Lanquetuit, assisted 
by Mr. Weld, of Lulworth, and 
Lady Anastasia Mannock. This 
lady was the daughter of Lord 
Montague and sister of the last 
Viscount. In 1820, the Abbe re 
turned to France. The church 
was opened July 16, 1839, when 
Lady Mannock again showed her 

1 Franciscan Missions in Monmoiitli- 
sliire (London : Burns & Gates, 1870). 



318 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



interest in the mission by contri 
buting , 800 towards the expenses 
of building. The organ gallery and 
organ were erected 1848-49. By 
1850 the congregation had so in 
creased that it was found necessary 
to convert the existing sacristy into 
a schoolroom. 

Priests. 
Eev. Abbe Pierre Lanquetuit, 1793. 

Jean Coupe, 1820. 

D. Morton, 1828. 

Jos. Dwyer, 1831. 

Wm. Casey, 1837. 

Jn. O Brien, 1840. 

R. Tower, 1842. 

Edward Kenny, 1844. 

H. Canon Woollett, 1846. 

Jos. Parke, 1857. 

Denis Byrne, 1860. 

Desiderius de Smet, 1863. 

R. Meagar, 1867. 

Henry Dobbelaere, here 1871. 

,, Jos. Higgins, 1874. 

Robt. Browne, 1879. 

,, Aug. Morford, here in 1888 
and till after. 

H. J. Dowsett, 1893. 

Timothy Hannigan, 1902. 



POPLAR, LONDON, E. (West 
minster). St. Mary and St. Joseph. 

The church was opened by Car 
dinal Wiseman September 24, 1856. 
The style is thirteenth-century 
Gothic (cruciform), the seating capa 
city being for about 1,100. There 
are two chapels, and the sanctuary 
is lighted by a splendid east window 
displaying events in the life of Our 
Lady. The reredos has carvings 
representing the Gifts of the Holy 
Ghost. In 1880, the interior of the 
church was thoroughly redecorated. 
Prior to the opening of the pre 
sent church, the congregation wor 
shipped in a miserable chapel in 
Wade Street, erected in 1818. The 



Catholic population was estimated 
at 5,000 in 1840. 

The church was consecrated by 
the Bishop of Amycla (Dr. Fenton) 
Wednesday September 26, 1906, 
and the building solemnly reopened 
in the presence of Archbishop 
Bourne, the Sunday following. 

Priests. 
Rev. R. Barber, here in 1825 and 

till 1839. 
J. Hearsnep, 1839 till after 

1858. 

Jn. Stanton, 1860. 
Jas. Lawless, M.R., 1879. 
Thos. Doyle, M.R., 1003 to 
date. 



PORT CLARENCE, DURHAM, 

(He.rham and Newcastle}. St. 
Thomas of Canterbury. 

Before 1830, Port Clarence was 
merely a coal station. Owing to 
railway extension, a town had risen 
up by 1866. The Catholic popu 
lation at that time was reckoned 
at 200. In the spring of the same 
year, a room over an old dissenting 
chapel was hired for Mass and Sun 
day school. Fr. Michael Bourke, 
who had charge of the mission, 
was compelled to lodge at nearly 
two miles distance from the scene 
of his labours. In 1875, the place 
was served from Haverton Hill. 
A school chapel was erected 1879. 
Fr. Robt. Harris was rector in 
1883 and to date (1904). 



PORTICO, near PRESCOT, LANCS 
(Liverpool). Our Lady Help of 
Christians. 

The chapel was built in 1790 by 
Fr. N. Sewall, S.J., but, long before 
this, Mass was said regularly at 
Schole s Farm, close to the present 
church. The nearest Catholic day 
schools are at Thatto Heath. St. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



319 



Nicholas was the title of the 
church till after 1864. The mis 
sion has always been served by 
Jesuits. 

Priests from 1824. 
Rev. J. Hughes. 

Bernard Addis, 1828. 

Jos. Newsham, 1830. 

Hy. Beeston, 1832. 

Jn. McClune, 1842. 

Matt. McCann, 1844. 

Felix Poole, 1850. 

Wm. Gotham, 1852. 

(Mission served from Prescot 
1864 et seq.) 

Matthew M Cann, 1870. 

,, Jn. Milner, here in 1875. 

Bernard Beiderlinden, 1877. 

James Henry, 1879. 

Augustine Oswald, 1882. 

Bernard Winkler, 1885. 

Joseph Imhassly, 1889. 

Thos. Hill, 1895 to date. 



PORTMAN SQUARE, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). The French Chapel. 
At the immigration of the French 
clergy and nobility in 1793, they 
used as a chapel a miserable room 
beneath a poulterer s shop in 
Dorset Street Mews. The Abbe 
Bouret was the first priest. Later 
on, a small chapel was opened in 
Little George Street. During the 
building it was a common sight to 
see the princes of the royal house 
of France assisting the work 
men ! The Comte de Provence 
(Louis XVIII.), the Comte d Artois 
(Charles X.), the Due de Berry 
(assassinated 1820), &c., &c., heard 
Mass regularly at this little place 
of worship, which, after the restora 
tion in 1815, was known as the 
Chapel Royal, from the support 
(25,000 frs.) it received from the 
French monarchy. The Abbe Latel 
succeeded the Abbe Bouret. The 



other chief priests in succession 
were : Abbe Chenel ( ), Abbe de 
Laporte ( ), Abbe Mailly (1840), 
Abbe Toursel (1845-80). Govern 
ment support was suspended after 
the July revolution of 1830, but 
later on a grant was made by 
King Louis Philippe for that portion 
of the chapel occupied by the 
French ambassador and suite. In 
1850, the young Comte de Paris 
made his first communion in the 
chapel, in the presence of a dis 
tinguished gathering. Under the 
Second Empire, the chapel received 
from Napoleon III. an annual 
allowance of 3,500 frs. It was to 
the Abbe Toursel of this church 
that the Emperor s son, the ill- 
fated Prince Imperial, went to 
confession prior to leaving for 
Zululand, in February 1879. In 
March 1881 the infidel Government 
of France suppressed the official 
stipend of the church, thus accom 
plishing, as the Paris Union 
sarcastically said, one of those 
acts of generosity and greatness of 
soul which raises its prestige in 
the eyes of the foreigner ! Mgr. 
L. Toursel is the present rector. 



PORTSMOUTH, HANTS (Ports 
mouth). 

The mission was founded in 
1793 by the Abbe de la Rue, who 
opened a chapel in Prince George 
Street, Portsea. The Abbe con 
tinued to serve the mission till his 
death at Gosport, May 14, 1827. 
Before the Revolution he was a 
priest of the diocese of Bayeux. 
Fr. J. Welch succeeded him, and 
was rector till 1841. The esti 
mated Catholic population of Ports 
mouth in 1866, both civil and 
military, was 5,640. The old 
chapel has sittings for only 500, so 



320 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



that on Sundays the congregation 
was most inconveniently crowded. 
The military had their own chapel 
from about 1863. Frs. AVoolett and 
Horan commenced collecting for a 
new church in 1866, when some 
470 was subscribed. The founda 
tion stone of the present St. John s 
Cathedral was laid by Bishop 
Danel!, December 1879. The style 
is Geometrical Gothic, a lofty 
tower and spire being the chief 
features. Large schools occupy the 
rear. At the time of the opening, 
August 10, 1882, Portsmouth had 
become a diocese (1881), and St. 
John s was now its cathedral 
church. 



POULTON - LE - FYLDE, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. John the Evan 
gelist. 

The old Singleton chapel, dedi 
cated to Our Lady, passed out of 
Catholic hands shortly after the 
accession of Elizabeth. At the 
visitation of the Archbishop of 
York, 1578, the place is described 
as full of disorders. In 1650 it 
would seem to have returned to 
the Catholics, and was used as a 
priests residence. The mission 
was largely supported by the 
Gillows. Between 1650 and 1680, 
the priests here were Frs. Hy. 
Holden, Matthews, and Jas. Swar- 
brick. The last incumbent was 
arrested after the Jacobite rising 
of 1715, and died in Lancaster 
Castle, 1717. The chapel, a poor, 
thatched dwelling, was seized by 
the protestants at the conclusion of 
Prince Charles Edward s abortive 
rising of 1745-46. Fr. Jn. Cooling, 
or Cowling, the incumbent, was 
forcibly ejected, and the building 
converted into a chapel of ease to 



the parish church at Kirkham. 
One of Fr. Cowling s successors, 
Fr. Watts, conformed to the Esta 
blished Church and finished his 
days ingloriously as the curate of 
Wray Green, 1773. He was pro 
bably reconciled to the Church 
before he died. Curliff Shaw, Esq., 
lord of the manor of Singleton, 
protected the Catholics, who, when 
deprived of the old chapel, erected 
a presbytery and place of worship at 
their own expense. Fr. Cliff, from 
Great Eccleston, and Fr. Husband 
were the priests between 1768 and 
1799. Fr. A. Story came in 1800 
for a few years, and after him 
Fr. Joseph Orrell, who died at 
Blackbrook, 1820. In 1826, during 
Fr. E. Kenyon s pastorate, the 
Catholics of Singleton numbered 
two-thirds of the population. Fr. 
J. Anderton, an alumnus of Crook 
and Ushaw, died at Singleton in 
August 1857. When Fr. Orrell 
retired in 1814 a new chapel was 
erected at Poulton. Fr. Orrell 
gave the priest the ancient silver 
crucifix and reliquary used in the 
chapel at Singleton during the 
penal times. The Singleton pro 
perty \vas sold in 1860 by Bishop 
Goss, of Liverpool, to Mr. Thos. 
Miller, of Preston. 
Priests at Poulton-le-Fylde since 

1862. 
Kev. Fr. Wm. Johnson, 1862. 

Koger Arrowsmith, 1879. 

Thos. Grimes, 1885. 

W. Vaughan, 1900. 



PRESCOT, LANGS (Liverpool). 
Our Lady Immaculate and St. 
Joseph. 

This mission has often been con 
founded with that of Portico (q.v.), 
which lies near it. In 1782 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



321 



Fr. Wm. Molyneux, S.J., last 
Catholic Viscount Molyneux, esta 
blished a mission either at or near 
Prescot. In 1745, during the pro 
gress of the Jacobite rebellion 
under Prince Charles Edward 
Stuart, Fr. Wm. Green, who had 
charge of the chapel, was com 
mitted to York Castle as a very 
dangerous person. In recent times 
the spiritual care of the local 
Catholics was undertaken by the 
priest at Portico. In 1857 a church 
was built at Prescot by Fr. Wm. 
Gotham, S.J., and opened on Octo 
ber 21 of the same year. It was served 
from Portico till about 1863, when 
the Revs. Joseph Walrnesley, S.J., 
and Geo. Harper, S.J., were 
appointed resident priests. The 
Catholic schools attached to the 
mission were enlarged 1894. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Cooper, here 1871. 

P. Sherlock, S.J., 1874. 

Ralph Brindle, S.J., 1877. 

Thos. Musworth, 1902. 



PRESTON, LANCS (Liverpool). 

From copies of memoranda made 
by Fr. J. Dunn, it appears that a 
brick chapel, roofed with thatch, 
was opened in the Friargate, 
Preston, in 1605, and dedicated to 
St. Mary Magdalen, the patroness 
of the old parish church, erected 
in 1293 (Edward I.). Fr. Joseph 
Banister, a learned Jesuit, was 
the first priest of this chapel. 
From the time of James II. s 
accession, 1685, the Jesuits had 
charge of the Preston mission. On 
September 7, 1687, Bishop Leyburn 
confirmed 1,153 persons at Preston 
and Tulketh. Mass was then said 
in a barn at Fishcrwick. In 1761 
Fr. Patrick Barnewall, S.J., opened 
the first public Catholic chapel in 



Preston, on the site of the old 
Grey Friars monastery. Under 
his successor, Fr. Joseph Smith, 
this chapel was destroyed by an 
election mob (1768). This mis 
fortune so preyed on the good 
priest that he died shortly after 
wards of a broken heart. When 
Fr. Joseph Dunn came to Preston, 
in 1775, the Catholics numbered 
less than 500, and many of these 
did all they could to hide their 
religion because of the sharp look 
out that was kept for Popish 
recusants. Fr. Dunn did much by 
his conciliatory manners to disarm 
protestant prejudice. In June 1793 
he and his colleague, Fr. Richard 
Morgan, officiated in the old chapel 
for the last time. This building 
became a cotton warehouse of 
Messrs. Sidgreaves & Leighton 
till about 1815, when it again 
became a place of Catholic wor 
ship. Some improvements were 
undertaken, and the chapel served 
down to 1856, when it was rebuilt 
on an enlarged scale. The style is 
Romanesque. Above the altar 
hangs a copy of Carracci s Ascen 
sion, from the original at Stony- 
hurst. The seating accommodation 
is for about 1,000. The follow 
ing are the priests who have served 
the mission : 

Priests at St. Wilfrid s, Preston. 
Rev. Patrick Barnewall, 1761. 
Joseph Smith, 1767. 
Joseph Dunn, 1776. A man 
of great public spirit and one 
of the pioneers of gas light 
ing in Preston. Died 1827, 
aged 81. 

Morgan, 1828. 
John Bird, 1829. 

F. West, 1834. 

G. Connell, 1836. 
Thos. Weston, 1842. 
R. Norris, 1844. 
Thos. Weston, 1846. 



322 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Eev. Henry Walmesley, 1851. 
James Etheridge, 1855. 
Joseph Bateman, 1857. 
Wm. Cobb, 1860. 
Eobt. Whitty, 1873. 
Joseph Jackson, 1877. 
Thos. Dykes, 1882. 
Thos. Splaine, 1888. 
Freak. O Hare, 1894. 
Francis Scoles, 1901 to date. 



PRESTON, LANGS. St. Augustine. 
At the invitation of Joseph 
Gillow, Esq., a meeting was held at 
the Shelley s Arms, March 9, 1836, 
to consider the erection of a new 
church. A site was given by Wm. 
Heatley, Esq., of Brindle Lodge, 
and in November 1838 the church 
was commenced, the stone being 
laid by Alderman Gradwell, a kins 
man of the bishop. The building 
was opened by Bishop Briggs, V.A., 
July 30, 1840. 

Priests. 
Eev. T. Canon Cookson, 1840. 

Fr. E. Swarbrick, 1856. 

Fr. W. Walker, 1860. 

J. Canon Walker, 1869. 

Canon Taylor, 1874. 

Lawrence Canon Cosgrave, 
1883 to date. 



PRESTON, LANGS. St. Joseph. 

As far back as 1853, two acres of 
land were purchased in Eigby 
Street, Eibbleton Lane, for the pur 
pose of a chapel. The first stone, 
however, was not laid till July 1860, 
and in May 1862 the spacious 
school chapel was opened. The 
cost was about 740, the style 
adopted being Early English. The 
architect was E. W. Hughes. The 
church (Gothic) was opened in 1874, 
and in 1896 97 the chancel and 



side chapels were decorated and 
stations by De Beaule added. 
Two years later a handsome rood 
screen was erected. The schools 
were improved the same year. 



PRESTON, LANGS (Liverpool}. 
The English Martyrs, Moor Park. 

The school chapel was opened 
Sunday, January 22, 1865. The 
accommodation was for about 150 
persons. Fr. J. Taylor was the 
first priest in charge of this mission. 
The church of the same title was 
completed in December 1867. The 
style is Gothic, from the plans of 
E. W. Pugin, and the building will 
accommodate about 850 persons. 
The cost was about 8,000. Two 
bays, a transept, and a chancel 
were added to the church early in 
1887-88. These additions were 
found necessary owing to the large 
increase of the Catholic population. 
Fr. J. A. Pyke was chiefly instru 
mental in bringing the enlarge 
ments about. The infant school 
was enlarged 1892. In 1895 new 
stations of the Cross were erected. 
The Catholic population of the 
parish is about 6,700. 



PRESTON, LANGS. St. Walburga, 
Maudlands. 

A site for a church was purchased 
in March 1846 from the Preston 
and Wyre Eailway Company by the 
rector of Stonyhurst College. Upon 
this a handsome, commodious, and 
elegant church (Early English 
style) was erected, and opened by 
Bishop Brown August 3, 1854. 
The accommodation is for 2,000. 
A tower was erected by subscrip 
tion and completed Sept. 14, 1866. 
The mission is indebted for its 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



323 



completeness to such benefactors as 
Mr. W. Talbot, Mr. Robt. Arrow- 
smith, J. Anderton, &c. A new 
wing was added to the schools 
1894, and additional class-rooms 
1901-2. 

Priests from 1861. 
Rev. Thos. Weston. 

Chas. Henry, 1863. 

Geo. Lambert, 1867. 

Joseph Johnson, 1871. 

Nicholas Papall, 1874. 

Jn. O Neil, 1902 to date. 



PRESTON, LANGS. St. Wilfrid s. 

In June 1793 the spacious 
chapel of St. Wilfrid was opened 
with much solemnity. It was en 
larged in the autumn of 1843. A 
Lady Chapel was added 1844. This 
latter is adorned with pilasters, 
designed by H. T. Buhner, after 
the style of ancient churches in 
Rome. The church was redecorated 
1891. 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Trappes, 1824. 

- Lythgoe, 1827. 

G. Rogerson, 1833. 

G. Connell, 1836. 

J. Bird, 1841. 

Richard Norris, 1843. 

Thos. Weston, 1845. 

Henry Walmesley, 1851. 

James Etheridge, 1855. 

James Bateman, 1857. 

Wm. Cobb, 1861. 

Robt. Whitty, 1874. 

Joseph Jackson, 1877. 

Thos. Dykes, 1882. 

,, James Splaine, 1888. 

Fredk. O Hare, 1895. 

Francis Scoles, 1901 to date. 



PRESTON, LANGS. St. Ignatius. 
The church was opened by Bishop 
Briggs May 5, 1836. On July 31, 
1887, a new chancel, reredos, and 
altar were added to the building, 
which had been considerably en 
larged 1858. 

Priests* 
Rev. F. West, 1836. 

Francis Daniel, 1842. 

Henry Walmesley, 1844. 

Wm. Knight, 1846. 

Thos. Clarke, 1850. 

Francis Daniel, 1852. 

Wm. Mitchell, 1855. 

Richard Cooper, 1857. 

James Walker, 1867. 

Vincent Bond, 1879. 

James Fanning, 1890. 

Ignatius Gartlan, 1895. 

Francis Payne, 1899. 

Francis Dobson 1902 to date. 



PRESTWICH, LANCS (Salford). 
Oar Lady of Grace. 

This mission was formed in 
August 1889 out of the existing 
missions of St. Mary s, Bury, and 
St. Thomas, Radcliffe. The first 
place of worship was the Co 
operative Hall, where Mass was 
said weekly from Sunday, June 9, 
till the erection of the large school 
chapel in August 1891, during the 
incumbency of Fr. D. Walsh, who 
also built the handsome presbytery. 
Fr. Joseph Hayes is the present 
rector. 



PRINCETHORPE, near RUGBY, 
WARWICKSHIRE (Birmingham). 
St. Mary s Priory. 

In 1792 the English Benedictine 

nuns of Montargis were compelled 

by the French Revolution to come 

to England for safety. They landed 

Y 2 



324 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



at Shoreham March 16 of the above 
year, and proceeded to Brighton, 
where they were met by the Prince 
of Wales, afterwards George IV., 
who had heard of them through 
Mrs. Fitzherbert. The nuns thought 
of retiring to Holland, but the Prince 
said, Stay where you are, and I will 
protect you. They accordingly pro 
ceeded to Kodney Hall, Norfolk. 
The educational establishment for 
young ladies which they continued 
from the one in France having out 
grown the exigencies of the place, 
they removed to Heath Hall, York 
shire, and finally in 1833 to Prince- 
thorpe, near Rugby, where they 
still remain. The chapel of the 
community was consecrated Octo 
ber 17, 1843. When the Order 
removed to Princethorpe in 1833 
there were still two choir nuns and 
one lay sister alive who had made 
their profession at Montargis. The 
centenary of the English founda 
tion was celebrated in July 1893. 



PRIOR PARK, near BATH, SOMER 
SET (Clifton). 

In the early part of the eighteenth 
century, Ralph Allen, Esq., the 
philanthropist, who made a fortune 
by devising a system of cross posts 
for England and Wales, erected the 
magnificent mansion, which, after 
a variety of vicissitudes common 
to such buildings, was purchased 
by Bishop Baines, V.A.W.D., in 
December 1829. Two fine wings, 
under the title of St. Peter s and 
St. Paul s, were added to the original 
house, and the whole opened as a 
mixed ecclesiastical and lay college 
in July 1830. In 1836 a large part 
of the pile of buildings was acci 
dentally destroyed by fire, and 
although the damage was quickly 
repaired the calamity is said to 



have hastened the death of the 
founder, who died at the college 
July 6, 1843. He was much blamed 
by his contemporaries for founding 
a college so near to that of Down 
side, and at a time when there was 
certainly no need of such an esta 
blishment. His withdrawal of cer 
tain funds, professors, and students 
from Ampleforth as a nucleus for 
the new college was also most 
detrimental to that college, and. 
indeed, well nigh caused its ruin. 
For the rest, Prior Park has had a 
singularly chequered career. It 
reached perhaps its highest pitch 
of efficiency under the late Mgr. 
Canon E. Williams (d. 1891), 
although its standard as a teaching 
institution has always ranked high. 
In 1895-96, the Christian Brothers 
replaced the secular clergy as pro 
fessors, and continued to conduct 
the college till 1902, when the place 
was again made over to the secular 
clergy for a short time, Mgr. E. 
Nolan, M.A. (Cantab.), being the 
president. The college is at pre 
sent under the care of the Fathers 
of the Society of the Holy Ghost. 



PRITDHOE HALL, NORTHUMBER 
LAND (Hexliam and Newcastle}. 
Our Lady and St. Cuthbert. 

A Catholic church and school 
were built in 1870 by Matthew 
Liddell, Esq., of Prudhoe Hall, 
who died October 20, 1881. His 
remains lie buried in a vault be 
neath the north end of the chapel. 
The present church was erected in 
1891 by Mrs. Liddell, widow of 
the above-named Matthew Liddell. 
The style of the building, which was 
designed by Messrs. Dunn & Han 
som, is Early Perpendicular. The 
altar and reredos, by Peall, of New- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



325 



castle, are beautifully carved. The 
font is a copy of the ancient one at 
Shaddingfield, Norfolk. 

Priests. 

Rev. Wilfrid Lescher, O.P., here in 
1875. 

Geo. King, 1882. 

Win. Stevenson, 1888. 

Win. Drysdale, 1892. 

Austin Simmons, 1893 to date. 



PUDDINGTON, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). St. Mary. 

The Ven. Wra. Plessington, a 
priest of the English College at 
Valladolid, was chaplain to Mr. 
Massey, of Puddington, at the time 
of his arrest in 1679. He was con 
demned to death at Chester for his 
priesthood, and suffered with great 
constancy on July 19 of the same 
year. Down to 1757, Mass was said 
very privately in the old hall, but 
about this time the Massey family 
built a new hall and chapel. The 
latter had a passage leading to it 
from the house. The hall was de 
stroyed by fire in December 1867, 
but the chapel was saved. The 
priests at Puddington since 1785 
have been : 
Rev. Jn. Shuttleworth, . 

W. Blacoe, 1786-91. 

R. Platt, 1792-1837. 

Jn. Carter (curate), 1834-36. 

E. Gillow, 1837-45. 

P. Perry, 1845-49. 

Thos. Crowe, 1849-51. 

P. F. Baron, 1851-94. 
The mission has since been closed, 
but it is hoped that so historic a 
centre of Catholicity as this may 
shortly be revived. 



PUDSEY, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Joseph. 

When the school chapel was 
opened here in 1883, many Catho 
lics were said to be living in the 
town and district, which is engaged 
in the woollen manufacture. The 
chapel was served from St. Mary s, 
Bradford, till 1901, when the mission 
was taken over by the Calced Car 
melites. Fr. Paul Hurlmans and 
Fr. Vital is Felix are the priests in 
charge. 

N.B. This locality gave its name 
to the Pudsey family of Bolton and 
Barford, great sufferers in the cause 
of religion and loyalty. Thos. 
Pudsey, Esq., of Bolton, died in 
York Castle 1571, a prisoner for 
the Catholic Faith. His grandson, 
Michael Pudsey, had his estates 
forfeited by the Parliament for de 
votion to the cause of Charles I. 
Another grandson, Stephen, was a 
priest of Douai. The family be 
came extinct early in the eighteenth 
century. 



PUTNEY, LONDON, S.W. (South- 
war If). 

This mission was commenced at 
Christmas 1902, the place of wor 
ship being a disused Methodist 
chapel hired for the purpose. In 
1903 a fine site was given for a 
church in the Chelverton Eoad by 
Lady Westbury, and 011 this piece 
of ground a temporary iron build 
ing was erected. The estimated 
Catholic population of the distiict 
is about 450. Fr. Eobt. Collinson, 
late of Newhaven, is the incumbent. 
A permanent church in the Floren 
tine style of architecture was opened 
by Bishop Arnigo of Southwark, 
Sept. 2, 1906. 



326 



E 



RADCLIFFE, LANCS (Salford). 
St. Mary and St. Philip Neri. 

First chapel opened 1863. The 
old pre-Reformation chapel of ease 
attached to Prestwich Church was 
in 1879 used as a stable. For some 
time after the opening, the mission 
was served from Ramsbottom. A 
second chapel was opened in 1878, 
and the present church in 1894. 
Catholic population about 1,600. 

Priests. 
Rev. Malachy O Callaghan, 1867. 

Richard Gerrard, here 1871. 

John Mussiley, 1877. 

James Gerity, 1882. 

Hugh Carroll, 1885. 

W. L. Fowler, 1890. 

J. Aukes, 1897. 

J. Murtagh, here in 1904. 



RADFORD, OXON. (Birmingham). 

Fr. W. O Grady, who died Febru 
ary 18, 1888, was priest at Radford 
from 1864. The church was opened 
January 21, 1841, but no informa 
tion as to the origin of the mission 
has been forthcoming. 
Priests. 
Rev. M. Gannon, 1841. 

E. Winter, 1843. 

W. O Grady, 1864-88. 

P. Sweeny, D.D., here in 1891 
and to date. 



RAINFORD, ST. HELEN S, LANCS 

(Liverpool). Corpus Christi. 

In 1676 Mrs. Anne Singleton, of 
Crank, left 40 as Mass money 
to Fr. Thurstan Anderton, of Los- 
tock, priest. For many years Mass 
was said at Crank Hall, the seat 
of the Singletons, and even after 
they left it, about 1691, Mass con 
tinued to be offered there. Fr. 
Wm. Barton, alias Gerard, served 
the mission 1702-11. The estate 
probably passed out of Catholic 
hands shortly after the rebellion of 
1745-46. 

After this the focus of Catholicity 
at Rainford was at Mosborough Hall, 
the ancient seat of the Lathoms, 
which passed by marriage to the 
Molyneux family in 1715. In 1718 
the apostate Richard Barker, in his 
account of the church stuff at Mos 
borough, notices one large silver 
chalice and paten. After the pur 
chase of the estate by the Earl of 
Derby, in or about 1752, a priest 
was still maintained in the district 
by the Blounts of Sodington, co. 
Worcester, but the present mission 
at Rainford was not started till 
1873, when the site of the church 
was purchased, and the building 
was opened for worship October 17, 
1875. The presbytery was built in 
1878. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



327 



Recent Priests. 
Rev. Jos. Barker, 1877 and till after 

1894. 

Thos. Carroll, 1895 and to 
date. 



RAINHAM, near BARKING, ESSEX 

(Westminster). 

Dean Clements, of Barking, 
opened an iron chapel here in 
October 1901. The money for start 
ing the mission was given by an 
anonymous benefactor. The Catho 
lic population at the time was 
about 100. Before the establish 
ment of the mission there is no 
record of Holy Maes ever having 
been offered at Kainham since the 
time of the Reformation. 



RAINHILL, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Bartholomew. 

The church, in the Grecian style 
of architecture, was built 1832-40 
by the munificence of B. Bretherton, 
Esq. There is a memorial brass in 
the church to William Gerard, Esq., 
of Ditton, who died 1844. This 
gentleman was a great benefactor 
of the mission. The new Catholic 
Club was opened 1897. The schools 
have an endowment from the Mar 
chioness Stapleton-Bretherton. 

Priests. 
Rev. Fr. Worsley, 1840. 

J. Mason, 1842. 

Dean Kiernan, 1844. 

G. Holden, 1885. 

R. F. Carr, 1888 to date. 



RAMSBOTTOM, LANCS (Salford}. 
St. Joseph, Bolton Street. 

The first priest of this mission, 
which was started in 1881, was 



Fr. Laurence Schneider. Mass was 
said in a room not capable of 
holding one-half of those who 
wished to attend. The Catholics of 
the place amounted to about 400. 
The new church was opened Sep 
tember 30, 1880, during the rec- 
torate of Fr. B. de Mullewie. The 
old chapel was opened August 17, 
1862. Catholic population, 900. 

Priests. 
Rev. L. Schneider, 18G1. 

Michael Keating, 18G3. 

,, Bernard de Mullewie, here 
1871 and till 1893. 

,, James O Riordan, 1893 to date. 



RAMSEY, HUNTINGDONSHIRE 

(Northampton). The Sacred Heart. 
The chapel of Ramsey in 1863 
was in a cottage, where, Sunday 
after Sunday, about a hundred 
poor creatures were obliged to crush 
into the small, unbecoming kitchen. 
Many of these are reported to have 
scarcely known the rudiments of 
their religion. The priest at this 
time was Fr. Thomas Seed, who, 
for lack of accommodation at 
Ramsey, was compelled to live at 
Peterborough, fourteen miles dis 
tant. At first, Fr. Seed could only 
say Mass at Ramsey on weekdays, 
when he used to offer the Holy 
Sacrifice as early as four or five in 
the morning to enable the hard 
working people to be present. The 
mission is served from Huntingdon. 



R&TCLIFFE COLLEGE, near LEI 
CESTER (Nottingham}. The Im 
maculate Conception. 

The Fathers of Charity, founded 
by the Ideologist Abbate Antonio 
Rosmini-Serbati, came to England 
1835. In 1845 the college at Rat- 



328 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



cliffe was founded for those who 
find the larger colleges too expen 
sive, but who wish for their children 
a thoroughly refined Christian, 
classical, and commercial edu 
cation. For many years the house 
was also the novitiate, till its trans 
ference to Wadhurst, Sussex, in 
1881. Fr. J. B. Pagani was the 
first rector. The jubilee of the 
foundation was celebrated 1895. 



RAWTENSTALL, near MAN- 
CHESTER (Salford). St. James the 
Less. 

When the mission was started 
in 1835 by Fr. Hodgson the only 
Catholics in the town were the 
Ashworth family and a few poor 
persons employed by Mr. Brooks, 
of Sunnyside. This gentleman 
kindly lent a small building for 
use as a chapel. By the generous 
assistance of Mrs. Ashworth, of 
Lawnd House, Mr. Brooks, Mrs. 
Collinge, and other benefactors, a 
site was obtained for a church, which 
was opened on September 24, 1845. 
The building was consecrated by 
Bishop Sharpies. The Rev. Dr. 
Eoskell preached at the inaugural 
Mass. In style the church is Early 
English. 

Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Rimmer, 1845. 

Thos. Unsworth, 1849. 

Hy. Swale, 3853. 

Joseph Scott, 1855. 

Denis Byrne, 1877. 

M. McCormack, 1879. 

John Mussely, 1882. 

Peter Klein, 1893 to date. 



READING, BERKS (Portsmouth). 
St. James. 

After the accomplishment of the 
Reformation in England, the nearest 
Catholic chapel to Reading was at 
White Knights, the residence of the 
i ancient family of Englefield. The 
! mission was served for a very 
considerable time by Franciscans. 
! Fr. Clifton, O.S.F., on leaving White 
j Knights in 1734 made the follow 
ing curious behest : My bridle, 
saddle, whip, boots, spurs, and 
spatterdashes I leave to my suc 
cessor, if a Brother of our Province, 
who may have the use of them ; 
of my two tomes in folio of Pere 
Henno s Divinity, and of all the 
other books in my closet, all of 
which belong to the body of the 
English Franciscans, or to some 
particular members thereof, whose 
names are in them, or else R.A. 
( Recollectorum Anglorum ). Fr. 
Healy, O.S.F., was priest at White 
Knights 1773-75. He was a man 
of truly seraphic science and piety, 
who won all hearts by his affability 
and kindness. In 1780 the chapel 
of the Resurrection was built in 
Vastirn Lane, Reading, most pro 
bably at the expense of Sir Henry 
Englefield, Bart. In 1824 the chapel 
is set down as St. Lawrence s 
Church in the Laity s Directory. 
Fr. F. Bowland was priest at that 
time. The Englefield family be 
came extinct in 1822 \>y the 
death of the learned Sir Henry 
Englefield, since 1777 president of 
the Antiquarian Society. In him 
the Reading mission lost a great 
patron, and henceforth the chapel 
was advertised as wholly sup 
ported by subscription. Between 
1837 and 1840, during the rectorate 
of Fr. John Ringrose, the present 
church was built, as well as a com 
modious school. The stones used 
in erecting the church came from 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



the adjacent ruins of St. Mary s 
Abbey, which was consecrated by 
St. Thomas of Canterbury in 1164. 
On the restoration of the Catholic 
hierarchy in 1850, Fr. Eingrose was 
nominated Canon of Southwark. 
The church is in the Norman style. 
In the autumn of 1883 it underwent 
considerable improvements under 
the direction of Messrs. Westlake. 
Canon Hall was rector at this time. 

Recent Priests. 

Rev. Francis Weale, here in 1891 
and to date. 



EEDCAK, YORKS, NORTH RIDING 

(Middlesbrough). The Sacred 
Heart. 

The mission was established 

1877, when a temporary chapel 

was fitted up at 16 Newcomen 

Street, Coatham. A school chapel 

was erected 1879. The Nuns of 

i the Faithful Companion opened a 

I convent boarding school at Coat- 

! ham in 1882, which in 1896-97 

I became the property of the Domi- 

! nican Nuns. 

Priests. 

Rev. Edw. Canon Riddell, 1877. 
Sylvester McMahon, 1895 to 
date. 



READING, BERKS. St. William, 
Upper Redlands Road. 

The mission of East Reading I 
was started in 1904 by the present 
rector, Fr. Win. Le Grave, D.S.O., 
a distinguished Army chaplain. The 
foundation stone of the church was 
laid July 12, 1905, and the building 
opened Wednesday, February 14, 
190G. The structure, when com 
plete, will be 90 ft. by 50 ft.; 
seating capacity for 450. Canon 
Scoles and Mr. G. Rayment, of 
Basingstoke, were the architects. 
Mr. and Mrs. F. Lonergan gave 
the site, Mr. Oliver Dixon the cost 
of the foundations, and Fr. Le 
Grave 750 towards the expense 
of erection. During his sermon 
on the occasion of the opening, 
Bishop Cahill, of Portsmouth, re 
ferred to Mrs. Lonergan as a I 
generous benefactress who had for 
a great number of years thrown 
open her own private chapel for 
the use of the people close at hand, 
and who had defrayed the cost of ! 
the site. 



REDDISH, near STOCKPORT, 
LANGS (Salford). St. Joseph. 

The church, with schools adjoin 
ing, opened December 24, 1882, 
are due to the munificence of Joseph 
Higginson, Esq. The church, which 
is in the Gothic style, cost about 
2,000, and will accommodate some 
250 persons. The schools when 
first built were for 220 children. 
Mr. Herbert Tijou was the archi 
tect. Before the opening of St. 
Joseph s, Catholics were forced to 
go as far as Levenshulme or 
Heaton Norris 011 Sundays. The 
Lady Chapel contains a fine re 
presentation of the Annunciation. 
Catholic population 430. 
Recent Priests. 
Rev. Pius De Witte, here in 1888. 

C. McDermott Roe, 1899. 

Paul Dootson, 1906. 



RED DITCH, WARWICKSHIRE 
(Birmingham). Our Lady of 
Mount Carmel. 

The site of the Catholic schools 
was generously presented to Fr. J. 



330 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kendal, of Mount Carmel Church, 
by a protestant lady, Mrs. Hay- 
wood, of Sillens House, near Bed- 
ditch, in August 1867. The mis 
sion was started as far back as 
1834, when Fr. E. Pope was ap 
pointed first resident priest. The 
old chapel was not supplanted by 
the new Gothic church till 1881. 
In December 1884 a fine reredos, 
designed by Fr. Dunstan Breen, 
was erected to celebrate the golden 
jubilee of the mission. The screen is 
adorned with figures of St. Dunstan 
and St. John. The altar was also 
remodelled and fitted with a taber 
nacle of carved oak and brasswork, 
the chancel decorated, and the 
church rebenched. Fr. Breen was 
succeeded by Fr. Isidore Green, 
O.S.B., 1892, who was here till after 
1898. Fr. Bernard Suter, O.S.B., 
is the present rector. 



REDHILL, SURREY (South-warty. 
St. Joseph s. 

The first stone was laid in August 
1897 by the Bishop of South wark ; 
the Catholic population of Bed- 
hill was then reckoned at about 
300. The style of the building, 
which was designed by A. E. 
Purdie, Esq., is Late Decorated 
Gothic. The plan comprises a 
nave, two aisles, chapels of Our 
Lady and St. Joseph, baptistery, 
sacristry, and organ chamber. 
During the rectorate of the late 
priest of the mission, Fr. T. 
Smith, a fine new presbytery, ad 
joining the church, has taken the 
place of the dilapidated old house 
that formerly served that purpose. 
The Catholicity of the place has 
also made great strides, owing in 
large measure to the zeal and 
energy of Fr. T. Smith, who was 
known as a strenuous defender of 



the Holy Faith against all adver 
saries. The church of Bedhill was 
opened and consecrated October 27, 
1898. The cost of erection was 
about 6,400. The mission of Bed- 
hill classed under the head of 
Beigate in the Catholic Direc 
tories of forty years ago dates 
from about 1851, when the Bev. 
Dr. (afterwards Cardinal) Manning 
first said Mass in the oratory of 
Prudell Court, the residence of his 
brother, Charles Manning, Esq. 
The old church, opened in October 
1861, owes its origin to some ex 
tent to Lady Mostyn, who made a 
permanent mission in the town 
possible by opening a chapel in her 
grounds. In 1857 the Catholic 
population numbered about 150, 
mostly agricultural labourers. 1 

Priests. 
Bev. Andrew Beinaud, D.D., 1861. 

G. Edwards, 1872 (?) to 1896. 

J. Kavanagh, 1896-99. 

Thomas Smith, 1899. 

F. S. Bennett, 1906 to date. 



RETFORL (Nottingham). St. 
Joseph. 

Many Catholics were reported to 
be here 1827. Mass was said here 
occasionally by Fr. Patrick O Gor- 
man, of Worksop. After this no 
mention is made of a mission till 
1861, when the place was served 
from Oldcoates and Worksop. In 
1875, Canon Douglass, of Notting 
ham, purchased a disused Wes- 
leyan chapel, and for a time the 
place was attended regularly by 
the priest from Gainsborough. The 
congregation, however, dwindled, 



1 At the beginning of the last century 
a Catholic family lived at Merstham, 
near Redhill, but it does not appear that 
there was a chapel in their house. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



331 



and the chapel was sold about 
1882. In July 1895, an iron chapel, 
to accommodate about 200, was 
opened by Bishop Bagshawe. It 
was served from Gainsborough till 
1898, when Fr. Michael O Eeilly, 
the present incumbent, was placed 
in charge of the mission. 



RHYMNEY, MONMOUTHSHIRE 

(Newport). St. John. 

This mission was commenced on 
August 1, 1861. The first two 
priests were Frs. J. Dawson and 
J. M. Phillips. The chapel was 
for a time served by the Bene 
dictines. In 1885 it was trans 
ferred to the diocesan clergy, Fr. 
A. Van den Heuvel being the first 
secular priest. He was succeeded 
in 1892 by Fr. Jn. Crawford. Fr. 
F. Dent, who was here in 1897, is 
still the incumbent. 



RIBCHESTER, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Sal ford). SS. Peter and Paul, 
Stydd Lodge. 

Twas written on a wall at Rome 
That Ribchester is rich as any town 
in Christendom. 

So runs an old legend, but in 
1859 Ribchester was only a poor, 
obscure village. The ancient chapel 
of Stydd, which belonged to the 
Knights of St. John of Jerusalem, 
though almost in ruins, was used 
as an extra parochial chapel in 
connection with the parish church 
as late as 1859. Beneath the com 
munion table is buried the Hon. 
and Right Rev. Bishop Petre, V.A. 
of the Northern District, who died 
at Showley, in the parish, 1775. 
The Catholic chapel, opened 1789, 
is not far from the ancient one, and 



there are also some almshouses for 
the aged Catholic poor of the place. 
The Bishop of Salford confirmed 
sixty-six persons here in July 1882. 
Catholic population of the town, 318. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. Michael Byrne, 1875. 

Thos. Martin, 1882. 

Hy. Newton, 1890. 

Francis Daniel, here in 1897 
and to date. 



RICHMOND, SURREY (South- 

\ warti). St. Elizabeth s. 

The first chapel of the mission 
was in Newark House, Vineyard, 
and was opened Easter Sunday, 
March 30, 1793. A colony of 
French exiles lived in the town 
and district of Richmond at this 
time, and the first entry in the 
baptismal register is that of Gastoii 
Francis Christopher Victor, infant 
son of Gaston Due de Levis, 
colonel in the French royal army. 
The sponsors were the Duke of 
Spinola, Genoese minister to Eng 
land, and Rose d Emry, relict of 
the governor-general of the French 
islands in America. Fr. Thos. 
Monk was priest of the mission at 
this time, but the before-mentioned 
baptismal ceremony was performed 
by Philip d Albignac, Bishop of 
Angouleme. The present church, 
in the Classical style, was built in 
1822 by Miss Elizabeth Doughty. 
Tradition says that builders and 
architects managed to spend the 
enormous sum of 24,000 on what 
was, till lately, a small and incon 
venient building. It is also said 
that the foundress was so disgusted 
with the result of her outlay that 
she never entered the church again 
after her first inspection. It is but 
fair to state, however, that the 
foundations were discovered to be 



332 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



A 




far more costly than at first antici 
pated. The opening by Bishop 
Poynter, V.A.L.D., took place July 
6, 1824. The high altar was sur 
mounted by a dark window in 
stained glass representing the Ad 
oration of the Shepherds. During 
1902-4 the church was greatly en 
larged and the presbytery entirely 
rebuilt. 

Priests. 
Rev. Thos. Monk, 1793. 

James Peters, 1797-1839. 
E. S. Hodgson, 1839. 
J. B. Hearn, 1848. 
J. B. Wenham, 1850. 
E. S. Hodgson, ) 
Sebastian Faenza, 
W. MacHarron, ) 
John Tilt, 1851. 
John Bernard Canon Bag- 
shawe, 1859. (Canon Bag- 
shawe was Chaplain to the 
Forces in the Crimean war, 
1854-56. He was the author 
of The Threshold of the 
Catholic Church and seve 
ral other well-known works. 
Died October 31, 1901.) 
George Barrett, D.D., 1901 to 
date. 



RICHMOND, YORKS (Middles 
brough). St. Joseph and St. Francis 
Xavier. 

The origin of this mission is lost 
in obscurity. The register dates 
from 1748. The first priest s name 
to appear is that of Fr. James 
Nelson, 1765. Whoever was the 
missioner between 1748 and the last 
date, he was very active, for the 
register is full of entries of persons 
reconciled to the Church. Among 
these was James Peacock, son to 
a protestant parson. From 1794 
to 1814 Fr. Thomas Lawson was 
incumbent, but he had the assistance 



of the Abbe Perrot, an emigre. Fr. 
Eobt. Johnson came 1815. Between 
this date and 1825 upwards of sixty 
persons are noted down as in 
ecclesiam recepti. The old chapel 
was built by Sir John Lawson, 
Bart., of Brough Hall, in 1806. 
Among the presentations to it 
appear the following : A cope from 
Lady Lawson, June 1814 ; a white 
vestment from Mrs. Errington ; 
Miss F. Scroope, an alb and com 
munion cloth, &c. A Sunday school 
was opened 1818. Fifty-six per 
sons, of whom twenty-seven were 
converts, were confirmed here by 
Bishop Briggs, V.A.N.D., May 7, 
1837. This was the first Catholic 
confirmation in the town since the 
Eeformation. Fr. Eobt. Johnson 
was succeeded 1863 by Fr. Geo. 
Noble. The old chapel of 1806 
made way in 1868 for the present 
church. 

Recent Priests. 

Rev. John Meagher, here in 1875 
till 1883. 

Joseph Foxwell, here in 1889. 

Thos. Swift, 1894. 

Eichard Cardwell, 1896. 

Hy. Farmer, 1898 to date. 



RICKMANSWORTH, HERTS 

(Westminster). 

On All Saints Day, November 1, 
1887, Mass was said here in an old 
cottage in the High Street, which 
had been fitted up as a chapel. 
The room beneath the chapel was 
used as a Sunday school. At the 
outset Mass was only said occa 
sionally, but from Whit Sunday 
1890 it was offered up regularly 
every Sunday. Fr. H. J. Hardy 
was visiting priest at this time. In 
October 1890, an iron building for 
about sixty persons was opened as 
a chapel, and Mass said there for 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



?33 



the first time by Fr. G. Bampfield, 
B.A. (October 12). In 1891-92 the 
mission was served from Harrow, 
and in 1894-98 from Boxmoor. 
The Assumptionist Fathers have 
now charge of the mission. 



RIPON, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Wilfrid. 

In 1732 Fr. Jas. Skelton lived at 
Markington, near Eipon, and at 
tended the Catholics of the dis 
trict. He died at Eaventoft, Yorks, 
March 28, 1760. The present mis 
sion dates from about 1850. The 
present church was opened April 
1862; architect, E.W.Pngin; size, 
104 ft. by 88 ft. The coloured 
window over the Lady Altar was 
presented by the Sparrow family. 
A stone high altar was erected 
January 1884. 

Priests. 

Eev. Eobt. Garstang, 1850 till after 
1858. 

P. Canon Vavasour, 1862. 

James Canon Gordon, 1888. 

Xavier de Vacht, 1892 and to 
date. 



RISHTON, near BLACKBURN, 
LANCS (Salford). St. Charles. 

The mission was started in 1886, 
and on November 8, 1896, the new 
school chapel was opened. The 
Catholic population is estimated at 
about 890. 

Priests. 
Eev. John Aukes, 1886. 

J. Lathouwers, 1892. 

W. L. Fowler, here in 1897. 

J. Higgins, here in 1904. 



RIXTON, near MANCHESTER 
(Liverpool). St. Michael. 

The church was opened on Easter 
Monday 1831. A great number of 
protestants attended High Mass on 
this occasion, and listened with 
marked attention to the sermon of 
Fr. Vincent Glover, of Seel Street, 
Liverpool. For some years the 
mission was united to that of 
Woolstan by order of the Vicar 
Apostolic, as the one at Eixton was 
too poor to maintain itself. The 
Benedictines served the church for 
many years till 1874, when Fr. J. 
O Meara was appointed. He died 
1898, and was succeeded by the 
present Fr. J. Thome. The chapel 
at Eixton Hall is said to have been 
long served by the Franciscans, 
though no mention of this is made 
in the history of their province. 



ROCHDALE, LANCS (Salford). 
St. John the Baptist. 

Fr. Walmesley started the mis 
sion of Eochdale in 1830, and in 
October 1860 the present church 
and school-house were opened. The 
former consisted of a plain but 
elegant brick structure, capable 
of accommodating 500 persons. 
Catholic population 2,600. 

Priests. 

Eev. H. Walmesley, 1830. 
W. Turner, 1831. 
H. Walmesley, 1833. 
Edw. Brown, 1835. 
Jn. Dowling, 1840. 
Edw. Canon O Neill, 1874. 
John Canon Boulaye, 1895. 
John Canon Galbois, here in 

1897. 
Hy. Chipp, 1898. 



334 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ROCHDALE, LANGS (Salford). 
St. Patrick, Watt Street. 

The church was opened by Bishop 
Turner, October 13, 1861. Catholic 
population 2,600 (1906). 

Priests. 
Rev. Michael Moriarty, 1861. 

Thos. Cusack, 1898. 

Richard Campion, 1903 to 
date. 



ROCK FERRY, BIRKENHEAD, 
CHESHIRE (Shrewsbury). St. Anne. 

In 1862 the Fathers Oblates of 
Mary Immaculate purchased a site 
for church and monastery near the 
railway station, and in November 
1864 the residential portion of the 
building was complete. Mass was 
said for the first time in the tem 
porary chapel adjoining on Novem 
ber 20, 1864, by Bishop Brown, of 
Shrewsbury, who also preached 
(Is. Ivi.). Schools were built in 
1872. The church, designed by 
Cuthbert Pugin, was commenced 
May 9, 1875, and opened July 29, 
1877. The high altar and stained- 
glass window were presented by the 
late J. Glover, Esq., of Bebington, 
the pulpit by Mr. de Bulnes, the 
font by Miss Tickle, and the Lady 
Altar by Mr. D. McCarthy, of 
Tranmere. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Egan, 1862. 

C. Jolivet (now V.A. Natal), 
1865. 

E. Bradshaw, 1867. 

J. King, 1868. 

W. Ryan, 1869. 

J. King, 1873. 

R. d Alton, 1879. 

Anthony Gaughren (V.A. 
Orange River Colonv), 1882. 

Thos. Dawson, 1886. " 

P. Newman, 1889. 

J. O Rourke, 1898. 



ROEHAMPTON, S,W. (South- 
ivarTi). St. Joseph. 

This church, which is in the 
Early English style, was opened in 
May 1881. The seating capacity 
is for 200 persons. A handsome 
decorated iron rood screen, with 
figures of Our Lord on the Cross, 
St. Joseph and Our Lady, separates 
the chancel from the nave. The 
peal of bells is by Messrs. Lewis. 
There is a memorial brass in the 
church to Mrs. Garcia, a bene 
factress. The handsome lich-gate 
at the entrance of the church was 
erected in 1882. The tabernacle 
and massive altar candlesticks were 
the gift of Mrs. Lyne-Stephens. 
The stations of the Cross arc by 
Westlake, R.A. Mr. F. A. \Valters 
was the architect of the building. 
The consecration took place Tues 
day, July 24, 1883, by the Bishop 
of Portsmouth, Dr. Vertue, in place 
of the Bishop of Southwark. The 
mission is served by the Jesuit 
Fathers. 



ROMFORD, ESSEX (West 
minster). 

It is said that there was a 
Catholic chapel at Dagnam, or 
Dagenham, Park, near here, at the 
commencement of the eighteenth 
century, and that Mass was often 
said here, especially when the 
mansion was rented by Lady 
Derwentwater during the imprison 
ment of the earl, her husband, in 
the Tower (1716). The house 
afterwards passed to Sir R. Neave, 
Bart., and was pulled down about 
1771 to make way for the modern 
residence. The present mission of 
Romford dates from May 6, 1856, 
when the church the gift of Wm. 
Bernard, twelfth Lord Petre was 
consecrated by Cardinal Wiseman. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



335 



The building is described as a very 
good specimen of a Gothic village 
church, with open roof, stone altar. 
Mr. Nicholls, architect. The carved 
stone high altar was the gift of the 
Hon. Mrs. Clifford. 

Priests. 
Eev. J. B. Colomb, 1856. 

,, Joseph Drew. 

H. Tilley, 1885 to date. 



ROMSEY, HANTS (Portsmouth). 
Our Lady of Eeparation. 

The mission was established 
under the present rector, the Rev. 
C. Pondurand, in 1891. St. Joseph s 
Orphanage, for boys from three to 
fourteen years of age, is situated 
here, and is under the direction of 
the Soeurs de la Sagesse. The 
establishment was opened 1895. 

N.B. A convent of nuns (Bene 
dictines) was founded here by 
Edward the Elder, son of Alfred 
the Great, 910. It was granted by 
Henry VIII. to John Bellow and 
E. Pigot. 



ROSS, HEREFORDSHIRE (New 
port). The Most Blessed Sacra 
ment. 

A room was hired in the Swan 
Hotel, Ross, and Mass said there 
once a month from June 1845. 
The visiting chaplain was the 
priest of Courtfield. On other 
Sundays prayers were read by one 
of the congregation. From Sunday, 
November 22, 1846, Mass was said 
regularly every week, and shortly 
after this a large room was hired 
as a chapel. The temporary 
church in the Gloucester Road was 
opened February 1861. Much of 
the money for the building was 
collected on the Continent by the 
Rev. Dr. Farrant. 



Priests. 

Rev. J. Reeve and Dawson, 1845. 
A. Neary, 1847. 

(No priests named till 1862, 
when the mission was served 
in conjunction with Court- 
(field; Fr. E. Madden, 
rector.) 

Hy. J. Marshall, D.D.,1867 
P. Fotheringham, 1879 and 

to 1892. 

(Mission vacant 1893.) 
S. J. Capron, 1894. 
F. Van Blerk, here in 1897. 
H. J. Delhaise, 1898. 
M. J. Kernan, 1903 to date. 



ROTHERHAM, YORKS (Leeds). 
St. Bede. 

When the mission was started 
in 1841 Mass was said in very 
mean premises, held on lease, 
which expired in September the 
same year. The congregation then 
consisted mainly of poor labourers. 
The site of the present church was 
the munificent gift of B. Badger, 
Esq., a protestant gentleman. The 
style of the building opened in 
the spring of 1842 is Early 
English ; cost, about 1,000. For 
some years after 1841 the mission 
was served from Sheffield. 

Priests. 
Rev. W. Smith, 1845. 

Joseph Hill, 1863. 

Jacob Illingworth, 1867. 

Thos. Eyre, V.F., 1874 to 
date. 



ROTHERHITHE, or REDRIFF, 

LONDON, S.E. (Southivark). St. 
Joseph. 

For several years after 1793 the 

| Laity s Directory advertised the 

Bermondsey mission as being in 

Salisbury Street, Rotherhithe (see 



336 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



BERMONDSEY). The Eotherhithe 
mission proper was not com 
menced till 1855, when Fr. J. 
Lawes, of Bermondsey, used to 
say Mass on Sundays at Stroud 
Cottage, Trinity Road. In ; 1858 
Rotherhithe became a separate 
mission. A large house and site 
in Rotherhithe Street were pur 
chased, and three of the rooms 
were transformed into a chapel. 
The church was opened on July 2, 
1861, by Bishop Grant. The style 
is Early English. The building 
was described at the time as the 
model of what a small church for 
such a mission ought to be. The 
seating capacity was for 500. 
Edmund Kelly, Esq., was the 
architect. Cost of erection 1,000. 
Mr. Pereira was a great benefactor 
to the mission. The resident 
priests at Rotherhithe after Father 
Lawes were : the Rev. P. H. 
Van de Voorde and Mgr. Dennis, 
afterwards of West Grinstead 
(1863-64), Rev. E.J.Clery (1864-78) ; 
Rev. C. Kimpe (1878-92) ; Rev. 
J. Haynes (1892-1903); Revs. F. 
Wilderspin and J. Sheen (1904). j 
The old church having long ceased | 
to be central, a new school chapel j 
was opened in Paradise Street, 
Rotherhithe, in October 1892. j 
For several years prior to this, an j 
early Mass had been said on 
Sundays at the old schools in 
Neptune Street. The fine schools 
in Paradise Street, built during the 
rectorate of Fr. J. Haynes, served 
as a chapel till 1903, when the ; 
present adjoining church was | 
erected by Lady Renouf in memory j 
of her husband, the late Sir Peter | 
Le Page Renouf, the distinguished 
Egyptologist. The style of the build 
ing is Romanesque, from the de- : 
signs of Mr. F. W. Tasker. When 
the mission was moved to Paradise 
Street, the old church and presbytery 



in Rotherhithe Street became the 
Convent of the Nuns of the Sacred 
Hearts of Jesus and Mary, who 
conduct a home of refuge for girls. 



ROTHERWAS, HEREFORDSHIRE 

(Newport). Our Lady of the 
Assumption. 

This old mission was originally 
served by the Jesuit chaplains to 
the ancient Catholic family of 
Bodenham, whose estate is in the 
immediate neighbourhood. The 
first chaplain of the society was 
Fr. Thos. Hildeyard, S.J., who 
died April 10, 1746. He was a 
learned natural philosopher. No 
mention is made of the mission in 
the Laity s Directory for 1824, 
but in 1825 Fr. Patrick Morran 
is given as the resident priest. In 
1835 the post was vacant. A very 
successful mission was given at 
Rotherwas in September 1881 by 
the Redemptorist Fathers, at which 
time the congregation is described 
as being composed mostly of agri 
cultural labourers. In 1852 the 
Catholic population was about 
ninety. 

Priests. 

Rev. G. Stasiewiecz, D.D., 1851. 
W. Burke, 1853. 

(Mission vacant 1856.) 

Abbe Pauchet, 1857. 

Edw. Feeny, here in 1862. 

Benedict Canon Blount, 1863. 

James Comerford, 1866. 

T. O Connor, 1874. 

E. O Dwyer, 1877. 

W. Driffield, 1879. 

Alfred Canon Wilson, O.S.B., 
1893 . 

J. Vende, here in 1897 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



337 



ROTTINGDEAN, SUSSEX (South 
ward). 

The Sisters of St. Martha esta 
blished a convent in the parish 
1903. The chapel is open to the 
public. 



ROYTON, LANCS (Salford). 
SS. Aidan and Oswald. 

A school chapel was opened 
Sunday, November 27, 1880, on a 
site generously given by Sir J. P. 
Badcliffe, Bart. The accommoda 
tion is for 400 persons on Sundays 
and for 300 children on week 
days. The sermon on the evening 
of the opening was preached by 
Bishop Hedley, O.S.B. For some 
years the mission was served from 
Shaw. Catholic population 900. 

Priests. 
Kev. J. M. Willemse, 1885. 

E. D. Mclntosh, 1892. 

,, Jos. Hayes, here in 1897. 

Timothy Cusack, 1898 to date. 



RUDDING PARK, near KNARES- 
BORO , YORKS (Leeds}. The Holy 
Family. 

The mission was established 
1874, under Fr. J. Lawless, chaplain 
to Sir Joseph Radcliffe, Bart. The 
present Gothic church was com 
menced April 26, 1877, and opened 
August 1, 1879, by Bishop Corn- 
thwaite, of Leeds. 

Priests. 
Kev. J. Lawless, 1874. 

Victor Natu, 1877. 

James Downes, 1885. 

Xavier de Vacht, 1888. 

Francis Wood, 1892 to date. 



RUGBY, WARWICKSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). St. Mary. 

In 1843 a room in Chapel Street 
was fitted up for Catholic worship 



by Fr. Jn. Nickolds. Four years 
later the present church was 
erected by Washington Hibbert, 
Esq., of Bilton Grange, and opened 
September 8, 1847, by Bishop 
Wareing, V.A.E.D. Bishop Gillis, of 
Edinburgh, preached (1 Cor. iii. 16). 
Bishop Ullathorne gave a discourse 
in the evening to a crowded con 
gregation, including many pro- 
testants. In 1849 the Catholics 
of the district numbered about 
800. The church was enlarged 
in 1864, and consecrated 1882. 
From about I860 the mission has 
been under the Fathers of Charity. 

Priests. 
Eev. Jn. Nickolds, 1843. 

Stephen Bruno, 1852. 

Richard Richardson, 1855. 

Moses Furlong, 1857. 

Dominic Cavalli, 1860. 

A. Rinolfi, 1863. 

Dominic Gazzola, 1867 to 
date. 



RUGELEY, STAFFS (Binning, 
ham). SS. Joseph and Ethel- 
dreda. 

There were about 400 Catho 
lics living here in 1847. The 
nearest mission then was at Bella- 
mour, where there was a privato 
chapel. When the estate was sold 
toprotestants,the chapel was closed. 
After this Fr. T. Green, of Tixall 
six miles distant used to come 
over to Rugeley on Sundays and 
say Mass. In Advent 1847 Fr. J. 
Grenside hired the Town Hall at 
Rugeley as a place of worship, and 
did much to put the mission on a 
firm footing. The protestant oppo 
sition was then very bitter. The 
school-house was built in 1847, the 
presbytery in 1848, and the church 
between 1849 and 1851. Canon 
T. Duckett, who was appointed to 

Z 



388 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rugeley in I860, celebrated the 
silver jubilee of his pastorate there 
in April 1385. During his rectorate 
he did much for the interior decora 
tion of the church, and the mission 
made great strides under his care. 
This worthy priest died May 1906, 
and was succeeded by Fr. F. Ryan, 
D.D., the present incumbent. 



RUNCORN, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury). St. Edward. 

In 1844 Catholics of the place 
numbered 300, but the bulk of the 
inhabitants were remarkable for 
their anti - Catholic ideas. Fr. 
Gerald Ward, who was priest of 
the mission at this time, used to 
say Mass in a hay-loft fitted up as 
a chapel. He opened a night school 
in his own house, where instruction 
was given every evening by himself 
and his sister to some sixty poor 
children. A room in an hotel was 
afterwards hired for service on 
Sundays, but 011 May 11, 1845, 
Fr. Ward received notice to quit. 
The want of a church was met in 
July 1846, when the present build 
ing was opened. In 1866 the 
schools were erected, and in 1888 
the chapel of 1846 added to them. 
Since then Mass &c. has been 
said in an iron building. 

Priests. 
Rev. Edw. Carter, 1842. 

Gerald Ward, 1843. 

Jas. Carr, 1850. 

Michael Power, 1858. 

Denis Maguire, 1860. 

Jos. Daly, 1876. 

Wm. Fennelly, 1876. 

Jn. Gastaldi, D.D., 1887. 

H. B. Gore, 1897. 
J, Chambers, 1899. 
Hugh Donlevy, 1903 to date. 



RYDE, ISLE OF WIGHT (Ports 
mouth). St. Mary. 

The Countess of Clare defrayed 
the cost of building the church 
(1844-46). Mr. Hansom was the 
architect. The building was con 
secrated May 21, 1863. Owing to 
serious decay, the Caen stone dress 
ings were replaced by others of 
Portland stone (1879-81) at the 
instance of the rector, Fr. (now 
Bishop) Cahill. About the same 
time a fine stained-glass east win 
dow was put up in memory of the 
noble foundress. 

Priests. 

Rev. Jn. Telford, 1846. 
John Baptist Cahill (Bishop 
Auxiliary of Portsmouth 
May 1, 1900 ; translated 
to Portsmouth August 30, 
1900). 1866. 

,, Wm. Canon Cotter, M.R., 
1901. Consecrated Bishop- 
coadjutor of Portsmouth 
March 19, 1905. 



RYE, SUSSEX (Southward). 

From about 1860, Mass was said 
here in a private house once a 
month from St. Leonards. The 
town has always been known since 
the Reformation for its ultra-pro 
testantism, though it is not a little 
curious that the corporation seal is 
perhaps the most Papal in the 
whole kingdom. It consists of an 
enshrined figure of the Madonna 
and Child, with the legend, Ave 
Maria, gratia plena, Dominus 
tecum (see notice by Maurice 
Walsh, Esq., J.P., in the Hastings 
Observer, September , 1900). The 
present church of St. Walburga, 
in the Early English style, was 
opened by Bishop Bourne, of South- 
wark, Thursday, August 30, 1900; 
Canon Scoles, architect ; accommo 
dation for about 120 persons ; cost 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 339 

of erection, about .800. Over the f RYHOPE, DTJUHAM (Hexliam 

.altar of white marble hangs an oil and Neivcastle}. St. Patrick, 

painting by Charles Ffoulkes, Esq., , The chapel was opened in 1897, 

of Rye. The opening ceremony and served from Seaham Harbour 

was attended by the mayor (Coun- | till 1902. The Rev. Eugene 

cillor F. Jarrett) and corporation | McGarrity is the first and present 

of the town. Fr. Dominic Cresci- I rector, 

telli is the present rector, and first j 
resident priest of the mission. 



z 2 



340 



s 



SACRISTON, DURHAM (Hexlia ;i 

and Newcastle). SS. Michael and 
Bede. 

The mission was started in 1867, 
and for some years Mass was said 
in a chapel in the presbytery. The 
new church was opened on Sunday, 
June 5, 1881, by the Bishop of 
Hexham and Newcastle. The 
building, which was erected mainly 
by the exertions of Fr. M. Gilligan, 
consists of a simple, unpretending 
structure of red bricks, capable of 
accommodating 400 persons. The 
cost of erection was 1,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. M. Gilligan, 1870 to 1891. 

H. Gillow, 1891. 

Edward Costello, 1897 to date. 



SAFFRON WALDEN, ESSEX 
(Westminster). Our Lady of Com 
passion. 

In April 1906 the Westminster 
Diocesan Missionaries purchased 
The Close, High Street, and opened 
a chapel, which was soon too small 
for the congregation. The new 
church, opened September 1906, is an 
enlargement of the old stable block 
of the house, the new portions being 
constructed mainly of stout rough 
hewn out timbers, weather boarded 
outside. The roof is covered with 
old tiles and is surmounted with * a 
charming turret. The altar and 



triptych are of English brown oak. 
Mr. W. J. Devlin was the architect. 
Fr. C. Chase, formerly Captain 
21st Lancers, is the head priest of 
the mission. 



ST. AGNES, CORNWALL (Ply. 

mouth] , 

For several years Fr. A. McKay, 
of Camborne, used to say Mass 
occasionally on Sundays at St. 
Agnes, in the kitchen of an Irish 
labourer s cottage. Finally, in 
1882, Mr. Pike, of Camborne, 
generously defrayed the cost of a 
church, which was opened by Fr. 
McKay, in the absence of the 
Bishop, on Sunday, August 13, 
1882. The mission is served from 
Camborne. 



ST. ALBANS, HERTS. SS. Alban 
and Stephen. 

The mission dates from 1840, 
when a small chapel was opened. 
Prior to that time sick calls &c. 
were attended to by a priest from 
St. Edmund s College, Old Hall. 
On the feast of Corpus Christi, 
1840, Mass was said for the first 
time since the Keformation, the 
altar being a common deal table. 
Fr. Stephen Ward was the priest 
on this occasion. He was sue- 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



341 



ceeded by Fr. W. Mills in 1847. 
From 1852 to 1854 the mission is 
described as vacant. No men 
tion is made of it in the Catholic 
Directory from 1857 to 1861. In 
1867 it was served from Barnet 
once a month. In 1877 the south 
aisle of the church was opened by 
Cardinal Manning. The altar end 
was closed by a timber hoarding, 
afterwards replaced by a brick 
wall. A room in the priests house 
served as a sacristy. The site of 
the church was presented by Major 
Gape. By 1885 the church was no 
longer large enough to contain the 
congregation; during harvest time 
as many as forty or fifty Irish 
labourers might have been seen 
kneeling outside. The missionaries 
of the Sacred Heart have now 
charge of the mission. 



ST. ANNE S - ON - SEA, LANGS 
(Liverpool). Our Lady Star of 
the Sea. 

In June 1890 a portion of the 
present church was opened for 
worship. This happy result was 
mainly brought about by Canon 
James Taylor, assisted by the Duke 
of Norfolk and the Clifton family. 
New schools, for the accommoda 
tion of 130 children, were opened 
on September 14, 1896. The first 
rector of the mission was Canon 
James Lennon, president of Ushaw 
College, from 1886 to 1890. The 
present incumbent is Fr. Joseph 
Roche. 



ST. HELENS, LANCS (Liverpool). 
Blessed Mary Immaculate, Black- 
brook. 

The first priest at Blackbrook 
was Fr. W. Barton, alias Gerard, 
who came in 1674. He died 1728, 



and by will left two chalices to 

i the mission. In September 1728 

; Fr. Martin was appointed. In 1741 

Fr. Thos. Parkinson was at the 

| mission. He died March 7, 1751, 

aged thirty-eight. Fr. P. Butler, the 

next priest, received a pension from 

Jas. Orrell, Esq., and with the 

money erected a chapel. He died 

December 9, 1777, aged fifty-two. 

1 For six months Fr. J. Bradshaw 

attended the mission, and after 

him Fr. John Orrell was rector till 

; 1810. The next priests were : Ralph 

Platt, 1812 -14 ; Jos. Orrell, 1814 - 20 ; 

; Thos. Hodgson, 1820-36 ; C. Brig- 

i ham, 1836 ; John Lund, 1836-38 ; 

I James Abraham, 1838-50. The 

| church and school were erected in 

1849 on a site presented by John 

Smith, Esq. The new infants 

school was erected August 1892, 

and the Convent of Mercy opened 

May 8, 1893. 

Priests since 1850. 
Rev. John Canon Walker, 1850. 
John Flynn, 1853. 
,, David Lawler, 1878. 
Edw. O Sullivan, M.R., 1881 
to date. 



ST. HELENS. St. Thomas of 
Canterbury, Windleshaw. 

The ancient chantry here was 

erected by Sir Thos. Gerard, of 

Bryn, temp. Henry VI. It was 

suppressed 1548. Many Catholics 

were interred near here during the 

penal times, notably in 1611. On 

! October 2, 1892, a school chapel 

I was commenced on a site near the 

i old chantry, presented by Lord 

Gerard, the lineal descendant of 

I the warrior Sir Thomas Gerard. 

| The building was opened May 28, 

i 1893. Mass is said every Friday 

for the Gerard family. Fr. James 

Welsby was the first priest of the 

mission. 



342 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



ST. HELENS, LANGS. Holy Cross. 

The church site was given to the 
Society of Jesus by Wm. P. Gotham, 
Esq., in 1860, and the building was 
opened, May 3, 1862. The style is 
Decorated Gothic ; size, 164 ft. 
by 60 ft. ; seating accommoda 
tion for about 1,000 ; architect, 
Mr. Scoles. 

Priests. 
Rev. Jos. Lazenby, 1862. 

Thos. Williams, 1866. 

Geo. Noble, in 1871. 

,, Joseph Lightbound, 1877. 

,, Richard Cardwell, in 1882 to 
1892. 

Wm. Shapter, 1892. 

,, Jas. Fanning, in 1897. 

Timothy Courtenay, 1898. 

John Procter, 1904. 



ST. HELENS, LANGS. St. Joseph s. 

The mission was established in 
1862, and served from Sutton by 
the Passionist Fathers till about 
1876. The first place of worship 
was a school chapel, superseded by 
the present church, opened in 1878. 

Priests. 
Rev. Richard Baynes, 1876. 

Patrick Byrne, 1882. 

John Tomlinson, 1888. 

., James Hayes, 1893. 

,, John Barry, 1899 to date. 



ST. HELENS, LANGS. St. Mary, 
Lowe House. 

Before the opening of the mission, 
Mass was said at Eccleston Hall. 
On the death of J. Gorsuch Eccles 
ton, Esq., in 1742, his widow re 
moved to Cowley Hill, where she 
died at an advanced age in 1793. 
The Rev. J. Beaumont, S.J., was 
priest at Cowley till his death in 
1773. Before her death, Mrs. Eccles 



ton purchased Lowe House estate, 
and presented it to the Jesuit 
Fathers. Fr. Barrow built a chapel 
here in 1793, and served the mis 
sion till his death in 1813. After 
this Fr. J. P. Pains and Fr. Mar- 
maduke Stone took charge of the 
mission. Fr. Pains died in 1834, 
after having enlarged the chapel. 
Fr. Charles Irvine, S.J., added the 
transepts to the old Lowe House 
chapel about 1837. In 1858 a 
tower was built, at the cost of 
about 1,500. The number of bap 
tisms registered in 1785 was 22 ; 
in 1815, 45 ; in 1831, 120 ; in 1844, 
210 ; in 1854, 410 ; in 1862, 500. 

Priests from 1860. 
Rev. Thos. Ullathorne. 

Thos. Browne, in 1891. 

Joseph Kenny, 1894. 

Chas. Widdowson, in 1898. 

Wm. Crofton, in 1904. 



ST. IVES, CORNWALL (Plymouth). 
The Sacred Heart and St. Gertrude. 

About the end of the eighteenth 
century, a certain Franciscan friar 
used to say Mass for the fisher 
men in the little half-ruined chapel 
of St. Leonard, on the quay 
(Tablet, April 9, 1881, p. 579). 
From this it may be presumed 
that the isolation of the place 
afforded protection to local Catho 
lics against the expiring penal 
laws. It may be remarked that 
ancient Celtic crucifixes of granite 
and holy wells exist all over Corn 
wall, untouched by the Reforma 
tion and venerated by all classes of 
people. The mission is at present 
under the care of Fr. P. Corr, 
C.R.L. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



343 



ST. JOHN S WOOD, LONDON, 
N.W. (Westminster). Our Lady, 
Grove Road. 

The church was built, 1833-36, by 
the Misses Louise and Jessie Gal- 
lini. They are buried in the church. 
Miss Jessie Gallini was born 1761, 
and died November 13, 1844. 
On Sunday, June 8, 1845, 250 
persons were confirmed in the 
church by Bishop Griffiths, V. A.L.D. 
The sanctuary was handsomely 
embellished by Mr. Sang in 1846 
with arabesques and Christian 
symbolic emblems. The Countess 
Dowager of Shrewsbury was in 
terred beneath the church in Feb 
ruary 1847. In June 1837, the 
schools were opened by Fr. J. 
O Neal. About 300 children were 
educated, and the more destitute 
clothed. The teaching was put 
into the hands of an Order of 
nuns from Ireland. In October 
1884, the church, after undergoing 
considerable repairs, was solemnly 
reopened by Cardinal Manning. A 
new altar, reredos, and tabernacle 
were added at the same time. 

Priests. 
Rev. James Canon O Neal, 1835. 

Win. Burke, 1870. 

Philip Cavanagh, 1874. 

E. Taylor, 1876. 

Philip Cavanagh (second 
time), 1884. 

,, Geo. Canon Delaney, 1890 to 
date. 



ST. LEONARDS-ON-SEA, SUSSEX 

(Southward). St. Thomas of Can 
terbury and the English Martyrs. 

On the death of Lady Stanley of 
Puddington, Fr. John Jones, of the 
Bavarian Chapel, Warwick Street, 
London, received a house and six 
teen acres of land, for religious 
purposes, at St. Leonards-on-Sea 



(1844). Fr. Jones appealed to the 
Catholic clergy, nobility, and gentry 
of the United Kingdom for funds 
to raise a church, convent, and 
cemetery. As the result of this 
appeal a splendid church, one of 
Pugin s gems, was built, but, 
owing to circumstances, left un 
roofed for upwards of ten years. 
It was then completed, and opened 
as the chapel of the Holy Child 
Jesus Nuns, who had been intro 
duced into the London District by 
Bishop (afterwards Cardinal) Wise 
man. During the interval, Mass 
was said to the congregation in 
the room of a large house facing 
the sea. The temporary chapel 
was dedicated to the Holy Souls. 
The new church, in the Early 
English style, was commenced 
August 21, 1865, and opened May 
24, 1866. A splendid altar of Caen 
stone and green serpentine marble 
was presented by Alexander Shea, 
Esq. At Christmas 1886 the entire 
building was destroyed by fire. A 
temporary iron chapel, erected 
February 1887, did duty till the 
opening of the present fine church 
in July 1889. The style is Lancet 
Gothic, the interior of the building 
bearing a strong likeness to that of 
Munich Cathedral. 

Priests. 
Rev. F. Lythgoe, S.J., 1846. 

T. Richardson, 1847. 

Asperti, D.D., 1849. 

Pius Melia, D.D., 1850. 

John Butt, 1854. 

John Bamber, 1857. 

John Foy, 1858. 

Thos. Ottley, 1893 to date. 



ST. MARGARET S BAY, near 
DOVER (Southward). 

The Annonciades Nuns of Bou 
logne, recently expelled from 



344 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



France by the Law of Associa 
tions, have opened a convent here 
for French and English pupils. 
The chapel is open to the public. 



ST. MARY CHURCH, DEVON 

(Plymouth). Our Lady Help of 
Christians. 

The mission was commenced in 
18G5, when the chapel was served 
from Torquay. Fr. B. Brownlow, 
afterwards Bishop of Plymouth, 
was priest in 1867. The church 
was partially completed and opened 
in 1867. It was entirely finished 
in February 1881 by the addition 
of three bays and a series of vaulted 
arches. The family of the founder 
of the Lady Chapel have a mortuary 
crypt beneath the west end of the 
south aisle. The church is that 
of the Dominican Convent (Third 
Order), but is open to the public, 
and the chaplain serves the mission. 

Priests. 

Kev. B. Canon Brownlow, 1867. 
Mgr. John S. Lapotre, 1887 

and to date. 



ST. MARY CRAY, KENT (South- 
warJc). 

Until 1875, the district of St. 
Mary Cray was included in the 
mission of Chislehurst. Fr. Gangia 
and Canon Todd, of the last-named 
place, took great interest in the few 
Catholics of the Grays, and it 
was probably through them that 
a school was opened about 1860. 
The first resident priest of the 
mission was Fr. Edward Eyan, 
who came in the early part of 
1875 and stayed about eighteen 
months. His successor, Fr. James 
Connelly, built the presbytery. He 
left in 1884, being followed by 



Fr. James Carroll, who remained 
till 1886. Then, till 1892, the Kev. 
Patrick Gaughren was priest. In 
the above-mentioned year Fr. Car 
roll returned, and has been priest 
of the mission ever since. He 
built the present church in 1895 ; 
the style is early fourteenth-cen 
tury Gothic. The estimated Ca 
tholic population of the district 
is about 400. We have been in 
formed by Fr. Carroll that about 
seventy years ago there existed a 
holy well near St. Mary Cray, 
which was much frequented by 
Irish harvesters on Sunday after 
noons as a suitable place for re 
citing the rosary. Nothing is known 
precisely as to the origin of the 
well, which was destroyed during 
the construction of the London, 
Chatham, and Dover Kailway. 
The water, which was medicinal, 
contained iron and arsenic in solu 
tion, and was in great request as a 
panacea for sick cattle and dogs. 



SALE, near MANCHESTER, 
CHESHIRE (Shrewsbury). St. 
Joseph. 

The chapel was opened for wor 
ship on a site purchased by Fr. 
Alcock, of Altringham, August 6, 
1868. The chapel, a very neat 
building, was opened by Bishop 
Brown, of Shrewsbury, August 5, 
1868. The present church was 
opened May 10, 1885. The schools 
were erected 1898, and the presby 
tery house purchased 1889. Catho 
lic population in 1903, about 800. 
Priests. 



W.Walton, Altrincham . 

H. Alcock, 1860. 

H. Alcock, 1863. 

Canon Crawley, 1870 to date, 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



345 



SALFORD. St. Charles. 

In 1828 a room was hired in 
Union Street as a Sunday school 
in connection with St. Mary s, 
Mulberry Street. In 1843 it was 
transferred to the then recently 
established church of St. John s. 
A school was built in Church Street 
in 1858, and Mass said there for the 
first time on November 7. The 
school chapel served the district 
till the place became a separate 
mission under Fr. B. Smith in 
1892. On the feast of St. Charles 
1895 a large school chapel, to cost 
4,000, was commenced on a site 
at the corner of Gerald Koad and 
Whit Lane. The building was 
solemnly opened July 19, 1896. 



SALFORD, MANCHESTER, LANGS. 

St. John s Cathedral. 

In 1843, a school chapel was 
erected on the site of the present 
cathedra], and Fr. Jn. Billington 
appointed to the mission. He died 
October 10, 1845. On August 9, 
1848, the present cathedral was 
opened by Bishop Briggs, Vicar 
Apostolic of Yorkshire. About two 
hundred clergy attended the cere 
mony, the sermon being preached 
by Bishop (afterwards Cardinal) 
Wiseman. Matthew Hadfield, Esq., 
of Sheffield, was the architect of 
the building. On July 25, 1851, 
Dr. Turner, the first bishop of the 
newly created see of Salford, was 
consecrated in the cathedral by 
Cardinal Wiseman. The building 
was consecrated by Bishop Vaughan 
June 14, 1890, and the fabric 
thoroughly cleaned and renovated 
1905. The number of the congre 
gation is estimated at 8,400 (1905). 



SALISBURY, WILTS (Clifton). 
St. Osmund. 

The Hon. Thomas, brother of 
Lord Arundell, who had a house 
here in 1779, maintained a chap 
lain, who attended to the few Catho 
lics of the district. A regular 
mission was established at Salis 
bury in 1793 by the Abbe Nicholas 
Begin, an emigre. He died March 16, 
1826. The Abbe J. B. Marest also 
laboured here for a time. He 
afterwards became chaplain to the 
nuns of Canford (q.v.), and died at 
Valognes, Normandy, February 3, 
1850, aged eighty-two. The present 
church of St. Osmund at Salis 
bury was built 1847-48, the founda 
tion stone being laid by Bishop 
Ullathorne and Lord Arundell of 
Wardour. The generous donor of 
the church was Mr. Lambert, a 
Catholic gentleman. The consecra 
tion, by Bishop Ullathorne, took 
place September 6, 1848. The style 
is Decorated Gothic, from the de 
sign of A. Welby Pugin, who resided 
at Salisbury for a short time. A 
fine altar of carved oak was erected 
in honour of the Sacred Heart 
June 1895. In November of the 
same year a handsome antique oak 
screen, some three hundred years 
old, was placed in position before 
the Lady Altar. It belonged to 
one of the neighbouring churches 
in pre-Reformation times. The 
church was enlarged in 1894. The 
mission was vacant in 1827. In 
1828 Fr. M. O Connor was priest. 
The clergy after him were : 
Rev. J. Butterfield, 1832. 

Anthony McDermot, 1833. 

Charles Cook, 1835. 

F. Lynch, 1840. 

E. Kenny, 1850. 

Pat. Kelly, 1851. 

H. Green, 1855. 

J. Clarke, 1861. 

Lewis Coelenbier, 1864. 



346 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Peter Seddon, 1867. 

George Canon Crook, 1871. 
,, Dominic Hubert and Francis 

Gallais, 1891. 

,, John Archdeacon, 1896. 
,, James Groomes, 1901 to date. 



SALT ASH, CORNWALL (Ply. 

mouth}. Our Lady. 

The Order of Friars Minor of 
the French Province of St. Louis 
Bishop, O.S.F., established the 
church and friary of St. Mary of 
the Angels here in 1884. The 
house was a filiation from Cleve- 
don, Somerset, Pere Denis being 
the guardian. The Franciscans 
resigned the mission 1896, after 
which the church was served by 
Fr. Edward O Dea. Fr. Augustine 
Morford is the present rector. 



SAMLESBURY, PRESTON, LANCS 

(Salford). St. Mary. 

In 1575 the protestant Bishop of 
Chester reported John Southworth, 
Knt., and his family to the Privy 
Council as obstinate and recusant. 
Six years later Sir John was im 
prisoned in the New Fleet, Man 
chester, for harbouring Edmund 
Campion, the Jesuit, at Samles- 
bury. Fr. Southworth, his son or 
grandson, suffered at Tyburn for 
the Faith in 1654. In 1690 Mr. 
Hardin, alias Hawarden, served 
the mission. Bishop Smith con 
firmed here in 1709. Many Catho 
lics of the district were presented 
to the grand jury as non-jurors and 
recusants in 1715. Fr. W. Tootell 
was priest at Samlesbury in 1749. 
The old chapel was at Lower Hall, 
and was dedicated to St. Chad. 
Having become ruinous, it was 
rebuilt about 1817 by Fr. J. Bell. 



In the penal times Mass was often 
said in Bessa Wood, near Samles 
bury, and among the relics treasured 
at the present church of St. Mary 
is an old viaticum pyx, dated 1695, 
and a chasuble some five hundred 
years old. 

Priests since 1852. 
Kev. Wm. Fayer, 1852. 

Richard Gerrard, 1876. 

Mgr. Wm Hill, 1901 to date. 



SCARBOROUGH, YORKS (Middles 
brough). St. Peter. 

In 1836 the Catholics of Scar 
borough comprised but three or 
four respectable families and a few 
Irish. The chapel was a poor, 
mean building hidden behind some 
old tenements. When Bishop Ulla- 
thorne was a boy, in 1815, a priest 
only came to Scarborough once in 
every six weeks. Mr. Hay dock, 
the editor of " Haydock s Bible," 
came once in three months ; and 
Mr. Woodcock, of Egton Bridge, 
also came once in three months. 
They were both Douai priests, and 
as they generally dined at our 
house I used to be much enter 
tained with their college stories 
(Dr. Ullathorne, Autobiography ). 
Fr. J. Leyne seems to have been 
the first resident priest at Scar 
borough (1828). The next priest, 
Fr. J. Walker, greatly improved 
the chapel, and started & good 
Sunday school for the children. 
About this time many protestants 
began to attend the chapel, and 
conversions were numerous. Fr. 
Walker turned part of his house 
into a school for day pupils. By 
1842 Scarborough had become a 
popular seaside resort. One of the 
constant visitors was the Catholic 
naturalist Charles Waterton, who 
has left a quaintly written essay 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



347 



on the attractions of the place. The 
new church, which, as the Hull 
Advertiser remarked, reflected 
infinite credit on the liberality 
and zeal of the congregation, was 
opened by Cardinal Wiseman in 
July 1858. The Hon. and Eight 
Eev. Bishop Clifford, of Clifton, sang 
the Mass, which was attended by a 
crowded congregation. Several of 
the bishops and Catholic peers were 
also present. The Cardinal s dis 
course was one of those lucid, 
forcible, and eloquent sermons 
which have rendered his Eminence 
not only popular, but illustrious, 
throughout Europe. The style of 
the church is Geometrical Gothic. 

Priests since 1835. 
Rev. John Canon Walker, 1835. 

Arthur Riddell, 1874 (Bishop 
of Northampton 1880). 

James Canon Dolan, 1880 
and to date. 



SCARISBRICK, LANCS (Liver 
pool). 

At the Old Hall, the ancestral 
seat of the Scarisbricks, situated in 
a park some 430 acres in extent, 
there was always a chapel and 
resident priest. The Jesuits had 
charge of the mission. The Scaris- 
brick family have been lords of the 
manor for upwards of seven cen 
turies. Fr. John Smith, S.J., was 
chaplain at Scarisbrick early in the 
eighteenth century, andFr. Nicholas 
Furniers in 1751. Fr. Scarisbrick, 
who died in 1788, bequeathed the 
property to the Eccleston family, 
who henceforth resided here. On 
the death of Lady Scarisbrick, in 
1872, the property went to the 
Marquis de Casteja, who assumed 
the name of Scarisbrick by royal 
licence. The Old Hall was pulled 
down many years ago, and replaced 



by a handsome Gothic structure by 
A. W. Pugin, but the fine oak wains 
cot and other ancient details were 
incorporated in the new building. 
On December 18, 1887, the present 
church, dedicated to St. Elizabeth, 
was commenced. The style is 
Gothic, the seating capacity of the 
building being for 500. The opening 
took place April 28, 1889. Messrs. 
Pugin were the architects. The 
Marchioness de Brandos Casteja, 
who defrayed the cost of erection, 
lies interred at Scarisbrick. The 
first bell of the peal was presented 
by the Count in 1890. 



SCARTHINGWELL, near TAD- 
CASTER, YORKS (Leeds}. The Im 
maculate Conception. 

A mission was established in 
1852, when Mass was said on Sun 
days in a hired room. The number 
of Catholics then at Scarthingwell 
was about forty. The present 
church was opened June 8, 1854, 
by Cardinal Wiseman. The bell of 
the church was blessed by Bishop 
Briggs, of Beverley, June 14, 1857, 
on which occasion Mr. Constable 
Maxwell, the munificent donor of 
the church, received a signed ad 
dress of thanks. In 1858 the 
number of Easter communicants 
was 135. The schools of the mis 
sion were opened by H. C. Maxwell, 
Esq., on Thursday, July 22, 1858. 
In 1889 the congregation numbered 
between three and four hundred. 

Priests. 
Eev. Chas. O Neill, 1852. 

Hy. Walker, 1860. 

Jn. O Dwyer, 1863. 

James Guthrie, 1867. 

Jn. Scott, here in 1875. 

Thos. Worthy, 1877. 

Hubert Offermann, 1884. 

D. J. Collins, 1895 to date. 



348 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



SCLERDER, POLPERRO, CORN 
WALL (Plymouth). 1 

The Kev. Sir Henry Trelawney, 
Bart., was converted to the Faith 
about 1815, and after his death at 
Lavino, Italy, February 24, 1834, 
his daughters, Mary and Anne, es 
tablished the mission at Trelawney, 
1842. The Rev. Mark Oleron was 
the first priest. On the death of 
Miss Anne Trelawney, 1860, the 
oratory at Trelawney would appear 
to have been closed, and a regular 
mission established at Sclerder 
under the care of the Franciscans, 
who, however, did not long remain. 
In 1875 the place was served from 
Plymouth. Two years later Mr. B. 
de Barry acquired the late house of 
the Order, and fitted up the chapel 
once more. 

Hectors since 1882. 
Rev. Alex. Cruikshank, D.D., 1882. 

Augustine Beteille, here in 
1891. 

,, Edward Baste, 1893 to date. 



SCORTON, LANGS (Liverpool). 

St. James. 

The origin of this mission is ob 
scure. The first resident priest of 
the place was Fr. John Sergeant, 
a man of good social parts, who 
was settled here at the time of the 
Rebellion of 1745. Two soldiers 
were sent from Preston to arrest 
him, but he entertained them so 
well that they vowed they would 
not arrest so good a fellow, and 
so returned without fulfilling their 
mission. Fr. Sergeant built a small 
thatched chapel for his congregation, 
and was succeeded in September 
1795 by Fr. James Lawrenson, who 
officiated at Scorton till 1826. The 

1 Sclerder is Cornish Celtic for light. 



next priests were : Frs. J. Dixon 
(1826-30), J. Woodcock (1830-36), 
T. GiUet (1836-88), R.Turpin (1838- 
1863). The chapel was subse 
quently enlarged, improved, and 
slated. It belonged to the Dnke 
of Hamilton, and when that noble 
man was introduced to the Pope 
he told his Holiness that he be 
lieved he was the only protestant 
nobleman in the kingdom to own a 
Catholic church. When his Grace 
disposed of his Lancashire property 
he reserved a small portion, to 
gether with the chapel site, which 
he sold on very liberal terms to 
Fr. Turpin. The new church of St. 
Mary and St. James was founded 
in August 1860, and opened in 
1861. The style is Decorated 
Gothic, and the building will 
seat about 300 persons. Messrs. 
Hansom & Son, of Clifton, de 
signed the structure, which cost 
about 2,500. The Catholic popu 
lation in and about Scorton in 1860 
was about 300. Fr. Robt. Turpin 
was succeeded as rector in 1863 by 
Canon Joseph Ilsley, D.D. ; Fr. 
Austin Splaine, 1871 ; Fr. Patrick 
Flynn, 1888; Fr. Jn. Blackoe, 1901 
to date. 



SCORTON, YORKS (Middles 
brough). St. John of God. 

The Fathers of the Institute of 
St. John of God (Brothers Hos 
pitallers) approved by Pope St. 
Pius V. in 1572 for the spiritual 
and temporal good of the sick, 
infirm, and poor established an 
institution at Scorton in 1880. 
They were invited to the place by 
a gentleman who purchased the old 
abbey of St. Clare and presented it 
to them for use as a hospital for 
the sick poor. The building will 
accommodate about 100 patients. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



349 



The church of the monastery serves 
the mission, Mass on Sundays being 
(1904) at 10 A.M. and afternoon ser 
vice at 3. The house occupied by 
the community was formerly known 
as St. Clare s Abbey, and was the 
residence of the Bower family from 
1717 to 1800. From 1807 to 1857, 
it was a convent of Poor Clares, 
who erected a school and chapel. 
The nuns, on quitting the place, 
went to Darlington. 



SCUNTHORPE, LINCS (Notting 
ham}. The Holy Souls. 

The increase of population owing 
to the development of the iron- 
working industry led to a mission 
being established here in 1897. 
The chapel is a small one, but 
sufficient at present for the needs 
of the congregation. 

Priests. 
Rev. Rupert Macaulay, 1897. 

J. Hooker, 1899. 

Chas. Kerin, 1903. 

H. Lindebooni, 1905. 



SEACOMBE, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury}. Our Lady Star of the Sea 
and St. Joseph. 

The mission was set on foot in 
1860 by Canon Joseph Sherwood, 
of Beverley, who said Mass in 
one of the upper rooms of his resi 
dence in Chapel Street. Catholics 
then numbered about thirty. Before 
the end of the year a chapel was 
built. The schools, erected in 
1875, served as a chapel on Sun 
days and holy days till August 
1889, when the present Gothic 
church was opened. The cost of 
erection (5,000) was largely, if 



not entirely, defrayed by a generous 
benefactor. A new school was 
opened in 1902. The congregation 
is now about 2,600. 

Priests. 
Rev. Joseph Canon Sherwood, 1860. 

T. Degen, 1860. 

J. Jenkins, 1862. 

J. Jones, 1864. 

F. Lynch, 1868. 

E. Lynch, 1878. 

W. Dallow, 1883. 

Canon Marsden, V.G., 1885. 

Canon Singleton, V.F., 1887. 



SEAFORD, SUSSEX (Southward}. 
St. Francis of Sales. 

When Bishop Bower, of Chi- 
chester, visited Seaford in 1724, the 
parish contained seventy families, 
no Papist; three Presbyterians. 
The ancient parish church at this 
time had fallen into a deplorable 
state of neglect. The present mis 
sion was commenced about 1899, 
when Bishop Bourne, of Southwark, 
built a country house on the out 
skirts of the town and erected a 
chapel adjoining. This building, 
which in style approaches the 
Classic, will accommodate about 
120 persons. In 1902 the house 
and chapel were acquired by the 
Sisters of Providence of Rouen, ex 
pelled from France. The services 
at the chapel, which is open to the 
public, are conducted by one of 
the Assumptionist Fathers from the 
adjacent mission of Newhaven. 



SEAFORTH, LANCS (Liverpool). 

In 1884 a disused stable and 
coach - house were acquired and 
transformed into a chapel. The 
congregation at the outset amounted 



350 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



to 300. On October 5, 1890, a new 
school chapel was opened by Bishop 
O Reilly. The foundation stone 
of the new church was laid 
May 22, 1898, and the building 
opened February 10, 1901. Seat 
ing for 600. The Catholic popula 
tion is about 2,000. 

Priests. 

Eev. Patrick Murphy, 1884. 
Jn. Seed, 1889 to date. 



SEAHAM HARBOUR, DURHAM 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Mary Magdalen. 

For some years before 1860 Mass 
was said on Sundays in a store 
room over a stable. The congrega 
tion mostly miners and their 
families came in such numbers 
as almost to cause suffocation. 
After much difficulty about finding 
a site, one was obtained from Earl 
Vane. The first stone was laid by 
the Bishop of Hexham July 22, 
1869, and the building, a plain 
structure for 500 persons, was 
opened July 1870. A new church 
was commenced August 25, 1906. 
The style is Romanesque ; material 
used, concrete blocks ; accommoda 
tion for about 500. Estimated cost 
about 2,700. The Catholic popu 
lation of the district is about 2,000. 

Priests. 
Eev. Robt. Belaney, 1860. 

Win. Gaskell, 1864 (died 1868). 

Michael Greene, 1870. 

Joseph Fawell, 1834. 

,, James Hayes, 1891 and to 
date. 



SEDGLEY, STAFFS (Birming 
ham). St. Chad and All Saints. 

The mission is described as a 
filiation from Wolverhampton. The 



mission was established in 1789, 
and must not be confounded with 
the older one at the adjacent 
Sedgley Park, now represented (as 
a college) by Cotton Hall (q.v.). 
The first priest at Sedgley was the 
Rev. J. Perry. His successor, the 
Rev. T. Tysan, erected at his own 
expense the elegant and commo 
dious church, for 400 persons, 
opened in 1823. The building was 
not consecrated till September 2, 
1891. Adjoining the church is, or 
was, a cemetery. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. Perry, 1789. 

T. Tysan, 1820 (?). 

Jn. Day (assistant), 1860. 

Philip Hendren, 1866. 

Chas. Malfait, 1874. 

Jn. Kelly, 1895 to date. 



SEDGLEY PARK, sec OAKA- 

MOOR (Staffordshire). 



SELBY, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Mary. 

This mission dates from 1791, in 
a room licensed for the purpose in 
accordance with the Catholic Relief 
Act of that year. No register was 
kept till 1822. The present church, 
opened May 1(5, 1839, was erected 
at the expense of the Hon. E. Petre, 
M.P. Fr. Albert Underbill was 
rector here for several years prior 
to 1802, when he went to Leeds. 

The remains of the Benedictine 
Abbey, founded by William the 
Conqueror 1069, were destroyed by 
fire October 1906. 

Priests since 1822. 
Rev. Geo. Best, 1822. 

Jn. Rigby, 1853. 

,, Andrew Burns, 1874. 

James Canon Gordon, 1904 to 
date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



351 



SELLY PARK, BIRMINGHAM 

(Birmingham). St. Edward. 

A school chapel was founded here 
in 1889, and served the mission till i 
the opening of the present church 
in 1902 (commenced October 28, 
1901). The cost was about 4,000. 
Among the benefactors to the fund 
was Mr. Olivieri. Prior to the erec- j 
tion of the school chapel, the chapel ! 
of St. Paul s Convent (Sisters of 
Charity) was open to the public, 
and the spiritual wants of local 
Catholics were attended to by the 
chaplain. 

Priests. 
Kev. E. Hymers, 1889. 

T. Fitzpatrick, 1891. 

Matthias O Eourke, 1895. 

Vincent Keating, 1899. 



SETTLE, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Mary and St. Michael. 

The church was opened March 20, 
1864. 

Priests. 
Kev. E. Woodall, 1864. 

Thos. Bradley, 1891. 

Thos. Parkin, 1897 to date. 



by Bishop Butt. The present struc 
ture, in the purest Norman style, 
designed by Mr. F. A. Walters, was 
opened in 1896. It consists of a 
chancel and half nave, and is in 
tended as a memorial to Cardinal 
Manning, who for many years lived 
in the neighbourhood. 
Priests. 

Kev. Ignatius Lazzari. 
,, Wm. Cunningham, 1892 to 
date. 



SHAFTESBURY, DORSET (Ply- 
mouth). 

A chapel was opened at Belmont 
House, Shaftesbury, by the Oblates 
of the Sacred Heart, Christmas 
1894. Before this time Wardour 
and Marnhull were the nearest 
neighbouring missions. Shaftesbury 
was at first served from the latter 
place by Fr. Benedict Grillet. 

Priests. 
Rev. Fr. E. Baron, 1897. 

Jas. Berry, 1898. 

,, Jerome Boutin, 1899. 

Peter Sivienne, 1902. 



SEVENOAKS, KENT (Southward). 
St. Thomas of Canterbury. 

The mission was established June 
1870, but no notice of the place 
appeared in the Catholic Direc 
tory till 1881. The iron chapel 
was opened by Bishop Danell 
Wednesday, October 20, of the pre 
ceding year. In pre- Reformation 
times the locality was famous for 
its devotion to St. Edith, daughter 
of the Saxon King Edgar, and on 
April 21, 1888, a carved statue of 
the saint was unveiled in the church 



SHANKLIN, ISLE OF WIGHT 

(Portsmouth). Oratory of the 
, Sacred Heart. 

A mission was established in 

June 1888, mainly through the 

efforts of Sir P. Rose, Mrs. Hinton, 
; of the Royal Spa Hotel, Mr. W. H. 

Curtan, and other Catholic residents. 

The chapel was in a house at the 
I corner of Atheley and Sandown 
] Roads, near the railway station. 
| A temporary iron church was opened 
| Tuesday, August 28, 1888, thanks to 
I the generosity of Sir P. Rose. The 

celebrant was Mgr. Cahill, now 



352 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Bishop of Portsmouth. Bishop 
Vertue preached. The first stone 
of the new church was laid Mon- I 
day, October 15, 1906. The style j 
is fourteenth- century Gothic, con- j 
sisting of nave, two aisles, and 
three chapels. A number of stones 
from ancient abbeys in Great : 
Britain and Ireland are to be 
incorporated in the porch. B. | 
Williamson, Esq., is the architect. 



SHAW, OLDHAM, LANCS (Sal- 
ford). St. Joseph. 

An old building was purchased 
and opened as church and school in 
August 1874. Fr. Baetings was 
the first rector. Fr. T. Cusack, the 
present rector, who came here in 
December 1887, effected many im 
provements and built the presby 
tery. A handsome school chapel, 
to take the place of the old build 
ing, was opened May 10, 1896, by 
the Bishop of Salford. 



SHEERNESS (Southwark). SS. 
Henry and Elizabeth. 

The church, which was opened by 
Bishop Grant, of Southwark, Sep 
tember 14, 1865, is a mixture of 
Early English and Pointed Deco 
rated. The architect was E. W. 
Pugin, and the cost of the building, 
which will accommodate about 500 
persons, was 3,700. A handsome 
octagonal stone pulpit, supported on 
marble columns, was inaugurated 
Sunday, February 31, 1886, in 
memory of the Catholic naval and 
military officers and men who lost 
their lives during the Egyptian and 
Soudan campaigns. A mural tablet 
inscribed with the names of the 
deceased is placed near the pulpit. 



Fr. T. Moynihan was priest at 
Sheerness from 1880 till his death in 
September 1890. He was greatly 
beloved by all the congregation, and 
his funeral was attended by over 
150 seamen, marines, and artillery 
men, in whose spiritual and tem 
poral welfare the good Father had 
always shown himself warmly 
interested. Fr. T. Smith is the 
present rector (1906). 



SHEFFIELD, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Mary. 

The Lord s House, a residence 
of the Dukes of Norfolk, in Friar- 
gate, Norfolk Bow, had a chapel in 
the penal times. In 1814 a public 
chapel was erected, and enlarged 
1837. During January 1847 pro 
posals were made for a new 
j church, after the style of the 
| noble cross church of Hecking- 
| ton, in Lincolnshire. Fr. Pratt 
| was mainly instrumental in for- 
! warding the work of erection, 
I and the church was opened Sep- 
j tember 1850. The cost of building 
! was about 11,563. Owing to the 
i outstanding debt, the building was 
not consecrated till June 1889, when 
, the ceremony was performed by 
i Bishop Knight for the Bishop of 
i Leeds. The Duke of Norfolk and 
! Henry Munster, Esq., were gene- 
j rous benefactors to the mission. 

Recent Priests. 
Rev. Pratt (died February 17, 

1849). 

Matthew Kavanagh, 1849. 
Edmund Canon Scully, 1850. 
William Canon Fisher, 1855. 
,, Samuel Canon Walshaw, 

1867. 

,, James Canon Gordon, 1895. 
Oswald Canon Dolan, 1889 
to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



353 



SHEFFIELD, YORKS. St. Cathe 
rine. 

The first stone of the building 
was laid August 3, 1884, and the 
church was opened in November of 
the same year. Mr. C. Hadfield 
was the architect. Schools were 
opened 1876. Fr. Luke Burke was 
the first resident priest, 1894, and 
till after 1898. Fr. Patrick Hickey 
is the present rector. 



SHEFFORD, BEDS (Northamp 
ton). 

A family named Noddings kept 
the Faith alive here during the early 
and middle part of the eighteenth 
century. Mass was said occasionally 
in their house, formerly a butcher s 
shop. Mary Noddings, who died 
1783, left her property to found a 
regular mission. The old chapel, 
erected in 1791, was behind some 
cottages, and only approached by a 
narrow passage. By 1869 the floor 
was sunken low,the roof gaping, and 
the whole place thoroughly unsafe. 
The new church was commenced 
in October 1882, and consecrated 
July 3, 1884. The old chapel serves 
as the sacristy. Fine stained-glass 
windows were presented by Mrs. 
Lyne- Stephens, J. Eyston, Esq., 
&c. Mr. S. J. Nichol was the archi 
tect. The first priests at Shefford 
were Eevs. S. Kobinson, 1778 ; J. 
Barnwall, 1783; Chris. Taylor, 
1786. This priest was a profound 
scholar, and when in Rome was 
much esteemed by the Pope. He 
died 1812. The Abbe Potier 
succeeded. Canon Wm. Collier, 
appointed in 1869, founded the 
orphanage, 1869-70. 



SHEPHERD S BUSH, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). 

In 1889 the mission was started 
by the opening of a temporary 
chapel at 33 Askew Crescent, the 
residence of Fr. A. H. Pownall, 
first priest of the mission. A tem- 
! porary church was afterwards fitted 
I up at 47 Rylett Road, and continued 
to do duty as a place of worship 
till the opening of the present fine 
Gothic edifice in Ashchurch Grove, 
April 5, 1904. The architects were 
Canon Scoles, of Basingstoke, and 
G. Raymond, the accommodation 
of the building being for about 
400. On Sunday, November 13, 
1904, the first confirmation was 
given in the church by Archbishop 
Bourne, about eighty candidates 
being presented for the reception 
of the sacrament. The first rector 
of the mission was Fr. A. H. 
Pownall, who was succeeded in 
1892 by his brother Fr. Bernard 
Pownall, the present incumbent. 



SHEPSHED, LEICESTERSHIRE 

(Nottingham). St. Winefride. 

Mission founded 1842, and for a 
time served from Osgathorpe by 
Fr. Gentili, D.D. The schools 
were opened 1854 at the expense 
of A. de Lisle, Esq., of Gavendon 
Manor. New infant schools were 
inaugurated 1896, the number of 
pupils being about 132. 

Priests. 

Rev. L. Gentili, D.D., 1842. 
F. Segnini, 1846. 
W. Lockhart, 1848. 
P. Hutton, 1850. 
N. Lorain, 1852. 
F. Luke, 1856. 

(Served from Grace Dieu 
Manor 1862.) 

AA 



354 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Kev. Thos. Gillet, 1864. 

Fr. Augustine (Henry Col 
lins). 

A. Canon Martens, here in 
1871 and to date. 



SHEPTON MALLET, SOMERSET 

(Clifton). St. Michael. 

Fr. J. Brewer, S.J., originated 
the mission 1765, and served it till 
his death in 1797. His successor, 
Fr. Jas. Hussey, built the presby 
tery and a chapel dedicated to 
St. Nicholas, 1801-4. The same 
year the Visitation Nuns of Rouen 
were settled here by Mrs. Cuthbert 
Tunstall. They removed to West- 
bury-on-Trym 1831. Fr. Coombes, 
D.D., was rector from 1810 to 1849, 
when he retired to Downside. 
Since then the priests have 
been: Eev. Hy. Swale, 1850; 
R. Havers, 1853; Jas. Dawson, 
1856 ; Canon Shattock, 1858 ; 
Robt. Dunham, 1867 ; Jn. Fanning, 
1875. The centenary of the mis 
sion was kept in October 1895, 
though why not in 1865 does not 
appear. Fr. Geo. Johnson is the 
present rector. 



SHERBORNE, DORSET (Ply 
mouth). Sacred Heart and St. 
Aldhelm. 

In 1891 the chapel was at Cliff 
Cottage, Marston Road, and was 
served from Yeovil by Carmelite 
Fathers. The new church, designed 
by Fr. Scholes, of Yeovil, was 
commenced April 5, 1893, and 
opened 1894. Provost Brownlow, 
afterwards Bishop of Clifton, 



preached on this occasion, his 
theme being the life and labours of 
St. Aldhelm, Bishop of Sherborne 
(died 709). 

Priests. 

Rev. Jos. Hearne, 1892. 
Mgr. Vincent Coletti, 1894. 
,, Francis Shepherd, here in 
1897 and to date. 



SHIFNAL, SALOP (Shrewsbury). 
St. Mary. 

A school chapel was opened here 
on October 7, 1860, by Lord Stafford, 
who generously defrayed the cost of 
the building. Mass was sung by 
Fr. Thos. Green, of Aldenham. At 
first, the mission was served on 
Sundays by Fr. James Jenkins, of 
Madeley. The building, which is 
Gothic, was designed by Mr. Buck 
ler, of Oxford. Mass was said 
during the penal times at the old 
manor house belonging to the 
Jerningham family. The chalice 
in use at the church is an ancient 
one, bearing the inscription * Re 
store me to Sheafnall, in Shrop 
shire. LordHerries of Everingham, 
Yorks, into whose possession it 
came, returned it to the mission 
about thirty years ago. 

Priests after 1866. 
Rev. T. A. Crowther, December 1866. 
, T. Degen, 1870. 

R. McCarte, 1871. 

J. O Dwyer and P. Deery, 
1877. 

D. Maguire, 1879. 

J. Gastaldi, D.D., 1883. 

G. Boen, 1884. 

P. O Reilly, 1885. 

A. Bowen, 1889. 

T. O Connor, 1898. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



355 



SHIPLEY, near BRADFORD, 
YORKS (Leeds). SS. Mary and 
Walburga. The mission dates 
from August 13, 1851. 

Dr. Cornthwaite, Bishop of 
Beverley, visited the mission on 
Sunday, December 6, 1863. The 
chapel was a rented room in a 
public-house, capable of holding 
about 300. The congregation was 
estimated at double that number. 
Fr. Henry Walker was the first 
priest of the mission. The school 
chapel was opened in August 25, 
1867 ; style, Gothic ; dimensions, 
84 ft. by 30 ft. Presbytery erected 
at the same time. 900 of the 
total cost was subscribed by the 
congregation. 

Priests. 
Rev. Hy. Walker, 1863. 

Edward Walinesley, 1874. 

James Glover, 1877. 

Jos. Geary, 1882. 

Sidney Morgan, 1888 and till 
1897. 

Denis Sullivan, 1898 and 
to date. 



SHIREBROOK, DERBYSHIRE 

(Nottingham ). St. Joseph. 

The chapel was opened 1904, and 
Mass is said there alternately on 
Sundays at nine and eleven. The 
Eev. Chas. Froes is rector. 



SHIREHAMPTON, near BRISTOL, 
SOMERSET (Clifton). St. Bernard. 

The church was commenced 
Thursday, September 25, 1902, and 
completed in 1903. The style is 
fourteenth-century Gothic ; archi 
tect, Mr. Doran Webb, of Salisbury. 
A mission was started in the neigh 



bourhood in 1901 by Fr. F. H. 

Mather, services being held in a 
room which soon became inade 
quate. The mission also includes 
the adjoining port of Avomnouth, 
frequented by many Catholic sailors. 
The church of St. Bernard was in 
tended as a memorial to the late 
Bishop Brownlow, of Clifton. 



SHOREHAM, SUSSEX (South- 
wark). St. Peter. 

Through the kind assistance of 
the Duke of Norfolk, a house was 
acquired for a mission station 1869. 
Afterwards a stable was trans 
formed into a school chapel, and 
opened for worship December 1870. 
The present church (thirteenth- 
century Gothic) was erected by 
Mina Duchess of Norfolk, and 
opened by Bishop Danell, of South- 
wark, August 11, 1875. The mis 
sion for many years after its 
establishment was served from 
Worthing. 

Priests. 
Eev. H. Whiteside, 1870. 

W. Linnett, 1877. 

E. Martin, 1880. 

Joseph Wilhelm, D.D., 1886. 

Daniel Ferris, D.D., 1899. 

Robt. Christall, 1903 to date. 



SHORNCLIFFE, near FOLKE 
STONE, KENT (Southward}. 

The iron garrison church was 
erected in 1894 by the late Fr. Chas. 
Keatinge, Chaplain to the Forces, 
and will accommodate about 200. 
It is under the care of the resi 
dent military chaplain for the 
time being, the presbytery being 
at Sandgate. 

A A2 



356 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 

Rev. Chas. Keatinge, 1894. 
Thos. Foran, 1897. 
E. M. Morgan, 1905 to date. 



SHREWSBURY, SHROPSHIRE. 

Cathedral Church of Our Lady 
Help of Christians. 

The doughs of Myndtown and 
the Beringtons of Moat Hall were 
the chief Catholics about Shrews 
bury in the seventeenth century. 
In 1676 the number of Papists 
in the town was returned at eight. 
Mass was said at Moat Hall during 
this troubled period, and occasion 
ally at the town residence of the 
Beringtons in the square before 
St. Alkmund s Church. No public 
chapel appears till April 1777, when 
one was opened by Fr. Come. After 
1791 many French refugees were 
hospitably entertained at Dothill 
Park, and one of these, the Abbe 
Louis Lemaitre, served the Shrews 
bury mission from 1818-22. He 
was a French Benedictine of Douai, 
and died June 16, 1822, aged sixty- 
five. His brother Stephen, who 
predeceased him in 1818, had like 
wise served the Shrewsbury mis 
sion. Fr. S. Jones, priest from 
1824-33, enlarged the chapel, where 
a marble tablet recalls his memory. 
In 1840 a great number of Irish 
labourers employed by the Great 
Western Railway Company settled 
in the town, and during the rioting 
occasioned by the restoration of the 
hierarchy in 1851, a strong body 
guard of these stalwarts saved the 
chapel and presbytery from de 
struction. The city, now the 
see of a Catholic bishop, was 
presented with a fine cathedral 
by Bertram seventeenth Earl of 
Shrewsbury. It was commenced 
December 12, 1853, and finished 



1867. The splendid east window, 
pulpit, and stations of the Cross 
were given by Canon Cholmondeley. 
The Sacred Heart altar is a memo 
rial of Bishop Brown, first Bishop 
of Shrewsbury. The chapel of St. 
Winefride was erected by F. Burke, 
Esq., at a cost of 2,000. 

Administrators. 
Rev. Hy. Hopkins, 1867. 

Hy. Walker, 1869. 

Edw. Lynch, 1872. 
Very Rev. Samuel Webster Allen 

(Bishop of Shrewsbury June 16, 

1897), 1874. 



SICKLINGHALL, YORKS (Leeds). 

The Immaculate Conception. 

About 1851, Sicklinghall was 
merely an obscure protestant vil 
lage. The few Catholics there 
attended Mass at Storkhold Park, 
the residence of Peter Middleton, 
Esq. When this chapel was closed, 
Mr. Middleton built the beautiful 
Gothic church, and presented it to 
the Fathers Oblates of Mary Im 
maculate (August 30, 1854). A 
monastery was erected, and made 
the novitiate of the congregation. 
Under the direction of the Fathers 
the mission has made great pro 
gress, and it is reported that the 
Corpus Christi procession has come 
to be looked upon by the inhabit 
ants as a great annual event. 

Priests. 
Rev. Gustave Richard, 1854. 

Joseph Arnoux, 1858. 

Lys Marie, 1861. 

Joseph Arnoux, 1863. 

William Laffan, 1867. 

Patrick Brady, 1871. 

Hilarius Lenoir, here in 1875. 

Patrick Newman, 1878. 

Michael Brody, here in 1883. 
Thos. Dawsoii, 1885. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



357 



Kev. Kichard D Alton, 1890. 
James Gibney, 1894. 
W. Browne, 1898. 
,, James Corn erf ord, 1904. 



SIDCUP, KENT (Southward). St. 
Lawrence of Canterbury. 

The Hon. Thomas Howard, 
brother of Lord Arundell, who died 
here in June 1781, had a domestic 
chapel at Sidcup, but who the 
priest was does not appear. The 
present mission dates from 1902, 
when St. Joseph s Convent, in the 
Hatherley Koad, was established, 
the chapel of which for some time 
served the mission. Fr. E. Julien 
was the first priest. In the summer 
of 1903, the Missionary Fathers of 
the Sacred Heart took over the 
spiritual care of the congregation, 
which numbers about 200. The 
present church was opened August 
16, 1906, by Bishop Amigo, of South- 
wark. The congregation numbers 
about 200. 



SIDMOUTH, DEVON (Plymouth). 
Convent of the Assumption. 

Mass was said for the first time 
at Sidmouth on Easter Sunday 
1881, by the Jesuit Fathers exiled 
from France under the Ferry laws. 
In the afternoon another large con 
gregation of Catholics and protes- 
tants assembled to hear the fine 
discourse of Fr. Petit, S.J., and 
assist at Benediction. The chapel 
of the convent, founded in 1884, 
serves the mission. The building 
was enlarged and reopened Decem 
ber 13, 1904. 



SILEBY, LEICESTERSHIRE (Not 
tingham). St. Gregory. 

This mission was founded about 
1876 by Fr. Win. Lewthwaite, 
M.A. (Oxon.), who built the school 
chapel. For many years the place 
was served from Katcliffe College. 
In 1900 the chapel was served from 
Syston. The Kev. Michael Gallery, 
the present rector, was appointed 
1903. 



SILVERTOWN, LONDON, E. 

(Westminster). Our Lady and St. 
I Edward, Tate Street. 

With the sanction of Cardinal 
Manning, a house for a chapel was 
hired near the railway station 
(3 Mickleburg Terrace), and on 
Sunday, May 8, 1887, a school for 
religious instruction was opened 
by Fr. T. Prendergast, of St. Mar 
garet s, Barking Road. Mass was 
said here for the first time on 
Sunday, June 19, 1887, by Fr. T. 
Ring, who was appointed resident 
priest of the new mission. Sixty 
adults and fifteen children were 
packed into the small space avail 
able, and in the afternoon about 122 
children received prizes for good 
attendance at the Sunday school 
! during the past five weeks. The 
I new school chapel, the gift of a 
! generous benefactor, was opened 
: Thursday, December 22, 1887. The 
building accommodates 400 per 
sons. A new church, of Classic 
design, was commenced in August 
1891, and opened during the 
course of 1892. The foundation 
stone was laid by the Bishop of 
Amycla. The architect of the new 
building was F. "VV. Tasker, Esq. 
The cost of erection was about 
5,000. New schools, for 500 chil 
dren, were opened by Cardinal 
I Vaughan in October 1895. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



SITTINGBOTJRNE, KENT (SoutJi- 
wark). The Sacred Heart. 

On Sunday, June 26, 1893, Fr. E. 
O Sullivan, who had but recently 
been appointed to this newly 
established mission, held an open- 
air service, at which at least 
800 persons were present. The 
next day, Monday, Bishop Butt, of 
Southwark, made an official visit 
the first Catholic episcopal visita 
tion since that of Archbishop War- 
ham, of Canterbury, in 1511 and 
confirmed a large number of per 
sons. At the open-air meeting the 
previous evening, the audience was 
addressed by a Mr. Watts, a con 
vert, for many years an energetic 
Baptist minister, and a student 
under C. H. Spurgeon. Mr. Watts s 
powerful address, on the almost end 
less varieties of protestantism and 
the unity of the Catholic Church, 
produced a great impression. In 
1902, the fine Gothic church, dedi 
cated to the Sacred Heart, was 
consecrated and opened by Bishop 
Bourne, of Southwark. The funds 
requisite for the building were col 
lected by Fr. O Sullivan by means 
of wholesale and often humorous 
advertising. The number of Catho 
lics at Sittingbourne is about 300. 



SKEGNESS, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not- 

tingliani). The Sacred Heart and 
Our Lady of the Holy Souls. 

In July 1880, Fr. H. T. Sabela 
opened a chapel in a barn at Skeg- 
ness, which was kindly placed at 
his disposal by the proprietor of 
the Sea View Hotel. The first 
Mass, on Sunday, July 18, was 
attended by a large congregation, 
chiefly protestants. In 1883 the 
mission was served from Sleaford. 
No mention is made of a mission 
here in 1891, 1893, 1894, but in 



1897 a school chapel was announced 
as being in course of erection. 
The opening took place Septein- 
| ber 29, 1898. Frs. P. Sabela and 
H. Capron were the priests in 
charge. In 1898 it was Fr. J. 
Davis, the present incumbent. 



SKELMERSDALE, LANCS (Liver 
pool}. St. Richard, Liverpool Road. 

The first stone of the church 
(Gothic) was laid in August 1864 
by Bishop Goss, of Liverpool, and 
the building was opened in 1865. 
W. Rotherham, Esq., of Skelmers- 
dale, defrayed the cost of erection. 
In 1870 a school for 150 children 
was opened, and enlarged 1880. 
The presbytery was erected 1887. 
The Catholic population is about 
850. 

Priests. 

Eev. W. Stirzaker, 1866. 
Edw. Blackoe, 1899. 



SKERTON, LANCASTER. St. 
Peter s, see LANCASTER. 



SKERTON, LANCASTER (Liver 
pool). St. Joseph. 

This second mission was opened 
1896 as a chapel of ease to St. 
Peter s. Skerton is a flourishing 
suburb joined to Lancaster by a 
bridge. 

Priests. 
Eev. Philip O Bryen, 1896. 

Thos. Murphy, 1905 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



359 



SKIPTON, YORKS (Leeds). St. 
Stephen. 

The first stone of the church was 
laid by Sir Charles Tempest, Bart., 
in 1836, and the building was 
opened September 15, 1842. The 
style is Early Gothic ; accommo 
dation for about sixty. Before the 
erection of the church the nearest 
mission was at Broughton Hall, the 
seat of the Tempest family (q.v.). 

Priests. 

Eev. Kd. Boyle, 1843. 
Thos. Tempest, 1844. 
John Milner, 1846. 
Sir Geo. Bridges, Bart., S.J., 

1856. 

H. James, S.J., 1858. 
John Gosford, S.J., 1862. 
Alfred White, S.J., 1864. 
Joseph Johnson, 1867. 
Anthony Benincassa, S.J., 

here 1872. 
Ed. Sharp, S.J., 1875 to date. 



SLEAFORD, LINCOLNSHIRE 

(Nottingham). Our Lady of Good 
Counsel. 

In August 1879 Fr. Sabela started 
the mission of Sleaford by preach- 
ing open-air discourses to the Irish 
harvesters. We well remember 
the day when Fr. Sabela made his 
first appearance in our midst, and 
we believe he was the first Roman 
Catholic priest that has pleaded for 
his Church in this town since the 
Reformation. A waggon was "his 
pulpit, a blue sky his cathedral 
vaults (Sleaford Gazette, Janu 
ary 1, 1880). In December 1880 
he purchased a fine site in Jermyn 
Street from J. T. Marston, Esq., 
for 600. The new school chapel 
was opened June 1, 1882, by the 
Bishop of Nottingham, who sang 
the High Mass. The altar, designed 
by Boulton, of Cheltenham, was the 
gift of a generous lady. The school 



chapel was supplanted by a church 
in June 1889. The style is Gothic. 
An oil painting by Canon Sabela, 
the founder, representing Our Lady 
of Good Counsel, hangs over the 
high altar. The building, which 
will seat 200 persons, cost 1,500. 
On Sunday, August 12, 1906, the 
Jubilee of the mission was cele 
brated by a High Mass and public 
procession. Fr. W. Lieber is the 
present priest. 



SLINDON, near ARUNDEL, SUS 

SEX (Southivark). St. Richard. 

At Slindon House, now the 
property of the Leslie family, Mass 
was offered up throughout the penal 
times in a secret chapel under the 
roof. In close proximity were 
three secret hiding-places. Fr. J. 
Silviera, who was priest at Slindon 
about 1834, buried a man who 
remembered pursuivants coming to 
Slindon House to arrest Fr. Moly- 
neux, who, however, eluded the 
search. This Fr. Molyneux served 
the mission from 1765 to 1778. A 
little later, the house was the 
residence of Anthony Earl of 
Newburgh, grandson of the Hon. 
Charles Radcliffe, titular third Earl 
of Derwentwater, executed in 1746 
in virtue of the attainder passed upon 
him in 1715 for his share in the 
Jacobite rebellion of that year. 1 
Lord Newburgh, who was a pious 
Catholic nobleman, died without 
issue 1814. His widow, who 

1 He escaped out of Newgate, and, 
going to France, rose to the rank of 
colonel in the French service. He was 
captured at sea in 1745, while on his way 
to Scotland to join Prince Charles 
Edward. The House of Lords in 1786 (?) 
declared that the earldom of New 
burgh was not affected by the Derwent 
water attainder, and his grandson suc 
ceeded to the title and estates as fourth 
earl. 



360 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



survived till 1861, was greatly 
beloved by the poor of Slindon for 
her kindness and active benevo 
lence. She is buried in the church 
Many relics of the Derwentwater 
family are preserved by the Les 
lies, who now own the estate. The 
first stone of the present Catholic 
church at Slindon was laid by 
Bishop Grant, of Southwark, on 
September 7, 1865. The site, as 
well as that of the adjoining ceme 
tery, was given by Colonel Leslie. 
The style is Gothic, and the accom 
modation for about 800. Canon 
Mark Tierney, the historian of 
Arundel, was incumbent here from 
about 1821 to 1824, when he became 
chaplain to the Duke of Norfolk. 

Priests since 1825. 
Eev. Jn. White. 

Jos. Silviera, 1829. 

Jn. Sheehan, 1847. 

Thos. Eichardson, here in 
1871. 

Thos. Malpass, 1879. 

Thos. Fleming, here in 1883. 

Francis O Callaghan, here in 
1897. 

Thos. Whelahan, 1904. 

J. Duggan, 1906. 



SLOUGH, BUCKS (Northampton}. 
St. Ethelbert. 

Through the exertions of Fr. 
J. dementi, chaplain at Baylis 
House, a chapel was opened here 
in November 1885. The building 
was blessed and High Mass sung 
by the Bishop of Northampton. 
Collections for a new church were 
commenced in 1892. It was in 
tended that the building should be 
a memorial of the landing of St. 
Augustine in 597. Pope Leo XIII., 
by special letter, blessed all those 
who aided in the work. 



SMETHWICK, STAFFS (Birming 
ham}. St. Philip. 

In 1863 Fr. J. Flanagan took up 
his residence in Smethwick, and, 
having collected about 400, he 
made additions to the existing 
schoolroom, and so provided the 
congregation with a fairly com 
modious chapel. The number of 
Catholics in and about Smethwick 
was then about 700, mostly of the 
manufacturing and labouring class. 
The number of children attending 
the school was 130. It may be 
mentioned here that the mission 
of Smethwick was founded by 
Fr. E. Caswall, of the Birmingham 
Oratory, and consolidated by the 
patience and exertions of the Kev. 
J. S. Flanagan. The old chapel 
having long outgrown the needs 
of the congregation, a new church 
was opened in 1893. 

Priests. 
Kev. J. Flanagan, 1863. 

Thos. Scott, 1867. 

Chas. Eyder, here in 1883 and 
to date. 



SOHO, LONDON, W.C. (West- 
minster). St. Patrick s. 

In October 1791 the year of 
the second Catholic Eelief Act a 
number of Catholic gentlemen met 
in Covent Garden to consider the 
most effectual means of establishing 
a chapel, to be called St. Patrick s, 
on a liberal and permanent founda 
tion. As the result of this, a large 
building in Suttori Street formerly 
used as dancing and supper rooms 
under the auspices of the celebrated 
Madame Cornelys was taken and 
fitted up as chapel, and solemnly 
opened September 29, 1792, by 
Bishop Douglass, V.A.L.D. The 
first priest was the famous scholar 
and wit Fr. Arthur O Leary. O.S.F., 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



361 



for some time chaplain to the 
Spanish Embassy. He died 1802, 
aged seventy-three. A monument 
was erected to his memory in St. 
Pancras Churchyard by his friend 
the Marquis of Hastings, and there 
is another memorial to him in the 
present St. Patrick s Church. The 
old chapel, which did duty down to 
1891, was a plain, unpretentious 
structure, with gallery and lofty 
pulpit not unlike the church in 
Lincoln s Inn Fields. The lease 
was renewed in 1853, but as early 
as 1848 a fund was started for the 
erection of a new church. The 
matter of building was seriously 
taken in hand by Fr. Thomas 
Barge, rector from 1860 till his 
death, October 13, 1885. The old 
church having become unsafe, the 
first stone of the new edifice was 
laid June 18, 1891, and on St. Pat 
rick s Day 1893 the building was 
opened. The style is Italian, or 
Renaissance, an imposing feature 
of the structure being a red brick 
campanile rising to a height of 
125 ft. The altar rails and 
pulpit are of marble. The Lady 
chapel contains a beautiful pieta 
and pictures by Van Dyck and 
Carlo Dolci. The congregation of 
St. Patrick s, which in 1803 was 
about 2,000, is now about three 
times that number. Schools in 
connection with the mission were 
established in 1803, and patronised 
by such illustrious persons as H.E.H. 
the Duke of Sussex and Daniel 
O Connell. They were transferred 
to Tudor Place, Tottenham Court 
Road, in 1852. New schools, for 
741 children, were opened in Great 
Chapel Street, Oxford Street, in | 
February 1888. Since 1885, Dean 
George Langton Vere has been 
rector of the mission, the history 
of which he has given in an in 
teresting pamphlet. 



SOL I HULL, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham}. St. Augustine of 
England. 

This mission was formerly served 
by the Franciscans. For some 
time prior to 1758 it was * a resi 
dence, and in full working order. 
It was probably founded in 1750. 
In 1761, Eliz. Palmer left the in 
terest on 20 to the incumbent for 
five Masses. Wni. Collins, Esq., 
in 1815 left the rents of some lands 
to the mission, and about the same 
time a bequest of 200 came from 
Anne Barren. Further legacies 
came from the Lewin family in 
1821 and Mrs. Eliz. Green 1824. 
The present church was opened 
Wednesday, January 6, 1839. The 
building (50 ft. by 42 ft.) is plain 
pure Gothic, from designs by 
A. W. Pugin. On the occasion of 
the opening an argumentative dis 
course on the Holy Sacrifice was 
preached by Fr. McDonnell. 
Priests. 

Fr. Thos. Hall, alias Lawrence 
Loraine, O.S.F., 1725-38. This 
missioner laboured for upwards of 
twelve years in the Solihull dis 
trict, during which time he recon 
ciled a great many persons to the 
Church. Died 1783 or 1784. 

The following were also mis- 
sioners in this district at the under 
mentioned dates : 
Rev. Bernard Yates, O.S.F., 1746. 

Bernardine Browne, 1749. 

Geo. Lancaster, 1755. 

Anselm "White, 1758. 

Henry Bishop, 1758. 

Placid Payne, 1764. 

,, Charles Julians, 1767. 

James Howse. 1785. 

Pacificus Nutt, 1787. 

Angelus Ingram, 1793. 

Paschal Harrison, 1806 (?). 

Henry Wareing, 1812. 

James Sumner, 1818. 

James Millward, 1821. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. Bernardino Davidson, 1833. 

The above were all Franciscans. 

Seculars. 
Rev. J. Ilsley, 1836. 

John Lycett, 1840. 

E. Hodson, 1852. 

Michael Canon Sullivan, 
1877. 

James Canon McCave, 1892. 

Michael Glancey 1899 to date. 



SOMERS TOWN, LONDON, N.W. 

(Westminster). St. Aloysius, Cla 
rendon Square. 

The chapel was erected in 1808 
by the Abbe Carron, an emigre 
priest, who did much for London 
Catholicity in his day. The facade 
is of Greek design, relieved with 
pilasters. The interior contains 
monuments to the founder and his 
assistant, the Abbe Nerinckx, and 
also the Bishop de St. Pol de Leon, 
who died in 1806. The schools 
were built in 1822. The church 
has been several times repaired 
and redecorated, notably in 1850, 
when the altar and sanctuary were 
adorned with elaborate arabesques. 
On the whole, the building is inter 
esting as a good example of church 
architecture of the time when Eng 
lish Catholics were emerging from 
penal laws into the happy epoch of 
the second spring. The Catholic 
population of the district is about 
4,000. 

Rev. Abbe Carron, 1808. 
Abbe Nerinckx, 1815. 
Walter McAvila, 1855. 
James Bamber, 1857. 
Alfred Dolman, 1861. 
Mgr. Henry Grosch, 1902 to 
date. 



SOTJLDERN, OXFORDSHIRE (Bir 
mingham). St. Joseph. 

The mission is described as one 
of considerable antiquity. It was 
supported by the Cox family of 
Broxwood, some of whom figure on 
the list of Catholic non-jurors of 
1715. The revived mission dates 
from 1852, when a chapel was 
established by Dr. Dolman, a well- 
known Catholic physician of the 
district, and served from Hethe 
till 1868. Shortly afterwards the 
chapel was transferred to an upper 
room of the manor house. The 
present church, after the plan of 
old English parish churches, was 
opened February 2, 1870, by Canon 
O Sullivan, V.G., for Bishop Ulla- 
thorne. Among the crowded 
congregation present were Mrs. 
Dolman, the munificent donor of 
the church, Major and Mrs. Cox, 
Captain Stapleton &c. The altar 
rails of the sanctuary are from the 
old chapel of the penal times. Fr. 
Samuel Glossop is the first and 
present rector. 



SOUTHAM, near RUGBY, WAR- 
WICKSHIRE (Birmingham). Our 
Lady and St. Wulstan. 

The Sisters of the Poor Child 
Jesus, expelled from Germany by 
the Falk laws, came to England 
almost penniless in 1875, and 
opened a convent at Southam. 
Here they carry on their special 
work the rescue and training of 
orphan girls. The present con 
vent was erected about 1880, at a 
cost of 1,500. The chapel is 
open to the public. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 

Rev. Freak. When, 1875. 
Jos. Struif, 1882. 
A. Crane, 1888. 
Hugh Taylor, here in 1891. 
Cornelius Klomp, 1897. 
Jn. Nock, 1904. 



SOUTHAMPTON (Portsmouth). 
St. Edmund s. 

A temporary iron church was 
opened in the Avenue, Southamp 
ton, within the grounds of the pre 
mises formerly known as Archer s 
Lodge (May 1884). The building 
was for 300 persons. Fr. E. 
Rivara was the first priest. The 
site was given by the nuns of the 
adjacent convent of the Sacred 
Heart. The present church, in the 
fourteenth-century Gothic style, 
consisting of nave, sanctuary, Lady 
Chapel, sacristies, and organ loft, 
was commenced June 21, 1888. 
The west rose window is one of 
the largest in England. The cost of 
erection came to about 6,000. The 
solemn opening took place in No 
vember 1889. Fr. P. O Connell is 
the present rector. 



SOUTHBANK, YORKS, NORTH 
KTDIBQ (Middlesbrough). St. Peter. 

Canon Holland, of Middlesbrough, 
was appointed to the mission, then 
just commenced, in 1874. By his 
energy he raised sufficient funds 
to build the church. He also 
erected a school, 1880. He also 
built the school chapel at Grange- 
town, where a population of some 
4,000 had sprung up. Canon Hol 
land was frequently appealed to by 
both masters and men to intervene 
in strikes, and his judgment was 
often the means of preventing or 



ending these disastrous commercial 
struggles. On leaving for the mis 
sion ofThirsk in September 1885, 
Canon Graham, the next priest, was 
presented by the people of South- 
bank with a handsome parting gift as 
a mark of their appreciation of his 
public services. The beautiful new 
church was opened November 
1905. Bishop Lacy confirmed 400 
persons here September 23, 1906. 

Priests since 1885. 
Eev. John Canon Doud. 

Bernard McCabe, 1892. 

James Nolan, 1901 to date. 



SOUTHEND, ESSEX (West 
minster). Our Lady Help of 
Christians and St. Helen. 

When the mission was started 
here in 1862, a chapel was fitted up 
at 3 Capel Terrace. The present 
: church was opened by Archbishop 
| Manning, October 1869. The style 
| of the building is Early English. 
A large proportion of the cost of 
erection was defrayed by Miss 
Tasker. Mr. Thos. Goodman was 
the architect. Mixed elementary 
schools taught by Sisters of Notre 
Dame were established 1899 ; aver 
age attendance in 1900, 165. A 
south aisle and Lady Chapel were 
added to the church in 1899, and 
an oak organ-gallery October 1906. 

Priests. 

Rev. John Moore, 1862 till 1891. 
Thos. Denny, 1891. 
Patrick McKenna, 1895. 



SOUTHHILL, CHORLEY, LANCS 

(Liverpool). St. Chad. 

The locality is said to have been 
formerly known as Slatedelph. A 
chapel was built here in the reign 
of James II. from a fund left by 
Fr. Richard Birket, a secular 



364 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



priest, who had been sentenced 
to imprisonment during the Oates 
plot. The chapel stood on land be 
longing to Mr. Gerard, of Heigham, 
and was seized by the Govern 
ment after the Jacobite rebellion 
of 1715. Another chapel was after 
wards set up in a garret of the 
house belonging to Matthew Talbot, 
Esq., of Wheelton. It was opened 
about 1728 or 1729, and was 
served by Jesuits. Fr. Charles 
Morphy, S.J., was here 1730 et 
seq. A party of priest-catchers 
was once sent to arrest him, but he 
mollified them by his kindness, and 
they left him unmolested. His 
successor, Fr. Win. Gillibrand 
(1747) opened a school, which 
seems to have been well attended. It 
was continued by Fr. Jn. Richard 
son, the next priest. Bishop Mat 
thew Gibson, V.A., confirmed sixty- 
eight persons here 1784, at which 
time the congregation was estimated 
at about 260. Fr. George Clarkson 
was priest at this time. Bishop 
Wm. Gibson gave confirmation at 
the new chapel, 1793, to 110 
persons. This chapel was erected 
1791, and is still in use. Fr. 
Clarkson died 1813, and was 
succeeded by Fr. Francis Massey, 
who served the mission till his 
death in August 1822, aged forty. 
The priests after him have been : 
Rev. Jn. Weston, 1822. 
, Jn. Fairclough, 1828. 

Jn. Beaumont, 1832. 

James Berry, 1857. 

John Doherty, 1867. 

Thos. Tobin, here 1872. 

Geo. Holden, 1888 to date. 



SOUTHPORT, LANCS (Liverpool). 
St. Mary, 

In 1838 Southport was described 
as a favourite watering-place. 



The previous year the mission was 
commenced by Fr. Vincent J. Eyre. 
Prior to this the nearest chapel was 
six miles distant (Ormskirk ?). 

Priests. 
Rev. V. J. Eyre, 1837. 

J. Newsham, 1840. 

John Hill, 1845. 

J. Canon Abraham, 1851. 

Henry Cooke, 1860. 

Patrick Cahill, 1890 to date. 



SOUTHSEA, HANTS (Portsmouth). 
St. Swithun, Saxe Weimar Road. 

The mission was commenced in 
July 1884, when Bishop Vertue, of 
Portsmouth, purchased a site at a 
cost of 1,000 and erected a tempo 
rary iron church upon it capable of 
holding about 300 persons. The 
present church was opened in 1891. 

Priests. 
Rev. C. Arthur, here in 1891. 

Jn. O Donoghue, 1894. 

Albert Coughlan, 1897. 

Isidore Kuner, 1904. 



SOUTH SHIELDS, DURHAM (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle). St. Bede. 

The Tynemouth district at the 
commencement of the last century 
was served for several years by the 
Abbe Aubin Donniville, an emigre. 
The present mission of South Shields 
dates from 1849, when the church 
was opened (October). The church, 
in the Westoe Road, was opened 
August 22, 1876. Mgr. Capel 
preached on the occasion. A 
considerable portion of the cost 
of erection is said to have been 
subscribed by the working-class 
congregation. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



365 



Priests. 

Rev. Ed. Singleton, 1849. 
Edmund Kelly, 1853. 
W. Markland, 1866. 
Geo. Waterton, here 1871. 
D. Kamsay, 1882. 
Thos. O Connor, 1888. 
Michael Canon Greene, 1889. 
Geo. Burton, 1895. 
John Chapman, 1902. 
Eichard Vaughan, 1904 to 
date. 



SOTJTHWARK, LONDON, S.E. St. 

George s Cathedral. 

In the year 1786, or, according 
to some, 1783, Fr. Thomas Walsh, 
a Douai priest, opened a retired 
chapel in Bandy Leg Walk (now 
Little Guildford Street), South- 
wark. In 1788 he was joined by 
Fr. John Thayer, a convert Ameri 
can, who had recently been or 
dained at St. Sulpice, Paris. Fr. 
Thayer worked zealously, and built 
schools for girls and boys. In 
1790 he was recalled to America 
by Dr. Carrol, first Catholic Bishop 
of Baltimore. Three years later a 
large and grand chapel (designed 
by Mr. James Taylor, the architect 
of Ushaw College) in the London 
Koad took the place of the old 
Mass -house in Bandy Leg Walk. 
A solemn Requiem Mass for the 
unfortunate Louis XVI. of France 
was sung here in February 1793 
alleged to be the first of the 
kind in London outside an am 
bassador s chapel since the time of 
James II. This chapel and the 
adjoining clergy-house formed a 
very plain building, the interior 
oblong and the approach shaded 
with yews. The furniture was 
very plain high pulpit, straight- 
backed benches, and wooden high 
altar, surmounted by a fine paint 



ing of the Crucifixion attributed 
to Murillo now in the sacristy 
of the cathedral. In 1817 the mis- 
! sion became the chapel of the 
1 Belgian Embassy. The congrega- 
, tion numbered 5,000 in 1814, and 
, the clergy of the church had to 
attend sick calls &c. as far south 
I as Mitcham ! In 1829 the Catho- 
j lies of the mission had risen to 
about 15,000. Fr. Thomas Doyle, 
who came to St. George s in 1819, 
founded the Guild of Our Blessed 
Lady and St. George the Martyr 
in 1840. Several years prior to 
this, he had commenced collecting 
for a new church to take the place 
of the old crowded-out chapel. He 
travelled through a large part of 
England and the Continent, re 
ceiving contributions from princes 
1 and peasants. The design of the 
present structure was drawn by 
A. W. Pugin, and the first stone 
laid September 8, 1840, on a fine 
site in the Westminster Bridge 
Road. The opening took place 
July 4, 1848, amidst a vast con 
course of Catholics, both clerical 
and lay. The sermon at the High 
Mass was preached by Bishop 
(afterwards Cardinal) Wiseman. 
In 1851 the Cardinal delivered 
lectures at St. George s to crowds 
\ of persons of all religions on the 
| restored hierarchy. The church 
i was now the cathedral of the 
i diocese of Southwark, Dr. Thomas 
j Grant being the first bishop 
(1851-70). Fr. Doyle, who was 
created provost of the new chapter, 
\ died June 6, 1879, aged eighty-six. 
I The cathedral was freed from debt 
j and consecrated by Bishop Butt 
in 1894. Of late years, several 
stained-glass windows, representing 
St. Thomas of Canterbury, St. 
I George, the thirteenth centenary 
i celebration of St. Augustine s 
landing at Ebbsfleet, Thanet, &c., 



366 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



have been put up. The funereal 
monuments include that of the 
Hon. Edward Petre, M.P., a great 
benefactor to St. George s, who 
died 1848; also recumbent effigies 
in memory of Provost Doyle and 
Dr. Danell, second Bishop of South - 
wark (d. 1881). There is also a 
fine memorial brass to Fr. John 
Wheble, an Army chaplain, who 
died at Balaclava during the 
Crimean war (November 3, 1854). 
Near the entrance on the left 
stands a superb bronze crucifix, 
designed by Michael Angelo, and 
once the property of Napoleon the 
Great. The Knill Chantry, a fine 
example of A. Pugin s skill, is close 
to the Blessed Sacrament Chapel. 



SOITTHWOLD, SUFFOLK (North 
ampton). The Sacred Heart. 

The mission was established in 
1897, in what is described as the 
most non-Catholic county of Eng 
land. The district served is one of 
immense area (forty miles by twelve 
miles), and the chapel is only a 
disused fishing-net shed! Fr. H. 
Mason, the priest-in-charge, is 
making great efforts to erect church 
and schools. When first estab 
lished, the chapel was in the manor 
house, and was known as St. 
Peter s Oratory. 



SPALDING, LINCOLNSHIRE (Not 
tingham). The Immaculate Con 
ception and St. Norbert. 

The mission of Spalding was 
founded through the exertions of 
Fr. T. Van Biesen, of the Pre- 
monstratensian Order. About 1876 
the church was built, at the expense 
of I. Young, Esq., and, later, a con 
vent and schools. In May 1881 a 



handsome stained-glass window by 
Hardman was erected in the church 
in memory of Fr. Van Biesen s 
jubilee. It may be remarked that 
before the Eeformation upwards 
of thirty parishes in Lincolnshire 
were served by priests of the Pre- 
monstratensian Order, which had 
five abbeys, two priories, and one 
convent in England. Fr. Van 
Biesen was rector till after 1898, 
when he was succeeded by Fr. E. C. 
Tyck. A handsome coloured win 
dow, representing St. Frederick and 
St. Herman Joseph of the Norber- 
tine Order, was presented to the 
church in May 1906 by the Bishop 
of Namur. 



SPANISH PLACE, LONDON, W. 

(Westminster). St. James. 

This mission, as the name im 
plies, was formerly the chapel of the 
Spanish Embassy. The Embassy 
chapel was not always on its present 
site; inl736itwasinOrmond Street, 
but was transferred to Manchester 
Square in 1792. About 1767, the 
chapel was within the ambassador s 
house. In 1792 the old chapel 
was erected, mainly through the 
instrumentality of Dr. Hussey, 
F.K.S., a man of great genius 
and enlightened piety. He became 
chaplain to the embassy 1784, and 
in 1795 was chosen first president 
of Maynooth and Bishop of Water- 
ford. The chapel, designed by 
Bonomi, was in the Basilica style, 
with galleries transversing the pil 
lars, and is described as a very 
fair specimen of Italian architec 
ture. The altar-piece, The De 
scent from the Cross, formerly 
belonged to a Flemish convent. A 
belfry and fine-toned bell were 
erected at the expense of the con 
gregation in 1850. Considerable 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



367 



structural alterations took place 
about this time, the galleries being 
removed and a new aisle added to 
the Epistle side. In 1827, the 
Spanish Government withdrew the 
pension hitherto allowed the chap 
lains ; but, as the congregation was 
mainly a wealthy one, the loss was 
not keenly felt. The old chapel 
having long become inadequate, 
the site of the present building in 
George Street, just by Spanish 
Place was purchased in 1880. The 
foundation stone was laid in June 
1887, and the church in the Gothic 
style, from designs by Goldie was 
opened September 29, 1890. High 
Mass was sung by Bishop Patterson, 
and the sermon preached by Fr. 
Lockhart, of the Oratory, the 
Spanish ambassador and full suite 
being present on this auspicious 
occasion. The name of Provost 
M. Barry will long be associated 
with this centre of Catholicity, as it 
was here he laboured during a rec- 
torate of many years, and it was 
his energy that mainly got together 
the large sum required for the build 
ing of the present fine church. 



SPETCHLEY, WORCESTER (Bir 
mingham}. St. John the Baptist. 

Spetchley Park, near Worcester, 
is the residence of the Berkeley 
family, and was long served by the 
Jesuit Fathers of St. George s, 
Worcester. Thos. Berkeley, Esq., 
was converted to the Faith in the 
reign of Charles I., for which 
monarch he and his family were 
great sufferers. The earliest mis- 
sioner at Spetchley was Fr. Charles 
Wilson, about 1691. His successor 
was Fr. Nicholas Griffin, 1693. Fr. 
Thos. Philips, chaplain here 1763, 
was the author of the Life of 
Cardinal Pole. Fr. Thos. Falkner, 



1 probably his successor, had formerly 
been a surgeon in the Royal Navy, 
and had made several voyages to 
South America, where he was con 
verted to the Faith 1731. He is 
the author of a treatise on American 
drugs and a Description of Pata 
gonia. The Jesuits retired from 
the Spetchley mission 1855, and 
it has since been conducted by 
seculars. It may be of interest to 
recall the fact that Robt. Berkeley, 
Esq. (1711-1804) was perhaps the 
first Catholic to call the attention 
of his countrymen to the cruelty 
and folly of the penal laws (1778). 

Priests since 1824. 
Rev. Jn. Lycett, . 

R. O Higgins, 1840. 

Henry Mahon, 1842. 

Geo. Clifford, 1847. 

Matthew McCann, 1853. 

A. Delarue, 1856. 

Fredk. Jones, 1877. 

Hugh Taylor, 1879. 

Jn. Nock, 1884. 

Jn. Piris, 1888. 

J. McCarthy, 1895. 

James Kearney, 1899. 

Walter Hotter, 1903 to date. 



SPETTISBURY, BLANDFORD, 
DORSET (Plymouth). St. Monica s 
Priory. 

The Augustinian nuns of Louvain 
settled here at Christmas 1799. 
Their chapel served the mission till 
the opening of the present church, 
September 8, 1830. For some time 
a small chapel at Blandford served 
as a second place of worship for 
Catholics in the district. It was 
opened by Fr. Towsey 1804, and 
served by the Abbe Pierre Moulins. 
Fr. Joseph Lee succeeded him 1814. 
In 1856 a convent of Augustinian 
nuns adjoined the church. Next 
year it was made over to the Brid- 
gettine community, and renamed 



368 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Sion House. By 1891 the house 
was a priory of the Canons Regular 
of St. John Lateran. In October 
1906 the Nuns of St. Ursula ac 
quired the premises. 

Priests. 
Eev. Abbe Pierre Moulins, 1799. 

Jos. Lee, 1814. 

L. Calderbank, 1839 or 1840. 

Thos. Lynch, 1849. 

E. Kenny, 1851. 

W. Canon Agar, 1854. 
Joseph Canon Parke, 1862. 
John Sabbe, 1867. 
Wm. Walsh, here in 1875. 
Joseph Matthews, 1877. 
Fredk. Edwards, 1879. 

F. Downing, here in 1883. 
Anthony Allaria, D.D., here 

in 1891 and to date. 



SPILSBY, LINCS (Nottingham). 
Our Lady and the English Martyrs. 

This locality was once perhaps 
the most Catholic spot in England. 
The Pilgrimage of Grace started 
here in 1536, and four centuries 
before the district was hallowed by 
the presence of St. Gilbert of Sem- 
pringham. So completely, however, 
had the Faith died out in these parts, 
owing to nearly three centuries of 
penal laws, that when one of the 
* natives was told that a Catholic 
priest was coming to live in the 
village, the old lady exclaimed : A 
Catholic priest I Lor , sir, I didn t 
think there was such things as 
them nowadays ! (anecdote in the 
Tablet, October 30, 1897). For 
some years prior to 1896, Mass 
was said occasionally in a small 
chapel at Skendleby Hall, but in the 
spring of 1896 Fr. Gilbert Bull 
commenced a regular mission at 
Spilsby. In 1897 a public hall was 
rented for services, and on Sunday, 



October 24, the first High Mass 
since the reign of Queen Mary I. 
was celebrated by Fr. Bull. About 
forty persons were present, mostly 
protestants. In the evening the 
hall was filled to overflowing, the 
sermon on this occasion being a 
simple explanation of the nature 
and claims of the Catholic Church. 
About March 1899 a site for a 
church was secured, and building 
operations commenced. The church 
was opened the following year. 
Fr. H. Lindeboom is the present 
rector. 



SPITALFIELDS, LONDON, E. 

(Westminster). St. Anne. 

A meeting was held in the 
boys schoolroom, Spicer Street, on 
May 13, 1850, to devise ways and 
means for the erection of a church. 
The number of children in the 
day school at that time was 200, 
and in the Sunday school 400. 
Mass was said on Sundays in the 
largest class-room. The church 
of St. Anne, erected by the Marist 
Fathers in charge of the mission 
1855, to hold 1,400 persons, was 
already too small for the congrega 
tion in 1858. The present rector 
added the nave, chancel, and high 
altar. The church was reopened 
after the enlargement Sunday, Sep 
tember 11, 1904. 

Priests. 
Eev. Jos. Quiblier, 1850. 

C. Bernin, 1852. 

Cyrus Champion, 1854. 

Stephen Chaurain, 1857. 

Anatole Police, 1888. 

Leo Thomas, 1890. 

Matthew Kearney, 1892. 

James Goggan, 1894. 

Michael Walters, 1897. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



369 



STACKSTEADS, near MANCHES 
TER, LANGS (Salford). St. Joseph. 

The mission was established in 
1892. The Catholic population in 
1902 was reckoned at 1,200. The 
schools are well attended. There 
is a chapel of ease at Newchurch. 

Priests. 
Bev. Geo. Sparkes, 1892. 

James Ryan, 1896 to date. 



STAFFORD (Birmingham). St. 

Austin. 

After the Reformation, the chief , 
seat of Catholicity near Stafford was 
at St. Thomas Priory, two miles 
east of the town, the seat of the j 
ancient family of Fowler. Walter | 
Fowler, Esq., the last of his race, j 
died in 1716 without heirs male, j 
and the estate was subsequently j 
sold to Sarah Duchess of Marl- 
borough. This Walter Fowler suc 
ceeded his father in 1681. His 
chaplain was Fr. Daniel Fitter, a 
Lisbonian priest, who during the 
reign of James II. opened a school 
for Catholics at Stafford. He died 
February 6, 1700, aged seventy- 
two, leaving 300 for charitable 
purposes. The money passed into 
the power of his nephew, Lord 
Fauconberg, who, conforming to 
the Established Church in 1730, 
refused to pay the interest on the 
money, thus adding, as was said of 
him, the crime of theft to that of 
apostasy. From 1716 to 1733, the 
chapel at Stafford was under seve 
ral priests, including Fr. George ! 
Witham, afterwards Bishop of Mar- 
copolis and Vicar-Apostolic, and Fr. 
Simon Berington. In the last- 
named year, the Jerninghams of 
Cossy opened a chapel at Stafford. 
It was long only served as occasion 
demanded, but in 1783 Fr. Thomas 
Barnaby took up his residence per 



manently in the town. His suc 
cessor built St. Austin s Chapel, in 
the Fore bridge, on a site given 
by Thos. Berington, Esq. It was 
opened July 31, 1791. In 1813, 
Fr. Price made this building the 
transept of a Gothic church. Later 
on Geo. Jerninghani, Esq., who had 
established his claim to the earldom 
of Stafford before the House of 
Lords, purchased the oak stalls in 
Lichtield Cathedral and gave them 
to the Catholic church of Stafford. 
Fr. Price built schools in 1818, and 
ended his long and useful life June 
1831. Under his ministrations the 
Catholics of Stafford increased to 
140. His successor, Fr. Huddle - 
stone, was a man of great public 
spirit. In 1833 he obtained from 
Lord Melbourne, after much diffi 
culty, the reprieve of two Irishmen 
wrongfully sentenced to transporta 
tion for an alleged assault. The 
foundation stone of the new church 
at Stafford was laid May 26, 1861, 
by the Vicar-General of the Bir 
mingham diocese, in place of the 
Bishop. It was opened on July 16, 
1862. The church is a neat build 
ing in the Decorated Gothic style, 
from the design of E. W. Pugin. 
The total cost was about 3,000. 
Lord Stafford, Mr. Serjeant Bellasis, 
and Mr. AVhitgreave of Moseley a 
descendant of Charles II. s pro 
tector after Worcester were the 
principal benefactors of the new 
church 1 

Priests after Fr. Huddlestotie. 
Rev. Francis Kerril Amherst, 1856 
(Bishop of Northampton 
1858-80). 

John Wyse, 1858. 

Michael Canon O Sullivan, 
1859. 

,, John Fanning, 1866. 

,, James Nary, 1871. 

Edward Canon Acton, D.D., 
1872. 

B B 



370 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Rev. John Canon Hawksford, D.D., 

1880. 

Louis Torrond, 1884. 
Canon Acton (second time), 

1885. 
,, James Keating, 1899. 



STAINES, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster}. Our Lady of the Rosary. 

The mission was established here 
in 1890 by the late Canon George 
Akers, of Hampton Wick, from 
which place it was served till the 
opening of the present church in 
the Gresham Eoad (1892). 

Priests. 
Rev. C. H. Clarke, 1892. 

David Dewar, M.A., 1894. 

Mgr. Dunn, 190G. 



STALYBRIDGE, CHESHIRE 

(Shrewsbury). 

The church of St. Peter was 
opened September 25, 1839. A 
Catholic school had existed in the 
place since about 1834. In 1866 
the existing schools were enlarged, 
and additions were again made in 
1895. A beautiful high altar was 
erected in the church in May 1869. 

Priests. 

Rev. R. Brown, 1839. 
J. Anderton, 1840. 

R. Hubbersty, 1848. 

J. Anderton, 1849. 

J. Reah, 1853. 

Canon Egan, 1853. 

W. Canon Hilton, 1860. 

Mgr.CarroU,V.G.,1867 (Bishop 
of Shrewsbury 1895-97). 

Chris. Ryder, 1895. 

J. O Grady, 1898. 



STAITHES, YORKS, NORTH 
RIDING (Middlesbrough). Our 

Lady Star of the Sea. 

The first stone of the Gothic 
church was laid by the Bishop of 
Middlesbrough July 31, 1884. Be 
fore the erection of the church the 
nearest mission was at Loftus or 
Ugthorpe. Mgr. Witham, of Lar- 
tington Hall, was a generous donor 
to the building fund. Fr. W. S. 
Sullivan, of Loftus, did much to 
forward the erection of the church 
at Staithes. The building was 
opened Tuesday, June 9, 1885. 
Over the west doorway is a fine 
carving of Our Lady holding the 
Holy Child, also a boat rowed by 
angels. The total cost was 1,250. 

Priests since 1891. 
Rev. Patrick Gilsenan, 1891. 

Charles Van Poucke, 1894. 

John Carr, 1898. 

Lawrence Kenefick, 1899. 

, David O Connor, 1903 to date. 



STAMFORD, LINCS (Nottingham ). 
Our Lady and St. Augustine. 

In the summer of 1845, owing to 
the influx of Irish harvesters, the 
I Catholic population of Stamford 
I was reckoned at about 1,000. 
Fr. O Connor preached a sermon 
every Sunday in Irish and English. 
The old chapel having become long 
inadequate, a new church was com 
menced in January 1863, from the 
design of G. Goldie, of Portman 
Square, London. The style of the 
church is thirteenth-century Gothic. 
The opening took place on Whit 
Tuesday 1865. The bell tower was 
added later. 

Rev. T. J. O Connor, 1845. 

J. Daley, 1862. 

Wm. Canon Browne, 1866. 

,, Henry Basil Allies, M.R 

1882. 

,, John Wenham, here in 1888. 

Joseph West 1892 to date. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



371 



STAMFORD HILL, LONDON, N. 

(Westminster). St. Ignatius. 

In 1894 the Jesuits, at the request 
of Cardinal Vaughan, started the 
present college in a large mansion 
in the High Eoad, the coach-house 
of which formed the chapel. The 
college rapidly increased, and the 
adjoining houses had to be acquired. ] 
The present church was opened on j 
the feast of Corpus Christi 1904. A 
new college for about 200 students 
is in course of erection, B. William 
son, Esq., architect. 

Eectors. 
Kev. Fr. Pollen, 1894. 

Fr. Jas. Nicholson. 

Fr. Terence Donnelly. 



STANBROOK ABBEY, near WOR 
CESTER (Birmingham). 

In 1623 the English Benedic 
tine congregation founded a con 
vent for young ladies at Cambray, 
under the patronage of Mgr. Van- 
derburgh, the archbishop. Dame 
Frances Gawen, a daughter of 
Thomas Gawen, Esq., of Norring- 
ton, Wilts, was the first abbess. 
During the rule of the .thirteenth 
abbess, Dame Lucy Blyde, the 
convent was seized by the French 
Eevolutionists (October 18, 1793), 
and the community imprisoned for 
two years at Compiegne. The 
nuns then made their way to Eng 
land, where the Marchioness of 
Buckingham hired a house for 
them at 2 Hereford Street, Oxford 
How, London. Dr. Brewer, O.S.B., 
next procured a house and convent 
for them at Woolton, Liverpool, 
and here the school was reopened. 
In 1807, the nuns removed to 
Abbots Salford, in Warwickshire. 
Finally, in 1838 the community 
migrated to Stanbrook, Powick, 
near Worcester, where they have 



since continued to flourish. The 
fine Gothic church, which is open 
to the public and serves the mis 
sion, was opened in 1864, and con 
secrated by Bishop Ullathorne 1871. 



STANDISH, near WIGAN, LANGS 

(Liverpool). St. Mary of the An 
nunciation. 

A chapel has existed at Standish 
Hall since 1574. The Standish 
family, who own the place and 
are lords of the manor, have ever 
been staunch to the Catholic faith. 
Fr. J. Darbyshire, O.P., was priest 
here in 1727. By 1883 the old 
chapel had become very decayed 
and quite insufficient for the con 
gregation. On May 18, 1884, a new 
church was opened by the Bishop 
of Liverpool. Henry Standish, 
Esq., was the chief benefactor to 
the mission. The sermon at the 
opening was preached by Canon 
Carr (Eev. xxi. 5). 

Priests since 1825. 
Eev. Jenkins. 

Duck, 1827. 

Greenough, 1832. 
Eichard Tyrer, 1839 or 1840. 
Wm. Placid Corlett, 1863. 
Eichard Barry, here in 1875 

and till 1893. 

Alfred Walmsley, 1893 to 
date. 



STANLEY, DURHAM (HexJiam 
and Newcastle). St. Joseph. 

A school chapel was opened 
1872, and served from Burnoprield 
till 1879. The present church, in 
the Gothic style, was commenced 
in 1901, and opened in 1902. A 
cemetery was laid out and blessed 
shortly after the establishment of 
the mission. 

B B 2 



372 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 

Rov. Richard Hannan, 1879. 
Andrew Keenan, 1882. 
James Thompson, 1890 
date. 



to 



STAPEHILL, DORSET (Ply 
mouth). Our Lady of Dolours. 

This place is regarded as one of 
the oldest missions in England, the 
record of post-Reformation Catho 
licity going back as far as 1637. 
The Jesuits appear to have served 
the chapel, and even owing to 
the seclusion of the place to have 
kept a school. Fr. Michael Jeni- 
son, S.J., was here 1680-90. The 
record of chaplains, however, is 
almost non-existent. Fr. John 
Couche was priest of the place for 
several years before 1802. In that 
year a convent of Cistercian nuns 
exiled by the French Revolution 
settled at Stapehill. There was 
also about this time some talk of 
making the mission a novitiate for 
the Society of Jesus. Lord Arun- 
dell of Wardour, who owned pro 
perty in the district, was the 
patron of the mission. The 
church was consecrated July 16, 
1851, by Bishop Ullathorne. The 
style is Gothic, from the design of 
C. Hansom. 

N.B. The school kept by the 
Jesuits was discovered by an in 
former, and had to be suppressed, 
1724. From about 1750 a Mr. 
Stafford carried on a preparatory 
school here for boys intended for 
Douai College. 

Priests since 1825. 
Rev. Abbe Palemon (d. 1851, aged 
eighty). 

Francis Hawkins, 1851. 

John Dunne, 1858. 

,, John Magini, 1862 (Francis 
Hawkins, second priest). 



Rev. David Walsh, 1867. 

Stephen Barren, rector 1883. 
,, H. Augustine Collins, here 
1884 to date. 



STAUNTON HALL, NOTTINGHAM 

(Nottingham). 

This ancient mansion, the an 
cestral residence of the Staunton 
family a stock settled in Notting 
hamshire before the Conquest has 
for some years past been leased 
by Redmond Cafferata, Esq., a 
Catholic. There is a domestic 
oratory in the house, served on 
Sundays and holy days from the 
cathedral, Nottingham. 



STAVELEY, DERBYSHIRE (Not 
tingham). 

Fr. Thos. Beveridge, S.J., alias 
Thomas Robinson (1583 - 1658), 
who laboured for many years in 
Lancashire, was educated here. 
It appears that there were several 
schismatic Catholicks in the 
neighbourhood, but no priest or 
chapel. The present mission only 
dates from about 1885. 

Priests. 
Rev. Robt. Dunham, 1885. 

Charles Kerin, 1888. 

W. Reginald Winder, 1890 to 
date. 



STELLA, DURHAM (Hexham and 
Newcastle). St. Mary and St. 
Thomas Aquinas. 

After the Reformation, Stella 
Hall became the property of the 
Tempests. In 1598 Nicholas Tem 
pest was denounced to Burleigh 
as that great recusant by Tobie 
Matthews, Bishop of Durham, 
and heavily fined. This same 
Nicholas was created baronet by 
James I., 1622. The last of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



373 



family, Sir Thomas, died 1692, 
when the property passed to his 
son - in - law, Lord Widdrington, 
attainted 1715, but restored in pro 
perty 1733. On the death of his 
only son, s.p., 1774, the estate 
passed to the Eyres and Towneleys, 
and from them to the Standishes, 
the present holders. Several of 
the Tempests were distinguished as 
ecclesiastics, notably Abbot Tem 
pest, of Lambspiiog (f 1729), Eobt. 
Tempest, S.J. (t 1640), &c. The 
old domestic chapel of the Hall 
having become insufficient, a new 
Gothic church, designed by Green, 
and measuring 68 ft. by 33 1 ft., 
was opened October 12, 1832, by 
Bishop Penswick, V.A. 500 of 
the building expenses was col 
lected by Fr. T. Eyre, a former 
chaplain at the Hall, and a large 
sum was also contributed by Mrs. 
Dunn of Hedgefield. On July 12, 
1846, Bishop Kiddell confirmed 
eighty-four persons here. In Sep 
tember 1859, the Kedemptorists 
gave a mission in the church to 
crowds of Catholics and Protes 
tants. 

Priests since 1736. 
Eev. T. Greenwell, 1736-48. 
Gibson, 1784. 
T. Eyre, 1787. 
T. Story, 1792. 
W. Hall, . 

Jn. Glover, 1829. 

Thos. Witham, 1831. 

Mgr. Vincent Eyre, 1839-40. 

Thos. Parker, 1846. 

Ralph Canon Platt, 1847. 

Arsenius Watson, 1857. 

Henry Canon Wrennall, 1866 
to date. 



STOCK, near INGATESTONE, 

ESSEX. Our Lady of Mount 
Carmel. 
The mission was established 



1866-7, at Lillystone Hall. The 
present chapel was opened 1880. 
Number of congregation, about a 
hundred. Average attendance at 
school (mixed), about forty. 

Priests. 

Rev. Thos. Fallside, 1870. 
Wm. H. Cologan, 1877 to 
date. 



STOCKPORT, CHESHIRE (Shrews 
bury}. SS. Philip and James. 

Mass was first said here in recent 
times on July 22, 1798, in a room 
in Windmill Street, by Fr. R. 
Thompson, of St. Chad s, Man 
chester. In 1799 Fr. J. Blundell 
took up his residence in the town, 
and in 1801 he purchased land 
for chapel, presbytery, and school. 
The chapel was opened May 1, 
1803. The building was enlarged 
during the incumbency of Fr. W. 
Keily (1825-38). In 1851 a me 
chanics institute was purchased 
and transformed into a church 
under the title of St. Michael. 
It was closed 1882. The two 
chapels were attacked by a No 
Popery mob in 1852, and much 
damage done. The sum of 3 1,700 
was paid to the Catholic authorities 
by the corporation in compensa 
tion. In 1799 the congregation 
was about 400. In 1846, during 
the mission given by Fr. Gau- 
dentius, over 1,200 went to Holy 
Communion. New schools were 
built 1868-69. A site for a new 
church was acquired 1900. 

Priests. 
Rev. R. Thompson, 1798. 

J. Blundell, 1799. 

Wm. Keily, 1825. 

Thos. Newshani, 1838. 

Randolph Canon Frith, 1844. 

Hy. Hopkins, 1879. 

Fredk. Waterhouse, 1883. 

James Abram, 1898. 



374 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



STOCKPORT, CHESHIRE. St. 

Joseph s. 

The foundation stone was laid 
March 19, 1861, and the building 
was opened June 25, 1862. Samuel 
Grimshaw, Esq., of Errwood Hall, 
gave 500 towards the building 
fund, to which Alderman Water- 
house contributed 133 and Canon 
Frith, of SS. Philip and James, 50. 
In 1882 a splendid painted window, 
costing 200, was erected at the 
part cost of John Evans, Esq. 
The high altar was decorated in 
November 1883, and the organ 
gallery extended. 

N.B. A temporary school was 
opened 1845. A second set of 
schools, costing 3,700, was erected 
1858-59. Among the speakers at 
the inauguration of the building 
were Lord Edward Howard, M.P. 
(Arundel) and a Mr. Coppock, a 
prominent citizen w r ho had signed 
the Stockport petition in favour of 
Catholic emancipation in 1829. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. Lahaye, 1862. 

W. Fennelly, 1865. 

J. Eobinson, 1871. 

T. Eatcliffe, 1889. 

T. Canon Moloney, 1891. 



STOCKTON -ON -TEES, DURHAM 

(Hexham and Newcastle). St. 
Mary. 

The foundation of the mission is 
set down at 1783. A note of the 
register states that the Rev. 
Thomas Story died on Friday 
evening, 13 Sept. 1822, having 
reed, all the rites of the Church. 
Req. in pace. The church was 
erected 1842. 

Priests from 1822. 
Rev. Joseph Curr. 

Joseph Render, 1826. 

C. Cornthwaite, 1848. 

Richard Singleton, 1852. 



Rev. Joseph Cullen, 1856. 
,, John Carlile, here in 1871, and 

till 1899. 
Robt. Taylerson, 1899 to date. 



STOCKWELL, near CLAPHAM, 
LONDON, S.E. (Southwark). SS. 

Francis of Sales and Gertrude. 

The church was built 1902-3, 
and Mass said there for the first 
time on Rosary Sunday 1903. The 
style is Romanesque, from the 
design of the late F. W. Tasker. 
The seating capacity of the build 
ing is for about 250. Fr. F. E. 
Pritchard is the incumbent of the 
mission, which largely owes its 
establishment to the generosity of 
an anonymous benefactress. 

N.B. Tradition asserts that 
Stockwell derives its name from 
St. Simon Stock (died 1265), who 
lived for many years in a hollow 
tree beside one of the many 
wells or springs that once 
abounded in this neighbourhood. 



STOKE NAYLAND, SUFFOLK. 

St. Edmund King and Martyr. 

The ancient family of Giffard 
was long the mainstay of Catho 
licity in this district. Francis 
Giffard, Esq., was created a baronet 
by Charles I. in 1627, and several 
members of the family entered 
the Society of Jesus. The earliest 
missioner hero was Fr. Wm. Copley, 
S.J. (1697). Fr. Francis Mannock, 
O.S.B., author of The Poor Man s 
Catechism, died at Giffard Hall 
after many years labour in the 
locality 1764. The last of the 
family was the Rev. Sir George 
Mannock, S.J. (1724-87), who was 
killed by the overturning of the 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



375 



Dover mail-coach near Dartford 
while proceeding to France to end 
his days as he imagined, not fore 
seeing the impending Kevolution 
in peace. For greater security Sir 
George always dressed in the height 
of fashion, with ruffles, sword, &c. 
The last Jesuit priest at the Hall 
was Fr. Chas. Thompson, S.J. 
(1790). After the death of the last 
baronet the property passed to 
Wm. Comyns, Esq., and in 1819 
to Patrick Power, Esq., both gentle 
men taking the name of Maunock. 
In the descendants of the last- 
named the property now remains. 
In the autumn of 1842 Giffard Hall 
was leased from P. Mamiock, Esq., 
by Bishop Wareing, and opened 
as the Seminary of St. Felix for 
ecclesiastical aspirants. The esta 
blishment was removed to North 
ampton in 1845. The Rev. Joseph 
North, afterwards Canon of South- 
wark and Missionary Rector of 
Greenwich, was the rector. A 
public chapel was erected in the 
parish of Stoke in 1826. 

Priests at Stoke Nayland. 
Rev. Michael Trovell, 1826. 

Joseph North, 1840. 

Mathias Lane, 1851. 

Philip Murphy, 1888. 

Geo. Miles, 1890 to date. 



STOKE NEWINGTON, LONDON, 

N. (Westminster}. Our Lady of 
Good Counsel. 

A temporary church was opened 
January 12, 1888, by Bishop 
Weathers. Bishop Patterson 
preached on the Epiphany to a 
crowded congregation. 

Priest. 
Rev. H. Cutajar, 1891 and to date. 



STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFS (Bir 
mingham}. Our Lady of Angels 
and St. Peter s Chains. 

This mission would appear to 
have been started in 1841 from 
Lane End. The place at that time 
was described as a stronghold of 
; protestantism, where the Catholic 
: religion could not find a place to 
: cover her head. So rapid, how 
ever, was the growth of the old 
religion that at a Catholic reunion 
held at the mission on Novem- 
| ber 23, 1846, 110 fewer than 600 
were present. The chapel was also 
declared to be too small for the 
congregation. In 1857 the present 
church, in the Gothic style, was 
erected. The building was con 
secrated in 1885. 

Priests. Till 1850 the mission 
was served first from Lane End 
and then from Longton. The first 
resident priest was the Rev. W. 
Grosvenor, 1851 ; Jn. Bowling, 
1855 ; J. S. Northcote, 1857 ; Francis 
Dent, before 1862; Laurence Peach, 
before 1874 ; J. S. Northcote, D.D. 
(second time), 1883. Canon North 
cote, who is Provost of Birming 
ham, is the well-known author of 
Mary in the Gospels, and trans 
lator of Roma Sotteranea a 
treatise on the Catacombs. 



STOKESLEY, NORTHALLER- 
TON, YORKS (Middlesbrough). St 
Joseph. 

The mission was founded 1860, 
The temporary chapel was sup 
planted in May 1873 by the exist 
ing church (63 ft. by 24 ft.), 
designed by Goldie. 1,000 of the 
cost of erection was given by an 
anonymous benefactor. The mis 
sion was formerly dedicated to St. 
Philip Neri. 



876 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Priests. 

Rev. Wm. A. Wilson, 1860. 
Lawrence McGonnell, 1877. 
Patrick Hennessey, 1888. 
John Coulon, 1890 to date. 



STONE, STAFFS (Birmingham). 

The Immaculate Conception and 
St. Dominic. 

In 1823 a mission was established 
at Aston, two miles from Stone, 
and served first by a single priest, 
afterwards by Franciscans, and 
then by the Passionists. In 1843 
Fr. Dominic, who received John 
Henry (afterwards Cardinal) New 
man into the Church, hired a room 
in a public-house at Stone, and 
used this as a chapel on Sundays. 
The same year he started the 
Catholic schools, on a site given by 
James Beech, Esq., of Elmhurst 
House. In 1852 Mr. Beech, who 
was the chief Catholic of the place, 
gave some cottages near the school 
to the Dominican Sisters, who 
established a convent there. Next 
year the nave and aisles of the pre 
sent spacious church of St. Domi 
nic were opened for worship. The 
style is Pointed Gothic, from the 
design of Mr. E. Bird, of Hammer 
smith. The cost of the church, 
convent, and presbytery was up 
wards of 40,000. The church, 
which will accommodate about 
700 persons, was consecrated on 
Wednesday, February 4, 1863, by 
Bishop Ullathorne. 

Priests since 1850. 
Mission served from Aston Hall 

till 1853. 
Rev. W. Trenow, 1854. 

Eyre Stuart Bathurst, 1858. 

J. Maltus, 1862. 

Lewis Thompson, 1876. 

James Spencer Canon North- 
cote, 1879. 



Rev. E. S. Canon Bathurst (second 

time), 1882. 

Francis Clayton, 1900 to 
date. 



STONOR, HENLEY-ON-THAMES, 
OXFORDSHIRE (Birmingham}. 
The Holy Trinity. 

The chapel at Stonor is a pre- 
Reformation one, having been 
founded before the reign of King 
Henry VI. Stonor derives its 
name from the Stonor family of 
Stonor Park. 1 In 1383 Sir Thomas 
de Camoys was created Baron 
Camoys by Richard II., but the 
title was in abeyance from 1433 to 
1839. During the reign of Eliza 
beth a secret printing-press for the 
publication of Catholic controver 
sial works was set up at Stonor 
Park for a short time. Owing to 
1 the fidelity of the family to the 
| ancient Church, the Faith was 
! maintained at Stonor throughout 
the dreary years of persecution. 
| The registers, however, only date 
from 1758. The first priest s 
name to be recorded is that of Fr. 
Joseph Strickland, in 1790. The 
next was Fr. Geo. Gildart, 1791, 
who was succeeded in 1796 by the 
Abbe J. B. Mortuaire. This priest 
held the chaplaincy till his death in 

1 The Stonor family has produced 
two ecclesiastics of note : (1) Monsignor 
Stonor, who resided in Borne in 1778 and 
wrote an able reply to some of the charges 
against Christianity brought by Gibbon 
in his Decline and Fall ; (2) the Hon. and 
Rt. Rev. Edmund Stonor, Archbishop of 
Trebizond, born 1881. His Grace, who 
is among the most distinguished of the 
foreign prelates in Rome, also holds the 
office of Dean of the Chapter of St. John 
j Lateran. 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



377 



September 1830. He was succeeded 
by Fr. C. Comberbach, latterly of 
St. Anne s Hill, Chertsey (q.v.). Fr. 
Henry Birks came in 1849, and held 
the incumbency for nearly twenty 
years. His successor was Fr. 
Alex. Comberbach. The next 
priest was Fr. John Ullathorne, 
who was succeeded in 1879 by 
Fr. Wm. Stone. Since then the 
priests have been: 
Rev. Thos. Keates, 1883. 

Austin Beech, 1887. 

Hugh Taylor, 1889. 

Wm. Dobell, 1890. 

Hugh Taylor, 1898. 

James O Hanlon, 1899. 

J. Emery. 1903. 

James Perry, 1904 to date. 



STONYHURST, near BLACKBURN, 
LANCS (Salford). 

The original mansion of Stony- 
hurst formerly belonged to the 
ancient Catholic family of Shire - 
burne. The last male represen 
tative of this stock was Sir Nicholas 
Shireburne, Bart., who died circa 
1711. His estates passed to his 
only daughter, Maria Winifreda, 
Duchess of Norfolk, and after her 
death in 1768 to William Weld, 
Esq., of Lulworth Castle, Dorset. 
Upon the expulsion of the Jesuits 
and their pupils from the English 
College of Liege by the Revolution 
ists in 1794, Thomas Weld, Esq., 
who had studied under the Fathers, 
offered Stonyhurst to his old precep 
tors, and thus the old English Catho 
lic school of St. Omer s and Liege 
returned to its native shores after a 
lapse of exactly 202 years. The 
college made rapid progress, and 
during the period of its existence 
in England has educated the sons 
of the prime Catholic nobility and 
gentry. Charles Waterton, the 



| naturalist, and Richard Lalor Sheil, 

1 the barrister and Parliamentary 
orator, were students here. The 
splendid Observatory became one 
of the Board of Trade s northern 
meteorological stations in 1865-6. 

1 The number of boys in residence 
at Stonyhurst averages about 300. 
The West or Community Wing was 

I erected 1877-8. The centre block 
of class study and lecture rooms 
was opened 1883. The centenary 
of the foundation of the college in 
England was celebrated amidst 
great rejoicings in July 1894. 
From 1794 till 1797, the boys 
chapel served also for the Catholics 

! of the neighbourhood, but in the 

I last-named year Fr. Wright con 
verted the stables into a church 
for the people, and this continued 
to be the place of worship till the 
opening of the present church 
in 1835, during the rectorate of 

i Fr. Richard Parker. The architect 
of the new building was J. J. 
Scoles, who based his design on 
the plan of King s College Chapel, 
Cambridge. The building was 

i consecrated by Bishop Briggs, 
June 23, 1835, and opened with 
much pomp next day. The sanc 
tuary and side altars were deco 
rated by F. S. Barff in 1853. A 
new altar of great beauty the 
anonymous gift of an old Stony 
hurst boy was used for the first 
time on Whit Sunday 1893. The 
treasury of Stonyhurst Church is 
rich in relics and antique church 
stuff. Chief among these may be 
mentioned : (1) A thorn from Our 

i Lord s Crown, formerly belonging 
to Mary Queen of Scots. (2) A 
relic of the True Cross, once kept 
in the Tower of London among 
the Royal jewels. It came into 

I the possession of Fr. E. Lusher, 

i S.J., who received it from Mrs. 

I Pudsey, one of whose family was 



378 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Clerk of the Green Cloth. (3) A 
cap, seal, gold crucifix, and George, 
once the property of the Blessed 
Thomas More. (4) Chalices used 
in the penal times. (5) A cope 
used by Henry VIII. at the Field 
of the Cloth of Gold. (6) A richly 
embroidered chasuble presented to 
St. Omer s by James II., &c. &c. 

Hectors of Stonyliurst College. 
Rev. Marmaduke Stone, 1794. 

Nicholas Sewell, 1808. 

John Weld, 1813. 

Chas. Plowden, 1817. 

Joseph Tristram, 1819. 

Richard Norris, 1827. 

Richard Parker, 1832. 

James Brownbill, 1836. 

Francis Daniel, 1839. 

Andrew Barrow, 1842. 

,, Richard Norris (second time), 
1845. 

Henry Walmesley, 1846. 

,, Richard Sumner, 1847. 

Francis Clough, 1848. 

,, Joseph Johnson, 1861. 

Chas. Henry, 1868. 

Edward I. Purbrick, 1869. 

Wm. Eyre, 1879. 

Reginald Colley, 1885. 

Herman Walmesley, 1891. 

Joseph Browne, 1898. 



STORRINGTON, SUSSEX (South- 
warty. Our Lady of England. 

The Premonstratensian Order, 
expelled from St. Michael de Fri- 
golet by the Ferry laws, opened 
a small house at Storrington in 
February 1882. About the same 
time the Duke of Norfolk gene 
rously gave the Fathers a site for 
a new monastery. A monumental 
cross to determine the site of the 
monastery was erected with much 
ceremony, Thursday, September 
1882. In July 1887, the foundation 
of the new priory in the Gothic 



style, was laid by Mgr. James Carter. 
The health of the Queen, proposed 
by Captain Mostyn, of Arundel, 
was drunk amidst much applause 
and the playing of the National 
Anthem by the Storrington band. 
The monastery was opened by 
Bishop Butt, of Southward, May 17, 
1888. The High Mass was sung by 
Fr. Francis Bourne, of West Grin- 
stead, now Archbishop of West 
minster. The present church, in 
the Early English style, was opened 
November 22, 1904 ; Mr. E. Goldie 
was the architect. 



STOITRBRIDGE, WORCESTER 
SHIRE (BirmingJiam). Our Lady 
and All Saints. 

The foundation of a permanent 
mission at Stourbridge dates from 
June 1823, though, several years 
before this, Fr. F. Martin hired a 
room for Mass on Sundays, when 
he used to come over from Oscott. 
He was succeeded by Fr. J. T. 
Barlow, the first resident priest. 
He built the chapel, and otherwise 
greatly improved the mission. His 
predecessor at the date of his first 
coming to Stourbridge found but 
one Catholic family in the place. 
In 1859 the congregation amounted 
to upwards of 1,300. As the chapel 
only held 250, the need of a new 
church was very pressing. A suf 
ficient fund having been collected, 
the new church was opened by 
Bishop Ullathorne in September 
1864. The style of the building is 
Decorated Gothic. The seating 
accommodation is for 700. The 
silver ornaments of the altar and 
tabernacle were executed by Evans, 
of Birmingham. Bishop Amherst, 
of Northampton, preached on the 
occasion of the opening (Gal.vi. 14). 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



379 



The school accommodation of Stour- 
bridge was so very defective that 
not more than eighty children could 
be provided for out of a number of 
300, the remainder having to be 
turned away to grow up ignorant 
of everything except the language 
and vices in which the demon of 
the streets but too surely tutors 
them (Rev. Walter Keen, of 
Stourbridge, Tablet, October 21, 
1865). In consequence of this 
appeal new schools were shortly 
afterwards erected. 

Priests since 1842. 
Rev. Walter Keen, 1842. 

Jas. McCave, 1876. 

Joseph Daly, 1885. 

F. Boultoii, M.E., 1888 and 
to date. 



STOWMARKET, SUFFOLK (North 
ampton). Our Lady of Seven 
Dolours. 

In 1879 this mission was served 
from St. Mary s, Ipswich, when 
Mass was said on the last Sunday 
of the month at 11.45. In 1880 
Fr. Francis Warmoll was appointed 
resident priest in charge of the 
school chapel. Fr. Warmoll esta 
blished a club and library for men 
and boys, which was well attended. 
Fr. Chas. Flynn is the present 
rector. 



STRATFORD, LONDON, E. (West 
minster}. St. Francis of Assisi. 

This mission was founded as far 
back as 1770, though the baptismal 
registers only date from 1788. The 
chapel was afterwards removed to 
West Ham, on the very site where 
in pre-Reformation times stood the 
high altar of the old abbey church. 
In 1815 the Abbe J. F. Chevrollais, j 



an emigre, built a larger chapel 
* near the turnpike at Stratford. 
This good and zealous priest also 
established a school for upwards 
of 300 children. The chapel was 
dedicated to St. Patrick and St. 
Vincent of Paul. By 1859, the 
chapel had become far too small 
for the congregation, which num 
bered some 3,000 souls. The new 
church was erected in 1868, and 
placed in charge of the Franciscan 
Recollects. The fabric underwent 
an entire renovation in 1889. A 
school chapel, dedicated to St. 
Patrick, was opened as a chapel of 
ease to the church March 16, 1884, 
by Fr. Bede, O.S.F. 

Priests since 1825. 
Rev. P. J. Tyrrell. 

J. Harrington, 1828. 

Edmund Norris, 1830. 

,, Anthony de Lima, 1844. 

W. Smith, 1848. 

W. Mills, 1850. 

,, Jn. Moore, 1854. 

,, James McQuoin, 1858. 

David Mitchell, 1871. 

Fr. Francis, O.S.F. (superior), 
1875. 

Fr. Aidan (guardian), 1883. 

Fr. Cuthbert (guardian), 1891. 

,, Fr. Antoine (guardian), 1894. 

Fr. Peter (guardian), 1897. 

Fr. Athanasius (guardian), 
1904. 



STRATFORD - ON - AVON, WAR 
WICKSHIRE (Birmingham). St. 
Gregory the Great. 

Fr. J. Short, of Wootton Wawen, 
who visited Stratford-on-Avon oc 
casionally for some time prior to 
1849, reported that there were 
many Catholics in the town and 
surrounding villages. The nearest 
chapel was then nine miles distant. 
Fr. Short hired a room in the house 



380 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



of a recent convert, and said Mass 
there on Sundays. Bishop Walsh, 
Vicar Apostolic of the Midland Dis 
trict, took great interest in the new 
foundation, and shortly before his 
death he visited Stratford-on-Avon 
and blessed the chapel. In 1851, 
the place was still served from 
Wootton Wawen, but on Septem 
ber 19 of the following year, a 
chapel was opened, and placed 
under the direction of Fr. Alfred 
Dayman. This place of worship 
was superseded by the fine church 
in the Warwick Road, opened 
October 23, 1866. 

Priests. 
Rev. Alf. DajTnan, 1852. 

(Vacant 1858.) 
Chas. Hollahan, 1862. 

Henry Lane, 1864. 

Michael Sinnott, 1866. 

W. Benedict Purton, 1870. 

James Spears, 1877. 

E. J. Stutter, 1879. 

John Stuart, 1888. 

Ar. O Hare, O.S.B., here in 
1891. 

Geo. Fazakerley, 1892. 

Bernard Thomas, O.S.B., 1897. 

James Atherton, O.S.B., 1904. 



STREATHAM, LONDON, S.W. 

(Southward). The English Martyrs. 
Russell House, Streatham, for 
merly used as a protestant institu 
tion, was fitted up as a Catholic 
mission -house, and Mass said there 
for the first time on Friday, May 6, 
1888 the feast of the English 
Martyrs by Canon McGrath, of 
Camberwell. The temporary chapel 
could accommodate about 100 
persons. The building of the 
present handsome church of the 
English Martyrs was commenced 



on a site within the grounds of 
Russell House, and at the junction 
of the Mitcham and Tooting Bee 
Roads. The foundation stone was 
well and truly laid by Bishop 
Butt, of Southwark, on May 4, 1892. 
The style of the church, which is 
very ornate, is fourteenth-century 
Gothic ; seating for 650 persons. 
Above the arches of the nave are 
carved stone figures of the English 
martyrs. The east window and the 
others of the church are fitted with 
richly stained glass. The subjects 
of most of these are the martyrs 
of the Church. The donor of this 
truly magnificent church, which 
forms one of the ornamental build 
ings of Streatham, was R. Measures, 
Esq., a great benefactor of the mis 
sion. The church was opened by 
Cardinal Vaughan, Tuesday, May 
4, 1893. His Eminence preached 
during the High Mass. Fr. W. 
Lloyd has been rector of the mis 
sion since its permanent founda 
tion. 



STRETFORD, MANCHESTER, 
LANGS (Salford). St. Anne, Chester 
Road. 

Prior to 1859, this mission was 
served from Trafford Hall, the seat 
of the ancient Catholic family of 
Trafford. In the above year, a 
temporary chapel was opened at 
Stretford pending the erection of a 
new church. Provost Croskell was 
appointed resident priest (Novem 
ber 1859). The church, opened 
November 22, 1863, was the gift of 
Sir Humphrey de Trafford, Bart. 
The building, which cost 5,000, 
was designed by E. W. Pugin, in 
j the Geometrical Decorated style of 
| Gothic. The magnificent altar and 
j reredos were given by Lady Annette 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



381 



de Trafford. Bishop Turner conse 
crated the church June 18, 1807. 
Catholic population, 500 (1906). 

Priests. 
Rev. Provost Croskell, 1859. 

(Served from Barton 1862.) 
Matthias Canon Formby, 1864 

till 1892. 
John Canon Beesly, 1893. 



STEOOD, near ROCHESTER, 
KENT (Southward). 

A convent of nuns was opened 
here in the summer of 1904. The 
chapel is at present served by the 
Jesuit Fathers of Highain, and 
affords Mass and the Sacraments 
to Catholics of the locality, who 
hitherto had no mission nearer 
than Chatham. It is hoped that a 
school may shortly be opened in 
connection with the convent, as 
there are already some fifty Catho 
lic children without means of in 
struction in their own faith. 



S T R U D , GLOUCESTERSHIRE 

(Clifton). The Immaculate Con 
ception. 

The Dominicans started a mission 
at Stroud in February 1856, and 
the following May 27 Archbishop 
Errington laid the first stone of the 
church of the Immaculate Con 
ception. The opening took place 
August 20, 1857. Fr. Bernard 
Morewood, O.P., the first priest 
of the mission, did much to extend 
Catholicity in the neighbourhood. 
By 1859 the mission contained a 
wooden church, convent, and day 
school, and when the Hon. and Rt. 
Rev. Bishop Clifford gave confirma 
tion in April of that year there were 
over fifty candidates. In October 
1888 the present church was com 
menced, and completed 1889. 



Priests. 

Rev. Bernard Morewood, 1858. 
Joseph Portley, 1861. 
Robert Paul Stapleton, O.P., 

1864. 

F. Wilberforce, 1867. 
Joseph Portley, 1874. 
Cuthbert Wolseley, O.P., here 

in 1883. 

E. Buckler, 1885. 
Wilfrid Lescher, O.P., here in 

1891. 
Lawrence Peach, O.P., here 

in 1897. 
Ambrose Smith, O.P., 1904. 



STROUD GREEN, LONDON, N. 

(Westminster). St. Peter in Chains, 
Womersley Road. 
^ In July 1892 the Catholics of 
Stroud Green, Crouch Hill, and 
Finsbury Park about 200 were 
stated to be sadly in need of a 
church. On August 31, 1893, a 
meeting was held at Hornsey 
Rise to consider the feasibility of 
starting a mission, Fr. Philip, 
rector of St. Joseph s Retreat, 
Highgate, presided. Stroud Green 
was even at this time largely a 
rural suburb, with cornfields on 
what are now slopes covered with 
houses. The mission which re 
sulted from the above-mentioned 
deliberations and exertions was 
made over to the Canons Regular 
of St. John Lateran, who have 
erected a fine church in the place. 
The building, designed by Canon 
Scoles, was opened Tuesday, Octo 
ber 21, 1902. 



S T U D L E Y, WARWICKSHIRE 

(Birmingham). St. Mary. 

Mass was first said here August 6, 
1851, but no mention of priest or 



382 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



mission is made till 1854. The 
church, in the Gothic style, was 
opened January 27, 1853. A new 
altar, reredos, and chancel were 
added to the church, December 
1882, at the cost of an anonymous 
benefactor. In December 1885, | 
three fine stone statues of the | 
Sacred Heart, St. Joseph, and Our 
Lady were presented to the church 
by A. 13. Wall, Esq., of Chelten 
ham. 

Priests. 
Rev. J. B. Duck, 1854. 

Nicholas Hodgson, 1856. 

Thos. Edmund Caldwell, 1862. 

,, John Dunstan Breen, 1871. 

Jn. Bernard Caldwell, 1879, ! 
and till 1891. 

Bernard Romanus Thomas, j 
1892. 

Essington Ross, 1893 and till | 
after 1898. 

Bernard Romanus Thomas, i 
1904. 



SUDBURY, SUFFOLK (North 
ampton} . Our Lady and St. John 
the Evangelist. 

The ancient and knightly family 
of Martin of Long Melford, near 
here, maintained a chapel at their 
residence down to the apostasy of 
the then head of the family, about 
1761. The present mission dates 
from 1880. The temporary chapel 
in Church Street was attended 
by Fr. Geo. Bampfield, founder of 
the Institute of St. Andrew. Bishop 
Riddell confirmed here for the first 
time November 15 of the same 
year. The present Gothic church 
was opened December 12, 1895. 
Under the building is a long hall, 
used occasionally for meetings &c. 



Some Priests at Long Melford. 
Rev. Jn. Vivian and Rev. Jn. Mad- 

dox, 1586. 

John Martin, O.P., 1701. 
Jn. Martin, S.J. (uncle), 1702. 
Jn. Martin, O.P., 1705-12. 
Jn. Martin, S.J., 1712-17. 

Priests at Sudbury. 
Rev. Geo. Bampfield, B.A., 1880. 
V. d Apreda, 1881. 
Wm. Fippard, 1891. 
Augustine Peacock, 1895 to 
date. 



SUNBURY, MIDDLESEX (West 
minster}. St. Ignatius. 

A mission was started here in 
1861, and served from North Hyde. 
In 1864 it was served from Houns- 
low. During August 1867, Fr. J. 
Browne, who had recently been 
appointed priest of the place, 
appealed in the Catholic press for 
assistance to build a church. Next 
year, the present thirteenth- century- 
Gothic structure, consisting of nave, 
aisle, and chancel, was commenced. 
It was opened by Archbishop 
Manning, Trinity Sunday, 1869. 
The cost of erection was about 
1,400. A census taken in 1868 
estimated the Catholic population 
of Sunbury at 600-700. Fr. 
Browne was rector till after 1883. 
Fr. Jn. Davis was his successor. 
Fr. Thos. Davis is the present in 
cumbent. 



SUNDERLAND, DURHAM (Hex- 
ham and Newcastle}. St. Mary. 

In 1835 Fr. P. Kearney, of May- 
nooth, was appointed priest. The 
chapel and house, a neat brick 
building, too small for the congre 
gation, stood in a retired spot in 
Bridge Street, near the river. The 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



383 



congregation then numbered some 
400. In 1844 a new chapel was 
built by Fr. Kearney. The 
Catholics of Sunderland then 
amounted to 600. The schools 
some time prior to this were put 
under the care of the Christian 
Brothers, who on February 24, 
1846, were presented by the parents 
of the children with a handsome 
silver ciboriuin and folio missal in 
recognition of their excellent work. 
The fifty-first anniversary of the 
opening of St. Mary s was cele 
brated August 15, 1886. The Mayor 
of Sunderland was among those 
present at the High Mass, which 
was offered by Fr. Robert Kcrr. 

Priests. 
Rev. P. Canon Kearney, 1835. 

,, John Bamber, 1857. 

P. Wade, 1876. 

,. Chas. Turnerelli, 1879-97. 

Thos. Smith, 1898 to date. 



SUNDERLAND, DURHAM. St. 
Patrick s. 

The church was commenced 
March 17, 1860, and opened early 
in 1861. Style, Early English ; 
accommodation for 1,800. 

Priests. 
Rev. Win. Markland, 1863. 

Jos. Fawell, here 1872. 

,, Jeremiah Foran, 1882 and till 
after 1898. 

Mark Habell, 1904. 



SURBITON, SURREY (South 
ward). St. Raphael, Portsmouth 
Road. 

The church was erected by the 
late Mr. Alex. Raphael, sometime 
M.P. for St. Albans. This gentle 
man, who died November 17, 1850, 
aged seventy-five, was created 



shortly before his death a Knight 
of St. Sylvester by Pius IX. The 
church is in the Constantinian 
style of architecture, from the 
design by Mr. Parker. It was 
opened in September 1850. The 
building, which was proprietary, 
passed by descent to the Countess 
of Mexborough, who, after a tem 
porary disagreement with the 
Bishop of Southwark, during 
which time the church was closed, 
made final arrangements before 
her death by which the church 
was again opened for services 
(1898). The cost of the structure 
was 10,0 JO, and another 1,500 
was spent 011 internal decorations 
by the late Countess. 
Priests. 
Rev. Jeremiah Donovan, 1850. 

H. Clark, 1852. 

J. Ainsworth, 1855. 

W. G. Morley, 1880. 

Emile du Plerny, 1899 to 
date. 



SUTTON, LANCS (Liverpool). St. 
Anne s. 

The Passionist monastery and 
church of St. Anne were built in 
1850 by John Smith, Esq., a 
wealthy railway contractor of Sut- 
ton. Mr. Smith died June 10, 1863, 
aged sixty-nine, and was buried in 
the crypt of the church, which was 
opened in October 1853. The 
schools were built in 1867, and 
enlarged in 1870 and 1884. The 
stations of the Cross were erected 
in 1893 by Wm. Borrows, Esq., in 
memory of his brother. The new 
Lady Altar and statue, put up in 
1894, were given by R. Grimshaw, 
Esq. The bodies of Fr. Dominic, 
who received Cardinal Newman 
into the Church, and the Hon. 



384 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



Fr. Ignatius Spencer, are buried 
beneath the chapel of St. Paul of 
the Cross. 



SUTTON, SURREY (Southward). 
Our Lady of the Rosary. 
In 1881 the Premonstratensian 

Fathers opened a mission in the 
Cheam Road, and in February 
1882 an iron chapel was erected. 
Mass was said on the ICth by 
Canon David, of Croydon, and 
Bishop Patterson preached (St. 
Luke viii. 5). The Premonstra- 
tensians resigned the mission 
towards the end of the year, when 
Fr. D. Ferris, D.D., was appointed. 
The present church, in the Car- 
shalton Eoad, was opened in 1887. 
It was originally intended for a 
school, but this having been pro 
vided by the nuns of the Car- 
shalton Convent (Daughters of the 
Cross), the architect, Mr. Ingress 
Bell, ingeniously altered his plan 
to suit the present purpose. The 
Catholic population of Sutton is 
about 450. 

Priests. 
Rev. D. Ferris, D.D., 1882. 

J. Hayes, 1899. 

,, J. Canon Keatinge, 1904. 

H. Canon Cafferata, 1905. 



SUTTON COLDFIELD, WARWICK 
SHIRE (Birmingham). The Holy 
Family. 

The church was opened Octo 
ber 21, 1834. The style is simple 
Gothic. The High Mass at the 
opening was celebrated by Fr. 
Pope. Dr. Weedal, of Oscott, 
preached. The site was obtained 
from a society of General Bap- 



i tists, a neat presbytery being 
erected about the same time. 

Rev. J. Moore, 1835-52. 

(Served from Oscott 1853 and 

1855 .) 

J. B. Gowing, 1856. 
,, John Harkness, 1858, and till 

1882. 

(Vacant 1883.) 

,, James Rigby, 1885 and to 
date. 



SUTTON PARK, near GUILD- 
FORD, SURREY (Soiithwar k). St. 
Edward the Confessor. 

This notable house was erected 
between 1520 and 1530 by Sir 
Richard Weston, a devoted sup 
porter of Queen Catherine of Ara- 
gon, whose badge yet remains 
carved and sculptured on many 
parts of the old house. Sir Richard, 
who was a Knight of the Bath 
and Under-Treasurer of England, 
accompanied King Henry VIII. to 
the Field of the Cloth of Gold. 
In spite of this and other marks of 
the royal favour, one of his sons 
was executed in 1536 for an alleged 
intrigue with Anne Boleyn. Sir 
Henry Weston, son of this latter 
unfortunate gentleman, enjoyed the 
friendship of Queen Elizabeth, who 
more than once visited Sutton Park. 
She even allowed Sir Henry to re 
tain a priest in his house, for the 
Westons were staunch Catholics. 
The old house still stands almost 
as Sir Richard erected it. The 
last of the Westons was Mclior 
Mary, who died in 1782. She be 
queathed the estate to John Webbe, 
Esq., a near relation, who there 
upon assumed the additional name 
of Weston. The estates are now 
owned by the Salvins, another old 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



385 



Catholic family, who inherited them 
from the Webb-Westons. Accord 
ing to tradition, Mass had been con 
tinuously said, more or less openly, 
at Sutton Park till the opening of 
the new church in the Park in 
1876. The priests in charge of the 
mission acted outwardly as bailiffs 
of the family, by reason of the 
laws. Their names and dates of 
service and death are preserved 
among the archives of the mission. 
After the French Ee volution several 
of the emigre clergy did duty here. 
One of them subsequently became 
Archbishop of Tours. Several are 
buried in Merrow Churchyard, 
others at Send and at Sutton 
Place. Among the various items of 
church stuff preserved at Sutton 
Park are a chasuble- cross worked 
with a curious picture of Sutton 
Park as it was in the sixteenth 
century, a processional cross, and 
big bell dated 1530. During the 
rectorship of Fr. Sidden, a pre-Ee- 
formation sanctus bell was stolen 
from the chapel by burglars (1840). 
In 1867, Fr. J. D. Mooney was 
priest here, and in 1869 Fr. Ed. 
Cahill, brother of the present 
Bishop of Portsmouth (1904). 
Canon Lalor was the next priest 
(1871); Fr. Timothy Donovan in 
1872 ; Fr. Eobert Smith in 1873 ; 
Fr. Eeynaert in 1874. The present 
church, in the Gothic style, was 
built between September 20, 1875, 
and September 27, 1876, when it 
was solemnly opened by Bishop 
Danell. The architect was Mr. 
James Harris, of Woking. The 
Lady Altar was built by Captain 
and Mrs. Charles Salvin, in memory 
of their daughter. Fr. Eeynaert 
was succeeded in 1878 by Fr. Mai- 
pas, who the same year was super 
seded by the Eev. Dr. Conway, who 
remained in charge of the church 
till 1903. His successor was Fr. 



H. Glutton. Fr. H. Hinsley, D.D., 
is the present rector. 1 



SWAN AGE, DORSET (Plymouth}. 
The Holy Ghost and St. Edward 
K.M. 

For some short time prior to 
1903 the mission was served from 
Spettisbury, the chapel being at 
Sunnydown. On Tuesday, August 
9, 1904, a handsome church was 
opened by Abbot Allaria, of the 
Canons Eegular, by whom the 
mission is served. The church is 
erected on the De Mulham estate. 



SWINBURN, NORTHUMBERLAND 

(Hexliam and Newcastle). St. 
Mary. 

Swinburn Castle, the seat of the 
ancient Catholic family of Eiddell, 
was one of the places served by the 
Jesuit Fathers from the * College 
or residence of St. John the Evan 
gelist, Durham. The district, for 
greater security, wasknown as Mrs. 
Durham, but we have not been 
able to discover any items relating 
to the early history of the Swin 
burn mission. Priests have been 
stationed here regularly since 1690. 
During many years of the eigh 
teenth century the chapel was 
served by Fr. Nicholas Saunderson, 

1 The late owner of Sutton Park, 
Captain Salvin, discovered in the priests 
hiding-place in the basement a case of 
relics containing the bones of St. William, 
Archbishop of York, the Blessed Cuthbert 
Mayne, protomartyr of Douai (1578) ; 
likewise some old warrants of 1591 
authorising the searching of recusants 
houses for priests, a fine old pewter 
chalice, &c. The house and estate of 
Sutton Park are at present rented by 
Lord Northcliff (Sir Alfred Harmsworth). 

c c 



386 



ENGLISH CATHOLIC MISSIONS 



who died at Alnwick 1790. The 
present church was erected in 1841, 
and is in the Gothic style. 

Priests since 1825. 
Eev. James Higginson. 

James Prest, 1829. 

Peter Allanson, 1831. 

E. Glassbrook, 1876. 

Eaphael Nenci, D.D., 1882 
to date. 



S WIND ON, WILTS (Clifton}. 
The Holy Eood. 

A room was hired for Mass on 
Sundays by the Bishop of Clifton, 
1851. In 1858 Catholics num 
bered 150. A site for a church 
was procured that year with much 
difficulty, as prejudice against 
Catholics was very great. A school 
chapel was opened in 1859, but as 
late as 1881 a debt of 450 lay on 
the mission. A census of Catholics 
in 1882 returned the number at 
300. The St. John s Free Chris 
tian Church was acquired in 1881, 
and opened as a Catholic place of 
worship by Bishop Clifford Febru 
ary 8, 1882. A noteworthy sermon 
was preached during the Mass by 
Father Grant, S.J., on the ecclesi 
astical glories of Swindon in Catho 
lic times. This adapted building 
having become inadequate, the 
present church was commenced in 
1904, and opened 1905. During 
the building a temporary place of 
worship was fitted up in Holy 
Rood Hall. 

Priests. 
From 1851 to 1856 the mission 

was served from Fairford. 
Rev. Jas. Clarke, 1857. 

John Corbishley, 1872. 

,, Jn. Kennedy, 1874. 

Herman Eikerling, here in 
1883. 



Eev. W. Otty, here in 1888. 

,, James Lonergan, 1892 to 

after 1898. 
James O Shaughnessy, 1904. 



SWINTON, MANCHESTER (Sal- 
ford}. St. Mary of the Immacu 
late Conception. 

This stone Gothic church, consist 
ing of nave, chancel, and two chapels, 
to accommodate 700 persons, was 
built at the expense of Daniel 
Lee, Esq., K.St.G., and opened by 
Bishop Turner August 14, 1859. 
Mr. Chas. Holt was the architect. 
Canon Wood, who was rector from 
1877 to 1901, did much to con 
solidate local Catholicity, and, more 
over, obtained many concessions 
and privileges for the Catholic 
children in the Swinton Industrial 
Schools. 

Priests. 
Rev. Peter de Blon, 1863. 

James Hayes, 1866. 

Chas. Wood, 1877. 

A. O Eourke, 1893 to date. 



SWYNNERTON PARK, STAFFS 

(Birmingham}. Our Lady of the 
Assumption. 

The estate came to the Fitz- 
herbert family by the marriage of 
Wm. Fitzherbert, Esq., with Eliza 
beth, daughter and co-heiress of 
Humphrey Swynnerton, Esq., circa 
1